Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 26, 2012
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 980 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
818
Mixed:
91
Negative:
71
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
Iky009Dec 31, 2013
Tired movie, dragged the script not the big thing else has an interesting proposal, but thanks to its slow pace and great length makes this film a miserable experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
AngusBarbudezSep 14, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Los Wachowsky sin duda alguna, han perdido el norte hace mucho tiempo, y si pensaron que con esta película iban a recuperarse, lo llevan claro. Si con 'Matrix' dieron el pelotazo y se fostiaron con 'M. Reloaded' y 'M. Revolutions', luego con 'Speed Racer' se hundieron más aún, con ésta, se han tirado a un pozo sin fondo.

Mucha gente tildó a los hermanos estos de GENIOS, VISIONARIOS con 'Matrix'. 'Matrix' está bien, pero una obra revolucionaria, no. Simplemente un refrito de la ciencia ficción distópica y cine de Hong Kong bien vendido, yo dije cuando vi 'Matrix', que eso de genios nada de nada, copypastear no es ser genios, luego con las secuelas me dieron la razón, 2 otakus flipados de la vida, pues ahora se las dan de profundos y metafísicos...¡venga! ¡No se lo creen ni ellos!

Quiero decir que el libro NO me lo he leído, así que solo voy a opinar como película, no como adaptación. 'El Atlas de las nubes', es un verdadero caos y una monstruosa y desproporcionada película, imaginad que cogéis 6 películas mediocres y las metéis en una misma película, pero al ver que son casi 8 horas de película, empezáis a recortar y recortar hasta dejarla en 3 horas, la trama....¿trama?, ojalá, simplemente es un montón de películas concentradas y montadas en una sola, que presuntamente las historias están relacionadas por cosas meramente banales o que no tienen ningún significado aparente, en otras palabras MCGUFFINS (un libro, unas marcas de nacimiento, un botón), que como buenos mcguffins, ni se dignan en explicártelos.

Las historias como he dicho, son un conjunto de historias conclusivas, de películas mediocres, que algunas carecen de lógica y sentido, ya que NO explican absolutamente nada. Las tramas, son de historias totalmente aleatorias, una historia en 1858 con un abogado y un negro en un barco, 1 gay que le compone una sonata a un viejo chocho que tiene la melodía en su cabeza en los años 30, otra es una periodista que intenta destapar unos tíos que quieren provocar un Chernobyl (¿¿??), una china clonada que se convierte en una mesías en un Seul cyberpunk , un editor que huye de unos matones y le encierran en un asilo (la parte mas divertida, por cierto) y por ultimo una especie de planeta de los simios con Tom Hanks de protagonista.

Luego nos encontramos a los mismos actores en los segmentos de la película caracterizados de unas maneras demenciales y estrambóticas que parecen de la hora chanante, todos los actores se convierten en chinos, hasta los negros, al pobre Hugo Weaving le convierten en una enfermera cabrona de un asilo de ancianos, ¡¡en SPOCK!! y en un Leprechaun, y a Tom Hanks le caracterizan de tropecientos mil viejos, a Halle Berry la convierten en un chino ciborg, en una judía blanca y.... ¡¡a Hugh Grant en un URUK HAI!!

Lo único que se salva de la película,es que visualmente es espectacular, muy buenos efectos especiales, lo que me hace pensar, que esta película me recuerda demasiado a 'Sucker Punch!', muchos efectos especiales, combates increíbles, pero 0 en guión, y a esta película le sucede exactamente eso.

La conclusión, la película es un verdadero desastre, caótica, infumable, alargada hasta el hastío y seguramente, esta es la típica película que los gafapastas y hipsters del todo a 100, que por ver una película de Kitano en su vida, la alabaran y dirán que es maravillosa y un montón de sinónimos pomposos y vacíos, porque no consiguen entender que mierdas le han contado.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
drewtheredguardSep 8, 2016
Horrible plot, acting, and theme. The idea behind it seemed airy-fairy and new-agey. Could have been so much more epic. I see what they tried to do but just missed the mark, by a lot-shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
mohamad91hkAug 26, 2016
3 hours, 6 stories and different times are blended in this tedious movie, it was better for the director to keep this story in the book, I didn't enjoy in this movie but I feel confused and trying to figure out what's going on?!.
there are a
3 hours, 6 stories and different times are blended in this tedious movie, it was better for the director to keep this story in the book, I didn't enjoy in this movie but I feel confused and trying to figure out what's going on?!.
there are a lot of deep meanings in this movie, but firstly I need to enjoy in movie then i will think about deep meanings. this movie lacks enjoyable factor, I think the movie doesn't deserve time to watch

P.S. Sorry for my poor language
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ESeTyRCJul 22, 2016
I originally went to watch this movie in the theatres because the name caught my attention and the reviews were so divided.

In my experience, when opinions are split like in the case of Cloud Atlas, with some saying that it was a fabulous
I originally went to watch this movie in the theatres because the name caught my attention and the reviews were so divided.

In my experience, when opinions are split like in the case of Cloud Atlas, with some saying that it was a fabulous movie, and others that it wasn't.. with many quoting that they didn't UNDERSTAND what they watched, it's something worth watching.

As far as I'm concerned, I was right. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.

I have nothing negative to say about it, other than that it was sometimes mentally draining to try and keep up with all the themes that I saw, to try and confirm any connections between events in the various stories, yet that too was all part of the fun.

Not only was the acting excellent, the overall story welded itself together in such a remarkably vague yet visible way that, as a viewer, I couldn't help but come up with underlying themes and theories all on my own.

Everlasting love, transcendence of time, strength of human connections and will, the concept of freedom.. just to name a few.

Now, let's be clear. This movie isn't for everyone, and definitely not intended for young children.
Uncomfortable with sex scenes? Can't follow not-shallow plot? Wrong movie.

On the other hand, if one is looking for a unique movie where the story's main messages aren't bluntly shoved in your face, but suggested at and left for the viewer to discern in wild, yet smooth, dynamic fashion, this is definitely worth a watch or two (or more).

All things considered, I highly recommend Cloud Atlas for any appropriate viewers.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrandonBonaseraJun 25, 2016
Ambitious, beautiful and utterly breathtaking. With impressive visuals, an awe-inspiring score, seamless editing, and fantastic acting and directing, Cloud Atlas is a successful attempt to turn an "un-filmable" novel (one of my favouriteAmbitious, beautiful and utterly breathtaking. With impressive visuals, an awe-inspiring score, seamless editing, and fantastic acting and directing, Cloud Atlas is a successful attempt to turn an "un-filmable" novel (one of my favourite novels) into a well-adaptated masterpiece. Even though the film is not perfect, it struck me on a personal level and its powerful nature, like the novel, made it overcome its issues. One of my favourite film adaptations and one of my favourite films, regardless of any issues. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31May 24, 2016
An absolutely amazing and inspiring film. Eloquent, poetic, uplifting. For the spiritually aware and connected this movie will strike your heart and soul.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2201497-Cloud-Atlas
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IntroduceApr 7, 2016
Clearly 10. A truly original piece of cinema.
The book very nearly meets it's match. Hugh Grant gets his throat slit in many lifetimes.
What more could one ask for!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
philip3242Mar 18, 2016
I watched this movie when it first was released on DVD and hated it. I then read the book, watched to movie again, and only after seeing it twice and reading the book did I come to fully understand the impressive magnitude of this movie.I watched this movie when it first was released on DVD and hated it. I then read the book, watched to movie again, and only after seeing it twice and reading the book did I come to fully understand the impressive magnitude of this movie. This is one of the most under-appreciated films in recent history as most people dismiss it as boring and uninteresting. Watch it once and you will want to watch it again and again. It has amazing cinematography, terrific music, and great acting overall in an amazing story that stays true to the amazing book it is based off of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AliceofXFeb 4, 2016
The truth is I actually liked some of the stories of this film and for the most part it was good and visually beautiful. And yet in the end Cloud Atlas is like a fruit that looks gorgeous and juicy from the outside but that you cut open onlyThe truth is I actually liked some of the stories of this film and for the most part it was good and visually beautiful. And yet in the end Cloud Atlas is like a fruit that looks gorgeous and juicy from the outside but that you cut open only to reveal green rot inside.

The film was utterly ruined by its need to deliver The Message and its anti-religious preaching. Its plot is a thinly disguised vehicle for political propaganda. It is just impossible to enjoy a movie when you are repeatedly being slapped in the face.

Leaving that aside, with all its bitter aftertaste, I can still see how it could be justly liked by those already part of the choir. Its many stories are well intertwined and come together nicely, even if you have no idea to what exactly.

There lies possibly the movie's biggest fault is that as you ask yourself in the end – what was the point – and you come away with nothing. The film is a plot built around inspirational quotes that sound deep until you actually stop to think about them for a second.

Overall Cloud Atlas is a well made film but, and I think the box office reflected this, it's not a film for everyone to enjoy.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Jan 18, 2016
A movie that transcends all structure for a meaning much deeper than can ever be written in clarity.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-219799-Cloud-Atlas-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 17, 2016
Cloud Atlas is a really impressive work from the Wachowskis that is incredibly deep philosophically and incredibly expansive as a film. Featuring numerous different time periods and the same actors playing different characters (but notCloud Atlas is a really impressive work from the Wachowskis that is incredibly deep philosophically and incredibly expansive as a film. Featuring numerous different time periods and the same actors playing different characters (but not really), Cloud Atlas is wonderfully directed and though it takes a bit of adjusting to, if you are willing to go with the film, it is quite enjoyable. An interesting film that touches on thoughts of reincarnation, our purpose in life, karma, and the importance of our actions, Cloud Atlas is wildly ambitious. Most certainly a film I will need to watch again, the cast in its entirety is fantastic. Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Jim Broadbent, Hugo Weaving, Jim Sturgess, Doona Bae, Ben Whishaw, Susan Sarandon, and Hugh Grant, in particular are all fantastic. Every actor plays a variety of roles, which makes the film that much more compelling and also gives them all some extra chances to show off their great skill. Overall, Cloud Atlas is incredibly long and can drag at times, but never becomes boring and is, above all, a wildly inventive and compelling piece of philosophy that is worthy of further study. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AijixeSep 27, 2015
A film that's epic in scope and features some genuinely incredibly acting by Mr. Hanks, Cloud Atlas is an ambitious project that suffers from style over substance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CantandresJul 31, 2015
Okay, okay, a lot of people like this movie far more than I. I am not a stupid person...PHD in mechanical physics from MIT before the age of 25 ( I'm not saying this to brag, but to set up my premise ) but I can't for the life of me tellOkay, okay, a lot of people like this movie far more than I. I am not a stupid person...PHD in mechanical physics from MIT before the age of 25 ( I'm not saying this to brag, but to set up my premise ) but I can't for the life of me tell anyone what this movie is actually about. Completely stumped here. It's only saving grace as far as I'm concerned is that it is visually stunning and the actor's performances were noteworthy. Other than that...I found no real plot to follow and frankly didn't give a damn what happened after the first hour. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
BarbudezJul 20, 2015
Los Wachowsky sin duda alguna, han perdido el norte hace mucho tiempo, y si pensaron que con esta película iban a recuperarse, lo llevan claro. Si con 'Matrix' dieron el pelotazo y se fostiaron con 'M. Reloaded' y 'M. Revolutions', luego conLos Wachowsky sin duda alguna, han perdido el norte hace mucho tiempo, y si pensaron que con esta película iban a recuperarse, lo llevan claro. Si con 'Matrix' dieron el pelotazo y se fostiaron con 'M. Reloaded' y 'M. Revolutions', luego con 'Speed Racer' se hundieron más aún, con ésta, se han tirado a un pozo sin fondo.

Mucha gente tildó a los hermanos estos de GENIOS, VISIONARIOS con 'Matrix'. 'Matrix' está bien, pero una obra revolucionaria, no. Simplemente un refrito de la ciencia ficción distópica y cine de Hong Kong bien vendido, yo dije cuando vi 'Matrix', que eso de genios nada de nada, copypastear no es ser genios, luego con las secuelas me dieron la razón, 2 otakus flipados de la vida, pues ahora se las dan de profundos y metafísicos...¡venga! ¡No se lo creen ni ellos!

Quiero decir que el libro NO me lo he leído, así que solo voy a opinar como película, no como adaptación. 'El Atlas de las nubes', es un verdadero caos y una monstruosa y desproporcionada película, imaginad que cogéis 6 películas mediocres y las metéis en una misma película, pero al ver que son casi 8 horas de película, empezáis a recortar y recortar hasta dejarla en 3 horas, la trama....¿trama?, ojalá, simplemente es un montón de películas concentradas y montadas en una sola, que presuntamente las historias están relacionadas por cosas meramente banales o que no tienen ningún significado aparente, en otras palabras MCGUFFINS (un libro, unas marcas de nacimiento, un botón), que como buenos mcguffins, ni se dignan en explicártelos.

Las historias como he dicho, son un conjunto de historias conclusivas, de películas mediocres, que algunas carecen de lógica y sentido, ya que NO explican absolutamente nada. Las tramas, son de historias totalmente aleatorias, una historia en 1858 con un abogado y un negro en un barco, 1 gay que le compone una sonata a un viejo chocho que tiene la melodía en su cabeza en los años 30, otra es una periodista que intenta destapar unos tíos que quieren provocar un Chernobyl (¿¿??), una china clonada que se convierte en una mesías en un Seul cyberpunk , un editor que huye de unos matones y le encierran en un asilo (la parte mas divertida, por cierto) y por ultimo una especie de planeta de los simios con Tom Hanks de protagonista.

Luego nos encontramos a los mismos actores en los segmentos de la película caracterizados de unas maneras demenciales y estrambóticas que parecen de la hora chanante, todos los actores se convierten en chinos, hasta los negros, al pobre Hugo Weaving le convierten en una enfermera cabrona de un asilo de ancianos, ¡¡en SPOCK!! y en un Leprechaun, y a Tom Hanks le caracterizan de tropecientos mil viejos, a Halle Berry la convierten en un chino ciborg, en una judía blanca y.... ¡¡a Hugh Grant en un URUK HAI!!

Lo único que se salva de la película, por eso tiene (un somier y no 0), es que visualmente es espectacular, muy buenos efectos especiales, lo que me hace pensar, que esta película me recuerda demasiado a 'Sucker Punch!', muchos efectos especiales, combates increíbles, pero 0 en guión, y a esta película le sucede exactamente eso.

La conclusión, la película es un verdadero desastre, caótica, infumable, alargada hasta el hastío y seguramente, esta es la típica película que los gafapastas y hipsters del todo a 100, que por ver una película de Kitano en su vida, la alabaran y dirán que es maravillosa y un montón de sinónimos pomposos y vacíos, porque no consiguen entender que mierdas le han contado.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheBlacksmithJun 30, 2015
Strikingly dull and incoherent. The movie moves through stories in order to hide the fact that if you were to see each storyline in sequence, the "mystery" or "surprises" would be as inane and as easy to spot as the "twist" in the SixthStrikingly dull and incoherent. The movie moves through stories in order to hide the fact that if you were to see each storyline in sequence, the "mystery" or "surprises" would be as inane and as easy to spot as the "twist" in the Sixth Sense.
If you haven't seen this pile of crap, do not bother.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MetalsandMay 29, 2015
Going into the movie, I didn't expect much. Hell, I didn't even think I would hit the 3 hour mark but I wanted something to watch while playing video games. 40 minutes in, and the storyline just felt confusing...but then, at the hour and aGoing into the movie, I didn't expect much. Hell, I didn't even think I would hit the 3 hour mark but I wanted something to watch while playing video games. 40 minutes in, and the storyline just felt confusing...but then, at the hour and a half mark, everything began to come together and this curious film started to take on a disordered order, and I found myself completely disinterested in my game and staring intently as the plot became to take shape and form before my very eyes. I am a critical person of works, and I usually am quickly annoyed by small flaws but this movie didn't feel like a movie....it felt like 5 movies playing at once, all interconnected in different and strange details.

Now, I absolutely know that this isn't a movie for everyone. I didn't think much of the movie at all until an hour into the movie and I understand that for most people that's usually unacceptable. I get that people also just want something entertaining because I myself was looking for a cheap movie to casually watch. However, if you do want a good, interesting movie that goes against the grain, and if you don't mind the long time that the movie takes to setup it's plot, it's a very cool and interesting movie which as a result of it's design poses some very interesting and relevant questions to the viewer. Perhaps not everyone will find it posed as a question or summation like I did, but nonetheless the movie is wholly different from the standard cookie-cutter films you see pumped out.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SitnalovApr 19, 2015
Fantastic film. Whoever rates it poorly should ask himself did he manage to understandand it at all. It seems most critics that gave poor rating should watch film again
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MCRRApr 4, 2015
It isn't hard to understand just why this movie didn't do itself justice at the box office. Given that dumbing down is so prevalent and the average consumer attention span struggles to come to grips with any script containing substance orIt isn't hard to understand just why this movie didn't do itself justice at the box office. Given that dumbing down is so prevalent and the average consumer attention span struggles to come to grips with any script containing substance or integrity. This is not a movie, it is a masterpiece, a work of art, a peephole into the soul of humanity. The continuity alone is beautifully orchestrated. Colourful, rich, vibrant, affecting all emotional responses. A rare standout movie in a time of shallow plagiarism. Six stories entwined in one, offering sci-fi / love / suspense / action / drama / thriller. Conceptually majestic, daring production, quality performances and captivating stories provide an exquisite palate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
horizonbtsMar 21, 2015
I picked up this movie to rent, thank God I didn't pay to go see it at the movies! What a hot mess, hard to follow, and you will totally try to lose your mind watching the whole thing. You can tell by my ratings on other movies I usuallyI picked up this movie to rent, thank God I didn't pay to go see it at the movies! What a hot mess, hard to follow, and you will totally try to lose your mind watching the whole thing. You can tell by my ratings on other movies I usually give an honest effort the benefit of doubt, not on this one. Should really have given it a O as I see no redeeming value in the movie and an actor of such great movies like Tom Hanks, it is beyond me why he would do such a movie!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
keemtMar 11, 2015
One of the best movies ever made.

I have to have 150 characters, so:
AASDHAHLAFKALFHLKAFLKAHFLFJAKLJFALKASJLKJALSKJFLKAJLFJASLKJFASKLLFASALSJLFASJ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
dokisameFeb 22, 2015
Cloud Atlas conveys a great message, and it is surely complicated, but when you use something as powerful as "karma" as a plot device, the message get lost. Karma is like "deus ex machina", and should only be used for comedy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
GmorkJan 3, 2015
.............WARNING............WARNING..............ATROCIOUS MOVIES ALERT..............ATROCIOUS MOVIES ALERT. BEYOND STUPID. i cant even.... oh man.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Cloud Atlas" 10 Scale Rating: 9.0 (Amazing) ...

