Clerks Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: It's one wild day in the life of a pair of overworked counter jockeys, whose razor-sharp wit and on-the-job antics give a whole new meaning to customer service. Even while braving a nonstop parade of unpredictable shoppers, the clerks manage to play hockey on the roof, visit a funeral home and straighten out their offbeat love lives. The boss is nowhere in sight, so you can bet anything can and will happen when these guys are left to run the store. [Miramax] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 90
    Randal is a beautiful hostile piece of work that only could have come from America. He's the sort of guy who never put in a quality day at the office in his life, but somehow probably winds up winning the biggest lotto drawing ever with a ticket he stole from his loser best friend's Quickie Mart.
  2. 88
    Nothing, no matter how outrageous, is beyond Smith, and his willingness to flaunt cinematic taboos is one of the reasons why Clerks is such a unqualified success.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A randy, irreverent, slice-of-life no-budgeter that's played for laughs and gets them.
  4. The latest slacker manifesto, Clerks lacks the grunge artistry of either "Stranger Than Paradise" or "Slacker," but it's a fast, likable 90 minutes at the movies.
  5. Much of "Clerks" is extremely funny and dead-on—in terms of its intentionally satirical, Gen-X-istential gloom.
  6. Even augmented by the priceless commodity of Smith's talent, $25,575 can only be stretched so far. Apparently, it won't buy you a stellar cast - some very strong lines receive some rather flat deliveries. And some distinctly lame scenes survive the chopping block.
  7. If not all the gags work, the overall irreverence and all-American anomie are fairly contagious.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    I loved every bit of this movie. Kevin Smith's directorial debut has the charm of a well-made, well-written, well-shot, and well-composited independent masterpiece. While Kevin Smith certainly has some better films (like Clerks II and Chasing Amy), the one that made him a star is always going to lay in my mind as the film that cheers me up. Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Still my favorite Kevin Smith film. I loved the dialogue and the humor. Immensely quotable. This is deserving of its cult status and an independent masterpiece. Expand
  3. May 25, 2014
    10
    Clerks is a movie about a day in the life of two convenience store clerks Dante Hicks(O'Halloran) working in the quick stop and his best friend Randal Graves(Anderson) working the the video store next door. One thing you can't deny is that Kevin Smith's films have great dialog and this being his first film everything is at the top of its game. Scene after scene of them giving eachother **** Randal being rude to the customer or even sometimes the customers being rude back and they even close the stores down either to play hockey or go to an old friends wake. Also Jay and Silent Bob just chilling outside the store the whole time selling drugs and messing around with Dante and Randal, blasting loud music, Jay talking crap to random people and hitting on women is awesome.

    Overall I give it a 10 Its amazing that kevin smith made this film out of his own pocket at least it got the recognition it deserves now with it being a cult film and Kevin Smith becoming a pretty well known director.
    Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2011
    8
    a intresting idea for a movie with humor really only hitting you if you understand the topics they are talking about or poking fun of. the rediculas customer issues they deal with is actaully one i have encountered when working at a mom and pop game store . having people walked in and ask me where are the xbox 360 games when they where just staring right at them when there is a huge sighn above them saying xbox 360 games. people asking me "do you know this game where this guy jumps around in it and it came out some time a few years ago" . i mean i can relate some what to why theese guys hate the customers. randals line of " this job would be great if it wernt for the fu#@in customers " just hits home. Collapse
  5. Jan 24, 2014
    7
    Clerks is a fantastic movie, and Kevin Smith's best work.
    i mean the fact that he made an entire movie based on 2 to 3 characters are just
    impressive,
    i had a few outrageous laughs now and then but I'm more impressed by the dialog exchange,
    the screenplay was over the top, with characters that so down to earth that anyone can relate to,
    i mean I've seen a lot of Kevin Smith work but this is the root of his success, the writing, the screenplay and the fact that the movie has a story and a view on the way that a person can see his life,
    it's really impressive, this shows that talent will pop up and delivered even with cheap production, few characters and few events.
    Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2011
    7
    This is a Pretty Good movie i enjoyed this FIlm alot it is a very interesting movie i didnt think this was a master piece but its a Solid Film with Characters with alot of Personality Expand
  7. RitaP.
    Jan 26, 2006
    2
    Probably Kevin Smith's best film but that is like saying this is my favourite cancer. Boring, pretentious and too wordy without saying anything. Laughs are few and far between. Only a director this self indulgent could bring us films like Dogma and Gigli. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Director Kevin Smith

    All Films Considered: Director Kevin Smith Image
    Published: February 26, 2010
    From "Clerks" to "Cop Out," Kevin Smith has bounced from success to failure. We examine the ups and downs in the career of one of indie film's most legendary directors.