User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 785 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2010
    0
    ive seen some bad films such as godzilla's 1998 remake , Jason x , death Bed the bed that eats people , and death stalker 2. but nothing is more terrable then this film . i had nothing bad to say about JJ abrhams till i seen this filth. god i dont even know where to start but i will try . lets start out with the camera that god awful camera . i know he was not trying to be original with that Blare witch project rip off style but oh my god it seems any time and i MEAN any time some thing some what intresting starts to happen the camera shakes all over the damn place so nothing is viewable . then the plot which is so simplisticaly stupid i mean this whole movie can be described in 1sentence and basically you will have seen the movie . giant monster attacks and guy goes and saves his girlfriend ... thats it. i mean the old Godzilla movies had more plot then this . i had more questions after seeing this crap then i went in with . you never find out what the monster is , where it came from , why its attacking , what thoose things coming off it are . why people are blowing up after getting bitten . i mean really thoose are the things i know the vast majority of people seeing this turd want to know! people who like tnhis movie try to lie to me and give me bull **** answers on thoos questions just because for some unknown reason they like this piss and wana defend it. listen ive seen this crap 2x it DOESNT ANSWER ANY OF THEM . YOU ARE ONLY GUESSING SO SHUT UP!!! god this movie is just pissing me off reviewing it . that should tell you how bad it is . i mean serously id rather wach the crappy 1998 godzilla film any day over this dribble . this film so gets my vote for worst movie of the decade . Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2010
    3
    Well executed, entertaining stuff, but did we REALLY need this to be set in New York? The whole film seems designed to cynically exploit the relatively fresh memories of Sept 11th. The film loses several points for feeling like being repeatedly whacked over the head with a copy of the 9/11 Commission Report...
  3. cdh
    Sep 3, 2010
    1
    Unoriginal in both plot and cinematography, the film takes the jerky first-person camera style (and 'discovered footage' device) of the Blair Witch Project and applies it to a narrative which could have been taken from any number of computer games from the past several decades. It's all here: the giant Godzilla-like monster rampaging through skyscrapers; human-sized aliens straight from Starship Troopers; cliched subway tunnel scenes; you name it. Fortunately for the producers, they had a clever marketing team which managed to exploit both the post-9/11 paranoia and various viral marketing strategies. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2011
    3
    lack of empathy for the characters, lame plot and a failure to make the viewer suspend their disbelief amounts to a pretty poor film. Concept is good but falls short by a long way.
  5. Apr 23, 2011
    0
    I can honestly say this is the worse film I ever saw in my life. The camera was so jerky it made me want to puke. The story was so stupid that the script wouldn't even beat a porno movie script. The characters are all so irritating that I wished the monster ate them all in the 1st 30 minutes that way my agony could have ended sooner. Not even worth $1 on the cheap bin. Staring out your window for 2 hours is a better use of your time than watching this movie. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2012
    3
    A poor movie. Some interesting ideas mostly in the form of the recording angle as its supposedly recorded on a handheld camera, personally i didn't think this worked at all though as i found it made it more confusing and didn't draw me in. As most people have stated the ending was awful, one of the worst i have ever seen to the extent that i stood up at the end of the and shouted at the screen. I would recommend that nobody see this movie.... ever. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    4
    While there is a good premise, and although I do understand the reason why they shot the film the way they did - all in all, this is at best, a late-night movie and not a grand cinematic experience what could expect. Diagnosis: You're not missing much if you pass it, and you might like it. The effects are terrific!
  8. Mar 21, 2013
    3
    This movie was great, but, apparently the director had to go and make it end like all of the other FREAKING HORROR MOVIES. He did that at the worst time also, I mean there was a great love story but then BOOM he goes and ruins it. And they don't even tell you where the creature came from!!!!! All you know is that something is attacking Manhattan and that's IT!! Recommend not watching this movie
  9. Apr 1, 2013
    0
    Easily one of the worst films I've seen. There really is nothing good about it. It is film that combines inane and pointless dialogue, bad acting, and no real scares or tension. Thankfully it has a running time of just 85 minutes (which still felt like a life time). One that is definitely best avoided.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. 75
    Cloverfield's gritty, in-your-face style is uncompromising. If you're looking for a nice, clean movie filmed with a steadycam, you'll have to look elsewhere.
  2. Think "Godzilla Unplugged" -- with chillingly effective results.
  3. Cloverfield, a surreptitiously subversive, stylistically clever little gem of an entertainment disguised, under its deadpan-neutral title, as a dumb Gen-YouTube monster movie, makes the convincingly chilling argument that the world will end -- or, at least, Manhattan will crumble -- with a bang and a whimper.