Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 18, 2009
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 220 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
174
Mixed:
35
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
HalfwelshmanSep 17, 2011
The only way to adequately describe this film is odd...really odd. It goes beyond quirky and verges absolute nutbaggery. It starts promisingly, and has some really nice effects, but at some point the plot takes a dive off a cliff. But maybeThe only way to adequately describe this film is odd...really odd. It goes beyond quirky and verges absolute nutbaggery. It starts promisingly, and has some really nice effects, but at some point the plot takes a dive off a cliff. But maybe that's what the creators of Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs were going for - an absolute rejection of the conventional fantasy animation. It's easily among the most surreal film experiences I've ever seen, and that has it's charm, up to a point. But it would be nice to have a bit more characterisation in the mix as well. Worth seeing if only for a jelly castle and spaghetti twisters being realised on screen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
mitchellkSep 27, 2009
Saw the movie in Imax 3d. I love Imax 3d. They probably could make a movie about grass growing or paint drying in Imax 3d and I'd love that too. The theater I went to needs to upgrade or change their glasses because the lenses were Saw the movie in Imax 3d. I love Imax 3d. They probably could make a movie about grass growing or paint drying in Imax 3d and I'd love that too. The theater I went to needs to upgrade or change their glasses because the lenses were getting a "puckered" wrinkled effect to them. Oh yeah, back to Meatballs. Like I said, they could make just about anything in Imax 3d and I'll see it and like it. So goes for this flick. Even though it made somewhat of an effort to be morally visceral, it failed. The relationship between Flint Lockwood and Dad just doesn''t work. James Caan's got about 6 lines in the whole movie. All the relationships weren't devolped much at all. Comedically, it's sporadically fun at best. Visually it's the bees knees. I really wish "Half Blood Prince" had more 3d in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KennethS.Feb 15, 2010
The animation is pretty good, but not state-of-the art, and there are some funny moments in the story. The whole thing reminded me of SpongeBob, only with a more ridiculous and cliched plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RonaldSNov 14, 2009
I stopped watching after the pier scene where the weather woman sticks her feet in the inventors eyes. Is it just me or did they just cut and paste her from Monsters VS Aliens? It seemed like I was watching someone who escaped from that I stopped watching after the pier scene where the weather woman sticks her feet in the inventors eyes. Is it just me or did they just cut and paste her from Monsters VS Aliens? It seemed like I was watching someone who escaped from that movie in this one.. their CGI department hard up for talent to make a new character? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JacobSep 26, 2013
Do not get me wrong this film is not terrible but it is not great either. I guess I more shocked at just how much of a positive response this film has gotten especially via WatchMojo’s Top Ten list and Spill Review. The major turn off for meDo not get me wrong this film is not terrible but it is not great either. I guess I more shocked at just how much of a positive response this film has gotten especially via WatchMojo’s Top Ten list and Spill Review. The major turn off for me is the cliché writing and unoriginal story. The saving grace of this film though is the characters who are energetic, to an extent likeable, and have a lot of charm. But I am not the intended audience of the film. Cloud With a Chance of Meatballs is a film made for children and as kids films go its ok it’s only when you look at as a film do the cracks start to show. If you are a parent and looking for something charming and safe to so your children this is the film to show them. If you’re not a child I’d say you can afford to skip this one. Nothing bad in this but at the same time nothing spectacular just a cute little film that will keep kids entertained nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 26, 2013
The book is better, and more sanctioned, but the movie is okay for a Saturday afternoon when the kiddies want to watch something and you have nothing else better to do at that moment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RayzorMooseNov 16, 2013
Cloudy with a chance of itchy balls.
The movie is silly, gooey, and most of the time gross. The comedy isn't there, and the characters aren't very likeable. The animation is average at best. I really wouldn't recommend this even as a kids
Cloudy with a chance of itchy balls.
The movie is silly, gooey, and most of the time gross. The comedy isn't there, and the characters aren't very likeable. The animation is average at best. I really wouldn't recommend this even as a kids movie because its really just 5% story and 95% randomness.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingJan 16, 2014
Although it is clichéd and undoubtely overhyped, Cloudy with a chance of Meatballs is funny and offers a visual treat which is hard to resist. (Especially for kids)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
Although it is clichéd and undoubtely overhyped, Cloudy with a chance of Meatballs is funny and offers a visual treat which is hard to resist. (Especially for kids)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
teddylukeApr 10, 2015
cloudy with a chance of meatballs is an ok film. there a lot to like and a lot to not hate but to dislike. there is not muck to say about this film...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews