Clerks

Clerks Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: It's one wild day in the life of a pair of overworked counter jockeys, whose razor-sharp wit and on-the-job antics give a whole new meaning to customer service. Even while braving a nonstop parade of unpredictable shoppers, the clerks manage to play hockey on the roof, visit a funeral homeIt's one wild day in the life of a pair of overworked counter jockeys, whose razor-sharp wit and on-the-job antics give a whole new meaning to customer service. Even while braving a nonstop parade of unpredictable shoppers, the clerks manage to play hockey on the roof, visit a funeral home and straighten out their offbeat love lives. The boss is nowhere in sight, so you can bet anything can and will happen when these guys are left to run the store. [Miramax] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 90
    Randal is a beautiful hostile piece of work that only could have come from America. He's the sort of guy who never put in a quality day at the office in his life, but somehow probably winds up winning the biggest lotto drawing ever with a ticket he stole from his loser best friend's Quickie Mart.
  2. 88
    Nothing, no matter how outrageous, is beyond Smith, and his willingness to flaunt cinematic taboos is one of the reasons why Clerks is such a unqualified success.
  3. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    80
    Smith's script simply crackles with an endless succession of humorous gags and on-the-ball observations while Anderson's brilliant performance as the shop assistant from hell is worthy of a film 100 times as expensive.
  4. The latest slacker manifesto, Clerks lacks the grunge artistry of either "Stranger Than Paradise" or "Slacker," but it's a fast, likable 90 minutes at the movies.
  5. The New York Times
    Reviewed by: Elvis Mitchell
    70
    [Smith] also has an uncommonly sure sense of deadpan comic timing. [25 Mar 1994, p.C10]
  6. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    63
    A few crude verbal exchanges nearly got Clerks an NC-17 rating; some (not all) of these provide some of the funniest moments in a film that's funny about 30% of the time. [24 Oct 1994]
  7. If not all the gags work, the overall irreverence and all-American anomie are fairly contagious.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. NikeO.
    Feb 18, 2006
    10
    Great origianl comedy you dont have to be smashed to watch!
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Still my favorite Kevin Smith film. I loved the dialogue and the humor. Immensely quotable. This is deserving of its cult status and anStill my favorite Kevin Smith film. I loved the dialogue and the humor. Immensely quotable. This is deserving of its cult status and an independent masterpiece. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    I loved every bit of this movie. Kevin Smith's directorial debut has the charm of a well-made, well-written, well-shot, and well-compositedI loved every bit of this movie. Kevin Smith's directorial debut has the charm of a well-made, well-written, well-shot, and well-composited independent masterpiece. While Kevin Smith certainly has some better films (like Clerks II and Chasing Amy), the one that made him a star is always going to lay in my mind as the film that cheers me up. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2011
    8
    a intresting idea for a movie with humor really only hitting you if you understand the topics they are talking about or poking fun of. thea intresting idea for a movie with humor really only hitting you if you understand the topics they are talking about or poking fun of. the rediculas customer issues they deal with is actaully one i have encountered when working at a mom and pop game store . having people walked in and ask me where are the xbox 360 games when they where just staring right at them when there is a huge sighn above them saying xbox 360 games. people asking me "do you know this game where this guy jumps around in it and it came out some time a few years ago" . i mean i can relate some what to why theese guys hate the customers. randals line of " this job would be great if it wernt for the fu#@in customers " just hits home. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2016
    7
    Funny movie, at some points a bit stupid too, but overall I get why for some people it became cult movie. Still, might be a bit overrated asFunny movie, at some points a bit stupid too, but overall I get why for some people it became cult movie. Still, might be a bit overrated as it is not hilariously funny or anything and it also has that low budget movie vibe at some bits. Still, some great dialogues in it and worth a watch Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2013
    7
    Really funny and really easy to watch. The movie is casual and relatable that it makes it even funnier as we watch two friends go through theReally funny and really easy to watch. The movie is casual and relatable that it makes it even funnier as we watch two friends go through the motions of their work day. Good acting and impressive directing given the small small small budget. Expand
  7. RitaP.
    Jan 26, 2006
    2
    Probably Kevin Smith's best film but that is like saying this is my favourite cancer. Boring, pretentious and too wordy without saying Probably Kevin Smith's best film but that is like saying this is my favourite cancer. Boring, pretentious and too wordy without saying anything. Laughs are few and far between. Only a director this self indulgent could bring us films like Dogma and Gigli. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Director Kevin Smith

    All Films Considered: Director Kevin Smith Image
    Published: February 26, 2010
    From "Clerks" to "Cop Out," Kevin Smith has bounced from success to failure. We examine the ups and downs in the career of one of indie film's most legendary directors.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.