Focus Features | Release Date: August 28, 2013
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 41 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
14
Mixed:
23
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TVJerryAug 29, 2013
With a title like this, you'd expect closed circuit TV would play strongly in the narrative…and you'd be wrong. The title could have been "Paranoia," but that movie's already in town. Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall play the attorneys for a manWith a title like this, you'd expect closed circuit TV would play strongly in the narrative…and you'd be wrong. The title could have been "Paranoia," but that movie's already in town. Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall play the attorneys for a man who's been accused of a terrorist bombing in London, but there's more to his defense that it seems. Unfortunately, it's nothing we haven't seen before. While it's interesting to watch it unfold and the performances are good, the suspense is not existent. Adding a few angles shot from surveillance cameras doesn't make it original enough to be memorable. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
ThegodfathersonAug 29, 2013
Moviegoers looking for a moody political drama will find Closed Circuit provides some engaging character beats and interesting (albeit not exceptionally deep) thoughts on government oversight. Strong performances from Bana and Hall helpMoviegoers looking for a moody political drama will find Closed Circuit provides some engaging character beats and interesting (albeit not exceptionally deep) thoughts on government oversight. Strong performances from Bana and Hall help elevate Crowley’s film above similarly predictable thrillers and it’s hard not to admire the director for some risky choices (in both the story and the actual filmmaking). That said, plot holes as well as underdeveloped characters undercut the power of the final film and many moviegoers who are attracted to the thought-provoking political thriller genre will, as a result, find Closed Circuit is too divided, between creativity and commentary, to be particularly exciting or insightful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
jeremypSep 3, 2013
Another paranoid, conspiracy theory, bad government movie, and a rather dim witted one. If we're going to keep resurrecting this theme let's make it somewhat believable, and vet the plot holes. Bana and McAdams play two attorneys on oppositeAnother paranoid, conspiracy theory, bad government movie, and a rather dim witted one. If we're going to keep resurrecting this theme let's make it somewhat believable, and vet the plot holes. Bana and McAdams play two attorneys on opposite sides in a terrorist bombing case, which has been deemed too sensitive for open court. Bana figures out why, how we never know, and he and ex girlfriend McAdams go rogue with MI5/6 in hot pursuit to stop them revealing the "secret which would (of course) bring down the government." It's "State of Play" lite and the intrigue barely simmers at best, and the bad guys win, and the good guys slink off sadder but no wiser. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
sanyrubMar 2, 2015
The film is not too long and is an entertaining watch. People who like thrillers will enjoy it. I had a good time watching it. However, my rate can not be higher because it is not too original, nothing truly stands out and it feels like weThe film is not too long and is an entertaining watch. People who like thrillers will enjoy it. I had a good time watching it. However, my rate can not be higher because it is not too original, nothing truly stands out and it feels like we have already seen something similar before. Still, it is ok to have a good time, not every serious films is made to captivate and be praised. You can definitely stream it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Movie1997Sep 1, 2013
There were some things I liked about this movies and there were others that I didn't like, but in the end, it's satisfying to, but never attempts to amaze. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
psyberdelicJul 6, 2014
Lame, predictable ending... Interesting premise but not very well executed... low energy for a supposed thriller... just ok if you don't have anything better to watch...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
DevilmathSep 27, 2015
After a bomb blows away Borough Market and dozens of human lives, Farrouk Erdogan is arrested. He is the only survivor of the terrorist group that allegedly planned the attack, and he is now at the center of what promises to be the biggestAfter a bomb blows away Borough Market and dozens of human lives, Farrouk Erdogan is arrested. He is the only survivor of the terrorist group that allegedly planned the attack, and he is now at the center of what promises to be the biggest terrorism trial in British history. Forget the John Grisham-style legal thrillers from overseas, though, and expect no “Law & Order” either. This is boring London, with barristers, solicitors, and a lot of technicalities. But there is a catch: in terrorism cases, for reasons ascribed to so-called national security, the Crown Prosecution Service can use classified evidence. Its content can be disclosed neither to the defendant nor to their lawyer, let alone to the general public. This is when a Special Advocate comes into play: a barrister appointed by the State to ensure a fair trial, the sole person authorised to examine the secret evidence and represent the defendant during “closed sessions”. It’s as complicated as it sounds, and given the key role it plays in the film, dialogues are full of ad-hoc explanations, grossly inserted and repeated to ease the audience’s understanding. To make “Closed Circuit” at least a little interesting, the Special Advocate and the barrister, who in theory can’t even talk to each other, are lovers. And they will break all rules to solve the case and defend Erdogan.

“Closed Circuit” stars Eric Bana as Martin, the defense barrister who likes to go canoeing on the Thames (a perfect excuse to get a shot of Westminster and other characteristic landmarks), and Rebecca Hall as Claudia, in the supporting role of the Special Advocate. The cast also includes the all-but-talented Hasancan Cifci as Erdogan's son, Ciarán Hinds as Martin's mate Devlin, and the great Jim Broadbent as the Attorney General. Broadbent plays the powerful man that loves to blab about how “transparent and fair” the judiciary process is, even if he’s just a tool of the powers that be, who doesn’t hesitate to sacrificy his integrity. His role as Chief Inspector in “Hot Fuzz” immediately comes to mind: looking at him, wide-eyed, always minimising the worst atrocities, it’s impossible not to giggle.

As the Big Brother is always watching through CCTV, Martin and Claudia’s investigative journey becomes more and more dangerous. Although the trailer warns that “Everyone is being watched” and “every moment is being recorded”, promising psychologically and even politically relevant twists, everything actually dissolves into banal conspiracies and chases through the dark streets of London. But what’s the role of secret services in all this? What does Erdogan's son know that can’t be revealed? Watching “Closed Circuit”’s trailer is enough to answer all these important questions; the film itself doesn’t amount to much. Beyond the first twenty minutes, it’s nothing but an unoriginal collection of the genre’s trademarks. Martin and Claudia’s rush towards the resolution adds very little to a story that already struggles to achieve the right pace and consistency. You find yourself expecting a twist that never comes, and before you notice it, the film reaches the most anticlimactic possible ending. Maybe because real life is boring, and certain things only happen in films. Is this what director John Crowley and talented screenwriter Steven Knight (“Eastern Promises”, “Dirty Pretty Things”) are trying to tell us? If this is the case, I really wonder why someone would choose to watch “Closed Circuit” instead of enjoying real life.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
poetreviewerSep 29, 2013
This movie is boring, dumb and poorly acted. There is no chemistry between Hall and Bana, when there is supposed to be a lot. Nothing in this movie makes sense, including why it was ever made. It's a no-go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CinemaphileJul 29, 2016
Closed Circuit is a paint by the numbers thriller with few thrills. Despite the exceptional cast of that would please the stodgiest of Anglophiles, there's no tension between any of the characters. In fact, the reason for this is StevenClosed Circuit is a paint by the numbers thriller with few thrills. Despite the exceptional cast of that would please the stodgiest of Anglophiles, there's no tension between any of the characters. In fact, the reason for this is Steven Knight's script, which "tells" more than it shows. What we get is characters basically knocking down individual domino plot points with little or no effort or conflict, then scene after scene of the character's exposition of those discoveries. Yawn.

Worth watching for the set piece of London and an insider look into the British justice system, but not worth first run ticket price.

Worth a slot on your Netflix / Redbox queue.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews