Paramount Pictures | Release Date: January 18, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 929 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
585
Mixed:
106
Negative:
238
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DonnyN.Feb 8, 2008
It was a very good film and the ending was perfect - what do other movie goers expect to get from a "Military Archive Tape"??? It was refreshing to see a "monster attacks" movie from a first person perspective rather the 3rd person scale we It was a very good film and the ending was perfect - what do other movie goers expect to get from a "Military Archive Tape"??? It was refreshing to see a "monster attacks" movie from a first person perspective rather the 3rd person scale we usually see these movies from. A great idea. The filming was actually very tolerable. I felt a little sick watching Blair Witch Project but Cloverfield was much more controlled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kathrynk.Jan 20, 2008
What a wonderfully thrilling movie experience this film was. I was part of a group of several people, ranging in age from 20 to 62, who saw this movie together and unanimously loved it! I can see how some parts of the movie would be judged What a wonderfully thrilling movie experience this film was. I was part of a group of several people, ranging in age from 20 to 62, who saw this movie together and unanimously loved it! I can see how some parts of the movie would be judged difficult to watch because of the hand-held camera work, but all of us agreed that this just heightened the sense of what we were watching as happening in real time. Anyway, if my sixty-one-year-old mother was able to cope with the camera work, I don't see how anyone else couldn't, and my mother is prone to car sickness! She just closed her eyes at some of the more difficult parts to watch. I say just cowboy-up and go see this film. Don't wait for it to come out on DVD or you'll be robbing yourself of a good time. "Cloverfield" should be enjoyed on a theater screen with a shattering sound system! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LongC.Jun 4, 2008
Wonderful, thrilling, and uniqie expirience with great characters, but deliberately leaves you with no answers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AncplAEHHcJan 18, 2008
Cloverfield was pretty good. the sound and picture was awesome, except when the screen shook a lot or it was tilted; this also gave a feeling that you were really there, so it was good and bad. i think the ending blew it though. itCloverfield was pretty good. the sound and picture was awesome, except when the screen shook a lot or it was tilted; this also gave a feeling that you were really there, so it was good and bad. i think the ending blew it though. it wasn't that but, . .. it's kind of like you wanted more. they could've explained it like "20 years later" or something like that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveY.Jan 19, 2008
This movie would have been perfect if A: NORMAL CAMERA WORK AND B: DON'T END SO ABRUPTLY!!!! GIVE ME A LIL MORE INFO
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeJ.Jan 21, 2008
The makers of "Cloverfield" seem to have forgotten to add the essential What, Where, and Why elements to the story. WHAT is this thing? WHERE did it come from? WHY is it attacking New York City and killing millions of people? If they could The makers of "Cloverfield" seem to have forgotten to add the essential What, Where, and Why elements to the story. WHAT is this thing? WHERE did it come from? WHY is it attacking New York City and killing millions of people? If they could have added just a LITTLE backstory, this could have been a halfway decent movie. There was no ending either. The viewer never knows if the monster is defeated. All you see is an explosion. Ka-boom, roll credits. The theater is much too expensive to be seeing movies like thise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HooahJan 21, 2008
This is a great movie!!!!! do not pay attention to the people saying otherwise. GREAT effects! good acting, Great directing, jumped out of my seat MANY times, it kept you thinking what, how, why IF YOU ARE GOING TO SEE A MOVIE SEE THIS ONE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
c.notasJan 20, 2008
I thought this movie was one of the best movies i have ever seen. I would definetly give this 10/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AngelaH.Jan 23, 2008
Good idea but god that movie made me SO nauseas... it was shaky and it wouldn't stop moving and it was short. if it has stayed in place it would have worked... not a real story tho...just just goes with its... if u don't get movie Good idea but god that movie made me SO nauseas... it was shaky and it wouldn't stop moving and it was short. if it has stayed in place it would have worked... not a real story tho...just just goes with its... if u don't get movie sick then ya. but don't go for it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
WestSiderJan 23, 2008
Cloverfield has many good elements...but the camera work was not one of them. Perhaps they should have used some conventional angles to move the story along and show some of the bigger events in physical perspective? Also the Cloverfield has many good elements...but the camera work was not one of them. Perhaps they should have used some conventional angles to move the story along and show some of the bigger events in physical perspective? Also the characterization was nil...I agree with the Times review that at a certain point I was rooting for the monster...but that is what you get when you use all of 5-10 minutes to develop the main characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MerylD.Jan 20, 2008
The obviousness is a detriment--if you're going to use our "new emotional context" for terror (which is now ~ 7 years ago and only resonates for people in New York City and/or airports), you should at least do so with artistic purpose, The obviousness is a detriment--if you're going to use our "new emotional context" for terror (which is now ~ 7 years ago and only resonates for people in New York City and/or airports), you should at least do so with artistic purpose, even if you are just making a "monster movie." Vacuous characterization helps me root for the monster, which I would've liked alot more if it wasn't the same old pallid goblinesque "Cave/I Am Legend/every other movie monster of late" creature. The interesting thing about the Blair Witch was what you didn't see. Cloverfield gets by on what you do see--computer explosions, somewhat menacing spider-crab babies and the Statue of Liberty's head bowled through Manhattan (Chuck Heston must've winced in his sleep). In other words, good fireworks I will forget in about a week. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanJan 27, 2008
Why am I not surprised. Something different comes along and it gets booed (I couldn't believe it myself until the boos at the end of the movie). I'll admit I was a big queezy with the handycam for the first 5 minutes; but the style Why am I not surprised. Something different comes along and it gets booed (I couldn't believe it myself until the boos at the end of the movie). I'll admit I was a big queezy with the handycam for the first 5 minutes; but the style suited it so well: finally some more experimentation since blair witch. As for the abrupt conclusion, how could people not expect it? It fit perfectly, and helped to sell it. It had great cg and special effects (especially how they fit it all in handycam settings). I found the acting was natural and sold well. Overall great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SJN.Jan 29, 2008
Total rubbish ridden with factual, technical, military and continuity errors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TonyBJan 30, 2008
I agree with all the zeros. I would have preferred being in NYC with the monster than watching the movie, LOL. Or anywhere else than watching the movie. If you cut out most of the party, and the most of the scenes aimed at feet and I agree with all the zeros. I would have preferred being in NYC with the monster than watching the movie, LOL. Or anywhere else than watching the movie. If you cut out most of the party, and the most of the scenes aimed at feet and mid-sections, it might have rated a lot higher. But then it would have been around, maybe about 30 minutes in length - that would have been an improvement. It seems they were trying to make a non-movie, and they succeeded in that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StefanosM.Feb 17, 2008
Great Suspense, Cinema Experience Keeps You Hooked. Filming Of It Makes It Feel Realistic. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarcoH.Feb 21, 2008
The worst film of all time - pointless, amateurish, pretentious. Everyone involved should feel embarrassed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
LuisG.Feb 20, 2008
HYPE !!! dang the HYPE i wanted to be blown away but there i was expecting something else .. guess its my fault ... cloverfield was and will be a monster movie that will just be shelved away intension are admirable but i was shortchanged i HYPE !!! dang the HYPE i wanted to be blown away but there i was expecting something else .. guess its my fault ... cloverfield was and will be a monster movie that will just be shelved away intension are admirable but i was shortchanged i will will do a follow-up and screen again... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteH.Feb 25, 2008
The second most astonishing experience I've ever enjoyed at the cinema, the first being the original Star Wars when I was five. I was lucky and somehow completely missed the hype, so I went in with only low-level expectations given the The second most astonishing experience I've ever enjoyed at the cinema, the first being the original Star Wars when I was five. I was lucky and somehow completely missed the hype, so I went in with only low-level expectations given the large amounts of negative commentary on the net. For the first twenty minutes some annoying kids were burping and swearing in the cinema (bless - up past their bedtimes) but as soon as things kicked off they sat there in stunned silence, just like everyone else. We all shuffled out of the cinema mumbling and punch drunk. I completely forgot to eat my popcorn and my bloody hands were shaking! When did a movie last do that to me? Er... never, dude. Not even watching Alien on video alone in a large house with the lights out when I was thirteen. Brilliant special effects, even better sound. Totally suspends disbelief, it's horribly, horribly real-feeling. The videocam storytelling technique completely removes the fourth wall, so the audience is right there trapped in New York with the rampaging monsters. Absolute genius, bloody terrifying, short, horrific and sweet as hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanPFeb 2, 2008
People who gave this a low score totally missed the point of this movie. This film was near on perfect the characters were introduced well, the action scenes were amazing. The monster had enough coverage and every loss of a character made People who gave this a low score totally missed the point of this movie. This film was near on perfect the characters were introduced well, the action scenes were amazing. The monster had enough coverage and every loss of a character made you feel for the others left behind. It was the quiet scenes like in the subway that provided the most emotional moments and the silence in some parts provided such a tense atmosphere in the cinema. The story was spot on, it didn't need to have an explanation of what the monster was or where it came from as the characters couldn't of possibly found out that information and I'm sure if a monster was chasing you the main thing you would be trying to do would be staying alive not . investigating! The ending was excellent and the skip to the old video was such a good idea. go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisHFeb 3, 2008
Honestly this was a great movie so as any critic I will list the good and the bad. The good: great effects, intense, exiting, exilerating and pretty much just great. The bad: short, had a bad ending. So there you go a lot of good and little Honestly this was a great movie so as any critic I will list the good and the bad. The good: great effects, intense, exiting, exilerating and pretty much just great. The bad: short, had a bad ending. So there you go a lot of good and little bad 9 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BBFeb 3, 2008
Awful movie! Luckily it is very short.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KateP.Feb 5, 2008
Can someone wake me when the movie begins... Such poor acting... A cure for people with insomnia
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NigelO.Feb 6, 2008
The beauty of this film is that part of you thinks you are actually there,and allows you to think what it would be like for you.Great sound and special effects.and a cool ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BongoMcFluffFeb 7, 2008
When the screen went black and the credits started rolling, the people in the cinema were silent for about 3 seconds and then all started laughing which for me says it all. It was the most ridiculously pointless, awful film I have ever seen When the screen went black and the credits started rolling, the people in the cinema were silent for about 3 seconds and then all started laughing which for me says it all. It was the most ridiculously pointless, awful film I have ever seen with an even worse ending than I Am Legend. I only sat through the pointless and confusing introduction without walking out because I wanted to see the monster. The rest of the story is absolutely ridiculous. There are so many unbelievable ridiculous things like a person surviving being impaled through the chest on a piece of rebar and then a helicopter crash without even a broken bone or life threatening bleeding. The main attraction to seeing the film was at least for me curiosity as to what the monster looks like so take my advice and just find a picture on the internet and save your money for something worth watching. Also if you see it at the cinema, the shaky camera will make you feel sick but the film will bore you to death before that ever happens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisC.Feb 8, 2008
Wow! amazing. those people who complain about motion sickness - shutup!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GaryP.Mar 1, 2008
Cloverfield was a big dissapointment for me. The story begins with a farewell party which is extremely dull and gives no insight into the plot. You actually wonder if you came to the correct film. Although it gets much better when the actual Cloverfield was a big dissapointment for me. The story begins with a farewell party which is extremely dull and gives no insight into the plot. You actually wonder if you came to the correct film. Although it gets much better when the actual action seems to start, it is a poorly executed film in my opinion with too much expensive CGI and absolutely no plot. The idea is good, and the camera work would be realistic to that situation but it is extremely hard to follow the action at times, which defeats the point of watching it. It is basically people running around Manhattan manically trying not to get viscerated by the monster whilst giving you a visual assault on the eyes. It is one of those films that you desperately want to find something to get into story wise because it has some obvious quality, but when it ends you realise that there is no story and know less than you did when the film started. There is no beginning or ending and nothing to follow story wise through the film. A good film must convey it's message to the audience. Cloverfield did nothing. I really wanted to the monster to win because it would have seen some action, such is the lack of plot. Visuals: 9 Entertainment: 6 Plot: 2 Value for Money: 3 I would not recommend seeing this. It is destined for the £2.99 bargain bin at Morrisons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdamS.Mar 25, 2008
I would just like to ask those who liked this piece of disrespectful and intellectually shallow movie that's milking the events of 9/11 for what they're worth. What's in your heads, people? Get a grip of yourselves already and I would just like to ask those who liked this piece of disrespectful and intellectually shallow movie that's milking the events of 9/11 for what they're worth. What's in your heads, people? Get a grip of yourselves already and realise what you've just done by paying to see this insult to decency! Man! You Americans have already fantasized about every catastrophic or cataclysmic scenario thinkable, yet you want more and you even like it. Maybe that is why you go out and kill people around the world. You just have to live your sick fantasies through your military and then watch it like some sick reality show, which at least to you, seems to be just a show with realistic special effects, don't you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyA.Apr 1, 2008
I loved this movie, more than any other movie. I cannot understand why so many people seemed to have a distaste for this movie. I will agree that a few things (ie. the phones still working, and Hud still holding the camera, and the camera I loved this movie, more than any other movie. I cannot understand why so many people seemed to have a distaste for this movie. I will agree that a few things (ie. the phones still working, and Hud still holding the camera, and the camera still being intact) didn't make sence, but putting that aside, the movie was incredable. Not to mention the viral marketing was pure genius. I give it a 10/10 because it just blew my mind. I never would have imagined a monster movie leaving me with my jaw dropped the way it was, but Cloverfield produced it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EzekialApr 6, 2008
Blair Witch Project meets Godzilla? It was entertaining but at the end you are left confused and somewhat angry. The movie leaves out way to many pieces of information for my liking. Decent overall though worth a rent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattsApr 8, 2008
sucked. jittery camera gave many people motion sickness. real life isn't that jittery even when you are running. lame!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChristineM.May 24, 2008
The camera work was very jumpy but that was to be expected. I was very dissapointed that in the end they offered NO explanation as to what happened even after it was obvious they found the video after the fact. It left to uch open to debate The camera work was very jumpy but that was to be expected. I was very dissapointed that in the end they offered NO explanation as to what happened even after it was obvious they found the video after the fact. It left to uch open to debate as far as what actually happened. I feel like watching this was a waste of my time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CrisL.May 25, 2008
Visual affects brilliant although the story was very ordinary ,Left in suspense through the film and it just cut off with no ending. The first person's view I did not like.I walked away feeling "what a wast of my time".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonE.May 3, 2008
This movie deserves far more praise than it gets. My only hope is that it goes the way of Wizard of Oz, It's A Wonderful Life, and Blade Runner before it - polarizing critics and audiences when it comes out, but considered a classic This movie deserves far more praise than it gets. My only hope is that it goes the way of Wizard of Oz, It's A Wonderful Life, and Blade Runner before it - polarizing critics and audiences when it comes out, but considered a classic down the road. I, for one, think that it's the most creative, realistic, original, exciting, and personal stories told on screen. Absolutely brilliant in every way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertI.May 4, 2008
Blair witch meets godzilla. Totally bogus premise, you won't believe a minute of it, but, having said that, it's so entertaining that you don't want to leave your seat for a minute. Who's going to get creamed? Eaten Blair witch meets godzilla. Totally bogus premise, you won't believe a minute of it, but, having said that, it's so entertaining that you don't want to leave your seat for a minute. Who's going to get creamed? Eaten alive? What's at the end of the subway tunnel? Who's shooting all those cannonballs of fire? Will Manhattan be nuked? Kids in peril are as old as pauline, but, man, what a trip! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
zachrJun 1, 2008
Terrible, predictable no suspense at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisLJul 11, 2008
Abysmal garbage. Let's see lame Cliffhanger, terrible acting, piss poor plot= FAIL. I must give credit for the cgi effects however. Nevertheless don't throw garbage like this towards us Paramount. You should have learned your Abysmal garbage. Let's see lame Cliffhanger, terrible acting, piss poor plot= FAIL. I must give credit for the cgi effects however. Nevertheless don't throw garbage like this towards us Paramount. You should have learned your lessons from War of the Worlds or any of your other disastrous Sci-fiction/monster releases. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
kittyJul 6, 2008
I liked this movie, it wasn't my favorite movie ever, but I was still entertained, and I still had moments of panic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickM.Jul 8, 2008
People expected too much from this movie and got disappointed. They wanted a typical Hollywood movie with a typical Hollywood ending and they didn't get one so they weren't satisfied. This was different and not in a bad way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasonT.Jul 9, 2008
Special Effects were as good as the story was bad! I'm still mad that I wasted an hour and a half of my life watching this rubbish!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DaveG.Aug 3, 2008
Anyone that gave this piece of crap higher than a 0 should stick to watching sesame street. If I want to want home movies I visit the jackass down the street. I was disappointed when I missed this on the big screen. Now I'm glad I Anyone that gave this piece of crap higher than a 0 should stick to watching sesame street. If I want to want home movies I visit the jackass down the street. I was disappointed when I missed this on the big screen. Now I'm glad I missed it. It would have been a bigger piece of crap at a higher cost of seeing it. I would classify this as docu-crap. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
TimHJun 30, 2009
I understand that this movie isn't for everyone. Taking that into consideration, the grading criteria is as follows: If: you are looking for an artsy think flick where you come away knowing more about the human condition, then avoid I understand that this movie isn't for everyone. Taking that into consideration, the grading criteria is as follows: If: you are looking for an artsy think flick where you come away knowing more about the human condition, then avoid this. If, however: you are looking for a terrifying POV horror film ripoff where half a dozen trust fund kiddies die before your eyes, check this on your Netflix list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesP.Jan 17, 2008
An in-your-face thriller that takes no prisoners and spares no sentiment. Its use of hand helds, dialogue to camera and even the general storyline may not be original but it is effective. There won't be many better thrillers this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AmbroseJan 17, 2008
I just saw this on opening night, this film is so bad that I am only giving it 2 points, 1 point for actually been made into a film, 1 point for the special effects. During its short 82 minutes, there is probably only 40 minutes of footage I just saw this on opening night, this film is so bad that I am only giving it 2 points, 1 point for actually been made into a film, 1 point for the special effects. During its short 82 minutes, there is probably only 40 minutes of footage that is viewable, the rest of the time is shaking, running, shaking, footage out of focus, shaking, screaming, footage too focused and more shaking, I know its the style, but I personally hate films like that, god forbid blair witch, it makes the movie experience feel cheap and unworthy. I wont recommend this movie, I wont recommend this DVD when it comes out or using this DVD as cup coaster, well maybe as a coaster. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
MikeM.Jan 18, 2008
the worst movie i've ever seen. the handheld camera movements literally mad me sick. i had to leave the theatre. besides that, the movie was weak on all levels. garbage.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MH.Jan 18, 2008
Great movie camera movements a little crappy at the start but a great idea with amazing special effects more like a ride at the amusement park or a video game some critics only like artsy stuff but if you like action jj abrums kicks ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NoahJan 18, 2008
Great monster, but the shaky camera ruined it. I understand that they were trying to make it look like it was shot on someone's home camera, but they couldn't ever keep the camera still for more than 2 seconds. I got motion Great monster, but the shaky camera ruined it. I understand that they were trying to make it look like it was shot on someone's home camera, but they couldn't ever keep the camera still for more than 2 seconds. I got motion sickness and had to spend about half of the movie listening with my eyes closed so that I wouldn't puke. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShelbyJ.Jan 18, 2008
It was really good and intense. it was scary in the sense that it was somewhat realistic. mainly because it was filmed in the first person by a main character and the fact that the actors werent well known. and because it was set inIt was really good and intense. it was scary in the sense that it was somewhat realistic. mainly because it was filmed in the first person by a main character and the fact that the actors werent well known. and because it was set in manhattan, a place that most people know of, rather than some random small town in texas that noone has heard of. compared to most horror and/or action films today, it was very well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DavibP.Jan 18, 2008
the camera made me feel sick and there was no real story.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LuiS.Jan 18, 2008
It was a great ride and a terrifying reminding of that day in September.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
jacobmJan 19, 2008
I have one comment about this movie. It's a waste of time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GaryH.Jan 19, 2008
Not many movies make me jump out of my seat but this one had me going. Love how it's a documentary of a group of friends during the monsters attack. At first I was a little disappointed at the ending, but then the thought of a sequal Not many movies make me jump out of my seat but this one had me going. Love how it's a documentary of a group of friends during the monsters attack. At first I was a little disappointed at the ending, but then the thought of a sequal made everything fine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisW.Jan 19, 2008
After reading some of these reviews, I have to wonder if they are actually seeing this movie in an actual movie theatre or on their Sony DVD player in their car? This movie was perfectly scarry. If you have ever seen any of the original After reading some of these reviews, I have to wonder if they are actually seeing this movie in an actual movie theatre or on their Sony DVD player in their car? This movie was perfectly scarry. If you have ever seen any of the original B-scarry movies in the fifties... this is an instant throwback to it. This is a must see movie for the sound alone. I was trembling the entire way through it. Loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeS.Jan 19, 2008
If you have to watch this abysmal film...sit in the very back...the constant shaking camera will make you puke...the monster is awesome...I wish it was filmed in an alternative style more complacent with my stomach cause I might have enjoyed If you have to watch this abysmal film...sit in the very back...the constant shaking camera will make you puke...the monster is awesome...I wish it was filmed in an alternative style more complacent with my stomach cause I might have enjoyed it otherwise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MaryM.Jan 19, 2008
What a waste of time. I couldn't believe the lame, very long into to even get to the monster portion. It was a bad combination of product placement, bad acting, no script, and a hangover all in one. I checked my watch over and over and What a waste of time. I couldn't believe the lame, very long into to even get to the monster portion. It was a bad combination of product placement, bad acting, no script, and a hangover all in one. I checked my watch over and over and it's only 84 minutes long. A very long 84 minutes, long. Watch the trailer. It's more entertaining and you'll save yourself valuable time and money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FrankB.Jan 19, 2008
The concept was genius, but the production was unpolished at the editorial level. I went to see a monster flick and ended up walking out feeling seasick rather than feeling any sense of excitement at experiencing something amazing. I'll The concept was genius, but the production was unpolished at the editorial level. I went to see a monster flick and ended up walking out feeling seasick rather than feeling any sense of excitement at experiencing something amazing. I'll bet there are little kids puking outside theaters all across this country after seeing this movie. I had to close my eyes and just listen to large stretches. In retrospect, the latter was completely unneccessary, and could have been avoided with better editing (to cut down excessively long, and pointless as far as suspense and plot-line go, roller-coaster rides following the characters running up stairs, etc.). The movie also would have worked better with just one or two more elements of the "back story" (was the creature alien or deap sea?). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeteVSpeteJan 19, 2008
This movie made me feel something I have not felt in a long time. When all is said and done, and the credits roll, and the house lights come up, I honestly felt as if I had been in a car crash. That tingle, the fire rushing through your This movie made me feel something I have not felt in a long time. When all is said and done, and the credits roll, and the house lights come up, I honestly felt as if I had been in a car crash. That tingle, the fire rushing through your veins, I just survived a rabid giraffe attack feeling...Without giving anything away, I really believe the monster takes a back seat in this movie, and the spirit of human nature shines. My only complaint is this, don't sit too close to the screen. And by all means, for the sake of ambience and sound, see this film in the theater, don't wait for the DVD, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobR.Jan 19, 2008
I don;y rate movies 10, if its really good it gets an 8 or a 9. This movie was amazing, no spoilers from me(its not godzilla). Yes it shows the monster.Yes people die. But the rest is for you to see and experience yourself. The single best I don;y rate movies 10, if its really good it gets an 8 or a 9. This movie was amazing, no spoilers from me(its not godzilla). Yes it shows the monster.Yes people die. But the rest is for you to see and experience yourself. The single best movie i've ever seen. (Also Stay after the credits for a little bonus, its hard to make out but might change the way you look at the movie when its over). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LolaGJan 19, 2008
Awesome movie on many levels.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
DarenM.Jan 19, 2008
Simply put, Blair Witch videography meets War of the Worlds alien attack action. If you can handle the nausiating camera angles and swings and the rediculously stubborn characters which will cause you to curse at them for their stupidity, Simply put, Blair Witch videography meets War of the Worlds alien attack action. If you can handle the nausiating camera angles and swings and the rediculously stubborn characters which will cause you to curse at them for their stupidity, then this is a flick worth seeing simply for it's special effects and occasional creepy shock value. With little gore (PG13) but acceptable suspense, surprises and alien attacks, it does satisfy a bored movie goer. I would rate this "wait for the DVD" and then watch it at home in the dark with the audio turned way up. "We've got a bite!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoshC.Jan 19, 2008
This movie made my eyes want to bleed and gave me a headache. As a New Yorker the allusions to 9/11 were tacky. The monster had no story and the characters were idiots and I'm glad they all died.J.J Abrams and company hide a truly This movie made my eyes want to bleed and gave me a headache. As a New Yorker the allusions to 9/11 were tacky. The monster had no story and the characters were idiots and I'm glad they all died.J.J Abrams and company hide a truly moronic story behind clever marketing. They get an A+ in marketing and an F for actual movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PaulKJan 19, 2008
My biggest complaint was the use of the handheld camera, which is central to the premise of the movie, but it gave me a massive headache about 2/3 of the way into the film. I was fearful of the portrayal of the monster(s), but it wasn't My biggest complaint was the use of the handheld camera, which is central to the premise of the movie, but it gave me a massive headache about 2/3 of the way into the film. I was fearful of the portrayal of the monster(s), but it wasn't cheesy or too in your face like war of the worlds, and signs, etc. The writers borrowed too much thematically from Aliens, and the ending was completely predictable given the premise, but if you're curious about this, it's worth seeing in the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanHJan 19, 2008
Fantastic Movie! I know we all have an opinion though I find it hard to understand what is not to like about this movie if you have any interest in this genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SamF.Jan 21, 2008
First off Anyone who lost someone on 9-11 or still gets emotional every anniversary, Don't see this movie. with that said I gave this movie a 1 for the acting as they truly make it seem this was a film found after the event. This First off Anyone who lost someone on 9-11 or still gets emotional every anniversary, Don't see this movie. with that said I gave this movie a 1 for the acting as they truly make it seem this was a film found after the event. This "movie" is 90 minutes of a shaky camera where you barely see anything especially the monster except a few seconds at the end. No explanation of what it is where it came from but these young kids are running away from it. thats the movie...actually they are trying to rescue a girl which is why they stay...I would have gotten my ass outta there ...JJ Abrahms made LOST Enough said...no explanation keeps leaving you with more questions. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KentK.Jan 21, 2008
1 point for the Trailer. 0 points for the movie. All I can say is please STOP making movies with SHAKY CamCorder filming !!! Come ON, now - if you wanted us to GET the fact that it was being filmed on a CamCorder, then just give us a FEW 1 point for the Trailer. 0 points for the movie. All I can say is please STOP making movies with SHAKY CamCorder filming !!! Come ON, now - if you wanted us to GET the fact that it was being filmed on a CamCorder, then just give us a FEW scenes where that is shown to us - then SMOOTH IT OUT for cryin' out loud !! This movie was sheer torture to watch. I hope they release a different version of the film that actually smooths out the crappy camerawork so that a person can actually WATCH the stupid thing without having to look AWAY constantly just to make the world STOP SPINNING. Blair Witch SUCKED for the same reason, and, quite frankly, the last two Bourne Identity movies had too much jerky camera work for my liking. Hollywood....STOP it already, will ya ?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ScottHJan 20, 2008
The idea of the movie was decent but the camera work was so bad it pretty much made it impossible to watch. The special effects were ok, but limited. The action was there throughout the movie, but it was really lame. I didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichardJ.Jan 20, 2008
Just watched the film in Malaysia and must say it was the biggest piece of crap I have ever seen. At the end of the movie people just sat there and after a couple of minutes got up and walked out without any of the normal chatter you get Just watched the film in Malaysia and must say it was the biggest piece of crap I have ever seen. At the end of the movie people just sat there and after a couple of minutes got up and walked out without any of the normal chatter you get when someone has enjoyed the experience. It was like a dentists waiting room. Biggest waste of time and money I feel cheated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JasmineP.Jan 22, 2008
When I watched the movie the other day, I couldn't believe that the whole movie was through a camera. The movie was a mix between the Blair Witch Project and Godzilla. This is one movie that I actually called, emailed, and spoke to When I watched the movie the other day, I couldn't believe that the whole movie was through a camera. The movie was a mix between the Blair Witch Project and Godzilla. This is one movie that I actually called, emailed, and spoke to co-workers and family/friends and told them to not even waste their money on. The ending of the movie was pointless. Pointless to the point on why the Camera was needed. Sometimes when I leave a theater, I hear people talking or something, NO. everyone left in COMPLETE SILENCE!!! And lookin @ the Box Office reviews, I cant believe, that this movie grossed $41M . I know there are A LOT of disappointed moviegoers... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StevenB.Jan 22, 2008
The only reason you shouldn't like this movie is if you weren't warned before going to see it that the camera is really shaky. Other than that, I believe that Cloverfield is definitely the best monster that has been created in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisK.Jan 23, 2008
Being a fan of this sort of thing I went to the opening midnight showing- it was so packed full I was stuck in the second row and after about 20 minutes was getting a headache from the hand held camera work. I stood in the back so I was glad Being a fan of this sort of thing I went to the opening midnight showing- it was so packed full I was stuck in the second row and after about 20 minutes was getting a headache from the hand held camera work. I stood in the back so I was glad it wasn't too long. This movie is Blair witch meets Godzilla narrated by a nerdy guy helping his friend try to save his girlfriend. If I actually believed this guy loved her then it might have worked. Special effects were OK but not enough monster. Personally I felt this film could've been a lot better if it used traditional filmmaking techniques - you barely see the creature(s?) and there is no soundtrack so much of the drama is missing. Has all the elements for a sequel which could be much better and answer a few questions. I'm glad to see monsters making a comeback instead of psychos like SAW. If I want psychos I can just turn on the news if I want giant creatures causing destruction I go to the movies so for that reason I gave it a 6. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GianellaG.Jan 25, 2008
So bad it was pointless horrible one of the worst movies i've ever seen i regret watching it i don't reccomend it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DannyHOct 2, 2008
Worst movie ever, filming makes you dizzy, just plain stupid, no real story behind it and then theres an ending that just makes you want to cry because its like "well I've wasted 2 hours of my life" but then on top of that laugh because Worst movie ever, filming makes you dizzy, just plain stupid, no real story behind it and then theres an ending that just makes you want to cry because its like "well I've wasted 2 hours of my life" but then on top of that laugh because it seems like the producer ran out of money so just decided to end the movie. Crap, if you respect a movie with half a plot, do not see it. If you like watching people die meaninglessly and have a high resistance to motion sickness, go ahead. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JoeL.Jan 27, 2008
Bambi meets Godzilla was more exciting than this overated flick, and that short animation was about 45 seconds. This movie is all hype to separate you and you money. Its a 75 minute movie that spends the first 22 minutes trying to introduce Bambi meets Godzilla was more exciting than this overated flick, and that short animation was about 45 seconds. This movie is all hype to separate you and you money. Its a 75 minute movie that spends the first 22 minutes trying to introduce the audience to characters we don't really like. I started to get annoyed at the really poor dialog after the first 10 minutes. The acting is not very convincing, and there is really no "feeling" for what happens to the main characters. I did not find the movie exciting, thrilling, or suspenseful. The hand held cam thing gets annoying after 30 minutes too. The good thing is that its only 75 minutes, about 45 minutes too long! This flick just had a made for TV feel about it. Blah! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DJImJan 20, 2008
Great movie. I don't get why people are giving it low scores. It's a monster movie. And its effective and original. I'm sure all the imitators that come later will be far inferior.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJan 20, 2008
I thought this was one of the best monster movies I've seen in a long time. I don't know what some of these other people are complaining about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankFrankJan 29, 2008
Brilliant movie. It absolutely felt like I was there, and despite being a monster movie, seemed completely plausible. Will see at least 2 more times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KenLJan 30, 2008
The Blair Witch Godzilla Project. Enough said.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MysenS.Feb 12, 2008
At first glance of Cloverfield, I thought it would be an excellent, almost original film to see. The commercials and trailers really captured my attention about how good Cloverfield would be... but in my opinion that was as good as it would At first glance of Cloverfield, I thought it would be an excellent, almost original film to see. The commercials and trailers really captured my attention about how good Cloverfield would be... but in my opinion that was as good as it would get. When I stepped out of the theater there was only one thing on my mind: How bad the ending was. Believe me, the entire film is spectacular and eye-popping visuals and amazingly blended in with the shaky camera, but if you really loved the characters or were at least concerned about the main ones at the beginning of the movie, then prepare to be extremely disappointed. But if you try to accept the early hint that "This videotape known as Cloverfield was recovered at what was once Central Park" that should tell you right away that whatever happened to the filmmakers met a grizzly end. But the thing I hated was just he fact the entire movie was like this, there's 3 points, A, B, and C. A is the start, B is in the middle of the city, and C is escaping the city. We start at A obviously, and when we're going to C, we actually go back to B and almost A, THEN C again. That's pretty much the entire movie. So unless you like endings where the heroes meet an awful demise, or you can't take the shaky camera implemented from the "Blair Witch Project", then save $7.00 off by not going to see Cloverfield. But I would definately recommend renting it if you wanted to see it. It's just not worth the $7 it's been hailed for. You'll scream for your money back as soon as the credits roll. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunQ.Feb 12, 2008
This is the best film I've seen for a long long time. If you suffer immensely from motion sickness then be warned but the camera shaking isn't that bad. You get to see plenty of the monster and for all the people that say this film This is the best film I've seen for a long long time. If you suffer immensely from motion sickness then be warned but the camera shaking isn't that bad. You get to see plenty of the monster and for all the people that say this film is rubish then you are just scared of something different. Great film worth watching! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MariaDFeb 10, 2008
A waste of time and money, when it first started I thought Please don't let this whole movie be shot through this shaky camcorder! But it was it was that shaky blair witch thing it made me sick and gave me a head ache, if I wasn't A waste of time and money, when it first started I thought Please don't let this whole movie be shot through this shaky camcorder! But it was it was that shaky blair witch thing it made me sick and gave me a head ache, if I wasn't so curious to see the monster I would have walked out, in the end everybody in the theatre were either laughing or verbally disgusted with the film...save your money and go watch plants grow thats much more exciting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DonA.Feb 14, 2008
How many times does the monster get a whack at them before it finally gets them? It was like a nightmare where you get away only to find that it;s right there under the bed or in the closet. I liked it despite what some are saying about the How many times does the monster get a whack at them before it finally gets them? It was like a nightmare where you get away only to find that it;s right there under the bed or in the closet. I liked it despite what some are saying about the ending. The monster is like the boogey man you might get away now but he'll get you in the end. I liked the rubber meets the road premise where we are on the ground with him not looking at him from a faraway distance. And the effects like the explosions the monster rampaging several feet away worked for me. I guess it's all subjective so sue me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeeP.Feb 19, 2008
I enjoyed Cloverfield it was original and fresh. Once you get over the jerky camera work and get settled, the film does its best to make you feel the exact opposite, unsettled and vulnerable like the characters who are wondering what the I enjoyed Cloverfield it was original and fresh. Once you get over the jerky camera work and get settled, the film does its best to make you feel the exact opposite, unsettled and vulnerable like the characters who are wondering what the hell is going on. You realize that there is nothing that these individuals can do to stop the rampaging destruction that has come to New York and this is reflected well in the film. Although a hero does rise its not to save the day its merely to save the life of the girl he loves. At the end your not even sure that he was successful and whether or not the sacrifices made by his family and friends were worth it. A disaster film thats believable in feeling if not in context and that isn't scared not to wrap things up too neatly at the end. Enjoyable! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JalexD.Feb 2, 2008
I was actually very surprised by this film. It looked interesting six months before, but I wasn't sure about it when it actually came out. Of course, I just came back from seeing it and not only is it the first 4-star film of the year I was actually very surprised by this film. It looked interesting six months before, but I wasn't sure about it when it actually came out. Of course, I just came back from seeing it and not only is it the first 4-star film of the year (to me), it's also a classic piece of cinema that should be looked back on in a very positive light in the future. I actually became connected with the characters within the short time frame of the film, which was nice to discover. The sheer intensity and amazing pseudorealism of it all really made it fall together. There are a few tiny things that one could nitpick about, but even then only three. A truly great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexW.Feb 20, 2008
While its 2 dimensional characters sometimes drag the performance down in the character driven scenes, as long as you don't get motion sickness this is a must see. Probably the first movie to be so bold in a post 9/11 world. The camera While its 2 dimensional characters sometimes drag the performance down in the character driven scenes, as long as you don't get motion sickness this is a must see. Probably the first movie to be so bold in a post 9/11 world. The camera works not only help suspension of disbelief oddly but put you in the shoes of a character for most of the movie which in itself is an exciting way to tell a tale. Also the image of the statue of liberty's head in the street with everyone taking photos on their phone is brilliant and In my opinion one of the best moments in disaster cinema ever, likely to be the most striking image of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KimberlyJ.Feb 23, 2008
Horrible movie. Way too much hipe. Characters were annoying. "Plot" was annoying. Film style was annoying. Hated it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JaredB.Feb 3, 2008
Six months ago, I saw the first preview of the movie "Cloverfield." I was looking forward to seeing it. To say the movie was a disappointment would be a gross understatement. Actually, I found this film to be a major disaster. Nothing worked Six months ago, I saw the first preview of the movie "Cloverfield." I was looking forward to seeing it. To say the movie was a disappointment would be a gross understatement. Actually, I found this film to be a major disaster. Nothing worked here, or even tried. As bad as the cast, the script, and the direction were, these were far from this movies worst flaw. That honor, or dishonor, depending on how you look at it, belongs to the camerawork. I swear I developed motion sickness watching this darn thing. If you haven't seen this movie, take my advice: save your time and money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlbinGFeb 3, 2008
Firstly, Jay G. All the opinions which you dismissed had perfectly valid complaints. Just because it is handcam doesn't mean continuity can be cast aside. And The Blair Witch Godzilla aproject is a very good description of this movie. Firstly, Jay G. All the opinions which you dismissed had perfectly valid complaints. Just because it is handcam doesn't mean continuity can be cast aside. And The Blair Witch Godzilla aproject is a very good description of this movie. Home made feel footage but with a monster terrorizing a city. And the fact that you have dismissed all their opinions and pronounced that they can't be critics since they don't agree with you is just absurd. Now. I knew what this movie would entail before i got there. Hand held cam style footage of a group of people in the aftermath of a city destroyed bya monster. And i got just that. But it wasn't at all entertaining. Firstly, the only reason the story continued was one guys illogical and unreasonable need to go BACK into the city. I wonder how this will turn out? Couldn't they have stuck with a survival theme? Running from the monster to get out of the city? Instead the monster turns into a foot note in the plot. The camera work was bad. That is all i can say. Just because it's a handycam doesn't mean it can't be pointed at interesting things now and then. Unless one of the miriad plot points that were neglected explanation was that the camera man has a foot fetish. I lost count of the number of times we catch a glimpse of the monster only to have the camera pan and leave it hovering just off screen. Why is the guy carrying the camera to document this stuff if all he films is being scrambling down a roof? Just simple changes like having him pause to let others by and taking that time to record the monster doing something. ANYTHING. The jarring quality of the footage sent 2 of my mates out due to motion sickness. The shacky-cam gimmick became tedious and unnecessary after 10 minutes. The overly long intro did nothing to convince me of the important relationship around which the movie subsequently revolves. I honestly didn't care whether they achieved their goal or not. Nothing is ever answered about the monster. There were some positives. A few good scenes in the streets where we get to see that the monster is nearby and a genuine threat. Only then did i feel an urgency about their running. I can't get scared if i don't know what is happening. It showed that frantic shacky cam can work in short bursts, but not for a whole film. A better choice would have been either a first person perspective, seeing what they see, or film by a news crew, getting both the panic and realism whilst still SEEING enough to feel involved. If you have a phobia of shoes or pavements, you'll be scared out of your seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimC.Feb 3, 2008
There was bad acting and the camera work was terrible. It got annoying after a while, but overall it was okay I guess. I liked the statue of liberty head flying off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Feb 3, 2008
Cloverfield is more of a ride then a film. Seeing the destruction and mayhem of NYC from a first person view is done perfectly. You'll leave the theatre thinking you had just escaped the monster yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TimWFeb 4, 2008
Cloverfield was not a great movie. I was told there would be scares and jump-out-of-your-seat moments. I didn't jump once. Also, I found the characters unengaging. The party scene at the beginning was way too long and dull, populated as Cloverfield was not a great movie. I was told there would be scares and jump-out-of-your-seat moments. I didn't jump once. Also, I found the characters unengaging. The party scene at the beginning was way too long and dull, populated as it was by cardboard characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ssFeb 4, 2008
We went to see it at the cinema, throughout the movie people were leaving, because of how rubibish the film was. When the film ended, the whole cinema groaned. A totally rubbish and pointless movie....... please no sequel!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PaulJ.Feb 4, 2008
I thought it was ok although I got a bit seasick from the shaky camera. If they had a bigger budget perhaps they could afford a new tripod that has steady legs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TonyFeb 5, 2008
The first 20 minutes were so boring I fell asleep, a first at the cinema, and when the explosions woke me up I thought "at last it's started." I might as well of stayed asleep as the awful hand held camera made it unwatchable. Worst The first 20 minutes were so boring I fell asleep, a first at the cinema, and when the explosions woke me up I thought "at last it's started." I might as well of stayed asleep as the awful hand held camera made it unwatchable. Worst film since Blair Witch Project which used the same diabolical system. Tony Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BenT.Feb 6, 2008
no alien looks that way because i have the omnitrix and i know aliens. Diamondhead, now that is an alien!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SusieM.Feb 6, 2008
Can we say Blair Witch meet Godzilla with better filming. I went expecting a better movie to get an upgraded version of the Blair Witch project. I tell you what This movie totally sucked and I wouldn't suggest it. when my boyfriend and Can we say Blair Witch meet Godzilla with better filming. I went expecting a better movie to get an upgraded version of the Blair Witch project. I tell you what This movie totally sucked and I wouldn't suggest it. when my boyfriend and i went to go see this movie we didn't realize what it was and both got motion sick from the movie, we couldn't tell when it started and its not worth seeing. Please don't waste your money or your time to see this very very bad film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RamM.Feb 6, 2008
Simply put, this has to be the WORST movie Ive ever seen this year. Whose idea was it to film the entire film on a shaky hand held cam?!! five minutes into the movie and i knew i just wasted my money. I felt like throwing up the entire Simply put, this has to be the WORST movie Ive ever seen this year. Whose idea was it to film the entire film on a shaky hand held cam?!! five minutes into the movie and i knew i just wasted my money. I felt like throwing up the entire time!!! Where did those monsters come from? Its not even shown or explained?!!! Who thought of this movie?!!! The worst monster movie ever. I wish i saw D-War instead.To all those who haven't seen this movie yet, don't!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhilB.Feb 8, 2008
Love the idea but but but I had to close my eyes after c.10 minutes as nausea / motion sickness kicked in due to the 1st person perspective, shaky hand-held camcorder filming, and I wasn't even close to the screen. It sounded good Love the idea but but but I had to close my eyes after c.10 minutes as nausea / motion sickness kicked in due to the 1st person perspective, shaky hand-held camcorder filming, and I wasn't even close to the screen. It sounded good though! Did anyone else suffer from this? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MaximumR.Feb 9, 2008
At the movie theaters, I paid 8 dollars to see the movie. I had a bucket of popcorn, candy, and a smoothie. But even with all of that, the movie was horrible and i left halfway through the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimPFeb 9, 2008
Awesome, and believable. Best Monster flick since Jurrasic Park, definitely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinK.Feb 9, 2008
Every movie should be judged by what it attempts to take a shot at - and this one, in my eyes, hits bulls eye! SPOILER WARNING! Some viewers complained about the low quality of filming, or that nothing is explained, or that you hardly see Every movie should be judged by what it attempts to take a shot at - and this one, in my eyes, hits bulls eye! SPOILER WARNING! Some viewers complained about the low quality of filming, or that nothing is explained, or that you hardly see the monster, or that the protagonists die cruelly despite noble efforts. Yes, Cloverfield takes some unusual steps, but not just for the sake of a new artsy or postmodern take on the genre. It is very effective in creating a realistic feel: given the scenario, I think this is pretty much what it would look like. Instead of being just another more-or-less-sophisticated CGI monster, wreaking boring CGI havoc that we've all see before, the realism is the only thing that could have made it scary. Which it does, by the numbers. 9 points! I'll give it a tenth point because I loved the contrast between the "horror present" video, and the nuggets of "good day" past: the shots previously recorded on the tape. This is a just monster movie, but hey, they don't come better than this. If you hate the genre itself, don't bother seeing or reviewing it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomPMar 2, 2008
Cloverfield made no sense to me. There is no plot at all to the story even when the soldiers are involved in the quarantine of personnel because of the
0 of 0 users found this helpful