Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Mar 31, 2012
    30
    What it lacks are the very elements that made the first movie such a surprise: wit and nerve.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 30, 2012
    25
    This feeble followup to 2010's godawful "Clash of the Titans" sucketh the mighty big one.
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    Mar 29, 2012
    38
    Ye gods, there's a lot of hacking and many seismic eruptions in The Wrath of the Titans, the latest 3-D action film that treats the Greek gods as action figures.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 29, 2012
    12
    The only reason you'll feel any wrath is because you shelled out 12 bucks for this steaming bucket of half-baked plot, cliched dialogue and disappointing 3-D special effects.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Mar 29, 2012
    30
    The film lacks inspiration or zest in storytelling, performance or action. This is pure product, a movie desperately without energy or enthusiasm of any kind.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 29, 2012
    38
    Somewhere amid the mind-numbing barrage of action sequences there's a story based on Greek mythology. But its essence is buried amid the clatter.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Mar 29, 2012
    38
    Rarely has a film so equally balanced macho and nacho, but Wrath does leave us with a few valuable lessons: a.) fratricide is a nasty business, best left to the Greeks and b) fighting fire with fire may sound good, but it turns out to be a really stupid idea.
  8. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Mar 29, 2012
    25
    Wrath Of The Titans is shopworn and derivative even by the degraded standards of contemporary blockbuster filmmaking.
  9. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Mar 28, 2012
    30
    I've always said, "If you've seen one god, you've seen them all," and Wrath of the Titans only serves to underscore my point.
  10. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Mar 28, 2012
    0
    Made possible by the half a billion dollars Clash of the Titans garnered worldwide, Wrath of the Titans sputters and coughs on the fumes of its own inevitability.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 93
  2. Negative: 26 out of 93
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    5
    Although it is a bit of an improvement on the first one, it is still the same damn thing.
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    2
    Notwithstanding its much improved 3-D effects over its predecessor, "Wrath of the Titans" does what people do everyday: looking at a computer screen. What audiences see, even in 3-D, are multi-limbed and headed CGI creatures, "unanimated" and lifeless, being rigidly juxtaposed to real-life people who take swing after swing to their unhuman counterparts, and miss time after time; apparently, as long as a computer image has the appearance of falling and dying onto the ground, the need for the same animated creature looking as if he had "been hit" is not important. Much like a Rocky-Creed bout (only without the use of computers), the punches here don't connect. Essentially, what the audience sees in 'Wrath' is an exhausted use of expensive, yet poor quality, effects that fills the entire length of the film; in the past such effects were used on occassions to "add to" scenes, not to "fill" runtimes. But, don't feel bad because your inexorable sense of exhaustion was surely shared by the actors of the film; you think watching this is bad, what about the actors who had to wave swords against air? With that in mind, it almost makes you feel better doesn't it? Oh, you're right, there's no recovering that wretched theater ticket, popcorn, and drink. Honestly, though, you had to have seen this coming... Full Review »
  3. Mar 30, 2012
    7
    Just got finished watching the midnight showing. I had already read the reviews and saw that it was getting some flack but decided to check it out anyway. I was pleasantly surprised that I walked away doubting the reviewers I had previously read. The movie is a solid action flick, good special effects, and much improved 3D over the original. Overall I feel the pacing was much better than Clash and more intense. The mythology aspect was improved upon as well (although not following much to real mythos), but the involvement of the super natural was a lot heavier. The only real complaints are there wasn't much explanation for the basis of the story or reviving Cronos... It kind of just is happening. The characters weren't too deep, but honestly I wasn't expecting that anyway. Sam Worthington is improved but still so-so. Either way, I was entertained and so was the group I went with. From the discussions overheard after exiting the movie, it seems that the audience as a whole liked it too. Worth checking out if you want to see a fun action flick or enjoy mythology. Full Review »