Paramount Pictures | Release Date: January 18, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 938 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
591
Mixed:
109
Negative:
238
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
DavibP.Jan 18, 2008
the camera made me feel sick and there was no real story.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
GeoffH.Jan 18, 2008
This is the worst film I have ever seen. It is the Blair Witch project all over again. Hand held video camera with a battery which has the longest life I have ever seen. Not to mention the fact it continues to work despite being This is the worst film I have ever seen. It is the Blair Witch project all over again. Hand held video camera with a battery which has the longest life I have ever seen. Not to mention the fact it continues to work despite being dropped,bashedthrown about etc. No story to speak of. Do Americans really shout and scream at each other as they do in this film? All in all a poor film which I wish I hadn't wasted my time and money on. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
SimonP.Jan 18, 2008
I have never, ever had a feeling of intense anger swell within me as the credits started rolling on a film I'd been eagerly awaiting...until Cloverfield. Despite the nausea-inducing camera work, the movie left nothing but a giant, I have never, ever had a feeling of intense anger swell within me as the credits started rolling on a film I'd been eagerly awaiting...until Cloverfield. Despite the nausea-inducing camera work, the movie left nothing but a giant, unfulfilled void where I was expecting to finally see "that amazing monster flick" I'd so eagerly hoped it to be. The entire audience actually booed when the credits rolled, I can't believe it is getting such positive reviews! Do not waste your time, or more importantly, your money, on this horrid monster of a movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JasonK.Jan 18, 2008
Horrible excuse for a movie. I don't know what the critics are thinking. It requires not only a massive suspension of disbelief, but also a suspension of reason and logic. Add to that the fact that you do NOT find out anything about the Horrible excuse for a movie. I don't know what the critics are thinking. It requires not only a massive suspension of disbelief, but also a suspension of reason and logic. Add to that the fact that you do NOT find out anything about the monsters origins, and I would not recommend seeing it even if they paid you $12. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MikeM.Jan 18, 2008
the worst movie i've ever seen. the handheld camera movements literally mad me sick. i had to leave the theatre. besides that, the movie was weak on all levels. garbage.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AnankeJan 18, 2008
A harsh lesson in bad kaiju. the monster has no motivation, unlike godzilla who only wanted to go to his precious radioactive tower. the humans were vapid and unrealistic. their physical injuries at odds with fight or flight instincts wouldA harsh lesson in bad kaiju. the monster has no motivation, unlike godzilla who only wanted to go to his precious radioactive tower. the humans were vapid and unrealistic. their physical injuries at odds with fight or flight instincts would never have allowed certain survival instincts. all this movie did for me was give me a bad headache, and i went into it so hopeful for amazing thrill ride. this was the ubermeh. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SamR.Jan 18, 2008
The camera perspective is from a handheld camera and its like watchin a 2 hour blare-witch project. Watching the 2 minute preveiw is probably more interesting than the movie. Don't waste ur m$n$y
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ErikB.Jan 18, 2008
Completely and utterly pointless. Lead in scenes too long and drawn out, and I was actually surprised to see as the credits rolled that there had even been a script. God help us if they make more of these movies. This film was so bad it made Completely and utterly pointless. Lead in scenes too long and drawn out, and I was actually surprised to see as the credits rolled that there had even been a script. God help us if they make more of these movies. This film was so bad it made me hate every movie I've paid for in the last 5 years. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ScottyE.Jan 18, 2008
Let me put it this way...half the theater left either sick or really ticked off. There were at least 2 people that actually threw up in the theater while I was there. I sat near the back of the theater because of the potential motion Let me put it this way...half the theater left either sick or really ticked off. There were at least 2 people that actually threw up in the theater while I was there. I sat near the back of the theater because of the potential motion sickness. I still got sick. The director should have at least used the steady shot on the camera. It was like they had to throw the "Im using a camcorder and I need you to know it" over and over again. Great story but horrible visuals aka camcorder view. It should have been used sparingly. This movie could have been made by anyone and probably been easier to watch than this version. I recommend this movie to know one. If you go sit in the back row and bring a brown paper bag. Cant wait till the book hits the shelves. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
NKJan 18, 2008
This movie tries so hard to be cool and gritty and different but fails on all but one of those goals. Gritty is about the only compliment it gets, if you can call grainy footage and cameras that shake epileptically "gritty". The introduction This movie tries so hard to be cool and gritty and different but fails on all but one of those goals. Gritty is about the only compliment it gets, if you can call grainy footage and cameras that shake epileptically "gritty". The introduction to characters drags, the action sequences are unsatisfying and the ending is a complete dud. And be warned: if watching the "Handycam-esque" style of Blair Witch Project made you feel a little queasy, Cloverfield will have you reaching for, and filling, the bucket. Blurgh! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RonJan 18, 2008
Deadly dull, even at 84 minutes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MikeS.Jan 19, 2008
If you have to watch this abysmal film...sit in the very back...the constant shaking camera will make you puke...the monster is awesome...I wish it was filmed in an alternative style more complacent with my stomach cause I might have enjoyed If you have to watch this abysmal film...sit in the very back...the constant shaking camera will make you puke...the monster is awesome...I wish it was filmed in an alternative style more complacent with my stomach cause I might have enjoyed it otherwise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MichaelR.Jan 19, 2008
For the first time in my life I emailed all my friends to warn them about how bad this movie is and the critics are dead wrong. This is complete garbage and other review have really nailed down why. Something else I didn't like was if For the first time in my life I emailed all my friends to warn them about how bad this movie is and the critics are dead wrong. This is complete garbage and other review have really nailed down why. Something else I didn't like was if you are going to do a guerilla type movie the story should line should really try to pass this as "it really happened" type feel or else the audience will be confused and angered like I was. The movie ends "My name is Rob Anderson and if you are watching this, you know more about this than I do". No Rob, actually I don't...because no monster ever attacked NY and we haven't invented time travel so there is no way this video could have come from the future. All I know is I just dumped $15 on your crap piece of film. Thanks JJ Abrams Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RebeccaS.Jan 19, 2008
This movie was a waste of my time. It was way too bloody, violent and just plain stupid. The first 20 minutes were boring-just bring a pillow and blanket and sleep for the first 20 minutes. This movie was so bad people in walking out! Save This movie was a waste of my time. It was way too bloody, violent and just plain stupid. The first 20 minutes were boring-just bring a pillow and blanket and sleep for the first 20 minutes. This movie was so bad people in walking out! Save your money and time and go get ice cream instead of seeing this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JoshC.Jan 19, 2008
This movie made my eyes want to bleed and gave me a headache. As a New Yorker the allusions to 9/11 were tacky. The monster had no story and the characters were idiots and I'm glad they all died.J.J Abrams and company hide a truly This movie made my eyes want to bleed and gave me a headache. As a New Yorker the allusions to 9/11 were tacky. The monster had no story and the characters were idiots and I'm glad they all died.J.J Abrams and company hide a truly moronic story behind clever marketing. They get an A+ in marketing and an F for actual movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MaryM.Jan 19, 2008
What a waste of time. I couldn't believe the lame, very long into to even get to the monster portion. It was a bad combination of product placement, bad acting, no script, and a hangover all in one. I checked my watch over and over and What a waste of time. I couldn't believe the lame, very long into to even get to the monster portion. It was a bad combination of product placement, bad acting, no script, and a hangover all in one. I checked my watch over and over and it's only 84 minutes long. A very long 84 minutes, long. Watch the trailer. It's more entertaining and you'll save yourself valuable time and money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
jacobmJan 19, 2008
I have one comment about this movie. It's a waste of time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NeoPJan 19, 2008
AAAAHHH! I am still throwing up from this. . .I don't not even know what to call it. . . .poopy? no it was worse then that. I didn't have any regrets in my life until I saw this movie. It has made me so frustrated I do not even AAAAHHH! I am still throwing up from this. . .I don't not even know what to call it. . . .poopy? no it was worse then that. I didn't have any regrets in my life until I saw this movie. It has made me so frustrated I do not even know how to explain. The whole thing could have been great-besides the fact that there was no script and no image. Everything was just a blurry image of stupidness screams. I kept praying that the monster-whatever it was(you never find out) would eat the camera guy to end my misery. It was torture! Watching this movie was t--o-r-t-u-r-e! There is no reason to go and see this movie. Unless of course you are looking for a bad time, big headache, and somehow to waste your money. This could have been a good movie.. But it wasn't. The trailer was more interesting than the movie. I knew as much as I did before I saw the movie from when I left the theater. The only thing I learned was what it feels like to vomit all over the person next to me. The movie can be summed up in one word: worthless. Can they even call this a movie? From what I've seen the producers have no right in calling this a movie. How did they manage to put this on the big screen? We'll soon find out in the next 'Guinness Book of World Records' there will be the record for most people being tortured in one afternoon. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DaleD.Jan 19, 2008
Truly one of the worst films ever made. A complete waste of time, and I wish I could get my money back. I had to leave the theatre twice because I was getting ill from the handheld camera. Several times I had to look down because I Truly one of the worst films ever made. A complete waste of time, and I wish I could get my money back. I had to leave the theatre twice because I was getting ill from the handheld camera. Several times I had to look down because I couldn't take it. When I could watch, there was nothing worth seeing. The post work on the monster was horrible. If I could rate it a -100, I would. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoeJ.Jan 21, 2008
The makers of "Cloverfield" seem to have forgotten to add the essential What, Where, and Why elements to the story. WHAT is this thing? WHERE did it come from? WHY is it attacking New York City and killing millions of people? If they could The makers of "Cloverfield" seem to have forgotten to add the essential What, Where, and Why elements to the story. WHAT is this thing? WHERE did it come from? WHY is it attacking New York City and killing millions of people? If they could have added just a LITTLE backstory, this could have been a halfway decent movie. There was no ending either. The viewer never knows if the monster is defeated. All you see is an explosion. Ka-boom, roll credits. The theater is much too expensive to be seeing movies like thise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SamF.Jan 21, 2008
First off Anyone who lost someone on 9-11 or still gets emotional every anniversary, Don't see this movie. with that said I gave this movie a 1 for the acting as they truly make it seem this was a film found after the event. This First off Anyone who lost someone on 9-11 or still gets emotional every anniversary, Don't see this movie. with that said I gave this movie a 1 for the acting as they truly make it seem this was a film found after the event. This "movie" is 90 minutes of a shaky camera where you barely see anything especially the monster except a few seconds at the end. No explanation of what it is where it came from but these young kids are running away from it. thats the movie...actually they are trying to rescue a girl which is why they stay...I would have gotten my ass outta there ...JJ Abrahms made LOST Enough said...no explanation keeps leaving you with more questions. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JasmineP.Jan 22, 2008
When I watched the movie the other day, I couldn't believe that the whole movie was through a camera. The movie was a mix between the Blair Witch Project and Godzilla. This is one movie that I actually called, emailed, and spoke to When I watched the movie the other day, I couldn't believe that the whole movie was through a camera. The movie was a mix between the Blair Witch Project and Godzilla. This is one movie that I actually called, emailed, and spoke to co-workers and family/friends and told them to not even waste their money on. The ending of the movie was pointless. Pointless to the point on why the Camera was needed. Sometimes when I leave a theater, I hear people talking or something, NO. everyone left in COMPLETE SILENCE!!! And lookin @ the Box Office reviews, I cant believe, that this movie grossed $41M . I know there are A LOT of disappointed moviegoers... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RayY.Jan 23, 2008
I cannot believe that there are so many favorable reviews on this movie ... Here are the facts the movie is 71 Minutes long The monster is in less than 4 minutes of the movie The camera shaking is horrible Nuff said save your money.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AngelaH.Jan 23, 2008
Good idea but god that movie made me SO nauseas... it was shaky and it wouldn't stop moving and it was short. if it has stayed in place it would have worked... not a real story tho...just just goes with its... if u don't get movie Good idea but god that movie made me SO nauseas... it was shaky and it wouldn't stop moving and it was short. if it has stayed in place it would have worked... not a real story tho...just just goes with its... if u don't get movie sick then ya. but don't go for it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GianellaG.Jan 25, 2008
So bad it was pointless horrible one of the worst movies i've ever seen i regret watching it i don't reccomend it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KenLJan 30, 2008
The Blair Witch Godzilla Project. Enough said.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BBFeb 3, 2008
Awful movie! Luckily it is very short.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TonyFeb 5, 2008
The first 20 minutes were so boring I fell asleep, a first at the cinema, and when the explosions woke me up I thought "at last it's started." I might as well of stayed asleep as the awful hand held camera made it unwatchable. Worst The first 20 minutes were so boring I fell asleep, a first at the cinema, and when the explosions woke me up I thought "at last it's started." I might as well of stayed asleep as the awful hand held camera made it unwatchable. Worst film since Blair Witch Project which used the same diabolical system. Tony Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MarcoH.Feb 21, 2008
The worst film of all time - pointless, amateurish, pretentious. Everyone involved should feel embarrassed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KimberlyJ.Feb 23, 2008
Horrible movie. Way too much hipe. Characters were annoying. "Plot" was annoying. Film style was annoying. Hated it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JasonT.Jul 9, 2008
Special Effects were as good as the story was bad! I'm still mad that I wasted an hour and a half of my life watching this rubbish!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ChrisLJul 11, 2008
Abysmal garbage. Let's see lame Cliffhanger, terrible acting, piss poor plot= FAIL. I must give credit for the cgi effects however. Nevertheless don't throw garbage like this towards us Paramount. You should have learned your Abysmal garbage. Let's see lame Cliffhanger, terrible acting, piss poor plot= FAIL. I must give credit for the cgi effects however. Nevertheless don't throw garbage like this towards us Paramount. You should have learned your lessons from War of the Worlds or any of your other disastrous Sci-fiction/monster releases. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DaveG.Aug 3, 2008
Anyone that gave this piece of crap higher than a 0 should stick to watching sesame street. If I want to want home movies I visit the jackass down the street. I was disappointed when I missed this on the big screen. Now I'm glad I Anyone that gave this piece of crap higher than a 0 should stick to watching sesame street. If I want to want home movies I visit the jackass down the street. I was disappointed when I missed this on the big screen. Now I'm glad I missed it. It would have been a bigger piece of crap at a higher cost of seeing it. I would classify this as docu-crap. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DannyHOct 2, 2008
Worst movie ever, filming makes you dizzy, just plain stupid, no real story behind it and then theres an ending that just makes you want to cry because its like "well I've wasted 2 hours of my life" but then on top of that laugh because Worst movie ever, filming makes you dizzy, just plain stupid, no real story behind it and then theres an ending that just makes you want to cry because its like "well I've wasted 2 hours of my life" but then on top of that laugh because it seems like the producer ran out of money so just decided to end the movie. Crap, if you respect a movie with half a plot, do not see it. If you like watching people die meaninglessly and have a high resistance to motion sickness, go ahead. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
gm101Aug 26, 2011
The movie certainly has a good premise, but unanswered questions in the end and a camera that is way too shaky disrupt the experience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
TimT.Jan 18, 2008
I thought the special effeects were excellent, but i didn' like how the storyline was or the ending. I also did not like that the movie was a video cam and even the people behind me said it made them dizzy.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
7
JAM123Oct 16, 2011
This right here is a very under-rated movie. It was a very cool and successful expeiriment that I thought did exceedingly well. It not only kept my attention and stayed interesting throughout the whole thing, it began a new era of film. ItThis right here is a very under-rated movie. It was a very cool and successful expeiriment that I thought did exceedingly well. It not only kept my attention and stayed interesting throughout the whole thing, it began a new era of film. It brought the idea of making the movie look like it was home videoed to the attention of the film industry. I also love the producer(J.J. Abrams) and the director did well with this movie too(Matt Reeves). So after all of that about how good it is your probably asking yourself, "why did he give it a 7/10?" Well the movie isn't completely perfect. I thought for one it could have been a bit longer. It only being like one hour and 10 minutes was kinda a let down. Also, I know it was like home videoed but there was a little too much zooming in and out and shaking of the camera. It didn't have the best angles either. It also was hard to see I feel like. The only time you can watch it is if your in a dark area because in a lot of the parts the glare makes it hard to see the screen and whats going on. One more thing is the actors. They didn't do the best job of acting in this. I guess most of them were just begginning actoras and actresses but they could have done a little better. The only one that did a professional job was Lizzy Caplin(Marlena). She was pretty good in it but then again she has been in a couple of movies before this one. She's not the best acteress though for sure. There is many others better than her, no defense Lizzy. I guess T.J. Miller(Hud) had done a prett y good job too. He had also been in a few movies before too. So those are a few things that this movie lacks and if they make a remake... add these please. So this movie is a pretty good movie with a good plotline and amazing special effects. I highly reccommend you see it. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
MetalMan95Dec 1, 2010
This is one roller coaster ride. Although this does require a suspension of disbelief because this was on-camera monster attack on NYC, It made me believe it actually happened. This movie was scary, thrilling, emotional, and just plainThis is one roller coaster ride. Although this does require a suspension of disbelief because this was on-camera monster attack on NYC, It made me believe it actually happened. This movie was scary, thrilling, emotional, and just plain freakin awesome! I didnt mind the ending whatsoever. Awesome movie. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 17, 2011
I admit the movie was a crazy, thrilling ride. However, just because "Cloverfield" was filmed in first person perspective doesn't mean it is a good movie.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
AmbroseJan 17, 2008
I just saw this on opening night, this film is so bad that I am only giving it 2 points, 1 point for actually been made into a film, 1 point for the special effects. During its short 82 minutes, there is probably only 40 minutes of footage I just saw this on opening night, this film is so bad that I am only giving it 2 points, 1 point for actually been made into a film, 1 point for the special effects. During its short 82 minutes, there is probably only 40 minutes of footage that is viewable, the rest of the time is shaking, running, shaking, footage out of focus, shaking, screaming, footage too focused and more shaking, I know its the style, but I personally hate films like that, god forbid blair witch, it makes the movie experience feel cheap and unworthy. I wont recommend this movie, I wont recommend this DVD when it comes out or using this DVD as cup coaster, well maybe as a coaster. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
7
JakeH.May 24, 2008
This movie was a classic version of Godzilla, it was very supsenseful and very....shakey. The camera looked like it was a digital hand held camera I only saw the Cloverfield monster once just before the camera man got eaten, Yum. But over This movie was a classic version of Godzilla, it was very supsenseful and very....shakey. The camera looked like it was a digital hand held camera I only saw the Cloverfield monster once just before the camera man got eaten, Yum. But over all this movie was pretty short, like 1hour long and it ends with the cloverfield monster destroying the 2 main characters, but it was a good horror monster movie throughout. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
Spielberg00Sep 9, 2011
From the creator of the recently-ended TV series LOST (who is now known as the director of later films STAR TREK and SUPER 8, as well), CLOVERFIELD is the thrilling point where THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW, PARANORMAL ACTIVITY, and GODZILLA allFrom the creator of the recently-ended TV series LOST (who is now known as the director of later films STAR TREK and SUPER 8, as well), CLOVERFIELD is the thrilling point where THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW, PARANORMAL ACTIVITY, and GODZILLA all meet. The use of the similar "cinéma vérité" and "found footage" styles are prevalent to the film's plot, as it enhances the believability of the disaster which the story is centered on. At first, I didn't think it was going to be that great of a film, as it began with a light-hearted mood, but by twenty minutes into it, once the whole disaster started to take place, I was thrilled. Also, the ending was not that great, and it left me flummoxed by how complex it was, but think of the endings to other films made in "found footage" style--especially THE LAST EXORCISM--if you may: they were the same way. Overall, I thought this was a fantastic film. To create yet another monster was a brilliant idea, and for once well-tackled. But if there's one thing about CLOVERFIELD that really goes beyond expectations, it's the cinematography and how ingeniously every action is captured--even if it's on home video. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
JimothyT.Oct 6, 2009
One of the worst movies of this decade. The first person was not cool, or original, but just annoying. Lame shots of the monster, poor dialog, and needless to say a horrible ending.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
ArkonBladeAug 20, 2010
ive seen some bad films such as godzilla's 1998 remake , Jason x , death Bed the bed that eats people , and death stalker 2. but nothing is more terrable then this film . i had nothing bad to say about JJ abrhams till i seen this filth. god iive seen some bad films such as godzilla's 1998 remake , Jason x , death Bed the bed that eats people , and death stalker 2. but nothing is more terrable then this film . i had nothing bad to say about JJ abrhams till i seen this filth. god i dont even know where to start but i will try . lets start out with the camera that god awful camera . i know he was not trying to be original with that Blare witch project rip off style but oh my god it seems any time and i MEAN any time some thing some what intresting starts to happen the camera shakes all over the damn place so nothing is viewable . then the plot which is so simplisticaly stupid i mean this whole movie can be described in 1sentence and basically you will have seen the movie . giant monster attacks and guy goes and saves his girlfriend ... thats it. i mean the old Godzilla movies had more plot then this . i had more questions after seeing this crap then i went in with . you never find out what the monster is , where it came from , why its attacking , what thoose things coming off it are . why people are blowing up after getting bitten . i mean really thoose are the things i know the vast majority of people seeing this turd want to know! people who like tnhis movie try to lie to me and give me bull **** answers on thoos questions just because for some unknown reason they like this piss and wana defend it. listen ive seen this crap 2x it DOESNT ANSWER ANY OF THEM . YOU ARE ONLY GUESSING SO SHUT UP!!! god this movie is just pissing me off reviewing it . that should tell you how bad it is . i mean serously id rather wach the crappy 1998 godzilla film any day over this dribble . this film so gets my vote for worst movie of the decade . Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
FamousdogSep 9, 2010
Well executed, entertaining stuff, but did we REALLY need this to be set in New York? The whole film seems designed to cynically exploit the relatively fresh memories of Sept 11th. The film loses several points for feeling like beingWell executed, entertaining stuff, but did we REALLY need this to be set in New York? The whole film seems designed to cynically exploit the relatively fresh memories of Sept 11th. The film loses several points for feeling like being repeatedly whacked over the head with a copy of the 9/11 Commission Report... Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
LuiS.Jan 18, 2008
It was a great ride and a terrifying reminding of that day in September.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KenK.Jan 18, 2008
I went into Cloverfield thinking it was going to be a movie, and I got a videotape of what happened. Realizing this, I accepted it for what it was and watched this interesting art piece. The entire movie I was sucked into so much, I forgot I I went into Cloverfield thinking it was going to be a movie, and I got a videotape of what happened. Realizing this, I accepted it for what it was and watched this interesting art piece. The entire movie I was sucked into so much, I forgot I was even in the theater. They did a perfect job making it as real as possible. Not just in the special effects(they were flawless, by the way), but in the way everyone reacted in the movie to everything that went on. It had a great, yet subtle story arc and explained exactly how it would have been explained if this happened and someone had a camcorder. It was a masterpiece of non-mainstream art. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BredB.Jan 18, 2008
The single greatest movie i have ever seen!! I was left emotionally drained. The acting is flawless and the tention is through the roof. Cloverfield set new standers of movie viewers!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ALIVERJ.Jan 18, 2008
If you're a thrill-seeker, like crazy shots, or a fan of the documentary, and like reality TV, this movie is for you. I like all movies ranging from sophisticated period-pieces, to action-packed thrillers, and this by far, had me on the If you're a thrill-seeker, like crazy shots, or a fan of the documentary, and like reality TV, this movie is for you. I like all movies ranging from sophisticated period-pieces, to action-packed thrillers, and this by far, had me on the edge of my seat. So much so, at one point, I wanted to get off the ride. After the first 15 minutes, the movie does not stop. I think it will be a 100% success. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 18, 2008
I didn't expect all that much from a modern-day Godzilla movie, but I was blown away by how well-done this movie was. Fantastic. I also find it amazing how many "professional" critics couldn't get over the shaky camera. I imagine I didn't expect all that much from a modern-day Godzilla movie, but I was blown away by how well-done this movie was. Fantastic. I also find it amazing how many "professional" critics couldn't get over the shaky camera. I imagine the same critics would have been crying foul if the camera didn't seem like it was really being toted around by one of the characters. So well done that it didn't even cross my mind while I was watching it that these were actors and not real people stuck in this situation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobR.Jan 19, 2008
I don;y rate movies 10, if its really good it gets an 8 or a 9. This movie was amazing, no spoilers from me(its not godzilla). Yes it shows the monster.Yes people die. But the rest is for you to see and experience yourself. The single best I don;y rate movies 10, if its really good it gets an 8 or a 9. This movie was amazing, no spoilers from me(its not godzilla). Yes it shows the monster.Yes people die. But the rest is for you to see and experience yourself. The single best movie i've ever seen. (Also Stay after the credits for a little bonus, its hard to make out but might change the way you look at the movie when its over). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KAJan 19, 2008
Shaky cam is original and suits the movie, spectacular special effects and an awesome monster. A solid film which should not disappointed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jodyg.Jan 19, 2008
Can't stop thinking about this movie. I must go see it again/.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LolaGJan 19, 2008
Awesome movie on many levels.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
NickS.Jan 22, 2008
Eye-Candy. Total waste of time. i felt embarrassed for anyone who wasted money on this Blair Witch rip-off. This is a disaster flick where you actually want the characters to die. Acting was very bad. No plot. I hope the do make a sequel so Eye-Candy. Total waste of time. i felt embarrassed for anyone who wasted money on this Blair Witch rip-off. This is a disaster flick where you actually want the characters to die. Acting was very bad. No plot. I hope the do make a sequel so as to explain what the heck actually happened. It would have been a better movie if they found multiple cameras then edited them films into a coherent movie, that would have been much more interesting. I love JJ Abrams work and think his Mission Impossible had been much more a superior movie than the other two. I think Lost is a fantastic show. Matt Reeves is a great director as well. I just think this effort was off the mark from what we are accustomed two from the two. Instead of a well written movie about such a great an event as a monster/alien destroying the city of New York, so soon after what had happened there in the past, we get a bad love story dipped in CGI eye-candy. This movie is not mental juice to feed your brain. It's more like sniffing paint for an hour or so. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DustinU.Jan 26, 2008
Aside from a slow start. The movie never lets up with the suspense. If you didn't care for the Blair Witch Project this film might not be for you with camera movement. The performances are top notch.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
SMcJul 21, 2008
Biggest pile of shit in my life, got to the point where it could have been a 7/10 then just falls over and dies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ChrisCAug 18, 2008
Be warned: If you thought you might see this movie and have it suspend your disbelief, be aware that the movie seriously jumps the shark a ways through. But if you're willing to accept that, it's an entertaining romp through a Be warned: If you thought you might see this movie and have it suspend your disbelief, be aware that the movie seriously jumps the shark a ways through. But if you're willing to accept that, it's an entertaining romp through a frightening apocalypse in Manhattan that captures the visceral chaos of a city half-destroyed. A monster-movie no doubt. But it's all in the eye of the beholder. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JacobBApr 21, 2009
the best monster movie in years. Cloverfield puts you in the position of the characters who have little idea whats going on and are only trying to survive. This movie gave me chills the first time I saw it. A MUST SEE FILM.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
DaveM.Nov 28, 2009
Cloverfield is a Blair Witch version of a monster flick featuring a very silly looking monster. The viral marketing campaign was far more clever than the movie itself. Enough with these shaky-cam films already!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Bullet97Aug 19, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Friggin amazing!! Scary, suspenseful, action-packed, and creppy!! JJ Abrams delivers an eerrie tale of a giant monster ripping apart New York. The directing is fantastic as we see the city being destroyed from the perspective of a group of survivors, who slowly get killed off one by one!! This movie rocks!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
cdhSep 3, 2010
Unoriginal in both plot and cinematography, the film takes the jerky first-person camera style (and 'discovered footage' device) of the Blair Witch Project and applies it to a narrative which could have been taken from any number of computerUnoriginal in both plot and cinematography, the film takes the jerky first-person camera style (and 'discovered footage' device) of the Blair Witch Project and applies it to a narrative which could have been taken from any number of computer games from the past several decades. It's all here: the giant Godzilla-like monster rampaging through skyscrapers; human-sized aliens straight from Starship Troopers; cliched subway tunnel scenes; you name it. Fortunately for the producers, they had a clever marketing team which managed to exploit both the post-9/11 paranoia and various viral marketing strategies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
kronMar 19, 2011
Clover field is what I call ok and boring. Its cliched and not that scary I mean the first 30 minutes of the movie was just love and drama. Although It does borrow some scary elements like not showing the monster it doesn't work. Rather thanClover field is what I call ok and boring. Its cliched and not that scary I mean the first 30 minutes of the movie was just love and drama. Although It does borrow some scary elements like not showing the monster it doesn't work. Rather than being creepy its annoying. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
ForeApr 23, 2011
I can honestly say this is the worse film I ever saw in my life. The camera was so jerky it made me want to puke. The story was so stupid that the script wouldn't even beat a porno movie script. The characters are all so irritating that II can honestly say this is the worse film I ever saw in my life. The camera was so jerky it made me want to puke. The story was so stupid that the script wouldn't even beat a porno movie script. The characters are all so irritating that I wished the monster ate them all in the 1st 30 minutes that way my agony could have ended sooner. Not even worth $1 on the cheap bin. Staring out your window for 2 hours is a better use of your time than watching this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
noobrJul 17, 2011
lack of empathy for the characters, lame plot and a failure to make the viewer suspend their disbelief amounts to a pretty poor film. Concept is good but falls short by a long way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
DodgerApr 29, 2012
A poor movie. Some interesting ideas mostly in the form of the recording angle as its supposedly recorded on a handheld camera, personally i didn't think this worked at all though as i found it made it more confusing and didn't draw me in.A poor movie. Some interesting ideas mostly in the form of the recording angle as its supposedly recorded on a handheld camera, personally i didn't think this worked at all though as i found it made it more confusing and didn't draw me in. As most people have stated the ending was awful, one of the worst i have ever seen to the extent that i stood up at the end of the and shouted at the screen. I would recommend that nobody see this movie.... ever. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MarkMusicMar 25, 2013
Better then Avatar, Hunger Games, Twilight, etc. Probably the second best film of 2008 other then Marley and Me. Pretty good acting, visually amazing, plot (New York under attack, man goes to get his ex-girlfriend) simple, handheld cameraBetter then Avatar, Hunger Games, Twilight, etc. Probably the second best film of 2008 other then Marley and Me. Pretty good acting, visually amazing, plot (New York under attack, man goes to get his ex-girlfriend) simple, handheld camera made it more realistic I say definintly check out, great B+! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BakaHaramMay 23, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie has one of the scariest monsters ever put on film. You can only briefly see him before the final scene, but when you finally see his face, well, I wanted to hide under the bed and close my eyes. He is truly hideous and alien looking, unlike, say, Godzilla, who has the most generic design ever.
But the best thing is that this terrifying monster was put in a really good movie, which is less of a monster flick and more of a chronicle of a disaster that is relentless and merciless. No one survives in this, and it is at it should be, considering the tone of the movie. This is not some Godzilla flick where people stand around and atomic bombs do nothing at all. If this type of event happened in real life, the only salvation for those who came in contact with it would be death.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
geo333Jan 18, 2016
Cloverfield is an entertaining found footage film that keeps the viewer interested all the way through. Add to it the mystery of the story that complements the dramatic theme in a perfect manner.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JamesP.Jan 17, 2008
An in-your-face thriller that takes no prisoners and spares no sentiment. Its use of hand helds, dialogue to camera and even the general storyline may not be original but it is effective. There won't be many better thrillers this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnV.Jan 18, 2008
Worth the money....ending suked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Jan 18, 2008
There's one thing about Cloverfield that is undeniably genius, whether you love it or hate it, think it's terrifying or ridiculous, cringe in fear or simply laugh out load, the thing is you are not watching it - you're right There's one thing about Cloverfield that is undeniably genius, whether you love it or hate it, think it's terrifying or ridiculous, cringe in fear or simply laugh out load, the thing is you are not watching it - you're right in the middle of it, and I, for one, bought into it hook, line and sinker! A great movie as intense and foreboding as 28 Days Later and more of the "you are here" feeling than Blair Witch, Cloverfield is a terrific start 2008 in movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshN.Jan 18, 2008
This movie was hysterical, intense, and even emotional. It's hard not to like it...definitely worth all the hype it's been getting
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurC.Jan 18, 2008
I had to check my calendar. Yep, it's January, and we've already got one of the best movies of the year. Why is it so good? Not only is it thrilling and at times scary, it is also an interesting character piece as well as I had to check my calendar. Yep, it's January, and we've already got one of the best movies of the year. Why is it so good? Not only is it thrilling and at times scary, it is also an interesting character piece as well as thoughtful movie. It truly feels like a tape that was discovered, thus may upset people since it doesn't follow standard movie formula movements. Nothing is explained, but then, why should it be? It's not about the monster, it's about people trying to survive a disaster. First rate all the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AncplAEHHcJan 18, 2008
Cloverfield was pretty good. the sound and picture was awesome, except when the screen shook a lot or it was tilted; this also gave a feeling that you were really there, so it was good and bad. i think the ending blew it though. itCloverfield was pretty good. the sound and picture was awesome, except when the screen shook a lot or it was tilted; this also gave a feeling that you were really there, so it was good and bad. i think the ending blew it though. it wasn't that but, . .. it's kind of like you wanted more. they could've explained it like "20 years later" or something like that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeN.Jan 18, 2008
I have a lot to say so I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MH.Jan 18, 2008
Great movie camera movements a little crappy at the start but a great idea with amazing special effects more like a ride at the amusement park or a video game some critics only like artsy stuff but if you like action jj abrums kicks ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
R.SmithJan 18, 2008
I thought the movie was very well done. It had stunning visuals and compelling character portrayal. The vantage point of the characters was fun to be in, and made you feel as if you were really with them. I thought the army scenes were I thought the movie was very well done. It had stunning visuals and compelling character portrayal. The vantage point of the characters was fun to be in, and made you feel as if you were really with them. I thought the army scenes were amazing, and the acting was surprisingly realistic and natural. I however did not like the bouncing motion of the camera...it made me queasy and gave me a headache. This would be an easy 9 or 10 if the ending hadn't of left you wondering why you went to see the show in the first place. I think Hollywood tries to be too artistic sometimes...just give us what we want...a real ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnH.Jan 18, 2008
The good: effects, sense of helplessness, one of the five actors and the world's toughest camcorder. The bad: four of the five actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisVJan 18, 2008
I saw this movie today and i thought it was ok.. i mean, the movie is like the blair witch encounters with godzilla (but the monster here is kinda, like whe say, chafa in spanish) but the movie is really good, entertaining at least for the 1 I saw this movie today and i thought it was ok.. i mean, the movie is like the blair witch encounters with godzilla (but the monster here is kinda, like whe say, chafa in spanish) but the movie is really good, entertaining at least for the 1 hour and 15 minutes duration of it... see it on digital screen on the theaters, it looks amazing... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnI.Jan 18, 2008
Best movie I've seen in years. It's not godzilla and go see it for yourself! It's action packed and one hell of a thrill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShelbyJ.Jan 18, 2008
It was really good and intense. it was scary in the sense that it was somewhat realistic. mainly because it was filmed in the first person by a main character and the fact that the actors werent well known. and because it was set inIt was really good and intense. it was scary in the sense that it was somewhat realistic. mainly because it was filmed in the first person by a main character and the fact that the actors werent well known. and because it was set in manhattan, a place that most people know of, rather than some random small town in texas that noone has heard of. compared to most horror and/or action films today, it was very well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NoahJan 18, 2008
Great monster, but the shaky camera ruined it. I understand that they were trying to make it look like it was shot on someone's home camera, but they couldn't ever keep the camera still for more than 2 seconds. I got motion Great monster, but the shaky camera ruined it. I understand that they were trying to make it look like it was shot on someone's home camera, but they couldn't ever keep the camera still for more than 2 seconds. I got motion sickness and had to spend about half of the movie listening with my eyes closed so that I wouldn't puke. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GalenM.Jan 18, 2008
I honestly believe reviewers bashin' this film are wayyy off the mark. Pretty plain and simple, this is a well-made movie and gives a shockingly new style to the genre. Short but sweet, it is pretty darned rough at points but never I honestly believe reviewers bashin' this film are wayyy off the mark. Pretty plain and simple, this is a well-made movie and gives a shockingly new style to the genre. Short but sweet, it is pretty darned rough at points but never quite "emotionally sadistic" as Salon.com ignorantly put it. I think the characters were quite sufficient given the context -- the first part I felt wasn't so much a failed attempt at character background but simply a setting of scene, effectively getting the audience ready for a complete shattering of the movie's simulated reality. It's scary and harsh alright but wicked if you have any clue as to what you're getting into. GO SEE IT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EricR.Jan 18, 2008
Some clunky dialogue aside I thought this was one of the better "monster movies" I have ever seen. Some people I was with complained of dizziness which I myself did not experience. A solid movie where blanks are left open for you to fill in, Some clunky dialogue aside I thought this was one of the better "monster movies" I have ever seen. Some people I was with complained of dizziness which I myself did not experience. A solid movie where blanks are left open for you to fill in, making it a better film IMHO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeteVSpeteJan 19, 2008
This movie made me feel something I have not felt in a long time. When all is said and done, and the credits roll, and the house lights come up, I honestly felt as if I had been in a car crash. That tingle, the fire rushing through your This movie made me feel something I have not felt in a long time. When all is said and done, and the credits roll, and the house lights come up, I honestly felt as if I had been in a car crash. That tingle, the fire rushing through your veins, I just survived a rabid giraffe attack feeling...Without giving anything away, I really believe the monster takes a back seat in this movie, and the spirit of human nature shines. My only complaint is this, don't sit too close to the screen. And by all means, for the sake of ambience and sound, see this film in the theater, don't wait for the DVD, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrankB.Jan 19, 2008
The concept was genius, but the production was unpolished at the editorial level. I went to see a monster flick and ended up walking out feeling seasick rather than feeling any sense of excitement at experiencing something amazing. I'll The concept was genius, but the production was unpolished at the editorial level. I went to see a monster flick and ended up walking out feeling seasick rather than feeling any sense of excitement at experiencing something amazing. I'll bet there are little kids puking outside theaters all across this country after seeing this movie. I had to close my eyes and just listen to large stretches. In retrospect, the latter was completely unneccessary, and could have been avoided with better editing (to cut down excessively long, and pointless as far as suspense and plot-line go, roller-coaster rides following the characters running up stairs, etc.). The movie also would have worked better with just one or two more elements of the "back story" (was the creature alien or deap sea?). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickA.Jan 19, 2008
Very original and daring, unlike anything i've seen before and so much better that i expected. the point of view is so restrictive and yet so effective, you can only expect to see what one person would have seen, and given the scale of Very original and daring, unlike anything i've seen before and so much better that i expected. the point of view is so restrictive and yet so effective, you can only expect to see what one person would have seen, and given the scale of the disaster it is only a very small fraction and yet more than enough to make for a truly engrossing and mindblowing experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DarenM.Jan 19, 2008
Simply put, Blair Witch videography meets War of the Worlds alien attack action. If you can handle the nausiating camera angles and swings and the rediculously stubborn characters which will cause you to curse at them for their stupidity, Simply put, Blair Witch videography meets War of the Worlds alien attack action. If you can handle the nausiating camera angles and swings and the rediculously stubborn characters which will cause you to curse at them for their stupidity, then this is a flick worth seeing simply for it's special effects and occasional creepy shock value. With little gore (PG13) but acceptable suspense, surprises and alien attacks, it does satisfy a bored movie goer. I would rate this "wait for the DVD" and then watch it at home in the dark with the audio turned way up. "We've got a bite!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveY.Jan 19, 2008
This movie would have been perfect if A: NORMAL CAMERA WORK AND B: DON'T END SO ABRUPTLY!!!! GIVE ME A LIL MORE INFO
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamYJan 19, 2008
Exciting, nonstop action!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ThisGuyJan 19, 2008
This is a fairly decent movie. I think that Abrams did a fantastic job making people feel right in the center of an actual monster attack (despite it not being a 3D movie). However, there is still not enough clarification to go with this This is a fairly decent movie. I think that Abrams did a fantastic job making people feel right in the center of an actual monster attack (despite it not being a 3D movie). However, there is still not enough clarification to go with this (even after watching it, you still don't know what the hell this monster is...) and some parts were a little dull (the opening scene was horrendously boring....). This could have been a great film, but it needed so much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
larrykJan 19, 2008
Seven of us saw this movie together. On Meta Critic's scale of 10, all seven of us gave the movie a 20!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelSJan 19, 2008
I loved the way the film was shot, which was very much like Blair Witch. Also as how you were kept guessing the whole way through. Even at the end, you were still left with questions. The monsters and it's "children" were creepy and I loved the way the film was shot, which was very much like Blair Witch. Also as how you were kept guessing the whole way through. Even at the end, you were still left with questions. The monsters and it's "children" were creepy and scary. I'd recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulKJan 19, 2008
My biggest complaint was the use of the handheld camera, which is central to the premise of the movie, but it gave me a massive headache about 2/3 of the way into the film. I was fearful of the portrayal of the monster(s), but it wasn't My biggest complaint was the use of the handheld camera, which is central to the premise of the movie, but it gave me a massive headache about 2/3 of the way into the film. I was fearful of the portrayal of the monster(s), but it wasn't cheesy or too in your face like war of the worlds, and signs, etc. The writers borrowed too much thematically from Aliens, and the ending was completely predictable given the premise, but if you're curious about this, it's worth seeing in the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanHJan 19, 2008
Fantastic Movie! I know we all have an opinion though I find it hard to understand what is not to like about this movie if you have any interest in this genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexRJan 19, 2008
The movie abused the camcorder first person view. It was great for a while but shakey cam was pretty annoying. The movie used some guy's stupid going away party as a plot device so that when the monsters came, they'd all be The movie abused the camcorder first person view. It was great for a while but shakey cam was pretty annoying. The movie used some guy's stupid going away party as a plot device so that when the monsters came, they'd all be together. The monster's origin wasn't even hinted at, leaving their existance and origin left COMPLETELY open for interpretation. I'm all for making the viewer think, but that was just lazy writing. The end, aka "Thanks for your money", tried to use "the camcorder as the storyteller" but completely failed. Massive disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlienGuyJan 19, 2008
Very good, fun film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaryH.Jan 19, 2008
Not many movies make me jump out of my seat but this one had me going. Love how it's a documentary of a group of friends during the monsters attack. At first I was a little disappointed at the ending, but then the thought of a sequal Not many movies make me jump out of my seat but this one had me going. Love how it's a documentary of a group of friends during the monsters attack. At first I was a little disappointed at the ending, but then the thought of a sequal made everything fine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisW.Jan 19, 2008
After reading some of these reviews, I have to wonder if they are actually seeing this movie in an actual movie theatre or on their Sony DVD player in their car? This movie was perfectly scarry. If you have ever seen any of the original After reading some of these reviews, I have to wonder if they are actually seeing this movie in an actual movie theatre or on their Sony DVD player in their car? This movie was perfectly scarry. If you have ever seen any of the original B-scarry movies in the fifties... this is an instant throwback to it. This is a must see movie for the sound alone. I was trembling the entire way through it. Loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful