Paramount Pictures | Release Date: January 18, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 938 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
591
Mixed:
109
Negative:
238
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
BrawnBoyMar 6, 2008
This movie totally sucked. I wasted $25 dollars to see it. This has got to be one of the things I most regret. The movie made no sense. The plot....there was no plot!!! Worst of all the monster looked pretty lame. And the camera seemed to be This movie totally sucked. I wasted $25 dollars to see it. This has got to be one of the things I most regret. The movie made no sense. The plot....there was no plot!!! Worst of all the monster looked pretty lame. And the camera seemed to be moving around a whole lot too much. It even made my G-friend dizzy and sick. So we left the movie early. Thank goodness..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RandalflagMar 8, 2008
This movie was a piece of trash. It had no plot, the actors were horrible (i was rooting for the monster the whole time) The camera work was sickening (literally) and the movie was a blatant ripoff of a mixture of "The Blair Witch Project" This movie was a piece of trash. It had no plot, the actors were horrible (i was rooting for the monster the whole time) The camera work was sickening (literally) and the movie was a blatant ripoff of a mixture of "The Blair Witch Project" and "Godzilla". The movie could have been shorted to 60 minutes with all the procrastination in the first 30 minutes of the movie, (yes even though it had no story whatsoever, it was 90 minutes of camera shaking and procrastination). I would definately not reccomend this movie to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdamS.Mar 25, 2008
I would just like to ask those who liked this piece of disrespectful and intellectually shallow movie that's milking the events of 9/11 for what they're worth. What's in your heads, people? Get a grip of yourselves already and I would just like to ask those who liked this piece of disrespectful and intellectually shallow movie that's milking the events of 9/11 for what they're worth. What's in your heads, people? Get a grip of yourselves already and realise what you've just done by paying to see this insult to decency! Man! You Americans have already fantasized about every catastrophic or cataclysmic scenario thinkable, yet you want more and you even like it. Maybe that is why you go out and kill people around the world. You just have to live your sick fantasies through your military and then watch it like some sick reality show, which at least to you, seems to be just a show with realistic special effects, don't you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KsmithMar 26, 2008
thought it was a discusting film ... no need for it!! ... the endin was pointless!! wtf nd it was jus a pointless film. the only film i think ive ever regretted watchin!! the movie made me feel sick as it is jus a guy runnin round with a thought it was a discusting film ... no need for it!! ... the endin was pointless!! wtf nd it was jus a pointless film. the only film i think ive ever regretted watchin!! the movie made me feel sick as it is jus a guy runnin round with a camera pointless!!... really wasnt impressed sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SeanC.Mar 31, 2008
Pretty cool idea but the camera style is annoying. Two reasons for that is it creates a false sense of action especially when no real plot development is evident. The second reason, the movie made half the theatre so sick they couldn't Pretty cool idea but the camera style is annoying. Two reasons for that is it creates a false sense of action especially when no real plot development is evident. The second reason, the movie made half the theatre so sick they couldn't even watch most of the film. Not so cool when you pay 9 bucks for a film. The sequel, which is already in development, better not be anything like the camera style in the first one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillyG.Mar 31, 2008
Horrible movie! Incredibly boring, it never got started, just the main characters walking around the whole time.I got mixed feelings about the ending 1.It came out of nowhere, I didnt know if I had to get up when the credits started rolling Horrible movie! Incredibly boring, it never got started, just the main characters walking around the whole time.I got mixed feelings about the ending 1.It came out of nowhere, I didnt know if I had to get up when the credits started rolling or if it was some kind of joke. 2. I was happy the headache generator was over. Movie was a total waste of time, Dont watch it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyA.Apr 1, 2008
I loved this movie, more than any other movie. I cannot understand why so many people seemed to have a distaste for this movie. I will agree that a few things (ie. the phones still working, and Hud still holding the camera, and the camera I loved this movie, more than any other movie. I cannot understand why so many people seemed to have a distaste for this movie. I will agree that a few things (ie. the phones still working, and Hud still holding the camera, and the camera still being intact) didn't make sence, but putting that aside, the movie was incredable. Not to mention the viral marketing was pure genius. I give it a 10/10 because it just blew my mind. I never would have imagined a monster movie leaving me with my jaw dropped the way it was, but Cloverfield produced it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanessaH.Apr 1, 2008
AMAZING MOVIE!! I can't understand why anyone would not love this movie!! I have so far seen it 10 times, once in the theater, and 9 times at home. It's a masterpiece! But if they make a sequal, i will be pissed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayM.Apr 1, 2008
Honestly, I wish i could give this film an 11, but alas, it is not allowed. Brilliant movie. Stunning! I think some people completely missed the point of this movie. Which is a real shame. They are really missing an insanely amazing movie!! Honestly, I wish i could give this film an 11, but alas, it is not allowed. Brilliant movie. Stunning! I think some people completely missed the point of this movie. Which is a real shame. They are really missing an insanely amazing movie!! I really cannot get over this movie. I have not stopped watching it since i saw it the night it came out. Visualy, it was incredible! Emotionally, it was genius! It really made u wonder what you would have done if you were in that situation. Personally, i would not have gone into the city, but then again, maybe i would for someone i truely cared about. I loved Hud (T.J Miller). I think he was the best part of the movie. He even brought some humor into it. He was the man behing the camera. The movie may have been a bit shakey, but my eyes adjusted to it within the first 10 minutes or so. It was an unbelievable movie, and i did not see a single person get up and leave because they couldn't stand it. I think some people are just being a little dramatic. At the end people were clapping and some cheering. Stunning! There aren't even adequate words to describe this movie. Above all else, this is my new favorite movie of all time!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichardA.Apr 2, 2008
You have GOT to be kiddin me! This was a mindless movie in the real sense. I was extremely disappointed in the movie and the entire premise. I stayed to watch it because between the price of the gasoline to drive to the movie and the price You have GOT to be kiddin me! This was a mindless movie in the real sense. I was extremely disappointed in the movie and the entire premise. I stayed to watch it because between the price of the gasoline to drive to the movie and the price of the ticket I felt compelled to get some sort of return from it. The premise of the camcorder being found in what was ONCE known as Central Park led me to an int eresting conclusion that throughly destroys the intended plot. The military referred to what was called Operating Hammerdown. I can only surmise that this involved some VERY SERIOUS weaponry. Perhaps a small yield nuclear warhead was used. The fact that area was ONCE KNOWN as Central Park lets me know that the area was completely and utterly devasted!. If this were the case then someone PLEASE tell me HOW in the world did the Camcorder survive? High-yield fuel air explosive weapons would have melted the thing and a nuclear explosion would have vaporized it. The premise of a camcorder surving wih perfect picture and sound recordings is absurd. Before you go and say that it was restored then why are there no gaps in continuity? Surely some of the action would have been irretrievable. NUFF SAID! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ArielG.Apr 4, 2008
As much as I'd like to give this movie a proper review, I had to walk out after 30 minutes. Part of it was because of the nausea-inducing camera work which got me close to throwing up several times, and the other reason was that after As much as I'd like to give this movie a proper review, I had to walk out after 30 minutes. Part of it was because of the nausea-inducing camera work which got me close to throwing up several times, and the other reason was that after half an hour, there was no plot, no story arc or character development. I give it 3 points for the clever marketing campaign, which tricked a lot of people (including myself) to give their hard-earned money to watch this movie, only to leave the theatres nauseous and disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EzekialApr 6, 2008
Blair Witch Project meets Godzilla? It was entertaining but at the end you are left confused and somewhat angry. The movie leaves out way to many pieces of information for my liking. Decent overall though worth a rent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PaulW.Apr 6, 2008
What could have been a great contribution to the film's genre, is frankly wasted almost right from the start. Once again (like in War of the Worlds) some ill conceived group of people, who are so unlikable, air-headed and preposterously What could have been a great contribution to the film's genre, is frankly wasted almost right from the start. Once again (like in War of the Worlds) some ill conceived group of people, who are so unlikable, air-headed and preposterously good looking, you could swear they were from another movie, is thrown at the audience as if to say: 'Hi folks, these are your protagonists for this evening's entertainment. We apologize for any inconvenience.' Why do we once again have to suffer through the most impressive collection of jawdroppingly dumb yuppies, whose existence somehow seems to revolve around spewing the most vapid conversation around like if it was a sport. Cloverfield has some very impressive and convincing CGI, but when are we finally going to get treated to this art-form in a movie together with a great story and on par dialog? Transformers, another CGI wonder, was nearly unwatchable for the exact same reason. I realize that it's a cliché when I say that this movie could and should have been SO much better. Not in gritty realism, it covers that bit quite well (although I would have preferred some sort of mix of steady-cam and not-steady-cam footage, but rather through a decent plot, a decent (and relevant) build-up and a feasible script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithS.Apr 7, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie, i think the beginning was slow only because they had to introduce all the characters. And also setup the whole plot of the story. I'm guessing the people who said there was no plot didn't watch I really enjoyed this movie, i think the beginning was slow only because they had to introduce all the characters. And also setup the whole plot of the story. I'm guessing the people who said there was no plot didn't watch carefully enough or listen. The plot actually begins to develop after the attack begins, and from that point the plot is very simple they set out to rescue beth. I personally wouldn't have done this if i were him i would have got the heck on a chopper and escaped the area. The ending of the movie is to be expected for this genre, as we all know there was a part two for the Blair witch project and Godzilla. And i've also heard abroad that if could be a second movie in the works. Movies like these you don't want to rush, i also liked how everything was kept secret until the movie actually came out. I hate those movies previews when they have to show everything . As for the origins of the creature its possible the creature was lying dormant this whole time until it was awoken possibly from that oil tanker? Maybe they were drilling deep for oil and woke it up? Anyways if you haven't seen this movie yet i urge you to buy the DVD or seek a copy my some other means and watch it you won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattsApr 8, 2008
sucked. jittery camera gave many people motion sickness. real life isn't that jittery even when you are running. lame!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
L.CollinsApr 9, 2008
If you spent the first twenty minutes staring at your popcorn, then you'll have missed the only bad point of the movie. After its slow start it becomes one of the better horror films to be churned out of hollywood
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamN.Apr 13, 2008
As a movie, Cloverfield is decent. Writing is passable, acting ok, and overall a passable movie. As an experience, it's intense, ridiculously entertaining, and absolutely unforgettable. @ Matt S. They're being chased by a fucking As a movie, Cloverfield is decent. Writing is passable, acting ok, and overall a passable movie. As an experience, it's intense, ridiculously entertaining, and absolutely unforgettable. @ Matt S. They're being chased by a fucking monster. If anything, it wasn't 'jittery' enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Apr 16, 2008
Sort of a Blair Witch meets Godzilla in New York. Although I have to admire the originality of the film, the camcorder filming gets nerve wracking. It has it's moments though, but I was never convinced, in spite of it's realistic filming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeffR.Apr 19, 2008
movie was good, if i could see it. good plot good action, good effects. Thank god Transformers was not shot like clover.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BenSApr 21, 2008
Mark this movie as another overrated waste of time. The monster-fish-dinosaur, or whatever you want to call it, was weakly portrayed. I think a 3rd grader drew the sketches for this one, I mean the thing was shooting fireballs! How un-scary Mark this movie as another overrated waste of time. The monster-fish-dinosaur, or whatever you want to call it, was weakly portrayed. I think a 3rd grader drew the sketches for this one, I mean the thing was shooting fireballs! How un-scary is that?! And the spoider things were random with no connection to anything. They just magically appeared. This was just another teen, wannna be horror movie. I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JesseApr 21, 2008
This movie is all about fun and i had a good time watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnneApr 22, 2008
This movie doesn't have any plot or characters I can identify with. The characters annoyed me more than anything. I didn't like the way the movie was shot either. It made lots of people in the theater motion sick. I wasn't This movie doesn't have any plot or characters I can identify with. The characters annoyed me more than anything. I didn't like the way the movie was shot either. It made lots of people in the theater motion sick. I wasn't warned about this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ModestusQ.Apr 23, 2008
I knew within the first 5 minutes of 'Cloverfield' that this would be the kind of entertainment that truly polarized audiences. The opening party scene is forgettable and doesn't really do anything to give the main players I knew within the first 5 minutes of 'Cloverfield' that this would be the kind of entertainment that truly polarized audiences. The opening party scene is forgettable and doesn't really do anything to give the main players more than one dimension. However, once the action explodes...um, literally, 'Cloverfield' becomes a fascinating experiment, despite the fact that it's also a bit frustrating. I'm not sure that the actors truly sold a significant "I'm here! This is happening!" perspective. Rather than implanting an impression of realism and reactive instinct, I found the performances to be too self conscious and modulated, more theater than verismo. The premise is fantastic. The 'things left unseen' approach works for most of the film. And, I think the action was accessible enough to carry the film through the lulls. Whether the 'camcorder' photography remains a novel or gimmicky approach, it's a bit of a toss up. Despite the flaws, including a deep lack of story momentum, I found the film entertaining. And, that is that! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattA.Apr 23, 2008
Not a bad movie by any means. Excellently filmed in a style that i found very refreshing. A tad ridiculous with character motivations... but...hey...it's a freaking movie. The effects were great, and the monster seemed pretty cool. I Not a bad movie by any means. Excellently filmed in a style that i found very refreshing. A tad ridiculous with character motivations... but...hey...it's a freaking movie. The effects were great, and the monster seemed pretty cool. I love the whole government file theme. All in all i give this movie a 7.5, but i rounded it up because of the low scores. Not as bad as i thought it was going to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KenW.Apr 24, 2008
I must admit that the sales promotions on TV lead you to believe that this is going to be a pretty good horror movie. I was never so disappointed in a show in my life. To be quite honest it sucked Whale Dung at the bottom of the ocean. I can I must admit that the sales promotions on TV lead you to believe that this is going to be a pretty good horror movie. I was never so disappointed in a show in my life. To be quite honest it sucked Whale Dung at the bottom of the ocean. I can not believe the insatiable stupidity of the so called directors and producers of this junk, by filming the whole show through a cell phone. Give me a break. Not to mention the screen play writing. It reminded me of a dog in the yard chasing its tail, started no where, getting no where, and going no where. This is painfully obvious with the main actor and his limited lines of "Bob, Bob, Bob." One other thing to add for this waste of time of a so called movie, if you have any form of Epilepsy as I do, please do not even begin to watch it, as from the insatiable stupidity of the so called directors and the constant bouncing around of the film is subject to set off a seizure. I must admit though that the sales pitch was pretty good, as it duped me into wasting my money on this DVD. I would have been better off ordering a pizza, at least I would have enjoyed the pizza. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LucianSApr 24, 2008
Before watching this film I had no idea what it was about apart from the fact that it involved a monster at some point; I missed all the virals, trailers, so perhaps I will be reviewing this from a different point of view to others.... Before watching this film I had no idea what it was about apart from the fact that it involved a monster at some point; I missed all the virals, trailers, so perhaps I will be reviewing this from a different point of view to others.... It's a truly brilliant film,, good acting (perhaps a bit too over the top at times) but most of all was how gripping it was and how it held your attention. Yes the camera scenes aren't perfect, but they add an eerie realism to the overall experience. I quite liked how the characters were people you couldn't really identify or want to know...what the movie does is show that all types of people, whether we like them or not, unify in a crisis. The parallels to 9/11 are there for all to see, and it's an ingenious piece of film. Just watch and enjoy Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MikeG.Apr 24, 2008
well i give it a 1 because it basically sucked .. the whole thing from the beginning when they started filming with that lame camera till the end when they get blown up and you don't know what happened .. also i like to know who would well i give it a 1 because it basically sucked .. the whole thing from the beginning when they started filming with that lame camera till the end when they get blown up and you don't know what happened .. also i like to know who would film all of that while that was going on... i give it one star cause it wasn't scary ... believable ... or even witty ... lame lame lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JAApr 25, 2008
Ken W called the movie a "show". only people in the industry call movies "shows". I questions whether this guy is just a jaded ex pro or maybe got fired off the movie. Cloverfield is excellent entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CoryGApr 25, 2008
Not as bad as I expected it to be, but still, there could have been ALOT more improvements. And it was really short.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoePrinceApr 26, 2008
*Some spoilers... but trust me, you aren't missing much* "Cloverfield" offers no more than its amazing trailer - no more thrills, no more clarification, no more... well, anything. Except the face of the monster, which, because of the *Some spoilers... but trust me, you aren't missing much* "Cloverfield" offers no more than its amazing trailer - no more thrills, no more clarification, no more... well, anything. Except the face of the monster, which, because of the camerawork, isn't clear. What begins as a story that seems decidedly human quickly devolves into cliches (the lost love, the frantic search for lost love, the panicky, bewildered looks of those in danger, the poor decision making skills of self-appointed leaders) that become more tiresome when you realize that The Camera Is Still Rolling; that is, the poor sap who's following his friends around during a rampage is still holding a camera. (This plot hole is remedied in one dumbshit line: "The world will need to know what happened!" or something equally asinine). Drop it and run, pal. Speaking of the camerawork, the POV is interesting for the first twenty minutes, but becomes tedious as the plot and "near escapes" become progressively more preposterous. The principal characters survive multiple attacks: one seems to be impaled (but lives), three are in a helicopter crash - and survive!, and two watch a friend devoured alive... but the monster leaves them alone. All this would be made palpable if the acting was clever, witty, or pulled more than just Acting 101 grab-bag crap, but it doesn't. From the cameraman's incessant "What's going on?! Where's Rob going?!" to the farewells before the ending (which are hilariously awful, cherry-picking from The Blair Witch Project), the actors' "spontaneity" is never fully convincing. This film was a huge letdown. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HeatherR,Apr 26, 2008
This seems to be the only movie that actully wanted to make me barf. Literally. The constant moving and shaking of the camera gave me the worst head ache!! I gave it a one because maybe one or two parts where funny or cool. Yet, it This seems to be the only movie that actully wanted to make me barf. Literally. The constant moving and shaking of the camera gave me the worst head ache!! I gave it a one because maybe one or two parts where funny or cool. Yet, it wasn't scary. It wasn't very funny. Over all it was hard to watch because of the shaking. Oh, and ending sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomLApr 26, 2008
WOW Cloverfield SUCKED! The last time I was this dizzy I was halfway into blair witch!...Terrible...I would not recommend this movie to anyone! See this stupid ass movie. I normally really like sci-fi, but seriously, there could have been WOW Cloverfield SUCKED! The last time I was this dizzy I was halfway into blair witch!...Terrible...I would not recommend this movie to anyone! See this stupid ass movie. I normally really like sci-fi, but seriously, there could have been much more. I mean Godzilla was made like 30 years ago, and I can still watch the original. Director needs to go back to school. Totally sucked, and literally make me sick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankV.Apr 27, 2008
This was simply one of the most amazing movie experiences in my life. It's thrilling, witty and exhilarating experiment that provided more "wow" moments than any other film and the creature design is very interesting and original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KameronM.Apr 27, 2008
I thought this movie was the most enjoyable so far in 2008. The monster was great-looking, the dialog wasn't great, but had its moments. The one complaint I do have is they killed off characters too soon and the film was a little too I thought this movie was the most enjoyable so far in 2008. The monster was great-looking, the dialog wasn't great, but had its moments. The one complaint I do have is they killed off characters too soon and the film was a little too short. Also Ken W. your a complete idiot, based on the fact your review states the movie was shot on a cell phone when actually its clearly a camera, its meant to be real dialog also so their trying to show the guy is stupid, but obviously idiots like you don't get that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
66GoatApr 27, 2008
If you watch the special features on the DVD you will appreciate the tremendous effort that went into this film. They really wanted it to be something special. And it was except for the camerawork. Such a shame. In their zeal to make it If you watch the special features on the DVD you will appreciate the tremendous effort that went into this film. They really wanted it to be something special. And it was except for the camerawork. Such a shame. In their zeal to make it realistic, the audience is subjected to near torture. Most of the time the action is at a 45 degree angle. If they wanted to make it that realistic, why not just have the hero drop the camera and show a curb for an hour? Makes about as much sense. This would have been a 10 if only they showed a bit of amatuerish camerawork to give the idea, they film it more or less normally. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DeniseO.Apr 27, 2008
the credits are still rolling and I am here giving you my opinion - it was CRAP - lacking in substance - short, no real story line, the end sucked - and we paid $20 for the movie !!! what a let down!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZackB.Apr 27, 2008
A refreshing spin on a graying genre. Many find the film lax in the plot department - and they'd be right. But it's not a film about "plot", it's about a moment - an increasingly hopeless moment involving bystanders of a A refreshing spin on a graying genre. Many find the film lax in the plot department - and they'd be right. But it's not a film about "plot", it's about a moment - an increasingly hopeless moment involving bystanders of a situation completely out of their understanding or control. The camera-work can be polarizing at first (or near impossible for some to cope with), but I found myself highly immersed in the movie thanks to it. I thought the film was an enjoyable experience, and recommend it for anyone in need of some giant-monster with their action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JadeT.Apr 28, 2008
The movie was meant to try and recreate a realistic reaction to a disaster. I recall when me and my family got caught in a hurricane in Florida, and the windows in are hotel blew in and we had to get evacuated. My cousin wouldn't stop The movie was meant to try and recreate a realistic reaction to a disaster. I recall when me and my family got caught in a hurricane in Florida, and the windows in are hotel blew in and we had to get evacuated. My cousin wouldn't stop filming the fiasco, saying someone would want to see it. I don't understand why people expect a movie to have a classic movie plot. Movie plot shit never happens in real life granted neither does a big lizard destroying New York, but maybe people should do their research about the point of the hand held camera and the aimless plot, which in retrospect wasn't really that bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
YashR.Apr 28, 2008
Why would someone make something so good looking in previews but suck SO bad when you see it 0/100 haha.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomApr 29, 2008
3 things 1. Too bad Mystery Science Theater 3000 is no longer around. This movie would have been on there the first week it was available. 2. What kind of cam-corder was that? I want one. It's tougher than a cockroach. It survives 3 things 1. Too bad Mystery Science Theater 3000 is no longer around. This movie would have been on there the first week it was available. 2. What kind of cam-corder was that? I want one. It's tougher than a cockroach. It survives drops, helicopter crashes, monster thrashes and electromagnetic pulses from a nuke! 3. Beth was an alien. It's remarkable how she didn't bleed to death after being impaled on re-bar and had full use of her arm and shoulder in that last scene. And, by the way, if you liked the way this was filmed, just put your tv in the dryer. It's a lot cheaper than renting crappy movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AfoteyA.Apr 29, 2008
Fantastic film. One of the best I've seen in years. Requires some imagination, which most people have sadly lost. Hollywood does NOT need to explain everything...sometimes, the scariest things are the ones you don't see, and in Fantastic film. One of the best I've seen in years. Requires some imagination, which most people have sadly lost. Hollywood does NOT need to explain everything...sometimes, the scariest things are the ones you don't see, and in this case, the unknowns (where did the monster come from? was the military able to beat it? what the hell was that thing that fell into the water @ the very end, and how did that tie into the creature?) allowed me to use my imagination to fill in the blanks. A future classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrandonApr 29, 2008
What an absolute waste of time. Jarring, erratic, nausea-inducing camera movement, annoying characters, and completely unrealistic despite being a 'reality' movie. By the end of the movie, you'll be left wondering why you made What an absolute waste of time. Jarring, erratic, nausea-inducing camera movement, annoying characters, and completely unrealistic despite being a 'reality' movie. By the end of the movie, you'll be left wondering why you made yourself undergo 80 minutes of complete nonsense. To make things even worse, nothing about this movie was even remotely scary. The previews were better when one truly didn't know what was going on. That was its charm; had they given the cheap looking monster away beforehand, no one would have seen this piece of cinematic trash. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveTApr 30, 2008
Most of this movie is camera shots of peoples shoes. Boring 3rd rate actors and very annoying cinematography. I absolutely hate this movie. It is trash masquerading as art. If you liked Blair Witch you will probably liked this too but I Most of this movie is camera shots of peoples shoes. Boring 3rd rate actors and very annoying cinematography. I absolutely hate this movie. It is trash masquerading as art. If you liked Blair Witch you will probably liked this too but I consider Blair Witch the No.1 most overrated movie ever made, Cloverfield is the second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMay 1, 2008
Thank you Tom and 66goat. You're proof that people that dislike Cloverfield can have a brain. Because, besides yours, some of the complaints I've seen from some of the haters are absolutely horrendous. 1. 'There was no real Thank you Tom and 66goat. You're proof that people that dislike Cloverfield can have a brain. Because, besides yours, some of the complaints I've seen from some of the haters are absolutely horrendous. 1. 'There was no real storyline.' There wasn't supposed to be. It's people running through New York City, running from a monster. You're supposed to feel like you're in the attack, not following a plot. If anything, there was too much plot. 2. 'The Monster shot fireballs!' Whoever posted that is an idiot. It didn't shoot fireballs, it was throwing around exploding debris. 3. 'ZOMG, TOO MUCH SHAKING'. Being chased by a monster. In New York City. With little creatures falling off it. Personally, I'd be running like Hell, and if I'm holding a camera while running like Hell, I'd imagine it'd be shaking quite a bit. 4. The end sucked...it kept you hanging. Yeah. It was supposed to. It kept possibilities open for a sequel and speculation. 5. The Spider things just appeared out of nowhere! ....they fell off the monster. Their origin is unclear because the MOVIE IS THROUGH THE PERSPECTIVE OF 20 SOMETHINGS AT A PARTY. SORRY THAT THEY DON'T KNOW THE ORIGINS OF A 30 STORY MONSTER THAT ATTACKS WITH LITTLE WARNING. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonE.May 3, 2008
This movie deserves far more praise than it gets. My only hope is that it goes the way of Wizard of Oz, It's A Wonderful Life, and Blade Runner before it - polarizing critics and audiences when it comes out, but considered a classic This movie deserves far more praise than it gets. My only hope is that it goes the way of Wizard of Oz, It's A Wonderful Life, and Blade Runner before it - polarizing critics and audiences when it comes out, but considered a classic down the road. I, for one, think that it's the most creative, realistic, original, exciting, and personal stories told on screen. Absolutely brilliant in every way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertI.May 4, 2008
Blair witch meets godzilla. Totally bogus premise, you won't believe a minute of it, but, having said that, it's so entertaining that you don't want to leave your seat for a minute. Who's going to get creamed? Eaten Blair witch meets godzilla. Totally bogus premise, you won't believe a minute of it, but, having said that, it's so entertaining that you don't want to leave your seat for a minute. Who's going to get creamed? Eaten alive? What's at the end of the subway tunnel? Who's shooting all those cannonballs of fire? Will Manhattan be nuked? Kids in peril are as old as pauline, but, man, what a trip! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BudB.May 6, 2008
Didn't like Blair Witch Project either. If I wanted to watch home video I'd watch America's Funniest. Try using a budget larger than the cost of the discs. Horrible imitation film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaylandM.May 7, 2008
This movie seems to polarize people. Love it or hate it. I was absolutely fascinated by it. It didn't seem like I was watching a movie, performed by actors. It really made me believe that I was watching so called found footage. I can This movie seems to polarize people. Love it or hate it. I was absolutely fascinated by it. It didn't seem like I was watching a movie, performed by actors. It really made me believe that I was watching so called found footage. I can understand why some people didn't enjoy the whole motion sickness inducing shaky cam. It was nice the way they interwove professional fx with really professionally shot camera work made to look like it was a puny home video camera. My one complaint is that when they first run headlong into the monster, the initial shots fired by the army looked a little hokey, but the rest of the fighting was top notch. Exploding babes, squished battletanks, impalements, heavy bombing and wickedly demolished metropolis all combine to provide the kind of theatrical experience that doesn't come along very often. As with transformers, I wish I had seen it in the theater, instead if DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LemmorMay 11, 2008
Fantastic movie but I needed to see more angles.... Is there any other videocam picked up? So he's the only one filming it, how about security cameras or the army or from reporters from helicopters? right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VincentB.May 12, 2008
An awful attempt at mixing the blair witch with godzilla. If the monster isn't a good enough reasons to leave the city, the characters and lacking love story is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LandonLMay 15, 2008
Loved it. thrill, intensity, drama, this movie sparks so many emotions. either a love or hate movie. most people i have spoken with hate d the ending or had gotten motion sickness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomCMay 16, 2008
Liked it alot..found it very thrilling and enjoyed the film style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RhysJMay 22, 2008
An amazing movie. One of my favorites of all time. Special effects were immense, it made my heart race when I had seen the explosions. The acting was amazing, for once, actors have actually portrayed their actual selves as if it was actually An amazing movie. One of my favorites of all time. Special effects were immense, it made my heart race when I had seen the explosions. The acting was amazing, for once, actors have actually portrayed their actual selves as if it was actually happening instead of being someone totally different. I also do not understand why people complained about the 'dizziness' there was only a little bit of shaking around, it's not like the whole film was a camera being thrown around everywhere. All & all. If you have a good taste in monster movies - I HIGHLY recommend you see Cloverfield. If you haven't seen it, go buy it on Dvd and have an amazing thrill! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TimC.May 22, 2008
The concept was good, however, the first 15 minutes was very annoying and there was no shock value in the film at all ... meaning that every event could be seen from miles away by anyone with a brain stem. The last 20 minutes was passable The concept was good, however, the first 15 minutes was very annoying and there was no shock value in the film at all ... meaning that every event could be seen from miles away by anyone with a brain stem. The last 20 minutes was passable and even cool but all in all the mixture of Blair Witch / Godzilla and 9-11 was unimpressive and did not bring the concept justice. I don't quite think it was a waste of time but I'm glad I only payed $1.08 to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeN.May 23, 2008
Honestly, the most amazing and well done movie to come out in recent years. It completely changed the monster movie genre and kicked it on it's side. A great piece of film and a great experiment that got it right. This was incredible to Honestly, the most amazing and well done movie to come out in recent years. It completely changed the monster movie genre and kicked it on it's side. A great piece of film and a great experiment that got it right. This was incredible to see in the theater and it's even better watching it at home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChristineM.May 24, 2008
The camera work was very jumpy but that was to be expected. I was very dissapointed that in the end they offered NO explanation as to what happened even after it was obvious they found the video after the fact. It left to uch open to debate The camera work was very jumpy but that was to be expected. I was very dissapointed that in the end they offered NO explanation as to what happened even after it was obvious they found the video after the fact. It left to uch open to debate as far as what actually happened. I feel like watching this was a waste of my time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickyR.May 24, 2008
This movie is one of my favorite movies ever the characteers go good together. it doesn't tell the story of the monster but thats wat sequels are for. my only complaint is when i seen it on the big screen at skool i felt kinda sick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CrisL.May 25, 2008
Visual affects brilliant although the story was very ordinary ,Left in suspense through the film and it just cut off with no ending. The first person's view I did not like.I walked away feeling "what a wast of my time".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KennyCMay 27, 2008
Worst movie ever. Blair witch style camera-work put the nails in the coffin of what might have been an acceptable picture.. maybe. No way someone impaled through the chest can run down 70 flights of stairs and make it from Columbus Circle to Worst movie ever. Blair witch style camera-work put the nails in the coffin of what might have been an acceptable picture.. maybe. No way someone impaled through the chest can run down 70 flights of stairs and make it from Columbus Circle to Grand Central, then survive a helicopter crash to then help pull someone out of the wreckage... and.. I've never seen a camcorder battery last that long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
willTXZMay 28, 2008
More studio pandering to a nation without a hint of culture or a modicum of taste. But my, how it must please paramounts accountants - artistry be dammed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottD.May 28, 2008
FANTASTIC! this is without doubt one of my favourite films. it had me on the edge of my seat throughout just waiting for something to jump out. The handheld camera effect gives it this feel in the person's point of view, if it was made FANTASTIC! this is without doubt one of my favourite films. it had me on the edge of my seat throughout just waiting for something to jump out. The handheld camera effect gives it this feel in the person's point of view, if it was made with normal Film cameras that we see today, it would not be as watchable. It also leaves alot to think about, lots of mystery which also enhances the tension and feel of the movie Perfect 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoeT.May 31, 2008
Movie sucked. blair witch camera work. story starts and ends giving you absolutely no information on whats going on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
zachrJun 1, 2008
Terrible, predictable no suspense at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LongC.Jun 4, 2008
Wonderful, thrilling, and uniqie expirience with great characters, but deliberately leaves you with no answers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobD.Jun 4, 2008
wow this movie was the stupidest thing I have ever seen! Bad acting, Bad blair witch cinematics, no conclusive ending! what a waste of 5 bucks glad i didnt go to the theater to see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcelP.Jun 5, 2008
Stunningly, and intensely real. Wow
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimOJun 6, 2008
Not very thrilling or terrifying, cloverfield puts you through a story which is so far fetched I was shocked not to see some disney characters coming by to say hi. woman that are dying for the entire movie somehow live and is just as active Not very thrilling or terrifying, cloverfield puts you through a story which is so far fetched I was shocked not to see some disney characters coming by to say hi. woman that are dying for the entire movie somehow live and is just as active as the other characters in the film. The entire city of NY is evacuated in 2hours? very far fetched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KatGimJun 6, 2008
This movie was pretty good. Except the on going moving and turning, etc. I wish the camera would have been normal instead of someone always moving the camera and filming it. The action was good but the story didn't really make sense at This movie was pretty good. Except the on going moving and turning, etc. I wish the camera would have been normal instead of someone always moving the camera and filming it. The action was good but the story didn't really make sense at all. There was a lot of pointless scenes and disturbing scenes. When some actors got hurt they didn't even act hurt, so not so good acting. But other then that the movie was okay. I hated the filming and some acting but everything else was okay. Nice imagination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkoJ.Jun 7, 2008
I would have given this a 9, but I had to close my eyes during the last half of the movie because the extremely shaky camera made me ill so bad that I could not watch. Really liked the movie though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveK.Jun 8, 2008
A cinematic experiment that paid off fantastically. A bit "hokey Hollywood" towards the end, but I was still gripped to my seat for the entire movie. I look forward to seeing this movie even years from now, as this film will definitely stand A cinematic experiment that paid off fantastically. A bit "hokey Hollywood" towards the end, but I was still gripped to my seat for the entire movie. I look forward to seeing this movie even years from now, as this film will definitely stand the test of time for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarkDJun 9, 2008
I can just imagine the discussions between the writers and producers while making this film. ""This film's got no plot, shallow characters and is completly lacking in any original ideas or emotional content. What can we do?"" ""I know I can just imagine the discussions between the writers and producers while making this film. ""This film's got no plot, shallow characters and is completly lacking in any original ideas or emotional content. What can we do?"" ""I know why don't we film it in a camcorder style. That should cover up all the shortcomings and fool the reviewers into thinking we're making somthing clever and revolutionary. Well it worked for Blair Which."" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlejandroH.Jun 13, 2008
Despite its lack of character development, Cloverfield is an amazing thrill ride that keeps you at the edge of your seat, leaving the audience with barely enough time to catch their breath.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DSJun 15, 2008
BAd spoof of the blair theprodject worse movie i have ever seen besides Blair witch prodject.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelRJun 15, 2008
Perhaps the worst movie ever made. It looks like a 5 year filmed it.The whole time I was thinking is this some homemade movie by a couple of morons who decided to switch the real movie with this crap.I wish cuz it probably would have been Perhaps the worst movie ever made. It looks like a 5 year filmed it.The whole time I was thinking is this some homemade movie by a couple of morons who decided to switch the real movie with this crap.I wish cuz it probably would have been better.Anybody that thinks this movie is at leasf decent is clearly on crack. I will never watch another JJ Abrams movie.Its purely crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
IanMJun 16, 2008
I am littering this with [***SPOILERS***]spoiler alerts so don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ConorDJun 21, 2008
Why does everyone hate this!? It's brilliant! I can understand the people who got motion sickness but what's everyone else's problem? @ LEMMOR I'm pretty sure thats going to happen in the sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IanC.Jun 21, 2008
Holy freaking crap this movie was so far fetched,stupid and unentertaining we planned this as a nights activity and my dog walked out of the room as we were watching it I mean come on I had so much more fun watching my dog chew on her bone Holy freaking crap this movie was so far fetched,stupid and unentertaining we planned this as a nights activity and my dog walked out of the room as we were watching it I mean come on I had so much more fun watching my dog chew on her bone than looking at the screen it made me sick it should have a label on the cover saying warning this movie will cause you to throw up of motion sickness. And come on a women that was impaled for an hour sprinting down the street and helping someone out of a helicopter crash. It was a waste of my time and a rip of of 4.95 plus merlina or what ever the heck her name was just blowing up out of nowhere. Anyway thanks again cloverfield for providing a movie with so many questions without any answers and the fact that their even thinking about making a sequel thats painful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DaltonJun 25, 2008
Clever idea - too bad the bouncing camera kept me at that point to where I was just about to barf the whole time. That, and, like the other characters in the movie, I really wanted the guy with the camera to shut up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TiagoM.Jun 26, 2008
The idea is look realistic, very realistic. But the action and the caracters are unreal. Very unreal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DR.Jun 28, 2008
amazing. different, but firmly hollywood. polarized votes tell you something. at its best it felt like jacking into someone's nightmare vs. watching a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamesBondJun 29, 2008
This movie should be in the stupid section. I just wasted my money renting it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattB.Jun 30, 2008
This movie was a great disappointment in fact i'd go as far as saying its one of the worst movies i've ever seen right up their with Carla, and dark harvest. The camera angles were Godzilla meets Blair witch the sequel. The movie This movie was a great disappointment in fact i'd go as far as saying its one of the worst movies i've ever seen right up their with Carla, and dark harvest. The camera angles were Godzilla meets Blair witch the sequel. The movie lacks an actual true storyline and instead replaces it with cgi and no actual point. The movie doesnt have an end and it seems as though abrams got half way through the movie and then learned he got the startreck movie so he just figured he'd throw this movie to the dogs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DylanB.Jul 2, 2008
a great film, the many logical problems that many people find could easily be attributed to fear and anzxiety, you would not think clearly if something like this happened, and (******SPOLIER*****) the hellicopter was'nt too far off the a great film, the many logical problems that many people find could easily be attributed to fear and anzxiety, you would not think clearly if something like this happened, and (******SPOLIER*****) the hellicopter was'nt too far off the ground and spun out of control, it didn't crash directly into the ground, also, and the impaled girl was able to move due to adrenalin, she had been impaled for atlest a couple of hours and, if she had too, could have ignored the pain and kept moving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanMJul 4, 2008
By watching this movie, I just wasted 2 hours of my life.... Someone please tell me why Matt Reeves gets paid this much to make a movie that not only dissapoints, but really honestly, has no true storyline ? I could some up with a better By watching this movie, I just wasted 2 hours of my life.... Someone please tell me why Matt Reeves gets paid this much to make a movie that not only dissapoints, but really honestly, has no true storyline ? I could some up with a better storyline, and actually put a part in about what the creature was ! Seriously this movie is not something I would have even promoted, because the movie its self is not even finished. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PJKJul 5, 2008
An absolutely amazing movie. It had such a realistic feel. When you see the military running into you shooting their guns in the air and a big monster crushing the entire city while looking trough a normal home camera, you just have to gasp An absolutely amazing movie. It had such a realistic feel. When you see the military running into you shooting their guns in the air and a big monster crushing the entire city while looking trough a normal home camera, you just have to gasp in amazement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
kittyJul 6, 2008
I liked this movie, it wasn't my favorite movie ever, but I was still entertained, and I still had moments of panic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ParkerA.Jul 6, 2008
As unintelligent and ineffective as the characters: The Blair Witch Project meets Godzilla and I couldn't even connect with the monster. Thank god for fast forward.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickM.Jul 8, 2008
People expected too much from this movie and got disappointed. They wanted a typical Hollywood movie with a typical Hollywood ending and they didn't get one so they weren't satisfied. This was different and not in a bad way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeDJul 13, 2008
As mentioned before, this is a movie that you either love or hate (as evidenced by the reviews). People mainly complain about the shaking of the camera or how "unrealistic" some parts are. Well, in my view the camera should be shakey. When As mentioned before, this is a movie that you either love or hate (as evidenced by the reviews). People mainly complain about the shaking of the camera or how "unrealistic" some parts are. Well, in my view the camera should be shakey. When you hold a little camcorder in your hand and run full tilt down the street in an attempt to get away before you get squashed, I would be astounded if the footage was as steady as a camera mounted to a tripod. As for the "unrealism" involving injuries and all, I just have one thing to say: You go see a movie about a monster wrecking a city, and you grief about the unrealistic portrayal of cell phone reception?! Sheesh. Anyway, I really enjoyed this movie. True, it didn't have first rate acting talent. But then again, I'd rather see new faces than see Brad Pitt, Angelina Jolie, Jack Black, and the slew of other actors we see too much of lately. The monster ("Clover") might not have had laser eyes or atomic firebreath, but its definitely the most bad-ass monster in recent movie history. And Clover is just a baby! Imagine what momma or pappa are like? If you get the DVD, be sure to watch the "making of" special features. The talented FX crew digitally recreated hundreds of real-life NYC buildings so that they would break and collapse just like they would in real life. Plus, if you're like me and wasn't sure what the monster really looked like, the special features include detailed models and drawings of Clover. All in all, this was a great movie, despite the minor flaws. Check it out, and I hope you won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HughM.Jul 17, 2008
Wow, I LOVE reading all the comments on this movie. People, it's make believe! Don't take it so seriously! I've seen plenty better, but also a lot worse movies this year. It's ok, acting is fine, special effects are Wow, I LOVE reading all the comments on this movie. People, it's make believe! Don't take it so seriously! I've seen plenty better, but also a lot worse movies this year. It's ok, acting is fine, special effects are really good, story line is so-so. Camera work grates at times, but is central to the story. Makes an alright dvd night in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexJul 19, 2008
One of the greatest monster movies. Pure thrills and an awesome plot make for a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoseC.Jul 20, 2008
This movie sucks balls.it's trash and its not worth buying or renting. it belongs in the trash.don't buy or rent it. you will regret it trust me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulLeJul 22, 2008
This is a good movie with monster and horror pack to it. Great fun too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulianL.Jul 28, 2008
DAZZLING and brilliant. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NunoS.Jul 31, 2008
I have just one question to everyone who gave a bad review to this movie... Have you really seen it??? No storyline? Not finished? You all make me laugh!!! This movie is by far the most thrilling idea i've seen in a really long while... I have just one question to everyone who gave a bad review to this movie... Have you really seen it??? No storyline? Not finished? You all make me laugh!!! This movie is by far the most thrilling idea i've seen in a really long while... I never had the dream of becoming an actor but i felt like one... I felt part of the movie! Great special effects, great idea, great story, great movie... absolutely spectacular!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JavierMAug 18, 2008
Great!!! "Cloverfield" is the most amazing film of the year!!!. J.J. Abrams returns to succeed as he did with "Lost" at the moment of mixing action and drama. Very advisable!!!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MeghanKAug 20, 2008
"Cloverfield" was so intense and horrifying that it stuck with me after the movie was even over. I was literally quivering inside and I couldn't escape the spine-chilling images --- that is what I call an awesome movie experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShiviS.Sep 19, 2008
Well, i have seen lots of horror/thiller movies before...and i guess it's probably one of the best 'cause it was different and unique from the other...i felt like i was watching the entire situation in real by my own eyes...and Well, i have seen lots of horror/thiller movies before...and i guess it's probably one of the best 'cause it was different and unique from the other...i felt like i was watching the entire situation in real by my own eyes...and believe me it was awesome but i do think this movie could've been better...'cause i really didn't like the ending....anyway i still give it 8...and will wait for the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EddieD.Sep 19, 2008
Movies like Cloverfield really depend on what you want to see. Me? I think this is monkey crap shoved in your mouth. That sucked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamTSep 22, 2008
Surprisingly shocking, scary and realistic. Cloverfield is probably one of the best monster movies of this decade. Think Jaws in Manhattan and thru your point of view.
0 of 0 users found this helpful