Miramax Films | Release Date: December 25, 2003
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 279 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
135
Mixed:
23
Negative:
121
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JanetCDec 22, 2008
I fail utterly to understand WHY people hate this film. I study literature, for God's sake, I would have noticed if the script had been dire, which it is NOT. If you think Zellweger was hammy, you don't know ham. The ONLY problem I fail utterly to understand WHY people hate this film. I study literature, for God's sake, I would have noticed if the script had been dire, which it is NOT. If you think Zellweger was hammy, you don't know ham. The ONLY problem with this film is that Jude Law and Nicole Kidman have dodgy accents, but they could have been a lot worse. Chemistry was good, soundtrack was great. What did you expect? Am so glad the critics agree with me on this one - it's a smashing film! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
InfamousPrinceJan 7, 2011
You can talk about this movie whatever you want, but it will not change the fact that it is excellent. The cast is fantastic, just like the story. If you look at other films that came out that year, and see that half of them are really bad,You can talk about this movie whatever you want, but it will not change the fact that it is excellent. The cast is fantastic, just like the story. If you look at other films that came out that year, and see that half of them are really bad, this movie is fantastic. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
PhabtarOct 18, 2010
I liked this movie. It maybe the sweet appearance of Nicole Kidman, Or the extremely good cast. Strange to see Renee Zellweger in that kind of Role. I don't get why people hate this movie this much. It's well structured at best. I mean II liked this movie. It maybe the sweet appearance of Nicole Kidman, Or the extremely good cast. Strange to see Renee Zellweger in that kind of Role. I don't get why people hate this movie this much. It's well structured at best. I mean I can't see anything wrong with it. I guess you couldn't outright say this is one of the best. But still It's a solid piece of work. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
Absolutely flawless. Anthony Minghella's finest work. Cold Mountain is an often grim look at romance during the Civil War. Rarely does a proper romance fulfill our needs for emotion, excitement and comic relief.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
DarcyR.Jul 3, 2006
An anti-war movie. Not really. A love story - doesn't really pull that off either. Tragedy - should be, but the heartache does not come over. Could have been made into a good comedy - with the right script So what is it - Oscar fodder - An anti-war movie. Not really. A love story - doesn't really pull that off either. Tragedy - should be, but the heartache does not come over. Could have been made into a good comedy - with the right script So what is it - Oscar fodder - as someone else remarked. Too long. Too predictable and in some ways too twee. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
ShannonP.Jan 18, 2004
For all its flaws, the movie does at least effectively demonstrate how ?average? men are so easily exploited and used by war. It also demonstrates how easily morality can be turned upside down in times of war by those leaders who leave the For all its flaws, the movie does at least effectively demonstrate how ?average? men are so easily exploited and used by war. It also demonstrates how easily morality can be turned upside down in times of war by those leaders who leave the fighting to someone else and personally risk nothing. In the Cold Mountain, men who don?t believe enough in the cause to fight in the war garner power and stature by punishing ?deserters? who don?t believe enough in the cause to fight in the war. In a time when Americans leaders have effectively sold the ?average? man on the idea of giving up freedoms to the government so it can protect his freedoms?this type of "message" about war might be timely. At the same time, much of the acting in this move is astonishingly bad. Renee Z?s accolades from Chicago gave her enough self-confidence to go way over the top this time around, and enough stature to prevent anyone from trying to save her from herself. She makes Jack Lemon seem subtle. This is truly horrible: grotesque. Its like something you would have expected for comic relief on Bonanza when Hoss was on vacation. Once Renee Z makes her entrance, you just can?t continue to take the story seriously. It is also note worthy that although this is a film about a war that was principally about slavery?the issue of slavery is virtually absent from the film. There are no substantive scenes involving black actors or actresses. While we learn a great deal about the suffering of southern whites, the plight of blacks is touched upon only incidentally. In one of the film?s more bizarre scenes, Nicole Kidman?s character explains that she is planning on ?taking some Root Beer to the Negroes.? However, it starts raining, so she sends a surrogate with the refreshments. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RodericRAug 17, 2009
You are without a doubt, the worst movie I have ever seen. TERRIBAD doesn't begin to describe this steaming pile of crap. It is epic all right, too bad it is epic bad. It may have deserved a 1 instead of a 0 due to the historical You are without a doubt, the worst movie I have ever seen. TERRIBAD doesn't begin to describe this steaming pile of crap. It is epic all right, too bad it is epic bad. It may have deserved a 1 instead of a 0 due to the historical scenes, and I will probably use them as documentary-type footage in my 6th grade social studies class. However, the movie itself was so ungodly terrible, its worth a negative score. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
BinkiJun 26, 2011
So so so so bad. I nearly slept for two hours. Incredibly boring. Hopefully I didn't pay to see it. A good advice : DO NEVER WATCH THIS MOVIE (except if you want to lose 2hours of your life)
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
WilliamB.Jun 23, 2007
Great plot, acting, photography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlennM.Sep 1, 2005
Wow i cant believe the bad user reviews. awsome supporting roles by natalie portman and jack white, jude law was good too but the writing is kind of bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianoC.May 15, 2006
Pretty interesting adaptation of the Charles Frazier book; Minghella changed some events and still maintained the quiet sadness of the book. After reading it, the movie looks even better, as does the acting of the main trio. Jude Law gives Pretty interesting adaptation of the Charles Frazier book; Minghella changed some events and still maintained the quiet sadness of the book. After reading it, the movie looks even better, as does the acting of the main trio. Jude Law gives perhaps his finest performance, Nicole Kidman gives every word she says a note of slight disappointment mixed with hope, and Renée Zellweger is as fine as she's been in the past. One of the best war movies of the past few years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FivosB.Sep 10, 2006
Great cinematography, brilliant performances from the supporting actors but I have seen far better performances by Nicole Kidman and Jude Law. Not to mention that the chemistry between them isn't that good. In fact it fully justifies Great cinematography, brilliant performances from the supporting actors but I have seen far better performances by Nicole Kidman and Jude Law. Not to mention that the chemistry between them isn't that good. In fact it fully justifies the title of the movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JosieS.Jun 4, 2007
Great film, beautiful adaption of the wonderful book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
smijatovJun 10, 2012
This is one of my favourite novel-to-film 'epics'. Minghella manages, just like he did with the "English Patient" to create an engaging, interesting and inspiring feature. Truth be told, it is a bit long, and that could have potentially beThis is one of my favourite novel-to-film 'epics'. Minghella manages, just like he did with the "English Patient" to create an engaging, interesting and inspiring feature. Truth be told, it is a bit long, and that could have potentially be changed, but Minghella stayed true to the novel, which is rather important in adaptations, so I didn't mind that too much. Beautiful cinematography and very good editing, along with great costume design and production design make this a technically greatly done film. The musical score is one of my favourite soundtracks of all time, with excellent Oscar nominated songs by Alison Krauss. The cast has gotten a lot of critical acclaim for this, but seems a lot of the audience had a problem with Zellweger and Kidman. I must say I thought they were both excellent, though vastly different roles - which is also what emphasised their uniqueness. Zellweger is just stunning and truthfully portrays the tomboy that Ruby is, and does it with flare and charm. Kidman was not miscast, unlike many state, simply because that is what the character in the novel was like in both age and behaviour. A coy, weak woman in her early 30s sheltered by her overly-protective father, and having the face real-world problems after a lifetime on unpreparedness. Law is also very good, as are the supporting actresses and actors, making this one of the best casts of the year. Overall, "Cold Mountain" has very few things wrong with it - actually, I cannot think of any straightout. Of course, it could have been shorter, and it could have clicked a bit better with me on some points, but overall it is a good, strong epic, technically superb and with a strong, A-calibre cast to boast. Very good! 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleNov 2, 2016
A beautifully sweeping epic, Cold Mountain is a true accomplishment from director Anthony Minghella. In watching this, it becomes all the more tragic that he died about eight years ago with Cold Mountain being one of his final directorialA beautifully sweeping epic, Cold Mountain is a true accomplishment from director Anthony Minghella. In watching this, it becomes all the more tragic that he died about eight years ago with Cold Mountain being one of his final directorial works. At least, in his wake, we are still able to cherish this visual beauty. However, the brilliance of Cold Mountain is not just skin deep, as its epic sweep all encompasses a tremendous romance amidst the Civil War and, in this, the film also discusses the impact of the war on the South and the loss suffered by those at home. Plus, though not strictly a war film (it is, but it is not the film's main focus), Cold Mountain also offers brilliant battle sequences to go along with every other positive offered by the film.

Cold Mountain is a film some have compared to Homer's the Odyssey in structure. This is certainly fair as the film tells the story of W.P. Inman (Jude Law) and his journey to return home to Ada Monroe (Nicole Kidman) during the Civil War. Suffering injuries, escaping those who will capture deserters, and crossing paths with a collection of individuals, Inman's journey is long and arduous. Among the tremendous cast that cross paths with Inman and Ada include Renee Zellweger, Eileen Atkins, Kathy Baker, Brendan Gleeson, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Charlie Hunnam, Natalie Portman, Giovanni Ribisi, Donald Sutherland, Cillian Murphy, Jack White, Ray Winstone, Taryn Manning, Emily Deschanel, and Jena Malone. Essentially, this cast is stacked. Every supporting character is played by somebody who eventually blew up, was a veteran actor, or was a relatively fresh face in acting. How they managed to get such a good cast together is mind blowing.

The film's main focus - the romance between Inman and Ada - is tremendously written by Minghella. Each line is precise and chosen well. The end result is a romance that, though the characters rarely share the screen with one another, is incredibly well-crafted and realistic. Though they barely know one another, their connection to one another is beautifully brought to life through the words of Minghella that breathes air into the lungs of the film. Even when things slow down (and they do slow down) and the film drags, the romance here keeps the film chugging along and taking on all challengers.

Visually, the film is stunning. From shots, such as Inman staggering to Ada alongside two towering snow-covered rocks, to the battle sequences, the cinematography of this film is terrific. The best part here is the framing, especially in that aforementioned shot. The result of shots such as this is a film that feels as poetic visually as it is verbally. Minghella clearly expended a lot of time focusing on his word choice in writing this film and it shows in the sweeping, verbose communication in the film. However, the visuals are the same way. The film's shots match its beauty step-for-step and often exceed it with a willingness to just slow things down and let the odd, romantic beauty of the war in the South soak in for the audience.

The battle sequences express this same beauty, especially the opening one when the Union bombs the Confederacy. The billowing tower of smoke and fire, as well as the ensuing battle that occurs in a cloud of dust and blood is pure eye candy. Minghella's camera lingers in this sequence quite often, offering a sort of juxtaposition between the beauty of the shot and the brutality of the war. Nobody was spared in battle and, as a result, nobody was spared at home. In this film, Minghella does not waste any violence. Though often brutal, his film is about bringing to light the suffering of those in war and those at home. Given that many war films focus solely on those in battle, this is a breathe of fresh air for the genre. In this goal, Cold Mountain is entirely successful, particularly in the sequence with Sara (Portman). A single mother with a baby who briefly takes in Inman on his journey home, she asks Inman to simply lay next to her in bed where she begins openly weeping. The specific pain and suffering experienced by those at home is obviously spoken about openly in the film, but never described verbally. Rather, it is always told visually with one slight written hints. This is one of the greatest accomplishments of the film, as it manages to delve in this often overlooked topic and offer great insight, without having to stand by and attempt to explain the pain. Instead, it makes it more realistic and intimate by simply showing it to you.

A brutal, beautiful, and truly sweeping epic, Anthony Minghella's Cold Mountain covers the Civil War like few films before it had. Covering battle, romance, and the life of those in South, the film plays no favorites, shows the good and bad of both sides, and covers its topics with grace and ease.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kublay0880Jan 2, 2013
The director manages to create a very realistic atmosphere throughout the movie, the cast was excellent and so was the music, I don't understand how can someone say that this is not a love story, you can see it right from the beginning. GreatThe director manages to create a very realistic atmosphere throughout the movie, the cast was excellent and so was the music, I don't understand how can someone say that this is not a love story, you can see it right from the beginning. Great performances from most of the actors on the movie.This is a must for your movie collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews