User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 823 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesBond
    Jun 29, 2008
    1
    This movie should be in the stupid section. I just wasted my money renting it
  2. BobD.
    Jun 4, 2008
    0
    wow this movie was the stupidest thing I have ever seen! Bad acting, Bad blair witch cinematics, no conclusive ending! what a waste of 5 bucks glad i didnt go to the theater to see it!
  3. MarcelP.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    Stunningly, and intensely real. Wow
  4. KatGim
    Jun 6, 2008
    2
    This movie was pretty good. Except the on going moving and turning, etc. I wish the camera would have been normal instead of someone always moving the camera and filming it. The action was good but the story didn't really make sense at all. There was a lot of pointless scenes and disturbing scenes. When some actors got hurt they didn't even act hurt, so not so good acting. But This movie was pretty good. Except the on going moving and turning, etc. I wish the camera would have been normal instead of someone always moving the camera and filming it. The action was good but the story didn't really make sense at all. There was a lot of pointless scenes and disturbing scenes. When some actors got hurt they didn't even act hurt, so not so good acting. But other then that the movie was okay. I hated the filming and some acting but everything else was okay. Nice imagination. Expand
  5. MarkoJ.
    Jun 7, 2008
    7
    I would have given this a 9, but I had to close my eyes during the last half of the movie because the extremely shaky camera made me ill so bad that I could not watch. Really liked the movie though.
  6. DaveK.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    A cinematic experiment that paid off fantastically. A bit "hokey Hollywood" towards the end, but I was still gripped to my seat for the entire movie. I look forward to seeing this movie even years from now, as this film will definitely stand the test of time for years to come.
  7. JoseC.
    Jul 20, 2008
    0
    This movie sucks balls.it's trash and its not worth buying or renting. it belongs in the trash.don't buy or rent it. you will regret it trust me.
  8. NunoS.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    I have just one question to everyone who gave a bad review to this movie... Have you really seen it??? No storyline? Not finished? You all make me laugh!!! This movie is by far the most thrilling idea i've seen in a really long while... I never had the dream of becoming an actor but i felt like one... I felt part of the movie! Great special effects, great idea, great story, great I have just one question to everyone who gave a bad review to this movie... Have you really seen it??? No storyline? Not finished? You all make me laugh!!! This movie is by far the most thrilling idea i've seen in a really long while... I never had the dream of becoming an actor but i felt like one... I felt part of the movie! Great special effects, great idea, great story, great movie... absolutely spectacular!!! Expand
  9. PJK
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    An absolutely amazing movie. It had such a realistic feel. When you see the military running into you shooting their guns in the air and a big monster crushing the entire city while looking trough a normal home camera, you just have to gasp in amazement.
  10. ParkerA.
    Jul 6, 2008
    2
    As unintelligent and ineffective as the characters: The Blair Witch Project meets Godzilla and I couldn't even connect with the monster. Thank god for fast forward.
  11. MeghanK
    Aug 20, 2008
    9
    "Cloverfield" was so intense and horrifying that it stuck with me after the movie was even over. I was literally quivering inside and I couldn't escape the spine-chilling images --- that is what I call an awesome movie experience.
  12. ShiviS.
    Sep 19, 2008
    8
    Well, i have seen lots of horror/thiller movies before...and i guess it's probably one of the best 'cause it was different and unique from the other...i felt like i was watching the entire situation in real by my own eyes...and believe me it was awesome but i do think this movie could've been better...'cause i really didn't like the ending....anyway i still give Well, i have seen lots of horror/thiller movies before...and i guess it's probably one of the best 'cause it was different and unique from the other...i felt like i was watching the entire situation in real by my own eyes...and believe me it was awesome but i do think this movie could've been better...'cause i really didn't like the ending....anyway i still give it 8...and will wait for the sequel. Expand
  13. AlexO
    Jun 23, 2009
    9
    Thrilling and intense. I suspect that many of the low user scores come from persons who watched the movie as a rental, rather than the big screen. The movie probably loses much of its impact when viewed on a small set (42" inches or less).
  14. BenD
    Sep 26, 2009
    1
    Another pathetic Fuck You NYC from LA. I actually enjoy that genre as a rule. But this one goes below the belt - which would be OK if it was intended to be nasty. But this is just lazy. I love a good monster and have always enjoyed watching pretty people get dispatched one by one (or two or three). But this movie is worse than bad. It is just as calculated and insulting as those jackass Another pathetic Fuck You NYC from LA. I actually enjoy that genre as a rule. But this one goes below the belt - which would be OK if it was intended to be nasty. But this is just lazy. I love a good monster and have always enjoyed watching pretty people get dispatched one by one (or two or three). But this movie is worse than bad. It is just as calculated and insulting as those jackass color panic codes or the 2002 convention in nyc. The movie simply lifts images from 9/11for popcorn entertainment, either to be faux edgy (eg LA edgy) or more likely because the directors couldn't actually come up with something original. I don't have a problem with movies dealing with 9/11 or using images that resonate from that day. But it has to have some meaning beyond cheap jollies. I can't say i am shocked, given the fact that we now seem to think it's ok to watch footage of fatal crashes - with even National Geographic whoring itself out to make a buck off of bloodlust. But I am irritated at myself for actually sitting through this movie. I'm also a little saddened by the fact that none of the other people posting on this page seem to have been bothered in the least by this exploitation of real people's suffering. Expand
  15. LukeG
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    Its a good movie, clover (the monster) is alright but not the best, the camera is original, plots kinda original, acting is good, its kinda freaky too.
  16. Chris
    Jan 25, 2010
    4
    To summarise the movie in one sentence: Godzilla, but without any closure. Slightly longer review would be that it has its moments; there are a fair few exciting parts which I think were done well and the acting overall was quite good, however it has more cons than pros. As much as people like the camera work, it really does get annoying after a while. Even if it is "more realistic", we To summarise the movie in one sentence: Godzilla, but without any closure. Slightly longer review would be that it has its moments; there are a fair few exciting parts which I think were done well and the acting overall was quite good, however it has more cons than pros. As much as people like the camera work, it really does get annoying after a while. Even if it is "more realistic", we don't necessarily want realism the entire time (hence why we're watching a film about a big alien invading NYC (on that note, why is it ALWAYS NYC?)), and it just gets really annoying having to look at the floor for 20% of the film. So, camera work aside, the film essentially has the exact same plot as Godzilla so it gets no marks for originality there. Still working with the Godzilla comparison though, Godzilla had a better ending at least: Cloverfield just tails off. Expand
  17. CameronS.
    Nov 10, 2008
    8
    Godzilla meets Blair Witch Project--an extremely risky cinematography experiment that paid off extremely well.
  18. PhilS.
    Nov 29, 2008
    2
    Just watching the movie gave me a real headache. The whole idea of running around with a video cam is crap. Your visual field is greatly diminished and the movement too vivid. The acting was OK I guess, except for the guy behind the cam. His over-acting just added to the discreditably and his character is annoying. The special effects is good - the only reason I gave it a 2.
  19. Stan
    Oct 17, 2008
    1
    This movie was the most unrealistic piece of shit i've ever seen. which actually would have been fine if the movie wasn't supposed to be a real account of a monster attack. everything was lit like a movie set, the camera was impossibly high quality, the performances were completely transparent, and the characters themselves were self-absorbed dickheads. they all deserved to die. This movie was the most unrealistic piece of shit i've ever seen. which actually would have been fine if the movie wasn't supposed to be a real account of a monster attack. everything was lit like a movie set, the camera was impossibly high quality, the performances were completely transparent, and the characters themselves were self-absorbed dickheads. they all deserved to die. in fact, the things that the filmmakers expected us to believe these people could survive was both ridiculous and infuriating. the on-the-nose dialogue and borderline racist and sexist cliche cardboard cut-out characters didn't help either. everyone is white (except for the token black guy at the party- and let's not forget the black people who were looting), and all the girls are idiots (except for the one who they killed. and she was borderline). this movie would have been good (or at least better) if the filmmakers had a)filmed this the way someone in the situation would have actually filmed it. what i mean by that is with a much crappier camera, camera angles that actually made sense (some of the angles shown are impossible or really awkward for someone shooting handheld), and in general much lower production values. i mean blair witch low production. it would have saved them money and made a better movie. b) they had ditched the idea of a camera altogether and just presented the movie from a guy's perspective as he is actually seeing it with his own eyes. c) if they had marketed it as the best spoof ever made of horror movies, stupid young people, and "true love." this movie gets a one in my book because after a while i chose to watch it as option c, so it at least kept me laughing. sorry for the long post but somebody has to warn people about this movie. Expand
  20. JohnV.
    Jan 18, 2008
    7
    Worth the money....ending suked.
  21. JoshN.
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    This movie was hysterical, intense, and even emotional. It's hard not to like it...definitely worth all the hype it's been getting
  22. R.Smith
    Jan 18, 2008
    7
    I thought the movie was very well done. It had stunning visuals and compelling character portrayal. The vantage point of the characters was fun to be in, and made you feel as if you were really with them. I thought the army scenes were amazing, and the acting was surprisingly realistic and natural. I however did not like the bouncing motion of the camera...it made me queasy and gave me a I thought the movie was very well done. It had stunning visuals and compelling character portrayal. The vantage point of the characters was fun to be in, and made you feel as if you were really with them. I thought the army scenes were amazing, and the acting was surprisingly realistic and natural. I however did not like the bouncing motion of the camera...it made me queasy and gave me a headache. This would be an easy 9 or 10 if the ending hadn't of left you wondering why you went to see the show in the first place. I think Hollywood tries to be too artistic sometimes...just give us what we want...a real ending. Expand
  23. ChrisV
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    I saw this movie today and i thought it was ok.. i mean, the movie is like the blair witch encounters with godzilla (but the monster here is kinda, like whe say, chafa in spanish) but the movie is really good, entertaining at least for the 1 hour and 15 minutes duration of it... see it on digital screen on the theaters, it looks amazing...
  24. GalenM.
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    I honestly believe reviewers bashin' this film are wayyy off the mark. Pretty plain and simple, this is a well-made movie and gives a shockingly new style to the genre. Short but sweet, it is pretty darned rough at points but never quite "emotionally sadistic" as Salon.com ignorantly put it. I think the characters were quite sufficient given the context -- the first part I felt I honestly believe reviewers bashin' this film are wayyy off the mark. Pretty plain and simple, this is a well-made movie and gives a shockingly new style to the genre. Short but sweet, it is pretty darned rough at points but never quite "emotionally sadistic" as Salon.com ignorantly put it. I think the characters were quite sufficient given the context -- the first part I felt wasn't so much a failed attempt at character background but simply a setting of scene, effectively getting the audience ready for a complete shattering of the movie's simulated reality. It's scary and harsh alright but wicked if you have any clue as to what you're getting into. GO SEE IT. Expand
  25. JosephH.
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Genuinely enjoyable monster flick. It was seriously awesome. As far as people talking about allusions to 9/11 and everything, I don't quite understand where they are coming from. Sometimes it is better to take something at face value, because sometimes there really isn't any underlying meaning to it. It seems to me that they wanted to make a monster flick, and set it in New Genuinely enjoyable monster flick. It was seriously awesome. As far as people talking about allusions to 9/11 and everything, I don't quite understand where they are coming from. Sometimes it is better to take something at face value, because sometimes there really isn't any underlying meaning to it. It seems to me that they wanted to make a monster flick, and set it in New York. They did just that. That's about it. It was well done, and I really enjoyed it. Expand
  26. Jonathon
    Jan 19, 2008
    8
    This movie was very realistic in the sense that in the highly unlikely event that a monster would attack this is likely the way the initial footage would be captured. The events of the movie also unfold in a very realistic manner which over helps create a certain level of believability to the movie. The acting could have been much better, but was good enough that it didn't distract This movie was very realistic in the sense that in the highly unlikely event that a monster would attack this is likely the way the initial footage would be captured. The events of the movie also unfold in a very realistic manner which over helps create a certain level of believability to the movie. The acting could have been much better, but was good enough that it didn't distract from the main elements of the movie. The action scenes and carnage in the movie is very well done and while the video quality is understandable poor, the special effects and the audio are superb. The monster itself is frightening, and on a positive note all the internet spoilers I saw were false. Not much is explained about what is going on and as a viewer you are kept pretty much in the dark as too what is happening which helps with relating to the characters and the situation itself. For what they were trying to portray they did a very good job. Expand
  27. EricC.
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    I don't get why everyone is complaining about the shakey camera. I could barely make it to the end of the Bourne Supremacy, but I didn't feel queezy for a second in this flick. But anyway, I'm really surprised. I got caught up in all the online hype over this movie, and I started to wonder "What if it's crap?". But for some reason, I love it. It's one of the best I don't get why everyone is complaining about the shakey camera. I could barely make it to the end of the Bourne Supremacy, but I didn't feel queezy for a second in this flick. But anyway, I'm really surprised. I got caught up in all the online hype over this movie, and I started to wonder "What if it's crap?". But for some reason, I love it. It's one of the best monster movies I've seen in a while, even if absolutely nothing is explained (what does Slusho have to do with anything?) But it works well as an experience. Having an army guy just come in and explain the monster and how to kill it would have completely ruined the pace of the movie. But it's not a perfect movie, and I can see why people aren't crazy about it. If you're not a monster movie person (like me) it can seem shallow and empty. But for me, it was haunting. Some shots were very well set up (not bad for a no name director). I don't know what else to say. I just really liked it. No, it's not perfect. But I was impressed just the same. And having a kickass monster helps too. Expand
  28. AlexB
    Jan 19, 2008
    8
    Cloverfield delivered the goods for me - I'm a fan of disaster movies and monster movies. The fx were great, the plot didn't have any big holes in it (unusual for sci-fi films), and the ending was not your typical hollywood fare. On the downside, the characters were just so-so. By the time I sat through the first 20 minutes of the movie (which only shows the pretty young things Cloverfield delivered the goods for me - I'm a fan of disaster movies and monster movies. The fx were great, the plot didn't have any big holes in it (unusual for sci-fi films), and the ending was not your typical hollywood fare. On the downside, the characters were just so-so. By the time I sat through the first 20 minutes of the movie (which only shows the pretty young things partying), I was more than ready for them to be turned into monster chow; throughout the rest of the film I never really cared about them. However, once the monster shows up, the pacing works, there are some good shock and scare moments, buildings crumble satisfactorily, and there's not TOO much gore. OK, the characters act a bit dumb sometimes, but that's a tradition in this kind of film. As an updated Godzilla film, Cloverfield works and is worth seeing. Expand
  29. Carrie
    Jan 19, 2008
    4
    If you do not get motion sickness easily, this is the movie for you. My friend and I had to not watch half of the movie because we felt sick to our stomache. The monster is like a half whale half godzilla, and the special effetcs are great, just bring a puke bag with you incase
  30. AdamT.
    Jan 19, 2008
    8
    The camera is jittery...yes...thats the point. Get over it. As for the ending, if any of you had been paying attention to the opening sequences, it tells you the ending. Not everything has a perfect closure. Much like life. Deal with it or just stop seeing movies all together. I'm sure there are plenty of copies of Shrek the 3rd if you're looking for happy endings.
  31. JoshW.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Although not cinematically a perfect movie it still merrits a 10. For me the best Horror/Sci-Fi movies are the ones which manages to tap into our modern fears and anxieties. Movies like the Truman Show and The Matrix explored Post-Modernist fears of a false and meaningless existence while entertaining. Godizilla (the original) tapped into a nations fragile sense of being after becoming Although not cinematically a perfect movie it still merrits a 10. For me the best Horror/Sci-Fi movies are the ones which manages to tap into our modern fears and anxieties. Movies like the Truman Show and The Matrix explored Post-Modernist fears of a false and meaningless existence while entertaining. Godizilla (the original) tapped into a nations fragile sense of being after becoming the first (and luckily to this day, the only) people ever attacked by nuclear weapons. Cloverfield is obviously a hyper-real answer to the banality of Post-Modernism in that it shows us real things, terrible things always have consequences. It does so by invoking the fear of 9/11 and by showing us a small personalized persepctive on an unexpected catastrophy. I was utterly taken with how real and immediate the sense of danger was in this movie. Unlike the remake of Godzilla, this monster didn't take care to run between the skyscrapers. And when it smashed into one, debri (and entire buildings) fell, and people the people below had to deal with the unimagineable task of surving that. The movies obvious faults in retrospect, the vertigo it gave me due to the camera work being the main one, in hindsight have become an integral part of the film for me. This is because I honestly believe that had things been done differently the movie wouldn't have stayed with me the way it has, continuing to make me think about my own fragility in a world I usually have little or no say in. Expand
  32. MeghanL
    Jan 19, 2008
    1
    Ok... This movie tries to hard to be cool... The 9-11 flashbacks were a little has been. The whole first half hour dragged on for so long, you were probably woken up by the first bang. And after that, you were just trying to prevent yourself from going into epileptic fits. This movie is so shaky, boring,dragtastic. Please ... save yourself the 84 minutes.
  33. TonyS
    Jan 19, 2008
    8
    Not Fantastic, but still surprisingly well done. Among the group of us that went to see this film Friday the overall afterthoughts on this film were positive. I was mostly surprised by the fact that the movie wasn't cheesy! True you never find out where the monster came from, but the point is to keep the film in first person perspective (you know what they know). I will get this Not Fantastic, but still surprisingly well done. Among the group of us that went to see this film Friday the overall afterthoughts on this film were positive. I was mostly surprised by the fact that the movie wasn't cheesy! True you never find out where the monster came from, but the point is to keep the film in first person perspective (you know what they know). I will get this movie when it comes out! Expand
  34. ScottC
    Jan 19, 2008
    7
    I was expecting a Blair Witch meets Godzilla movie - and that's what I got. Shaky handycam aside, the pacing and suspense were good. I was surprised at how real the character dialog felt. However, there were sequences where I clearly saw the "insert thrilling videogame sequence here" sign. Do not see this movie if you want the cliche happy ending - come on people, the previews I was expecting a Blair Witch meets Godzilla movie - and that's what I got. Shaky handycam aside, the pacing and suspense were good. I was surprised at how real the character dialog felt. However, there were sequences where I clearly saw the "insert thrilling videogame sequence here" sign. Do not see this movie if you want the cliche happy ending - come on people, the previews clearly state that the camera was "found", not galdly handed over by happy survivors! All in all, I still think this is a well made addition to the "what if the worst suddenly happened" style of movies. Expand
  35. DonK
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Exciting Thrill, Hand held camera makes movie exciting and emotional. Shows interesting look on people's reactions when faced with a large attack. Enjoyable, likeable characters, keeps you on the edge of your seat.
  36. EstherN
    Jan 19, 2008
    8
    I really enjoyed this film. It was cannily paced (it needed some mundaneness at the beginning) and managed to convey the sense of great violence and loss. I'm a bit surprised at just _how much_ painfully stupid people haven't enjoyed it. Also, wretched taste sci-fi fanboys, like the losers at Slashdot, for whom no one should aim a movie.
  37. MercedesM
    Jan 19, 2008
    8
    I have to say that the movie was something I had never before seen done so well. It was alot better than Blair Witch although all the shaking of the camera made me queasy but I survived. I would suggest that you sit in the very back, the people back there said it wasn't that bad. Overall I was impressed and would recommend it.
  38. FRina
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Those who thought dull are the same ones that want the same old predictable movie and everything spelled out for them...yes the camera was shaky, but had I been filming it wouldve been shakier, so it just added to the realism of this monster movie... I say go see it!!
  39. Jenneyl
    Jan 19, 2008
    0
    If you have ever had a problem with motion sickness, stay away from this movie. I just saw it and forget going out drinking. I got nauseated halfway through it. I didnt realize what it was and I told my boyfriend I might be pregnant. Then I thought about it and knew it was the movie. After that, I had to look away from the screen during the rest of the movie. Why a big budget movie would If you have ever had a problem with motion sickness, stay away from this movie. I just saw it and forget going out drinking. I got nauseated halfway through it. I didnt realize what it was and I told my boyfriend I might be pregnant. Then I thought about it and knew it was the movie. After that, I had to look away from the screen during the rest of the movie. Why a big budget movie would do this, I dont know. I felt like the only thing else to do was get up and ask for my money back. It ruined what was good of the movie... Made you feel the monster was stupid and the ending wasn't good enough for the whole ordeal the characters and I had to go through. After all this, you realize the only thing different about this movie was the use of one camara camcorder, which is not a very good thing. You are so absorbed with just trying to see what is going on that you don't realize until the ending that there was no substance or explanation of anything. Just random footage from the experience of a few people. I guess that's not what the director was going after... In summary, it was just a long ride at Universal Studios. Expand
  40. rustys.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    this movie was amazing. one of the best movies i have ever seen. its character development is sufficient enough to instill empathy for the viewer. they tie in just enough comedy to keep it realistic and remind everybody of their one quirky friend. the movie is overall stunning amazing and brilliantly done.
  41. Marcus
    Jan 21, 2008
    5
    This movie was a bust, over hyped the camera work was very bad. The monster looked kool but the story and direction of this movie was very bad. The only people that will like this movie are people who like weird dumbass movies....
  42. bc
    Jan 21, 2008
    2
    While concept seems original, it is just a poorly veiled mask for Godzilla on You Tube meets 9/11 footage. No characters to empathize with, poor dialog and poor attempts at emotionally manipulative editing, the film would have been better if it were made for TV. Rental, maybe? I was sad to see that the monster did not eat or kill all the main characters. The film is getting a 2 for good While concept seems original, it is just a poorly veiled mask for Godzilla on You Tube meets 9/11 footage. No characters to empathize with, poor dialog and poor attempts at emotionally manipulative editing, the film would have been better if it were made for TV. Rental, maybe? I was sad to see that the monster did not eat or kill all the main characters. The film is getting a 2 for good use of special effects. Expand
  43. JimmyR.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    This is honestly the best movie I've seen in a long time. The camera work was superb. It made me believe that I was watching an amateur recording the whole incident and made me believe that I was in the middle of all the action. The monster was intense and original. I saw more of it than I thought I would. This movie, though drawing inspiration from Blair Witch and Godzilla, stays This is honestly the best movie I've seen in a long time. The camera work was superb. It made me believe that I was watching an amateur recording the whole incident and made me believe that I was in the middle of all the action. The monster was intense and original. I saw more of it than I thought I would. This movie, though drawing inspiration from Blair Witch and Godzilla, stays original. I've never seen a movie with this experience before. Truly a great movie. I don't see how anyone could give this movie a low score. Expand
  44. JorgeC.
    Jan 21, 2008
    1
    one of the top 5 worse movies I've ever seen.
  45. RobYou
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    Thought it was really fun, a good scary flick that tried something different and didn't need to venture into torture porn. Also, I don't have a pussy stomach so I don't have to whine about the film style.
  46. KentM.
    Jan 21, 2008
    9
    One of those movies that is going to be really loved or really hated. I thought it was good overall. Going into the movie, I thought it would be good and happily it didn't disappoint me. I wasn't aware of the handheld camera "effect" that this movie used for it's story but as others have stated I think it added to the "realistic" feel of the movie. It kept me interested One of those movies that is going to be really loved or really hated. I thought it was good overall. Going into the movie, I thought it would be good and happily it didn't disappoint me. I wasn't aware of the handheld camera "effect" that this movie used for it's story but as others have stated I think it added to the "realistic" feel of the movie. It kept me interested from beginning to end. Yes, it may have been overhyped a bit, but I think overall it had a good story, good acting and it most of all, even before all the action started, it kept my attention. Really good movie. Expand
  47. RayT
    Jan 21, 2008
    0
    Beyond awful! I seem to remember film being a visual medium, someone should have reminded the makers of this movie of that. I understand what they were trying to accomplish with it being handheld and from the POV of the characters, but it renders it incomprehensible. I literally felt like I couldn't comprehend what was going on 95% percent of the time, which really makes it hard to Beyond awful! I seem to remember film being a visual medium, someone should have reminded the makers of this movie of that. I understand what they were trying to accomplish with it being handheld and from the POV of the characters, but it renders it incomprehensible. I literally felt like I couldn't comprehend what was going on 95% percent of the time, which really makes it hard to make any kind of emotional investment...in well anything in this movie. When I go to see a "Monster Movie" it be nice to be able to decipher what said monster looks like. I like idea of the little spider like creatures falling off the main monster, but that is immediately lost if you can't understand what the heck is going on. The TV ads are misleading because they are in clear color, and nothing in the movie is that clear. Expand
  48. jamess
    Jan 21, 2008
    2
    Bad camera work isn't interesting. The story is too "real" so there is no real plot or character development. You don't get any cool info or a good look at the monster and there is no real ending in terms of the big story. The best this about it is seeing new york torn up but thats about it. Don't believe the hype.
  49. jefframonejeff
    Jan 21, 2008
    7
    This is not high art, to be sure. But I did have a good time -- despite the stomach-turning hand-held camera work. MOst people have complained that the characters are annoying and shallow. As this is essentially a monster movie, I expect people to be one thing: meat. If you like horror movies, monster movies specifically -- this is much better made and more realistic than shit like "One This is not high art, to be sure. But I did have a good time -- despite the stomach-turning hand-held camera work. MOst people have complained that the characters are annoying and shallow. As this is essentially a monster movie, I expect people to be one thing: meat. If you like horror movies, monster movies specifically -- this is much better made and more realistic than shit like "One MIssed Call" or "The Eye". It's not "Citizen Cane", but it is fun. Expand
  50. BruceC
    Jan 21, 2008
    3
    I'd heard that this movie was a kind of "Godzilla meets Blair Witch Project". The movie is essentially a typical monster movie, but with all the action shot 'live' on a handheld cam-corder. It sounded like a new take on an old idea, but I found the idea was taken way, way too far. The camera gets waved around so much that it's often hard to tell what the hell is going I'd heard that this movie was a kind of "Godzilla meets Blair Witch Project". The movie is essentially a typical monster movie, but with all the action shot 'live' on a handheld cam-corder. It sounded like a new take on an old idea, but I found the idea was taken way, way too far. The camera gets waved around so much that it's often hard to tell what the hell is going on. I suppose that's the effect the director was trying to achieve, but he overdid it by an order of magnitude! The idea would have worked much better if the camera had at least been held still, instead of looking like the film was taken by a spastic monkey. I would have given this movie a B- or C+, but the crappy, jittery handcam filming was horrible and brings the movie down a couple of notches. Ugh. Don't waste $10 to watch this in a theatre - or even $5 for a rental from Blockbuster! Expand
  51. JimmyC
    Jan 21, 2008
    0
    The movie looked kinda good from whatever I saw when I wasn't closing my eyes and trying hard not to throw up my popcorn. That was the first time I had ever left in the middle of a movie. The idea of watching from the characters' viewpoint sounded like a great idea, but when the entire movie is shot with shakiness and rapid movement, its kinda hard to enjoy when suffering from The movie looked kinda good from whatever I saw when I wasn't closing my eyes and trying hard not to throw up my popcorn. That was the first time I had ever left in the middle of a movie. The idea of watching from the characters' viewpoint sounded like a great idea, but when the entire movie is shot with shakiness and rapid movement, its kinda hard to enjoy when suffering from motion sickness. My popcorn bag almost became my barf bag. Would I like to have finished the movie? Yes, but I'll wait for the DVD. Hopefully it will be easier to cope with on a smaller screen. Expand
  52. KenH.
    Jan 22, 2008
    1
    I like action / monster / horror movies but the dialog is terribly written and the plot is paper-thin. Younger teens seem to love the movie and that concerns me that actually liked the movie.
  53. TylerS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    7
    It's sort of the blair with project on crack meets a superior godzilla/aliens-esque monster who's got nasty little babies eating up everything moving. One of those genuine LOVE / HATE movies. Either you love it or ya hate it. Personally I found it to be rather entertaining, but only on the basis of reality. If a monster REALLY did attack New York, and you were at a party, what It's sort of the blair with project on crack meets a superior godzilla/aliens-esque monster who's got nasty little babies eating up everything moving. One of those genuine LOVE / HATE movies. Either you love it or ya hate it. Personally I found it to be rather entertaining, but only on the basis of reality. If a monster REALLY did attack New York, and you were at a party, what would YOU experience? How would YOU react? If you had a loved one in danger would you run away or would you go save them? Special effects were minimal as LIFE needs no special effects. This movie was about reality, not glitz and glamour and special effects. (minus the 100 foot tall beastie of course)... It's a glimpse into the future if indeed a sleeping monster did rise up from the depths of the earth and attack a major metropolitan city, such as New York. And for everyone saying to themselves I would act this way or that, having been a US Marine myself and staring down the barrel of the gun... you really don't know your true nature until god forbid, you're thrown into the fire and truly tested. Expand
  54. MattR
    Jan 22, 2008
    5
    I had high expectations and..... By far the biggest disappointment in a long time. Story was corny, not in depth at all. Just overall a huge disappointment. IF you see this movie wait till its on vidoe ot at the cheap theater. If you wait for video you wont get as bad a headache watching it.
  55. JamesM
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    CLOVERFIELD was a great experience. It felt like I was there because of the video camera. A must see in theaters.
  56. AustinL.
    Jan 22, 2008
    8
    Never could figure out how theses woman walk around in high heels without crippling them selves
  57. ChristopherB.
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    Cloverfield is the Blair Witch Project meets Godzilla gone completely wrong. An unintelligent movie, that only impressed me when they momentarily played the Of Montreal song, "Wraith Pinned To The Mist (And Other Games)". This is mainstream entertainment at its lowest.
  58. ED.
    Jan 22, 2008
    6
    The concept was good, but the home movie scenario definitely was not a plus. The party segment was way too long and very boring. The characters in the movie were tedious to say the least. By the end of the movie I would have liked to have killed them myself. It is a shame they didn't have decent cinematography, and maybe included a military look at trying to destroy the monster. The concept was good, but the home movie scenario definitely was not a plus. The party segment was way too long and very boring. The characters in the movie were tedious to say the least. By the end of the movie I would have liked to have killed them myself. It is a shame they didn't have decent cinematography, and maybe included a military look at trying to destroy the monster. Overall: a missed opportunity to make a good horror movie. Expand
  59. DannyL.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    This movie, Cloverfield is the most epic movie I've ever watched since The Lord of the Rings. You aren't viewing the action. You are almost part of the whole action which enhances the experience. You learn new things about the monster and the capabilities it has. Many people are complaining that the monster looks like crap but NO ONE can seriously do any better. The monster is This movie, Cloverfield is the most epic movie I've ever watched since The Lord of the Rings. You aren't viewing the action. You are almost part of the whole action which enhances the experience. You learn new things about the monster and the capabilities it has. Many people are complaining that the monster looks like crap but NO ONE can seriously do any better. The monster is fantastic. Other people are saying this movie sucked because it wasn't scary. Those people are known in our society as dumbasses. This movie is not a horror movie but falls under the genre of suspense. However, this is all my opinion and my opinion is telling the world, "Please please please watch this movie. It is an instant classic that actually lived up to the hype it has been receiving before the release. 10/10 Expand
  60. Haxwell
    Jan 22, 2008
    3
    This movie could have been so much better. Besides the fact they wasted 20+ minutes at the beginning with that stupid party, Hud and his inane remarks made me want to blow popcorn chunks each time he said something.. The characters were not believable, unrealistic turns of events, it just could have been so much better. I recommend anybody who ever has the feeling they could be doing This movie could have been so much better. Besides the fact they wasted 20+ minutes at the beginning with that stupid party, Hud and his inane remarks made me want to blow popcorn chunks each time he said something.. The characters were not believable, unrealistic turns of events, it just could have been so much better. I recommend anybody who ever has the feeling they could be doing something else while watching TV, not go and see this movie. Save your ends. Expand
  61. JohnA
    Jan 22, 2008
    3
    Lousy!
  62. MarcusG.
    Jan 22, 2008
    3
    It's almost tragic that this film is so half-baked. The shaky, first-person perspective gave me a very rare feeling of fear and helplessness. This was entirely overshadowed by the film's ability to nauseate, as well as a very weak, overused plot. Factor in many obvious errors in logic and continuity and you have a very disappointing film that is only thriving on excellent It's almost tragic that this film is so half-baked. The shaky, first-person perspective gave me a very rare feeling of fear and helplessness. This was entirely overshadowed by the film's ability to nauseate, as well as a very weak, overused plot. Factor in many obvious errors in logic and continuity and you have a very disappointing film that is only thriving on excellent marketing and hype. Expand
  63. RyanP.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    People seem to forget about suspending disbelief while watching this movie. Does any great monster movie not take liberties with design and plot? Suspend your disbelief and go see this movie. It is full of action, great special effects, and intensity. I think some people were disappointed when they realized it was not a documentary but instead a Godzilla rehash. Any monster destroys city People seem to forget about suspending disbelief while watching this movie. Does any great monster movie not take liberties with design and plot? Suspend your disbelief and go see this movie. It is full of action, great special effects, and intensity. I think some people were disappointed when they realized it was not a documentary but instead a Godzilla rehash. Any monster destroys city flick is. That doesn't mean that we should stop making them. It is a damn good film and it deserves praise for its accomplishments. Expand
  64. TizianaH
    Jan 22, 2008
    1
    This must have been the worst movie i saw within the last 10 years. (The last one i walked out on was Cliffhanger) Unoriginal, boring, badly written, badly played, no story-line, no suspension or captivating action. I give it one star as i can appreciate the ironic TV backdrop in one scene where sponge bob sq pants, king kong and other monsters are seen.
  65. RobertB.
    Jan 23, 2008
    9
    I loved this movie, suspenseful, Great story and really emotional and real parts. I didn't get sick at all, i don't know how anyone really could get sick, but maybe its the video games that trained me. The movie was only about 1h and 15m long or so. I would of gave it a perfect 10 if it was longer, but it was a great movie.
  66. PhilP
    Jan 23, 2008
    1
    This is the kind of movie you rent with a free coupon. It is a glorified "blair witch". It is semi interesting, but there is almost no story, no answers of any kind, and nothing but the shaky cam. It is quite frankly hard to watch, and they can pretty much throw in anything they want without explanation. Basically this movie cheats on everything it takes to make a good movie with the This is the kind of movie you rent with a free coupon. It is a glorified "blair witch". It is semi interesting, but there is almost no story, no answers of any kind, and nothing but the shaky cam. It is quite frankly hard to watch, and they can pretty much throw in anything they want without explanation. Basically this movie cheats on everything it takes to make a good movie with the excuse that it is all on this camcorder. If you want to see the blair witch meets godzilla with no explanation or back story what so ever - you might like this. Everyone else will probably see it for what it is, a cheap movie that is just trying to capitalize on people not knowing what it is about. Expand
  67. GeorgeH.
    Jan 23, 2008
    9
    A true Monster Movie, in every sense of the word. My only complaint would be that it should have been longer.
  68. PaulR.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    EXCELLENT!!!!! A great concept on a SciFi Monster film as seen through the eyes of the victims. Did not need high budget actors and a lot of big FX shots. It kept me riveted to my seat not wondering what was going to happen next. You really did not need any answers to what and why. Just thoroughly entertaining.
  69. PatrickO.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    Really awesome monster movie. Can't see how anyone would have a problem with it unless they don't like monster movies in general or they are 12 years old and only want to see the monster kill people and destroy things. There is plenty enough character development so that you care about the people you see in danger and they don't do stupid things that normal people would not Really awesome monster movie. Can't see how anyone would have a problem with it unless they don't like monster movies in general or they are 12 years old and only want to see the monster kill people and destroy things. There is plenty enough character development so that you care about the people you see in danger and they don't do stupid things that normal people would not do (i.e., split up and separate when monsters are lurking about) and act realistically (note: when they go on their mission to find the girl they know exactly where she is although the audience misses that part of the phone message she leaves). Sure, some of the characters, especially the cameraman, are non-too-bright, but so are most people in life sad to say. The point is that none of the characters are the pathetic stupid idiots who populate most monster movies. Also, if you do watch the movie be sure to pay close attention to the closing Coney Island beach shot. If you are watching carefully you will see something occur for a split second that explains a lot. Expand
  70. Fantasy
    Jan 24, 2008
    0
    OK I have had enough. I always hated those action shots professionally done in which the camera is shaking. Now in this turkey of a movie, they have taken it to the extreme by having the camera shake causing motion sickness. Enough already. This is an amateur production at best videoed with a camcorder. Total Cost of this production including the actor and the director is $1. What's OK I have had enough. I always hated those action shots professionally done in which the camera is shaking. Now in this turkey of a movie, they have taken it to the extreme by having the camera shake causing motion sickness. Enough already. This is an amateur production at best videoed with a camcorder. Total Cost of this production including the actor and the director is $1. What's next PET ROCKS? Who would be stupid enough to actually pay for a rock? Oops I forgot the same morons who actually paid to see this turkey with the shaky camcorder! Expand
  71. RyanD.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    This is definitely one of favorite movies of all time. I LOVED the shaky camera, but sadly, I realize that people wouldn't have been critical of the movie if it had had smooth video. But that was the art of it! It wouldn't have looked as realistic if they had done normal camera work. I thought it was just amazing. Anyway, I didn't see what people are talking about at the This is definitely one of favorite movies of all time. I LOVED the shaky camera, but sadly, I realize that people wouldn't have been critical of the movie if it had had smooth video. But that was the art of it! It wouldn't have looked as realistic if they had done normal camera work. I thought it was just amazing. Anyway, I didn't see what people are talking about at the end, so I will have to (gladly) go watch it again. Expand
  72. DavidGG
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    WOW... i was just blown away. The beginning is a little slow but as soon as the jolt hits the city, it becomes one of the best movies of all time. Acting is great, special effects are great, everything about this movie is great. GO SEE IT!
  73. MichaelA
    Jan 25, 2008
    0
    This movie sucked so bad that my friends will never let me pick a movie again! I want my $9.50 back, but I know I will never get that hour and a half back. I wanted to vomit after the first 10 minutes. Why the hell would I pay for an hour and 15 minute movie and then have to watch as the camera is pointed at someones feet? Save your money and donate it or something, you will feel much This movie sucked so bad that my friends will never let me pick a movie again! I want my $9.50 back, but I know I will never get that hour and a half back. I wanted to vomit after the first 10 minutes. Why the hell would I pay for an hour and 15 minute movie and then have to watch as the camera is pointed at someones feet? Save your money and donate it or something, you will feel much better than hating yourself for watching this movie. Expand
  74. WingM.
    Jan 25, 2008
    0
    Some say this movie did not deserve a 0, claming that the "shaky-camera" is the decisive reason why people give it poor ratings. Thus, I will clarify exactly why this movie should go straight to the top of the Worst Movies of All Time list. For starters, the script was possibly written by a fourth grader; in fact, I might actually appreciate it if it had been. Second, nothing was resolved Some say this movie did not deserve a 0, claming that the "shaky-camera" is the decisive reason why people give it poor ratings. Thus, I will clarify exactly why this movie should go straight to the top of the Worst Movies of All Time list. For starters, the script was possibly written by a fourth grader; in fact, I might actually appreciate it if it had been. Second, nothing was resolved - at all. Even things that happened were for the most part left in complete obscurity. The Onion said that was the amazing part of the film... let's throw back to basic English plot lessons. There's nothing wrong with leaving things open to interpretation, but the entire movie? Third... there were explosions... big deal. Aside from its few moments, there were times that I actually forgot I was in the theatre because I completely lost interest. Even the first Lord of the Rings, with its endless walking, was more entertaining than the first 30 minutes of Cloverfield. In the end, though, Cloverfield did produce one exciting phenomenon that I had never before seen: people demanding their money back. Expand
  75. AdamH
    Jan 25, 2008
    9
    All the people that give this a 0 cause of the camera need to grow up. If you can't handle it then that's your deal. It doesn't mean it's a crappy movie cause you can't compensate. Go back to your kiddie rides at the amusement and stop pretending to review movies.
  76. JimPrinceton
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    THIS MOVIE IS AMAZING. I can see people loving this movie and i can see people hating it but this is the kind of movie that you cant determine to see it with reviews, you have to just go see it and either love it or hate it.
  77. R.R.
    Jan 26, 2008
    2
    -First of all, Adam H, that's a pretty harsh criticism to be making of the people that didn't like this movie. I guess if someone didn't enjoy it they need to "grow up" cuz they're nothing but kids. Wow, what an ignorant statement. -And for those who say plot and meaning don't matter, you're absolutely correct, but the problem is this movie did try to have -First of all, Adam H, that's a pretty harsh criticism to be making of the people that didn't like this movie. I guess if someone didn't enjoy it they need to "grow up" cuz they're nothing but kids. Wow, what an ignorant statement. -And for those who say plot and meaning don't matter, you're absolutely correct, but the problem is this movie did try to have meaning, like with its visual references to Sept 11. So don't tell me meaning's not important in a movie if the very movie you're reviewing tries to be an allegory of major historical events we're ALL familiar with. The problem with Cloverfield was that there was no real REASON why they had these references to 9/11: what point were they trying to make, because, as Wing M pointed out, nothing gets resolved. Were they just showing off with their use of allegory? -Also, I don't care for shaky-camera action as long as it's done artfully and with purpose. In this case it was, but there's such a thing as taking it too far: the director was just showing off by trying to give his movie a distinct visual style (and some scenes were just so obscurely presented), but it's been done before (Bourne Ultimatum, for example). -The characters were hollow and unbelievable. No, I'm not being randomly bias by bashing every aspect of this movie. My proof: what about that Marlena girl who, from the very start of the movie doesn't seem to care for anyone, suddenly gets the bright idea to go along with the group to find the main lead's girlfriend? Yeah, very realistic: I'll just risk my life for people I don't like. -The humour wasn't at all witty, except some people seemed to find the guy who held the camera to be funny because he was so pathetic. Oh, and the first 20 or so minutes were stretched out to tediousness: most of those scenes or dialog wasn't needed, and the attempt at character development fell far short. -This movie doesn't know what kind of movie it wants to be, and trying to bend genres isn't helping them: is it a love story, because it feels too empty to be a love story? Is it a political allegory? Is it a monster movie? Probably, because that's what it ends up being at the end, even though I was looking forward to something deeper. And saying that it's all these things doesn't help because the genres are never explored to their fullest since the movie is so short. -And I went into the theater really wanting to see this movie, having lined up 2 hours beforehand on opening day, so don't tell me I'm bias in any way. Expand
  78. AdamD.
    Jan 26, 2008
    3
    was an epic failure, gets more than a 0 because the visual and sound was good, and the camera work was very interesting, but the rest of the movie is an F-.
  79. IndykenU
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    Even though it is basically a blend of The Blair Witch Project on steroids meets Godzilla, the special effects were AMAZING. My only beef was the ending. it totally BLEW!! Everybody dies.
  80. NickD
    Jan 26, 2008
    8
    I hate jittery camerawork, but found this film less jarring than that found in the Greengrass Bourne films and Flight 93. At least Cloverfield actually has a reason. I loved that this movie nods to the monster genre--the post-9/11 footage format is what makes it inventive. I don't think the dialogue was meant to be great--the opening 20 minutes seemed to be the writers poking fun at I hate jittery camerawork, but found this film less jarring than that found in the Greengrass Bourne films and Flight 93. At least Cloverfield actually has a reason. I loved that this movie nods to the monster genre--the post-9/11 footage format is what makes it inventive. I don't think the dialogue was meant to be great--the opening 20 minutes seemed to be the writers poking fun at themselves: a send up of Felicity. There's a little thing 'sophisticated' reviewers don't seem to realize--movies, fiction have this little thing called "a suspension of disbelief." I find it disturbing that the negative reviewers like Manohla Dargis, so disdainful of these "stupid, shallow" (fictional) characters were proud to actually write in their reviews that they were rooting for their deaths. I may not be as intelligent as the New York Times, but I got the impression from some reviews that if a young New Yorker isn't portrayed as intelligent (in a genre movie of all places) then they deserve to die. Heartwarming. Expand
  81. Dixie
    Jan 26, 2008
    1
    This movie simply sucks ass. Every eye-shatteringly pointless moment of it.
  82. Mark
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    Cloverfield is probably the most intense movies I've ever seen. The choice to use a camcorder was great (although I did get motion sick by the end) as it really immerses the viewer in the movie. The first several minutes of the movie are boring, but after that the excitement rapidly ramps up. The monster's first attack was one of the most thrilling scenes I've ever seen in a movie.
  83. KevinM.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Cloverfield was a great movie! I thought the cameras was a great idea! A certain scene dealing with nightvision made me jump half out of my seat! Thoroughly enjoyable!
  84. ChrisB.
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Wanted to give it 9.5, but it said it was found on a SD card...and you just 'cant' overwrite footage on a SD card!! oh a rebar through shoulder really cripples your ability to lug injured boyfriends around!
  85. RandobB.
    Feb 15, 2008
    0
    most people in the cinema saw this monstrosity and had absolutely no idea of any storyline, no idea what was happening it's got to the worst pile of junk ever. the best bit of the film was the credits at the end.
  86. CraigM
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    It has been quite a long time since a movie had me literally on the edge of my seat. (Of course, a lot of the time I was craning my neck one way or the other trying to figure out what I was seeing. Because the first time seeing it I felt like I was on sensory overload, I saw it a second time and it was just as exciting and the anxiety kicked in just like the first time. I think that the It has been quite a long time since a movie had me literally on the edge of my seat. (Of course, a lot of the time I was craning my neck one way or the other trying to figure out what I was seeing. Because the first time seeing it I felt like I was on sensory overload, I saw it a second time and it was just as exciting and the anxiety kicked in just like the first time. I think that the people complaining are just too used to having everything spelled out for them and explained away neatly. I for one enjoyed being kept in the dark, no pun intended. Expand
  87. DennisS.
    Feb 16, 2008
    6
    1/6 shaky boredom, 5/6 shaky tenseness. Nice effects, shallow story. It's probably a Marmite-film and you'll either hate or love it.
  88. NickJ.
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    I have never felt so excited in the cinema since Back to the Future and I was about 7 years old then. Cloverfield was just such an amazing roller coaster of anxiety and dread. I think you need to let yourself go and you will then be gripped by this film. I felt like I was being hunted all the way through. Brilliant film making in my opinion.
  89. BillK.
    Feb 17, 2008
    9
    A lot of fun. Extremely well made disaster movie. I question people that are saying they didn't know what was going on. I had no problem. I guess some people need to go watch movies where things move at a snails pace and everything is spelled out for them. Personally I appreciate an action flick that didn't dumb it down.
  90. LouisM.
    Feb 19, 2008
    8
    I find it interesting to see that people give this movie a bad rating due to their own motion sickness. Ha-Ha! If camera shaking induces motion sickness, it does not make it a bad movie! I enjoyed it but it did not grip me. I never felt fear for the characters well-being (which is different to realizing their lives are in danger). In Blair Witch I was sucked into the movie and became one I find it interesting to see that people give this movie a bad rating due to their own motion sickness. Ha-Ha! If camera shaking induces motion sickness, it does not make it a bad movie! I enjoyed it but it did not grip me. I never felt fear for the characters well-being (which is different to realizing their lives are in danger). In Blair Witch I was sucked into the movie and became one of them. Not here though. Maybe I expected too much. Still very good and excellent special effects. Expand
  91. RicoG.
    Feb 23, 2008
    8
    Well i liked the Movie, it was good and very original. To shacky of a Camera but it could have been better. I wasn't Disappointed. Not the greatest Movie in the world but i have seen worse Cough!!! Blare witch Project Cough!!!!
  92. Ksmith
    Mar 26, 2008
    0
    thought it was a discusting film ... no need for it!! ... the endin was pointless!! wtf nd it was jus a pointless film. the only film i think ive ever regretted watchin!! the movie made me feel sick as it is jus a guy runnin round with a camera pointless!!... really wasnt impressed sorry.
  93. BillyG.
    Mar 31, 2008
    0
    Horrible movie! Incredibly boring, it never got started, just the main characters walking around the whole time.I got mixed feelings about the ending 1.It came out of nowhere, I didnt know if I had to get up when the credits started rolling or if it was some kind of joke. 2. I was happy the headache generator was over. Movie was a total waste of time, Dont watch it
  94. SamN.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    As a movie, Cloverfield is decent. Writing is passable, acting ok, and overall a passable movie. As an experience, it's intense, ridiculously entertaining, and absolutely unforgettable. @ Matt S. They're being chased by a fucking monster. If anything, it wasn't 'jittery' enough.
  95. Jesse
    Apr 21, 2008
    8
    This movie is all about fun and i had a good time watching it.
  96. MikeG.
    Apr 24, 2008
    1
    well i give it a 1 because it basically sucked .. the whole thing from the beginning when they started filming with that lame camera till the end when they get blown up and you don't know what happened .. also i like to know who would film all of that while that was going on... i give it one star cause it wasn't scary ... believable ... or even witty ... lame lame lame.
  97. JA
    Apr 25, 2008
    8
    Ken W called the movie a "show". only people in the industry call movies "shows". I questions whether this guy is just a jaded ex pro or maybe got fired off the movie. Cloverfield is excellent entertainment.
  98. KameronM.
    Apr 27, 2008
    8
    I thought this movie was the most enjoyable so far in 2008. The monster was great-looking, the dialog wasn't great, but had its moments. The one complaint I do have is they killed off characters too soon and the film was a little too short. Also Ken W. your a complete idiot, based on the fact your review states the movie was shot on a cell phone when actually its clearly a camera, I thought this movie was the most enjoyable so far in 2008. The monster was great-looking, the dialog wasn't great, but had its moments. The one complaint I do have is they killed off characters too soon and the film was a little too short. Also Ken W. your a complete idiot, based on the fact your review states the movie was shot on a cell phone when actually its clearly a camera, its meant to be real dialog also so their trying to show the guy is stupid, but obviously idiots like you don't get that. Expand
  99. 66Goat
    Apr 27, 2008
    4
    If you watch the special features on the DVD you will appreciate the tremendous effort that went into this film. They really wanted it to be something special. And it was except for the camerawork. Such a shame. In their zeal to make it realistic, the audience is subjected to near torture. Most of the time the action is at a 45 degree angle. If they wanted to make it that realistic, why If you watch the special features on the DVD you will appreciate the tremendous effort that went into this film. They really wanted it to be something special. And it was except for the camerawork. Such a shame. In their zeal to make it realistic, the audience is subjected to near torture. Most of the time the action is at a 45 degree angle. If they wanted to make it that realistic, why not just have the hero drop the camera and show a curb for an hour? Makes about as much sense. This would have been a 10 if only they showed a bit of amatuerish camerawork to give the idea, they film it more or less normally. Expand
  100. ZackB.
    Apr 27, 2008
    7
    A refreshing spin on a graying genre. Many find the film lax in the plot department - and they'd be right. But it's not a film about "plot", it's about a moment - an increasingly hopeless moment involving bystanders of a situation completely out of their understanding or control. The camera-work can be polarizing at first (or near impossible for some to cope with), but I A refreshing spin on a graying genre. Many find the film lax in the plot department - and they'd be right. But it's not a film about "plot", it's about a moment - an increasingly hopeless moment involving bystanders of a situation completely out of their understanding or control. The camera-work can be polarizing at first (or near impossible for some to cope with), but I found myself highly immersed in the movie thanks to it. I thought the film was an enjoyable experience, and recommend it for anyone in need of some giant-monster with their action. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. 75
    Cloverfield's gritty, in-your-face style is uncompromising. If you're looking for a nice, clean movie filmed with a steadycam, you'll have to look elsewhere.
  2. Think "Godzilla Unplugged" -- with chillingly effective results.
  3. Cloverfield, a surreptitiously subversive, stylistically clever little gem of an entertainment disguised, under its deadpan-neutral title, as a dumb Gen-YouTube monster movie, makes the convincingly chilling argument that the world will end -- or, at least, Manhattan will crumble -- with a bang and a whimper.