Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: July 21, 2006
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 163 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
125
Mixed:
21
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
TheArchetypesSep 9, 2016
This one made me laugh harder than it's predecessor, but less often. I feel like the artistic vision of the first movie was lost for more of gross-out comedy. Like I said, it did make me laugh, and it was worth the watch, but it's what youThis one made me laugh harder than it's predecessor, but less often. I feel like the artistic vision of the first movie was lost for more of gross-out comedy. Like I said, it did make me laugh, and it was worth the watch, but it's what you should expect from a sequel of a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jAbMaNFeb 24, 2011
I love this movie!! The first Clerks is great and this one is better than the original. Love all the jokes and love the new concept of working the recurring Mooby's. What handicap, the guy is in a wheelchair
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ArkonBladeFeb 23, 2011
a good movie that is funny but not as good as the first . the donkey show thing definitly should have been left out . randal though seems to be spot on and what id imagine him to be 10+ years later.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WilliamM.May 1, 2007
Better than the orginal,no doubt about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SquiddaOneFeb 2, 2007
"Clerks II" is hilarious. Jay & Silent Bob were too hysterical, and the "Porch Monky" scene, had me in tears. This is one of those movies that you watch when your in a bad mood, because it's a feel good movie. Definitly the third "Clerks II" is hilarious. Jay & Silent Bob were too hysterical, and the "Porch Monky" scene, had me in tears. This is one of those movies that you watch when your in a bad mood, because it's a feel good movie. Definitly the third funniest movie of 2006, right up there with "Jackass 2" & "Borat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeanaH.Jan 2, 2007
I thought the movie was brilliant in its own right. I mean, honestly, it's basically life. Who hasn't worked in a fast food place and just wants a little excitement. I loved the film because it made you laugh, possibly cry, and I thought the movie was brilliant in its own right. I mean, honestly, it's basically life. Who hasn't worked in a fast food place and just wants a little excitement. I loved the film because it made you laugh, possibly cry, and want to spit out your popcorn when Randall when off on his rant about "ass to mouth" and his tid-bit on "Porch Monkies". To all the haters, if you thought that was bad, go watch Gili, then complain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DiabloP.Dec 2, 2006
I remember watching "Clerks" and thinking what a smart and entertaining movie. "Clerks 2" doesn't have that feel ,but it is a entertaining movie for all. Resolution isn't a bad thing and that is what you get.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BitBurnOct 12, 2006
Grossly funny & completely out of the usual bullcrap- comedy-style of Hollywood. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadShiiraSep 18, 2006
In black and white, "Clerks" wasn't hampered by the limited acting range of its two leads because the film worked as slacker neorealism. In color, and especially in the presence of a polished actor like Rosario Dawson, "Clerks II" In black and white, "Clerks" wasn't hampered by the limited acting range of its two leads because the film worked as slacker neorealism. In color, and especially in the presence of a polished actor like Rosario Dawson, "Clerks II" resembles a beginning actors' lab with the cameras rolling. Professor Dawson makes everybody look good. What makes this sequel worth a look is to see how a filmmaker negotiates his indie roots with a studio-mandated mainstream sensibility. The raunch is still there, but so is a conventional love story. There's even a montage straight out of "Grey's Anatomy". "Clerks II" is like watching "Jersey Girl" duking it out with the original "Clerks". The end result: an interesting compromise from a filmmaker who's responsible for a subversive cat name in the original "Stuart Little" trailer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TedD.Aug 31, 2006
I think people should actually read the other post rather than just making stupid rants about it. just my opinion. those of you who give this movie a 0 either have no taste, or were so trivially offended by this movie that it blinded you I think people should actually read the other post rather than just making stupid rants about it. just my opinion. those of you who give this movie a 0 either have no taste, or were so trivially offended by this movie that it blinded you from rating this movie objectively. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattD.Aug 9, 2006
This movie is good for everyone, and it even has a heart to it. Kevin Smith is back, with witty dialogue and a central storyline that makes you feel endeared (enough) to the characters. Jay and Silent Bob are their usual off-the-wall selves, This movie is good for everyone, and it even has a heart to it. Kevin Smith is back, with witty dialogue and a central storyline that makes you feel endeared (enough) to the characters. Jay and Silent Bob are their usual off-the-wall selves, and Jason Lee gives a phenomenal performance as Lance "Picklebutt" Dowds. Even funnier, wait till you see the end that will just have you cracking up till the break of dawn. For uptight people, it may not be their movie. For the rest of us, it is a must-see movie cuz this movie is fucking hillarious, it has a heart to it, and it is not bland. It is good, so go SEE it! 'Nuff said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelB.Aug 6, 2006
Loved it so much I saw it twice in the first weekend. While it really can't compare to the pure excellence that is the first Clerks, it is a great sequel and shouldn't disappoint all but a small margin of Kevin Smith fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JosephN.Aug 4, 2006
Unbelievably good. I was very suprised to see that ksmith could create such a perfect sequel to the original. its amazing after 10 years since Clerks hit the theatres that these characters still relate to the everyday man. God I love Jay and Unbelievably good. I was very suprised to see that ksmith could create such a perfect sequel to the original. its amazing after 10 years since Clerks hit the theatres that these characters still relate to the everyday man. God I love Jay and Silent Bob! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SpongeeeAug 3, 2006
Since both movies really have nothing to do with each other, there is no need to compare. This was a great movie with a more heartfelt touch then the first Clerks. Randall is the best...he inspired me on how to deal with ahole customers...well done!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasperD.Aug 1, 2006
guys, it's sequEl not sequAl e.g. this movie is a SEQUEL sequal is not even in the dictionary. this is a good movie, at times very good thanks to j and sb. ksmith's dialogue is a double edged sword. he's very articulate, but guys, it's sequEl not sequAl e.g. this movie is a SEQUEL sequal is not even in the dictionary. this is a good movie, at times very good thanks to j and sb. ksmith's dialogue is a double edged sword. he's very articulate, but as someone mentioned, the script comes off as improbably stilted sometimes. no one seems to ever search their thoughts so much as it appears they've planned their speeches years in advance and have been waiting for any chance to deliver them. i consider the effect mini-shakespearean. it's as if ksmith has the eye for great conversation, just not the ear for it. btw, i too love his movies and generally love his writing. it just sometimes doesn't work out, and that's what kept this movie from being especially good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BjornJul 30, 2006
Incridible funny and mature. Everything that Jersey gril wanted to be. Very dirty and very funny. Worth the money to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaseJul 29, 2006
Kevin Smith is clearly back in his element, easily the funniest movie of the summer. Often gutbusting funny, of all the sequals playing this summer these characters are the most refreshing to see again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ReelWorldJul 26, 2006
Underneath the foul language lies a movie that has a solid heart. KS has managed to infuse the same sentimental flair used in Jersey Girl (which despite the bombastic critics hailing the Bennifer angle and crucifying the film in reviews) was Underneath the foul language lies a movie that has a solid heart. KS has managed to infuse the same sentimental flair used in Jersey Girl (which despite the bombastic critics hailing the Bennifer angle and crucifying the film in reviews) was actually not bad. Clerks 2 plays out in a similar vein to JG, but with a lot more crass dialogue. [***SPOILERS***] To some, this may come across as totally offensive- but in my opinion, Clerks 2 is probably the best film I have seen so far this summer. I found myself almost hurting from laughing so much. From the what has become a standard Star Wars references to the antics of Jay and Silent Bob, to even the "interspecies erotica" scene that forced Joel Siegel to walk out of the film, the movie is chock a block with laughs. What makes this film a winner though is that despite the crude humor, there is a real heart to the film and one that people can relate to. Anybody who has nurtured a friendship over a long time and was faced with the prospect of that friendship ending due to various circumstances (ie: in the film, Dante is leaving for Florida) will relate to the movie. Great cameos by all the regulars of Smith's films (I was stunned to see Affleck appear in a tiny role) and some truly inventive new characters (Elias is utterly priceless! Pillowpants!!) Anyone who enjoyed Smith's earlier works will no doubt love this movie. For anyone who is offended by foul language, drug use, bestiality or the like - I'd suggest going to see something else. Definately not a film for everyone, but if you fall into the category of Kevin Smith fan - this is a must-see! DEFINATELY NOT FOR ANYONE UNDER 18....The R-rating is WELL deserved!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrandonG.Jul 26, 2006
Not as good as the original but a very worthy sequal. Although the end gets sappy the way the series is wrapped up works well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkP.Jul 25, 2006
Some of what I'd read in the critics reviews was true: too much Randall shaking his head and being a scold, some unnecessary scenes (the driving around), a few other things. And yet, when I walked out of the theater, it all felt exactly Some of what I'd read in the critics reviews was true: too much Randall shaking his head and being a scold, some unnecessary scenes (the driving around), a few other things. And yet, when I walked out of the theater, it all felt exactly right. Snappy, thoughtful dialogue, excellent new characters (Elias = hilarious, Dawson = luminous), and just the right touch of nostalgia and emotion. The Star Wars-LOTR scene was geek-heaven. Though unlike the first movie in many ways, this film is its perfect partner. And if you have to be warned about the foul language, disturbing content, and various and sundry other dangers of a Kevin Smith film with Jay & Silent Bob, well, you probably shouldn't go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RandyH.Jul 25, 2006
Clerks was extremely important to my youth and ranks as one of my favorite movies. When I saw the initial trailer for Clerks 2, I felt physically ill and feared the worst. Luckily, Clerks 2 was way more enjoyable than I could have hoped for. Clerks was extremely important to my youth and ranks as one of my favorite movies. When I saw the initial trailer for Clerks 2, I felt physically ill and feared the worst. Luckily, Clerks 2 was way more enjoyable than I could have hoped for. Kevin Smith is back doing what he does best, namely clever dialogue, raunchy humor and intelligent characterization. While the film feels rushed and is really thin on plot, the surprising amount of heart Smith infuses into the film more than makes up for its flaws. Something else it has going for it is Rosario Dawson, who is as adorable and charming as ever. Fans of the original should not be disappointed, so long as they don Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregJ.Jul 25, 2006
There is no possible way that this movie deserves any rating but a ten. Clerks 2 is easily my favorite kevin smith movie. It brought what clerks 1 lacked. The ABC scene was unforgetable as well as Jays impression of buffalo bill. I also There is no possible way that this movie deserves any rating but a ten. Clerks 2 is easily my favorite kevin smith movie. It brought what clerks 1 lacked. The ABC scene was unforgetable as well as Jays impression of buffalo bill. I also never thought i would laugh at "inter species erotica." Great film. Dont see this movie if you canot appreciate dirty humor. Because smith brings alot of it in clerks 2. Elias is hilarious and i hope smith puts him in some of the new movies. This is a must see. I strongly recomend. Go see it!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeJul 24, 2006
Probably the funniest movie I have ever seen, I was nearly crying in the theater because I was laughing so hard. Just hilarious, go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianM.Jul 24, 2006
Lovable characters, both returning and new, along with a deceptively clever plot make Clerks 2 a hilarious good time with a strong emotional resonance with the targeted audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Jul 24, 2006
Like most other hollywood comedies of recent years Clerks 2 losses momentum as if the beginning of the script was carefully crafted and then just thrown together at the end in order for completion. It lasts much longer than Wedding Like most other hollywood comedies of recent years Clerks 2 losses momentum as if the beginning of the script was carefully crafted and then just thrown together at the end in order for completion. It lasts much longer than Wedding Crashes(20 minutes), around the same length as Office Space(good first two thirds then a questionable last third). Like Office Space the joke scarse, beastiality ridden final third are made up for by a hilarious first two thirds making Clerks 2 definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannK.Jul 23, 2006
A truly enjoyable and laugh-out-loud comedy. Certainly, it pushes the bounds of the R-Rating, but that's what you'd expect from any Kevin Smith work featuring Jey & Silent Bob within the film. I left with a good feeling that the A truly enjoyable and laugh-out-loud comedy. Certainly, it pushes the bounds of the R-Rating, but that's what you'd expect from any Kevin Smith work featuring Jey & Silent Bob within the film. I left with a good feeling that the Clerks franchise has been concluded well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KM.Jul 23, 2006
Clerks II has lived up to its hype in my opinion. Seeing Dante and Randal all grown-up and still working in dead-end jobs puts a little bit of perspective on life. If you love Jesus or Frodo, this movie is not for you. There are tons of Clerks II has lived up to its hype in my opinion. Seeing Dante and Randal all grown-up and still working in dead-end jobs puts a little bit of perspective on life. If you love Jesus or Frodo, this movie is not for you. There are tons of vulgarities and obscenities, immature humor, and yes, there is a great scene bashing The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Smith used Randal Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewF.Jul 23, 2006
Very funny movie, though at the same time, a bit sad. I remember when Kevin Smith claimed he was done with this universe and these characters. It's too bad "Jersey Girl" was so poorly received. Still, I do think that this is the sort of Very funny movie, though at the same time, a bit sad. I remember when Kevin Smith claimed he was done with this universe and these characters. It's too bad "Jersey Girl" was so poorly received. Still, I do think that this is the sort of thing that Kevin Smith does incredibly well. The Transformers-GoBots stuff was quite funny. Think Smith is too much a geek for his own good, and at some point his ability to rehash the 80's/early 90's is going to wear thin. Not yet, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Jul 23, 2006
Nothing much has changed in the lives of the original Clerks cast and 10 years later they've come to realize that they've really got just about all they need anyway, they're just older, but thankfully funnier!! The only thing Nothing much has changed in the lives of the original Clerks cast and 10 years later they've come to realize that they've really got just about all they need anyway, they're just older, but thankfully funnier!! The only thing different this time is it's in color and it's playing at the megaplex instead of the little art house, and oh yeah, this one has Jay's HILARIOUS take on The Silence of the Lambs which is two minutes of comedy heaven!!!! Kevin Smith hasn't made a sequel to a classic, he's just made a classic update. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherH.Jul 23, 2006
Great movie, best comedy of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcD.Jul 23, 2006
I laughed my ass off during this movie. In much the same way that I did during the first one. Let me make one thing clear. If you're a fan and you don't stay until the VERY END OF THE CREDITS, you're an idiot. The 6 people in I laughed my ass off during this movie. In much the same way that I did during the first one. Let me make one thing clear. If you're a fan and you don't stay until the VERY END OF THE CREDITS, you're an idiot. The 6 people in my theater of about 600 who stayed until the end had a great time with a pretty amazing conclusion. I can't wait until I get it on DVD so I can slow it down and truly take it all in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CraigL.Jul 22, 2006
A good comedy. It's funny, and that's what matters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanK.Jul 22, 2006
Warning: This movie is very vulgar. But with that said, if you can handle that, this is a very funny movie. And also the foul language is what makes the jokes work as oppesed to just being there for no reason. Just as funny as the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RustyS.Jul 22, 2006
Lived up to the task of being a sequel to Clerks in every way. Greatest film i've seen in years!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaacG.Jul 22, 2006
Clerks II was one of the awesomest movies ever and it appealed to me on may different levels. 1) The soundtrack rocked. All of the music fit with the scenes (the "ABC" scene rocked!) and it was great to hear music I remember in a movie. 2)It Clerks II was one of the awesomest movies ever and it appealed to me on may different levels. 1) The soundtrack rocked. All of the music fit with the scenes (the "ABC" scene rocked!) and it was great to hear music I remember in a movie. 2)It was hilarious....There are too many times to count when I laughed out loud in the theater (and those around me did too) and I dont usually burst out in movies. 3)I could relate to the story personally, and Kevin Smith really brought that kind of situation into light the way it happens in real life. Kudos! 4)The acting was spectacular! Brian OHalloran (Dante) and Jeff Anderson (Randall) did an awesome job as well as Rosario Dawson (Becky)!! What an all around good movie (for those of age)! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanD.Jul 22, 2006
Saw the movie and thought to myself how great an example it is of what to do in a sequel. The film hits a balance of originality and callbacks: the formula of the plot is generally unchanged from the first one, which is a positive Saw the movie and thought to myself how great an example it is of what to do in a sequel. The film hits a balance of originality and callbacks: the formula of the plot is generally unchanged from the first one, which is a positive considering the themes of the movie revolve around patterns of life and routine and whatever; and the originality is in the set dressing, as shallow as that sounds. A different environments do bring out more in Dante and Randal (surprisingly). Travis Ferhman is great as uber-home-schooled-kid and Dawson seems to actually "get" Kevin Smith dialogue. Aaaand...the dialogue. A few spiky moments of cliches but the gold is still edgy as hell. It's still a movie you wouldn't want to watch with your parents. Few points off though for some bits that are just...way out there though brief. I mean, you wouldn't believe Smith'd direct a couple scenes...but oh well. I know you can't expect a shot by shot reenactment of Clerks, but these scenes are just odd in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlaineB.Jul 22, 2006
My new favorite movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeR.Jul 21, 2006
Funny as hell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeL.Jul 21, 2006
Never saw the previous Clerks, but this on sure worked for me. A zany mix of characters you care about, wonderfully "dirty" & "smutty" comedy...and then social commentary and heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattA.Jul 21, 2006
Hilarious movie. Great if you saw the first one and loved the characters. One of the funniest movies i have seen in such a long time. ... a bit too emotional at times... but it had to be done i guess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichU.Jul 20, 2006
Not as good as Clerks, however much better than his other movies! Very funny Movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jul 20, 2006
Comedic genius. If you're into raunchy, yet smart comedy, this is the flick for you. If you're easily offended, you might want to skip this one. Though, it may be worth it to go see it anyway, just because of the conversations Comedic genius. If you're into raunchy, yet smart comedy, this is the flick for you. If you're easily offended, you might want to skip this one. Though, it may be worth it to go see it anyway, just because of the conversations it'll start amongst your friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrandonM.Jul 19, 2006
I caught an advanced screening of this yesterday. Was this as funny as the first film? No, and I don't think anyone in their right mind would expect that. But was it funny? YES! Randal easily steals the show with his bits. Jay and I caught an advanced screening of this yesterday. Was this as funny as the first film? No, and I don't think anyone in their right mind would expect that. But was it funny? YES! Randal easily steals the show with his bits. Jay and Silent Bob are funny as always, especially with the "Silenece of Lamb" bits. Dante's relationship woes once again takes the plot-forefront here, and to the movies discredit. It really puts the brakes on an otherwise funny movie. This is not high art, but it is a funny movie. You don't get many of those out of Hollywood these days. Just sit back and enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful