Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 26, 2012
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 995 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
829
Mixed:
94
Negative:
72
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JvdHApr 15, 2017
Perfect. This movie had me laughing, crying, excited, scared. And also aroused. But most of all, it got me thinking. It emcompasses history, space and time. A space opera with the galaxy as scope, somehow managing to stay at the human level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
whatithink33May 11, 2017
An engaging thoughtful movie. 6 different interwoven plot lines, all interesting. A long movie, but it doesn't drag. I'm not sure the movie really gets it done, but the interplay of the different stories helps portray the universal aspectsAn engaging thoughtful movie. 6 different interwoven plot lines, all interesting. A long movie, but it doesn't drag. I'm not sure the movie really gets it done, but the interplay of the different stories helps portray the universal aspects of human nature and how the struggle continues throughout time and place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90Mar 7, 2017
A very thought provoking, philosophical and visually stunning movie with a great underlying message that promotes equality and that we are almost all connected in a way. While its obviously not for everyone, Cloud Atlas is a truly engagingA very thought provoking, philosophical and visually stunning movie with a great underlying message that promotes equality and that we are almost all connected in a way. While its obviously not for everyone, Cloud Atlas is a truly engaging and masterful piece of film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
Iky009Dec 31, 2013
Tired movie, dragged the script not the big thing else has an interesting proposal, but thanks to its slow pace and great length makes this film a miserable experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
AngusBarbudezSep 14, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Los Wachowsky sin duda alguna, han perdido el norte hace mucho tiempo, y si pensaron que con esta película iban a recuperarse, lo llevan claro. Si con 'Matrix' dieron el pelotazo y se fostiaron con 'M. Reloaded' y 'M. Revolutions', luego con 'Speed Racer' se hundieron más aún, con ésta, se han tirado a un pozo sin fondo.

Mucha gente tildó a los hermanos estos de GENIOS, VISIONARIOS con 'Matrix'. 'Matrix' está bien, pero una obra revolucionaria, no. Simplemente un refrito de la ciencia ficción distópica y cine de Hong Kong bien vendido, yo dije cuando vi 'Matrix', que eso de genios nada de nada, copypastear no es ser genios, luego con las secuelas me dieron la razón, 2 otakus flipados de la vida, pues ahora se las dan de profundos y metafísicos...¡venga! ¡No se lo creen ni ellos!

Quiero decir que el libro NO me lo he leído, así que solo voy a opinar como película, no como adaptación. 'El Atlas de las nubes', es un verdadero caos y una monstruosa y desproporcionada película, imaginad que cogéis 6 películas mediocres y las metéis en una misma película, pero al ver que son casi 8 horas de película, empezáis a recortar y recortar hasta dejarla en 3 horas, la trama....¿trama?, ojalá, simplemente es un montón de películas concentradas y montadas en una sola, que presuntamente las historias están relacionadas por cosas meramente banales o que no tienen ningún significado aparente, en otras palabras MCGUFFINS (un libro, unas marcas de nacimiento, un botón), que como buenos mcguffins, ni se dignan en explicártelos.

Las historias como he dicho, son un conjunto de historias conclusivas, de películas mediocres, que algunas carecen de lógica y sentido, ya que NO explican absolutamente nada. Las tramas, son de historias totalmente aleatorias, una historia en 1858 con un abogado y un negro en un barco, 1 gay que le compone una sonata a un viejo chocho que tiene la melodía en su cabeza en los años 30, otra es una periodista que intenta destapar unos tíos que quieren provocar un Chernobyl (¿¿??), una china clonada que se convierte en una mesías en un Seul cyberpunk , un editor que huye de unos matones y le encierran en un asilo (la parte mas divertida, por cierto) y por ultimo una especie de planeta de los simios con Tom Hanks de protagonista.

Luego nos encontramos a los mismos actores en los segmentos de la película caracterizados de unas maneras demenciales y estrambóticas que parecen de la hora chanante, todos los actores se convierten en chinos, hasta los negros, al pobre Hugo Weaving le convierten en una enfermera cabrona de un asilo de ancianos, ¡¡en SPOCK!! y en un Leprechaun, y a Tom Hanks le caracterizan de tropecientos mil viejos, a Halle Berry la convierten en un chino ciborg, en una judía blanca y.... ¡¡a Hugh Grant en un URUK HAI!!

Lo único que se salva de la película,es que visualmente es espectacular, muy buenos efectos especiales, lo que me hace pensar, que esta película me recuerda demasiado a 'Sucker Punch!', muchos efectos especiales, combates increíbles, pero 0 en guión, y a esta película le sucede exactamente eso.

La conclusión, la película es un verdadero desastre, caótica, infumable, alargada hasta el hastío y seguramente, esta es la típica película que los gafapastas y hipsters del todo a 100, que por ver una película de Kitano en su vida, la alabaran y dirán que es maravillosa y un montón de sinónimos pomposos y vacíos, porque no consiguen entender que mierdas le han contado.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
drewtheredguardSep 8, 2016
Horrible plot, acting, and theme. The idea behind it seemed airy-fairy and new-agey. Could have been so much more epic. I see what they tried to do but just missed the mark, by a lot-shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
mohamad91hkAug 26, 2016
3 hours, 6 stories and different times are blended in this tedious movie, it was better for the director to keep this story in the book, I didn't enjoy in this movie but I feel confused and trying to figure out what's going on?!.
there are a
3 hours, 6 stories and different times are blended in this tedious movie, it was better for the director to keep this story in the book, I didn't enjoy in this movie but I feel confused and trying to figure out what's going on?!.
there are a lot of deep meanings in this movie, but firstly I need to enjoy in movie then i will think about deep meanings. this movie lacks enjoyable factor, I think the movie doesn't deserve time to watch

P.S. Sorry for my poor language
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ESeTyRCJul 22, 2016
I originally went to watch this movie in the theatres because the name caught my attention and the reviews were so divided.

In my experience, when opinions are split like in the case of Cloud Atlas, with some saying that it was a fabulous
I originally went to watch this movie in the theatres because the name caught my attention and the reviews were so divided.

In my experience, when opinions are split like in the case of Cloud Atlas, with some saying that it was a fabulous movie, and others that it wasn't.. with many quoting that they didn't UNDERSTAND what they watched, it's something worth watching.

As far as I'm concerned, I was right. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.

I have nothing negative to say about it, other than that it was sometimes mentally draining to try and keep up with all the themes that I saw, to try and confirm any connections between events in the various stories, yet that too was all part of the fun.

Not only was the acting excellent, the overall story welded itself together in such a remarkably vague yet visible way that, as a viewer, I couldn't help but come up with underlying themes and theories all on my own.

Everlasting love, transcendence of time, strength of human connections and will, the concept of freedom.. just to name a few.

Now, let's be clear. This movie isn't for everyone, and definitely not intended for young children.
Uncomfortable with sex scenes? Can't follow not-shallow plot? Wrong movie.

On the other hand, if one is looking for a unique movie where the story's main messages aren't bluntly shoved in your face, but suggested at and left for the viewer to discern in wild, yet smooth, dynamic fashion, this is definitely worth a watch or two (or more).

All things considered, I highly recommend Cloud Atlas for any appropriate viewers.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrandonBonaseraJun 25, 2016
Ambitious, beautiful and utterly breathtaking. With impressive visuals, an awe-inspiring score, seamless editing, and fantastic acting and directing, Cloud Atlas is a successful attempt to turn an "un-filmable" novel (one of my favouriteAmbitious, beautiful and utterly breathtaking. With impressive visuals, an awe-inspiring score, seamless editing, and fantastic acting and directing, Cloud Atlas is a successful attempt to turn an "un-filmable" novel (one of my favourite novels) into a well-adaptated masterpiece. Even though the film is not perfect, it struck me on a personal level and its powerful nature, like the novel, made it overcome its issues. One of my favourite film adaptations and one of my favourite films, regardless of any issues. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31May 24, 2016
An absolutely amazing and inspiring film. Eloquent, poetic, uplifting. For the spiritually aware and connected this movie will strike your heart and soul.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2201497-Cloud-Atlas
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IntroduceApr 7, 2016
Clearly 10. A truly original piece of cinema.
The book very nearly meets it's match. Hugh Grant gets his throat slit in many lifetimes.
What more could one ask for!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
philip3242Mar 18, 2016
I watched this movie when it first was released on DVD and hated it. I then read the book, watched to movie again, and only after seeing it twice and reading the book did I come to fully understand the impressive magnitude of this movie.I watched this movie when it first was released on DVD and hated it. I then read the book, watched to movie again, and only after seeing it twice and reading the book did I come to fully understand the impressive magnitude of this movie. This is one of the most under-appreciated films in recent history as most people dismiss it as boring and uninteresting. Watch it once and you will want to watch it again and again. It has amazing cinematography, terrific music, and great acting overall in an amazing story that stays true to the amazing book it is based off of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AliceofXFeb 4, 2016
The truth is I actually liked some of the stories of this film and for the most part it was good and visually beautiful. And yet in the end Cloud Atlas is like a fruit that looks gorgeous and juicy from the outside but that you cut open onlyThe truth is I actually liked some of the stories of this film and for the most part it was good and visually beautiful. And yet in the end Cloud Atlas is like a fruit that looks gorgeous and juicy from the outside but that you cut open only to reveal green rot inside.

The film was utterly ruined by its need to deliver The Message and its anti-religious preaching. Its plot is a thinly disguised vehicle for political propaganda. It is just impossible to enjoy a movie when you are repeatedly being slapped in the face.

Leaving that aside, with all its bitter aftertaste, I can still see how it could be justly liked by those already part of the choir. Its many stories are well intertwined and come together nicely, even if you have no idea to what exactly.

There lies possibly the movie's biggest fault is that as you ask yourself in the end – what was the point – and you come away with nothing. The film is a plot built around inspirational quotes that sound deep until you actually stop to think about them for a second.

Overall Cloud Atlas is a well made film but, and I think the box office reflected this, it's not a film for everyone to enjoy.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 17, 2016
Cloud Atlas is a really impressive work from the Wachowskis that is incredibly deep philosophically and incredibly expansive as a film. Featuring numerous different time periods and the same actors playing different characters (but notCloud Atlas is a really impressive work from the Wachowskis that is incredibly deep philosophically and incredibly expansive as a film. Featuring numerous different time periods and the same actors playing different characters (but not really), Cloud Atlas is wonderfully directed and though it takes a bit of adjusting to, if you are willing to go with the film, it is quite enjoyable. An interesting film that touches on thoughts of reincarnation, our purpose in life, karma, and the importance of our actions, Cloud Atlas is wildly ambitious. Most certainly a film I will need to watch again, the cast in its entirety is fantastic. Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Jim Broadbent, Hugo Weaving, Jim Sturgess, Doona Bae, Ben Whishaw, Susan Sarandon, and Hugh Grant, in particular are all fantastic. Every actor plays a variety of roles, which makes the film that much more compelling and also gives them all some extra chances to show off their great skill. Overall, Cloud Atlas is incredibly long and can drag at times, but never becomes boring and is, above all, a wildly inventive and compelling piece of philosophy that is worthy of further study. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AijixeSep 27, 2015
A film that's epic in scope and features some genuinely incredibly acting by Mr. Hanks, Cloud Atlas is an ambitious project that suffers from style over substance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CantandresJul 31, 2015
Okay, okay, a lot of people like this movie far more than I. I am not a stupid person...PHD in mechanical physics from MIT before the age of 25 ( I'm not saying this to brag, but to set up my premise ) but I can't for the life of me tellOkay, okay, a lot of people like this movie far more than I. I am not a stupid person...PHD in mechanical physics from MIT before the age of 25 ( I'm not saying this to brag, but to set up my premise ) but I can't for the life of me tell anyone what this movie is actually about. Completely stumped here. It's only saving grace as far as I'm concerned is that it is visually stunning and the actor's performances were noteworthy. Other than that...I found no real plot to follow and frankly didn't give a damn what happened after the first hour. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
BarbudezJul 20, 2015
Los Wachowsky sin duda alguna, han perdido el norte hace mucho tiempo, y si pensaron que con esta película iban a recuperarse, lo llevan claro. Si con 'Matrix' dieron el pelotazo y se fostiaron con 'M. Reloaded' y 'M. Revolutions', luego conLos Wachowsky sin duda alguna, han perdido el norte hace mucho tiempo, y si pensaron que con esta película iban a recuperarse, lo llevan claro. Si con 'Matrix' dieron el pelotazo y se fostiaron con 'M. Reloaded' y 'M. Revolutions', luego con 'Speed Racer' se hundieron más aún, con ésta, se han tirado a un pozo sin fondo.

Mucha gente tildó a los hermanos estos de GENIOS, VISIONARIOS con 'Matrix'. 'Matrix' está bien, pero una obra revolucionaria, no. Simplemente un refrito de la ciencia ficción distópica y cine de Hong Kong bien vendido, yo dije cuando vi 'Matrix', que eso de genios nada de nada, copypastear no es ser genios, luego con las secuelas me dieron la razón, 2 otakus flipados de la vida, pues ahora se las dan de profundos y metafísicos...¡venga! ¡No se lo creen ni ellos!

Quiero decir que el libro NO me lo he leído, así que solo voy a opinar como película, no como adaptación. 'El Atlas de las nubes', es un verdadero caos y una monstruosa y desproporcionada película, imaginad que cogéis 6 películas mediocres y las metéis en una misma película, pero al ver que son casi 8 horas de película, empezáis a recortar y recortar hasta dejarla en 3 horas, la trama....¿trama?, ojalá, simplemente es un montón de películas concentradas y montadas en una sola, que presuntamente las historias están relacionadas por cosas meramente banales o que no tienen ningún significado aparente, en otras palabras MCGUFFINS (un libro, unas marcas de nacimiento, un botón), que como buenos mcguffins, ni se dignan en explicártelos.

Las historias como he dicho, son un conjunto de historias conclusivas, de películas mediocres, que algunas carecen de lógica y sentido, ya que NO explican absolutamente nada. Las tramas, son de historias totalmente aleatorias, una historia en 1858 con un abogado y un negro en un barco, 1 gay que le compone una sonata a un viejo chocho que tiene la melodía en su cabeza en los años 30, otra es una periodista que intenta destapar unos tíos que quieren provocar un Chernobyl (¿¿??), una china clonada que se convierte en una mesías en un Seul cyberpunk , un editor que huye de unos matones y le encierran en un asilo (la parte mas divertida, por cierto) y por ultimo una especie de planeta de los simios con Tom Hanks de protagonista.

Luego nos encontramos a los mismos actores en los segmentos de la película caracterizados de unas maneras demenciales y estrambóticas que parecen de la hora chanante, todos los actores se convierten en chinos, hasta los negros, al pobre Hugo Weaving le convierten en una enfermera cabrona de un asilo de ancianos, ¡¡en SPOCK!! y en un Leprechaun, y a Tom Hanks le caracterizan de tropecientos mil viejos, a Halle Berry la convierten en un chino ciborg, en una judía blanca y.... ¡¡a Hugh Grant en un URUK HAI!!

Lo único que se salva de la película, por eso tiene (un somier y no 0), es que visualmente es espectacular, muy buenos efectos especiales, lo que me hace pensar, que esta película me recuerda demasiado a 'Sucker Punch!', muchos efectos especiales, combates increíbles, pero 0 en guión, y a esta película le sucede exactamente eso.

La conclusión, la película es un verdadero desastre, caótica, infumable, alargada hasta el hastío y seguramente, esta es la típica película que los gafapastas y hipsters del todo a 100, que por ver una película de Kitano en su vida, la alabaran y dirán que es maravillosa y un montón de sinónimos pomposos y vacíos, porque no consiguen entender que mierdas le han contado.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheBlacksmithJun 30, 2015
Strikingly dull and incoherent. The movie moves through stories in order to hide the fact that if you were to see each storyline in sequence, the "mystery" or "surprises" would be as inane and as easy to spot as the "twist" in the SixthStrikingly dull and incoherent. The movie moves through stories in order to hide the fact that if you were to see each storyline in sequence, the "mystery" or "surprises" would be as inane and as easy to spot as the "twist" in the Sixth Sense.
If you haven't seen this pile of crap, do not bother.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MetalsandMay 29, 2015
Going into the movie, I didn't expect much. Hell, I didn't even think I would hit the 3 hour mark but I wanted something to watch while playing video games. 40 minutes in, and the storyline just felt confusing...but then, at the hour and aGoing into the movie, I didn't expect much. Hell, I didn't even think I would hit the 3 hour mark but I wanted something to watch while playing video games. 40 minutes in, and the storyline just felt confusing...but then, at the hour and a half mark, everything began to come together and this curious film started to take on a disordered order, and I found myself completely disinterested in my game and staring intently as the plot became to take shape and form before my very eyes. I am a critical person of works, and I usually am quickly annoyed by small flaws but this movie didn't feel like a movie....it felt like 5 movies playing at once, all interconnected in different and strange details.

Now, I absolutely know that this isn't a movie for everyone. I didn't think much of the movie at all until an hour into the movie and I understand that for most people that's usually unacceptable. I get that people also just want something entertaining because I myself was looking for a cheap movie to casually watch. However, if you do want a good, interesting movie that goes against the grain, and if you don't mind the long time that the movie takes to setup it's plot, it's a very cool and interesting movie which as a result of it's design poses some very interesting and relevant questions to the viewer. Perhaps not everyone will find it posed as a question or summation like I did, but nonetheless the movie is wholly different from the standard cookie-cutter films you see pumped out.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SitnalovApr 19, 2015
Fantastic film. Whoever rates it poorly should ask himself did he manage to understandand it at all. It seems most critics that gave poor rating should watch film again
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MCRRApr 4, 2015
It isn't hard to understand just why this movie didn't do itself justice at the box office. Given that dumbing down is so prevalent and the average consumer attention span struggles to come to grips with any script containing substance orIt isn't hard to understand just why this movie didn't do itself justice at the box office. Given that dumbing down is so prevalent and the average consumer attention span struggles to come to grips with any script containing substance or integrity. This is not a movie, it is a masterpiece, a work of art, a peephole into the soul of humanity. The continuity alone is beautifully orchestrated. Colourful, rich, vibrant, affecting all emotional responses. A rare standout movie in a time of shallow plagiarism. Six stories entwined in one, offering sci-fi / love / suspense / action / drama / thriller. Conceptually majestic, daring production, quality performances and captivating stories provide an exquisite palate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
horizonbtsMar 21, 2015
I picked up this movie to rent, thank God I didn't pay to go see it at the movies! What a hot mess, hard to follow, and you will totally try to lose your mind watching the whole thing. You can tell by my ratings on other movies I usuallyI picked up this movie to rent, thank God I didn't pay to go see it at the movies! What a hot mess, hard to follow, and you will totally try to lose your mind watching the whole thing. You can tell by my ratings on other movies I usually give an honest effort the benefit of doubt, not on this one. Should really have given it a O as I see no redeeming value in the movie and an actor of such great movies like Tom Hanks, it is beyond me why he would do such a movie!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
keemtMar 11, 2015
One of the best movies ever made.

I have to have 150 characters, so:
AASDHAHLAFKALFHLKAFLKAHFLFJAKLJFALKASJLKJALSKJFLKAJLFJASLKJFASKLLFASALSJLFASJ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
dokisameFeb 22, 2015
Cloud Atlas conveys a great message, and it is surely complicated, but when you use something as powerful as "karma" as a plot device, the message get lost. Karma is like "deus ex machina", and should only be used for comedy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
GmorkJan 3, 2015
.............WARNING............WARNING..............ATROCIOUS MOVIES ALERT..............ATROCIOUS MOVIES ALERT. BEYOND STUPID. i cant even.... oh man.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Cloud Atlas" 10 Scale Rating: 9.0 (Amazing) ...

The Good: An absolutely epic film with several fantastic stories all rolled into one. If you can make it through the lengthy run time, you'll be rewarded. Extremely ambitious and risky
"Cloud Atlas" 10 Scale Rating: 9.0 (Amazing) ...

The Good: An absolutely epic film with several fantastic stories all rolled into one. If you can make it through the lengthy run time, you'll be rewarded. Extremely ambitious and risky attempt, which has garnered a polarized response, but an attempt worthy of respect. Severely underrated.

The Bad: You feel every minute of the 2:52 run time, especially early on. I was not impressed initially as the early stages of the film are difficult to get through. Hit and miss makeup takes away from the film as well. Some of the makeup jobs are extremely silly to look at and distracting.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SatiricalewokNov 7, 2014
This film was absurdly ambitious, and it sort of succeeds. Each separate story thread is compelling and visually amazing, but I feel it just falls short of creating an overly succinct story when put together. However it is still entertaining,This film was absurdly ambitious, and it sort of succeeds. Each separate story thread is compelling and visually amazing, but I feel it just falls short of creating an overly succinct story when put together. However it is still entertaining, if a little overlong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LarkfeastOct 12, 2014
A true film masterpiece. A beautifully written adaptation of the novel of the same name. Although there are differences to the novel, the film takes a different approach and links all the 6 mini-stories in a non-linear mosaic. This is artA true film masterpiece. A beautifully written adaptation of the novel of the same name. Although there are differences to the novel, the film takes a different approach and links all the 6 mini-stories in a non-linear mosaic. This is art with a beautiful story behind it with many layers of meaning and symbolism.

The cast are all amazing. The best performances from Tom Hanks and Hugo Weaving that I've ever seen in any film.

The beautiful musical score is award winning and there is no question about why it is.

10/10. One of the greatest films ever made.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ViolettSep 2, 2014
Unusual, amazing and mysterious. The plot is so twisted it grabs you from the very beginning till the end. But to be honest way too twisted. I had to review the movie to understand it. I don't know is it good or bad. Nevermind me, movie isUnusual, amazing and mysterious. The plot is so twisted it grabs you from the very beginning till the end. But to be honest way too twisted. I had to review the movie to understand it. I don't know is it good or bad. Nevermind me, movie is awesome and worth watching. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaAug 24, 2014
This is one of those movies that had such a trailer I wasn't sure I wanted to see the actual film or not. Luckily, the actual movie itself proved to be more than about that one song - although "Cloud Atlas" rather interestingly carriesThis is one of those movies that had such a trailer I wasn't sure I wanted to see the actual film or not. Luckily, the actual movie itself proved to be more than about that one song - although "Cloud Atlas" rather interestingly carries through most of the stories in the movie.

And, the stories: in the beginning they seem jumbled and mismatched, jumping from one era to the next, with familiar faces all around, portrayed by the same actors.

That was both the intriguing part and the pitfall: some of the portrayals were amazing and I couldn't immediately recognize a well-known face we had already seen filling more than one pair of on-screen shoes. Unfortunately, the attempts to make a Western actor look like an Asian - and the opposite - managed to pull off a kind of 'horribly failed plastic surgery'-vibe. That was kind of distracting.

All in all, once the stories got going and I started remember who was who and what they were going on about, the film gained momentum. They didn't drag things out for too long, and balanced storylines out quite nicely, considering how many plots they had to cover.

I think I preferred the futuristic worlds to the older/modern ones. The visual effects looked natural, and there were several memorable characters.

However, overall, this probably wasn't a film for me, and its complexity became a bit too artistic to move forth fluently. Also, as fun as it was to spot same faces in different roles, I'not sure whether simply casting more people would have worked just as well, if not better (especially in those few disastrous make-up tumbles).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews