User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 50
  2. Negative: 8 out of 50
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 26, 2013
    4
    This movie has some funny moments and plenty of good deaths but the writing really wasn't all that funny and there were a couple of characters that you wanted dead that didn't die. The film is certainly entertaining so I'd recommend watching it if there really is nothing else to watch but it's no gem.
  2. May 16, 2013
    7
    Both funny and scary, this was one of the first "horror" movies i've watched! I think the story is dumb... at the end the killed forgot why he was killing (No spoiler here)....May be that's why this movie is comedy as well... The characters are hilarious! So if you're wondering to watch it or not, let me say this if you're expecting some horror movie with deep story then Don't watch itBoth funny and scary, this was one of the first "horror" movies i've watched! I think the story is dumb... at the end the killed forgot why he was killing (No spoiler here)....May be that's why this movie is comedy as well... The characters are hilarious! So if you're wondering to watch it or not, let me say this if you're expecting some horror movie with deep story then Don't watch it if you're looking for a fun and exciting movie then this is your choice. I give it a 7/10, because it's one of my childhood classics and i believe it's a great movie for a party with friends. Otherwise i would give it a 6/10... Expand
  3. TonyB.
    Mar 16, 2004
    8
    Lot's of good fun. I was laughing quite a buit. same type of humor as Super Troopers. Not as funny, but same style. It's actually got a good bit of scare in it too...nothing real serious, but you'll jump every now and again.
  4. CameronS.
    Mar 3, 2004
    7
    A gross, gratuitous, schlocky juvenile romp of fun time. Broken Lizard's Club Dread places us at a campy island resort filled with laughs and violence. The movie is filled with tons of blood and boobs. Most guys that are easily unoffended will probably have a fun time. Taking the material too serious will make it a poor time. What you need to do is chill out to the tunes of Pina Coladaberg.
  5. D.C.
    Mar 4, 2004
    3
    Most of the time the jokes just aren't that funny. also, it's more of a horror film than the marketing lead me to believe.
  6. ED
    Mar 9, 2004
    4
    Severely disappointing. I can best compare this to Brooks' "Dracula: Dead and Loving It"- both films spent so much time telling the story, they forgot to make it funny. Don't get me wrong, this films does have its moments (the hedge maze, for instance, is one of the funnier gags I've witnessed), but not nearly enough to warrent an hour and a half of my time. Those looking Severely disappointing. I can best compare this to Brooks' "Dracula: Dead and Loving It"- both films spent so much time telling the story, they forgot to make it funny. Don't get me wrong, this films does have its moments (the hedge maze, for instance, is one of the funnier gags I've witnessed), but not nearly enough to warrent an hour and a half of my time. Those looking for the chemistry between characters that made Super Troopers such a joy will have to dig deep and still come up empty. Untimately, the film as a parody to slasher pics pays a tribute to the genre more effectively than it intended- it is as tedious as any Friday the 13th sequel and just as boring. Collapse
  7. Moggmoggystyle
    Feb 26, 2004
    7
    Funny film. not as good as super troopers but quality. its a little long, but it makes great use of the mangina.
  8. ChanB.
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    So FUNNYY. This and Super Troopers are my top 2 movies.
  9. MarkB.
    May 16, 2004
    2
    Broken Lizard seems to specialize in making uncalled-for parodies of moribund 1980s movie genres that aren't exactly aching for callbacks. Super Troopers was a fitfully funny, successfully stupid pothead gloss on the Police Academy movie series. This one, however, fails on just about every level. Not only have Wes Craven, the Wayans brothers and David Zucker pretty much squeezed Broken Lizard seems to specialize in making uncalled-for parodies of moribund 1980s movie genres that aren't exactly aching for callbacks. Super Troopers was a fitfully funny, successfully stupid pothead gloss on the Police Academy movie series. This one, however, fails on just about every level. Not only have Wes Craven, the Wayans brothers and David Zucker pretty much squeezed every drop of blood out of the slasher-spoof concept, but Club Dread commits the unforgivable sin of movie parody: it eventually becomes the exact same thing it's satirizing! To add insult to injury, the brilliant 1950s bad-sci-fi spoof The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra, which almost completely reinvents the movie-parody genre and was released at virtually the same time, makes this mess look even more like a total failure than it already is. I guess Broken Lizard can go for lambada movies as their next target. Expand
  10. MichaelC.
    Jun 9, 2004
    3
    What the f..k happened here!?!? I loved 'Super Troopers' when it came out! I mean I really loved it! I was waiting for a comedy like that one for a long time. So you can imagine my shock when seeing this one! It's pretty pathetic when you get not even 5 minutes of laughs for a 97 minute movie. As much as I hate it when people say stuff like this...Broken Lizard, go make What the f..k happened here!?!? I loved 'Super Troopers' when it came out! I mean I really loved it! I was waiting for a comedy like that one for a long time. So you can imagine my shock when seeing this one! It's pretty pathetic when you get not even 5 minutes of laughs for a 97 minute movie. As much as I hate it when people say stuff like this...Broken Lizard, go make Super Troopers 2 or something. Expand
  11. Z
    Feb 28, 2004
    4
    On it's own, this movie might be kinda funny. Not hysterical but it has its moments. Compared to Super Troopers, this movie is a piece of poop. Big, stinky, not funny poop.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28
  1. 70
    With "Super Troopers" and Club Dread, Broken Lizard has cranked out two genuinely funny movies in a row.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    70
    The group has a distinctive deadpan style; after you get on their wavelength, it's impossible to quit chuckling.
  3. A few gags are brilliantly staged, but most have a smug, collegiate take-it-or-leave-it quality that makes full-on belly laughter feel optional.