Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jul 4, 2012
    67
    Donovan, acting with ironic reserve, hands the movie to Morse, who makes his character the kind of crank you can care about just because he's so abysmally lost.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 5, 2012
    60
    Hartley fans will certainly see his influence, especially in dialogue and movement that are so precise as to feel choreographed.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jul 5, 2012
    40
    Collaborator has the tone and structure of an extended one-act play. Its uniformly wooden dialogue lends it the stage-bound feel of a tortured writing exercise.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jul 4, 2012
    60
    Both Robert and Gus seem defined purely by their eccentric speech patterns, and it takes a while for the duo to register as anything other than acting-exercise conceits. But once the story takes a defiantly odd turn into thriller territory (really an excuse to hole up two talented thespians in a single location), the affected nature of the performances becomes a virtue.
  5. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Jul 7, 2012
    80
    The writing is relaxed in the right places and heightened to a largely effective degree when it counts.
  6. Reviewed by: Adam Litovitz
    Jul 13, 2012
    63
    Morse and Donovan hold us rapt in this clearly told tale about identity confusion.
  7. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Jul 6, 2012
    75
    Both characters are riveting, and they even manage to earn most of the freight that Donovan loads onto his heavily ironic title.
  8. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jul 5, 2012
    38
    The banter is playful and brazenly self-aware, but the ideas are a bit stale and don't lead anywhere emotionally substantial or narratively spontaneous.
  9. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Jul 4, 2012
    70
    On one level, it's a dark, funny tragedy, but it's also Donovan's thesis on his own craft.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    i enjoyed this film, it's a sad story from the start. a lost soul looking for some form of comfort or understanding after failing to find a place in the world. ultimately the acceptance of rejection (at least that's my take) i would like to say more but its an easy movie to spoil, so ill just say i was moved by it. tv presenters were tacky, but that may be intentional im not sure. not sure what adam(critic) meant by identity confusion, as i didn't get that theme at all. not having a go, it just wasn't my take on the film Full Review »