Closer

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 470 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 470

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 3, 2015
    0
    I don't think I've ever watched a worse movie except for Spawn. I understand the desire to write a movie full of adults who behave the way a high schooler might imagine adults behave, but you spend most of the movie embarrassed for the writer wondering "at what age did they realize how vacuous their notion of social interaction was when they wrote this". I highly recommend it for peopleI don't think I've ever watched a worse movie except for Spawn. I understand the desire to write a movie full of adults who behave the way a high schooler might imagine adults behave, but you spend most of the movie embarrassed for the writer wondering "at what age did they realize how vacuous their notion of social interaction was when they wrote this". I highly recommend it for people who are constantly baffled by a growing distance between friends and family as they are socially marooned by their own social inadequacy. Expand
  2. MattM.
    Jun 3, 2005
    2
    This film is terrible. it's a classic example of bad filmaking sold and packaged to appear good. everyone who likes it either absolved their personal guilt of being able to connect with the idiotic characters or just thought they were watching a good movie but it tricked you. the way they showed time passing was good. that gets 2 points. the rest was worthless.
  3. LucilleJ.
    Jan 20, 2005
    0
    A shallow, frivilous bore, and in the end you ask: "who cares?"
  4. AlexL.
    Jan 30, 2005
    0
    Awful, actually.
  5. ZachB.
    Jan 9, 2005
    0
    I went into the movie with fairly positive expectations. I walked out of the theater proclaiming that this was one of the three worst movies I have seen in my lifetime. I would agree with some of the other reviews that the acting was solid. However, the overall spirit of this movie is completely soul-crushing. This wretched film drains energy for two solid hours, as the viewer is I went into the movie with fairly positive expectations. I walked out of the theater proclaiming that this was one of the three worst movies I have seen in my lifetime. I would agree with some of the other reviews that the acting was solid. However, the overall spirit of this movie is completely soul-crushing. This wretched film drains energy for two solid hours, as the viewer is subjected to utterly distant people painstakingly draining each other's lives. This film feels like a two hour, knock-down drag out argument out with a loved one--ala the wretched "A Story of Us". I would recommend this movie to only those with the most cynical view of love and relationships. Someone reeling from a bitter recent breakup, for instance, might find comfort in watching the emotional torture of others. Everyone else would be advised to stay away or at least saw off a non-dominant limb for a lesser form of abuse. Expand
  6. KaraL.
    Feb 4, 2005
    1
    It's been a long time since I've left a movie before it ended. Who talks like that? Obviously Hollywood believes that as long as they saturate a film with beautiful people and big names, the audience will respond. This film was total crap. Infidelity may not be new, but the way these people deal with it is completely unrealistic. What man goes to hug his wife after she tells him It's been a long time since I've left a movie before it ended. Who talks like that? Obviously Hollywood believes that as long as they saturate a film with beautiful people and big names, the audience will respond. This film was total crap. Infidelity may not be new, but the way these people deal with it is completely unrealistic. What man goes to hug his wife after she tells him all the explicit details of her extra marital affair. Who says, "Did you get dressed because you thought I was going to hit you"? To which J. Roberts responds "I've been hit before." What crap dialogue, and the acting was totally boring. The stripper girl got on my last nerve. The scenes in the strip club just got to be too much for me to take any longer. After watching this guy yell in the strip club about wanting love and truth, I just couldn't take it any longer. It's been a long time since I've seen anything so bad. The next time I see a film with nothing but big name stars, I know it's going to be horrible (case in point, "The Mexican"). Jude Law is everywhere. He will soon be another Ben Affleck, and J. Roberts has enough money. Surely, she can afford to turn down crap films like this one. Expand
  7. JessicaR.
    Mar 2, 2005
    0
    Nearly pornographic! disgusting!
  8. BillH.
    Jun 3, 2005
    0
    I hate when people say that if you didn't like this film you are a prude, conservative or have never analysed self deeply. this film is for the people who have only touched the surface. there are people like these characters in the world but i only have met a few and they have been some of the worst and most uninteresting humans i have known and i can't say anything better for I hate when people say that if you didn't like this film you are a prude, conservative or have never analysed self deeply. this film is for the people who have only touched the surface. there are people like these characters in the world but i only have met a few and they have been some of the worst and most uninteresting humans i have known and i can't say anything better for these characters or the people who sympathise with them. Expand
  9. DanC.
    Jul 7, 2005
    1
    A wretched, wretched look at the worst of humanity that manages to be equal parts joylessness and superficiality, interspersed with a most banal and unconvincing exploration of sexual obsession. The actors are consistently betrayed by the material. It's not bad in the traditioanl sense of being poorly written, but it is wretched: a story about four people you couldn't stand to A wretched, wretched look at the worst of humanity that manages to be equal parts joylessness and superficiality, interspersed with a most banal and unconvincing exploration of sexual obsession. The actors are consistently betrayed by the material. It's not bad in the traditioanl sense of being poorly written, but it is wretched: a story about four people you couldn't stand to be around for five minutes without slapping them silly or running in the other direction. But boringly, predictably, they all have the same pathetic, unconvincing, basically psychopathic approach to love and sex. Human imperfection is a wonderful theme for film and can be entertaining, endearing, or movingly tragic when done well. It is none of those things here. This film is rubbish because the writer's work is rubbish, high-brow rubbish to be sure, but still worthy of nothing better than immediate relegation to the garbage dump. I hated every minute of this film. Not even worth seeing for the fine performances. Dissatisfying on virtually every level. No. No. No. Expand
  10. TomM.
    Dec 25, 2004
    0
    Hollywood never looks at their arts effect on younger people like the did when movies were truly wonderful. This story is so dark, so heavy on sexual themes, that a good, dark drama had to be sunk to a Porn flick. My wife and I along with another couple got our money back.
  11. DanaM.
    Dec 6, 2004
    2
    Can't say I've been more turned off by the actions of four adults in my life. Sexual perversion radiates in this movie with language to make a sailor blush. Julia Roberts was simply awful in her character portrayal. What these people found so interesting in each other is beyond me. Defintiely NOT a date movie. Avoid.
  12. JeffM
    Oct 14, 2005
    0
    Many there really are people who are cynical enough - or stupid enough - to find merit in a movie about four such self-destructive imbeciles. The artsy types (such as many so-called movie critics) love to embrace the "honesty" of psychologic pathology. This moive has no shortage of that. Fact is, only people who derive some form of perverse joy in watching idiotic people engage in idiotic Many there really are people who are cynical enough - or stupid enough - to find merit in a movie about four such self-destructive imbeciles. The artsy types (such as many so-called movie critics) love to embrace the "honesty" of psychologic pathology. This moive has no shortage of that. Fact is, only people who derive some form of perverse joy in watching idiotic people engage in idiotic dialogue for idiotic reasons might find merit in this movie. The rest of us would do better to spend the money at McDonalds. Expand
  13. M
    Feb 11, 2005
    1
    An appaling film which all four stars should be embarrassed to put their name to. With no depth and a shocking script, the characters were instantly dislikeable and there was nothing to keep me interested. Unrealistic, filthy and quite honestly a waste of money.
  14. RajC.
    Feb 2, 2005
    1
    Waste of time and money!
  15. ReginaM
    Feb 2, 2005
    0
    It is true that life is cruel and that love most of the times is just a word. But, what a terrible way to express it, they lost the chance to express the real world. I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!
  16. MarcS
    Feb 4, 2005
    0
    This movie was a train wreck. All 4 characters spend the whole movie engaging in duplicitous infidelities, while simultaneously shrieking that they must know the "truth" of each others' affairs, because the truth is all that matters. Huh? While some of the acting was good (Owens and Portman), Roberts and Law were barely passable. The characters were so despicable, I can't This movie was a train wreck. All 4 characters spend the whole movie engaging in duplicitous infidelities, while simultaneously shrieking that they must know the "truth" of each others' affairs, because the truth is all that matters. Huh? While some of the acting was good (Owens and Portman), Roberts and Law were barely passable. The characters were so despicable, I can't understand why anyone would care about them. My greatest regret is that I didn't drive myself, so I could have left early. Expand
  17. LynnB.
    Apr 18, 2005
    2
    Very Boring, the film kept jumping forward a couple of months to a year. You could easily miss 20 minutes of the film and come back into it. Not really a point to the film, good for a snooze.
  18. StacyD
    May 3, 2005
    3
    Overrated and somewhat boring! The caracters are pathetic!!!!
  19. MaR.
    Dec 16, 2006
    3
    Pseudointellectual writing and great performances. Dialogue is mediocre and contrived. Not grounded in reality.
  20. TonyB.
    Feb 12, 2006
    2
    "Closer" is a very well-acted, well-directed and well-edited piece of junk. Unlikeable characters I can take; an unlikeable film is something else.
  21. CarolC.
    Dec 28, 2004
    3
    As viewers we look out for a little drama combined with other movie' elements. The movie revolves around four people who apparently don't even love themselves and their emotional treats are not fully developed ( not a love storie).
  22. TerryP.
    Dec 30, 2004
    0
    What a piece of crap. One of the few movies I've walked out of in the theater.
  23. RobS
    Dec 4, 2004
    0
    I can't remember a movie I so disliked. Not only have I never met anyone as vacuous as the characters in this movie, I hope I never do. I found absolutely nothing entertaining or engaging about this film.
  24. Larry
    Dec 6, 2004
    0
    Cold as ice lowing through the characters veins as well as boring to watch. One of the most overrated movies of the year. Avoid.
  25. MundusG
    Dec 7, 2004
    1
    But the movie doesn't say anything. It doesn't explain anything. Life has depth. This movie, though having a somewhat attempted guise of artistic value, does not, and I certainly don't believe that guise is enough to glaze over the completely vapid plot. It's not the first time Hollywood threw out a pessimistic and negative portrayal, so it's hardly new on that But the movie doesn't say anything. It doesn't explain anything. Life has depth. This movie, though having a somewhat attempted guise of artistic value, does not, and I certainly don't believe that guise is enough to glaze over the completely vapid plot. It's not the first time Hollywood threw out a pessimistic and negative portrayal, so it's hardly new on that front. It seems the higher ratings were so inundated by "edgy, realistic, negative drama" that they forgot to actually watch the movie. Expand
  26. SusanM.
    Dec 8, 2004
    3
    This move will very likely appeal to snobby movie critics and people who wants to get as far from mainstream movies as possible, but in the opinion of a regular person, it rates very low in entertinment value, it jumps ahead way to much, so you never feel a part of the experience, and the story never really goes anywhere. Plus none of the action happens on screen, they just talk about This move will very likely appeal to snobby movie critics and people who wants to get as far from mainstream movies as possible, but in the opinion of a regular person, it rates very low in entertinment value, it jumps ahead way to much, so you never feel a part of the experience, and the story never really goes anywhere. Plus none of the action happens on screen, they just talk about later! Boring. Pretentious. Unrealistic. The only reason it gets a 3 from me is because Clive Owen does a good acting job. Expand
  27. JeffI
    Oct 14, 2005
    0
    Nothing is more pathetic than cinema and amateur critics who rave over a movie's "honesty" just because the characters portrayed within it are psychological and spiritually corrupt. Sad commentary. Unless you're 1000% cynical (or terminally stupid) avoid this movie at all costs.
  28. NancyE.
    Jan 18, 2005
    1
    This movie was horrible --- who wants to pay money to see this crap. No redeeming qualities at all. It's very jaded and bleak.
  29. VictoriaS.
    Jan 27, 2005
    3
    Plays like a film version of the old Calvin Klein Obsession commercials. Just a lot of empty declaiming to no purpose whatsoever, which may indicate a failure to adapt what might have played well (or, at any rate, somewhat better) on stage. The characters, with one exception, are absolutely vile -- and not (I hope) remotely true to life. Particularly strange was all the going on about Plays like a film version of the old Calvin Klein Obsession commercials. Just a lot of empty declaiming to no purpose whatsoever, which may indicate a failure to adapt what might have played well (or, at any rate, somewhat better) on stage. The characters, with one exception, are absolutely vile -- and not (I hope) remotely true to life. Particularly strange was all the going on about loving one another when nothing remotely loving was evident. This was a particularly dreadful example of a film trying desperately to seem cutting edge and mature while ending up laughable and absurd. Natalie Portman's lap dance monologue (a wonderful gift to an actor) was beautifully done, however. Expand
  30. VictorB
    Jan 29, 2005
    1
    Easily one of the worst movies i have ever seen! This was like watching a car wreck or watching an infant dying-and just as sad. Good actors (with the exception of the talentless Clive Owen) tell a dreadful story here with no redeeming qualities. I felt dirty afterwards.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    The caustic wit and brute force of Patrick Marber's acclaimed play come across with a softened edge in Mike Nichols' bigscreen version of Closer.
  2. Determined to be faithful to the strong, often shocking language and in-your-face drama in Marber's mannered writing, Nichols and his actors find no way to lift Closer into a realm that enlightens.
  3. 88
    Mike Nichols' haunting, hypnotic Closer vibrates with eroticism, bruising laughs and dynamite performances from four attractive actors doing decidedly unattractive things.