User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 820 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2010
    0
    ive seen some bad films such as godzilla's 1998 remake , Jason x , death Bed the bed that eats people , and death stalker 2. but nothing is more terrable then this film . i had nothing bad to say about JJ abrhams till i seen this filth. god i dont even know where to start but i will try . lets start out with the camera that god awful camera . i know he was not trying to be original withive seen some bad films such as godzilla's 1998 remake , Jason x , death Bed the bed that eats people , and death stalker 2. but nothing is more terrable then this film . i had nothing bad to say about JJ abrhams till i seen this filth. god i dont even know where to start but i will try . lets start out with the camera that god awful camera . i know he was not trying to be original with that Blare witch project rip off style but oh my god it seems any time and i MEAN any time some thing some what intresting starts to happen the camera shakes all over the damn place so nothing is viewable . then the plot which is so simplisticaly stupid i mean this whole movie can be described in 1sentence and basically you will have seen the movie . giant monster attacks and guy goes and saves his girlfriend ... thats it. i mean the old Godzilla movies had more plot then this . i had more questions after seeing this crap then i went in with . you never find out what the monster is , where it came from , why its attacking , what thoose things coming off it are . why people are blowing up after getting bitten . i mean really thoose are the things i know the vast majority of people seeing this turd want to know! people who like tnhis movie try to lie to me and give me bull **** answers on thoos questions just because for some unknown reason they like this piss and wana defend it. listen ive seen this crap 2x it DOESNT ANSWER ANY OF THEM . YOU ARE ONLY GUESSING SO SHUT UP!!! god this movie is just pissing me off reviewing it . that should tell you how bad it is . i mean serously id rather wach the crappy 1998 godzilla film any day over this dribble . this film so gets my vote for worst movie of the decade . Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2010
    3
    Well executed, entertaining stuff, but did we REALLY need this to be set in New York? The whole film seems designed to cynically exploit the relatively fresh memories of Sept 11th. The film loses several points for feeling like being repeatedly whacked over the head with a copy of the 9/11 Commission Report...
  3. cdh
    Sep 3, 2010
    1
    Unoriginal in both plot and cinematography, the film takes the jerky first-person camera style (and 'discovered footage' device) of the Blair Witch Project and applies it to a narrative which could have been taken from any number of computer games from the past several decades. It's all here: the giant Godzilla-like monster rampaging through skyscrapers; human-sized aliens straight fromUnoriginal in both plot and cinematography, the film takes the jerky first-person camera style (and 'discovered footage' device) of the Blair Witch Project and applies it to a narrative which could have been taken from any number of computer games from the past several decades. It's all here: the giant Godzilla-like monster rampaging through skyscrapers; human-sized aliens straight from Starship Troopers; cliched subway tunnel scenes; you name it. Fortunately for the producers, they had a clever marketing team which managed to exploit both the post-9/11 paranoia and various viral marketing strategies. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2011
    3
    lack of empathy for the characters, lame plot and a failure to make the viewer suspend their disbelief amounts to a pretty poor film. Concept is good but falls short by a long way.
  5. Apr 23, 2011
    0
    I can honestly say this is the worse film I ever saw in my life. The camera was so jerky it made me want to puke. The story was so stupid that the script wouldn't even beat a porno movie script. The characters are all so irritating that I wished the monster ate them all in the 1st 30 minutes that way my agony could have ended sooner. Not even worth $1 on the cheap bin. Staring out yourI can honestly say this is the worse film I ever saw in my life. The camera was so jerky it made me want to puke. The story was so stupid that the script wouldn't even beat a porno movie script. The characters are all so irritating that I wished the monster ate them all in the 1st 30 minutes that way my agony could have ended sooner. Not even worth $1 on the cheap bin. Staring out your window for 2 hours is a better use of your time than watching this movie. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2012
    3
    A poor movie. Some interesting ideas mostly in the form of the recording angle as its supposedly recorded on a handheld camera, personally i didn't think this worked at all though as i found it made it more confusing and didn't draw me in. As most people have stated the ending was awful, one of the worst i have ever seen to the extent that i stood up at the end of the and shouted at theA poor movie. Some interesting ideas mostly in the form of the recording angle as its supposedly recorded on a handheld camera, personally i didn't think this worked at all though as i found it made it more confusing and didn't draw me in. As most people have stated the ending was awful, one of the worst i have ever seen to the extent that i stood up at the end of the and shouted at the screen. I would recommend that nobody see this movie.... ever. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    4
    While there is a good premise, and although I do understand the reason why they shot the film the way they did - all in all, this is at best, a late-night movie and not a grand cinematic experience what could expect. Diagnosis: You're not missing much if you pass it, and you might like it. The effects are terrific!
  8. Mar 21, 2013
    3
    This movie was great, but, apparently the director had to go and make it end like all of the other FREAKING HORROR MOVIES. He did that at the worst time also, I mean there was a great love story but then BOOM he goes and ruins it. And they don't even tell you where the creature came from!!!!! All you know is that something is attacking Manhattan and that's IT!! Recommend not watching this movie
  9. Apr 1, 2013
    0
    Easily one of the worst films I've seen. There really is nothing good about it. It is film that combines inane and pointless dialogue, bad acting, and no real scares or tension. Thankfully it has a running time of just 85 minutes (which still felt like a life time). One that is definitely best avoided.
  10. Jan 8, 2015
    0
    Tudo bem pode não ser tão ruim como eu penso mas 77% no Rotten Tomatoes e 64% no Metacritic,Puta Merda Os Mercenários 1 e 2 ambos não conseguiram 70% no RT e 60% no Metacritic.
    Corre porra!!!! peraí deixa eu gritar,deixa eu corre,deixa eu filmar qualquer porra menos o monstro que está atacando todo mundo e a gente e a principal coisa no filme acho que resumi bem só mais uma coisa um dos
    Tudo bem pode não ser tão ruim como eu penso mas 77% no Rotten Tomatoes e 64% no Metacritic,Puta Merda Os Mercenários 1 e 2 ambos não conseguiram 70% no RT e 60% no Metacritic.
    Corre porra!!!! peraí deixa eu gritar,deixa eu corre,deixa eu filmar qualquer porra menos o monstro que está atacando todo mundo e a gente e a principal coisa no filme acho que resumi bem só mais uma coisa um dos piores filmes da história do terror e do cinema pronto,merda de filme lixo pronto!!!.
    Expand
  11. Mar 19, 2015
    4
    The idea for this movie is intriguing but man this movie is going to receive a poor score for me.
    I'm not even going to go into music man but if there was a musical aspect that I'd like to fix it'd be the damn antagonist. Boring, unoriginal, can we try again??
    Like I said, this movie has an intriguing way of making it all from the viewpoint of a camcorder but sigh...for all my motion
    The idea for this movie is intriguing but man this movie is going to receive a poor score for me.
    I'm not even going to go into music man but if there was a musical aspect that I'd like to fix it'd be the damn antagonist. Boring, unoriginal, can we try again??

    Like I said, this movie has an intriguing way of making it all from the viewpoint of a camcorder but sigh...for all my motion sickness friends, you're going to wonder who picked this movie and how you can get them back.

    Look, you'll be entertained and interested bits and pieces throughout the film, but I promise there is nothing that makes you go "OH wow I appreciate that". They even cut off alot of the interesting parts. Like how are you going to do that to me JJ Abrams (producer)?? Im watching you really hard for Star wars 7.

    I always see if they did their homework on background/setting/historical context. and yeah it was cool seeing New York again but how many times do we want to see the same things over and over again in a monster film. Anyway, this review is to tell you the truth so if you want to watch a movie just like this, go on ahead and skip this to check out "I Am Legend" featuring Will Smith.

    Word to describe this movie: Despair. You're sitting there more figuring out what is going on and trying to find a reason to enjoy the movie..but you cant, it's a trap.

    Dont watch this alone because you'll end up feeling really guilty and have no one to share the pain with. If you do watch this with friends, get another movie when renting/streaming this ready. Recommend this to anyone to end friendships. I'm also willing to fight anyone who gives this a rating above 7
    Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. 75
    Cloverfield's gritty, in-your-face style is uncompromising. If you're looking for a nice, clean movie filmed with a steadycam, you'll have to look elsewhere.
  2. Think "Godzilla Unplugged" -- with chillingly effective results.
  3. Cloverfield, a surreptitiously subversive, stylistically clever little gem of an entertainment disguised, under its deadpan-neutral title, as a dumb Gen-YouTube monster movie, makes the convincingly chilling argument that the world will end -- or, at least, Manhattan will crumble -- with a bang and a whimper.