Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: April 1, 2010
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 416 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
130
Mixed:
158
Negative:
128
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
AndreiB.Apr 2, 2010
I've wanted to see this movie since November. My father told me all about it and the old movie back in 1981. I got so interested that I watched the trailers of this movie countless times. Well, I'm going to watch it today and I've wanted to see this movie since November. My father told me all about it and the old movie back in 1981. I got so interested that I watched the trailers of this movie countless times. Well, I'm going to watch it today and I'm excited! Thank you. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
9
JivanA.Apr 3, 2010
I seriously liked the movie, It was a good family film, and decent plot for something so preposterous. Highly enjoyable, but you should go into it knowing it's an action film.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
7
MarkGApr 4, 2010
Dont' expect too much because April is now the start of the summer movie season. But that being said I did enjoy this movie and I would see it again. People sometimes have to much to say regarding all the aspects of the movie making Dont' expect too much because April is now the start of the summer movie season. But that being said I did enjoy this movie and I would see it again. People sometimes have to much to say regarding all the aspects of the movie making process when they judge a movie. So here's my advice ... if you like adventure movies based on some historical themes or mytholical ideas then this may be your type of movie. Just accept it as a fun movie that could have been better. I think that it was not worth the harsh reviews that some have given it. If you are looking for something deeper or full of more action then you may be a little disappointed. If you like "summer popcorn flicks" then rejoice because this is just the start of the season. Was somewhat different than the original but no one really wants a remake to be exactly the same. I would give this movie a 7.2 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WayneApr 10, 2010
Entertaining movie, with great action and special effects.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KeithC.Apr 1, 2010
My friend fell SOUND asleep and was snoring in 10 minutes. Unfortunately, I said awake and watched this mess of a movie. Do NOT waste your time to see this movie unless you are homeless and seeking shelter and a good sleep. As my friend My friend fell SOUND asleep and was snoring in 10 minutes. Unfortunately, I said awake and watched this mess of a movie. Do NOT waste your time to see this movie unless you are homeless and seeking shelter and a good sleep. As my friend said, this movie was "better than midol". ABSOLUTELY a WASTE of time and money. I saw it for FREE and almost got up and walked out (in hindsight I should have). Cheesy story, fair acting, no eye candy, no real focused fighting scenes, and NO 3D. Don't WASTE your money or time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChuckTApr 2, 2010
A good action film with good special effects. Yes if you see it in 3D you will be disappointed, but watching it normally its a great film, and much better then some films I've seen lately.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JosephKApr 22, 2010
I hated the original, and the remake was worse! I wish I could force the next director of a sword and sandals epic featuring the Olympians to read "Beyond Good and Evil" so that they might try to stop imposing Christian concepts of good and I hated the original, and the remake was worse! I wish I could force the next director of a sword and sandals epic featuring the Olympians to read "Beyond Good and Evil" so that they might try to stop imposing Christian concepts of good and evil on the Greek pantheon. Hades wasn't evil, he was just gloomy. I feel like the script was written at the time of the original Clash of the Titans by a twelve year old kid who loved to play Dungeons & Dragons: I want giant scorpions! and jinn! flying monkeys, no flying gargoyles! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AlistairV.Apr 3, 2010
"Clash of the Titans" is just like every summer blockbuster ever to be released in the last ten years: boring, shallow, and really rather dull. It concentrates on style over substance. However, "Clash" has the distinct disadvantage of also "Clash of the Titans" is just like every summer blockbuster ever to be released in the last ten years: boring, shallow, and really rather dull. It concentrates on style over substance. However, "Clash" has the distinct disadvantage of also being rather mean spirited. It seems to be championing atheism and/or humanism in such a dogmatic manner that it rather bludgeons you over the head with it. All the people who want to pray to the gods are seen as insane zealots and Perseus, who refuses to pray, himself, is seen as a stronger individual because of it. Also, I really didn't know who to sympathize with through the entire film. I know I was supposed to be rooting for Perseus, but I was very much sympathetic toward Hades's plight. I wasn't supposed to be, but I was. Rather like, G.I. Joe or Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, I found myself rooting for the bad guys half the time, partially just because the good guys are so bloody irritating. Only, in "Clash," it's even worse, because, the only relatable characters on the "good" side are killed off before the final battle! And, this may be a cheap shot, but just about everyone except Perseus looks like some slightly less aged form of Mickey Rourke. This movie is not worth your time. Don't bother. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanOApr 4, 2010
What can I say? I went to see people fighting mythological creatures where CGI was used to make it prettier... I wasn't let down for a second. I guess I'm confused, how does one recycled plot CGI movie that abuses the technique What can I say? I went to see people fighting mythological creatures where CGI was used to make it prettier... I wasn't let down for a second. I guess I'm confused, how does one recycled plot CGI movie that abuses the technique with smurf people get rave reviews over a movie that uses a recycled plot with CGI with mythological creatures? Your guess is as good as mine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DylanB.Apr 4, 2010
I don't care what anyone says, I loved it and that's all that matters to me. Awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ArnoldRApr 4, 2010
Epicly disappointing! Two of the three major sequences (Three Witches & Medusa) were not improvements over the original. Pegasus is (basically) written out of the story. Only the Kracken sequence is what audiences expect, and it comes during Epicly disappointing! Two of the three major sequences (Three Witches & Medusa) were not improvements over the original. Pegasus is (basically) written out of the story. Only the Kracken sequence is what audiences expect, and it comes during the final ten minutes of the film. Skip the 3-D, which is boring and not worth the extra $. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeithGApr 4, 2010
Stunned at how many critics have failed to see what this film is : a fun, action-packed, CGI tip of the hat to older movies such as the "Sinbads", "Jason and the Argonauts", the old "Clash", etc. And as someone who loved those movies growing Stunned at how many critics have failed to see what this film is : a fun, action-packed, CGI tip of the hat to older movies such as the "Sinbads", "Jason and the Argonauts", the old "Clash", etc. And as someone who loved those movies growing up, I appreciate this salute. This film is exactly what it advertises to be. Critics seemed to be expecting a cutting-edge, dramatically complex, epic. Take it for what it's meant to be. A fun time, nice CGI effects, and a great nostalgic feel. I've seen it twice, in 2-D and 3-D. 3-D is a complete waste and a horrible conversion. 2-D actually made the film more entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobWApr 5, 2010
Why is everyone saying this movie sucks? It's so much better than that joke of a movie Avatar. Seriously, the plot is brilliant. In fact its key word, "ALMOST" Better than Transformers plot. That plot was brilliant. All they really Why is everyone saying this movie sucks? It's so much better than that joke of a movie Avatar. Seriously, the plot is brilliant. In fact its key word, "ALMOST" Better than Transformers plot. That plot was brilliant. All they really needed was for Megan Fox to strip and then this movie would blow any movie out of the water. Don't go in there with any expectations. In fact, go in there high or drunk and you will realise what im talking about. Only really two words to describe this movie: FREAKEN AMAZING!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SausageApr 5, 2010
Jake sully tackles the gods in his next voyage after Navi...Oh...wait...?? I think Ive witnessed better acting from a plank!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaulByApr 5, 2010
Don't get me wrong, i love CGI action epics, even if they have a cheezy storyline..... so i ignored any bad reviews of this - but please heed my warning, this movie is terrible. Worthington is awefull - i kinda liked him terminator, but Don't get me wrong, i love CGI action epics, even if they have a cheezy storyline..... so i ignored any bad reviews of this - but please heed my warning, this movie is terrible. Worthington is awefull - i kinda liked him terminator, but it looked like he was acting the same part (aussie action guy!), didnt even bother wearing a wig! - you could have started the movie with him time traveling from the future into ancient greece, thats how out of place he seemed throughout the movie. The same goes for his felmale sidekick, who is superfluous, and appears to be in their as eye candy/ love interest. You could have removed both characters, and the movie would have been better - the supporting warriors put in a much more convincing show than any of the lead characters. It's so badly edited, the movie jumps all over the place, half the time it doesnt explain enogh, other times the characters explain too much..... yes Perseus is the son of a god, we get it ...stop saying the word demigod every five minuites... aargh! For the first time in a long time i was looking at my watch in the cinema, and wanting the movie to hurry up. If i had to use one word to describe it it is BORING... other reviewers have said this and i couldnt undersatand how this movie could be, ... but please believe me it actually is. Even the great CGI, and awesome Kraken in the endscene couldnt save this absolutre stinker of a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MZApr 5, 2010
I'll vote this for worst story of 2010. Sucked from the beginning till the end. Bad costumes, storyline and action scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ScottHApr 9, 2010
Not only was this movie terrible from an enjoyment view point. It was ripe with inaccuracies. Zeus sporting armour and a brown beard???? Hades doesn't have wings and wears a headdress, but the movie said so. The process leading up to Not only was this movie terrible from an enjoyment view point. It was ripe with inaccuracies. Zeus sporting armour and a brown beard???? Hades doesn't have wings and wears a headdress, but the movie said so. The process leading up to Medusa's death is 90% wrong. Not to mention Medusa is supposed to be ugly as shit, not kinda hot like she is in the movie. The climax is a guy walking up stairs. I was going into this movie because it looked like it was going to be good. I could not have been more disappointed. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
thenitabomberApr 9, 2010
If you are the looking for the original clash of the titans then go watch it. this was a decent re-imagining of the original. i could not think of a better job than what was done with it. i could hate on this movie for hours but i found it If you are the looking for the original clash of the titans then go watch it. this was a decent re-imagining of the original. i could not think of a better job than what was done with it. i could hate on this movie for hours but i found it an entertaining movie. save a couple of bucks on the 3d and just go see the 2d. nothing will ever beat harryhausen so there is no comparison to the original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DickS.Apr 1, 2010
Epic story, over condensed, with too much focus on action that quite frankly sucked. This movie was terrible. I expected it to be less than good going in, and was still very disappointed. The 3D was nothing special either.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Z.P.Apr 1, 2010
great movie, simply awsome, with spectacular special effects and story. Recomended
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SamS.Apr 2, 2010
How does Metacritic work??? Roger Ebert gave the movie 3 stars (shows how good a critic he is...) and somehow metacritic turned this into a score of 73. Whoever is doing the math for you guys should be fired. I flunked my maths exam at How does Metacritic work??? Roger Ebert gave the movie 3 stars (shows how good a critic he is...) and somehow metacritic turned this into a score of 73. Whoever is doing the math for you guys should be fired. I flunked my maths exam at college and even I can work this one out!!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MikhailRApr 2, 2010
Excellent source material, but it still didn't deliver. The only reason I saw this was to see Liam Neeson be his awesome self, yet he was barely in the movie. In the end it inspired me to hurry up and beat God of War 2 so I can play God Excellent source material, but it still didn't deliver. The only reason I saw this was to see Liam Neeson be his awesome self, yet he was barely in the movie. In the end it inspired me to hurry up and beat God of War 2 so I can play God of War 3. On a side note I would have much perfered 1hr55min of Liam Neeson breathing and repeating "Release the Krackin". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronLApr 2, 2010
People really need to see this movie for what it was, a popcorn movie like 300. Everyone seemed to need a smoke after that one and it was almost the same deal. It was a good action movie with pretty good acting even though the ending was a People really need to see this movie for what it was, a popcorn movie like 300. Everyone seemed to need a smoke after that one and it was almost the same deal. It was a good action movie with pretty good acting even though the ending was a little quick and the movie was shorter than expected. I do recommend it to people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
C.R.LApr 23, 2010
While it is not as good as it could have been or should have been "Clash of the titans" is no more and no less fun. It's a good way to kill almost two hours if you want to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RadostinRApr 26, 2010
Hello. I apologize for my bad English but I decided to write to you. You can not deny that deal well with the effects in movies, but I can not agree with the fact that falsify history and mythology. You Americans let distort human values and Hello. I apologize for my bad English but I decided to write to you. You can not deny that deal well with the effects in movies, but I can not agree with the fact that falsify history and mythology. You Americans let distort human values and history. Read the legend of Perseus. Why did you make this stupid movie.Why do you allow to falsify mythology. All your movies (American) are not true. Why? Thoughts that you can replace the facts. All films on historical themes and mythology are skewed. These are the 300 and Clash of the Titans and the legend of the Golden Fleece, for Odysseus, the Trojan War and the Roman Empire. All movies that you Americans have created fake facts. Why do you allow to falsify mythology. All your movies (American) are not true. Why? Thoughts that you can replace the facts. All films on historical themes and mythology are skewed. These are the 300 and Clash of the Titans and the legend of the Golden Fleece, for Odysseus, the Trojan War to the Roman Empire of Alexander and Macedonians. All movies that you Americans have created fake facts. This nonsense that you distribute. For what do you think. How long? Can you write more but will stop. Please do something real. Do not you see that your children learn so wrong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
jasong.Apr 2, 2010
Avoid this movie ive only given it 1 because of the special effects which you've already seen on the trailer wooden acting boring terrible story the 80s version wasn't perfect but it has at least a bit of charm and made for a Avoid this movie ive only given it 1 because of the special effects which you've already seen on the trailer wooden acting boring terrible story the 80s version wasn't perfect but it has at least a bit of charm and made for a minuscule amount.oh year if you are dumb enough to watch this movie like me don't go to a 3d showing why?because it isent in so called digital 3d this was obviously not filmed with 3d in mind and they just tacked it on so they could make extra money poor movie not really in 3d rip off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JadaD.Apr 2, 2010
If you enjoy an action movie with no plot that makes absolutely no sense, go see this movie. I can't recall the last time I paid to see a film this bad, normally waiting until they come out on DVD. Even with low expectations, I was If you enjoy an action movie with no plot that makes absolutely no sense, go see this movie. I can't recall the last time I paid to see a film this bad, normally waiting until they come out on DVD. Even with low expectations, I was upset at the quality of the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CharlieCApr 2, 2010
