User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 259 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JanetC
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    I fail utterly to understand WHY people hate this film. I study literature, for God's sake, I would have noticed if the script had been dire, which it is NOT. If you think Zellweger was hammy, you don't know ham. The ONLY problem with this film is that Jude Law and Nicole Kidman have dodgy accents, but they could have been a lot worse. Chemistry was good, soundtrack was great. I fail utterly to understand WHY people hate this film. I study literature, for God's sake, I would have noticed if the script had been dire, which it is NOT. If you think Zellweger was hammy, you don't know ham. The ONLY problem with this film is that Jude Law and Nicole Kidman have dodgy accents, but they could have been a lot worse. Chemistry was good, soundtrack was great. What did you expect? Am so glad the critics agree with me on this one - it's a smashing film! Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    You can talk about this movie whatever you want, but it will not change the fact that it is excellent. The cast is fantastic, just like the story. If you look at other films that came out that year, and see that half of them are really bad, this movie is fantastic.
  3. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    Absolutely flawless. Anthony Minghella's finest work. Cold Mountain is an often grim look at romance during the Civil War. Rarely does a proper romance fulfill our needs for emotion, excitement and comic relief.
  4. MikiF.
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    I thought it was a masterpiece.
  5. WilliamB.
    Jun 23, 2007
    9
    Great plot, acting, photography.
  6. Jemima
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    Perfect.
  7. CasT.
    Dec 30, 2003
    9
    Not a perfect movie but damn great. Renee stole the movie, people were actually clapping when she came on screen (they must have read the book.) She was funny and real and she gave a great performance. She is the frontrunner for the Best Supporting Actress Oscar. Jude Law was terrific, very restrained, very internal performance that worked with this character. He is a true movie star but Not a perfect movie but damn great. Renee stole the movie, people were actually clapping when she came on screen (they must have read the book.) She was funny and real and she gave a great performance. She is the frontrunner for the Best Supporting Actress Oscar. Jude Law was terrific, very restrained, very internal performance that worked with this character. He is a true movie star but he hid this with just being able to take in all his surroundings (and all-star supporting cast.) He definately is the backbone of this movie. And finally Nicole. Once again she proves her range. There have been alot of critics of her performance and accent but I think she was exceptional. You cared for her character, you wanted her to meet back up with Inman and you believed every hardship scene that she was in. A great performance and she will be nominated for a staggering third consecutive oscar nomintation. A great film. Expand
  8. PeterD.
    Jan 1, 2004
    10
    I'll be very surprised if this doesn't sweep the Oscars and it deserves every award that comes its way.
  9. Alison
    Jan 18, 2004
    10
    Simply amazing. Perfectly paced and well acted. I was surprised by how engrossing this movie was.
  10. NickN.
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    Extremely pleasantly surprised by it. Don't judge a book by its cover folks.
  11. JawadS.
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    I saw this movie without reading the book and it left me confused and cold. But I went to it again because I kept thinking and thinking about it. The second time, I loved it. One of my favorite movies of all time now. Since then, I've seen it another 2 times and intend to read the book. This movie is one where you NEED to give it a chance, if you don't you're losing out.
  12. KateK.
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    I've seen it twice now. I saw it the first time, and ddin't like it too much, thought it moved too fast, but now I've seen a second time, I think it's paced just perfectly! This is a perfect film.
  13. BobH.
    Jan 30, 2004
    9
    Deep, gorgeous, funny, not the usual BS. The reader's opinions here are way out of synch with the quality of the movie. Read the denby or hunter review. Those are usually TOUGH critics to please.
  14. VanL.
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    This is as good as it gets. It has everything from romance to war to action. A beautiful masterpiece.
  15. CathyL.
    Jan 8, 2004
    10
    Oscar-worthy. You'll laugh, you'll cry, and you will fall in love with the characters. Superb cameos and gorgeous filmmaking.
  16. JoeB.
    Jan 9, 2004
    10
    Ouch, so many 0's. But I'm surprised because I've seen this film a couple of times and always it's a packed house. It must be getting great WOM and deservedly so. It's brilliant.
  17. AndrewK.
    Jan 9, 2004
    10
    My wife and I saw this last weekend, and she and I both loved it. A beautiful film, she said she's going to read the novel now. I'd definitely recommend it to others.
  18. ToshT.
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    With few words... simply a great movie...
  19. BraeG.
    May 15, 2004
    10
    I simply loved this movie. I think Nicole Kidman was stunning and wonderful as always. Jude Law was fantastic and deserved the oscar nomination he received. The chemistry between them was romantic and had me wishing that the movie writers might change the tragic end. Oh well! Thank you Jude and Nicole for making these characters come alive out of one of my favorite books of all time.
  20. GlennM.
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Wow i cant believe the bad user reviews. awsome supporting roles by natalie portman and jack white, jude law was good too but the writing is kind of bad.
  21. DavidC.
    Dec 13, 2003
    9
    "Cold Mountain" is the kind of film which often wins Best Picture at the Oscars, which isn't entirely a compliment, but it's strong anti-war bent may make it just controversial enough to send the Academy in another direction. Too bad. Though the picture takes a while to build momentum -- despite the horrific Petersburg sequence -- but becomes an engrossing, moving haunting love "Cold Mountain" is the kind of film which often wins Best Picture at the Oscars, which isn't entirely a compliment, but it's strong anti-war bent may make it just controversial enough to send the Academy in another direction. Too bad. Though the picture takes a while to build momentum -- despite the horrific Petersburg sequence -- but becomes an engrossing, moving haunting love story. The acting is consistently excellent, good enough to forgive the occasional wobbly accent. The supporting cast, especially Kathy Baker, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Natalie Portman, are terrific, and Renee Zellweger nearly walks off the movie, turning in one of the most enjoyable performances of the year. (She has one of the funniest lines in any movie in a long time, comedy or drama.) But the quiet passion of Nicole Kidman and Jude Law anchor the film and hold it together. The film cheats a little on its politics (it's conveniently PC that neither the hero or the heroine is pro-slavery) and it will be interesting to see how the anti-war themes resonate with the public mood. But once the politics fade, as they always do, I think this film stand the test of time. I recommend it highly. Expand
  22. JoshT.
    Dec 23, 2003
    9
    I thought this film was beautifully made. I do agree, however, there was very little chemistry between Kidman and Law. I very much enjoyed this iflm.
  23. KatieP.
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    I really liked it. Very graphic though, you should be warned. But an excellent movie.
  24. JonS.
    Dec 29, 2003
    9
    Wow!!! A seamless union of a chick flick with an action movie. I was impressed.
  25. SuL.
    Jan 11, 2004
    10
    A must see! I'm reading the book now.
  26. TinaS.
    Jan 1, 2004
    10
    Wonderful! Old fashioned film making at its best!
  27. RobertR.
    Jan 16, 2004
    10
    One of the year's best films! A riveting, rapturous love story set against the backdrop of the Civil War. Renee Zellweger, Nicole Kidman, and Natalie Portman (who completely redeems herself after those garbage Star Wars flicks) are standouts in an unbeatable ensemble cast.
  28. LizA.
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    This is a thoughtful movie about the effects of war on those who fight in it and those who wait at home. All actors shine in this captivating story.
  29. IlzeS
    Dec 1, 2004
    9
    It?s a great movie! My friends and I liked it too. I think Renee Zellweger is better in this movie than Nicole Kidman. A really true love story, it makes me cry! I like it better than ?Gone With the Wind?. Really want to read a book ?The Cold Mountain?. (By Charles Frazier).
  30. KelR.
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    I loved it, a cenematic masterpiece. If you have ever been in love than I think you'll like this movie!
  31. LeighC.
    Jan 8, 2004
    10
    Simply magnificent! This is NO Gone with the Wind, and I mean that in a good way. I love the other film, but it's a little outdated and this one, really captures the mood and lifestyle of the south during the Civil War. Brilliant.
  32. FredM.
    Feb 10, 2004
    10
    The odyssey of a deserter confederate soldier through the war-ravaged South as he tries to return to the imperiled beloved he hardly knew, is a moving protrait blending rapture and brutality. With flawless performances, majestic photography, at times hyper realistic, the film captures the many nuances of the story revealing the consequences of war and its effects on the heroic, romantic, The odyssey of a deserter confederate soldier through the war-ravaged South as he tries to return to the imperiled beloved he hardly knew, is a moving protrait blending rapture and brutality. With flawless performances, majestic photography, at times hyper realistic, the film captures the many nuances of the story revealing the consequences of war and its effects on the heroic, romantic, and the predatory aspects of human nature. This is a timeless movie and it will certainly be considered a classic in the future. Expand
  33. DeloresH.
    Feb 15, 2004
    10
    THE film of 2004. It's a shame this fim wasn't nominated for a Best Picture Oscar.
  34. Jasononline
    Feb 22, 2004
    10
    I'm totally shocked that this film is rated as 3.5 out of 10 by the metacritics.com users. is that a joke? cold mountain is definitely the most powerful and poignant film of 2003. anthony minghella did it again!
  35. JoeR.
    Jun 4, 2004
    9
    What in the world are you people talking about? I'm not a Minghella fan; in fact, I don't usually like Kidman or Law, and I was set to hate this movie just for all the Brits, etc. playing the Civil War. But this is a beautiful film. Beautiful mise-en-scene. Beautiful shots. Beautiful cinematography. A heart-breaking, haunting story (and keeping the two lovers apart is what What in the world are you people talking about? I'm not a Minghella fan; in fact, I don't usually like Kidman or Law, and I was set to hate this movie just for all the Brits, etc. playing the Civil War. But this is a beautiful film. Beautiful mise-en-scene. Beautiful shots. Beautiful cinematography. A heart-breaking, haunting story (and keeping the two lovers apart is what it's all about, despite everyone's complaints). And great music. It's the kind of film that gets into your soul and stays there for awhile. Not exactly the visual images, just the whole atmosphere. My only complaint that all Minghella's love scenes are semi-pornographic, especially the scene with the trickster and his many wives/whores/sisters--or whatever that was about. I'm sorry I didn't see this movie sooner. I'm thankful for second-run cinemas, because I wouldn't want to see it on video for the first time. Expand
  36. JorgeC.
    Jul 24, 2004
    10
    This movie was fokin great !!!!!
  37. D.Thomas
    Jul 9, 2004
    10
    The best part by far was the bit where Inman meets the old woman with the goat. She was such a good actress. Also Natalie Portmans bit was powerful. Kathy Baker, you are the most underrated actress ever.
  38. AndrewG.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    Great movie! Epic battles mixed in with gorgeous landscapes. Wonderful music portraying the times.
  39. KioF.
    May 4, 2005
    10
    This is a brilliant film. Kidman gives a better performance than Brando in The Godfather.
  40. AdrianoC.
    May 15, 2006
    10
    Pretty interesting adaptation of the Charles Frazier book; Minghella changed some events and still maintained the quiet sadness of the book. After reading it, the movie looks even better, as does the acting of the main trio. Jude Law gives perhaps his finest performance, Nicole Kidman gives every word she says a note of slight disappointment mixed with hope, and Renée Zellweger is Pretty interesting adaptation of the Charles Frazier book; Minghella changed some events and still maintained the quiet sadness of the book. After reading it, the movie looks even better, as does the acting of the main trio. Jude Law gives perhaps his finest performance, Nicole Kidman gives every word she says a note of slight disappointment mixed with hope, and Renée Zellweger is as fine as she's been in the past. One of the best war movies of the past few years. Expand
  41. JosieS.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    Great film, beautiful adaption of the wonderful book.
  42. MarkoS.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    OMG! This was absolutely beautiful!
  43. GaryJ.
    Dec 25, 2003
    9
    Very beautifully filmed. Quite a few times, heart-rendering. 1 point off for Ms. Kidman's accent though... Excellent film.
  44. TinaL.
    Jan 16, 2004
    10
    My favorite film of the year. I've seen it a couple of times, and it's always packed with people. I definitely recommend this to others.
  45. Kallie
    Jan 16, 2004
    10
    This film kicks some serious ass. Forget LOTR and Star Wars... In Cold Mountain, the actors actually act. Brilliant movie and is up there with the best.
  46. BobB.
    Jan 18, 2004
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever seen.
  47. MitchC.
    Dec 14, 2003
    9
    Divine!
  48. Cheepgrapane
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    Yes it is long .but i think it is one of the greatest epics of the year. and i know that renee will get an oscar for her performance.
  49. [Anonymous]
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    The best movie of 2003. The three leads all deserve oscars for this epic of grand proportions. Stunning.
  50. JoshC.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Amazing film, I thought I'd dislike it through and through. But I was very surprised, I actually went out and bought the novel the day after I caught a screening. It won't win Best Picture but should be nominated, along with Law, Kidman, Zellweger and a very impressive Gleeson.
  51. LizT.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    Left me astonished long into the night!
  52. SerenaL.
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    This film is just so fantastic. The audience I saw it with were amazed. Nobody moved or left the theater until the credits rolled, the music stopped and the lights came on. This will stay with me for a long long time. Need to pick up the novel and I highly recommend this to everyone.
  53. LarryS.
    Dec 25, 2003
    9
    An outstanding movie! Rene Zellweger is superb (sure to be nominated for best supporting actress), as is Nicole Kidman and Jude Law, along with a strong supporting cast. Cinematography is impressive A must see movie. Please do yourself a favour and ignore those who rated the movie so very low. They probably really enjoyed Gigli and gave it a 10!
  54. SimonL.
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    Nothing short of a masterpiece! I'll be seeing this again soon, as it's too much to take in on one go. Anyone who didn't like it should see it again.
  55. SallyL.
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    I had very low expectations coming into this film, but wow was I blown away. I love, love, love this film.
  56. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    The director manages to create a very realistic atmosphere throughout the movie, the cast was excellent and so was the music, I don't understand how can someone say that this is not a love story, you can see it right from the beginning. Great performances from most of the actors on the movie.This is a must for your movie collection.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. A somber, often downbeat depiction of human savagery and treachery as well as of human kindness. Writer-director Anthony Minghella has meticulously crafted an intimate epic.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    As he did in “The English Patient,” Minghella artfully weds movie-movie romanticism with a dark historical vision. The man knows how to cast a spell.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A grim picaresque odyssey across a beautiful scarred landscape laced together by private romantic longing. Handsomely made and vividly acted.