User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 28, 2013
    7
    Cold Weather is a fairly enjoyable movie. It certainly is not a film for everyone largely due to it's slow pace and very indie feel. It really doesn't pick up till about 40 min into the film but by that point you realize that the film has managed to get you so invested in the characters you are stuck with it until it finishes. The largest problem you will have as a watcher is staying with the film and if you make it to the 40 minute mark you should be hooked. There are notable problems with the film such as the fact that there are many shots that seem forceably stretched out just so that the film reaches the length of 1 hour and 30 minutes. I must admit that I really struggled between giving this film a 6 or a 7 (I would have given it a 6.5 if possible) but decided to go more towards the high side and give it a 7. Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    0
    Very easy, read "RobinsNest"'s review. At least he/she has the sense to stop watching. If the ultimate point of sitting down to watch a movie/film is to be entertained, this one falls quite a bit short. Still can't believe the DVD cover has a (professional?) critic quoted as saying something to the effect of "I don't believe a better American film will be made this year." Ummm, what?!
  3. May 10, 2012
    0
    Why does a movie have an "indie feel'? maybe that means it is a boring, uninteresting movie. Which this is. The first 30 minutes or so nothing happens. There are long shots of people sitting in a restaurant, eating dinner, standing on a bridge, walking, little or no dialogue. Nothing happens. Little background on the characters. Someone pops in , pops out, no rhyme, no reason, no interest. Then a mystery starts, I guess. A woman is missing. Well, she is not in her room, the guys rent a room, the phone rings, he doesn't answer, the other guy barges in, they drive, a postcard, the pencil and pad trick, on and on, boring, slow, dull!!!! Had to stop watching. Couldn't waste any more tine. A complete failure. Maybe an "indie feel" is when the filmmaker tries to make it look like real life. Then boundless praise is heaped on him for a "real, gritty film"; it makes all the film festivals, it's a winner. Why? Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    i enjoyed this movie, manly because of its tone and atmosphere. it felt very organic. the dialogue, the characters, what they did and how they acted just felt real like these people actually exist .im not sure what is was that made me think this, it could have been the directing (but i havnt seen anything else from this director), or the acting (same thing, new actors for me) or the writing (same as the other two). the story itself is so-so. the first half is good, you learn about the characters and all that good stuff but i lost some interest in the end part of the second half. the movie as a whole is good, its very "subtle", not much happens and when things do happen in the 2nd half its very played downed (not huge car chase, or people shooting guns or anything like that). i wouldnt recommend this to everyone, it will appeal to some people and not others. i liked it (if thats worth anything) Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2011
    5
    A great indie feel and trust me I love indie. However, the basic plot of a real life "cool" Sherlock Holmes novel is just completely stupid. As long and drawn out as the story might be. Unlike classics like "A Clockwork Orange" this story never and I repeat NEVER pays off.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 31, 2011
    88
    This is a slacker detective story, emphasis on the slack, and if you can downshift into its loping rhythms, it's pretty wonderful.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Mar 10, 2011
    70
    The result is pretty entertaining, though most of that entertainment derives from Katz's skillful exploitation of gumshoe formula.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 10, 2011
    88
    Good in so many subtle ways, I despair of doing them justice.