If you're a fan of Greek mythos than this movie is for you. Yes it is a bit cheesy (the original takes the cake on thatcthough) and it is very driven by it's big names. My favorite was ralph fiennes who was an amazing hades. Great If you're a fan of Greek mythos than this movie is for you. Yes it is a bit cheesy (the original takes the cake on thatcthough) and it is very driven by it's big names. My favorite was ralph fiennes who was an amazing hades. Great CGI though, it's getting much more easy to swallow as it looks more and more realistic. Medusa and the kraken rocked. Check it out you might like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KyleBApr 3, 2010
Even though this movie has epic visual effects the story is choppy and the dialogue is very 1 dimensional. Sam Worthington is a terrific actor but unfortunately he isn't given much room to showcase his abilities. This movie was a huge Even though this movie has epic visual effects the story is choppy and the dialogue is very 1 dimensional. Sam Worthington is a terrific actor but unfortunately he isn't given much room to showcase his abilities. This movie was a huge disappointment. Don't waste your money folks... you'll kick yourself after wards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasenH.Apr 30, 2010
I was a fan of the original film. I enjoyed the plot and fx in this iteration. Went into it with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanL.Apr 3, 2010
Horrible, absolutely horrible. I love the original, its one of my favorite movies, I still love the original to this day. I do not know why filmakers want to delibertly destroy a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatrickPApr 3, 2010
This movie is the ultimate popcorn flick, full of action and light on talk. If you come here expecting lots of action, you'll get it in spades. If you are expecting a masterpiece, expect to be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EIApr 3, 2010
What a waste of 1.5hours of my life which I will never get back. Apparently the writers never gave any thought in creating a story that keeps the audience interested. Special effects can only do so much. Oh i wished the people who What a waste of 1.5hours of my life which I will never get back. Apparently the writers never gave any thought in creating a story that keeps the audience interested. Special effects can only do so much. Oh i wished the people who created/wrote/directed the God of War trilogy made a movie that does justice to the great Greek mythological stories we read as a kid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DallasT.Apr 3, 2010
I don't know what movie these people thought they were going to see? I saw the movie that I thought I was going to see and it was good (like going to Hot Tub and expecting Shakespeare...not). If you liked the old one then "do not miss" I don't know what movie these people thought they were going to see? I saw the movie that I thought I was going to see and it was good (like going to Hot Tub and expecting Shakespeare...not). If you liked the old one then "do not miss" this version. I don't think it is worth the extra few bucks for the 3D version. Some of the 3D effects were even distracting and looked like blurry screw-ups at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PineappleMummyApr 3, 2010
Well, I think it's a good film. I've never watched the original Clash of the Titans but I enjoyed this movie. Although there are some points that isn't elaborated much in the film (such as the chemistry between Io and Perseus) Well, I think it's a good film. I've never watched the original Clash of the Titans but I enjoyed this movie. Although there are some points that isn't elaborated much in the film (such as the chemistry between Io and Perseus) and the mythologically incorrect scenes (where Perseus should be with Andromeda, rather than with Io, if I may remember correctly), I believe this movie is a good and enjoyable one. Perhaps the only thing that keeps bothering me is Sam's thin haired head - that was so distinct compared to other "hairy" characters - that he had during T4 and Avatar (and now, in CotT). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DonnieBApr 3, 2010
My favorite movie critic, Confused Matthew, once said, "A movie does not have to be good in order for you to like it." That is how I felt about this movie. I enjoyed watching this movie, but it was not good. First of all, our protagonist, My favorite movie critic, Confused Matthew, once said, "A movie does not have to be good in order for you to like it." That is how I felt about this movie. I enjoyed watching this movie, but it was not good. First of all, our protagonist, Placebo (ok Perceus, but he's so bland and useless, he may as well be a placebo) was a sorry excuse for a protagonist. He had no personality and no likeable traits that make the movie watcher like it. The character Lo, the leading lady, did a terrible acting job and everything about her character screamed "plot conveinence". She only spoke to explain the plot. The gods were lifeless and bland. The soldiers did a really good job and I really liked them. However, they only got 5 seconds of screen time and were either killed or disappeared from the story. The bright side was the graphics, the different gods and creatures looked phenominal, but again all good things in this movie only last 5 seconds. It was entertaining, but not good. It looks like they will try to make a sequel, but there's no reason to look foward to it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SamLedApr 3, 2010
The acting in this movie was good. The action was pretty cool. Thats about it. The story was dull, in my opinion, it could have had more kick to it, either be a little more original, or have some different circumstances. But nonetheless, the The acting in this movie was good. The action was pretty cool. Thats about it. The story was dull, in my opinion, it could have had more kick to it, either be a little more original, or have some different circumstances. But nonetheless, the film overall wasn't particularly bad. But wasn't that good either. If you haven't seen this movie, have it as a last resort to the movies you want to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisR.Apr 3, 2010
Better then I expected! Walked into the theater expecting a cheesy 300-copying popcorn flick, but it turned out to be an alright action movie. The movie progresses at a non-stop breakneck speed, so don't expect much downtime between Better then I expected! Walked into the theater expecting a cheesy 300-copying popcorn flick, but it turned out to be an alright action movie. The movie progresses at a non-stop breakneck speed, so don't expect much downtime between action scenes and the story isn't all that complicated. The acting is fine, Sam Worthington plays his part surprisingly well, and the Kraken scene feels larger then life. My only complaint, why did they make the gods where the most cheesy ridiculous shiny sparkly outfits, they look completely stupid! Oh, and one of the characters is made out of twigs and communicates in grunts... kinda weird. But overall I enjoyed it, and if you scratch below the surface you'll find there's a surprising amount of depth to it as well! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RobWApr 3, 2010
Not what I had hoped. This movie was not the 3d specticle that I thought it would be. I like the original much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MatPApr 4, 2010
The trailer set my expectations, and the feature met them. Entertaining popcorn action. Just needed more distorted guitars, and less clothes on Arterton.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MartinRApr 4, 2010
Worst. Movie. Ever. Not only does this film annoyingly alter Greek mythology beyond all recognition; the Clash of the Titans features no actual clashing Titans. Instead it provides the Gorgon Medusa and a very altered version of Keto that Worst. Movie. Ever. Not only does this film annoyingly alter Greek mythology beyond all recognition; the Clash of the Titans features no actual clashing Titans. Instead it provides the Gorgon Medusa and a very altered version of Keto that they dubbed 'Kraken' - neither creature doing much more than killing off the hairy-bearded-man-fodder that this movie seems to have in high supply. Furthermore the plot was trite, clichéd, and the acting subpar to the point of distraction. Which is sad considering the number of fantastic actors that they had in the movie (Gemma Arterton anyone?). If you don't mind watching an easily predictable and heavily over-foreshadowed sham of a film, this might be the movie for you. (On the bright side, alot of stuff does get smashed) But I, for one, have much more productive things to do with my time... like stare at static or try to lick my elbow. On one final note; the 3D version that I spent 13.50 to see sported more 3D during its previews than in the entire showing. I miss Avatar already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlairNApr 4, 2010
Wonderful retelling of a classic 80s flick. The cast all do a phenomenal job. The environments are clever and diverse, and the action sequences are paced wonderfully. Bonus points for having Liam Neeson as Zeus. If anyone has even the Wonderful retelling of a classic 80s flick. The cast all do a phenomenal job. The environments are clever and diverse, and the action sequences are paced wonderfully. Bonus points for having Liam Neeson as Zeus. If anyone has even the smallest interest in Greek Mythology, God of War, or basically Fantasy Fiction in general, then you will not go wrong with Clash of the Titans! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DonDApr 4, 2010
Cheesy is the correct the word for this movie. OK...I know the original is not Lord of the Rings, but I do remember the original being fun. The first hour of this movie had me wanting to stick toothpicks in my eyes to keep them open. I was Cheesy is the correct the word for this movie. OK...I know the original is not Lord of the Rings, but I do remember the original being fun. The first hour of this movie had me wanting to stick toothpicks in my eyes to keep them open. I was falling a sleep. The funny aspects of the film seemed very forced. Think of the most cheesy 80's buddy cop film and you have the funny bits in this movie...CORNY. The main character is not strong and his speech in the middle of the movie had me laughing. I will say that the special effects are good. Go knowing that you have seen the best parts of this movie in the trailer. It will also remind you of why Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, X-Men and other movies of the type are better. Those movies balance humor, fantasy and action into a good movie. This director needs to watch those movies and learn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KeijiMApr 4, 2010
Its a boring movie. A list actors and effects, with C rank action. Kept dozing off through out the movie from how dredfully boring it was. No constant average muddled action. No big scenes. Probably one of the most overrated movies for this Its a boring movie. A list actors and effects, with C rank action. Kept dozing off through out the movie from how dredfully boring it was. No constant average muddled action. No big scenes. Probably one of the most overrated movies for this year. Absolutely terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
hcApr 5, 2010
I was rooting for Medusa and the Krakon. what a waste of story, actors, cgi, even Pegasus. Mind you, I had low expectations going in. No one releases a movie this time of year unless it's pretty crap, but sheesh, Clash had to make a I was rooting for Medusa and the Krakon. what a waste of story, actors, cgi, even Pegasus. Mind you, I had low expectations going in. No one releases a movie this time of year unless it's pretty crap, but sheesh, Clash had to make a contest of it. Really, the writing/story is where the epic fail spews forth (as with so many movies, it seems)--and it's not even campy good like the original, just plain ole amateur hour. Also, it's really not worth seeing films in 3D that weren't shot/made for 3D----seriously, paying extra bucks to watch a coin flip at me is insulting. what a lame movie all around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
elij.Apr 5, 2010
Louis Leterrier could have made this movie decent if he would have improved the main character and the dialogue. oh well, at least we still have the last great Greek mythology remake to look forward too, Jason and the Argonauts. Trust me its Louis Leterrier could have made this movie decent if he would have improved the main character and the dialogue. oh well, at least we still have the last great Greek mythology remake to look forward too, Jason and the Argonauts. Trust me its gonna happen, and if they completely ruin that one like they did this one, i will be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NeilBApr 5, 2010
Not very good. They changed the story to match Disney's Hercules.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CalRedApr 5, 2010
It was ok. We went into this movie with very low expectations. I think if you can look at it from an "over the top" perspective of Greek Mythology you will have fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DevonCApr 7, 2010
As a Big-Budget popcorn blockbuster, the 3D will attract audiences everywhere in North America. But as an epic of Greek mythology. The movie fails in the eyes of the director, writers, producers, special effects artists, and especially As a Big-Budget popcorn blockbuster, the 3D will attract audiences everywhere in North America. But as an epic of Greek mythology. The movie fails in the eyes of the director, writers, producers, special effects artists, and especially cinematographers. This movie is complete at being enjoyable, but is filmmaking at it's worst. Thank god the 3D only lasted less than 2 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadSApr 7, 2010
Dressed in a shiny white tunic, Liam Neeson looks like he'd rather be starring in Robert Greenwald's "Xanadu", but rollerskating isn't an Olympian sport. It's hard to be omnipotent when you're a fashion victim. Dressed in a shiny white tunic, Liam Neeson looks like he'd rather be starring in Robert Greenwald's "Xanadu", but rollerskating isn't an Olympian sport. It's hard to be omnipotent when you're a fashion victim. Laurence Olivier, on the other hand, wore a more befitting tunic(basically, a toga) in the original "Clash of the Titans". He was a God's God. His Zeus wouldn't be caught dead wearing something so gawdy(gawd-y). One look at Zeus, and it's no wonder that Hades(played by Ralph Fiennes, who has enough self-defeating hair outgrowths to be a "Battlefield Earth" extra) thinks he can outsmart his brother. When the Greek people of Argos declare war on the gods, Zeus should handle the insurrection by himself. He's the "Father of Gods and men", after all. Why is he taking advice from Hades? Olivier's Zeus was a badass, a wrathful deity who didn't need the god of the underworld to do his bidding. If you're backtracking to the 1981 Desmond Davis-directed flick, Zeus' expedient, wholly irrational need for vengeance is downright jarring next to the current old(old, old, old, old...) softie interpretation of the all-mighty posed by Neeson, who only accedes to Hades' machinations as a last resort. Like "Percy Jackson & the Lightning Thief", the filmmaker contemporizes Zeus. The concerned father doesn't give Persius(Sam Worthington) the keys to the car(chariot), but he does give his son some spending money(a gold coin in order to bribe the ferryman) for his big night out at the bog. While the new "Clash of the Titans" improves on the listless narrative of the original, it's less bold in the sense that it uses a reductionist approach to Greek mythology. Hades is an absolutely extraneous character, but morally ambiguous gods(e.g. Maggie Smith's Thetis) wouldn't sit well with a studio-sanctioned focus group. In the original, the Kraken belongs to Poseidon. If anything, Hades exists, perhaps, for the sole purpose of being a dangerous pet owner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DamianBApr 7, 2010
I was very much looking forward to watching this film, having been a fan of the original. Unfortunately although the visual and action sequences were excellent, I felt the passion and emotion of the film didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
fotiosGApr 9, 2010
It ok but where's bubo the owl? I had higher expectations for this movie, but that what Hollywood is producing for the masses. The movie felt rushed and the actors could have done a better job it seemed as if they all just did've It ok but where's bubo the owl? I had higher expectations for this movie, but that what Hollywood is producing for the masses. The movie felt rushed and the actors could have done a better job it seemed as if they all just did've care enough to make it a great movie. Also the story needed to be reedited and could of benefited from addition material. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WillBApr 9, 2010
Horrible acting and even worse writing. Don't see it. The special effects DO NOT make up for these down falls.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ErikaSApr 9, 2010
When i saw olympus, it reminded me of hercules. and not to mention, i haven't seen hercules in over 8 years!!! it's called "The Clash of the Titans". where are the titans then? where's the clashing? no. there's no When i saw olympus, it reminded me of hercules. and not to mention, i haven't seen hercules in over 8 years!!! it's called "The Clash of the Titans". where are the titans then? where's the clashing? no. there's no clashing in this movie. there's a head and there's a monster turning into stone. oh wow.. interesting clash of powerful weapons that come from the sacrifices of women. a very cheesy and boring, unrealistic movie + end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidP.Apr 9, 2010
Well, I liked it. Some of the effects actually gave me the chub. The battle with Medusa only gave me a sconge however, so that was slightly disappointing. Worth seeing in 3D if only for the part where you can clearly see Liam Neeson's Well, I liked it. Some of the effects actually gave me the chub. The battle with Medusa only gave me a sconge however, so that was slightly disappointing. Worth seeing in 3D if only for the part where you can clearly see Liam Neeson's heat seeking love missile. If Gemma Arterton got a bit more flesh-generous, two things would have happened - my tally-whacker would have perked right up and I would have scored this as a 7 instead of a 6. Let that be a lesson to all of us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SA.May 2, 2010
The SFX were good but the story was horible and thew last kracken fight was just boring and cheesey just like the rest of the movie. Plus the 3D glasses gave me a headache.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DomoRApr 11, 2010
Everyone's pissed about the 3D. Well, folks, that's not the film's problem, it's yours...and the studio who cynically bumped up expectations by attempting to cash in on a trend. The fact is the film is incredibly Everyone's pissed about the 3D. Well, folks, that's not the film's problem, it's yours...and the studio who cynically bumped up expectations by attempting to cash in on a trend. The fact is the film is incredibly entertaining...and I went to it expecting to hate every minute! Its popcorn fodder of the highest order and no, it doesn't break new ground. But its fun unlike that horrid Avatar that everyone swallowed hook, line and stinker! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeNApr 11, 2010
Just the right amount of mythology and action. I was entertained considering what the reviews stated I was pleasantly surprised.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JHApr 10, 2010
Absolute crap. No 3D, no mythology, no entertainment. They completely ruined the plot, and there's tons of technical errors. You'll feel much more satisfied renting the 1981 original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BillyBApr 10, 2010
the actors did their best, but it all came down to the story, it was just ridiculous. i feel i could of wrote a better script then that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GregAApr 10, 2010
Before you pay all that money for actors and special effects you need a good script. One without giant plot holes or nameless characters you care nothing about. If you don't get the script right...the film is DOOMED from the start. Such Before you pay all that money for actors and special effects you need a good script. One without giant plot holes or nameless characters you care nothing about. If you don't get the script right...the film is DOOMED from the start. Such was the case with Clash of the Plot Holes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobRApr 11, 2010
People take things too seriously for One Herclues messed with Greek Mytholgy this was more on the right pages of greek mytholgy. Two if you read the reviews your going to hate it because they are over crtical of the movie just go see it with People take things too seriously for One Herclues messed with Greek Mytholgy this was more on the right pages of greek mytholgy. Two if you read the reviews your going to hate it because they are over crtical of the movie just go see it with out expecting much its a remake of a classic and everything is there too enjoy. Its a Summer block buster all Fighting story line is ok and Acting from liam nesson was excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JameyGApr 12, 2010
I thought that this movie was awesome when i saw the preview i knew right then and there that i had to see it. All of the action and movements were great. I thought it was so good that I saw it twice in the same week. I saw it in 2D the I thought that this movie was awesome when i saw the preview i knew right then and there that i had to see it. All of the action and movements were great. I thought it was so good that I saw it twice in the same week. I saw it in 2D the first time and in 3D the second time. But let me say this if you want to see it in 3D, don't bother its a waste of money. But some of you losers that say it suck have no taste in movies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also thought that Sam Worthington was good in this movie like he was in avatar and in Terminater Salvation. He's got my vote for actor of the year! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
N.LuckyApr 13, 2010
Despite some corny lines, next to nothing in the character development department, and a blatant rape on Greek Mythology, I quite enjoyed this film. It had a lot of great moments, and though the acting was pretty average, Gemma Arterton Despite some corny lines, next to nothing in the character development department, and a blatant rape on Greek Mythology, I quite enjoyed this film. It had a lot of great moments, and though the acting was pretty average, Gemma Arterton proved to be a very nice addition as Io, and Ralph Fiennes was very slinky as Hades. Liam Neeson was good, but didn't really jump out of the box for me. All in all, a very enjoyable film, especially when Medusa loses her head. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
timothyvanhorenbeeckApr 13, 2010
This movie doesn't have a brilliant story or dialogues, it's not gonna win oscars or other prices, but people re not going to this movie for the story or the dialogues, people go to this movie for awesome effects, just like transformers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NinjaXApr 14, 2010
This was like a SyFy movie with a high budget, less drama, and worse acting. 95% of the characters in the movie were so throwaway, they didn't even have names. To prove this point, the ending credits only showed Actor Names. My Summary This was like a SyFy movie with a high budget, less drama, and worse acting. 95% of the characters in the movie were so throwaway, they didn't even have names. To prove this point, the ending credits only showed Actor Names. My Summary of the Movie: Pouty Persius needs to get a medusa head so he can kill the Kraken while people suddenly appear just so they can die around him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickHApr 17, 2010
Movie was actually pretty good. Actually maybe better than i expected. I wanted to see this movie because the God of war games. Creek mythology has been always interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkRApr 18, 2010
This is one of those "so bad, it's good" kind of movies. If you watch it with friends, you will have a lot of fun pointing out everything that's wrong with it. It butchers mythology, acting, and common logic so much. If you're This is one of those "so bad, it's good" kind of movies. If you watch it with friends, you will have a lot of fun pointing out everything that's wrong with it. It butchers mythology, acting, and common logic so much. If you're having an off day, go see this movie and you will feel better about yourself in comparison. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JoradTApr 18, 2010
Definition of mediocrity. This film was really dull. Never do I fall asleep in films but this almost made me fall asleep. None of the characters were at all interesting (were the exception of the two hunters who barely had much screen time), Definition of mediocrity. This film was really dull. Never do I fall asleep in films but this almost made me fall asleep. None of the characters were at all interesting (were the exception of the two hunters who barely had much screen time), and almost all the scenes were dull, even the action scenes. The gods seemed like wimps and the last battle between the kraken was a big disappointment. One final point is that if you do go see this film do not, and I repeat DO NOT, watch it in 3D. There is literally NONE in the film. Biggest waste of 3D ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesDApr 2, 2010
How did they screw this up? Such a waster. Rent the 1981, save the money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HarlanSApr 2, 2010
The original movie is by far much much better. I was sadly disappointed after watching this remake. I love the original and was hoping that it would or could match the feeling of danger, excitement and awe. Unfortunately, most of it is a let The original movie is by far much much better. I was sadly disappointed after watching this remake. I love the original and was hoping that it would or could match the feeling of danger, excitement and awe. Unfortunately, most of it is a let down. The fight with Medusa was just awful and had no climax at all. Perseus as a fisherman who all of a sudden becomes a warrior and knows how to use a sword ?? I dont think so. Atleast in the original he was training with swords from a young age. NOT a good movie at all. Such a shame .... I had such HIGH HIGH hopes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JimGApr 2, 2010
The only thing that kept me from giving this an outright 0 is that it looked nice and I liked the final scene with the Kraken. Now that we have the good stuff ou of the way...The movie was terrible in just about every aspect, awful dialogue, The only thing that kept me from giving this an outright 0 is that it looked nice and I liked the final scene with the Kraken. Now that we have the good stuff ou of the way...The movie was terrible in just about every aspect, awful dialogue, no character development, and a hypercondensed story were the least of this movie's problems. Everything about it was just awful. Even the name is unfitting, this story has nothing to do with Titans. I think this was supposed to be the story of Perseus, the reason I say I think is because they butchered this ancient greek myth so badly that it was nearly impossible to recognize. The only thing's they really got right were Perseus being a demigod, slaying medusa, and the Kraken. They left out the reason why he needed medusas head (it was not to destroy the Kraken), Athena's Shield, Hermes' boots, and the nymphs and the helm of darkness, Atlas, and his marriage with andromeda is scratched as well as the part where he turns an entire hall of enemies to stone. Sorry for the mythology rant but it is realy irksome to see such a fabulous legend twisted so badly. There is much more I could say but I think I will just finish by saying if you are thinking about going to see this, you really might as well just go see the Lightning Theif instead, same basic story except different take on it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ThomasS.Apr 2, 2010
This movie is pure fun. It's not a great film, it's got its fair share of issues, but as a popcorn flick it delivers. I personally think the original 1981 "Clash" is overrated (I love all the other Harryhausen films, but Hamlin is This movie is pure fun. It's not a great film, it's got its fair share of issues, but as a popcorn flick it delivers. I personally think the original 1981 "Clash" is overrated (I love all the other Harryhausen films, but Hamlin is lame and boring, the story is convoluted, and while the effects have their moments that shine, overall they bog the movie down). As a remake, I find this one, while imperfect, to be superior if for only being enjoyable . This is the kind of movie I'd throw in when I want to watch something that offers a little more than 1999's "The Mummy," but not as heavy-handed on the drama as "Gladiator." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CMilesApr 30, 2010
if you would love a film that resembles an episode of channel Fives The Legendary Adventures Of Hercules then get down to the cinema and waste your money on this jumbo sized piece of cinema cack!! the costumes and effects are just as bad as if you would love a film that resembles an episode of channel Fives The Legendary Adventures Of Hercules then get down to the cinema and waste your money on this jumbo sized piece of cinema cack!! the costumes and effects are just as bad as the story and the story just as bad as the directing, in all a terrible piece of film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AlexanderCApr 3, 2010
The only comparison to the lack of story to this movie was the sequel to the impressive Transformers movie adaption. In Clash of the Titans, Worthington uses the same monotone style of acting as he did in Avatar. The only difference is that The only comparison to the lack of story to this movie was the sequel to the impressive Transformers movie adaption. In Clash of the Titans, Worthington uses the same monotone style of acting as he did in Avatar. The only difference is that it works in Avatar, because of the amazing world and cast around him. In "COTT", I never felt like I was seeing anything new. Big scorpions? We saw that in Transformers. The kraken was cool, but the build-up to its release was more fun than the actual monster itself. The story, and even the acting was secondary to the action, The only impressive parts were when Persius was fighting one on one with any of the monsters. Everything else seemed like it was a mash up of previous CGI blockbusters. It sort of felt like 2 hours of the arena scene from Star Wars episode 2. Even THAT scene got tiring. The Music had no real effect on me. There wasn't a single theme that really made the movie distinct. Much unlike movies like "Star Trek", The music was not used to portray heroes and villains, but to portray the intensity of the scene. This was one of the reasons that I never felt truly sympathetic to Worthington's character in the movie. The acting, like I stated before, was not really helpful to the plot. It felt like nobody in the movie really wanted the role. Worthington seemed to be filling the shoes of a character that wasn't really meant for him. Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes were the only two real bright spots in the film for me. Neeson makes Zeus seem more than a one dimensional god. The only problem I have with the character is that he seems bipolar at times, and kind of stupid too. Fiennes basically plays Voldemort with hair, but it is still a good role for him. He looks good as Hades. As for the story, where is any of it explained. In the scorpion fighting scene, the camera is so shaky, that the fighting doesn't seem like part of the plot, but like a bad video game sequence that just needs to fill up some time. It took me 5 minutes to realize they were fighting 2 scorpions. As for the story, there isn't really a story, and the "journey" isn't really a journey. When they are traveling, there isn't really a sequence like "Lord of the Rings", where I am really blown away by landscape. Do they really expect me to believe that something like the Kraken exists, without anything on land to really rival the excitement of it? The whole point of a movie like this is the journey itself, not the result. I felt cheated when the heroes didn't really progress. And don't try to tell me Persius changes, because he doesn't. He is angry at the Gods in the beginning and the end, and never really changes. He just uses different weapons. You have to wonder: if they had all these ideas for awesome Greek Gods and monsters, why did they spend what felt like half an hour on some random scorpions, and some ugly rock faced people. People want to see more ancient Greek monsters Medusa, who by the way, looked terrible in the movie. I was extremely disappointed, and you kind of wonder why they don't re-imagine the Odyssey, or atleast make something original. What have we learned about remakes? They don't work. They especially don't work when the movie isn't about what the title implies. What Titans are actually fighting eachother? And didn't Zeus say that he was supposed to turn the humans on each other? When did that happen. It seemed like it was just humans versus Gods. The Clash of What Titans? Unless this movie is going to have two parts, which would give more to character development, this is probably one of the most disappointing movies I have ever seen. O, and how does Persius know to put his sword to the heavens, and how does he know how to ride a horse that is flying through the air with no saddle? And where does he gain sympathy for the princess, and where in the movie is plot primary? 3.5/10 > Only because the Kraken was pretty cool, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanielH.Apr 3, 2010
Terrible movie. Plot holes up the butt. Cheesy lines. The only good acting was from Liam Neeson, and he was in it for 10 minute of the whole movie. Terrible. Terrible. Terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
YaelEApr 3, 2010
I'm sorry, but this movie was incredibly lame and relied solely on overblown CGI effects. The acting, plot, characters was deathly boring, unimaginative. There was no charm, zero personality, chemistry or point. When compared to the I'm sorry, but this movie was incredibly lame and relied solely on overblown CGI effects. The acting, plot, characters was deathly boring, unimaginative. There was no charm, zero personality, chemistry or point. When compared to the 1981 original with great acting, memorable scenes and a very gorgeous leading man (Harry Hamlin - RIAOW) the original, is a masterpiece in comparison. The 2010 version just doesn't make sense at all. It's a mess, a campy Ralph Fiennes redoes his Harry Potter character and Sam Worthinton I'm sorry to say was a HORRIFIC choice (AND I"M AUSTRALIAN !!!!!). Gemma Aterton would turn up to the opening of an envelope being in every movie possible, no matter how cheesy. Agness Deyn as Aphrodite is another WTF? moment in this film. I thought perhaps Michael C. Hall as Perseus would have lifted this movie 100%, but I think he had cancer treatments at the time......ALL I can say to this shambles of a movie is SHAME SHAME SHAME. I study History and Classics at university and this would inexcusably DREADFUL. Don't loose your brain cells on this lame duck !!!!! MINUS 20 OUT OF TEN is my score. LIAM NEESON.....WHAT THE HELL WERE YOU THINKING ????!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CaseyF.Apr 3, 2010
Epic movie, I'm going to see it again tomorrow. It's a simple plot that doesn't get too full of itself, full of awesome characters and intense action that kept me excited throughout, and I don't see how the critics Epic movie, I'm going to see it again tomorrow. It's a simple plot that doesn't get too full of itself, full of awesome characters and intense action that kept me excited throughout, and I don't see how the critics didn't enjoy the film. It's a remake, so it isn't gonna be perfect, but where remakes are concerned Clash of the Titans is one of the best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChrisGApr 4, 2010
You will hate this if: You can't stand bad acting, don't like huge somewhat confusing action scenes, or want to see an accurate protrayal of the greek stories. If you can keep from thinking to much about what's wrong with it, You will hate this if: You can't stand bad acting, don't like huge somewhat confusing action scenes, or want to see an accurate protrayal of the greek stories. If you can keep from thinking to much about what's wrong with it, it can be entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristopherA.Apr 4, 2010
Most of the characters, especially Perseus, looked much better in the original. The only improvements it had over the original were the visual effects, Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes. The Kraken also looked very good. The 3-D was also Most of the characters, especially Perseus, looked much better in the original. The only improvements it had over the original were the visual effects, Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes. The Kraken also looked very good. The 3-D was also terrible. It looks as though it wasn't in 3-D at all. It didn't make it look better like it did with Avatar and no jumping out at you. That was a waste of an extra $3 (the tickets cost $11 each for 3-D at nighttime from where I go). They should have just taken the original and used the exact same plot, only that it would have the visual effects and the actors in this film. The ending in the original was better and Sam Worthington acting is less on par with his roles in Terminator Salvation and Avatar. If you ever go see this movie, watch the ordinary version. It'll save you a few bucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PhilVApr 4, 2010
I gave this a 6 because i was entertained by some of the action but like a lot of movies lately i did not connect emotionally to any of the characters and the story just fell short. I liked the story much better in the original and was I gave this a 6 because i was entertained by some of the action but like a lot of movies lately i did not connect emotionally to any of the characters and the story just fell short. I liked the story much better in the original and was really looking forward to this with the updated visuals. They only really showed 2 of the gods in this one but they were well done by Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes but i enjoyed the different interactions all the gods had with each other in the first Clash. I also liked when Perseus was in love with Andromeda in the first one and that her queen mother said she was more beautiful than the god they prayed to instead of the humans waging war on the gods and they had hades instead of posseidon (trying to please the god of war crowd i suspect, which i am one and god of war is way better than this movie by the way), Also Kalabos and Pegasus were much better integrated in the story in the first one. If you haven't seen it do so and you'll agree thought the special effects are laughable. The special effects were very good and the sets were good in the new one but very dissapointed in the story. The Last Airbender i believe will deliver the story i am looking for because its being done by a director who believes in telling a good story. If that one dissapoints I am going to shed a tear for the lost art of good storytelling in a summer blockbuster type movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoeMApr 5, 2010
Mundane in every possible aspect. Poor action, special fx, acting, plot, there is not one impressive thing in this movie. And I went in with low standards hoping to be impressed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MalachiCApr 6, 2010
This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. The wardrobe was ridiculous (what was the medusa wearing? why was the armor from the iron age of rome in ancient greece), the acting was atriocious, the plot butchered greek mythology (a This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. The wardrobe was ridiculous (what was the medusa wearing? why was the armor from the iron age of rome in ancient greece), the acting was atriocious, the plot butchered greek mythology (a KRAKEN is of Norse Myth; Hades used a helmet given to him by the Cyclops to defeat the titans), there was no character development, and there were numerous plot holes. This movie embarrassingly butchers Greek Mythology and doesn't do the original Clash of the Titans any justice. Unless your IQ is approaching zero, this movie will not be enjoyable for you, even if you are completely wasted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimWApr 7, 2010
A decent action film, nothing special. Poor script-writing, great CGI, weak and predicable story. Neelson and Fiennes are great as the gods but are the rare shining light in this mostly dull film. Some moments such as the kraken fight and A decent action film, nothing special. Poor script-writing, great CGI, weak and predicable story. Neelson and Fiennes are great as the gods but are the rare shining light in this mostly dull film. Some moments such as the kraken fight and medusa chase brighten it up but mostly this is a fairly weak film. Only worth seeing if you REALLY like CGI filled action films. No where near as good as the trailer suggests. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RyanDApr 8, 2010
The film was okay. Nothing special and quite a boring plot. Most the film was watching the main characters travelling from one place to another, which made it quite tedious, especially when the the majority of acting was very bad. However, The film was okay. Nothing special and quite a boring plot. Most the film was watching the main characters travelling from one place to another, which made it quite tedious, especially when the the majority of acting was very bad. However, there was some parts of good action, very good animations and quite nice visually. Nothing compared to Avatar though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffHApr 9, 2010
The point of this movie isn't the acting, the thin story or the terse dialogue. The reason I went to see this movie and had fun was that it was a decent popcorn movie, or a "ride" as they say. It was all about how cool it the next The point of this movie isn't the acting, the thin story or the terse dialogue. The reason I went to see this movie and had fun was that it was a decent popcorn movie, or a "ride" as they say. It was all about how cool it the next action sequence going to be. Instead of getting ridiculous and falling apart on the third act, like say Transformers or any superhero movie, this one just starts out ridiculous and stays the course. It was fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MchaelP.May 1, 2010
The original movie is a classic. The remake rates as one of the work movies I have seen. The plot line is choppy, scenes are overacted and contrived. I feel bad for the actors who now have to have this movie to their credit. They really The original movie is a classic. The remake rates as one of the work movies I have seen. The plot line is choppy, scenes are overacted and contrived. I feel bad for the actors who now have to have this movie to their credit. They really shouldn't put this on their resume' as an accomplishment. They had an opportunity to make this a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GabbyG.May 3, 2010
The original was better in the cheesy way and they did have the correct mythology. The new one lacked the heroes journey concept. although the cameo of BoBo was appreciated bby fans of the original. animation was a little crappy too.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DavidPApr 12, 2010
Post Avatar I think we've reached a point in technical achievement where great effects simply cannot sell a movie anymore, simply because they are becoming standard, even mundane. As with Alice in Wonderland, this film had great special Post Avatar I think we've reached a point in technical achievement where great effects simply cannot sell a movie anymore, simply because they are becoming standard, even mundane. As with Alice in Wonderland, this film had great special effects but lacked the kind of story that could make you really get lost in them. Unlike Alice this film lacked the caliber of performances that could at least keep you entertained. A dozen different ideas were flying around in this film and none of them was developed to the point of interest. The 'bling' on Zeus was simply annoying to watch, the 3 D was a poor afterthought that made good cinematography end up looking like bad green screening. Sam Worthington, who was so enjoyable in Avatar and the saving grace of Terminator: Salvation, has little to work with in the one dimensional role he's given and still manages to underachieve. The only good thing about this film was that it made me smile in those brief moments where it reminded me of the original, admittedly campy classic. If you haven't seen it, you should, and skip this big budget monstrosity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottJApr 12, 2010
Not bad action movie with decent special effects. I wish they would have developed the plot more and characters. Hades and Zeus were good but they could have done better job with Perseus role. Personally, I liked the 1981 original film that Not bad action movie with decent special effects. I wish they would have developed the plot more and characters. Hades and Zeus were good but they could have done better job with Perseus role. Personally, I liked the 1981 original film that I saw 20+ years ago as it had better plot and characters acting . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RickAApr 13, 2010
I so do like these kinds of movies. I do not think that it was as bad as made out to be. Acting B+, story B-, special effects A-. Worth the money but would probably would not see it twice, but would own it on video.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JamesH.Apr 14, 2010
This movie isn't as good as the campy and fun 1981 version. It is completely humorless. It does have some good CGI, however, and that held my interest. The story doesn't follow the 1981 version - there are desert creatures that This movie isn't as good as the campy and fun 1981 version. It is completely humorless. It does have some good CGI, however, and that held my interest. The story doesn't follow the 1981 version - there are desert creatures that play a big role here not in the original, the scorpions are not created the same way, he falls in love with a different woman, etc etc. I've also seen many 3D films the last 2 years and this is the worse of them all. Some images are doubled, and some images of people's heads look like there is a growth on the back of the head. They obviously added the 3D after the movie was shot to capitalize on the 3D craze. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AVApr 14, 2010
Very unoriginal but still enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ScrambledPixelApr 15, 2010
For all of its CGI wizardry, its kinetic action sequences and its retrofitted 3D, there is no masking the fact that Clash Of The Titans is a pretty flat film. A remake of the campy 1981 original, the film takes itself much too seriously and, For all of its CGI wizardry, its kinetic action sequences and its retrofitted 3D, there is no masking the fact that Clash Of The Titans is a pretty flat film. A remake of the campy 1981 original, the film takes itself much too seriously and, failing to see the absurdity of its hyper macho subject matter, is all the more amusing as a result. Clash Of The Titans opens with the camera drifting through the cosmos. The stars are forming diagrammatic constellations while an accompanying voice over delivers a patronisingly basic overview of Greek mythology. This introduction inadvertently sets the tone of the film in two distinct ways. Firstly the sequence is entirely CGI but makes no noticeable use of 3D, a foreshadowing of the disappointing implementation of the technology throughout the rest of the film. Secondly, the history lesson style of the prelude underestimates its audience dramatically, a condescending direction that again, is continued throughout the film. Even more clumsily plotted than the original, Clash Of The Titans focuses on Demigod Perseus (Worthington) as he seeks revenge against Hades (Fiennes) for the murder of his adopted family. His revenge is placed against a backdrop of war and anarchy, with the Greeks warring against the Gods. While this premise is an interesting one, the characters are so one dimensional, their motivations so artificial and their dialogue so forgettable that the film quickly boils down to: fighting, walking, fighting, walking, repeat ad nauseum. In the middle of the film the tangled plot lines becomes so contrived and clichéd that the writers simply kill off 80% of the characters to avoid writing a decent conclusion to their journeys, it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BrentPApr 18, 2010
"Clash of the Titans" fails on many levels. There is virtually no real character development that leads viewers to feel for Perseus and root for his success. The 3-D is fabricated and should have been left in the 2-D version. The excitement "Clash of the Titans" fails on many levels. There is virtually no real character development that leads viewers to feel for Perseus and root for his success. The 3-D is fabricated and should have been left in the 2-D version. The excitement is drained out of the film because of an over emphasis on special effect sequences and little attention to human experience. The highlight of the film is in the trailer. "Release to Kraken!" is the only reason for seeing this film. Of course, Liam Neeson could say anything and we'd all take him serious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinGApr 25, 2010
Well i read some of the critics say this movie was junk. But my friend said it was awesome,so i went and saw it. I thought it was very entertaining and exciting.The monsters and bad guys were done very well. Good story etc.Fighting scenes Well i read some of the critics say this movie was junk. But my friend said it was awesome,so i went and saw it. I thought it was very entertaining and exciting.The monsters and bad guys were done very well. Good story etc.Fighting scenes were very good. Alot of action. I'm the first one to say if a movie is junk and they're alot of bad movies out there. Maybe because it didn't have a gay charactor in the movie that some people didn't like it. I just don't know why some people thought this movie was bad. But also some people loved dream girls which was horrid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisC.Apr 29, 2010
I almost didn't see this movie. The critics were pretty harsh and some idiots think you have to keep mythology true to some standard. Mythology is just a made up story to have fun with and no one with the license to make sure it fits I almost didn't see this movie. The critics were pretty harsh and some idiots think you have to keep mythology true to some standard. Mythology is just a made up story to have fun with and no one with the license to make sure it fits into some Greek or Roman perspective from thousands of years ago. Get over yourself. This was one of the best movies I've ever seen. Everyone I know liked it so I finally conceded to go and I'm glad I did. The original did horribly with the critics too. It was actually only appreciated when it came to TV many years later. Looks like history is repeating itself. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Bullet97Aug 27, 2010
This movie rocks!! It's far from perfect, with bad writing and acting, but its still awesome!! It's full of nonstop action, adventure, CGI effects, and fantasy. A great tribute to the films of Ray Harrihaussen. The critics and the hatersThis movie rocks!! It's far from perfect, with bad writing and acting, but its still awesome!! It's full of nonstop action, adventure, CGI effects, and fantasy. A great tribute to the films of Ray Harrihaussen. The critics and the haters don't understand that its just a big, dumb, epic action spectacular!! Expand
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
7
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
The original 1981 Ray Harryhausen special effects designed and produced fantasy adventure is a film of magic wonder, excitement, adventure and mysticism. The 2010 remake or re-imaging if you prefer "Clash of the Titans" is centered around aThe original 1981 Ray Harryhausen special effects designed and produced fantasy adventure is a film of magic wonder, excitement, adventure and mysticism. The 2010 remake or re-imaging if you prefer "Clash of the Titans" is centered around a young fisherman named Perseus who after a personal loss sets out to the city of Argos to take up the task of saving the whole city from the brink of destruction by the hands of the Kraken. With a small group of brave soldiers Perseus seeks to take on some of the most foul and feared creatures in Greek mythology and save Argos from there fate. While at sometimes, you may feel this film is a little too underwhelming and heavy-handed Louis Leterrierâ Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
KundKAug 27, 2010
Unfortunately, this was a waste of money and talent (where applicable). In the olden times they had stories but no way to put the spectacle on the screen. Now, when the imagination is the only limit, they cannot make a coherent story evenUnfortunately, this was a waste of money and talent (where applicable). In the olden times they had stories but no way to put the spectacle on the screen. Now, when the imagination is the only limit, they cannot make a coherent story even based on the Greek mythology - the treasure trove of some of the greatest stories in the history of mankind. It is best to ignore this mess and watch the original in all it's cheesy glory and than rent the other Harryhausen masterworks. Compared with this, Prince of Persia was deep, complex and three-dimensional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews