Paramount Pictures | Release Date: January 18, 2008
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 961 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
610
Mixed:
112
Negative:
239
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
CrisL.May 25, 2008
Visual affects brilliant although the story was very ordinary ,Left in suspense through the film and it just cut off with no ending. The first person's view I did not like.I walked away feeling "what a wast of my time".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonE.May 3, 2008
This movie deserves far more praise than it gets. My only hope is that it goes the way of Wizard of Oz, It's A Wonderful Life, and Blade Runner before it - polarizing critics and audiences when it comes out, but considered a classic This movie deserves far more praise than it gets. My only hope is that it goes the way of Wizard of Oz, It's A Wonderful Life, and Blade Runner before it - polarizing critics and audiences when it comes out, but considered a classic down the road. I, for one, think that it's the most creative, realistic, original, exciting, and personal stories told on screen. Absolutely brilliant in every way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertI.May 4, 2008
Blair witch meets godzilla. Totally bogus premise, you won't believe a minute of it, but, having said that, it's so entertaining that you don't want to leave your seat for a minute. Who's going to get creamed? Eaten Blair witch meets godzilla. Totally bogus premise, you won't believe a minute of it, but, having said that, it's so entertaining that you don't want to leave your seat for a minute. Who's going to get creamed? Eaten alive? What's at the end of the subway tunnel? Who's shooting all those cannonballs of fire? Will Manhattan be nuked? Kids in peril are as old as pauline, but, man, what a trip! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
zachrJun 1, 2008
Terrible, predictable no suspense at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
kittyJul 6, 2008
I liked this movie, it wasn't my favorite movie ever, but I was still entertained, and I still had moments of panic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickM.Jul 8, 2008
People expected too much from this movie and got disappointed. They wanted a typical Hollywood movie with a typical Hollywood ending and they didn't get one so they weren't satisfied. This was different and not in a bad way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TimHJun 30, 2009
I understand that this movie isn't for everyone. Taking that into consideration, the grading criteria is as follows: If: you are looking for an artsy think flick where you come away knowing more about the human condition, then avoid I understand that this movie isn't for everyone. Taking that into consideration, the grading criteria is as follows: If: you are looking for an artsy think flick where you come away knowing more about the human condition, then avoid this. If, however: you are looking for a terrifying POV horror film ripoff where half a dozen trust fund kiddies die before your eyes, check this on your Netflix list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesP.Jan 17, 2008
An in-your-face thriller that takes no prisoners and spares no sentiment. Its use of hand helds, dialogue to camera and even the general storyline may not be original but it is effective. There won't be many better thrillers this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MH.Jan 18, 2008
Great movie camera movements a little crappy at the start but a great idea with amazing special effects more like a ride at the amusement park or a video game some critics only like artsy stuff but if you like action jj abrums kicks ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NoahJan 18, 2008
Great monster, but the shaky camera ruined it. I understand that they were trying to make it look like it was shot on someone's home camera, but they couldn't ever keep the camera still for more than 2 seconds. I got motion Great monster, but the shaky camera ruined it. I understand that they were trying to make it look like it was shot on someone's home camera, but they couldn't ever keep the camera still for more than 2 seconds. I got motion sickness and had to spend about half of the movie listening with my eyes closed so that I wouldn't puke. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShelbyJ.Jan 18, 2008
It was really good and intense. it was scary in the sense that it was somewhat realistic. mainly because it was filmed in the first person by a main character and the fact that the actors werent well known. and because it was set inIt was really good and intense. it was scary in the sense that it was somewhat realistic. mainly because it was filmed in the first person by a main character and the fact that the actors werent well known. and because it was set in manhattan, a place that most people know of, rather than some random small town in texas that noone has heard of. compared to most horror and/or action films today, it was very well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaryH.Jan 19, 2008
Not many movies make me jump out of my seat but this one had me going. Love how it's a documentary of a group of friends during the monsters attack. At first I was a little disappointed at the ending, but then the thought of a sequal Not many movies make me jump out of my seat but this one had me going. Love how it's a documentary of a group of friends during the monsters attack. At first I was a little disappointed at the ending, but then the thought of a sequal made everything fine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisW.Jan 19, 2008
After reading some of these reviews, I have to wonder if they are actually seeing this movie in an actual movie theatre or on their Sony DVD player in their car? This movie was perfectly scarry. If you have ever seen any of the original After reading some of these reviews, I have to wonder if they are actually seeing this movie in an actual movie theatre or on their Sony DVD player in their car? This movie was perfectly scarry. If you have ever seen any of the original B-scarry movies in the fifties... this is an instant throwback to it. This is a must see movie for the sound alone. I was trembling the entire way through it. Loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrankB.Jan 19, 2008
The concept was genius, but the production was unpolished at the editorial level. I went to see a monster flick and ended up walking out feeling seasick rather than feeling any sense of excitement at experiencing something amazing. I'll The concept was genius, but the production was unpolished at the editorial level. I went to see a monster flick and ended up walking out feeling seasick rather than feeling any sense of excitement at experiencing something amazing. I'll bet there are little kids puking outside theaters all across this country after seeing this movie. I had to close my eyes and just listen to large stretches. In retrospect, the latter was completely unneccessary, and could have been avoided with better editing (to cut down excessively long, and pointless as far as suspense and plot-line go, roller-coaster rides following the characters running up stairs, etc.). The movie also would have worked better with just one or two more elements of the "back story" (was the creature alien or deap sea?). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeteVSpeteJan 19, 2008
This movie made me feel something I have not felt in a long time. When all is said and done, and the credits roll, and the house lights come up, I honestly felt as if I had been in a car crash. That tingle, the fire rushing through your This movie made me feel something I have not felt in a long time. When all is said and done, and the credits roll, and the house lights come up, I honestly felt as if I had been in a car crash. That tingle, the fire rushing through your veins, I just survived a rabid giraffe attack feeling...Without giving anything away, I really believe the monster takes a back seat in this movie, and the spirit of human nature shines. My only complaint is this, don't sit too close to the screen. And by all means, for the sake of ambience and sound, see this film in the theater, don't wait for the DVD, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DarenM.Jan 19, 2008
Simply put, Blair Witch videography meets War of the Worlds alien attack action. If you can handle the nausiating camera angles and swings and the rediculously stubborn characters which will cause you to curse at them for their stupidity, Simply put, Blair Witch videography meets War of the Worlds alien attack action. If you can handle the nausiating camera angles and swings and the rediculously stubborn characters which will cause you to curse at them for their stupidity, then this is a flick worth seeing simply for it's special effects and occasional creepy shock value. With little gore (PG13) but acceptable suspense, surprises and alien attacks, it does satisfy a bored movie goer. I would rate this "wait for the DVD" and then watch it at home in the dark with the audio turned way up. "We've got a bite!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulKJan 19, 2008
My biggest complaint was the use of the handheld camera, which is central to the premise of the movie, but it gave me a massive headache about 2/3 of the way into the film. I was fearful of the portrayal of the monster(s), but it wasn't My biggest complaint was the use of the handheld camera, which is central to the premise of the movie, but it gave me a massive headache about 2/3 of the way into the film. I was fearful of the portrayal of the monster(s), but it wasn't cheesy or too in your face like war of the worlds, and signs, etc. The writers borrowed too much thematically from Aliens, and the ending was completely predictable given the premise, but if you're curious about this, it's worth seeing in the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanHJan 19, 2008
Fantastic Movie! I know we all have an opinion though I find it hard to understand what is not to like about this movie if you have any interest in this genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KentK.Jan 21, 2008
1 point for the Trailer. 0 points for the movie. All I can say is please STOP making movies with SHAKY CamCorder filming !!! Come ON, now - if you wanted us to GET the fact that it was being filmed on a CamCorder, then just give us a FEW 1 point for the Trailer. 0 points for the movie. All I can say is please STOP making movies with SHAKY CamCorder filming !!! Come ON, now - if you wanted us to GET the fact that it was being filmed on a CamCorder, then just give us a FEW scenes where that is shown to us - then SMOOTH IT OUT for cryin' out loud !! This movie was sheer torture to watch. I hope they release a different version of the film that actually smooths out the crappy camerawork so that a person can actually WATCH the stupid thing without having to look AWAY constantly just to make the world STOP SPINNING. Blair Witch SUCKED for the same reason, and, quite frankly, the last two Bourne Identity movies had too much jerky camera work for my liking. Hollywood....STOP it already, will ya ?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ScottHJan 20, 2008
The idea of the movie was decent but the camera work was so bad it pretty much made it impossible to watch. The special effects were ok, but limited. The action was there throughout the movie, but it was really lame. I didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichardJ.Jan 20, 2008
Just watched the film in Malaysia and must say it was the biggest piece of crap I have ever seen. At the end of the movie people just sat there and after a couple of minutes got up and walked out without any of the normal chatter you get Just watched the film in Malaysia and must say it was the biggest piece of crap I have ever seen. At the end of the movie people just sat there and after a couple of minutes got up and walked out without any of the normal chatter you get when someone has enjoyed the experience. It was like a dentists waiting room. Biggest waste of time and money I feel cheated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenB.Jan 22, 2008
The only reason you shouldn't like this movie is if you weren't warned before going to see it that the camera is really shaky. Other than that, I believe that Cloverfield is definitely the best monster that has been created in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisK.Jan 23, 2008
Being a fan of this sort of thing I went to the opening midnight showing- it was so packed full I was stuck in the second row and after about 20 minutes was getting a headache from the hand held camera work. I stood in the back so I was glad Being a fan of this sort of thing I went to the opening midnight showing- it was so packed full I was stuck in the second row and after about 20 minutes was getting a headache from the hand held camera work. I stood in the back so I was glad it wasn't too long. This movie is Blair witch meets Godzilla narrated by a nerdy guy helping his friend try to save his girlfriend. If I actually believed this guy loved her then it might have worked. Special effects were OK but not enough monster. Personally I felt this film could've been a lot better if it used traditional filmmaking techniques - you barely see the creature(s?) and there is no soundtrack so much of the drama is missing. Has all the elements for a sequel which could be much better and answer a few questions. I'm glad to see monsters making a comeback instead of psychos like SAW. If I want psychos I can just turn on the news if I want giant creatures causing destruction I go to the movies so for that reason I gave it a 6. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoeL.Jan 27, 2008
Bambi meets Godzilla was more exciting than this overated flick, and that short animation was about 45 seconds. This movie is all hype to separate you and you money. Its a 75 minute movie that spends the first 22 minutes trying to introduce Bambi meets Godzilla was more exciting than this overated flick, and that short animation was about 45 seconds. This movie is all hype to separate you and you money. Its a 75 minute movie that spends the first 22 minutes trying to introduce the audience to characters we don't really like. I started to get annoyed at the really poor dialog after the first 10 minutes. The acting is not very convincing, and there is really no "feeling" for what happens to the main characters. I did not find the movie exciting, thrilling, or suspenseful. The hand held cam thing gets annoying after 30 minutes too. The good thing is that its only 75 minutes, about 45 minutes too long! This flick just had a made for TV feel about it. Blah! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DJImJan 20, 2008
Great movie. I don't get why people are giving it low scores. It's a monster movie. And its effective and original. I'm sure all the imitators that come later will be far inferior.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJan 20, 2008
I thought this was one of the best monster movies I've seen in a long time. I don't know what some of these other people are complaining about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankFrankJan 29, 2008
Brilliant movie. It absolutely felt like I was there, and despite being a monster movie, seemed completely plausible. Will see at least 2 more times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MysenS.Feb 12, 2008
At first glance of Cloverfield, I thought it would be an excellent, almost original film to see. The commercials and trailers really captured my attention about how good Cloverfield would be... but in my opinion that was as good as it would At first glance of Cloverfield, I thought it would be an excellent, almost original film to see. The commercials and trailers really captured my attention about how good Cloverfield would be... but in my opinion that was as good as it would get. When I stepped out of the theater there was only one thing on my mind: How bad the ending was. Believe me, the entire film is spectacular and eye-popping visuals and amazingly blended in with the shaky camera, but if you really loved the characters or were at least concerned about the main ones at the beginning of the movie, then prepare to be extremely disappointed. But if you try to accept the early hint that "This videotape known as Cloverfield was recovered at what was once Central Park" that should tell you right away that whatever happened to the filmmakers met a grizzly end. But the thing I hated was just he fact the entire movie was like this, there's 3 points, A, B, and C. A is the start, B is in the middle of the city, and C is escaping the city. We start at A obviously, and when we're going to C, we actually go back to B and almost A, THEN C again. That's pretty much the entire movie. So unless you like endings where the heroes meet an awful demise, or you can't take the shaky camera implemented from the "Blair Witch Project", then save $7.00 off by not going to see Cloverfield. But I would definately recommend renting it if you wanted to see it. It's just not worth the $7 it's been hailed for. You'll scream for your money back as soon as the credits roll. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunQ.Feb 12, 2008
This is the best film I've seen for a long long time. If you suffer immensely from motion sickness then be warned but the camera shaking isn't that bad. You get to see plenty of the monster and for all the people that say this film This is the best film I've seen for a long long time. If you suffer immensely from motion sickness then be warned but the camera shaking isn't that bad. You get to see plenty of the monster and for all the people that say this film is rubish then you are just scared of something different. Great film worth watching! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MariaDFeb 10, 2008
A waste of time and money, when it first started I thought Please don't let this whole movie be shot through this shaky camcorder! But it was it was that shaky blair witch thing it made me sick and gave me a head ache, if I wasn't A waste of time and money, when it first started I thought Please don't let this whole movie be shot through this shaky camcorder! But it was it was that shaky blair witch thing it made me sick and gave me a head ache, if I wasn't so curious to see the monster I would have walked out, in the end everybody in the theatre were either laughing or verbally disgusted with the film...save your money and go watch plants grow thats much more exciting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DonA.Feb 14, 2008
How many times does the monster get a whack at them before it finally gets them? It was like a nightmare where you get away only to find that it;s right there under the bed or in the closet. I liked it despite what some are saying about the How many times does the monster get a whack at them before it finally gets them? It was like a nightmare where you get away only to find that it;s right there under the bed or in the closet. I liked it despite what some are saying about the ending. The monster is like the boogey man you might get away now but he'll get you in the end. I liked the rubber meets the road premise where we are on the ground with him not looking at him from a faraway distance. And the effects like the explosions the monster rampaging several feet away worked for me. I guess it's all subjective so sue me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeeP.Feb 19, 2008
I enjoyed Cloverfield it was original and fresh. Once you get over the jerky camera work and get settled, the film does its best to make you feel the exact opposite, unsettled and vulnerable like the characters who are wondering what the I enjoyed Cloverfield it was original and fresh. Once you get over the jerky camera work and get settled, the film does its best to make you feel the exact opposite, unsettled and vulnerable like the characters who are wondering what the hell is going on. You realize that there is nothing that these individuals can do to stop the rampaging destruction that has come to New York and this is reflected well in the film. Although a hero does rise its not to save the day its merely to save the life of the girl he loves. At the end your not even sure that he was successful and whether or not the sacrifices made by his family and friends were worth it. A disaster film thats believable in feeling if not in context and that isn't scared not to wrap things up too neatly at the end. Enjoyable! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JalexD.Feb 2, 2008
I was actually very surprised by this film. It looked interesting six months before, but I wasn't sure about it when it actually came out. Of course, I just came back from seeing it and not only is it the first 4-star film of the year I was actually very surprised by this film. It looked interesting six months before, but I wasn't sure about it when it actually came out. Of course, I just came back from seeing it and not only is it the first 4-star film of the year (to me), it's also a classic piece of cinema that should be looked back on in a very positive light in the future. I actually became connected with the characters within the short time frame of the film, which was nice to discover. The sheer intensity and amazing pseudorealism of it all really made it fall together. There are a few tiny things that one could nitpick about, but even then only three. A truly great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexW.Feb 20, 2008
While its 2 dimensional characters sometimes drag the performance down in the character driven scenes, as long as you don't get motion sickness this is a must see. Probably the first movie to be so bold in a post 9/11 world. The camera While its 2 dimensional characters sometimes drag the performance down in the character driven scenes, as long as you don't get motion sickness this is a must see. Probably the first movie to be so bold in a post 9/11 world. The camera works not only help suspension of disbelief oddly but put you in the shoes of a character for most of the movie which in itself is an exciting way to tell a tale. Also the image of the statue of liberty's head in the street with everyone taking photos on their phone is brilliant and In my opinion one of the best moments in disaster cinema ever, likely to be the most striking image of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredB.Feb 3, 2008
Six months ago, I saw the first preview of the movie "Cloverfield." I was looking forward to seeing it. To say the movie was a disappointment would be a gross understatement. Actually, I found this film to be a major disaster. Nothing worked Six months ago, I saw the first preview of the movie "Cloverfield." I was looking forward to seeing it. To say the movie was a disappointment would be a gross understatement. Actually, I found this film to be a major disaster. Nothing worked here, or even tried. As bad as the cast, the script, and the direction were, these were far from this movies worst flaw. That honor, or dishonor, depending on how you look at it, belongs to the camerawork. I swear I developed motion sickness watching this darn thing. If you haven't seen this movie, take my advice: save your time and money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlbinGFeb 3, 2008
Firstly, Jay G. All the opinions which you dismissed had perfectly valid complaints. Just because it is handcam doesn't mean continuity can be cast aside. And The Blair Witch Godzilla aproject is a very good description of this movie. Firstly, Jay G. All the opinions which you dismissed had perfectly valid complaints. Just because it is handcam doesn't mean continuity can be cast aside. And The Blair Witch Godzilla aproject is a very good description of this movie. Home made feel footage but with a monster terrorizing a city. And the fact that you have dismissed all their opinions and pronounced that they can't be critics since they don't agree with you is just absurd. Now. I knew what this movie would entail before i got there. Hand held cam style footage of a group of people in the aftermath of a city destroyed bya monster. And i got just that. But it wasn't at all entertaining. Firstly, the only reason the story continued was one guys illogical and unreasonable need to go BACK into the city. I wonder how this will turn out? Couldn't they have stuck with a survival theme? Running from the monster to get out of the city? Instead the monster turns into a foot note in the plot. The camera work was bad. That is all i can say. Just because it's a handycam doesn't mean it can't be pointed at interesting things now and then. Unless one of the miriad plot points that were neglected explanation was that the camera man has a foot fetish. I lost count of the number of times we catch a glimpse of the monster only to have the camera pan and leave it hovering just off screen. Why is the guy carrying the camera to document this stuff if all he films is being scrambling down a roof? Just simple changes like having him pause to let others by and taking that time to record the monster doing something. ANYTHING. The jarring quality of the footage sent 2 of my mates out due to motion sickness. The shacky-cam gimmick became tedious and unnecessary after 10 minutes. The overly long intro did nothing to convince me of the important relationship around which the movie subsequently revolves. I honestly didn't care whether they achieved their goal or not. Nothing is ever answered about the monster. There were some positives. A few good scenes in the streets where we get to see that the monster is nearby and a genuine threat. Only then did i feel an urgency about their running. I can't get scared if i don't know what is happening. It showed that frantic shacky cam can work in short bursts, but not for a whole film. A better choice would have been either a first person perspective, seeing what they see, or film by a news crew, getting both the panic and realism whilst still SEEING enough to feel involved. If you have a phobia of shoes or pavements, you'll be scared out of your seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimC.Feb 3, 2008
There was bad acting and the camera work was terrible. It got annoying after a while, but overall it was okay I guess. I liked the statue of liberty head flying off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Feb 3, 2008
Cloverfield is more of a ride then a film. Seeing the destruction and mayhem of NYC from a first person view is done perfectly. You'll leave the theatre thinking you had just escaped the monster yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TimWFeb 4, 2008
Cloverfield was not a great movie. I was told there would be scares and jump-out-of-your-seat moments. I didn't jump once. Also, I found the characters unengaging. The party scene at the beginning was way too long and dull, populated as Cloverfield was not a great movie. I was told there would be scares and jump-out-of-your-seat moments. I didn't jump once. Also, I found the characters unengaging. The party scene at the beginning was way too long and dull, populated as it was by cardboard characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ssFeb 4, 2008
We went to see it at the cinema, throughout the movie people were leaving, because of how rubibish the film was. When the film ended, the whole cinema groaned. A totally rubbish and pointless movie....... please no sequel!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PaulJ.Feb 4, 2008
I thought it was ok although I got a bit seasick from the shaky camera. If they had a bigger budget perhaps they could afford a new tripod that has steady legs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BenT.Feb 6, 2008
no alien looks that way because i have the omnitrix and i know aliens. Diamondhead, now that is an alien!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SusieM.Feb 6, 2008
Can we say Blair Witch meet Godzilla with better filming. I went expecting a better movie to get an upgraded version of the Blair Witch project. I tell you what This movie totally sucked and I wouldn't suggest it. when my boyfriend and Can we say Blair Witch meet Godzilla with better filming. I went expecting a better movie to get an upgraded version of the Blair Witch project. I tell you what This movie totally sucked and I wouldn't suggest it. when my boyfriend and i went to go see this movie we didn't realize what it was and both got motion sick from the movie, we couldn't tell when it started and its not worth seeing. Please don't waste your money or your time to see this very very bad film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RamM.Feb 6, 2008
Simply put, this has to be the WORST movie Ive ever seen this year. Whose idea was it to film the entire film on a shaky hand held cam?!! five minutes into the movie and i knew i just wasted my money. I felt like throwing up the entire Simply put, this has to be the WORST movie Ive ever seen this year. Whose idea was it to film the entire film on a shaky hand held cam?!! five minutes into the movie and i knew i just wasted my money. I felt like throwing up the entire time!!! Where did those monsters come from? Its not even shown or explained?!!! Who thought of this movie?!!! The worst monster movie ever. I wish i saw D-War instead.To all those who haven't seen this movie yet, don't!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhilB.Feb 8, 2008
Love the idea but but but I had to close my eyes after c.10 minutes as nausea / motion sickness kicked in due to the 1st person perspective, shaky hand-held camcorder filming, and I wasn't even close to the screen. It sounded good Love the idea but but but I had to close my eyes after c.10 minutes as nausea / motion sickness kicked in due to the 1st person perspective, shaky hand-held camcorder filming, and I wasn't even close to the screen. It sounded good though! Did anyone else suffer from this? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MaximumR.Feb 9, 2008
At the movie theaters, I paid 8 dollars to see the movie. I had a bucket of popcorn, candy, and a smoothie. But even with all of that, the movie was horrible and i left halfway through the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimPFeb 9, 2008
Awesome, and believable. Best Monster flick since Jurrasic Park, definitely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinK.Feb 9, 2008
Every movie should be judged by what it attempts to take a shot at - and this one, in my eyes, hits bulls eye! SPOILER WARNING! Some viewers complained about the low quality of filming, or that nothing is explained, or that you hardly see Every movie should be judged by what it attempts to take a shot at - and this one, in my eyes, hits bulls eye! SPOILER WARNING! Some viewers complained about the low quality of filming, or that nothing is explained, or that you hardly see the monster, or that the protagonists die cruelly despite noble efforts. Yes, Cloverfield takes some unusual steps, but not just for the sake of a new artsy or postmodern take on the genre. It is very effective in creating a realistic feel: given the scenario, I think this is pretty much what it would look like. Instead of being just another more-or-less-sophisticated CGI monster, wreaking boring CGI havoc that we've all see before, the realism is the only thing that could have made it scary. Which it does, by the numbers. 9 points! I'll give it a tenth point because I loved the contrast between the "horror present" video, and the nuggets of "good day" past: the shots previously recorded on the tape. This is a just monster movie, but hey, they don't come better than this. If you hate the genre itself, don't bother seeing or reviewing it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomPMar 2, 2008
Cloverfield made no sense to me. There is no plot at all to the story even when the soldiers are involved in the quarantine of personnel because of the
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Apr 16, 2008
Sort of a Blair Witch meets Godzilla in New York. Although I have to admire the originality of the film, the camcorder filming gets nerve wracking. It has it's moments though, but I was never convinced, in spite of it's realistic filming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanessaH.Apr 1, 2008
AMAZING MOVIE!! I can't understand why anyone would not love this movie!! I have so far seen it 10 times, once in the theater, and 9 times at home. It's a masterpiece! But if they make a sequal, i will be pissed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayM.Apr 1, 2008
Honestly, I wish i could give this film an 11, but alas, it is not allowed. Brilliant movie. Stunning! I think some people completely missed the point of this movie. Which is a real shame. They are really missing an insanely amazing movie!! Honestly, I wish i could give this film an 11, but alas, it is not allowed. Brilliant movie. Stunning! I think some people completely missed the point of this movie. Which is a real shame. They are really missing an insanely amazing movie!! I really cannot get over this movie. I have not stopped watching it since i saw it the night it came out. Visualy, it was incredible! Emotionally, it was genius! It really made u wonder what you would have done if you were in that situation. Personally, i would not have gone into the city, but then again, maybe i would for someone i truely cared about. I loved Hud (T.J Miller). I think he was the best part of the movie. He even brought some humor into it. He was the man behing the camera. The movie may have been a bit shakey, but my eyes adjusted to it within the first 10 minutes or so. It was an unbelievable movie, and i did not see a single person get up and leave because they couldn't stand it. I think some people are just being a little dramatic. At the end people were clapping and some cheering. Stunning! There aren't even adequate words to describe this movie. Above all else, this is my new favorite movie of all time!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeffR.Apr 19, 2008
movie was good, if i could see it. good plot good action, good effects. Thank god Transformers was not shot like clover.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KenW.Apr 24, 2008
I must admit that the sales promotions on TV lead you to believe that this is going to be a pretty good horror movie. I was never so disappointed in a show in my life. To be quite honest it sucked Whale Dung at the bottom of the ocean. I can I must admit that the sales promotions on TV lead you to believe that this is going to be a pretty good horror movie. I was never so disappointed in a show in my life. To be quite honest it sucked Whale Dung at the bottom of the ocean. I can not believe the insatiable stupidity of the so called directors and producers of this junk, by filming the whole show through a cell phone. Give me a break. Not to mention the screen play writing. It reminded me of a dog in the yard chasing its tail, started no where, getting no where, and going no where. This is painfully obvious with the main actor and his limited lines of "Bob, Bob, Bob." One other thing to add for this waste of time of a so called movie, if you have any form of Epilepsy as I do, please do not even begin to watch it, as from the insatiable stupidity of the so called directors and the constant bouncing around of the film is subject to set off a seizure. I must admit though that the sales pitch was pretty good, as it duped me into wasting my money on this DVD. I would have been better off ordering a pizza, at least I would have enjoyed the pizza. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HeatherR,Apr 26, 2008
This seems to be the only movie that actully wanted to make me barf. Literally. The constant moving and shaking of the camera gave me the worst head ache!! I gave it a one because maybe one or two parts where funny or cool. Yet, it This seems to be the only movie that actully wanted to make me barf. Literally. The constant moving and shaking of the camera gave me the worst head ache!! I gave it a one because maybe one or two parts where funny or cool. Yet, it wasn't scary. It wasn't very funny. Over all it was hard to watch because of the shaking. Oh, and ending sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomLApr 26, 2008
WOW Cloverfield SUCKED! The last time I was this dizzy I was halfway into blair witch!...Terrible...I would not recommend this movie to anyone! See this stupid ass movie. I normally really like sci-fi, but seriously, there could have been WOW Cloverfield SUCKED! The last time I was this dizzy I was halfway into blair witch!...Terrible...I would not recommend this movie to anyone! See this stupid ass movie. I normally really like sci-fi, but seriously, there could have been much more. I mean Godzilla was made like 30 years ago, and I can still watch the original. Director needs to go back to school. Totally sucked, and literally make me sick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankV.Apr 27, 2008
This was simply one of the most amazing movie experiences in my life. It's thrilling, witty and exhilarating experiment that provided more "wow" moments than any other film and the creature design is very interesting and original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveTApr 30, 2008
Most of this movie is camera shots of peoples shoes. Boring 3rd rate actors and very annoying cinematography. I absolutely hate this movie. It is trash masquerading as art. If you liked Blair Witch you will probably liked this too but I Most of this movie is camera shots of peoples shoes. Boring 3rd rate actors and very annoying cinematography. I absolutely hate this movie. It is trash masquerading as art. If you liked Blair Witch you will probably liked this too but I consider Blair Witch the No.1 most overrated movie ever made, Cloverfield is the second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
L.CollinsApr 9, 2008
If you spent the first twenty minutes staring at your popcorn, then you'll have missed the only bad point of the movie. After its slow start it becomes one of the better horror films to be churned out of hollywood
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KennyCMay 27, 2008
Worst movie ever. Blair witch style camera-work put the nails in the coffin of what might have been an acceptable picture.. maybe. No way someone impaled through the chest can run down 70 flights of stairs and make it from Columbus Circle to Worst movie ever. Blair witch style camera-work put the nails in the coffin of what might have been an acceptable picture.. maybe. No way someone impaled through the chest can run down 70 flights of stairs and make it from Columbus Circle to Grand Central, then survive a helicopter crash to then help pull someone out of the wreckage... and.. I've never seen a camcorder battery last that long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoeT.May 31, 2008
Movie sucked. blair witch camera work. story starts and ends giving you absolutely no information on whats going on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
IanMJun 16, 2008
I am littering this with [***SPOILERS***]spoiler alerts so don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ConorDJun 21, 2008
Why does everyone hate this!? It's brilliant! I can understand the people who got motion sickness but what's everyone else's problem? @ LEMMOR I'm pretty sure thats going to happen in the sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattB.Jun 30, 2008
This movie was a great disappointment in fact i'd go as far as saying its one of the worst movies i've ever seen right up their with Carla, and dark harvest. The camera angles were Godzilla meets Blair witch the sequel. The movie This movie was a great disappointment in fact i'd go as far as saying its one of the worst movies i've ever seen right up their with Carla, and dark harvest. The camera angles were Godzilla meets Blair witch the sequel. The movie lacks an actual true storyline and instead replaces it with cgi and no actual point. The movie doesnt have an end and it seems as though abrams got half way through the movie and then learned he got the startreck movie so he just figured he'd throw this movie to the dogs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimOJun 6, 2008
Not very thrilling or terrifying, cloverfield puts you through a story which is so far fetched I was shocked not to see some disney characters coming by to say hi. woman that are dying for the entire movie somehow live and is just as active Not very thrilling or terrifying, cloverfield puts you through a story which is so far fetched I was shocked not to see some disney characters coming by to say hi. woman that are dying for the entire movie somehow live and is just as active as the other characters in the film. The entire city of NY is evacuated in 2hours? very far fetched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarkDJun 9, 2008
I can just imagine the discussions between the writers and producers while making this film. ""This film's got no plot, shallow characters and is completly lacking in any original ideas or emotional content. What can we do?"" ""I know I can just imagine the discussions between the writers and producers while making this film. ""This film's got no plot, shallow characters and is completly lacking in any original ideas or emotional content. What can we do?"" ""I know why don't we film it in a camcorder style. That should cover up all the shortcomings and fool the reviewers into thinking we're making somthing clever and revolutionary. Well it worked for Blair Which."" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeDJul 13, 2008
As mentioned before, this is a movie that you either love or hate (as evidenced by the reviews). People mainly complain about the shaking of the camera or how "unrealistic" some parts are. Well, in my view the camera should be shakey. When As mentioned before, this is a movie that you either love or hate (as evidenced by the reviews). People mainly complain about the shaking of the camera or how "unrealistic" some parts are. Well, in my view the camera should be shakey. When you hold a little camcorder in your hand and run full tilt down the street in an attempt to get away before you get squashed, I would be astounded if the footage was as steady as a camera mounted to a tripod. As for the "unrealism" involving injuries and all, I just have one thing to say: You go see a movie about a monster wrecking a city, and you grief about the unrealistic portrayal of cell phone reception?! Sheesh. Anyway, I really enjoyed this movie. True, it didn't have first rate acting talent. But then again, I'd rather see new faces than see Brad Pitt, Angelina Jolie, Jack Black, and the slew of other actors we see too much of lately. The monster ("Clover") might not have had laser eyes or atomic firebreath, but its definitely the most bad-ass monster in recent movie history. And Clover is just a baby! Imagine what momma or pappa are like? If you get the DVD, be sure to watch the "making of" special features. The talented FX crew digitally recreated hundreds of real-life NYC buildings so that they would break and collapse just like they would in real life. Plus, if you're like me and wasn't sure what the monster really looked like, the special features include detailed models and drawings of Clover. All in all, this was a great movie, despite the minor flaws. Check it out, and I hope you won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexJul 19, 2008
One of the greatest monster movies. Pure thrills and an awesome plot make for a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DylanB.Jul 2, 2008
a great film, the many logical problems that many people find could easily be attributed to fear and anzxiety, you would not think clearly if something like this happened, and (******SPOLIER*****) the hellicopter was'nt too far off the a great film, the many logical problems that many people find could easily be attributed to fear and anzxiety, you would not think clearly if something like this happened, and (******SPOLIER*****) the hellicopter was'nt too far off the ground and spun out of control, it didn't crash directly into the ground, also, and the impaled girl was able to move due to adrenalin, she had been impaled for atlest a couple of hours and, if she had too, could have ignored the pain and kept moving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanMJul 4, 2008
By watching this movie, I just wasted 2 hours of my life.... Someone please tell me why Matt Reeves gets paid this much to make a movie that not only dissapoints, but really honestly, has no true storyline ? I could some up with a better By watching this movie, I just wasted 2 hours of my life.... Someone please tell me why Matt Reeves gets paid this much to make a movie that not only dissapoints, but really honestly, has no true storyline ? I could some up with a better storyline, and actually put a part in about what the creature was ! Seriously this movie is not something I would have even promoted, because the movie its self is not even finished. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JavierMAug 18, 2008
Great!!! "Cloverfield" is the most amazing film of the year!!!. J.J. Abrams returns to succeed as he did with "Lost" at the moment of mixing action and drama. Very advisable!!!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamTSep 22, 2008
Surprisingly shocking, scary and realistic. Cloverfield is probably one of the best monster movies of this decade. Think Jaws in Manhattan and thru your point of view.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LiamJan 5, 2009
Good ideas but just had something missing. Only seen it on DVD though and I reckon the cinema would have made great use of it's tension. The elusive monster just isn't believable enough. It's a good movie, I just expected Good ideas but just had something missing. Only seen it on DVD though and I reckon the cinema would have made great use of it's tension. The elusive monster just isn't believable enough. It's a good movie, I just expected more. The characters do seem a bit flaky as well and the way the action just seems to follow them throughout Manhattan is a bit forced. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewGJul 5, 2009
An enjoyable monster film, though I couldn't help hating the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
J.CAug 24, 2009
This Was Incredible To Me!So Suspenseful To Me.The Only Flaws Was The Bad Ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BenC.Nov 10, 2008
Suspenseful, but not enjoyable. Clover itself is a pretty poor monster compared to say, some of the Godzilla movie monsters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenD.Nov 5, 2008
This waz well thought out, the way it is filmed though a video camera is amazzing it has a gr8 entertaining story line, action filled without a boring moment, the could easily lead on to a second film, hope that wont b a flop if they do!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Jan 18, 2008
There's one thing about Cloverfield that is undeniably genius, whether you love it or hate it, think it's terrifying or ridiculous, cringe in fear or simply laugh out load, the thing is you are not watching it - you're right There's one thing about Cloverfield that is undeniably genius, whether you love it or hate it, think it's terrifying or ridiculous, cringe in fear or simply laugh out load, the thing is you are not watching it - you're right in the middle of it, and I, for one, bought into it hook, line and sinker! A great movie as intense and foreboding as 28 Days Later and more of the "you are here" feeling than Blair Witch, Cloverfield is a terrific start 2008 in movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurC.Jan 18, 2008
I had to check my calendar. Yep, it's January, and we've already got one of the best movies of the year. Why is it so good? Not only is it thrilling and at times scary, it is also an interesting character piece as well as I had to check my calendar. Yep, it's January, and we've already got one of the best movies of the year. Why is it so good? Not only is it thrilling and at times scary, it is also an interesting character piece as well as thoughtful movie. It truly feels like a tape that was discovered, thus may upset people since it doesn't follow standard movie formula movements. Nothing is explained, but then, why should it be? It's not about the monster, it's about people trying to survive a disaster. First rate all the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeN.Jan 18, 2008
I have a lot to say so I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnH.Jan 18, 2008
The good: effects, sense of helplessness, one of the five actors and the world's toughest camcorder. The bad: four of the five actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EricR.Jan 18, 2008
Some clunky dialogue aside I thought this was one of the better "monster movies" I have ever seen. Some people I was with complained of dizziness which I myself did not experience. A solid movie where blanks are left open for you to fill in, Some clunky dialogue aside I thought this was one of the better "monster movies" I have ever seen. Some people I was with complained of dizziness which I myself did not experience. A solid movie where blanks are left open for you to fill in, making it a better film IMHO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnI.Jan 18, 2008
Best movie I've seen in years. It's not godzilla and go see it for yourself! It's action packed and one hell of a thrill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlienGuyJan 19, 2008
Very good, fun film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReneTJan 19, 2008
Reading the "reviews" (I use the term loosely) from the users here, saying things like, "It suked" (their spelling, not mine) or "save your m$n$y," as though they are texting their friends the review rather than on a public forum that people Reading the "reviews" (I use the term loosely) from the users here, saying things like, "It suked" (their spelling, not mine) or "save your m$n$y," as though they are texting their friends the review rather than on a public forum that people over the age of 18 might actually be reading, just leads me to the conclusion I've held for quite some time. Your average moving-going audience is a bunch of vapid morons. About 5% of the theater we were in actually GOT what a masterpiece this truly is and WHY. The high schoolers, who were there because we forgot they were out early after taking exams, all left talking about it "sucking balls" and other colorful verbage. Nice. I guess that was thanks to its' lack of "in-your-face" footage of everything (thanks, video games!) and lack of neat, tidy little ending they could all talk about directly. Imagination!? What's THAT!? If you're the type of person who thinks the last 10 films you have seen are the most shallow, poorly acted and forgettable films EVER, then this is the film for you. If you understand what I mean by that statement, you'll most likely love it. If you don't, "save your m$n$y." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JasonMJan 19, 2008
I pray to god that this style of filmaking dies with this film. I did not pay $7 to watch a guy run around with a handheld video camera. If Blair Witch meets Godzilla meets You Tube is your thing, then this movie is for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AustinMJan 19, 2008
Extremely engrossing movie that leaves you feeling stunned. Definitely predictable, but they meant for it to be like that. The characters all seem like real people, which makes it much more interesting to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DarrylFJan 19, 2008
Total waste ! so much potential.. I guess I was expecting so much more !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerGJan 19, 2008
Many films set out to accomplish what Cloverfield has perfected. A perfect medium between character development and action. The idea of "the less you see the scarier it is" truly is in effect in this film. Believe the hype and go see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
catnicJan 19, 2008
JJ is a genius, a thrill of a movie, at least for those of us who "get it"...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Jan 19, 2008
"Cloverfield" is a retarded art film. To put this ambitious gambit of a movie in perspective, you need to be a movie buff; not a snob(who only watches art-house fare); or a fanboy(who only watches mainstream junk); but rather somebody who "Cloverfield" is a retarded art film. To put this ambitious gambit of a movie in perspective, you need to be a movie buff; not a snob(who only watches art-house fare); or a fanboy(who only watches mainstream junk); but rather somebody who has seen it all. And let me tell you: I've seen it all, and "Cloverfield" is something new. It's like watching "Godzilla" directed by Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne("Rosetta", "L'Enfant"); an event film that eschews Hollywood convention for avant-garde disconformity, most notably, the emphasization of form over content. "Cloverfield" is a film you want to cheer for because it brazenly invites audience polarization. We haven't seen a film in wide-release so willing to simulate an amateurish shooting style since "The Blair Witch Project". What "Cloverfield" lacks, however, are characters who act like people(the versimilitude of Heather Donahue's performance in the Eduardo Sanchez & Daniel Myrick film made the Sundance fave from 1999, an artistic and financial success). Paper-thin characters hamper this film's attempt to conjure up the 9/11 tragedy from a you-are-there perspective. We can take only so much of, "Oh, my God! Oh, my God!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HillarynotClintonJan 19, 2008
AWESOME! Reading the reviews of those whining about the shakiness reminds me of people who whime about not be able to "watch" subtitled films because they are always reading! Blergh! I get why some will not like this, you do not get closure AWESOME! Reading the reviews of those whining about the shakiness reminds me of people who whime about not be able to "watch" subtitled films because they are always reading! Blergh! I get why some will not like this, you do not get closure as you do in most mainstram films. Think of all the monster movies thrown at us over the years. You as the viewer follow several people in different locations, and as the viewer, you have the luxury of knowing more details than those involved. Now, imagine if you were in that monster movie. You only know what you are seeing, meaning there is a lot you don't know. I applaud JJ Abrams for not following typical Hollywood suit & giving us a cookie-cutter storytelling & ending. Just like the end of the Sopranos, things go on, we just don't get to see them anymore! Suspend your disbelief, hunker down in the theatre and enjoy!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
wutungJan 19, 2008
This movie is a mashup of godzilla, 28 weeks later, starcraft and the blair witch, all the events woven together in some cheesy love story. The monster/disaster movie from 1st person handcam idea works, but instead of reworking the cliches, This movie is a mashup of godzilla, 28 weeks later, starcraft and the blair witch, all the events woven together in some cheesy love story. The monster/disaster movie from 1st person handcam idea works, but instead of reworking the cliches, it should have at least tried to be original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
andersh.Jan 19, 2008
Too give this movie a bad rating is like having a giant golden stick up your butt that reads, "jaded." If you're looking for a few thrills and want to see a movie that is, if nothing else, completely enjoyable - than see Cloverfield. It Too give this movie a bad rating is like having a giant golden stick up your butt that reads, "jaded." If you're looking for a few thrills and want to see a movie that is, if nothing else, completely enjoyable - than see Cloverfield. It does away with complex mumbo-jumbo explanations and over-acting by puting it in a regular joe point-of-view. For those who hated Cloverfield, try taking that giant golden stick out of your behind and just relax - it's just a monster movie. And a good one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickA.Jan 19, 2008
Very original and daring, unlike anything i've seen before and so much better that i expected. the point of view is so restrictive and yet so effective, you can only expect to see what one person would have seen, and given the scale of Very original and daring, unlike anything i've seen before and so much better that i expected. the point of view is so restrictive and yet so effective, you can only expect to see what one person would have seen, and given the scale of the disaster it is only a very small fraction and yet more than enough to make for a truly engrossing and mindblowing experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamYJan 19, 2008
Exciting, nonstop action!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ThisGuyJan 19, 2008
This is a fairly decent movie. I think that Abrams did a fantastic job making people feel right in the center of an actual monster attack (despite it not being a 3D movie). However, there is still not enough clarification to go with this This is a fairly decent movie. I think that Abrams did a fantastic job making people feel right in the center of an actual monster attack (despite it not being a 3D movie). However, there is still not enough clarification to go with this (even after watching it, you still don't know what the hell this monster is...) and some parts were a little dull (the opening scene was horrendously boring....). This could have been a great film, but it needed so much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
larrykJan 19, 2008
Seven of us saw this movie together. On Meta Critic's scale of 10, all seven of us gave the movie a 20!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelSJan 19, 2008
I loved the way the film was shot, which was very much like Blair Witch. Also as how you were kept guessing the whole way through. Even at the end, you were still left with questions. The monsters and it's "children" were creepy and I loved the way the film was shot, which was very much like Blair Witch. Also as how you were kept guessing the whole way through. Even at the end, you were still left with questions. The monsters and it's "children" were creepy and scary. I'd recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexRJan 19, 2008
The movie abused the camcorder first person view. It was great for a while but shakey cam was pretty annoying. The movie used some guy's stupid going away party as a plot device so that when the monsters came, they'd all be The movie abused the camcorder first person view. It was great for a while but shakey cam was pretty annoying. The movie used some guy's stupid going away party as a plot device so that when the monsters came, they'd all be together. The monster's origin wasn't even hinted at, leaving their existance and origin left COMPLETELY open for interpretation. I'm all for making the viewer think, but that was just lazy writing. The end, aka "Thanks for your money", tried to use "the camcorder as the storyteller" but completely failed. Massive disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful