Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After the disastrous food storm in the first film, Flint and his friends are forced to leave the town. Flint accepts the invitation from his idol Chester V to join The Live Corp Company, which has been tasked to clean the island, and where the best inventors in the world create technologies for the betterment of mankind. When Flint discovers that his machine still operates and now creates mutant food beasts like living pickles, hungry tacodiles, shrimpanzees and apple pie-thons, he and his friends must return to save the world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Oct 21, 2013
    80
    Loveable - especially if you're as fond of a pun as we are - and extremely silly.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 26, 2013
    80
    Picks up where the first film left off, literally, and offers at least as many laughs (if not more for adults), retaining the goofy attitude. Cameron and Pearn throw a lot at the wall, just like their predecessors, and most of it sticks.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Sep 27, 2013
    75
    Charming enough on its own not to feel like just reheated leftovers.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Aug 3, 2014
    63
    "Cloudy 2" is undeniably dense with ideas, images, and characters but slight on anything of thematic interest at all.
  5. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Oct 24, 2013
    60
    With a large supporting cast and rapid gag-rate, ingredients are generous. But with no real plot to bind them, the pile-up of chaotic chases, repeat-on you leek puns and noisy dust-ups gradually kills the appetite.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 25, 2013
    60
    It aims to entertain, to offer a few tame chuckles for parents and children to enjoy in a purely Saturday-morning way. And it accomplishes that.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Sep 30, 2013
    25
    Whelk, I hope the makers of Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs earned a nice celery, but I’m afraid they made a hash of things. A hash seasoned with oy sauce.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, was AMAZING!! If you liked the first one you will love this one too!! :D
    It was so so CUTE!! I love all
    the cuteness of the mutated foods!! I died from cuteness over load! I even teared up a little because of how cute and happy everything was. XD(I just love how cute everything was)
    But I enjoyed the movie very very much and I am sure you and your kids will as well!! it's worth the money spent! Enjoy!!
    Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2013
    9
    I love the first movie--it became my favorite animated movie of all time--and I found I really enjoyed this one, too! Once again, the movie is just plain fun. The animation looks fantastic, the food animals are creative and amusing, the voice acting is great and, like the first one, it's just hysterical. While I didn't think it was as gut-busting as the first one, I still laughed a lot and I really want to add this to my "repeat viewing" list (come on, Blu-Ray release date...hurry up and get here!). However, the one thing that I loved the most had to have been the background designs. The way they created the landscapes into food-based locations was very creative and pretty cool to witness. Overall, it's a decent and fun follow-up to a epic first film! Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2013
    7
    While not as intellegent as the previous movie, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 is funnier with its food puns and more action-packed that channeled a Pixar movie. Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2014
    6
    The title itself is not suitable for this sequel. I guess 'Jungle with a Vicious Foodimals' or something like that would have been fair to be called. Unlike the first part I just found this movie more kiddish. The last decade was the beginning of 3D animations, so it captivated large group of audience with awesome movies. But its time now people to understand animations too would have such low movies like this.

    Whatever you thought might be, but in my view and for my age, it did not please me like other animation features. I don't know about teenagers, but children will enjoy it for sure more than anybody else. I have not denoted the movie had flaws in the technical aspect, but the theme divides the audience as per age differece.

    The dialogues were what kept me alive. Many of them were very hilarious. One of it was 'It's enough to make a grown man cry. But not this man. Get back in there, tear'. In some portion the character Chester V annoyed me, I think that is what they wanted from a villain character.

    This movie itself an unnecessary follow-up so I don't want another sequel unless they initiate back the first movie concept of what title is represented. I don't understand what Lockwood and Co gonna eat if all the vegetables and foods get a life who become their friends. Forget it, it goes on and on and on...
    Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2014
    5
    The sequel for Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs fails to deliver the same kind of rush the first one did. In that respect, it rings short in its message and doesn't provide as many laughs. Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2013
    5
    The theme of this movie is the battle between science and nature (here embodied by living food) which leaves you thinking if the production of this film is part of Greenpeace.
      The bad: some times when trying to be funny and it leaves them (but there are others who achieved very good), some things are not clear at the end and the speed at which the characters go (be that the script was so long that he had to make the characters move much more than what one person to make it go in less than 90 minutes) moves.
      The good: that despite being an animated movie has a good plot, ending, leaving 3 messages and charisma of each character.
      Better than the first not by much.
    Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    2
    To start off I love animated movies, those geared for children and adults. I've been watching Pixar movies long before my children were born. Understand my love of these types of movies before you read my critique.

    The visuals were very creative, and stunning, but that is all the positive things I can say about this movie. I took my 9 year old twins with two of their friends, who seemed entertained, but nothing in the writing held my attention. Very weak story and the jokes meant for the adults were very bland. I fell asleep two times during this movie.
    Collapse

See all 30 User Reviews