User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 277
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    6
    Its fun for what it is just 90 minutes of fun action with some cool special effects mch like the first one was. Its just popcorn film don't go in expecting a great plot or plot twists just great action and some real nice visaul effects and the bare minumem of every thing els.
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    7
    because the film has good action and effect and concentrates primarily on those things, many people have linked it with the Transformers movies, but i think they're different. this one is better because you don't hate the main character. the story doesn't feel like it merely existed to connect the fight scenes, some work was actually put into it. the movie in the end achieves the goals itbecause the film has good action and effect and concentrates primarily on those things, many people have linked it with the Transformers movies, but i think they're different. this one is better because you don't hate the main character. the story doesn't feel like it merely existed to connect the fight scenes, some work was actually put into it. the movie in the end achieves the goals it sets for itself. Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    7
    This film, like the first has received a lot of poor reviews, however, these reviews must be by people who expect a lot more, the same people probably expect the Transformers movies to have complicated plot points and superb story lines. Like the Transformer movies, this is just a fun film with great action, fantastic 3D, possibly the best 3D i've seen in a non animated movie. SamThis film, like the first has received a lot of poor reviews, however, these reviews must be by people who expect a lot more, the same people probably expect the Transformers movies to have complicated plot points and superb story lines. Like the Transformer movies, this is just a fun film with great action, fantastic 3D, possibly the best 3D i've seen in a non animated movie. Sam Worthington is great in it (although his perm is slightly off putting). Basically this film is just 2 hours of fun, what can be wrong with that? Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2012
    6
    I'm not going to argue the point on the story as i am in agreement with most other people on this site that the story was very sub standard but i didn't go to see for the story and i was impressed with the special effects and 3D which i felt made up for the poor story at least in part.
  5. May 12, 2012
    0
    People who hope too see this film, i say abandon your plans as this is the worst film i have ever seen. Couldn't be less boring with stupid story line. To be honest, the people who made this annoying film should be sacked now as there not going to make any decent films if they've made this film.Overall this film is a disaster and i regret going to see it as that's 2 or so hours of my life wasted.
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    0
    Complete and utter guff, a total waste of time and money! I'm so annoyed I created this account purely to complain about this trash! Speaking of trash, it's littered with cliches and almost the entire film was created using bog standard, lazy, sat on their arses CGI effects! Feels like it took them a weekend to do. My advice, don't bother with this, and don't bother with the firstComplete and utter guff, a total waste of time and money! I'm so annoyed I created this account purely to complain about this trash! Speaking of trash, it's littered with cliches and almost the entire film was created using bog standard, lazy, sat on their arses CGI effects! Feels like it took them a weekend to do. My advice, don't bother with this, and don't bother with the first remake either, quite clearly a con to pull America out of the crises!... DO however, watch the 1981 original and classic adaptation directed by Desmond Davis, it knocks the socks of this modern day **** Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    Great from start to finish. Lots of action! Lots of action!! Lots of Action!!! It had very very little of the Lovey Dovey stuff, or side comedy crap. It had fights, blood, kills, adventure All that good stuff!
  8. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    It's really not about the plot at all. No one went to this movie to see what happens to Zeus or Hades or Ares. No one went to this movie because they cared about what happened to Perseus. Everyone who went, went because they saw that this film is jam packed with monsters, some of the best CGI that rivals that of Avatar, and lots of action. The best part? The crew who made this movieIt's really not about the plot at all. No one went to this movie to see what happens to Zeus or Hades or Ares. No one went to this movie because they cared about what happened to Perseus. Everyone who went, went because they saw that this film is jam packed with monsters, some of the best CGI that rivals that of Avatar, and lots of action. The best part? The crew who made this movie acknowledges that. The previews show lots of action and lots of monsters. They had a series of short youtube videos talking about the monsters. Because that's why they made this movie, and let me tell you this, they did it almost to perfection. The monsters look amazing (especially Kronos) and the action with them is intense and fun to watch. This is a movie to see in theaters with your friends (that's exactly what I did). It's a great action film and it delivers it with a constant sense of danger that keeps you almost at the edge of your seat unless it's the scene with the Makhai (the two torso creatures with four arms towards the end) that makes you fall back in your seat and your jaw drop. Just like with Clash of the Titans, it's advertised as exactly what it is. I give it a 9 for doing so and because it is so awesome. Expand
  9. Apr 23, 2012
    8
    This was a great film, loved the 3D effect. Loved the tie in of Greek Mythology. Holding a great message and great casting. Overall an enjoyable movie to watch for those that arent into Greek Mythology.
  10. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Advertised as a 'fantasy' film I couldn't help but chuckle whilst watching this movie, considering that perhaps it should have instead been advertised "Greek Panatheon Family Drama." The plot seemed focused on resolving the conflict within between family members as a cheap attempt at preaching morality but instead was laughable. Characterization was almost non-existant - Oh, don'tAdvertised as a 'fantasy' film I couldn't help but chuckle whilst watching this movie, considering that perhaps it should have instead been advertised "Greek Panatheon Family Drama." The plot seemed focused on resolving the conflict within between family members as a cheap attempt at preaching morality but instead was laughable. Characterization was almost non-existant - Oh, don't misunderstand me, there was of course we all the formulaic characters; The reluctant hero, the family traitor, the flawed but ultimately redeemed father. The dialogue was appalling - several lines seemed ripped straight out of Star Wars ("I know there's still good in you.) And of course when it comes to historical accuracy, well, Hollywood is notorious for being weak in that department. The greatest delight of this film was it's visual effects, which were thrilling to the eye and I quite enjoyed the architecture of the labyrinth. The action was dull, the ending predictable, and overral Wrath of the Titans was an unstirred, messy flop of a film. Save your money, and if you must watch it, wait until its DVD release. Expand
  11. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    I had doubts for this film, I thought it was going to be like the first...which isn't a good thing; you see, Clash of the Titans was a rather disappointing film and I thought I was going to feel the same way about this...I was wrong for sure. Wrath of the Titans is a film that in my opinion became better and better as the film went on. Wrath provides great visuals, great 3D and a dedicatedI had doubts for this film, I thought it was going to be like the first...which isn't a good thing; you see, Clash of the Titans was a rather disappointing film and I thought I was going to feel the same way about this...I was wrong for sure. Wrath of the Titans is a film that in my opinion became better and better as the film went on. Wrath provides great visuals, great 3D and a dedicated performance by Liam Neeson and Ralph Feines. In fact, the only bad performance in the film was from Sam Worthington...who always plays himself in every film he is in! Overall, Wrath of the Titans is a major improvement over the disappointing Clash of the Titans, this is what Clash was supposed to be. Collapse
  12. Aug 2, 2012
    3
    I came into the movie not expecting much, and boy did it succeed in being one of the worst movies i've ever seen. The only real good acting was by Bill Nighy and Liam Neeson. Some of the actor's accents really put me off. The CGI looked like it was made by a 12 year old uploading a test render to Youtube. There were a couple good moments but that wasn't enough to fix an overall bad movie.
  13. Mar 30, 2012
    2
    Notwithstanding its much improved 3-D effects over its predecessor, "Wrath of the Titans" does what people do everyday: looking at a computer screen. What audiences see, even in 3-D, are multi-limbed and headed CGI creatures, "unanimated" and lifeless, being rigidly juxtaposed to real-life people who take swing after swing to their unhuman counterparts, and miss time after time;Notwithstanding its much improved 3-D effects over its predecessor, "Wrath of the Titans" does what people do everyday: looking at a computer screen. What audiences see, even in 3-D, are multi-limbed and headed CGI creatures, "unanimated" and lifeless, being rigidly juxtaposed to real-life people who take swing after swing to their unhuman counterparts, and miss time after time; apparently, as long as a computer image has the appearance of falling and dying onto the ground, the need for the same animated creature looking as if he had "been hit" is not important. Much like a Rocky-Creed bout (only without the use of computers), the punches here don't connect. Essentially, what the audience sees in 'Wrath' is an exhausted use of expensive, yet poor quality, effects that fills the entire length of the film; in the past such effects were used on occassions to "add to" scenes, not to "fill" runtimes. But, don't feel bad because your inexorable sense of exhaustion was surely shared by the actors of the film; you think watching this is bad, what about the actors who had to wave swords against air? With that in mind, it almost makes you feel better doesn't it? Oh, you're right, there's no recovering that wretched theater ticket, popcorn, and drink. Honestly, though, you had to have seen this coming... Expand
  14. Apr 5, 2012
    4
    I did not walk into the cinema expecting much, nor did it fulfill much. It was quite a good watch, but it wasn't a good film. It is full of cliches and quite crummy acting, but it wasn't boring, and although I could guess what was going to happen next, it didn't make me fall asleep. So overall, I think it was not a good film, but if you are just going there to waste time or to do somethingI did not walk into the cinema expecting much, nor did it fulfill much. It was quite a good watch, but it wasn't a good film. It is full of cliches and quite crummy acting, but it wasn't boring, and although I could guess what was going to happen next, it didn't make me fall asleep. So overall, I think it was not a good film, but if you are just going there to waste time or to do something with friends, you'll enjoy it if you don't expect much. Expand
  15. Mar 30, 2012
    5
    Although it is a bit of an improvement on the first one, it is still the same damn thing.
  16. Apr 11, 2012
    3
    This film is garbage, just like the original. Why bother making a sequel to such a failing concept? I won't even go over the cateogories- as it follows up the original with a simular "suck level." I cannot recommend this film.
  17. Mar 30, 2012
    7
    Just got finished watching the midnight showing. I had already read the reviews and saw that it was getting some flack but decided to check it out anyway. I was pleasantly surprised that I walked away doubting the reviewers I had previously read. The movie is a solid action flick, good special effects, and much improved 3D over the original. Overall I feel the pacing was much better thanJust got finished watching the midnight showing. I had already read the reviews and saw that it was getting some flack but decided to check it out anyway. I was pleasantly surprised that I walked away doubting the reviewers I had previously read. The movie is a solid action flick, good special effects, and much improved 3D over the original. Overall I feel the pacing was much better than Clash and more intense. The mythology aspect was improved upon as well (although not following much to real mythos), but the involvement of the super natural was a lot heavier. The only real complaints are there wasn't much explanation for the basis of the story or reviving Cronos... It kind of just is happening. The characters weren't too deep, but honestly I wasn't expecting that anyway. Sam Worthington is improved but still so-so. Either way, I was entertained and so was the group I went with. From the discussions overheard after exiting the movie, it seems that the audience as a whole liked it too. Worth checking out if you want to see a fun action flick or enjoy mythology. Expand
  18. Mar 30, 2012
    3
    Fans of the original will find continuity between the two films, but also contradictions. The running time is filled with random creatures popping out for no reason other than to showcase CGI effects and lifeless, seen-it-before action set pieces. Wrath of the titans lacks the stunning fight choreography of the similarly plotted Immortals. The action scenes are shot with the camera tooFans of the original will find continuity between the two films, but also contradictions. The running time is filled with random creatures popping out for no reason other than to showcase CGI effects and lifeless, seen-it-before action set pieces. Wrath of the titans lacks the stunning fight choreography of the similarly plotted Immortals. The action scenes are shot with the camera too close to the action, and with the combatants too close to each other. Since the shots have no depth, the 3D format is wasted. While the drama between the gods is interesting, and is clearly the focus of the film, the humans are like wind-up toys, mechanically marching through a play-set world. Full review on my blog. Expand
  19. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    I really liked the film there is some great action scenes good special effects and the 3 D was pretty good as well not really sure why it gets such a low score as it was much better then Clash Of The Titans.
  20. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    Let me start by saying that I loved this movie. Those who are complaining about the story are just being overly critical. That is the critics job. The story is easily enough understood. Perseus is trying to stop the titans to protect his son. Simple as that. The action scenes and CGI are fantastic and the final battle will blow you away. There are many references to Greek mythology andLet me start by saying that I loved this movie. Those who are complaining about the story are just being overly critical. That is the critics job. The story is easily enough understood. Perseus is trying to stop the titans to protect his son. Simple as that. The action scenes and CGI are fantastic and the final battle will blow you away. There are many references to Greek mythology and this movie lets you see more of the gods and their awesome powers. The only reason this gets a nine is because the 3-D kind of sucks, but who cares? So, if your not nit-picky about the story, don't care about 3-D, and love action, then go and see this movie now! Expand
  21. Apr 2, 2012
    2
    This movie has been very disappointing, without managing to sympathize with any personage who composes it. A simple history, without content, which will cause you nonchalance. Sincerely, the worst movie of the year for the present.
  22. Apr 9, 2012
    5
    Wrath of the Titans has no life what so ever . the whole movie is a total disappointment even if u have no expectations . i thought it will be at least better then Clash of the titan but it wasnt at all . It was the worst Greek Myth story ever. The dialogues were so foolish and funny(in a sarcastic way) . When the Gods says "Lets have some fun" its not hard to get how dumb the movie is .Wrath of the Titans has no life what so ever . the whole movie is a total disappointment even if u have no expectations . i thought it will be at least better then Clash of the titan but it wasnt at all . It was the worst Greek Myth story ever. The dialogues were so foolish and funny(in a sarcastic way) . When the Gods says "Lets have some fun" its not hard to get how dumb the movie is . Jonathan Liebesman's Direction made the film even more worst .Most of the scenes were so lame . Sam's acting went to hell comparing with the first film . Ralf & Liam had the power but some foolish dialogues made their character so silly . Rosa was beautiful and good at first but through the movie she fell down and downer but still was better then the others . Toby was good and seems the only maintaining character in the film. Ã Expand
  23. Mar 31, 2012
    5
    The plot is simply boring, just like a written project in high school that you submit "for the purpose of compliance". The visual effects are acceptable enough to the gut. The characters are more-than-dull, can not find the exact word for it. I thought it was "Wrath of the Titans", more appropriate would have been "Sway of the Titan". Overall, this one's disappointing. The prequel "ClashThe plot is simply boring, just like a written project in high school that you submit "for the purpose of compliance". The visual effects are acceptable enough to the gut. The characters are more-than-dull, can not find the exact word for it. I thought it was "Wrath of the Titans", more appropriate would have been "Sway of the Titan". Overall, this one's disappointing. The prequel "Clash of the Titans" was way better.

    movienotesbook.blogspot.com
    Expand
  24. Dec 4, 2012
    5
    Wrath of the Titans may have more suspense and has slowed down to make a more emotional do, but is missing clash's overall feel and well-done camera angles, it pointlessly adds more characters, including Aires, who truly comes out of nowhere, really, when he first appeared, it was out of nowhere, appearing like the viewer knows him, but actually has no idea of who the heck he is! TheWrath of the Titans may have more suspense and has slowed down to make a more emotional do, but is missing clash's overall feel and well-done camera angles, it pointlessly adds more characters, including Aires, who truly comes out of nowhere, really, when he first appeared, it was out of nowhere, appearing like the viewer knows him, but actually has no idea of who the heck he is! The acting in this film is worse than it is in the first installment, and is more cheesy than ever; also, the dialogue tries to be funny, but instead you want to walk out of the room over pure bore dumb. The CGI and special effects have seemed to lose there charm, looking more computerized and lifeless as ever, the action is also lifeless, due to the awful acting and lack of the predecessor's charm... While you watch this film, you think how it could have been so much better, and how it could have been a better experience to watch, but there's no way of changing it now, it will always remain as a high budget Hollywood movie trailer that just trails on for too long and fails to excite, so I give this film... 4.7/10. Expand
  25. Apr 2, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The only reason you'll feel any wrath is because you shelled out 12 bucks for this steaming bucket of half-baked plot, cliched dialogue and disappointing 3-D special effects. Expand
  26. Apr 5, 2012
    0
    This movie is awful - we almost walked out. Sure the acting isn't horrible, it's merely charmless. The CGI is fine, but lifeless. The story is vaguely coherent, but idiotic all the same. The writing is the laziest kind: characters who are brothers call each other by name for no reason as a way of letting us know who is who. The labyrinth we're told is impossible is solved on accidentThis movie is awful - we almost walked out. Sure the acting isn't horrible, it's merely charmless. The CGI is fine, but lifeless. The story is vaguely coherent, but idiotic all the same. The writing is the laziest kind: characters who are brothers call each other by name for no reason as a way of letting us know who is who. The labyrinth we're told is impossible is solved on accident in 5 minutes after they lose the map. Men with spears stand in a line as if they're going to be able to fight a fire god the size of a mountain. Boo on this movie. Expand
  27. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    I actually really enjoyed this movie. What exactly are you expecting in a movie such as this when you criticize the story, acting, character development? This is a Monster movie, ideal for a Saturday afternoon with little thought needed. Check your high-brow, internal critic at the door and just let it be the roller coaster it was intended. You won't be disappointed.
  28. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    WOW really 36/100. can't believe Critic's sometimes, just seen the movie its alot better then Clash Of The Titans. Story might not be %100 by the book but its worth watching.
  29. Mar 31, 2012
    5
    If I can say one good thing about the movie it's that it has amazing special effects. The best special effect is how they got A-listers like Worthington, Neeson, and Fiennes to do what is essentially a B-movie script. Once you see the headstone of a Greek grave enscribed in perfectly legible English, you know the target audience for the film. Just suspend your knowledge of how GreekIf I can say one good thing about the movie it's that it has amazing special effects. The best special effect is how they got A-listers like Worthington, Neeson, and Fiennes to do what is essentially a B-movie script. Once you see the headstone of a Greek grave enscribed in perfectly legible English, you know the target audience for the film. Just suspend your knowledge of how Greek mythology really played out, pat yourself on the back for paying only matinee ticket prices, and enjoy! Would be a great movie for father-son pairs to watch and probably could have been released around Father's Day to maximize the ticket sales--fatherhood is essentially the moral theme. Pray they don't try to milk this any further. With the ending they had, I doubt a trilogy is possible anyway. Expand
  30. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    I think that the film is better than the first Titans, because in the other all be boring, and the horrible 3D uff, I don't wanna remember, but this film is really good, have great action moments, and have other good things. Wrath of the Titans is cool.
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Mar 31, 2012
    30
    What it lacks are the very elements that made the first movie such a surprise: wit and nerve.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 31, 2012
    67
    An imagined conversation between Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes, after the premiere of Wrath of the Titans...
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 31, 2012
    50
    For those with a burning curiosity to know how "The Lord of the Rings" as directed by Michael Bay might look, Wrath of the Titans provides an idea. This is epic fantasy for teenage boys as only Hollywood can do it: with plenty of grotesque monsters and big explosions replacing characters and narrative.