The Good: An absolutely epic film with several fantastic stories all rolled into one. If you can make it through the lengthy run time, you'll be rewarded. Extremely ambitious and risky
"Cloud Atlas" 10 Scale Rating: 9.0 (Amazing) ...

The Good: An absolutely epic film with several fantastic stories all rolled into one. If you can make it through the lengthy run time, you'll be rewarded. Extremely ambitious and risky attempt, which has garnered a polarized response, but an attempt worthy of respect. Severely underrated.

The Bad: You feel every minute of the 2:52 run time, especially early on. I was not impressed initially as the early stages of the film are difficult to get through. Hit and miss makeup takes away from the film as well. Some of the makeup jobs are extremely silly to look at and distracting.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SatiricalewokNov 7, 2014
This film was absurdly ambitious, and it sort of succeeds. Each separate story thread is compelling and visually amazing, but I feel it just falls short of creating an overly succinct story when put together. However it is still entertaining,This film was absurdly ambitious, and it sort of succeeds. Each separate story thread is compelling and visually amazing, but I feel it just falls short of creating an overly succinct story when put together. However it is still entertaining, if a little overlong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LarkfeastOct 12, 2014
A true film masterpiece. A beautifully written adaptation of the novel of the same name. Although there are differences to the novel, the film takes a different approach and links all the 6 mini-stories in a non-linear mosaic. This is artA true film masterpiece. A beautifully written adaptation of the novel of the same name. Although there are differences to the novel, the film takes a different approach and links all the 6 mini-stories in a non-linear mosaic. This is art with a beautiful story behind it with many layers of meaning and symbolism.

The cast are all amazing. The best performances from Tom Hanks and Hugo Weaving that I've ever seen in any film.

The beautiful musical score is award winning and there is no question about why it is.

10/10. One of the greatest films ever made.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ViolettSep 2, 2014
Unusual, amazing and mysterious. The plot is so twisted it grabs you from the very beginning till the end. But to be honest way too twisted. I had to review the movie to understand it. I don't know is it good or bad. Nevermind me, movie isUnusual, amazing and mysterious. The plot is so twisted it grabs you from the very beginning till the end. But to be honest way too twisted. I had to review the movie to understand it. I don't know is it good or bad. Nevermind me, movie is awesome and worth watching. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaAug 24, 2014
This is one of those movies that had such a trailer I wasn't sure I wanted to see the actual film or not. Luckily, the actual movie itself proved to be more than about that one song - although "Cloud Atlas" rather interestingly carriesThis is one of those movies that had such a trailer I wasn't sure I wanted to see the actual film or not. Luckily, the actual movie itself proved to be more than about that one song - although "Cloud Atlas" rather interestingly carries through most of the stories in the movie.

And, the stories: in the beginning they seem jumbled and mismatched, jumping from one era to the next, with familiar faces all around, portrayed by the same actors.

That was both the intriguing part and the pitfall: some of the portrayals were amazing and I couldn't immediately recognize a well-known face we had already seen filling more than one pair of on-screen shoes. Unfortunately, the attempts to make a Western actor look like an Asian - and the opposite - managed to pull off a kind of 'horribly failed plastic surgery'-vibe. That was kind of distracting.

All in all, once the stories got going and I started remember who was who and what they were going on about, the film gained momentum. They didn't drag things out for too long, and balanced storylines out quite nicely, considering how many plots they had to cover.

I think I preferred the futuristic worlds to the older/modern ones. The visual effects looked natural, and there were several memorable characters.

However, overall, this probably wasn't a film for me, and its complexity became a bit too artistic to move forth fluently. Also, as fun as it was to spot same faces in different roles, I'not sure whether simply casting more people would have worked just as well, if not better (especially in those few disastrous make-up tumbles).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
benoskiJul 19, 2014
I simply do not understand why some critics didn't enjoy this. A truly unique and ambitious film with an ensemble cast and great story. I personally think the film did well at mixing all eras instead of doing it all chronologically.

Think
I simply do not understand why some critics didn't enjoy this. A truly unique and ambitious film with an ensemble cast and great story. I personally think the film did well at mixing all eras instead of doing it all chronologically.

Think I might have to buy the book now.....
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sammurphy66Jul 17, 2014
A stellar ensemble cast, undeniably fantastic script, and stunning visuals make this cinematic masterpiece one of the greatest indie films of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
blockofcheeseJul 13, 2014
Clever writing, most unique film I have ever seen in a long time. I loved the Cinematography done by Frank Griebe & John Toll. Of course you're thinking it's the Wachowski's... but they do have Matrix under their belt along with JupiterClever writing, most unique film I have ever seen in a long time. I loved the Cinematography done by Frank Griebe & John Toll. Of course you're thinking it's the Wachowski's... but they do have Matrix under their belt along with Jupiter Ascending coming soon, and Sense8 a new tv/netflix show. The Wachowski's have never disappointed me ever! I've enjoyed all their films including this one, probably their most weirdest, trippy, original, and mind-blowing visual movie to date!!! Although you got to sacrifice about 2 and a half hours. I think it was worth it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
My_name_is_KhanJul 4, 2014
With Cloud Atlas, the Watchowski deliver a true masterpiece, mixing a large number of genres, from comedy (often funnier than the average comedy) to science fiction. Everything works. Every single actor is awesome. The soundtrack is great.With Cloud Atlas, the Watchowski deliver a true masterpiece, mixing a large number of genres, from comedy (often funnier than the average comedy) to science fiction. Everything works. Every single actor is awesome. The soundtrack is great. The whole movie is so well film it achieves what many book adaptations fail to do: not being useless, and even transcending the source material. I could watch this over and over without ever getting bored. The film is so complex and clever you'll discover tons of new things every time you watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
artexplosionJun 12, 2014
This movie is wonderful! The way all the events connect to each other is just amazing. The music, the ending and many more things are just beautiful. I'm planning on reading the book as soon as possible. Also, those negative critics are justThis movie is wonderful! The way all the events connect to each other is just amazing. The music, the ending and many more things are just beautiful. I'm planning on reading the book as soon as possible. Also, those negative critics are just - sorry for using such a childish word - dumb. This movie needs to be watched at least a couple times to be understanded completely. Most critics probably didn't do that, which is fine, but they shouldn't judge it so early. I'm no adult nor critic, and therefore my opinion on this movie may not count that much, but I can say I enjoyed it much more than many other movies (sorry if I misspelt something, Italian here). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HighPriestesaMay 18, 2014
Visualy stunning. Storyline like a puzzle. It's interesting, fun to watch. One of those you can watch over and over again, not get bored and always discover something new. Costume design, props and make up effects are amazing, great job on that!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
dougaussieApr 28, 2014
6 crappy stories chopped up, wasted 15 bucks on the DVD, I would not buy this DVD for $1, if there was time in my life I wish I could get back it would be watching this load of garbage. The actors were wasted and uninspiring, the dialogue6 crappy stories chopped up, wasted 15 bucks on the DVD, I would not buy this DVD for $1, if there was time in my life I wish I could get back it would be watching this load of garbage. The actors were wasted and uninspiring, the dialogue was drivel. I had my finger on the fast forward for most of the movie it was that bad. I thought less of these actors after seeing the movie, I can only guess they all needed something to do on their weekends or needed to buy a new car or two. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
AndrouApr 20, 2014
I was skeptical at first with this movie. I dind't get many good review from my friends and great part of the internet was telling me not to give it a chance, but... I gave it a shot. And, hell, man, it showed me things I would never expectI was skeptical at first with this movie. I dind't get many good review from my friends and great part of the internet was telling me not to give it a chance, but... I gave it a shot. And, hell, man, it showed me things I would never expect finding in any 3 hours of my day. All the storys are evolving. I laughed, I got excited, and, sometimes, even bro tears almost appeared. I cannot give less than a 10 to such wonderful piece of art. I'm going to give a chance to the book, and if I find something half as good as the movie, I'll be more than satisfied. Don't listen to the haters. Do it as me: Give it a shot. You won't get dissapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OfficialMar 8, 2014
This is one of those films that I figure that it would be really good, but in the end, it's not a big disappointment, but it's not what you expected. I mean, the scope of the film is big with some really good acting, but the characterThis is one of those films that I figure that it would be really good, but in the end, it's not a big disappointment, but it's not what you expected. I mean, the scope of the film is big with some really good acting, but the character development behind the characters are pretty weak. It's also too long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
dyshpoMar 3, 2014
Over rated this be . Can a movie have more pretension and blatant killing of subplots that are sub par . Reincarnation is a gradually change of betterment that you , other people or the world effect you . Actors gave some great personaOver rated this be . Can a movie have more pretension and blatant killing of subplots that are sub par . Reincarnation is a gradually change of betterment that you , other people or the world effect you . Actors gave some great persona changes and performances but the story was jacked and camera work was terrible . Also boring and full of hot air . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
oldphoenixFeb 9, 2014
Excellent movie. Unique, very engaging, and with a story that keeps you glued to it. And the underlying message is one that everyone should hear, and yet many will deny they understand. But if you like mindless--keep looking.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
AlienSpaceBatsJan 25, 2014
Incoherent, dull, lacks a narrative and characterization. Nothing spectacular visually, baffling - no, embarrassing decision to use prosthetics to make western actors look Asian. A few interesting ideas, but ultimately; six supposedly linkedIncoherent, dull, lacks a narrative and characterization. Nothing spectacular visually, baffling - no, embarrassing decision to use prosthetics to make western actors look Asian. A few interesting ideas, but ultimately; six supposedly linked sub-par stories. In one respect the film was faithful to the book: terribly boring and overblown. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
wilsonadamsJan 17, 2014
If you can't appreciate the story, then appreciate the way it was told. This is the most underrated film I have ever seen. It took three film crews across the world, three writers/directors to adapt a screenplay from a book that was deemedIf you can't appreciate the story, then appreciate the way it was told. This is the most underrated film I have ever seen. It took three film crews across the world, three writers/directors to adapt a screenplay from a book that was deemed impossible to do. I don't care much for parts of the story, but the themes, editing, humour, suspense, and eye popping makeup design and special effects are sure to please any viewer. I've never seen anything like it, nor will there ever be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
N0rthWindJan 10, 2014
I GIVE THIS A 8.5 BUT IT GETS AN EXTRA 0.5 TO COUNTERBALANCE ALL THE HATE.

I won't go over the same things again: people have gone over the multiple storylines, unconventional timeline and mind boggling plot numerous times. I will instead
I GIVE THIS A 8.5 BUT IT GETS AN EXTRA 0.5 TO COUNTERBALANCE ALL THE HATE.

I won't go over the same things again: people have gone over the multiple storylines, unconventional timeline and mind boggling plot numerous times.
I will instead answer their accusations/praises:

-Is it beautiful? Yes, yes it is.
-Is it strange? Probably the weirdest movie out there.
-Is it meaningful? In the first hour, NO. After you watch the whole of it AND PAY ATTENTION, it's life changing. At least for me.
-Is it well executed? YES. Many people would say no, but the movie achieves its goal perfectly if you give it a chance. Now, if some want it to say something else than it intends to, that's their problem. However the storyline(s) interweave and function like a clockwork.
-Is it funny? Well. Hm. It has some funny moments as well.
-Is it dramatic then? This movie is not a drama. Nor a comedy. Nor science fiction. Nor action. Nor a love story. It's basically all of them combined. But in the end, my heart was swelling with emotion, I wanted to laugh, to cry and I felt connected to the world. Not in a heroic or villain way, but through the resonance of our actions. Which was exactly what the movie is trying to say: whatever you do, it changes the world. It doesn't say "be good" or "be bad". It just shows you how our present is the way it is, because of people that lived in the past.

In conclusion, I think this movie is a must see. It broadens the mind.
Now, some may not like it. Racists, homophobes, conservatives perhaps?
In any case though, it deserves more than a 5, and whoever gives this a 0 is (frankly) an idiot.
Way too much thought has been put into this to be reduced to a 0 (what do you give these crap-movies then? -19? People click that 0 way too easily.)
All in all, it has changed at least one human's way of thinking (mine) and for that alone it's remarkable. (:
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moonman1994Dec 15, 2013
After deciding to watch this film with little to no expectations I can truly say that I was blown away. Every story in the film was extremely interesting and the idea of interlocking lives was great. The cinematography was stellar and theAfter deciding to watch this film with little to no expectations I can truly say that I was blown away. Every story in the film was extremely interesting and the idea of interlocking lives was great. The cinematography was stellar and the soundtrack went extremely well with how beautiful the imagery on screen was. The film is ambiguous but in a way that allows for you to really think about what you watched and not in an infuriating way. I will bet that years from now critics will reevaluate Cloud Atlas and it will become a classic just like other films, such as Blade Runner, that at the time were snubbed by film critics but revered now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sanyrubDec 15, 2013
Easily one of the top 10 films of 2012! I was worried after all the mixed reviews. In fact I waited until 2013 to see it. I totally regret it. I would have loved giving my money to see this in theaters. The film is like 2 hours and a halfEasily one of the top 10 films of 2012! I was worried after all the mixed reviews. In fact I waited until 2013 to see it. I totally regret it. I would have loved giving my money to see this in theaters. The film is like 2 hours and a half long and I never got bored, in fact, without even noticing it, I was more and more into it as the film progressed. By the last hour I was absolutely surprised at how much I was loving the experience. Only bad thing I can say is some of the make-up doesn´t look good, but even that was probably done on purpose. Each one of the stories adds something different and are totally enjoyable. I felt like the futuristic ones could have been a film on its own, with great and innovative special effects. The film is truly memorable, I plan on watching it several times in the future. My favorite story was the boy who was a musical genius, that was the one with more heart and with the best acting in my opinion. But really, all the actors are on point, and it´s absolutely incredible to think how they even managed to put all this together and make it work. Outstanding body of work, emotive, epic, funny, sad and everything in between. What an experience. One of those very few cases when I strongly disagree with the critics rating. But time puts things in its place, and I´ve already seen several of them taking back their negative opinions. Memorable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SebastianRRDec 12, 2013
Humanidad, rebelacion y amor. No puedo pensar que en un solo segundo pudiera captar la esencia de una vida entera y la realidad de un hombre como es valiente en todos sus ambitos. La mejor pelicula que he visto en mi vida y una obra de arteHumanidad, rebelacion y amor. No puedo pensar que en un solo segundo pudiera captar la esencia de una vida entera y la realidad de un hombre como es valiente en todos sus ambitos. La mejor pelicula que he visto en mi vida y una obra de arte que merece ser llamada la verdad. Somos el reflejo de lo que creemos y producto de lo que preservamos. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UncleEarlDec 1, 2013
This film has some of the best acting and production value that audiences completely ignored. My only complaint about this fantastic movie is that the staff didn't assign a bigger marketing budget.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
oblique15Nov 16, 2013
If your looking for a relaxing movie that will help you fall asleep, you have found the movie you are looking for.This movie has a few thing that kept my interest, but I feel like they could have done it in a much better style.I had to fastIf your looking for a relaxing movie that will help you fall asleep, you have found the movie you are looking for.This movie has a few thing that kept my interest, but I feel like they could have done it in a much better style.I had to fast forward through the last hour. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
LordGoogooNov 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A lot of people do die in this movie and there are many main characters. However, out of the main characters the homosexual commits suicide and the Asian "clone" is executed. The rest of the main characters go on to live happily ever after. I guess if you put Tom Hanks and Halle Berry together at the end of a movie, surrounded by a bunch of children, then close with a view of the stars in the sky (shooting star included) all can be forgiven. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
KellienteNov 3, 2013
This movie is really 6 good movies in one. 5 of the 6 stories are very compelling, memorable, even haunting, with the six being just good. The only drawbacks to this film are that some of the stories have only tenuous connections to oneThis movie is really 6 good movies in one. 5 of the 6 stories are very compelling, memorable, even haunting, with the six being just good. The only drawbacks to this film are that some of the stories have only tenuous connections to one another and sometimes the makeup they put on the actors to make them look like different races (or even demons) looks ridiculous. That being said, the characters and environments created in each segment would be memorable enough to stand on their own as feature films, and I find myself thinking about the characters, worlds, even languages portrayed in this film long after the end credits rolled. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensNov 1, 2013
A genre-breaking classic!!!! One of the best movies I have ever seen!!! EPIC!! Tom Hanks is at his top of his career, and I am sure that in the next 3 years he will have won an Oscar!!! Watch this movie!!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Alexj420Oct 1, 2013
One of the only movies that has ever changed my way of thinking. Everything we do is connected to the future and how it will impact others. It gets you thinking that your life doesn't have a personal purpose, but rather a universal purposeOne of the only movies that has ever changed my way of thinking. Everything we do is connected to the future and how it will impact others. It gets you thinking that your life doesn't have a personal purpose, but rather a universal purpose that will affect all others someday. A beautiful, astounding, and perfect film. The masterpiece of all films for me. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
sloppyjoesSep 8, 2013
It was entertaining and had a wide variety of emotional and memorable moments butt it felt a bit too loosely put together. The film was rather long and the plot progression was good but ultimately was too drawn out. Overall the movie is goodIt was entertaining and had a wide variety of emotional and memorable moments butt it felt a bit too loosely put together. The film was rather long and the plot progression was good but ultimately was too drawn out. Overall the movie is good but probably could have been more impactful if it was somewhat shorter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
iadaoSep 5, 2013
The 3 hours passed quickly and I wanted it to keep on going, though at the same time it ended each of the story lines in a today and reasonable fashion.

The multiple stories cover a wide range of issues such as: slavery, corruption, big
The 3 hours passed quickly and I wanted it to keep on going, though at the same time it ended each of the story lines in a today and reasonable fashion.

The multiple stories cover a wide range of issues such as: slavery, corruption, big oil, the industrial food chain, elitism, conspiracies, aging, music, sexuality and above all else freedom. It doesn't get too preachy at any point it just lays idea a wide range of serious concerns for the human race now and delivers them with a variety of distinctive and attractive stories.

Not too sure about the post apocalyptic Hugo Weaving version of The Hitcher from Mighty Boosh...
Glad that the Wachowski's seem to like Noel Fielding's rendition of the nut job enough to include an homage in their film but Old Georgie seemed rather out of place.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeatHourAug 23, 2013
One of the most epic films ever made. Amazingly beautiful, and a huge tear jerker. It is incredibly visceral in places, and never really gets to the point for some plot lines or actions. Its very well executed, but the well discussed theoryOne of the most epic films ever made. Amazingly beautiful, and a huge tear jerker. It is incredibly visceral in places, and never really gets to the point for some plot lines or actions. Its very well executed, but the well discussed theory of the 'Cloud Atlas effect' is rarely actually demonstrated in the plot. You're never really shown how some of the separate storylines connect.

I can imagine that both points of view are valid. This movie is amazing, but it can also be coked out of its mind. Calling it racist, though, is totally invalid. Its perhaps a 'if you speak the truth, have a foot in the stirrup' sort of thing. Cloud Atlas doesn't go out of its way to idealise people, but it does go out of its way to make most everyone seem human. By that I mean, a slave may be uneducated and in need of the help of some whiteman, and he himself is loyal and skillful, if wise, rather than particularly intelligent. That's too realistic for most newspaper based reviewers.

It does idealise 'bad guys' as emotionless forces of evil rather than people, and the movie uses this trope over and over again. There's a lot of ideology tied up in the film, and at times it seems like ideology trumps having a stable plot. Or, rather, the plot is a vessel for illustrating ideology.

To dislike this film, I feel as if you'd have to be of a particularly annoyed, serious, and non-introspective mindset. There's a lot to learn here, but I'd say perhaps read the book. The gratuitous nature of the film is downright disgusting at times, and does little to serve the plot. Still, this is an incredible, complex, massive achievement of the film industry. Its the premature rebirth of Holliwood's golden age; the days of huge set and budgets, with actors who could do anything. Those days aren't coming back, but Cloud Atlas showed us what it would be like if that period had never gone.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
rudhcrisAug 20, 2013
While not without its flaws, Cloud Atlas is an ambitious, thrilling, and emotionally gripping film that explores the interconnectedness of human lives throughout time. Despite its long run-time, I was engaged in the movie throughout and feltWhile not without its flaws, Cloud Atlas is an ambitious, thrilling, and emotionally gripping film that explores the interconnectedness of human lives throughout time. Despite its long run-time, I was engaged in the movie throughout and felt compelled to keep watching until its exhilarating finale. Its unique style of interweaving multiple stories throughout (but to my relief, still giving a lot of screen time to Tom Hanks' multiple roles) was unlike anything I have seen before. Stay focused through all 172 minutes and you will be delightfully rewarded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CaestusAug 17, 2013
Don´1 know, what this movie was all about. Boring and potracted.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
StockilleurAug 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is AMAZING. I don't know why there's a meta score of 55, but it doesn't matter. Cloud Atlas is a masterpiece, even if after reading the book, it could have been better, but the movie itself is pleasant, great to watch, and far better than the others at the same time in theaters, for example.
Watch it, and like it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ancientscreamAug 6, 2013
This film I guess is a valid attempt at a great film like "The Hours" that just fails to hit the mark. Pretty vapid and bad, the metaphors the morals, the quotes, the philosophy's expressed the time sliced plot switching are all awful, theThis film I guess is a valid attempt at a great film like "The Hours" that just fails to hit the mark. Pretty vapid and bad, the metaphors the morals, the quotes, the philosophy's expressed the time sliced plot switching are all awful, the parables trite, if this is representative of the novel, I pity the novel to. This film seems to be a barometer of those who think they can identify a quality film, whereas really its just an idiot test. The themes are played too much Hollywood Disney style similarly the stereotyped characters, the oppressed winning through, the cultural reversal, the playing upon other story's too greatly, soy-lent green anyone its all so very child like and ham-fisted. And not helped by the fact they have used the same actors for so many parts with only poor make up, to set the characters apart as different from the small range of the actors faces used, and it doesn't really work, nor is it convincing or even logical, and certainly if the intention was to make the cross time parallel character scenario pairings rub nose obvious, its awkward and unnecessary, European's trying to play Asian's, Asian's trying to play western belles and Mexicans etc it just comes off as awkward in fact I don't see how its any less racist than blacking up, you want to portray people of a certain race why not simply hire people to play such roles instead of using makeup and prosthetics to this extent or was it a budgetary constraint yes one can quite clearly see how it would tickle an actors ego, to be in such a film as they get to attempt to demonstrate their range in the same film, but really its just jarring for the film and there is an effort to try to crudely and artificially stitch the time lines to each other in some ways cross time to end up with some many lives interacting metaphor etc, but some of the lines in this film are heinous and hackneyed, most of the scenario and character relationships you see coming before they're even on the screen practically. The fact this film is rated is so highly is an indictment, I find it hard to believe people cant see through this films general film flam. Its valid to attempt such films but when it fails, its seems more dis-ingenuous, then those films that are at least honest about limited intellect popcorn schlock. It also mildly wreaks to some extent vague populist propaganda of white European's and intolerance of any sort to anything as bad and other globally exported American cultural philosophies. Worst point it plays to a American multicultural audience with ponderous stereotypes, the pseudo Mexican Asian woman (again real bad makeup) who quips "don’t call me a wetback" over the corpse of the evil white gunman who she has bludgeoned to death for shooting her Chihuahua dead, this is cheesy playing to the audience style humour. The philosophical lines such as "love could outlive death" and "it will never amount to more than a single drop in a limitless ocean" which was sadly followed by "what is an ocean but a multitude of drops" I mean really really if this kind of trite display of child philosophies that appeal to the masses then I guess my review is nought more than let me see which rubbish metaphor shall I pick? A drop of intelligence in an ocean of ignorance?

I also submitted this review to IMDB not that it will be visible amongst the flood their.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MuzmarinatorJul 29, 2013
One of my favourite books now on the screen. David Mitchell's book is engaging, extremely clever, and ambitious. While the film is quite different in its structure and the way in which it flags the labyrinthine interconnections, it is equallyOne of my favourite books now on the screen. David Mitchell's book is engaging, extremely clever, and ambitious. While the film is quite different in its structure and the way in which it flags the labyrinthine interconnections, it is equally ambitious and for that alone it is worth the ticket price. In fact, this is the sort of film that gets better with multiple viewings. Once you get past Tom Hanks, almost everything else works extremely well. The few clunky bits are completely overwhelmed by some breathtaking action, laugh out loud comedy (courtesy of Jim Broadbent and Hugo Weaving in story 4), and sprawling and tragic love stories. After reading reviews I didn't expect to like this movie near as much as I did. Forget the naysayers, this it top cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hardkor33Jul 23, 2013
Visually brilliant and outstanding, Cloud Atlas is one of the most unique and well done movies I've ever seen. I was quite shocked and surprised when I first heard the nominations for the 2012 Oscars and didn't hear 1 category for CloudVisually brilliant and outstanding, Cloud Atlas is one of the most unique and well done movies I've ever seen. I was quite shocked and surprised when I first heard the nominations for the 2012 Oscars and didn't hear 1 category for Cloud Atlas. Particularly make up, visual effects, or original score. I've watched this movie three times now and still havn't quite figured out how each time difference is connected. But that's what is so great about this movie. Is that you really don't have to get or understand it. It's still just amazing to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Trev29Jul 21, 2013
One of the most incoherent horrid movies ever. A complete disaster from start to finish. Story was unbearable, emotion was nonexistent, and everything in between make this movie terrible. Some might say it is a one of a kind movie; I say itOne of the most incoherent horrid movies ever. A complete disaster from start to finish. Story was unbearable, emotion was nonexistent, and everything in between make this movie terrible. Some might say it is a one of a kind movie; I say it is pure stupidly. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
EDGECRUSHERJul 21, 2013
I wanted this movie to have more, and I waited until the credits, disappointed. The idea is smart, but I felt that it just needed a better edit (maybe a year or two from now?) that would make it more seamless and the ideas presented stronger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SteamcausedthisJul 20, 2013
Probably a beat to death opinion but its a movie that you probably have to watch twice if you weren't able to keep up. I got the chance to watch this film with a few friends and I gotta say it was definitely a trip.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Jul 20, 2013
It might take a capable mind to fully understand its endless swath of challenging structural nuances, but, with that trained mindset, one should clearly be able to ascertain that "Cloud Atlas" with its great performances, cinematography,It might take a capable mind to fully understand its endless swath of challenging structural nuances, but, with that trained mindset, one should clearly be able to ascertain that "Cloud Atlas" with its great performances, cinematography, script, and editing is truly quite a sight to behold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MrtylerdurtonJul 17, 2013
I really liked this movie. Yes, it was long. Yes, it was hard to follow, but it was an intelligent film with a profound message of perseverance and continuity of the human spirit soul with aspiring to all that is good in this universe. ItI really liked this movie. Yes, it was long. Yes, it was hard to follow, but it was an intelligent film with a profound message of perseverance and continuity of the human spirit soul with aspiring to all that is good in this universe. It contains within its core an explanation for the very reasons why we should do good for ourselves and others, how the consequences of our actions really do have a tremendous impact on not only our lives but the lives of all we touch, and how the only truly lasting and meaningful lessons we can derive from our existences are the ones shared interpersonally. I appreciate the message that through all our lifetimes together, the only thing of significance we are really doing with each other is learning how to transcend from the carnal, savage and selfish to the giving, loving and joyful which is the true essence of the universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuJul 15, 2013
Cloud Atlas is an unbelievably ambitious film that makes the head reel when thinking about structure and logistics. The movie requires patience as it's opening third is genuinely baffling. But Cloud Atlas finishes strong, with a goodCloud Atlas is an unbelievably ambitious film that makes the head reel when thinking about structure and logistics. The movie requires patience as it's opening third is genuinely baffling. But Cloud Atlas finishes strong, with a good emotional kick and a life-affirming message. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gerar17Jul 13, 2013
To kick off let's talk about the first impression you can have, if you are not focused in the film since it starts you could probably have some problems on understanding the film but, surprisingly, you can an overall idea of what's happeningTo kick off let's talk about the first impression you can have, if you are not focused in the film since it starts you could probably have some problems on understanding the film but, surprisingly, you can an overall idea of what's happening because the film is at the same time hard and easy to understand, it seems like a contradiction but it's not:
First of all there's a link between the stories of the films, that's easy to see, there's also a huge philosophy behind the film which is frequently ignored by the people that just want to see another sci-fi movie without stopping to see what's the meaning of the film and just basing their critics on "How good are the special effects and how much there are" "Could be the message of the film told directly or I have to use my brain?"
Secondly, to be honest, the make-up not always does its job properly so sometimes the characters cannot hide their own facial features trying to be like another race, and sometimes it can be obvious.
Finally I'd like to recommend this, it won't leave you indifferent for sure. Very very good story, really.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JeannyJul 12, 2013
Cloud Atlas is one of those movie which try something new. Sometimes it works, sometimes you just want to cry because you spend to much money to watch this movie in cinema.
In this case, I have no regret because this six stories are like six
Cloud Atlas is one of those movie which try something new. Sometimes it works, sometimes you just want to cry because you spend to much money to watch this movie in cinema.
In this case, I have no regret because this six stories are like six little movies melting together. Some are maybe more interesting than other, but they all have their place.
I spend a really good time seeing this six lives character, and I recommend to everyone to see this "ovni" at least once.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
greygooseJul 9, 2013
I knew this was going to be bad. But I didn't know it was going to be THAT bad. Turned it off after 20 minutes. Seeing Tom Hanks pop up in a bunch of different roles was just too distracting.
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
7
monster_mealJul 8, 2013
Simply, I thought it rocked. It was incredibly entertaining, with some pretty strong performances and great special effects. It's obvious while watching it that it is a movie that will polarize audiences. Personally, I want to watch itSimply, I thought it rocked. It was incredibly entertaining, with some pretty strong performances and great special effects. It's obvious while watching it that it is a movie that will polarize audiences. Personally, I want to watch it again to put more pieces together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeanAndertonJul 4, 2013
I realize people throw 10s out for movies that they kinda sorta liked because they're trying to balance all of the 1s that a-holes throw out just to be jerks, but I am not one of those people. This movie truly deserves a 10, it is nothingI realize people throw 10s out for movies that they kinda sorta liked because they're trying to balance all of the 1s that a-holes throw out just to be jerks, but I am not one of those people. This movie truly deserves a 10, it is nothing short of a masterpiece.
I put off seeing this movie because of the mixed and negative critic reviews, but after seeing it today, I regret not seeing it sooner. The story is very ambitious, and yet somehow the filmmakers pull it off. I haven't read the book, and I think that's a good thing, as many of the people who did read the book first seem to not like the film.
"This movie has everything" is an old cliche, but Cloud Atlas truly does have everything. It is sad, funny, uplifting, and entertaining. There are moments of visual wonder, and breathtaking action. It is so unique, its amazing they were able to keep it cohesive and engrossing. Everything, from the acting to the writing, the special effect, the cinematography, and the music are all top notch, and the directors succeed at bringing it all together to make a movie that is greater than the sum of its parts.
If you haven't yet seen Cloud Atlas, do yourself a favor and watch it now.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Sevvy88Jun 28, 2013
This is a difficult movie to place a score on. The message of the film, I think, is an eternally important one. The only people who would say it is "cheesy" or "cliche'" are the most jaded of us. It's cliche' because it's true. It's aThis is a difficult movie to place a score on. The message of the film, I think, is an eternally important one. The only people who would say it is "cheesy" or "cliche'" are the most jaded of us. It's cliche' because it's true. It's a vulnerable message that Cloud Atlas tries to bring home, and I think it is a message that is disturbing to the American mainstream mindset. Cloud Atlas wants you to know that you aren't safe from other people... for better and for worse. It succeeds in doing that and it feels satisfying. What drags the film down though is the length and the multiple storylines. I appreciated the purpose they served, but felt I could have done without so many. There were several characters I simply wanted "more" of, but didn't really get. It left me wanting more development for individual stories, but then again, maybe that's just another way Cloud Atlas drives home its central message. It's a good movie. See it with someone you care about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BrianMcCriticJun 19, 2013
To be honest I don't think the movie came together well, but I did enjoy some of the individual stories and the film is well directed. I think the film is worth watching at least once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BKMJun 18, 2013
Cloud Atlas is a daring film that juggles multiple story lines strewn across different time periods while wrestling with the notion that all mankind is bound to one another across space and time. It's never dull, but it never quite enthrallsCloud Atlas is a daring film that juggles multiple story lines strewn across different time periods while wrestling with the notion that all mankind is bound to one another across space and time. It's never dull, but it never quite enthralls either. The stories never really feel connected to each other which is the film's ultimate downfall. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
finnigan37Jun 15, 2013
What an amazing experience. Not unlike the one I had upon reading the book the first time. In the beginning I was skeptical, and it took a while to get used to the narrative structure, but at a certain point I was sucked in and completelyWhat an amazing experience. Not unlike the one I had upon reading the book the first time. In the beginning I was skeptical, and it took a while to get used to the narrative structure, but at a certain point I was sucked in and completely enveloped in the story. I have to say it was masterfully edited to keep my rapt attention throughout. The way they conceived it for the screen was brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DECAMUSJun 14, 2013
Outstanding weaving of storytelling and philosophy and ontology of good and evil. It is true that every evil or good act lives on forever through the human chain of birth and death. It is a butterfly effect through time. The movie shows andOutstanding weaving of storytelling and philosophy and ontology of good and evil. It is true that every evil or good act lives on forever through the human chain of birth and death. It is a butterfly effect through time. The movie shows and tells though dialogue and subtext an interpretation of Love and Morality though time. I do not believe in reincarnation, but our deeds and our love goes on through time from our actions, for how else were each one of us born if not by an act of two other beings who met somehow in the complex web of life. The movie does require some concentration, but it is worth the effort by the lasting impression it creates in our minds. In my view, an adult "Inception" for mature viewers. Excellent film. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
UtopianStuffJun 14, 2013
A visually stunning and groundbreaking epic. A modern art masterpiece. It's really impressive, the visuals were just out of this world. The characters were amazing. I will tell you this, the movie is a very dividing movie, some people for meA visually stunning and groundbreaking epic. A modern art masterpiece. It's really impressive, the visuals were just out of this world. The characters were amazing. I will tell you this, the movie is a very dividing movie, some people for me consider it the modern art classic of today (I'm one of them) and other consider it a piece of crap. But I LOVED this movie. Its beautifully made and acted extremely well. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ClariseSamuelsJun 9, 2013
A confusing morass of six story lines and a seventh that serves as epilogue and prologue--this film gives new meaning to the question, “What just happened?” A cast of eloquent and well-known actors plays multiple roles where in some casesA confusing morass of six story lines and a seventh that serves as epilogue and prologue--this film gives new meaning to the question, “What just happened?” A cast of eloquent and well-known actors plays multiple roles where in some cases they are virtually unrecognizable. The most outrageous include Hugh Grant as a tribal chieftain who is a confirmed cannibal, and Tom Hanks as a murderous physician from 1849 as well as a frustrated and equally murderous 2012 book author who kills his harshest critic at a party by throwing the arrogant and presumptuous cad over the balcony. Hanks is also a father figure in a primitive clan in 2346 Hawaii, although there he is highly recognizable, even though he is speaking a barely comprehensible pigeon English that can only be described as Hillbilly Jive. (To say “that's the truth” is “that's the true-true.”) Strangely enough, Hanks lapses into standard English in a few instances where he has to explain an important plot point. Subtitles would have been beneficial.

The film changes geographical locations and time periods, as it ricochets between 1) 1849 South Pacific; 2) 1936 Scotland; 3) 1973 San Francisco; 4) 2012 Great Britain where actor Jim Broadbent is kept prisoner in a nursing home; 5) 2144 Neo Seoul (somewhere around old Seoul); 6) 2346 Hawaii; and 7) the frame story provided by the prologue and epilogue taking place about 30-40 years after 2346 Hawaii on a planet colonized by humans.

Presumably the movie is about people finding their true inner selves, setting off on the path of that which is good, true and beautiful, and establishing a humanistic, worldwide faith where a divinity does not figure into it, except in the primitive society in 2346 Hawaii, where they falsely worship the little Korean girl from 2144 Neo Seoul, a clone who fought bravely against corporate consumer predators, and who was part of a workforce consisting of an army of clones, robotlike employees who worked 19-hour days for a certain amount of time, and were then murdered, recycled and fed back to the other clones as a protein drink, the only nourishment they were allowed. The resistance army for which the clone was a kind of Joan of Arc was called The Union. The clone, played by Korean actress Doona Bae, is the connective thread, while Halle Berry and Tom Hanks also provide secondary connective threads, to the extent that anything really connects in this movie.

The philosophy of the film seems to be about incarnation and reincarnation, and how we are all a part of something much larger than ourselves, somehow reaching out to ancestors and descendents, on some subliminal level of consciousness that connects everyone and everything to everything else, and that has to do with the stars and outer space, with no mention of God, apparently because there are too many atheists who go to movie theaters.

A noble effort that somehow went awry with too much sophomoric philosophy and too much amateurish make-up.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
ThegodfathersonMay 19, 2013
As if Speed Racer wasn’t enough, the Wachowskis were able to convince Warner to fork over hundreds of millions of dollars to embark upon the mission of Cloud Atlas, an impossibly ambitious adaptation of David Mitchell’s novel that spansAs if Speed Racer wasn’t enough, the Wachowskis were able to convince Warner to fork over hundreds of millions of dollars to embark upon the mission of Cloud Atlas, an impossibly ambitious adaptation of David Mitchell’s novel that spans space, time, and all varieties of viewer patience. Any film that focuses on cyborgs and spacecraft will appeal to a certain sci-fi demographic, but Cloud Atlas is ironically enough all over the map, just as interested in secret early 20th century gay affairs as it is in robotic ethics. It’s fascinating to watch simply because the Wachowskis (along with co-director Tom Tykwer) swing so wide they can’t possibly pull it off. Enlisting A-listers like Tom Hanks and Halle Berry to play multiple parts some of which involve Cro-Magnon growling and grunting and putting their effects team to work with gusto, Cloud Atlas quickly becomes fascinatingly big for its britches. This is kitchen-sink filmmaking at its most audacious: it can’t be argued that Cloud Atlas goes out of its way to do everything it can to connect with those tolerant enough to stomach it. There are cavemen and Farrah Fawcett-Majors haircuts, futuristic automatons with delusions of grandeur, gruff musicians and the suicidal boys who love them, airplane explosions, ultra-vivid car crashes again, Cloud Atlas has a lot of dramatic real estate to offer. Yet while its vastly ambitious intentions of representing the implicit entropy of the universe are uniquely inventive, the whole thing feels like an expensive, convoluted mess. But sometimes grandiose missteps like Cloud Atlas end up being ingenious time wasters. On Blu-ray, experiencing the Wachowski/Tykwer vision frequently prompts viewers to ask themselves, ‘Who green-lit this?’ Any movie with Tom Hanks’ name above the title is bound to sell a ticket or two, but fantasizing about Warner brass seeing the final print of this kaleidoscopic rubbish is too delicious to resist. Let’s leave it at this: Cloud Atlas is a mess, but few movies from 2012 were this jaw-droppingly stupefying. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
JamesCannonMay 18, 2013
Ambitious but ultimately flawed. Long stretches of near endings, six separate story lines to keep track of, and all interconnected to the freedom of human blah blah blah....The two hour mark I surrendered.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
hapycampr2002May 18, 2013
I am in awe of this movie. How exactly did this not get on most critics' Top Ten lists? I loved it. Just about the quickest 3 hour movie I have ever watched. It was perfect. Every aspect of it was remarkable. So ambitious andI am in awe of this movie. How exactly did this not get on most critics' Top Ten lists? I loved it. Just about the quickest 3 hour movie I have ever watched. It was perfect. Every aspect of it was remarkable. So ambitious and brilliantly realized. Surely history will be kinder to this movie than the critics were. What a pleasant surprise. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
duko_goMay 13, 2013
This is a movie that affect human soul like a great symphony, It is not easy to tell a story about human eternity, but in this movie the "holy music" that I assume is beating everyday inside everybody's soul was successfully translated intoThis is a movie that affect human soul like a great symphony, It is not easy to tell a story about human eternity, but in this movie the "holy music" that I assume is beating everyday inside everybody's soul was successfully translated into some sort of convincing, beautiful, visual phenomenon. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
KevowOfRiceMay 6, 2013
Many movies bore at times and seem predictable at times. Cloud Atlas has its story telling in a buzz and the storylines of each individual time should of been a little longer and more in-depth. But don't judge its quality by the complex plot,Many movies bore at times and seem predictable at times. Cloud Atlas has its story telling in a buzz and the storylines of each individual time should of been a little longer and more in-depth. But don't judge its quality by the complex plot, the movie blended in beautiful themes. Its mystery, romance, comical relief, dramatic, and actiony si-fi themes fit perfectly in one and I would probably never find a movie that did this again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
worleyjamersApr 27, 2013
Ambitious, featuring six stories all set in various time periods. Often times with a film like this, there is always that one storyline that is just not as good, or in the case of Cloud Atlas, 2 or 3 storylines that fail to compare to theAmbitious, featuring six stories all set in various time periods. Often times with a film like this, there is always that one storyline that is just not as good, or in the case of Cloud Atlas, 2 or 3 storylines that fail to compare to the others. That's really the main problem I had with this film, the performances, music, and visuals are all top notch, but not all the stories were that engaging, diluting the effectiveness of the major themes. I still really enjoyed the film. My favorite parts were set in Korea and the 1970s. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
Jones21Apr 27, 2013
This movie is one of the most polarizing movies right now. It's basically like Animatrix with 6 mini stories that's related to each other. The environments for each timeline is appropriate, the standouts being the 5th and 6th story whichThis movie is one of the most polarizing movies right now. It's basically like Animatrix with 6 mini stories that's related to each other. The environments for each timeline is appropriate, the standouts being the 5th and 6th story which takes place in the future with awesome futuristic technology that I soooo want to have. One problem though, this movie is a complete mess. It regularly jumps all over the place from the past to the future then to the past again that I can't think of any other thing to say but "what the hell does this movie want to be?" Every timeline has different themes to them. First and second story is drama movie, 3rd is suspense thriller, 4th is a comedy, the 5th and 6th story in the future is all action. The movie jumps back and forth between all the stories that it's just a complete mess. I tries to link them together by having the themes when it jumps similar, eg: a battle in the 6th jumps to a battle in the 3rd, but in all honesty it's completely unnecessary. The theme of the story is the first story leading to the next will influence the actions of each story's main characters, and that's it. It's better to just play it in order from the first to the last story like Animatrix or some other short movie compilations so it's easy to follow and fun to enjoy. Maybe one day someone on Youtube will do that, I'm looking forward to seeing these stories in order so it'll be more enjoyable to follow. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
hoops2448Apr 23, 2013
A philosophical journey discussing how and why we live our lives and the ultimate repercussions of our actions on this planet. Sounds dull, you'd be dead wrong. Cloud Atlas tells many stories. In fact it tells 6 stories, each of them inA philosophical journey discussing how and why we live our lives and the ultimate repercussions of our actions on this planet. Sounds dull, you'd be dead wrong. Cloud Atlas tells many stories. In fact it tells 6 stories, each of them in different time periods, past, present and future. It follows revolutionaries in futuristic Neo Seoul, Composers in pre world war 2 Edinburgh and a group of elderly inhabitants of a dictatorial nursing home planning a jail break of sorts. Cloud Atlas isn't just adventurous and bold in its risk taking but its also informative. Cloud Atlas is an education in not just philosophy but film making and all the reasons it was created as a medium. It's the ultimate canvas where you can tell any story, no matter how ridiculous or far fetched. When I say Cloud Atlas is ridiculous it is not to ridicule it, in fact it is a compliment because it tells stories that shouldn't link and brings them together into a grand narrative that is at times naive and idealistic but never dull and always thrilling. Unlike the book the film is based on, the film cross cuts across its many tales instead of telling them in half chunks. It connects its stories through the many themes and ideas that makes the film so inspiring from love to adventure. The thing that binds these stories and makes this story jumping possible is the use of the actors in multiple stories. The actors play multiple roles through time and part of the superficial charm of the picture is spotting Tom Hanks or Hugh Grant in their many disguises or failing to spot Halle Berry as a Korean man. It's a film that is equal part fever dream and epic poem. The film unlike the book isn't so much about one life, one soul throughout the ages (although a strange birthmark seems to represent the idea of one soul throughout eternity) but about humanity, our collective consciousness through the ages instead. This film is a look into the idea of the butterfly effect, the idea that chaos theory can also be seen the other way, that one action can bring about good instead of evil for years to come. for example a self absorbed, opinionated composer (a terrific Ben Whishaw) creates a piece of music used for years to come thanks to the actions of not just him but people long into the future. However it is a film that must build to its epic conclusion and for that reason the first hour is quite dense (dense as in full, this film is never stupid) and takes some concentration. Once you understand the characters, the ideas and stories you are being presented its easy to get lost in this idealistic look at the good we can accomplish as a race and the absolute evil we can cause by just not trying or choosing yourself instead of others. Overall its a near perfect picture because of its attention to detail and its desire to show something we rarely see at the movies, a movie that celebrates stories and the hold they can have on us. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
jamesensorApr 21, 2013
Watched it and I ended up with an head ache in the end because of spending 3 hours so much concentrated to see how would the plot turn up in the end, just to face some "nice" and "profound" truths about stuff we see in so many movies. StuffWatched it and I ended up with an head ache in the end because of spending 3 hours so much concentrated to see how would the plot turn up in the end, just to face some "nice" and "profound" truths about stuff we see in so many movies. Stuff like, "believe in yourself", "never give up", etc etc. No greeeeat revealing truth or something that tied all stories. Yes, the movie starts and ends with about 4 or 6 stories, all mixed up and you just learn whats up along the way we, the viewers, are totally left in the dark. 3 hours watching a movie to see what it leads in the end. It's frustrating. I rather see Dances with Wolves enjoying all the movie and not wanting to see the end because it was a cruel one, rather than waiting 3 hours to see if what I've watched was worth the wait and find out there's nothing interesting about it. The acting was nice, nothing wrong with it. Just the plot and how it was told and its end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Connor_LakeApr 13, 2013
For now this is my favorite movie of all times. I asked everyone I know to watch it. It's about love, about eternal souls and about the idea that not only our souls but what if our love can survive our death? What if we can meet each otherFor now this is my favorite movie of all times. I asked everyone I know to watch it. It's about love, about eternal souls and about the idea that not only our souls but what if our love can survive our death? What if we can meet each other the next time and feel, know and fall in love again? I saw it three times and every time I had tears by the end. It's... it's unbelievable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Jay_ShermanApr 4, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Cloud Atlas is a hot mess. There is about half a good movie here. The themes presented are relevant: love, dignity, freedom. Unfortunately they are sometimes presented in such a way as to seem trite or even cliched. There are also some strange and baffling elements that just don't work.

I'm also going to get this out of the way right now: I was not a fan of the use of yellowface and whiteface on non-Asian and non-Caucasian actors, but not for the politically correct reasons a lot of people were. I didn't feel that the characterizations were racist or offensive. My main problem was that with a few exceptions, it looked really unconvincing.

Of the six stories, I was most fond of the tale of Sonmi-451 (Neo Seoul, 2144). Her story was dark and tragic yet hopeful at the same time. The world she inhabits is a glitzy dystopia built upon the worst excesses of contemporary corporate culture. Of all the sequences, this one and the story of Robert Frobisher (Cambridge and Edinburgh, 1936) would have made enjoyable full-length films in their own right.

I liked the sequence set in the UK, 2012, starring Jim Broadbent as Timothy Cavendish in what was essentially a dark comedy vignette about an aging publisher and his gangster client (Tom Hanks). Even a throwaway joke about soylent green being people actually relates to a disturbing element in the Neo Seoul sequence.

The story set in the South Pacific in 1849 about a young lawyer who falls sick during a voyage and is under the care of a doctor who it emerges is poisoning him in order to steal his belongings but is saved by a runaway slave fell flat. Tom Hanks as Doctor Goose had a false nose and prosthetic buck teeth which made him look like a character from League of Gentlemen (the British comedy series, not the crappy adaptation of a good Alan Moore comic book). Predictably the lawyer, who is helping the slave by hiding him and then later gets him work as a sailor on the ship, become friends. When the lawyer returns home he declares to his slave-owning father-in-law that he and his wife will go east to aid with the abolition efforts. It should be powerful but it just feels cliched and somewhat cheesy.

I don't have too much to say about the sequence in which Halle Berry plays the main role. It was neither good nor bad and felt like an homage to movies of the era in which it was set, namely the early 1970s, featuring a tough, independent black journalist whistle-blower uncovering a conspiracy at a nuclear power plant run by an unscrupulous business man. Taken on its own, it could have made a rather average thriller with a few good moments of tension.

The sequence set on a post-apocalyptic Hawaii in the year 2321, just stank. It reminded me of Battlefield Earth, but with better production values and no use of dutch angles that I can remember. Tom Hanks plays a superstitious coward belonging to a tribe of people with vaguely Maori-like tattoos on their faces. He is plagued by hallucinations of Hugo Weaving as a character that can best be described as a goblin with a top hat, who I think is supposed to represent his fear and religious hang-ups. Tom Hanks' people live in constant fear of cannibals on horseback with fearsome facepaint. Halle Berry plays a character from some nice,shiny utopia where they have pretty, shiny vehicles and fusion power. She's on the island looking for some ancient secret which she tells Tom Hanks is "The true true." or some such childish baby-talk. It's all very confusing and stupid and ends with Tom Hanks and Halle Berry living happily ever after on some distant planet with two dozen grandchildren sitting around a campfire listening to Grampy Tom Hanks tell stories.

I haven't read the book, so I can't really compare it the source material. The principal cast appears throughout the movie in multiple roles because they're reincarnations of characters from earlier time periods, but it's not presented in chronological order. Some of it is intriguing. Some of it is hard to care about. Other parts are just plain weird and not always in a good or compelling way.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EzekiusMar 17, 2013
You'll probably ether love or hate this movie. It blew my mind, so many amazing things happened throughout it, but it is pretty hard to watch, and it took me till about 3/4 of the way through to realize what the movie was actually about, butYou'll probably ether love or hate this movie. It blew my mind, so many amazing things happened throughout it, but it is pretty hard to watch, and it took me till about 3/4 of the way through to realize what the movie was actually about, but that's the magic to it I guess. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
moellemoseMar 16, 2013
Life played out like beautiful jigsaw puzzle, each piece a fascinating piece of color and wonder, but in the end quite putting the big picture together. Time well spent and entertaining to behold. I both aspects much like life it self, I guess
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
darthstattoMar 16, 2013
Epic in scale and in ambition. Cloud Atlas just falls short of brilliance. Ultimately it turns out to be too confusing for it's own good. It is however, never short of riveting. So, even if you are unsure what is happening, you continue toEpic in scale and in ambition. Cloud Atlas just falls short of brilliance. Ultimately it turns out to be too confusing for it's own good. It is however, never short of riveting. So, even if you are unsure what is happening, you continue to watch, hoping that the next time jump will solve a piece of the puzzle. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
AxeFishMar 10, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was certainly a rather....unique movie. I have neither read or heard of the book before, nor this I really know what the movie was going to be about. I was in for a mixed surprise. I really liked the concept of there being multiple stories within multiple time periods and the transitions between them are seamless. However (at least in the movie) these stories seem to be connected rather loosely. The only thing you get to see is how these individual stories are being transferred. (For example the first guy writes a diary which is read by someone in the next time period. That guy writes letters to his lover about his story and so on and so forth.) At first I though that if this is the only way these stories are connected, that's kind of lazy. But then came the credits in which you could see which actor played whom. This is probably the most revealing part of the movie, which now that i think about it is actually rather amusing. Still, i decided to do some research about the story to get some explanations about things that I might have missed. And so i found out that this movie was supposed to be about reincarnation throughout time periods. This makes sense after seeing the credits, but it's not really explained throughout a movie. As a movie, this kind of fails because important things that might have been explained better in the book are not really to be seen in this movie. However as an experience, this certainly was interesting. Do some research before you watch this movie. You'll certainly be enjoying it more afterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
EludiumQ36Mar 9, 2013
"Cloud Atlas" was ambitious and could've been done right, but the Wachowskis just weren't up to it, rare miss. First, they didn't have to use the same six subplots in the source material, they could've substituted far more interesting stories"Cloud Atlas" was ambitious and could've been done right, but the Wachowskis just weren't up to it, rare miss. First, they didn't have to use the same six subplots in the source material, they could've substituted far more interesting stories instead. Second, the subplot jump-editing style is fine for two, maybe three stories but not six, it's too confusing to follow. Third, it seems juvenile with its pop-psych platitudes, more suitable for tweens than for film-experienced adults. Finally, it's a series of gag love stories, and the public should've been warned far more clearly. Yes, chix love this stuff but sci-fi guys hoping for mind-twisting action, bitter disappointment. Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
10
paraotuksMar 8, 2013
I think this movie says truth. No enforcement, No comfirmation. Just shown that how does a phenomenon function. And it is not bad that action of this movie, Awsome impersonation, multiple acting is great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MloclamMar 5, 2013
Everything about this movie screams 'cult classic'. Critics are decidedly mixed but most can find something good in there. It is too well acted by the cast to be dismissed as a resounding flop. I left the cinema with my head buzzing withEverything about this movie screams 'cult classic'. Critics are decidedly mixed but most can find something good in there. It is too well acted by the cast to be dismissed as a resounding flop. I left the cinema with my head buzzing with questions and wonder and even now find myself returning to scenes in my head to play them through and see if I missed something. It is exceptionally rare for a film to do this.

It is essentially a parable about the impossibility of enslaving the soul, told through humour, love stories and exciting action. The ambition is tremendous and each tale would make a good film on its own, which perhaps is part of the reason it has been quite harshly criticised by some. I note on the whole however that both those who admire it and those who dislike it struggle to articulate why. My hunch is that while this polarises people, the people who like it will win out over time, and it'll still be talked about years from now for doing something so radically different.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
PrimalHunter70Mar 2, 2013
Truly epic in both scale and accomplishment, Cloud Atlas delivers a powerful, moving, thrilling experience that is sure to entertain on every level. May leave the audience scratching heads at the beginning, but it's worth sticking around theTruly epic in both scale and accomplishment, Cloud Atlas delivers a powerful, moving, thrilling experience that is sure to entertain on every level. May leave the audience scratching heads at the beginning, but it's worth sticking around the entire 172 minutes it takes to sweep you off your feet. This movie takes you from the life of a composer in 1936 to the life of a Fabricant in a Blade Runner-esque Korea in 2144. Truly amazing on every level, Cloud Atlas is brilliant enough to warrant several viewings. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
twittagraFeb 28, 2013
Cloud Atlas it's the most amazing film that i seen ever. I don't know how you can't love this film. The plot is so exciting that you can not tear your eyes from the screen for three hours.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
texsFeb 27, 2013
I could watch this film a dozen times, something I can't say for but a handful of movies. I like movies to clock in at 100 minutes, and I thought that the Dark Knight Rises was forty minutes long, but this film deserves the time, and itI could watch this film a dozen times, something I can't say for but a handful of movies. I like movies to clock in at 100 minutes, and I thought that the Dark Knight Rises was forty minutes long, but this film deserves the time, and it deserves a few rewatches. Its more of a work of art that you can't experience in a single visit to the museum you have to live with it, experience it multiplie times. In keeping with the themes of the movie, I'd say it requires six visits. There are layers of complexity, and they are worth unweaving. The Wachowskis ask sincere questions about who were are and why we are, and they make science fiction films that explore our metaphysical possibilities. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KozFeb 25, 2013
Best movie I saw this year, probably one of the best I've ever seen. Wasn't bored for a single minute during the almost 3 hours. It had my complete attention. I can imagine why some people would not like this. It takes a certain amount ofBest movie I saw this year, probably one of the best I've ever seen. Wasn't bored for a single minute during the almost 3 hours. It had my complete attention. I can imagine why some people would not like this. It takes a certain amount of concentration and brain power to keep track of the six stories and to figure out how all of that is connected.
I highly recommend this movie.
Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews