Wrath of the Titans

Wrath of the Titans Image
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 285 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A decade after his heroic defeat of the monstrous Kraken, Perseus-the demigod son of Zeus-is attempting to live a quieter life as a village fisherman and the sole parent to his 10-year old son, Helius. Meanwhile, a struggle for supremacy rages between the gods and the Titans. DangerouslyA decade after his heroic defeat of the monstrous Kraken, Perseus-the demigod son of Zeus-is attempting to live a quieter life as a village fisherman and the sole parent to his 10-year old son, Helius. Meanwhile, a struggle for supremacy rages between the gods and the Titans. Dangerously weakened by humanity's lack of devotion, the gods are losing control of the imprisoned Titans and their ferocious leader, Kronos, father of the long-ruling brothers Zeus, Hades and Poseidon. The triumvirate had overthrown their powerful father long ago, leaving him to rot in the gloomy abyss of Tartarus, a dungeon that lies deep within the cavernous underworld. Perseus cannot ignore his true calling when Hades, along with Zeus' godly son, Ares, switch loyalty and make a deal with Kronos to capture Zeus. The Titans' strength grows stronger as Zeus' remaining godly powers are siphoned, and hell is unleashed on earth. Enlisting the help of the warrior Queen Andromeda, Poseidon's demigod son, Argenor, and fallen god Hephaestus, Perseus bravely embarks on a treacherous quest into the underworld to rescue Zeus, overthrow the Titans and save mankind. (Warner Bros. Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Mar 29, 2012
    80
    Leaner, meaner, and far superior to 2010's Clash cock-up. From top-grade 3D to a multitude of monsters and a welcome influx of acting talent, this is pure popcorn pleasure.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Mar 29, 2012
    60
    Wrath of the Titans, like its predecessor, is a slightly-better-than-OK mashing of one of history's great literary troves: the Greek myths.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 30, 2012
    50
    Wrath of the Titans suggests a franchise that isn't trying very hard, and I don't really expect a sequel. But if it does happen, I fear it'll be even less of an event: "Tiff of the Titans."
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Mar 28, 2012
    40
    If even a tenth of the care and attention lavished on the production design and action sequences had been afforded the script, this could have been an adventure of legendary proportions. As it is, this fizzles whenever anyone opens their mouths.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 29, 2012
    40
    Some of the action sequences, and a few of the performances, are enjoyable enough to make up for the dialogue, which has been upgraded to cheerfully absurd, and the plot, which has been simplified to the point of actual coherence.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Mar 29, 2012
    38
    Rarely has a film so equally balanced macho and nacho, but Wrath does leave us with a few valuable lessons: a.) fratricide is a nasty business, best left to the Greeks and b) fighting fire with fire may sound good, but it turns out to be a really stupid idea.
  7. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Mar 28, 2012
    0
    Made possible by the half a billion dollars Clash of the Titans garnered worldwide, Wrath of the Titans sputters and coughs on the fumes of its own inevitability.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 99
  2. Negative: 28 out of 99
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    WOW really 36/100. can't believe Critic's sometimes, just seen the movie its alot better then Clash Of The Titans. Story might not be %100 byWOW really 36/100. can't believe Critic's sometimes, just seen the movie its alot better then Clash Of The Titans. Story might not be %100 by the book but its worth watching. Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Wrath of the Titans was different from its predecessor film, clash of the titans 2010. the story was weak, not enough details to the movie,Wrath of the Titans was different from its predecessor film, clash of the titans 2010. the story was weak, not enough details to the movie, but the special effects to the film were on point including on Kronos. the cast to the Wrath film were good, the actions or battles were great, better than the first. my opinion this film is one of the best I see so far. Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    I had doubts for this film, I thought it was going to be like the first...which isn't a good thing; you see, Clash of the Titans was a ratherI had doubts for this film, I thought it was going to be like the first...which isn't a good thing; you see, Clash of the Titans was a rather disappointing film and I thought I was going to feel the same way about this...I was wrong for sure. Wrath of the Titans is a film that in my opinion became better and better as the film went on. Wrath provides great visuals, great 3D and a dedicated performance by Liam Neeson and Ralph Feines. In fact, the only bad performance in the film was from Sam Worthington...who always plays himself in every film he is in! Overall, Wrath of the Titans is a major improvement over the disappointing Clash of the Titans, this is what Clash was supposed to be. Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    5
    Wrath, clash, smash, bash, it's all the same for Sam Worthington as he returns as Greek demigod Perseus. Wrath is very similar in style, plotWrath, clash, smash, bash, it's all the same for Sam Worthington as he returns as Greek demigod Perseus. Wrath is very similar in style, plot and well just about everything else to Louis Leterrier's 2010 Clash of the Titans. It treads the same ground, impressive visuals, monsters, battles, the reluctant hero, nothing is new.

    The film certainly doesn't score any points for it's dialogue. Somebody needs to explain to me why writers continually load scripts with cheesy lines. Point in case being Perseus looking up at the cyclops towering over him for the first time and saying to himself, 'You gotta be kidding me'. WHY, WHY, WHY, doesn't anyone from the directors to the actor themselves resist spouting garbage like this.

    I struggle to comprehend why the likes of Ralph Fiennes, Liam Neeson and Bill Nighy, making his first appearance of the franchise, bother with this type of mediocrity.

    Wrath of the Titans is not going to win any awards for originality, script or its acting. I guess that no-one watches this film with those kind of expectations, however for mindless, action blockbusters there are better options.
    Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2012
    4
    A tad better than the Clash of the Titans but still.
    Nice CGI and fights yet... why Hollywood wants to rape Greek Mithology so badly? Is it so
    A tad better than the Clash of the Titans but still.
    Nice CGI and fights yet... why Hollywood wants to rape Greek Mithology so badly? Is it so hard to make a movie that is not completely trivial or with characters who are as flat as pancakes? I don't expect Citizen Kane set in ancient Greece but I'd like something more than random action scenes stuck together through a story that is as good as the one of Clash of the Titans (which was bad, if you don't know already).
    Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2012
    3
    This film is garbage, just like the original. Why bother making a sequel to such a failing concept? I won't even go over the cateogories- asThis film is garbage, just like the original. Why bother making a sequel to such a failing concept? I won't even go over the cateogories- as it follows up the original with a simular "suck level." I cannot recommend this film. Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    0
    Wrath of the Titans is an overall headache-inducing experience. It has amazing visuals that are ugly and assault the eyes, sets that lookWrath of the Titans is an overall headache-inducing experience. It has amazing visuals that are ugly and assault the eyes, sets that look completely staged, and a sense of no joy whatsoever. As far as a comparison to it's predecessor, the two are almost indistinguishable. They are both loud, emotionless, painful, and do nothing to leave their cultural mark on anything. Sadly, though, with a franchise this widely seem, they will leave several marks, closer to scars than beauty spots. The only reason I can give to see this film is the visuals, but for their technical wizardry, not their beauty. There is also a single moment of humor near the end that catches you off guard because the rest of the movie is so horribly serious. You will feel the wrath, that's for certain. Collapse

See all 99 User Reviews

Trailers