Coherence

Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Oct 25, 2015
    60
    Byrkit’s parable about choices and how they make us who we are has an eerie potency.
  2. Reviewed by: Patrick Gamble
    Feb 18, 2015
    60
    Coherence is a debut of tremendous ambition and potential, yet sadly, despite some genuine moments of tension, the film ironically makes too many wrong turns and its convoluted themes fail to coalesce on a human level, tempering the initial intrigue and culminating in a plaintive sense of admiration, rather than enraptured adulation.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Feb 18, 2015
    60
    Its success may depend on how alert you’re feeling, but for once you can’t complain that a movie hasn’t given your synapses a thorough workout.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 19, 2014
    60
    Byrkit and his actors successfully build a sense of tension, and then dread, from what appears to be an extremely limited budget. Indeed, the movie was shot primarily in his own living room.
  5. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jun 17, 2014
    60
    For a sci-fi indie of vast ambition but limited means, Coherence does a sterling job with coherence.
  6. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jun 18, 2014
    58
    It feels like this is a short film idea stretched to feature length, and the padding doesn't work.
  7. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 19, 2014
    50
    At some point, though, Mr. Byrkit turns one too many corners (characters, meanwhile, begin bustling in and out of rooms like Marx Brothers extras), and what began as a nifty puzzle feels more like a trap.
  8. 50
    The one thing Coherence needs most is that word that gives it its title.
  9. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 25, 2014
    40
    Coherence devolves into a noisy, cluttered portrait of dysfunction, all clenched fists and shouted expletives. The twists may be novel, but the talk, and the upshot, are all too dispiritingly familiar.
  10. Reviewed by: Michael Atkinson
    Jun 17, 2014
    40
    The Rod Serling tension Byrkit is angling for never quite arrives, nor does any real Borgesian frisson. But thanks to its social setting, it does offer a vivid and perhaps intentional satirical portrait of L.A. culture.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    Schrödinger's Cat: The Movie

    Zero FX Magic Coherence is a rare treat in a world with so much bad sci-fi in theatres and on television
    Schrödinger's Cat: The Movie

    Zero FX Magic

    Coherence is a rare treat in a world with so much bad sci-fi in theatres and on television (the current syfy line-up comes to mind).

    It's really good, complex, sci-fi that never bogs down in explication. It also doesn't rely on special effects to sell its central concept.

    The cast is believable and the narrative weaves its way deftly through the characters, very average, lives.

    Buy It at Amazon now - thank me later.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2015
    8
    This is a legitimately good, intelligent sci-fi film. it doesn't try be "pretend sc-fi" by using cgi, futuristic technology, and otherThis is a legitimately good, intelligent sci-fi film. it doesn't try be "pretend sc-fi" by using cgi, futuristic technology, and other gimmicks. Instead, it takes a very unique idea grounded in some science and revolves the whole film around it.

    Despite having low production values and relatively unknown actors, the film has very good writing and acting. The chemistry between the actors was very good, and their dialogue was some of the best and most believable I've seen on film. I never felt bored watching this film, despite most of it taking place in a house and showing people talking. This is the real testament to quality writing.

    This film will surprise you, and engage your mind in trying to understand what exactly is happening. My only real complaint, and the reason I couldn't give this a 9 or a 10, is because at the end the protagonist acts contrary to her character.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    8
    This was an unexpected surprise, as I knew absolutely nothing about it going in. It was recommended to me by a friend who's also a big horrorThis was an unexpected surprise, as I knew absolutely nothing about it going in. It was recommended to me by a friend who's also a big horror fan and I'm glad I listened to him! So much was done here with such a small budget. I watched it with two others and we were all silent and gripped throughout, yet couldn't stop talking about it afterwards.

    To even say that it's a sci-fi movie is somewhat a spoiler, but unavoidable. It's best to go in knowing as little as possible. One of the most enjoyable and refreshing sci-fi movies I've seen in some time and one that managed to build up quite the sense of dread towards the end. It'll have you trying to guess what's going to happen next, all while doubting everything that you've seen on screen.

    An under-rated little gem of a film.
    Full Review »