Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After the disastrous food storm in the first film, Flint and his friends are forced to leave the town. Flint accepts the invitation from his idol Chester V to join The Live Corp Company, which has been tasked to clean the island, and where the best inventors in the world create technologiesAfter the disastrous food storm in the first film, Flint and his friends are forced to leave the town. Flint accepts the invitation from his idol Chester V to join The Live Corp Company, which has been tasked to clean the island, and where the best inventors in the world create technologies for the betterment of mankind. When Flint discovers that his machine still operates and now creates mutant food beasts like living pickles, hungry tacodiles, shrimpanzees and apple pie-thons, he and his friends must return to save the world. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Oct 21, 2013
    80
    Loveable - especially if you're as fond of a pun as we are - and extremely silly.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 26, 2013
    80
    Picks up where the first film left off, literally, and offers at least as many laughs (if not more for adults), retaining the goofy attitude. Cameron and Pearn throw a lot at the wall, just like their predecessors, and most of it sticks.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Sep 27, 2013
    75
    Charming enough on its own not to feel like just reheated leftovers.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Aug 3, 2014
    63
    "Cloudy 2" is undeniably dense with ideas, images, and characters but slight on anything of thematic interest at all.
  5. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Oct 24, 2013
    60
    With a large supporting cast and rapid gag-rate, ingredients are generous. But with no real plot to bind them, the pile-up of chaotic chases, repeat-on you leek puns and noisy dust-ups gradually kills the appetite.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 25, 2013
    60
    It aims to entertain, to offer a few tame chuckles for parents and children to enjoy in a purely Saturday-morning way. And it accomplishes that.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Sep 30, 2013
    25
    Whelk, I hope the makers of Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs earned a nice celery, but Iā€™m afraid they made a hash of things. A hash seasoned with oy sauce.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, was AMAZING!! If you liked the first one you will love this one too!! :D
    It was so so CUTE!! I love all
    Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, was AMAZING!! If you liked the first one you will love this one too!! :D
    It was so so CUTE!! I love all the cuteness of the mutated foods!! I died from cuteness over load! I even teared up a little because of how cute and happy everything was. XD(I just love how cute everything was)
    But I enjoyed the movie very very much and I am sure you and your kids will as well!! it's worth the money spent! Enjoy!!
    Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    As good as the first movie. The characters are all back and just as funny. Apart from Mr T being replaced by Terry Crews this movie isAs good as the first movie. The characters are all back and just as funny. Apart from Mr T being replaced by Terry Crews this movie is Fantastic! I love it, my kids love it and so should you. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    Being a fan of the first Cloudy, I was excited to check out the sequel. While the original is better, mostly because it has more heart,Being a fan of the first Cloudy, I was excited to check out the sequel. While the original is better, mostly because it has more heart, there's lots to keep adults and kids entertained here. It starts off a bit slow, giving a short review of what happened in the first film for those who didn't watch it (which was definitely thoughtful), but once the story unfolds it pulls the viewer in. It's not a spectacular story; the twists are pretty predictable, but it has a good flow and there are no dull moments. Sony did a fantastic job with the visuals very colorful, vibrant, and the living food really come to life. Humor was in good supply, and the food-related puns were actually quite clever. My only real problems with the movie were the somewhat lacking story line and the protagonist Flint, who didn't seem nearly as endearing as I remember him from the first movie. They made him too wacky and all over the place, and it's hard to imagine kids relating to him or remembering him as a character they'd like to emulate. Still, Cloudy 2 will keep you entertained enough, and it's worth watching it at least once, especially if you craved more after watching the original. Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2014
    6
    A perfectly acceptable and harmless animated comedy. It will delight it's younger viewers with it's bright and colorful animation, adorableA perfectly acceptable and harmless animated comedy. It will delight it's younger viewers with it's bright and colorful animation, adorable food critters, and tons of food puns. Older audiences won't be as entertained, but they can still appreciate the film for it's goofy quirks and for the fact that it will totally entrance their kids. So if you are looking for a something to watch on family movie night this is a good pick. It might not be as enjoyable for adults as it is for their kids the way a lot of Pixar and DreamWorks movies are, but they won't be completely irritated by it. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2015
    6
    3/5ā˜… Fantastic animation, creative world building and nonstop action aside, the film is not as clever as the prequel. I know its a kids movie,3/5ā˜… Fantastic animation, creative world building and nonstop action aside, the film is not as clever as the prequel. I know its a kids movie, but kids movies today have to cross the high bar Pixar films have set. We have seen what is possible and wont settle for less.
    Verdict: Keeps the kids entertained
    Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    5
    I loved the first movie. It turned tired cliches into hilarity, gave Mr. T his first animated role since himself and was one heck of a lot ofI loved the first movie. It turned tired cliches into hilarity, gave Mr. T his first animated role since himself and was one heck of a lot of fun. While directors and writers Phil Lord and Chris Miller were busy on The LEGO Movie, Sony whipped up a sequel, hiring the writer of The Incredible Burt Wonderstone and the director of Open Season 2, and while the critics seem to like it quite a bit, I felt that Sony Pictures Animation disappointed me yet again.

    Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2 has potential with its inventive designs, environmentalism and sweetness, but unfortunately it is only half the wit of the first, most of its attempts at comedy being food puns that start to get boring, repeats of whatever was funny in the first or even itself, none of them succeeding, and typical Hollywood poop jokes to make sure it doesn't get a G rating, the worst thing that can ever happen to a movie!

    The new voice actors lack charisma; Terry Crewes is even less Mr. T than Quinton Jackson and Kristen Schaal is far from Mabel Pines or Louise Belcher. Not to mention the theme of the plot twist has been discussed before in animation history. This is exactly the kind of movie the first one was poking fun at.

    Without Lord and Miller, or even Aardman, Sony Animation seems to be style-over-substance. They have some very talented animators who provide the cartooniest CG animation since the first Madagascar, but the output should be more than eye candy. A year ago, Hotel Transylvania paid more attention to unique animation than an inspired script; the rest was a sponge bathing itself in urine. In this movie, Chicken Brent comes along with the gang just to repeat his catchphrase and fall over repeatedly because FAT PEOPLE ARE COMPLETE DOPES.

    It doesn't help that Sony's big return in 2015 will consist of sequels to that and The Smurfs - as if 2013 wasn't lousy enough.
    Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    2
    To start off I love animated movies, those geared for children and adults. I've been watching Pixar movies long before my children were born.To start off I love animated movies, those geared for children and adults. I've been watching Pixar movies long before my children were born. Understand my love of these types of movies before you read my critique.

    The visuals were very creative, and stunning, but that is all the positive things I can say about this movie. I took my 9 year old twins with two of their friends, who seemed entertained, but nothing in the writing held my attention. Very weak story and the jokes meant for the adults were very bland. I fell asleep two times during this movie.
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers