Paramount Pictures | Release Date: January 18, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 917 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
575
Mixed:
104
Negative:
238
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
LoRevisorJan 8, 2015
Tudo bem pode não ser tão ruim como eu penso mas 77% no Rotten Tomatoes e 64% no Metacritic,Puta Merda Os Mercenários 1 e 2 ambos não conseguiram 70% no RT e 60% no Metacritic.
Corre porra!!!! peraí deixa eu gritar,deixa eu corre,deixa eu
Tudo bem pode não ser tão ruim como eu penso mas 77% no Rotten Tomatoes e 64% no Metacritic,Puta Merda Os Mercenários 1 e 2 ambos não conseguiram 70% no RT e 60% no Metacritic.
Corre porra!!!! peraí deixa eu gritar,deixa eu corre,deixa eu filmar qualquer porra menos o monstro que está atacando todo mundo e a gente e a principal coisa no filme acho que resumi bem só mais uma coisa um dos piores filmes da história do terror e do cinema pronto,merda de filme lixo pronto!!!.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ArkonBladeAug 20, 2010
ive seen some bad films such as godzilla's 1998 remake , Jason x , death Bed the bed that eats people , and death stalker 2. but nothing is more terrable then this film . i had nothing bad to say about JJ abrhams till i seen this filth. god iive seen some bad films such as godzilla's 1998 remake , Jason x , death Bed the bed that eats people , and death stalker 2. but nothing is more terrable then this film . i had nothing bad to say about JJ abrhams till i seen this filth. god i dont even know where to start but i will try . lets start out with the camera that god awful camera . i know he was not trying to be original with that Blare witch project rip off style but oh my god it seems any time and i MEAN any time some thing some what intresting starts to happen the camera shakes all over the damn place so nothing is viewable . then the plot which is so simplisticaly stupid i mean this whole movie can be described in 1sentence and basically you will have seen the movie . giant monster attacks and guy goes and saves his girlfriend ... thats it. i mean the old Godzilla movies had more plot then this . i had more questions after seeing this crap then i went in with . you never find out what the monster is , where it came from , why its attacking , what thoose things coming off it are . why people are blowing up after getting bitten . i mean really thoose are the things i know the vast majority of people seeing this turd want to know! people who like tnhis movie try to lie to me and give me bull **** answers on thoos questions just because for some unknown reason they like this piss and wana defend it. listen ive seen this crap 2x it DOESNT ANSWER ANY OF THEM . YOU ARE ONLY GUESSING SO SHUT UP!!! god this movie is just pissing me off reviewing it . that should tell you how bad it is . i mean serously id rather wach the crappy 1998 godzilla film any day over this dribble . this film so gets my vote for worst movie of the decade . Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
bfoore90Jun 19, 2016
Basically an updated version of "The Blair Witch Project" with a giant monster attacking New York City instead of a mysterious ghost attacking kids in the woods. While it does provide you with some suspense and jumps here and there, itsBasically an updated version of "The Blair Witch Project" with a giant monster attacking New York City instead of a mysterious ghost attacking kids in the woods. While it does provide you with some suspense and jumps here and there, its almost immediately undone by the lack of meaningful plot with so much shaky cam you'll be sick with a headache by the end of the film. The monster was cool, however but like I said theres no backstory on where the monster came from, how it got there why its there and what the monster even is or if it got defeated in the end. The monster is literally just there, like a giant plot device. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Zanessa250QIJul 6, 2015
UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUPESSIMODROGAPORCARIADESATREMERDa
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DodgerApr 29, 2012
A poor movie. Some interesting ideas mostly in the form of the recording angle as its supposedly recorded on a handheld camera, personally i didn't think this worked at all though as i found it made it more confusing and didn't draw me in.A poor movie. Some interesting ideas mostly in the form of the recording angle as its supposedly recorded on a handheld camera, personally i didn't think this worked at all though as i found it made it more confusing and didn't draw me in. As most people have stated the ending was awful, one of the worst i have ever seen to the extent that i stood up at the end of the and shouted at the screen. I would recommend that nobody see this movie.... ever. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
FamousdogSep 9, 2010
Well executed, entertaining stuff, but did we REALLY need this to be set in New York? The whole film seems designed to cynically exploit the relatively fresh memories of Sept 11th. The film loses several points for feeling like beingWell executed, entertaining stuff, but did we REALLY need this to be set in New York? The whole film seems designed to cynically exploit the relatively fresh memories of Sept 11th. The film loses several points for feeling like being repeatedly whacked over the head with a copy of the 9/11 Commission Report... Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
Jimbo82Apr 1, 2013
Easily one of the worst films I've seen. There really is nothing good about it. It is film that combines inane and pointless dialogue, bad acting, and no real scares or tension. Thankfully it has a running time of just 85 minutes (which stillEasily one of the worst films I've seen. There really is nothing good about it. It is film that combines inane and pointless dialogue, bad acting, and no real scares or tension. Thankfully it has a running time of just 85 minutes (which still felt like a life time). One that is definitely best avoided. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ForeApr 23, 2011
I can honestly say this is the worse film I ever saw in my life. The camera was so jerky it made me want to puke. The story was so stupid that the script wouldn't even beat a porno movie script. The characters are all so irritating that II can honestly say this is the worse film I ever saw in my life. The camera was so jerky it made me want to puke. The story was so stupid that the script wouldn't even beat a porno movie script. The characters are all so irritating that I wished the monster ate them all in the 1st 30 minutes that way my agony could have ended sooner. Not even worth $1 on the cheap bin. Staring out your window for 2 hours is a better use of your time than watching this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
JoeJ.Jan 21, 2008
The makers of "Cloverfield" seem to have forgotten to add the essential What, Where, and Why elements to the story. WHAT is this thing? WHERE did it come from? WHY is it attacking New York City and killing millions of people? If they could The makers of "Cloverfield" seem to have forgotten to add the essential What, Where, and Why elements to the story. WHAT is this thing? WHERE did it come from? WHY is it attacking New York City and killing millions of people? If they could have added just a LITTLE backstory, this could have been a halfway decent movie. There was no ending either. The viewer never knows if the monster is defeated. All you see is an explosion. Ka-boom, roll credits. The theater is much too expensive to be seeing movies like thise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AngelaH.Jan 23, 2008
Good idea but god that movie made me SO nauseas... it was shaky and it wouldn't stop moving and it was short. if it has stayed in place it would have worked... not a real story tho...just just goes with its... if u don't get movie Good idea but god that movie made me SO nauseas... it was shaky and it wouldn't stop moving and it was short. if it has stayed in place it would have worked... not a real story tho...just just goes with its... if u don't get movie sick then ya. but don't go for it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SJN.Jan 29, 2008
Total rubbish ridden with factual, technical, military and continuity errors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TonyBJan 30, 2008
I agree with all the zeros. I would have preferred being in NYC with the monster than watching the movie, LOL. Or anywhere else than watching the movie. If you cut out most of the party, and the most of the scenes aimed at feet and I agree with all the zeros. I would have preferred being in NYC with the monster than watching the movie, LOL. Or anywhere else than watching the movie. If you cut out most of the party, and the most of the scenes aimed at feet and mid-sections, it might have rated a lot higher. But then it would have been around, maybe about 30 minutes in length - that would have been an improvement. It seems they were trying to make a non-movie, and they succeeded in that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarcoH.Feb 21, 2008
The worst film of all time - pointless, amateurish, pretentious. Everyone involved should feel embarrassed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BBFeb 3, 2008
Awful movie! Luckily it is very short.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KateP.Feb 5, 2008
Can someone wake me when the movie begins... Such poor acting... A cure for people with insomnia
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BongoMcFluffFeb 7, 2008
When the screen went black and the credits started rolling, the people in the cinema were silent for about 3 seconds and then all started laughing which for me says it all. It was the most ridiculously pointless, awful film I have ever seen When the screen went black and the credits started rolling, the people in the cinema were silent for about 3 seconds and then all started laughing which for me says it all. It was the most ridiculously pointless, awful film I have ever seen with an even worse ending than I Am Legend. I only sat through the pointless and confusing introduction without walking out because I wanted to see the monster. The rest of the story is absolutely ridiculous. There are so many unbelievable ridiculous things like a person surviving being impaled through the chest on a piece of rebar and then a helicopter crash without even a broken bone or life threatening bleeding. The main attraction to seeing the film was at least for me curiosity as to what the monster looks like so take my advice and just find a picture on the internet and save your money for something worth watching. Also if you see it at the cinema, the shaky camera will make you feel sick but the film will bore you to death before that ever happens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdamS.Mar 25, 2008
I would just like to ask those who liked this piece of disrespectful and intellectually shallow movie that's milking the events of 9/11 for what they're worth. What's in your heads, people? Get a grip of yourselves already and I would just like to ask those who liked this piece of disrespectful and intellectually shallow movie that's milking the events of 9/11 for what they're worth. What's in your heads, people? Get a grip of yourselves already and realise what you've just done by paying to see this insult to decency! Man! You Americans have already fantasized about every catastrophic or cataclysmic scenario thinkable, yet you want more and you even like it. Maybe that is why you go out and kill people around the world. You just have to live your sick fantasies through your military and then watch it like some sick reality show, which at least to you, seems to be just a show with realistic special effects, don't you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattsApr 8, 2008
sucked. jittery camera gave many people motion sickness. real life isn't that jittery even when you are running. lame!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
zachrJun 1, 2008
Terrible, predictable no suspense at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisLJul 11, 2008
Abysmal garbage. Let's see lame Cliffhanger, terrible acting, piss poor plot= FAIL. I must give credit for the cgi effects however. Nevertheless don't throw garbage like this towards us Paramount. You should have learned your Abysmal garbage. Let's see lame Cliffhanger, terrible acting, piss poor plot= FAIL. I must give credit for the cgi effects however. Nevertheless don't throw garbage like this towards us Paramount. You should have learned your lessons from War of the Worlds or any of your other disastrous Sci-fiction/monster releases. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JasonT.Jul 9, 2008
Special Effects were as good as the story was bad! I'm still mad that I wasted an hour and a half of my life watching this rubbish!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DaveG.Aug 3, 2008
Anyone that gave this piece of crap higher than a 0 should stick to watching sesame street. If I want to want home movies I visit the jackass down the street. I was disappointed when I missed this on the big screen. Now I'm glad I Anyone that gave this piece of crap higher than a 0 should stick to watching sesame street. If I want to want home movies I visit the jackass down the street. I was disappointed when I missed this on the big screen. Now I'm glad I missed it. It would have been a bigger piece of crap at a higher cost of seeing it. I would classify this as docu-crap. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AmbroseJan 17, 2008
I just saw this on opening night, this film is so bad that I am only giving it 2 points, 1 point for actually been made into a film, 1 point for the special effects. During its short 82 minutes, there is probably only 40 minutes of footage I just saw this on opening night, this film is so bad that I am only giving it 2 points, 1 point for actually been made into a film, 1 point for the special effects. During its short 82 minutes, there is probably only 40 minutes of footage that is viewable, the rest of the time is shaking, running, shaking, footage out of focus, shaking, screaming, footage too focused and more shaking, I know its the style, but I personally hate films like that, god forbid blair witch, it makes the movie experience feel cheap and unworthy. I wont recommend this movie, I wont recommend this DVD when it comes out or using this DVD as cup coaster, well maybe as a coaster. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
MikeM.Jan 18, 2008
the worst movie i've ever seen. the handheld camera movements literally mad me sick. i had to leave the theatre. besides that, the movie was weak on all levels. garbage.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DavibP.Jan 18, 2008
the camera made me feel sick and there was no real story.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
jacobmJan 19, 2008
I have one comment about this movie. It's a waste of time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MaryM.Jan 19, 2008
What a waste of time. I couldn't believe the lame, very long into to even get to the monster portion. It was a bad combination of product placement, bad acting, no script, and a hangover all in one. I checked my watch over and over and What a waste of time. I couldn't believe the lame, very long into to even get to the monster portion. It was a bad combination of product placement, bad acting, no script, and a hangover all in one. I checked my watch over and over and it's only 84 minutes long. A very long 84 minutes, long. Watch the trailer. It's more entertaining and you'll save yourself valuable time and money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JoshC.Jan 19, 2008
This movie made my eyes want to bleed and gave me a headache. As a New Yorker the allusions to 9/11 were tacky. The monster had no story and the characters were idiots and I'm glad they all died.J.J Abrams and company hide a truly This movie made my eyes want to bleed and gave me a headache. As a New Yorker the allusions to 9/11 were tacky. The monster had no story and the characters were idiots and I'm glad they all died.J.J Abrams and company hide a truly moronic story behind clever marketing. They get an A+ in marketing and an F for actual movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SamF.Jan 21, 2008
First off Anyone who lost someone on 9-11 or still gets emotional every anniversary, Don't see this movie. with that said I gave this movie a 1 for the acting as they truly make it seem this was a film found after the event. This First off Anyone who lost someone on 9-11 or still gets emotional every anniversary, Don't see this movie. with that said I gave this movie a 1 for the acting as they truly make it seem this was a film found after the event. This "movie" is 90 minutes of a shaky camera where you barely see anything especially the monster except a few seconds at the end. No explanation of what it is where it came from but these young kids are running away from it. thats the movie...actually they are trying to rescue a girl which is why they stay...I would have gotten my ass outta there ...JJ Abrahms made LOST Enough said...no explanation keeps leaving you with more questions. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KentK.Jan 21, 2008
1 point for the Trailer. 0 points for the movie. All I can say is please STOP making movies with SHAKY CamCorder filming !!! Come ON, now - if you wanted us to GET the fact that it was being filmed on a CamCorder, then just give us a FEW 1 point for the Trailer. 0 points for the movie. All I can say is please STOP making movies with SHAKY CamCorder filming !!! Come ON, now - if you wanted us to GET the fact that it was being filmed on a CamCorder, then just give us a FEW scenes where that is shown to us - then SMOOTH IT OUT for cryin' out loud !! This movie was sheer torture to watch. I hope they release a different version of the film that actually smooths out the crappy camerawork so that a person can actually WATCH the stupid thing without having to look AWAY constantly just to make the world STOP SPINNING. Blair Witch SUCKED for the same reason, and, quite frankly, the last two Bourne Identity movies had too much jerky camera work for my liking. Hollywood....STOP it already, will ya ?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ScottHJan 20, 2008
The idea of the movie was decent but the camera work was so bad it pretty much made it impossible to watch. The special effects were ok, but limited. The action was there throughout the movie, but it was really lame. I didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichardJ.Jan 20, 2008
Just watched the film in Malaysia and must say it was the biggest piece of crap I have ever seen. At the end of the movie people just sat there and after a couple of minutes got up and walked out without any of the normal chatter you get Just watched the film in Malaysia and must say it was the biggest piece of crap I have ever seen. At the end of the movie people just sat there and after a couple of minutes got up and walked out without any of the normal chatter you get when someone has enjoyed the experience. It was like a dentists waiting room. Biggest waste of time and money I feel cheated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JasmineP.Jan 22, 2008
When I watched the movie the other day, I couldn't believe that the whole movie was through a camera. The movie was a mix between the Blair Witch Project and Godzilla. This is one movie that I actually called, emailed, and spoke to When I watched the movie the other day, I couldn't believe that the whole movie was through a camera. The movie was a mix between the Blair Witch Project and Godzilla. This is one movie that I actually called, emailed, and spoke to co-workers and family/friends and told them to not even waste their money on. The ending of the movie was pointless. Pointless to the point on why the Camera was needed. Sometimes when I leave a theater, I hear people talking or something, NO. everyone left in COMPLETE SILENCE!!! And lookin @ the Box Office reviews, I cant believe, that this movie grossed $41M . I know there are A LOT of disappointed moviegoers... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GianellaG.Jan 25, 2008
So bad it was pointless horrible one of the worst movies i've ever seen i regret watching it i don't reccomend it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DannyHOct 2, 2008
Worst movie ever, filming makes you dizzy, just plain stupid, no real story behind it and then theres an ending that just makes you want to cry because its like "well I've wasted 2 hours of my life" but then on top of that laugh because Worst movie ever, filming makes you dizzy, just plain stupid, no real story behind it and then theres an ending that just makes you want to cry because its like "well I've wasted 2 hours of my life" but then on top of that laugh because it seems like the producer ran out of money so just decided to end the movie. Crap, if you respect a movie with half a plot, do not see it. If you like watching people die meaninglessly and have a high resistance to motion sickness, go ahead. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JoeL.Jan 27, 2008
Bambi meets Godzilla was more exciting than this overated flick, and that short animation was about 45 seconds. This movie is all hype to separate you and you money. Its a 75 minute movie that spends the first 22 minutes trying to introduce Bambi meets Godzilla was more exciting than this overated flick, and that short animation was about 45 seconds. This movie is all hype to separate you and you money. Its a 75 minute movie that spends the first 22 minutes trying to introduce the audience to characters we don't really like. I started to get annoyed at the really poor dialog after the first 10 minutes. The acting is not very convincing, and there is really no "feeling" for what happens to the main characters. I did not find the movie exciting, thrilling, or suspenseful. The hand held cam thing gets annoying after 30 minutes too. The good thing is that its only 75 minutes, about 45 minutes too long! This flick just had a made for TV feel about it. Blah! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KenLJan 30, 2008
The Blair Witch Godzilla Project. Enough said.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MariaDFeb 10, 2008
A waste of time and money, when it first started I thought Please don't let this whole movie be shot through this shaky camcorder! But it was it was that shaky blair witch thing it made me sick and gave me a head ache, if I wasn't A waste of time and money, when it first started I thought Please don't let this whole movie be shot through this shaky camcorder! But it was it was that shaky blair witch thing it made me sick and gave me a head ache, if I wasn't so curious to see the monster I would have walked out, in the end everybody in the theatre were either laughing or verbally disgusted with the film...save your money and go watch plants grow thats much more exciting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KimberlyJ.Feb 23, 2008
Horrible movie. Way too much hipe. Characters were annoying. "Plot" was annoying. Film style was annoying. Hated it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JaredB.Feb 3, 2008
Six months ago, I saw the first preview of the movie "Cloverfield." I was looking forward to seeing it. To say the movie was a disappointment would be a gross understatement. Actually, I found this film to be a major disaster. Nothing worked Six months ago, I saw the first preview of the movie "Cloverfield." I was looking forward to seeing it. To say the movie was a disappointment would be a gross understatement. Actually, I found this film to be a major disaster. Nothing worked here, or even tried. As bad as the cast, the script, and the direction were, these were far from this movies worst flaw. That honor, or dishonor, depending on how you look at it, belongs to the camerawork. I swear I developed motion sickness watching this darn thing. If you haven't seen this movie, take my advice: save your time and money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ssFeb 4, 2008
We went to see it at the cinema, throughout the movie people were leaving, because of how rubibish the film was. When the film ended, the whole cinema groaned. A totally rubbish and pointless movie....... please no sequel!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TonyFeb 5, 2008
The first 20 minutes were so boring I fell asleep, a first at the cinema, and when the explosions woke me up I thought "at last it's started." I might as well of stayed asleep as the awful hand held camera made it unwatchable. Worst The first 20 minutes were so boring I fell asleep, a first at the cinema, and when the explosions woke me up I thought "at last it's started." I might as well of stayed asleep as the awful hand held camera made it unwatchable. Worst film since Blair Witch Project which used the same diabolical system. Tony Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BenT.Feb 6, 2008
no alien looks that way because i have the omnitrix and i know aliens. Diamondhead, now that is an alien!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SusieM.Feb 6, 2008
Can we say Blair Witch meet Godzilla with better filming. I went expecting a better movie to get an upgraded version of the Blair Witch project. I tell you what This movie totally sucked and I wouldn't suggest it. when my boyfriend and Can we say Blair Witch meet Godzilla with better filming. I went expecting a better movie to get an upgraded version of the Blair Witch project. I tell you what This movie totally sucked and I wouldn't suggest it. when my boyfriend and i went to go see this movie we didn't realize what it was and both got motion sick from the movie, we couldn't tell when it started and its not worth seeing. Please don't waste your money or your time to see this very very bad film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RamM.Feb 6, 2008
Simply put, this has to be the WORST movie Ive ever seen this year. Whose idea was it to film the entire film on a shaky hand held cam?!! five minutes into the movie and i knew i just wasted my money. I felt like throwing up the entire Simply put, this has to be the WORST movie Ive ever seen this year. Whose idea was it to film the entire film on a shaky hand held cam?!! five minutes into the movie and i knew i just wasted my money. I felt like throwing up the entire time!!! Where did those monsters come from? Its not even shown or explained?!!! Who thought of this movie?!!! The worst monster movie ever. I wish i saw D-War instead.To all those who haven't seen this movie yet, don't!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhilB.Feb 8, 2008
Love the idea but but but I had to close my eyes after c.10 minutes as nausea / motion sickness kicked in due to the 1st person perspective, shaky hand-held camcorder filming, and I wasn't even close to the screen. It sounded good Love the idea but but but I had to close my eyes after c.10 minutes as nausea / motion sickness kicked in due to the 1st person perspective, shaky hand-held camcorder filming, and I wasn't even close to the screen. It sounded good though! Did anyone else suffer from this? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MaximumR.Feb 9, 2008
At the movie theaters, I paid 8 dollars to see the movie. I had a bucket of popcorn, candy, and a smoothie. But even with all of that, the movie was horrible and i left halfway through the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomPMar 2, 2008
Cloverfield made no sense to me. There is no plot at all to the story even when the soldiers are involved in the quarantine of personnel because of the
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeffR.Apr 19, 2008
movie was good, if i could see it. good plot good action, good effects. Thank god Transformers was not shot like clover.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KenW.Apr 24, 2008
I must admit that the sales promotions on TV lead you to believe that this is going to be a pretty good horror movie. I was never so disappointed in a show in my life. To be quite honest it sucked Whale Dung at the bottom of the ocean. I can I must admit that the sales promotions on TV lead you to believe that this is going to be a pretty good horror movie. I was never so disappointed in a show in my life. To be quite honest it sucked Whale Dung at the bottom of the ocean. I can not believe the insatiable stupidity of the so called directors and producers of this junk, by filming the whole show through a cell phone. Give me a break. Not to mention the screen play writing. It reminded me of a dog in the yard chasing its tail, started no where, getting no where, and going no where. This is painfully obvious with the main actor and his limited lines of "Bob, Bob, Bob." One other thing to add for this waste of time of a so called movie, if you have any form of Epilepsy as I do, please do not even begin to watch it, as from the insatiable stupidity of the so called directors and the constant bouncing around of the film is subject to set off a seizure. I must admit though that the sales pitch was pretty good, as it duped me into wasting my money on this DVD. I would have been better off ordering a pizza, at least I would have enjoyed the pizza. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HeatherR,Apr 26, 2008
This seems to be the only movie that actully wanted to make me barf. Literally. The constant moving and shaking of the camera gave me the worst head ache!! I gave it a one because maybe one or two parts where funny or cool. Yet, it This seems to be the only movie that actully wanted to make me barf. Literally. The constant moving and shaking of the camera gave me the worst head ache!! I gave it a one because maybe one or two parts where funny or cool. Yet, it wasn't scary. It wasn't very funny. Over all it was hard to watch because of the shaking. Oh, and ending sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomLApr 26, 2008
WOW Cloverfield SUCKED! The last time I was this dizzy I was halfway into blair witch!...Terrible...I would not recommend this movie to anyone! See this stupid ass movie. I normally really like sci-fi, but seriously, there could have been WOW Cloverfield SUCKED! The last time I was this dizzy I was halfway into blair witch!...Terrible...I would not recommend this movie to anyone! See this stupid ass movie. I normally really like sci-fi, but seriously, there could have been much more. I mean Godzilla was made like 30 years ago, and I can still watch the original. Director needs to go back to school. Totally sucked, and literally make me sick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveTApr 30, 2008
Most of this movie is camera shots of peoples shoes. Boring 3rd rate actors and very annoying cinematography. I absolutely hate this movie. It is trash masquerading as art. If you liked Blair Witch you will probably liked this too but I Most of this movie is camera shots of peoples shoes. Boring 3rd rate actors and very annoying cinematography. I absolutely hate this movie. It is trash masquerading as art. If you liked Blair Witch you will probably liked this too but I consider Blair Witch the No.1 most overrated movie ever made, Cloverfield is the second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KennyCMay 27, 2008
Worst movie ever. Blair witch style camera-work put the nails in the coffin of what might have been an acceptable picture.. maybe. No way someone impaled through the chest can run down 70 flights of stairs and make it from Columbus Circle to Worst movie ever. Blair witch style camera-work put the nails in the coffin of what might have been an acceptable picture.. maybe. No way someone impaled through the chest can run down 70 flights of stairs and make it from Columbus Circle to Grand Central, then survive a helicopter crash to then help pull someone out of the wreckage... and.. I've never seen a camcorder battery last that long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoeT.May 31, 2008
Movie sucked. blair witch camera work. story starts and ends giving you absolutely no information on whats going on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
IanMJun 16, 2008
I am littering this with [***SPOILERS***]spoiler alerts so don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattB.Jun 30, 2008
This movie was a great disappointment in fact i'd go as far as saying its one of the worst movies i've ever seen right up their with Carla, and dark harvest. The camera angles were Godzilla meets Blair witch the sequel. The movie This movie was a great disappointment in fact i'd go as far as saying its one of the worst movies i've ever seen right up their with Carla, and dark harvest. The camera angles were Godzilla meets Blair witch the sequel. The movie lacks an actual true storyline and instead replaces it with cgi and no actual point. The movie doesnt have an end and it seems as though abrams got half way through the movie and then learned he got the startreck movie so he just figured he'd throw this movie to the dogs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimOJun 6, 2008
Not very thrilling or terrifying, cloverfield puts you through a story which is so far fetched I was shocked not to see some disney characters coming by to say hi. woman that are dying for the entire movie somehow live and is just as active Not very thrilling or terrifying, cloverfield puts you through a story which is so far fetched I was shocked not to see some disney characters coming by to say hi. woman that are dying for the entire movie somehow live and is just as active as the other characters in the film. The entire city of NY is evacuated in 2hours? very far fetched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanMJul 4, 2008
By watching this movie, I just wasted 2 hours of my life.... Someone please tell me why Matt Reeves gets paid this much to make a movie that not only dissapoints, but really honestly, has no true storyline ? I could some up with a better By watching this movie, I just wasted 2 hours of my life.... Someone please tell me why Matt Reeves gets paid this much to make a movie that not only dissapoints, but really honestly, has no true storyline ? I could some up with a better storyline, and actually put a part in about what the creature was ! Seriously this movie is not something I would have even promoted, because the movie its self is not even finished. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AnankeJan 18, 2008
A harsh lesson in bad kaiju. the monster has no motivation, unlike godzilla who only wanted to go to his precious radioactive tower. the humans were vapid and unrealistic. their physical injuries at odds with fight or flight instincts wouldA harsh lesson in bad kaiju. the monster has no motivation, unlike godzilla who only wanted to go to his precious radioactive tower. the humans were vapid and unrealistic. their physical injuries at odds with fight or flight instincts would never have allowed certain survival instincts. all this movie did for me was give me a bad headache, and i went into it so hopeful for amazing thrill ride. this was the ubermeh. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ErikB.Jan 18, 2008
Completely and utterly pointless. Lead in scenes too long and drawn out, and I was actually surprised to see as the credits rolled that there had even been a script. God help us if they make more of these movies. This film was so bad it made Completely and utterly pointless. Lead in scenes too long and drawn out, and I was actually surprised to see as the credits rolled that there had even been a script. God help us if they make more of these movies. This film was so bad it made me hate every movie I've paid for in the last 5 years. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
NKJan 18, 2008
This movie tries so hard to be cool and gritty and different but fails on all but one of those goals. Gritty is about the only compliment it gets, if you can call grainy footage and cameras that shake epileptically "gritty". The introduction This movie tries so hard to be cool and gritty and different but fails on all but one of those goals. Gritty is about the only compliment it gets, if you can call grainy footage and cameras that shake epileptically "gritty". The introduction to characters drags, the action sequences are unsatisfying and the ending is a complete dud. And be warned: if watching the "Handycam-esque" style of Blair Witch Project made you feel a little queasy, Cloverfield will have you reaching for, and filling, the bucket. Blurgh! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JasonMJan 19, 2008
I pray to god that this style of filmaking dies with this film. I did not pay $7 to watch a guy run around with a handheld video camera. If Blair Witch meets Godzilla meets You Tube is your thing, then this movie is for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NeoPJan 19, 2008
AAAAHHH! I am still throwing up from this. . .I don't not even know what to call it. . . .poopy? no it was worse then that. I didn't have any regrets in my life until I saw this movie. It has made me so frustrated I do not even AAAAHHH! I am still throwing up from this. . .I don't not even know what to call it. . . .poopy? no it was worse then that. I didn't have any regrets in my life until I saw this movie. It has made me so frustrated I do not even know how to explain. The whole thing could have been great-besides the fact that there was no script and no image. Everything was just a blurry image of stupidness screams. I kept praying that the monster-whatever it was(you never find out) would eat the camera guy to end my misery. It was torture! Watching this movie was t--o-r-t-u-r-e! There is no reason to go and see this movie. Unless of course you are looking for a bad time, big headache, and somehow to waste your money. This could have been a good movie.. But it wasn't. The trailer was more interesting than the movie. I knew as much as I did before I saw the movie from when I left the theater. The only thing I learned was what it feels like to vomit all over the person next to me. The movie can be summed up in one word: worthless. Can they even call this a movie? From what I've seen the producers have no right in calling this a movie. How did they manage to put this on the big screen? We'll soon find out in the next 'Guinness Book of World Records' there will be the record for most people being tortured in one afternoon. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DarrylFJan 19, 2008
Total waste ! so much potential.. I guess I was expecting so much more !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelR.Jan 19, 2008
For the first time in my life I emailed all my friends to warn them about how bad this movie is and the critics are dead wrong. This is complete garbage and other review have really nailed down why. Something else I didn't like was if For the first time in my life I emailed all my friends to warn them about how bad this movie is and the critics are dead wrong. This is complete garbage and other review have really nailed down why. Something else I didn't like was if you are going to do a guerilla type movie the story should line should really try to pass this as "it really happened" type feel or else the audience will be confused and angered like I was. The movie ends "My name is Rob Anderson and if you are watching this, you know more about this than I do". No Rob, actually I don't...because no monster ever attacked NY and we haven't invented time travel so there is no way this video could have come from the future. All I know is I just dumped $15 on your crap piece of film. Thanks JJ Abrams Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RebeccaS.Jan 19, 2008
This movie was a waste of my time. It was way too bloody, violent and just plain stupid. The first 20 minutes were boring-just bring a pillow and blanket and sleep for the first 20 minutes. This movie was so bad people in walking out! Save This movie was a waste of my time. It was way too bloody, violent and just plain stupid. The first 20 minutes were boring-just bring a pillow and blanket and sleep for the first 20 minutes. This movie was so bad people in walking out! Save your money and time and go get ice cream instead of seeing this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AlexRJan 19, 2008
The movie abused the camcorder first person view. It was great for a while but shakey cam was pretty annoying. The movie used some guy's stupid going away party as a plot device so that when the monsters came, they'd all be The movie abused the camcorder first person view. It was great for a while but shakey cam was pretty annoying. The movie used some guy's stupid going away party as a plot device so that when the monsters came, they'd all be together. The monster's origin wasn't even hinted at, leaving their existance and origin left COMPLETELY open for interpretation. I'm all for making the viewer think, but that was just lazy writing. The end, aka "Thanks for your money", tried to use "the camcorder as the storyteller" but completely failed. Massive disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GabeK.Jan 21, 2008
Boring, lifeless movie. I decided to give it a 1 just because of all the talk it has created. Anyone who gives this movie higher than a 6 is either: mentally retarded, smokes pot, or is a liberal arts major.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MichaelDJan 21, 2008
Seems like a re-hash of several other movies. When it comes down to it; it just isn't that exciting. The movie was hyped way too much. Just OK, wait for DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
toddgotJan 21, 2008
this movie sucked so much ass that i wanted to shoot myself after watchin it the special effects were ok but when the guy and the girl just sat under a bridge and waited to die that was bull shit they needed to have some kind of ending in this movie sucked so much ass that i wanted to shoot myself after watchin it the special effects were ok but when the guy and the girl just sat under a bridge and waited to die that was bull shit they needed to have some kind of ending in stead of just sitting there extremely disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
michaelhJan 21, 2008
Terrible movie! I wasn't expecting Godzillas buddy to show up and the shaky camera work made everyone dizzy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CModeJan 22, 2008
I have never in my life been so angry about paying to see a movie!!! First they introduce the audience to the most nausiating camera work ever and then they try to get you feel for some of the most forgettable characters ive ever watched I have never in my life been so angry about paying to see a movie!!! First they introduce the audience to the most nausiating camera work ever and then they try to get you feel for some of the most forgettable characters ive ever watched only to end the movie on a cliffhanger by not letting you know why this wanna-be Godzilla is destroying NYC and if the military's attempt to blow it up has worked or not. Absolute crap!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TonyLJan 22, 2008
I like the way the monster was presented, but I cared about little else in this film. A film like this only works when you care about one or more of the main actors, I didn't care for any of them. I wanted the monster to eat them all. I like the way the monster was presented, but I cared about little else in this film. A film like this only works when you care about one or more of the main actors, I didn't care for any of them. I wanted the monster to eat them all. Cable only! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GaborA.Jan 22, 2008
I could forgive the stream of ridiculous coincidences and absurdities that is the plot of this movie and willingly suspend all disbelief if there was a shred of originality to whisk me away. But there isn't. I spent most of the movie I could forgive the stream of ridiculous coincidences and absurdities that is the plot of this movie and willingly suspend all disbelief if there was a shred of originality to whisk me away. But there isn't. I spent most of the movie day dreaming about what I would do if something like this happened in my city. My dream was definitely less cheesy. Alas it hasn't even been that long since we've had a good monster movie. Its called The Host. Rent it. Avoid this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AnonymousJan 22, 2008
The trailer tells the entire story - with very little else to learn. I found this film to be a complete rip off. I wanted to love it however I left unfulfilled. If you like "Blair Witch" then you will like this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RustyS.Jan 22, 2008
I also agree on this being one of the worst movies ever produced. Horrible camera work (even for a handheld) horrible acting, no plot, no background, no anything that a good or even decent movie should have. When the movie was over, everyone I also agree on this being one of the worst movies ever produced. Horrible camera work (even for a handheld) horrible acting, no plot, no background, no anything that a good or even decent movie should have. When the movie was over, everyone just sat there. When the credits began to roll, the groans and complaints started. I'd like a refund for this movie because I too feel cheated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichelleSJan 22, 2008
If I could give this move a negative score I would. Camera work was so bad even in the non-action parts (like at the party) I almost threw up in the first 15 minutes of the movie due to motion sickness, the movie went downhill from there. I If I could give this move a negative score I would. Camera work was so bad even in the non-action parts (like at the party) I almost threw up in the first 15 minutes of the movie due to motion sickness, the movie went downhill from there. I understand the camera concept but even if you are running or scared you're telling me you can't hold a camera semi-still so we could actually see what was going on instead of just getting sick from the blurring back and forth. And in the non-action parts why the heck could this guy not look at people's faces instead of the camera being pointed at their feet or only half their face. Bad acting, no real story, NOTHING in this movie was done right, EXCEPT the credits and those were only good because it meant the movie was over. Not only do I wish I could get my $6.25 back (luckily I went to the late show so it was not $9.00) but I think someone should reimburse me for wasting 1 1/2 hours of my life. If I want to pay to get motion sick I will go to an amusement park at least there you will find lovable characters and loads of entertainment, two things this movie lacked. I did not care if the characters lived or not, in fact I was hoping they would all die so the movie would end. The fact that there is no story proves the writer is not really a writer, he could not even think of a plausible reason this monster attacked, where it was from, how to kill it, NOTHING. Other movie goers were as confused and disappointed as I was based on their after movie chatter. On guy asked "what just happened" and I said "I'll tell you, you wasted $6.25 and 1 1/2 hours of your life". Another movie goer said "there is 1 1/2 of my life wasted that I will never get back". Also I never knew cheap handheld home video cameras had night vision, professional style lighting and such AMAZING and long lasting video and battery life. I could go on and on about how awful and completely retarded this movie is but it's not even worth talking about honestly. Please, if you feel the need to waste $9.00, just send me the money and stay home, don't waste your time on this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JeffT.Jan 22, 2008
I was so let down. Blair Witch was cool, this was not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BetsMJan 22, 2008
Terrible movie, camera work made me want to throw up. Didn't care anything about the people, monster could have killed them all and the world wouldn't be any worse off. The only reason I didn't give it a zero is that I Terrible movie, camera work made me want to throw up. Didn't care anything about the people, monster could have killed them all and the world wouldn't be any worse off. The only reason I didn't give it a zero is that I didn't get up and leave (not sure why but I suffered through the whole horrible thing). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
keithcJan 22, 2008
This movie was the worst one i have ever seen i felt like throwing up the camera was moving so bad. there was limited special effect scenes and it was a terrible plot. A lot of the scenes were terrible i mean cmon the lady got stabbed in the This movie was the worst one i have ever seen i felt like throwing up the camera was moving so bad. there was limited special effect scenes and it was a terrible plot. A lot of the scenes were terrible i mean cmon the lady got stabbed in the heart and miraculously she can sprint away from the monster. also you never got a good look of the monster until the very end of the movie and even then you didn't see it all. Plus they don't say how the monster got to earth or why it all of a sudden attacked. THIS IS WHY WE NEED WRITERS...SO THE PLOT IS GOOD THE ENTIRE MOVIE!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EWJan 23, 2008
This movie was poorly directed, the acting was severly lacking, and clocking in at about 70 minutes one of the shortest movies I've ever watched. The monster was severely under represented in the movie with only a few shots revealing it This movie was poorly directed, the acting was severly lacking, and clocking in at about 70 minutes one of the shortest movies I've ever watched. The monster was severely under represented in the movie with only a few shots revealing it and doing so poorly. If you go to this movie and pay you will regret wasting your money on it. If your a fan of reality based fiction this might be your thing but otherwise save your time and money for something else Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JimK.Jan 28, 2008
Yes this film does keep you awake, while waitng to see what this thing is, but in the end its alot of nothing. The acting was annoying, the video camera perspective was played out after about 5 minutes, and i thought the creature was Yes this film does keep you awake, while waitng to see what this thing is, but in the end its alot of nothing. The acting was annoying, the video camera perspective was played out after about 5 minutes, and i thought the creature was anything but original and not scary. I hate that its true after waiting to see this thing, but it did suck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LesC.Feb 1, 2008
I had a headache within the first 5 minutes(Blair Witch had the same effect on me) - and then I was Nauseous within 10 minutes - It was terrible - no focus, camera moving to quick, I would give it a -1 if that was possible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoseO.Feb 11, 2008
What a waste of time, this is a very bad mix between Blair witch project and Godzilla, this is not a original concept and has bad acting... if you want to see a really good monster movie take a look to the host.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SuzanneA.Feb 15, 2008
I would have given Cloverfield a 2 but I gave it a 3 because it was mercifully short. I know in the 21st century we are supposed to be excited about special effects but can we go back to the old days of character development? Horror movies I would have given Cloverfield a 2 but I gave it a 3 because it was mercifully short. I know in the 21st century we are supposed to be excited about special effects but can we go back to the old days of character development? Horror movies are better if we have an inkling of concern about the people we are watching. The director needs to watch Alien or Aliens 2 to see why people were fully vested in Ripley. Just watching an Alien kill people and destroy a city isn't entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobbyR.Feb 16, 2008
My eyes are exhausted and I have a touch of what feels like motion sickness! was an awful film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GrahamLFeb 18, 2008
The worst film I've ever seen in my life, bar none.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HerbieHuskerFeb 19, 2008
Original concept, but I was feeling sick by the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JezzPFeb 2, 2008
It would have been a great movie if they didnt have so much of the camcorder thing. I got sick watching the movie and half of the time I was annoyed by screaming and cutoffs. Poor quality movie...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoeyDFeb 6, 2008
I didn't like the Blair Witch movie at all but this handheld technique has potential, its just a question of who can utilize it effectively & not go O.T.T (like what happened to 'Bullet time'). JJ couldn't do it, not yet I didn't like the Blair Witch movie at all but this handheld technique has potential, its just a question of who can utilize it effectively & not go O.T.T (like what happened to 'Bullet time'). JJ couldn't do it, not yet anyway. So after watching an awesome trailer I'm sad to say this movie didn't deliver for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
hOLY----Feb 9, 2008
OMG.After watching this suckish movie,I found that i would have had a better time drowning myself in a lake full of crap rather than watching cloverfield.I actually threw up because of the motion sickness i endured.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FlonkelD.Feb 9, 2008
The entire movie is filmed as if from a hand-held video camera. While the idea is perhaps novel, the execution is very annoying. Double thumbs down from me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrawnBoyMar 6, 2008
This movie totally sucked. I wasted $25 dollars to see it. This has got to be one of the things I most regret. The movie made no sense. The plot....there was no plot!!! Worst of all the monster looked pretty lame. And the camera seemed to be This movie totally sucked. I wasted $25 dollars to see it. This has got to be one of the things I most regret. The movie made no sense. The plot....there was no plot!!! Worst of all the monster looked pretty lame. And the camera seemed to be moving around a whole lot too much. It even made my G-friend dizzy and sick. So we left the movie early. Thank goodness..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RandalflagMar 8, 2008
This movie was a piece of trash. It had no plot, the actors were horrible (i was rooting for the monster the whole time) The camera work was sickening (literally) and the movie was a blatant ripoff of a mixture of "The Blair Witch Project" This movie was a piece of trash. It had no plot, the actors were horrible (i was rooting for the monster the whole time) The camera work was sickening (literally) and the movie was a blatant ripoff of a mixture of "The Blair Witch Project" and "Godzilla". The movie could have been shorted to 60 minutes with all the procrastination in the first 30 minutes of the movie, (yes even though it had no story whatsoever, it was 90 minutes of camera shaking and procrastination). I would definately not reccomend this movie to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BenSApr 21, 2008
Mark this movie as another overrated waste of time. The monster-fish-dinosaur, or whatever you want to call it, was weakly portrayed. I think a 3rd grader drew the sketches for this one, I mean the thing was shooting fireballs! How un-scary Mark this movie as another overrated waste of time. The monster-fish-dinosaur, or whatever you want to call it, was weakly portrayed. I think a 3rd grader drew the sketches for this one, I mean the thing was shooting fireballs! How un-scary is that?! And the spoider things were random with no connection to anything. They just magically appeared. This was just another teen, wannna be horror movie. I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichardA.Apr 2, 2008
You have GOT to be kiddin me! This was a mindless movie in the real sense. I was extremely disappointed in the movie and the entire premise. I stayed to watch it because between the price of the gasoline to drive to the movie and the price You have GOT to be kiddin me! This was a mindless movie in the real sense. I was extremely disappointed in the movie and the entire premise. I stayed to watch it because between the price of the gasoline to drive to the movie and the price of the ticket I felt compelled to get some sort of return from it. The premise of the camcorder being found in what was ONCE known as Central Park led me to an int eresting conclusion that throughly destroys the intended plot. The military referred to what was called Operating Hammerdown. I can only surmise that this involved some VERY SERIOUS weaponry. Perhaps a small yield nuclear warhead was used. The fact that area was ONCE KNOWN as Central Park lets me know that the area was completely and utterly devasted!. If this were the case then someone PLEASE tell me HOW in the world did the Camcorder survive? High-yield fuel air explosive weapons would have melted the thing and a nuclear explosion would have vaporized it. The premise of a camcorder surving wih perfect picture and sound recordings is absurd. Before you go and say that it was restored then why are there no gaps in continuity? Surely some of the action would have been irretrievable. NUFF SAID! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnneApr 22, 2008
This movie doesn't have any plot or characters I can identify with. The characters annoyed me more than anything. I didn't like the way the movie was shot either. It made lots of people in the theater motion sick. I wasn't This movie doesn't have any plot or characters I can identify with. The characters annoyed me more than anything. I didn't like the way the movie was shot either. It made lots of people in the theater motion sick. I wasn't warned about this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoePrinceApr 26, 2008
*Some spoilers... but trust me, you aren't missing much* "Cloverfield" offers no more than its amazing trailer - no more thrills, no more clarification, no more... well, anything. Except the face of the monster, which, because of the *Some spoilers... but trust me, you aren't missing much* "Cloverfield" offers no more than its amazing trailer - no more thrills, no more clarification, no more... well, anything. Except the face of the monster, which, because of the camerawork, isn't clear. What begins as a story that seems decidedly human quickly devolves into cliches (the lost love, the frantic search for lost love, the panicky, bewildered looks of those in danger, the poor decision making skills of self-appointed leaders) that become more tiresome when you realize that The Camera Is Still Rolling; that is, the poor sap who's following his friends around during a rampage is still holding a camera. (This plot hole is remedied in one dumbshit line: "The world will need to know what happened!" or something equally asinine). Drop it and run, pal. Speaking of the camerawork, the POV is interesting for the first twenty minutes, but becomes tedious as the plot and "near escapes" become progressively more preposterous. The principal characters survive multiple attacks: one seems to be impaled (but lives), three are in a helicopter crash - and survive!, and two watch a friend devoured alive... but the monster leaves them alone. All this would be made palpable if the acting was clever, witty, or pulled more than just Acting 101 grab-bag crap, but it doesn't. From the cameraman's incessant "What's going on?! Where's Rob going?!" to the farewells before the ending (which are hilariously awful, cherry-picking from The Blair Witch Project), the actors' "spontaneity" is never fully convincing. This film was a huge letdown. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DeniseO.Apr 27, 2008
the credits are still rolling and I am here giving you my opinion - it was CRAP - lacking in substance - short, no real story line, the end sucked - and we paid $20 for the movie !!! what a let down!
0 of 0 users found this helpful