Cloverfield

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 895 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. DavibP.
    Jan 18, 2008
    1
    the camera made me feel sick and there was no real story.
  2. GeoffH.
    Jan 18, 2008
    1
    This is the worst film I have ever seen. It is the Blair Witch project all over again. Hand held video camera with a battery which has the longest life I have ever seen. Not to mention the fact it continues to work despite being dropped,bashedthrown about etc. No story to speak of. Do Americans really shout and scream at each other as they do in this film? All in all a poor film which I This is the worst film I have ever seen. It is the Blair Witch project all over again. Hand held video camera with a battery which has the longest life I have ever seen. Not to mention the fact it continues to work despite being dropped,bashedthrown about etc. No story to speak of. Do Americans really shout and scream at each other as they do in this film? All in all a poor film which I wish I hadn't wasted my time and money on. Collapse
  3. SimonP.
    Jan 18, 2008
    0
    I have never, ever had a feeling of intense anger swell within me as the credits started rolling on a film I'd been eagerly awaiting...until Cloverfield. Despite the nausea-inducing camera work, the movie left nothing but a giant, unfulfilled void where I was expecting to finally see "that amazing monster flick" I'd so eagerly hoped it to be. The entire audience actually booed I have never, ever had a feeling of intense anger swell within me as the credits started rolling on a film I'd been eagerly awaiting...until Cloverfield. Despite the nausea-inducing camera work, the movie left nothing but a giant, unfulfilled void where I was expecting to finally see "that amazing monster flick" I'd so eagerly hoped it to be. The entire audience actually booed when the credits rolled, I can't believe it is getting such positive reviews! Do not waste your time, or more importantly, your money, on this horrid monster of a movie. Expand
  4. JasonK.
    Jan 18, 2008
    1
    Horrible excuse for a movie. I don't know what the critics are thinking. It requires not only a massive suspension of disbelief, but also a suspension of reason and logic. Add to that the fact that you do NOT find out anything about the monsters origins, and I would not recommend seeing it even if they paid you $12.
  5. MikeM.
    Jan 18, 2008
    0
    the worst movie i've ever seen. the handheld camera movements literally mad me sick. i had to leave the theatre. besides that, the movie was weak on all levels. garbage.
  6. Ananke
    Jan 18, 2008
    3
    A harsh lesson in bad kaiju. the monster has no motivation, unlike godzilla who only wanted to go to his precious radioactive tower. the humans were vapid and unrealistic. their physical injuries at odds with fight or flight instincts would never have allowed certain survival instincts. all this movie did for me was give me a bad headache, and i went into it so hopeful for amazing thrillA harsh lesson in bad kaiju. the monster has no motivation, unlike godzilla who only wanted to go to his precious radioactive tower. the humans were vapid and unrealistic. their physical injuries at odds with fight or flight instincts would never have allowed certain survival instincts. all this movie did for me was give me a bad headache, and i went into it so hopeful for amazing thrill ride. this was the ubermeh. Expand
  7. SamR.
    Jan 18, 2008
    2
    The camera perspective is from a handheld camera and its like watchin a 2 hour blare-witch project. Watching the 2 minute preveiw is probably more interesting than the movie. Don't waste ur m$n$y
  8. ErikB.
    Jan 18, 2008
    0
    Completely and utterly pointless. Lead in scenes too long and drawn out, and I was actually surprised to see as the credits rolled that there had even been a script. God help us if they make more of these movies. This film was so bad it made me hate every movie I've paid for in the last 5 years.
  9. ScottyE.
    Jan 18, 2008
    1
    Let me put it this way...half the theater left either sick or really ticked off. There were at least 2 people that actually threw up in the theater while I was there. I sat near the back of the theater because of the potential motion sickness. I still got sick. The director should have at least used the steady shot on the camera. It was like they had to throw the "Im using a camcorder and Let me put it this way...half the theater left either sick or really ticked off. There were at least 2 people that actually threw up in the theater while I was there. I sat near the back of the theater because of the potential motion sickness. I still got sick. The director should have at least used the steady shot on the camera. It was like they had to throw the "Im using a camcorder and I need you to know it" over and over again. Great story but horrible visuals aka camcorder view. It should have been used sparingly. This movie could have been made by anyone and probably been easier to watch than this version. I recommend this movie to know one. If you go sit in the back row and bring a brown paper bag. Cant wait till the book hits the shelves. Expand
  10. NK
    Jan 18, 2008
    2
    This movie tries so hard to be cool and gritty and different but fails on all but one of those goals. Gritty is about the only compliment it gets, if you can call grainy footage and cameras that shake epileptically "gritty". The introduction to characters drags, the action sequences are unsatisfying and the ending is a complete dud. And be warned: if watching the "Handycam-esque" style of This movie tries so hard to be cool and gritty and different but fails on all but one of those goals. Gritty is about the only compliment it gets, if you can call grainy footage and cameras that shake epileptically "gritty". The introduction to characters drags, the action sequences are unsatisfying and the ending is a complete dud. And be warned: if watching the "Handycam-esque" style of Blair Witch Project made you feel a little queasy, Cloverfield will have you reaching for, and filling, the bucket. Blurgh! Expand
  11. Ron
    Jan 18, 2008
    0
    Deadly dull, even at 84 minutes.
  12. MichaelR.
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    For the first time in my life I emailed all my friends to warn them about how bad this movie is and the critics are dead wrong. This is complete garbage and other review have really nailed down why. Something else I didn't like was if you are going to do a guerilla type movie the story should line should really try to pass this as "it really happened" type feel or else the audience For the first time in my life I emailed all my friends to warn them about how bad this movie is and the critics are dead wrong. This is complete garbage and other review have really nailed down why. Something else I didn't like was if you are going to do a guerilla type movie the story should line should really try to pass this as "it really happened" type feel or else the audience will be confused and angered like I was. The movie ends "My name is Rob Anderson and if you are watching this, you know more about this than I do". No Rob, actually I don't...because no monster ever attacked NY and we haven't invented time travel so there is no way this video could have come from the future. All I know is I just dumped $15 on your crap piece of film. Thanks JJ Abrams Expand
  13. RebeccaS.
    Jan 19, 2008
    1
    This movie was a waste of my time. It was way too bloody, violent and just plain stupid. The first 20 minutes were boring-just bring a pillow and blanket and sleep for the first 20 minutes. This movie was so bad people in walking out! Save your money and time and go get ice cream instead of seeing this movie.
  14. JoshC.
    Jan 19, 2008
    1
    This movie made my eyes want to bleed and gave me a headache. As a New Yorker the allusions to 9/11 were tacky. The monster had no story and the characters were idiots and I'm glad they all died.J.J Abrams and company hide a truly moronic story behind clever marketing. They get an A+ in marketing and an F for actual movie.
  15. MaryM.
    Jan 19, 2008
    0
    What a waste of time. I couldn't believe the lame, very long into to even get to the monster portion. It was a bad combination of product placement, bad acting, no script, and a hangover all in one. I checked my watch over and over and it's only 84 minutes long. A very long 84 minutes, long. Watch the trailer. It's more entertaining and you'll save yourself valuable What a waste of time. I couldn't believe the lame, very long into to even get to the monster portion. It was a bad combination of product placement, bad acting, no script, and a hangover all in one. I checked my watch over and over and it's only 84 minutes long. A very long 84 minutes, long. Watch the trailer. It's more entertaining and you'll save yourself valuable time and money. Expand
  16. jacobm
    Jan 19, 2008
    0
    I have one comment about this movie. It's a waste of time.
  17. NeoP
    Jan 19, 2008
    0
    AAAAHHH! I am still throwing up from this. . .I don't not even know what to call it. . . .poopy? no it was worse then that. I didn't have any regrets in my life until I saw this movie. It has made me so frustrated I do not even know how to explain. The whole thing could have been great-besides the fact that there was no script and no image. Everything was just a blurry image of AAAAHHH! I am still throwing up from this. . .I don't not even know what to call it. . . .poopy? no it was worse then that. I didn't have any regrets in my life until I saw this movie. It has made me so frustrated I do not even know how to explain. The whole thing could have been great-besides the fact that there was no script and no image. Everything was just a blurry image of stupidness screams. I kept praying that the monster-whatever it was(you never find out) would eat the camera guy to end my misery. It was torture! Watching this movie was t--o-r-t-u-r-e! There is no reason to go and see this movie. Unless of course you are looking for a bad time, big headache, and somehow to waste your money. This could have been a good movie.. But it wasn't. The trailer was more interesting than the movie. I knew as much as I did before I saw the movie from when I left the theater. The only thing I learned was what it feels like to vomit all over the person next to me. The movie can be summed up in one word: worthless. Can they even call this a movie? From what I've seen the producers have no right in calling this a movie. How did they manage to put this on the big screen? We'll soon find out in the next 'Guinness Book of World Records' there will be the record for most people being tortured in one afternoon. Expand
  18. DaleD.
    Jan 19, 2008
    0
    Truly one of the worst films ever made. A complete waste of time, and I wish I could get my money back. I had to leave the theatre twice because I was getting ill from the handheld camera. Several times I had to look down because I couldn't take it. When I could watch, there was nothing worth seeing. The post work on the monster was horrible. If I could rate it a -100, I would.
  19. JoeJ.
    Jan 21, 2008
    0
    The makers of "Cloverfield" seem to have forgotten to add the essential What, Where, and Why elements to the story. WHAT is this thing? WHERE did it come from? WHY is it attacking New York City and killing millions of people? If they could have added just a LITTLE backstory, this could have been a halfway decent movie. There was no ending either. The viewer never knows if the monster is The makers of "Cloverfield" seem to have forgotten to add the essential What, Where, and Why elements to the story. WHAT is this thing? WHERE did it come from? WHY is it attacking New York City and killing millions of people? If they could have added just a LITTLE backstory, this could have been a halfway decent movie. There was no ending either. The viewer never knows if the monster is defeated. All you see is an explosion. Ka-boom, roll credits. The theater is much too expensive to be seeing movies like thise. Expand
  20. SamF.
    Jan 21, 2008
    1
    First off Anyone who lost someone on 9-11 or still gets emotional every anniversary, Don't see this movie. with that said I gave this movie a 1 for the acting as they truly make it seem this was a film found after the event. This "movie" is 90 minutes of a shaky camera where you barely see anything especially the monster except a few seconds at the end. No explanation of what it is First off Anyone who lost someone on 9-11 or still gets emotional every anniversary, Don't see this movie. with that said I gave this movie a 1 for the acting as they truly make it seem this was a film found after the event. This "movie" is 90 minutes of a shaky camera where you barely see anything especially the monster except a few seconds at the end. No explanation of what it is where it came from but these young kids are running away from it. thats the movie...actually they are trying to rescue a girl which is why they stay...I would have gotten my ass outta there ...JJ Abrahms made LOST Enough said...no explanation keeps leaving you with more questions. Expand
  21. JasmineP.
    Jan 22, 2008
    2
    When I watched the movie the other day, I couldn't believe that the whole movie was through a camera. The movie was a mix between the Blair Witch Project and Godzilla. This is one movie that I actually called, emailed, and spoke to co-workers and family/friends and told them to not even waste their money on. The ending of the movie was pointless. Pointless to the point on why the When I watched the movie the other day, I couldn't believe that the whole movie was through a camera. The movie was a mix between the Blair Witch Project and Godzilla. This is one movie that I actually called, emailed, and spoke to co-workers and family/friends and told them to not even waste their money on. The ending of the movie was pointless. Pointless to the point on why the Camera was needed. Sometimes when I leave a theater, I hear people talking or something, NO. everyone left in COMPLETE SILENCE!!! And lookin @ the Box Office reviews, I cant believe, that this movie grossed $41M . I know there are A LOT of disappointed moviegoers... Expand
  22. RayY.
    Jan 23, 2008
    2
    I cannot believe that there are so many favorable reviews on this movie ... Here are the facts the movie is 71 Minutes long The monster is in less than 4 minutes of the movie The camera shaking is horrible Nuff said save your money.
  23. AngelaH.
    Jan 23, 2008
    2
    Good idea but god that movie made me SO nauseas... it was shaky and it wouldn't stop moving and it was short. if it has stayed in place it would have worked... not a real story tho...just just goes with its... if u don't get movie sick then ya. but don't go for it.
  24. GianellaG.
    Jan 25, 2008
    0
    So bad it was pointless horrible one of the worst movies i've ever seen i regret watching it i don't reccomend it.
  25. KenL
    Jan 30, 2008
    1
    The Blair Witch Godzilla Project. Enough said.
  26. BB
    Feb 3, 2008
    3
    Awful movie! Luckily it is very short.
  27. Tony
    Feb 5, 2008
    0
    The first 20 minutes were so boring I fell asleep, a first at the cinema, and when the explosions woke me up I thought "at last it's started." I might as well of stayed asleep as the awful hand held camera made it unwatchable. Worst film since Blair Witch Project which used the same diabolical system. Tony
  28. MarcoH.
    Feb 21, 2008
    0
    The worst film of all time - pointless, amateurish, pretentious. Everyone involved should feel embarrassed.
  29. KimberlyJ.
    Feb 23, 2008
    0
    Horrible movie. Way too much hipe. Characters were annoying. "Plot" was annoying. Film style was annoying. Hated it.
  30. JasonT.
    Jul 9, 2008
    1
    Special Effects were as good as the story was bad! I'm still mad that I wasted an hour and a half of my life watching this rubbish!
  31. ChrisL
    Jul 11, 2008
    2
    Abysmal garbage. Let's see lame Cliffhanger, terrible acting, piss poor plot= FAIL. I must give credit for the cgi effects however. Nevertheless don't throw garbage like this towards us Paramount. You should have learned your lessons from War of the Worlds or any of your other disastrous Sci-fiction/monster releases.
  32. DaveG.
    Aug 3, 2008
    0
    Anyone that gave this piece of crap higher than a 0 should stick to watching sesame street. If I want to want home movies I visit the jackass down the street. I was disappointed when I missed this on the big screen. Now I'm glad I missed it. It would have been a bigger piece of crap at a higher cost of seeing it. I would classify this as docu-crap.
  33. DannyH
    Oct 2, 2008
    0
    Worst movie ever, filming makes you dizzy, just plain stupid, no real story behind it and then theres an ending that just makes you want to cry because its like "well I've wasted 2 hours of my life" but then on top of that laugh because it seems like the producer ran out of money so just decided to end the movie. Crap, if you respect a movie with half a plot, do not see it. If you Worst movie ever, filming makes you dizzy, just plain stupid, no real story behind it and then theres an ending that just makes you want to cry because its like "well I've wasted 2 hours of my life" but then on top of that laugh because it seems like the producer ran out of money so just decided to end the movie. Crap, if you respect a movie with half a plot, do not see it. If you like watching people die meaninglessly and have a high resistance to motion sickness, go ahead. Expand
  34. TimT.
    Jan 18, 2008
    3
    I thought the special effeects were excellent, but i didn' like how the storyline was or the ending. I also did not like that the movie was a video cam and even the people behind me said it made them dizzy.
  35. Ambrose
    Jan 17, 2008
    2
    I just saw this on opening night, this film is so bad that I am only giving it 2 points, 1 point for actually been made into a film, 1 point for the special effects. During its short 82 minutes, there is probably only 40 minutes of footage that is viewable, the rest of the time is shaking, running, shaking, footage out of focus, shaking, screaming, footage too focused and more shaking, I I just saw this on opening night, this film is so bad that I am only giving it 2 points, 1 point for actually been made into a film, 1 point for the special effects. During its short 82 minutes, there is probably only 40 minutes of footage that is viewable, the rest of the time is shaking, running, shaking, footage out of focus, shaking, screaming, footage too focused and more shaking, I know its the style, but I personally hate films like that, god forbid blair witch, it makes the movie experience feel cheap and unworthy. I wont recommend this movie, I wont recommend this DVD when it comes out or using this DVD as cup coaster, well maybe as a coaster. Expand
  36. JimothyT.
    Oct 6, 2009
    0
    One of the worst movies of this decade. The first person was not cool, or original, but just annoying. Lame shots of the monster, poor dialog, and needless to say a horrible ending.
  37. Aug 20, 2010
    0
    ive seen some bad films such as godzilla's 1998 remake , Jason x , death Bed the bed that eats people , and death stalker 2. but nothing is more terrable then this film . i had nothing bad to say about JJ abrhams till i seen this filth. god i dont even know where to start but i will try . lets start out with the camera that god awful camera . i know he was not trying to be original withive seen some bad films such as godzilla's 1998 remake , Jason x , death Bed the bed that eats people , and death stalker 2. but nothing is more terrable then this film . i had nothing bad to say about JJ abrhams till i seen this filth. god i dont even know where to start but i will try . lets start out with the camera that god awful camera . i know he was not trying to be original with that Blare witch project rip off style but oh my god it seems any time and i MEAN any time some thing some what intresting starts to happen the camera shakes all over the damn place so nothing is viewable . then the plot which is so simplisticaly stupid i mean this whole movie can be described in 1sentence and basically you will have seen the movie . giant monster attacks and guy goes and saves his girlfriend ... thats it. i mean the old Godzilla movies had more plot then this . i had more questions after seeing this crap then i went in with . you never find out what the monster is , where it came from , why its attacking , what thoose things coming off it are . why people are blowing up after getting bitten . i mean really thoose are the things i know the vast majority of people seeing this turd want to know! people who like tnhis movie try to lie to me and give me bull **** answers on thoos questions just because for some unknown reason they like this piss and wana defend it. listen ive seen this crap 2x it DOESNT ANSWER ANY OF THEM . YOU ARE ONLY GUESSING SO SHUT UP!!! god this movie is just pissing me off reviewing it . that should tell you how bad it is . i mean serously id rather wach the crappy 1998 godzilla film any day over this dribble . this film so gets my vote for worst movie of the decade . Expand
  38. Sep 9, 2010
    3
    Well executed, entertaining stuff, but did we REALLY need this to be set in New York? The whole film seems designed to cynically exploit the relatively fresh memories of Sept 11th. The film loses several points for feeling like being repeatedly whacked over the head with a copy of the 9/11 Commission Report...
  39. NickS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    2
    Eye-Candy. Total waste of time. i felt embarrassed for anyone who wasted money on this Blair Witch rip-off. This is a disaster flick where you actually want the characters to die. Acting was very bad. No plot. I hope the do make a sequel so as to explain what the heck actually happened. It would have been a better movie if they found multiple cameras then edited them films into a coherent Eye-Candy. Total waste of time. i felt embarrassed for anyone who wasted money on this Blair Witch rip-off. This is a disaster flick where you actually want the characters to die. Acting was very bad. No plot. I hope the do make a sequel so as to explain what the heck actually happened. It would have been a better movie if they found multiple cameras then edited them films into a coherent movie, that would have been much more interesting. I love JJ Abrams work and think his Mission Impossible had been much more a superior movie than the other two. I think Lost is a fantastic show. Matt Reeves is a great director as well. I just think this effort was off the mark from what we are accustomed two from the two. Instead of a well written movie about such a great an event as a monster/alien destroying the city of New York, so soon after what had happened there in the past, we get a bad love story dipped in CGI eye-candy. This movie is not mental juice to feed your brain. It's more like sniffing paint for an hour or so. Expand
  40. cdh
    Sep 3, 2010
    1
    Unoriginal in both plot and cinematography, the film takes the jerky first-person camera style (and 'discovered footage' device) of the Blair Witch Project and applies it to a narrative which could have been taken from any number of computer games from the past several decades. It's all here: the giant Godzilla-like monster rampaging through skyscrapers; human-sized aliens straight fromUnoriginal in both plot and cinematography, the film takes the jerky first-person camera style (and 'discovered footage' device) of the Blair Witch Project and applies it to a narrative which could have been taken from any number of computer games from the past several decades. It's all here: the giant Godzilla-like monster rampaging through skyscrapers; human-sized aliens straight from Starship Troopers; cliched subway tunnel scenes; you name it. Fortunately for the producers, they had a clever marketing team which managed to exploit both the post-9/11 paranoia and various viral marketing strategies. Expand
  41. Apr 23, 2011
    0
    I can honestly say this is the worse film I ever saw in my life. The camera was so jerky it made me want to puke. The story was so stupid that the script wouldn't even beat a porno movie script. The characters are all so irritating that I wished the monster ate them all in the 1st 30 minutes that way my agony could have ended sooner. Not even worth $1 on the cheap bin. Staring out yourI can honestly say this is the worse film I ever saw in my life. The camera was so jerky it made me want to puke. The story was so stupid that the script wouldn't even beat a porno movie script. The characters are all so irritating that I wished the monster ate them all in the 1st 30 minutes that way my agony could have ended sooner. Not even worth $1 on the cheap bin. Staring out your window for 2 hours is a better use of your time than watching this movie. Expand
  42. Jul 17, 2011
    3
    lack of empathy for the characters, lame plot and a failure to make the viewer suspend their disbelief amounts to a pretty poor film. Concept is good but falls short by a long way.
  43. Apr 29, 2012
    3
    A poor movie. Some interesting ideas mostly in the form of the recording angle as its supposedly recorded on a handheld camera, personally i didn't think this worked at all though as i found it made it more confusing and didn't draw me in. As most people have stated the ending was awful, one of the worst i have ever seen to the extent that i stood up at the end of the and shouted at theA poor movie. Some interesting ideas mostly in the form of the recording angle as its supposedly recorded on a handheld camera, personally i didn't think this worked at all though as i found it made it more confusing and didn't draw me in. As most people have stated the ending was awful, one of the worst i have ever seen to the extent that i stood up at the end of the and shouted at the screen. I would recommend that nobody see this movie.... ever. Expand
  44. AlexR
    Jan 19, 2008
    1
    The movie abused the camcorder first person view. It was great for a while but shakey cam was pretty annoying. The movie used some guy's stupid going away party as a plot device so that when the monsters came, they'd all be together. The monster's origin wasn't even hinted at, leaving their existance and origin left COMPLETELY open for interpretation. I'm all for The movie abused the camcorder first person view. It was great for a while but shakey cam was pretty annoying. The movie used some guy's stupid going away party as a plot device so that when the monsters came, they'd all be together. The monster's origin wasn't even hinted at, leaving their existance and origin left COMPLETELY open for interpretation. I'm all for making the viewer think, but that was just lazy writing. The end, aka "Thanks for your money", tried to use "the camcorder as the storyteller" but completely failed. Massive disappointment. Expand
  45. JasonM
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    I pray to god that this style of filmaking dies with this film. I did not pay $7 to watch a guy run around with a handheld video camera. If Blair Witch meets Godzilla meets You Tube is your thing, then this movie is for you.
  46. MeghanL
    Jan 19, 2008
    1
    Ok... This movie tries to hard to be cool... The 9-11 flashbacks were a little has been. The whole first half hour dragged on for so long, you were probably woken up by the first bang. And after that, you were just trying to prevent yourself from going into epileptic fits. This movie is so shaky, boring,dragtastic. Please ... save yourself the 84 minutes.
  47. DarrylF
    Jan 19, 2008
    3
    Total waste ! so much potential.. I guess I was expecting so much more !
  48. Jenneyl
    Jan 19, 2008
    0
    If you have ever had a problem with motion sickness, stay away from this movie. I just saw it and forget going out drinking. I got nauseated halfway through it. I didnt realize what it was and I told my boyfriend I might be pregnant. Then I thought about it and knew it was the movie. After that, I had to look away from the screen during the rest of the movie. Why a big budget movie would If you have ever had a problem with motion sickness, stay away from this movie. I just saw it and forget going out drinking. I got nauseated halfway through it. I didnt realize what it was and I told my boyfriend I might be pregnant. Then I thought about it and knew it was the movie. After that, I had to look away from the screen during the rest of the movie. Why a big budget movie would do this, I dont know. I felt like the only thing else to do was get up and ask for my money back. It ruined what was good of the movie... Made you feel the monster was stupid and the ending wasn't good enough for the whole ordeal the characters and I had to go through. After all this, you realize the only thing different about this movie was the use of one camara camcorder, which is not a very good thing. You are so absorbed with just trying to see what is going on that you don't realize until the ending that there was no substance or explanation of anything. Just random footage from the experience of a few people. I guess that's not what the director was going after... In summary, it was just a long ride at Universal Studios. Expand
  49. RichardJ.
    Jan 20, 2008
    0
    Just watched the film in Malaysia and must say it was the biggest piece of crap I have ever seen. At the end of the movie people just sat there and after a couple of minutes got up and walked out without any of the normal chatter you get when someone has enjoyed the experience. It was like a dentists waiting room. Biggest waste of time and money I feel cheated.
  50. ScottH
    Jan 20, 2008
    2
    The idea of the movie was decent but the camera work was so bad it pretty much made it impossible to watch. The special effects were ok, but limited. The action was there throughout the movie, but it was really lame. I didn
  51. GabeK.
    Jan 21, 2008
    1
    Boring, lifeless movie. I decided to give it a 1 just because of all the talk it has created. Anyone who gives this movie higher than a 6 is either: mentally retarded, smokes pot, or is a liberal arts major.
  52. bc
    Jan 21, 2008
    2
    While concept seems original, it is just a poorly veiled mask for Godzilla on You Tube meets 9/11 footage. No characters to empathize with, poor dialog and poor attempts at emotionally manipulative editing, the film would have been better if it were made for TV. Rental, maybe? I was sad to see that the monster did not eat or kill all the main characters. The film is getting a 2 for good While concept seems original, it is just a poorly veiled mask for Godzilla on You Tube meets 9/11 footage. No characters to empathize with, poor dialog and poor attempts at emotionally manipulative editing, the film would have been better if it were made for TV. Rental, maybe? I was sad to see that the monster did not eat or kill all the main characters. The film is getting a 2 for good use of special effects. Expand
  53. JorgeC.
    Jan 21, 2008
    1
    one of the top 5 worse movies I've ever seen.
  54. KentK.
    Jan 21, 2008
    1
    1 point for the Trailer. 0 points for the movie. All I can say is please STOP making movies with SHAKY CamCorder filming !!! Come ON, now - if you wanted us to GET the fact that it was being filmed on a CamCorder, then just give us a FEW scenes where that is shown to us - then SMOOTH IT OUT for cryin' out loud !! This movie was sheer torture to watch. I hope they release a different 1 point for the Trailer. 0 points for the movie. All I can say is please STOP making movies with SHAKY CamCorder filming !!! Come ON, now - if you wanted us to GET the fact that it was being filmed on a CamCorder, then just give us a FEW scenes where that is shown to us - then SMOOTH IT OUT for cryin' out loud !! This movie was sheer torture to watch. I hope they release a different version of the film that actually smooths out the crappy camerawork so that a person can actually WATCH the stupid thing without having to look AWAY constantly just to make the world STOP SPINNING. Blair Witch SUCKED for the same reason, and, quite frankly, the last two Bourne Identity movies had too much jerky camera work for my liking. Hollywood....STOP it already, will ya ?! Expand
  55. MichaelD
    Jan 21, 2008
    3
    Seems like a re-hash of several other movies. When it comes down to it; it just isn't that exciting. The movie was hyped way too much. Just OK, wait for DVD.
  56. RayT
    Jan 21, 2008
    0
    Beyond awful! I seem to remember film being a visual medium, someone should have reminded the makers of this movie of that. I understand what they were trying to accomplish with it being handheld and from the POV of the characters, but it renders it incomprehensible. I literally felt like I couldn't comprehend what was going on 95% percent of the time, which really makes it hard to Beyond awful! I seem to remember film being a visual medium, someone should have reminded the makers of this movie of that. I understand what they were trying to accomplish with it being handheld and from the POV of the characters, but it renders it incomprehensible. I literally felt like I couldn't comprehend what was going on 95% percent of the time, which really makes it hard to make any kind of emotional investment...in well anything in this movie. When I go to see a "Monster Movie" it be nice to be able to decipher what said monster looks like. I like idea of the little spider like creatures falling off the main monster, but that is immediately lost if you can't understand what the heck is going on. The TV ads are misleading because they are in clear color, and nothing in the movie is that clear. Expand
  57. jamess
    Jan 21, 2008
    2
    Bad camera work isn't interesting. The story is too "real" so there is no real plot or character development. You don't get any cool info or a good look at the monster and there is no real ending in terms of the big story. The best this about it is seeing new york torn up but thats about it. Don't believe the hype.
  58. BruceC
    Jan 21, 2008
    3
    I'd heard that this movie was a kind of "Godzilla meets Blair Witch Project". The movie is essentially a typical monster movie, but with all the action shot 'live' on a handheld cam-corder. It sounded like a new take on an old idea, but I found the idea was taken way, way too far. The camera gets waved around so much that it's often hard to tell what the hell is going I'd heard that this movie was a kind of "Godzilla meets Blair Witch Project". The movie is essentially a typical monster movie, but with all the action shot 'live' on a handheld cam-corder. It sounded like a new take on an old idea, but I found the idea was taken way, way too far. The camera gets waved around so much that it's often hard to tell what the hell is going on. I suppose that's the effect the director was trying to achieve, but he overdid it by an order of magnitude! The idea would have worked much better if the camera had at least been held still, instead of looking like the film was taken by a spastic monkey. I would have given this movie a B- or C+, but the crappy, jittery handcam filming was horrible and brings the movie down a couple of notches. Ugh. Don't waste $10 to watch this in a theatre - or even $5 for a rental from Blockbuster! Expand
  59. toddgot
    Jan 21, 2008
    0
    this movie sucked so much ass that i wanted to shoot myself after watchin it the special effects were ok but when the guy and the girl just sat under a bridge and waited to die that was bull shit they needed to have some kind of ending in stead of just sitting there extremely disappointed.
  60. michaelh
    Jan 21, 2008
    1
    Terrible movie! I wasn't expecting Godzillas buddy to show up and the shaky camera work made everyone dizzy!
  61. JimmyC
    Jan 21, 2008
    0
    The movie looked kinda good from whatever I saw when I wasn't closing my eyes and trying hard not to throw up my popcorn. That was the first time I had ever left in the middle of a movie. The idea of watching from the characters' viewpoint sounded like a great idea, but when the entire movie is shot with shakiness and rapid movement, its kinda hard to enjoy when suffering from The movie looked kinda good from whatever I saw when I wasn't closing my eyes and trying hard not to throw up my popcorn. That was the first time I had ever left in the middle of a movie. The idea of watching from the characters' viewpoint sounded like a great idea, but when the entire movie is shot with shakiness and rapid movement, its kinda hard to enjoy when suffering from motion sickness. My popcorn bag almost became my barf bag. Would I like to have finished the movie? Yes, but I'll wait for the DVD. Hopefully it will be easier to cope with on a smaller screen. Expand
  62. Anonymous
    Jan 22, 2008
    2
    The trailer tells the entire story - with very little else to learn. I found this film to be a complete rip off. I wanted to love it however I left unfulfilled. If you like "Blair Witch" then you will like this film.
  63. RustyS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    I also agree on this being one of the worst movies ever produced. Horrible camera work (even for a handheld) horrible acting, no plot, no background, no anything that a good or even decent movie should have. When the movie was over, everyone just sat there. When the credits began to roll, the groans and complaints started. I'd like a refund for this movie because I too feel cheated.
  64. MichelleS
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    If I could give this move a negative score I would. Camera work was so bad even in the non-action parts (like at the party) I almost threw up in the first 15 minutes of the movie due to motion sickness, the movie went downhill from there. I understand the camera concept but even if you are running or scared you're telling me you can't hold a camera semi-still so we could If I could give this move a negative score I would. Camera work was so bad even in the non-action parts (like at the party) I almost threw up in the first 15 minutes of the movie due to motion sickness, the movie went downhill from there. I understand the camera concept but even if you are running or scared you're telling me you can't hold a camera semi-still so we could actually see what was going on instead of just getting sick from the blurring back and forth. And in the non-action parts why the heck could this guy not look at people's faces instead of the camera being pointed at their feet or only half their face. Bad acting, no real story, NOTHING in this movie was done right, EXCEPT the credits and those were only good because it meant the movie was over. Not only do I wish I could get my $6.25 back (luckily I went to the late show so it was not $9.00) but I think someone should reimburse me for wasting 1 1/2 hours of my life. If I want to pay to get motion sick I will go to an amusement park at least there you will find lovable characters and loads of entertainment, two things this movie lacked. I did not care if the characters lived or not, in fact I was hoping they would all die so the movie would end. The fact that there is no story proves the writer is not really a writer, he could not even think of a plausible reason this monster attacked, where it was from, how to kill it, NOTHING. Other movie goers were as confused and disappointed as I was based on their after movie chatter. On guy asked "what just happened" and I said "I'll tell you, you wasted $6.25 and 1 1/2 hours of your life". Another movie goer said "there is 1 1/2 of my life wasted that I will never get back". Also I never knew cheap handheld home video cameras had night vision, professional style lighting and such AMAZING and long lasting video and battery life. I could go on and on about how awful and completely retarded this movie is but it's not even worth talking about honestly. Please, if you feel the need to waste $9.00, just send me the money and stay home, don't waste your time on this movie. Expand
  65. JeffT.
    Jan 22, 2008
    1
    I was so let down. Blair Witch was cool, this was not.
  66. BetsM
    Jan 22, 2008
    1
    Terrible movie, camera work made me want to throw up. Didn't care anything about the people, monster could have killed them all and the world wouldn't be any worse off. The only reason I didn't give it a zero is that I didn't get up and leave (not sure why but I suffered through the whole horrible thing).
  67. keithc
    Jan 22, 2008
    1
    This movie was the worst one i have ever seen i felt like throwing up the camera was moving so bad. there was limited special effect scenes and it was a terrible plot. A lot of the scenes were terrible i mean cmon the lady got stabbed in the heart and miraculously she can sprint away from the monster. also you never got a good look of the monster until the very end of the movie and even This movie was the worst one i have ever seen i felt like throwing up the camera was moving so bad. there was limited special effect scenes and it was a terrible plot. A lot of the scenes were terrible i mean cmon the lady got stabbed in the heart and miraculously she can sprint away from the monster. also you never got a good look of the monster until the very end of the movie and even then you didn't see it all. Plus they don't say how the monster got to earth or why it all of a sudden attacked. THIS IS WHY WE NEED WRITERS...SO THE PLOT IS GOOD THE ENTIRE MOVIE!!! Expand
  68. KenH.
    Jan 22, 2008
    1
    I like action / monster / horror movies but the dialog is terribly written and the plot is paper-thin. Younger teens seem to love the movie and that concerns me that actually liked the movie.
  69. CMode
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    I have never in my life been so angry about paying to see a movie!!! First they introduce the audience to the most nausiating camera work ever and then they try to get you feel for some of the most forgettable characters ive ever watched only to end the movie on a cliffhanger by not letting you know why this wanna-be Godzilla is destroying NYC and if the military's attempt to blow it I have never in my life been so angry about paying to see a movie!!! First they introduce the audience to the most nausiating camera work ever and then they try to get you feel for some of the most forgettable characters ive ever watched only to end the movie on a cliffhanger by not letting you know why this wanna-be Godzilla is destroying NYC and if the military's attempt to blow it up has worked or not. Absolute crap!!! Expand
  70. ChristopherB.
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    Cloverfield is the Blair Witch Project meets Godzilla gone completely wrong. An unintelligent movie, that only impressed me when they momentarily played the Of Montreal song, "Wraith Pinned To The Mist (And Other Games)". This is mainstream entertainment at its lowest.
  71. Haxwell
    Jan 22, 2008
    3
    This movie could have been so much better. Besides the fact they wasted 20+ minutes at the beginning with that stupid party, Hud and his inane remarks made me want to blow popcorn chunks each time he said something.. The characters were not believable, unrealistic turns of events, it just could have been so much better. I recommend anybody who ever has the feeling they could be doing This movie could have been so much better. Besides the fact they wasted 20+ minutes at the beginning with that stupid party, Hud and his inane remarks made me want to blow popcorn chunks each time he said something.. The characters were not believable, unrealistic turns of events, it just could have been so much better. I recommend anybody who ever has the feeling they could be doing something else while watching TV, not go and see this movie. Save your ends. Expand
  72. JohnA
    Jan 22, 2008
    3
    Lousy!
  73. MarcusG.
    Jan 22, 2008
    3
    It's almost tragic that this film is so half-baked. The shaky, first-person perspective gave me a very rare feeling of fear and helplessness. This was entirely overshadowed by the film's ability to nauseate, as well as a very weak, overused plot. Factor in many obvious errors in logic and continuity and you have a very disappointing film that is only thriving on excellent It's almost tragic that this film is so half-baked. The shaky, first-person perspective gave me a very rare feeling of fear and helplessness. This was entirely overshadowed by the film's ability to nauseate, as well as a very weak, overused plot. Factor in many obvious errors in logic and continuity and you have a very disappointing film that is only thriving on excellent marketing and hype. Expand
  74. TonyL
    Jan 22, 2008
    3
    I like the way the monster was presented, but I cared about little else in this film. A film like this only works when you care about one or more of the main actors, I didn't care for any of them. I wanted the monster to eat them all. Cable only!
  75. GaborA.
    Jan 22, 2008
    3
    I could forgive the stream of ridiculous coincidences and absurdities that is the plot of this movie and willingly suspend all disbelief if there was a shred of originality to whisk me away. But there isn't. I spent most of the movie day dreaming about what I would do if something like this happened in my city. My dream was definitely less cheesy. Alas it hasn't even been that I could forgive the stream of ridiculous coincidences and absurdities that is the plot of this movie and willingly suspend all disbelief if there was a shred of originality to whisk me away. But there isn't. I spent most of the movie day dreaming about what I would do if something like this happened in my city. My dream was definitely less cheesy. Alas it hasn't even been that long since we've had a good monster movie. Its called The Host. Rent it. Avoid this. Expand
  76. TizianaH
    Jan 22, 2008
    1
    This must have been the worst movie i saw within the last 10 years. (The last one i walked out on was Cliffhanger) Unoriginal, boring, badly written, badly played, no story-line, no suspension or captivating action. I give it one star as i can appreciate the ironic TV backdrop in one scene where sponge bob sq pants, king kong and other monsters are seen.
  77. EW
    Jan 23, 2008
    0
    This movie was poorly directed, the acting was severly lacking, and clocking in at about 70 minutes one of the shortest movies I've ever watched. The monster was severely under represented in the movie with only a few shots revealing it and doing so poorly. If you go to this movie and pay you will regret wasting your money on it. If your a fan of reality based fiction this might be This movie was poorly directed, the acting was severly lacking, and clocking in at about 70 minutes one of the shortest movies I've ever watched. The monster was severely under represented in the movie with only a few shots revealing it and doing so poorly. If you go to this movie and pay you will regret wasting your money on it. If your a fan of reality based fiction this might be your thing but otherwise save your time and money for something else Expand
  78. PhilP
    Jan 23, 2008
    1
    This is the kind of movie you rent with a free coupon. It is a glorified "blair witch". It is semi interesting, but there is almost no story, no answers of any kind, and nothing but the shaky cam. It is quite frankly hard to watch, and they can pretty much throw in anything they want without explanation. Basically this movie cheats on everything it takes to make a good movie with the This is the kind of movie you rent with a free coupon. It is a glorified "blair witch". It is semi interesting, but there is almost no story, no answers of any kind, and nothing but the shaky cam. It is quite frankly hard to watch, and they can pretty much throw in anything they want without explanation. Basically this movie cheats on everything it takes to make a good movie with the excuse that it is all on this camcorder. If you want to see the blair witch meets godzilla with no explanation or back story what so ever - you might like this. Everyone else will probably see it for what it is, a cheap movie that is just trying to capitalize on people not knowing what it is about. Expand
  79. Fantasy
    Jan 24, 2008
    0
    OK I have had enough. I always hated those action shots professionally done in which the camera is shaking. Now in this turkey of a movie, they have taken it to the extreme by having the camera shake causing motion sickness. Enough already. This is an amateur production at best videoed with a camcorder. Total Cost of this production including the actor and the director is $1. What's OK I have had enough. I always hated those action shots professionally done in which the camera is shaking. Now in this turkey of a movie, they have taken it to the extreme by having the camera shake causing motion sickness. Enough already. This is an amateur production at best videoed with a camcorder. Total Cost of this production including the actor and the director is $1. What's next PET ROCKS? Who would be stupid enough to actually pay for a rock? Oops I forgot the same morons who actually paid to see this turkey with the shaky camcorder! Expand
  80. MichaelA
    Jan 25, 2008
    0
    This movie sucked so bad that my friends will never let me pick a movie again! I want my $9.50 back, but I know I will never get that hour and a half back. I wanted to vomit after the first 10 minutes. Why the hell would I pay for an hour and 15 minute movie and then have to watch as the camera is pointed at someones feet? Save your money and donate it or something, you will feel much This movie sucked so bad that my friends will never let me pick a movie again! I want my $9.50 back, but I know I will never get that hour and a half back. I wanted to vomit after the first 10 minutes. Why the hell would I pay for an hour and 15 minute movie and then have to watch as the camera is pointed at someones feet? Save your money and donate it or something, you will feel much better than hating yourself for watching this movie. Expand
  81. WingM.
    Jan 25, 2008
    0
    Some say this movie did not deserve a 0, claming that the "shaky-camera" is the decisive reason why people give it poor ratings. Thus, I will clarify exactly why this movie should go straight to the top of the Worst Movies of All Time list. For starters, the script was possibly written by a fourth grader; in fact, I might actually appreciate it if it had been. Second, nothing was resolved Some say this movie did not deserve a 0, claming that the "shaky-camera" is the decisive reason why people give it poor ratings. Thus, I will clarify exactly why this movie should go straight to the top of the Worst Movies of All Time list. For starters, the script was possibly written by a fourth grader; in fact, I might actually appreciate it if it had been. Second, nothing was resolved - at all. Even things that happened were for the most part left in complete obscurity. The Onion said that was the amazing part of the film... let's throw back to basic English plot lessons. There's nothing wrong with leaving things open to interpretation, but the entire movie? Third... there were explosions... big deal. Aside from its few moments, there were times that I actually forgot I was in the theatre because I completely lost interest. Even the first Lord of the Rings, with its endless walking, was more entertaining than the first 30 minutes of Cloverfield. In the end, though, Cloverfield did produce one exciting phenomenon that I had never before seen: people demanding their money back. Expand
  82. R.R.
    Jan 26, 2008
    2
    -First of all, Adam H, that's a pretty harsh criticism to be making of the people that didn't like this movie. I guess if someone didn't enjoy it they need to "grow up" cuz they're nothing but kids. Wow, what an ignorant statement. -And for those who say plot and meaning don't matter, you're absolutely correct, but the problem is this movie did try to have -First of all, Adam H, that's a pretty harsh criticism to be making of the people that didn't like this movie. I guess if someone didn't enjoy it they need to "grow up" cuz they're nothing but kids. Wow, what an ignorant statement. -And for those who say plot and meaning don't matter, you're absolutely correct, but the problem is this movie did try to have meaning, like with its visual references to Sept 11. So don't tell me meaning's not important in a movie if the very movie you're reviewing tries to be an allegory of major historical events we're ALL familiar with. The problem with Cloverfield was that there was no real REASON why they had these references to 9/11: what point were they trying to make, because, as Wing M pointed out, nothing gets resolved. Were they just showing off with their use of allegory? -Also, I don't care for shaky-camera action as long as it's done artfully and with purpose. In this case it was, but there's such a thing as taking it too far: the director was just showing off by trying to give his movie a distinct visual style (and some scenes were just so obscurely presented), but it's been done before (Bourne Ultimatum, for example). -The characters were hollow and unbelievable. No, I'm not being randomly bias by bashing every aspect of this movie. My proof: what about that Marlena girl who, from the very start of the movie doesn't seem to care for anyone, suddenly gets the bright idea to go along with the group to find the main lead's girlfriend? Yeah, very realistic: I'll just risk my life for people I don't like. -The humour wasn't at all witty, except some people seemed to find the guy who held the camera to be funny because he was so pathetic. Oh, and the first 20 or so minutes were stretched out to tediousness: most of those scenes or dialog wasn't needed, and the attempt at character development fell far short. -This movie doesn't know what kind of movie it wants to be, and trying to bend genres isn't helping them: is it a love story, because it feels too empty to be a love story? Is it a political allegory? Is it a monster movie? Probably, because that's what it ends up being at the end, even though I was looking forward to something deeper. And saying that it's all these things doesn't help because the genres are never explored to their fullest since the movie is so short. -And I went into the theater really wanting to see this movie, having lined up 2 hours beforehand on opening day, so don't tell me I'm bias in any way. Expand
  83. AdamD.
    Jan 26, 2008
    3
    was an epic failure, gets more than a 0 because the visual and sound was good, and the camera work was very interesting, but the rest of the movie is an F-.
  84. Dixie
    Jan 26, 2008
    1
    This movie simply sucks ass. Every eye-shatteringly pointless moment of it.
  85. JoeL.
    Jan 27, 2008
    1
    Bambi meets Godzilla was more exciting than this overated flick, and that short animation was about 45 seconds. This movie is all hype to separate you and you money. Its a 75 minute movie that spends the first 22 minutes trying to introduce the audience to characters we don't really like. I started to get annoyed at the really poor dialog after the first 10 minutes. The acting is not Bambi meets Godzilla was more exciting than this overated flick, and that short animation was about 45 seconds. This movie is all hype to separate you and you money. Its a 75 minute movie that spends the first 22 minutes trying to introduce the audience to characters we don't really like. I started to get annoyed at the really poor dialog after the first 10 minutes. The acting is not very convincing, and there is really no "feeling" for what happens to the main characters. I did not find the movie exciting, thrilling, or suspenseful. The hand held cam thing gets annoying after 30 minutes too. The good thing is that its only 75 minutes, about 45 minutes too long! This flick just had a made for TV feel about it. Blah! Expand
  86. JimK.
    Jan 28, 2008
    3
    Yes this film does keep you awake, while waitng to see what this thing is, but in the end its alot of nothing. The acting was annoying, the video camera perspective was played out after about 5 minutes, and i thought the creature was anything but original and not scary. I hate that its true after waiting to see this thing, but it did suck.
  87. SJN.
    Jan 29, 2008
    1
    Total rubbish ridden with factual, technical, military and continuity errors.
  88. TonyB
    Jan 30, 2008
    0
    I agree with all the zeros. I would have preferred being in NYC with the monster than watching the movie, LOL. Or anywhere else than watching the movie. If you cut out most of the party, and the most of the scenes aimed at feet and mid-sections, it might have rated a lot higher. But then it would have been around, maybe about 30 minutes in length - that would have been an improvement. It I agree with all the zeros. I would have preferred being in NYC with the monster than watching the movie, LOL. Or anywhere else than watching the movie. If you cut out most of the party, and the most of the scenes aimed at feet and mid-sections, it might have rated a lot higher. But then it would have been around, maybe about 30 minutes in length - that would have been an improvement. It seems they were trying to make a non-movie, and they succeeded in that. Expand
  89. LesC.
    Feb 1, 2008
    0
    I had a headache within the first 5 minutes(Blair Witch had the same effect on me) - and then I was Nauseous within 10 minutes - It was terrible - no focus, camera moving to quick, I would give it a -1 if that was possible.
  90. JezzP
    Feb 2, 2008
    0
    It would have been a great movie if they didnt have so much of the camcorder thing. I got sick watching the movie and half of the time I was annoyed by screaming and cutoffs. Poor quality movie...
  91. JaredB.
    Feb 3, 2008
    0
    Six months ago, I saw the first preview of the movie "Cloverfield." I was looking forward to seeing it. To say the movie was a disappointment would be a gross understatement. Actually, I found this film to be a major disaster. Nothing worked here, or even tried. As bad as the cast, the script, and the direction were, these were far from this movies worst flaw. That honor, or dishonor, Six months ago, I saw the first preview of the movie "Cloverfield." I was looking forward to seeing it. To say the movie was a disappointment would be a gross understatement. Actually, I found this film to be a major disaster. Nothing worked here, or even tried. As bad as the cast, the script, and the direction were, these were far from this movies worst flaw. That honor, or dishonor, depending on how you look at it, belongs to the camerawork. I swear I developed motion sickness watching this darn thing. If you haven't seen this movie, take my advice: save your time and money. Expand
  92. ss
    Feb 4, 2008
    0
    We went to see it at the cinema, throughout the movie people were leaving, because of how rubibish the film was. When the film ended, the whole cinema groaned. A totally rubbish and pointless movie....... please no sequel!!!!!!
  93. KateP.
    Feb 5, 2008
    0
    Can someone wake me when the movie begins... Such poor acting... A cure for people with insomnia
  94. BenT.
    Feb 6, 2008
    0
    no alien looks that way because i have the omnitrix and i know aliens. Diamondhead, now that is an alien!
  95. JoeyD
    Feb 6, 2008
    3
    I didn't like the Blair Witch movie at all but this handheld technique has potential, its just a question of who can utilize it effectively & not go O.T.T (like what happened to 'Bullet time'). JJ couldn't do it, not yet anyway. So after watching an awesome trailer I'm sad to say this movie didn't deliver for me.
  96. RamM.
    Feb 6, 2008
    0
    Simply put, this has to be the WORST movie Ive ever seen this year. Whose idea was it to film the entire film on a shaky hand held cam?!! five minutes into the movie and i knew i just wasted my money. I felt like throwing up the entire time!!! Where did those monsters come from? Its not even shown or explained?!!! Who thought of this movie?!!! The worst monster movie ever. I wish i saw Simply put, this has to be the WORST movie Ive ever seen this year. Whose idea was it to film the entire film on a shaky hand held cam?!! five minutes into the movie and i knew i just wasted my money. I felt like throwing up the entire time!!! Where did those monsters come from? Its not even shown or explained?!!! Who thought of this movie?!!! The worst monster movie ever. I wish i saw D-War instead.To all those who haven't seen this movie yet, don't!!! Expand
  97. SusieM.
    Feb 6, 2008
    1
    Can we say Blair Witch meet Godzilla with better filming. I went expecting a better movie to get an upgraded version of the Blair Witch project. I tell you what This movie totally sucked and I wouldn't suggest it. when my boyfriend and i went to go see this movie we didn't realize what it was and both got motion sick from the movie, we couldn't tell when it started and its Can we say Blair Witch meet Godzilla with better filming. I went expecting a better movie to get an upgraded version of the Blair Witch project. I tell you what This movie totally sucked and I wouldn't suggest it. when my boyfriend and i went to go see this movie we didn't realize what it was and both got motion sick from the movie, we couldn't tell when it started and its not worth seeing. Please don't waste your money or your time to see this very very bad film. Expand
  98. BongoMcFluff
    Feb 7, 2008
    3
    When the screen went black and the credits started rolling, the people in the cinema were silent for about 3 seconds and then all started laughing which for me says it all. It was the most ridiculously pointless, awful film I have ever seen with an even worse ending than I Am Legend. I only sat through the pointless and confusing introduction without walking out because I wanted to see When the screen went black and the credits started rolling, the people in the cinema were silent for about 3 seconds and then all started laughing which for me says it all. It was the most ridiculously pointless, awful film I have ever seen with an even worse ending than I Am Legend. I only sat through the pointless and confusing introduction without walking out because I wanted to see the monster. The rest of the story is absolutely ridiculous. There are so many unbelievable ridiculous things like a person surviving being impaled through the chest on a piece of rebar and then a helicopter crash without even a broken bone or life threatening bleeding. The main attraction to seeing the film was at least for me curiosity as to what the monster looks like so take my advice and just find a picture on the internet and save your money for something worth watching. Also if you see it at the cinema, the shaky camera will make you feel sick but the film will bore you to death before that ever happens. Expand
  99. PhilB.
    Feb 8, 2008
    0
    Love the idea but but but I had to close my eyes after c.10 minutes as nausea / motion sickness kicked in due to the 1st person perspective, shaky hand-held camcorder filming, and I wasn't even close to the screen. It sounded good though! Did anyone else suffer from this?
  100. MaximumR.
    Feb 9, 2008
    2
    At the movie theaters, I paid 8 dollars to see the movie. I had a bucket of popcorn, candy, and a smoothie. But even with all of that, the movie was horrible and i left halfway through the movie.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. 75
    Cloverfield's gritty, in-your-face style is uncompromising. If you're looking for a nice, clean movie filmed with a steadycam, you'll have to look elsewhere.
  2. Think "Godzilla Unplugged" -- with chillingly effective results.
  3. Cloverfield, a surreptitiously subversive, stylistically clever little gem of an entertainment disguised, under its deadpan-neutral title, as a dumb Gen-YouTube monster movie, makes the convincingly chilling argument that the world will end -- or, at least, Manhattan will crumble -- with a bang and a whimper.