Wrath of the Titans

Wrath of the Titans Image
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 298 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A decade after his heroic defeat of the monstrous Kraken, Perseus-the demigod son of Zeus-is attempting to live a quieter life as a village fisherman and the sole parent to his 10-year old son, Helius. Meanwhile, a struggle for supremacy rages between the gods and the Titans. DangerouslyA decade after his heroic defeat of the monstrous Kraken, Perseus-the demigod son of Zeus-is attempting to live a quieter life as a village fisherman and the sole parent to his 10-year old son, Helius. Meanwhile, a struggle for supremacy rages between the gods and the Titans. Dangerously weakened by humanity's lack of devotion, the gods are losing control of the imprisoned Titans and their ferocious leader, Kronos, father of the long-ruling brothers Zeus, Hades and Poseidon. The triumvirate had overthrown their powerful father long ago, leaving him to rot in the gloomy abyss of Tartarus, a dungeon that lies deep within the cavernous underworld. Perseus cannot ignore his true calling when Hades, along with Zeus' godly son, Ares, switch loyalty and make a deal with Kronos to capture Zeus. The Titans' strength grows stronger as Zeus' remaining godly powers are siphoned, and hell is unleashed on earth. Enlisting the help of the warrior Queen Andromeda, Poseidon's demigod son, Argenor, and fallen god Hephaestus, Perseus bravely embarks on a treacherous quest into the underworld to rescue Zeus, overthrow the Titans and save mankind. (Warner Bros. Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Mar 29, 2012
    80
    Leaner, meaner, and far superior to 2010's Clash cock-up. From top-grade 3D to a multitude of monsters and a welcome influx of acting talent, this is pure popcorn pleasure.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Mar 29, 2012
    60
    Wrath of the Titans, like its predecessor, is a slightly-better-than-OK mashing of one of history's great literary troves: the Greek myths.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 30, 2012
    50
    Wrath of the Titans suggests a franchise that isn't trying very hard, and I don't really expect a sequel. But if it does happen, I fear it'll be even less of an event: "Tiff of the Titans."
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Mar 28, 2012
    40
    If even a tenth of the care and attention lavished on the production design and action sequences had been afforded the script, this could have been an adventure of legendary proportions. As it is, this fizzles whenever anyone opens their mouths.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 29, 2012
    40
    Some of the action sequences, and a few of the performances, are enjoyable enough to make up for the dialogue, which has been upgraded to cheerfully absurd, and the plot, which has been simplified to the point of actual coherence.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Mar 29, 2012
    38
    Rarely has a film so equally balanced macho and nacho, but Wrath does leave us with a few valuable lessons: a.) fratricide is a nasty business, best left to the Greeks and b) fighting fire with fire may sound good, but it turns out to be a really stupid idea.
  7. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Mar 28, 2012
    0
    Made possible by the half a billion dollars Clash of the Titans garnered worldwide, Wrath of the Titans sputters and coughs on the fumes of its own inevitability.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 101
  2. Negative: 29 out of 101
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    WOW really 36/100. can't believe Critic's sometimes, just seen the movie its alot better then Clash Of The Titans. Story might not be %100 byWOW really 36/100. can't believe Critic's sometimes, just seen the movie its alot better then Clash Of The Titans. Story might not be %100 by the book but its worth watching. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    I actually really enjoyed this movie. What exactly are you expecting in a movie such as this when you criticize the story, acting, characterI actually really enjoyed this movie. What exactly are you expecting in a movie such as this when you criticize the story, acting, character development? This is a Monster movie, ideal for a Saturday afternoon with little thought needed. Check your high-brow, internal critic at the door and just let it be the roller coaster it was intended. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2012
    7
    Just got finished watching the midnight showing. I had already read the reviews and saw that it was getting some flack but decided to check itJust got finished watching the midnight showing. I had already read the reviews and saw that it was getting some flack but decided to check it out anyway. I was pleasantly surprised that I walked away doubting the reviewers I had previously read. The movie is a solid action flick, good special effects, and much improved 3D over the original. Overall I feel the pacing was much better than Clash and more intense. The mythology aspect was improved upon as well (although not following much to real mythos), but the involvement of the super natural was a lot heavier. The only real complaints are there wasn't much explanation for the basis of the story or reviving Cronos... It kind of just is happening. The characters weren't too deep, but honestly I wasn't expecting that anyway. Sam Worthington is improved but still so-so. Either way, I was entertained and so was the group I went with. From the discussions overheard after exiting the movie, it seems that the audience as a whole liked it too. Worth checking out if you want to see a fun action flick or enjoy mythology. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2012
    5
    A film that seems to only use the names of Greek gods and goddesses for the potential, yet withered benefit of the film rarely awards itA film that seems to only use the names of Greek gods and goddesses for the potential, yet withered benefit of the film rarely awards it viewers with the satisfaction of knowing that they're in for a treat with this lackluster sequel. I'm not hammering the film, yet it seems to have a few more pros than cons this time round after the mediocre attempt at Clash of the Titans remake in 2010. Take the 3D, for example. In 2010's installment, the 3D was horrific and hurt the viewer's eyes, however this time round in Wrath, the 3D seems so much more tidy, and I wasn't as disappointed with it as I was in Clash. Also, this time, I find Sam Worthington to more a believable Perseus, after seeming rather weak and lifeless in Clash. I think it's his curly locks... The verdict: watch Wrath for the visual enjoyment alone, not the plot, not the characters. It's not worth it. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2016
    4
    I think this movie should been giving a meta score of 40 on imdb. The movie was fun to watch in the cinema. It was full of intense action. TheI think this movie should been giving a meta score of 40 on imdb. The movie was fun to watch in the cinema. It was full of intense action. The effects of this movie was great. Some scenes of the movie was kind of boring but i still enjoyed the filming. Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2012
    3
    This film is garbage, just like the original. Why bother making a sequel to such a failing concept? I won't even go over the cateogories- asThis film is garbage, just like the original. Why bother making a sequel to such a failing concept? I won't even go over the cateogories- as it follows up the original with a simular "suck level." I cannot recommend this film. Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    0
    Wrath of the Titans is an overall headache-inducing experience. It has amazing visuals that are ugly and assault the eyes, sets that lookWrath of the Titans is an overall headache-inducing experience. It has amazing visuals that are ugly and assault the eyes, sets that look completely staged, and a sense of no joy whatsoever. As far as a comparison to it's predecessor, the two are almost indistinguishable. They are both loud, emotionless, painful, and do nothing to leave their cultural mark on anything. Sadly, though, with a franchise this widely seem, they will leave several marks, closer to scars than beauty spots. The only reason I can give to see this film is the visuals, but for their technical wizardry, not their beauty. There is also a single moment of humor near the end that catches you off guard because the rest of the movie is so horribly serious. You will feel the wrath, that's for certain. Collapse

See all 101 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 24, 2012
    This week, watch new clips and trailers for Pixar's "Brave," "The Wrath of the Titans," "American Reunion," "Bully," and more, and get a concise recap of major developments in the film world from the past seven days.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.