User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 272 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 272
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobH.
    Aug 20, 2004
    3
    It got absolutely ridiculous after a while. Not believable at all with overall B acting.
  2. TylerC
    Jan 28, 2005
    0
    How long do i have to wait until this stupid movie becomes intersting? This movie did't go anywhere.
  3. MarcK.
    Sep 5, 2004
    4
    I was very surprised to see the User rating for this film to be so high, and a usually reliable friend also highly recommended it. As others below have noted, the plot lines were completely preposterous and unbelievable. The whole Jada Pinkett Smith introduction, and then her subsequent involvement towards the end of the picture were typical Hollywood cliche that you could see a mile I was very surprised to see the User rating for this film to be so high, and a usually reliable friend also highly recommended it. As others below have noted, the plot lines were completely preposterous and unbelievable. The whole Jada Pinkett Smith introduction, and then her subsequent involvement towards the end of the picture were typical Hollywood cliche that you could see a mile away. I love Mann's visual style, but "Heat" is a zillion times better than this crap. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Aug 11, 2004
    2
    [***SPOILERS***] Given all the good reviews by critics and users alike, I'm going to qualify my remarks. If you are the type of person that hates logical flaws in a movie, then do not see Collateral. I should have known when Tom Cruise threw a man out of a window onto Jamie Foxx's cab on his first 'hit' that this movie wasn't going to be strong on logic. I thought[***SPOILERS***] Given all the good reviews by critics and users alike, I'm going to qualify my remarks. If you are the type of person that hates logical flaws in a movie, then do not see Collateral. I should have known when Tom Cruise threw a man out of a window onto Jamie Foxx's cab on his first 'hit' that this movie wasn't going to be strong on logic. I thought hit men were inconspicuous. [Spoilers below] The movie continues like this: Tom Cruise shoots people in alleys, jazz clubs, and crowded dance clubs and at one point nearly shoot traffic cops. He doesn't seem to care about witnesses at all. Jamie Foxx's character is equally unbelievable. I'm sorry, but an honest working class black man would never help a criminal psychopath commit serial murder, not in America, not in L.A. There were numerous times where Foxx could have escaped or alerted authorities (after the first hit, the cops pull them over in a crowded intersection; this should have been the end of the movie), instead he pretty much becomes an accomplice not to mention that he introduces the killer to his bedridden mother (who would do that??). See it for the its style. See it for the cinematography. See it for the wardrobe. See it as a comedy. But be aware that the storyline itself is preposterous. I've heard of suspension of disbelief but you have to draw the line somewhere. Expand
  5. WilliamW.
    Aug 13, 2004
    4
    Once again Tom Cruise proves that hard work doesn't make up for lack of talent. I have never seen an actor work so hard an be so bad. He not even the problem with the movie though. You can guess the plot in the first five minutes. The most intriguing angles are sacrificed for comic book violence. I think it time to put the handheld cameras away. Jamie Foxx and Jada Smith are just Once again Tom Cruise proves that hard work doesn't make up for lack of talent. I have never seen an actor work so hard an be so bad. He not even the problem with the movie though. You can guess the plot in the first five minutes. The most intriguing angles are sacrificed for comic book violence. I think it time to put the handheld cameras away. Jamie Foxx and Jada Smith are just wasted in this film. Has the bar to good films been set so low that almost any film can get above it? Expand
  6. BubbaFresh
    Jan 12, 2005
    3
    I agree with Melissa.
  7. DeniseB.
    Mar 19, 2005
    4
    I had to watch the DVD in 2 sittings, as I was bored to sleep halfway through on my first attempt. The cinematography was beautiful but the pace was very uneven. And the plotline was beyond my ability to suspend disbelief. Vincent can arrange for a weapon to be delivered to him at LAX but can't manage to rent a car? He spends years in Special Forces and then as a contract killer but I had to watch the DVD in 2 sittings, as I was bored to sleep halfway through on my first attempt. The cinematography was beautiful but the pace was very uneven. And the plotline was beyond my ability to suspend disbelief. Vincent can arrange for a weapon to be delivered to him at LAX but can't manage to rent a car? He spends years in Special Forces and then as a contract killer but can't get the job done without a gazillion witnesses and half a dozen dead bystanders? Expand
  8. ByronW.
    May 19, 2005
    3
    This film falls flat as supposedly cool and professional hit man Tom Cruise morphs into a ham-fisted incompetent, making one inept, stupid mistake after another. Cruise is no great shakes in the movie, but it's the writers who are to blame for putting the actors into a series of painfully absurd situations. It appears that hit man Cruise's plan is to blame a series of murders on This film falls flat as supposedly cool and professional hit man Tom Cruise morphs into a ham-fisted incompetent, making one inept, stupid mistake after another. Cruise is no great shakes in the movie, but it's the writers who are to blame for putting the actors into a series of painfully absurd situations. It appears that hit man Cruise's plan is to blame a series of murders on the cab driver (Jamie Foxx, the only saving grace in this feature), but then he shows himself to so many people that the notion of framing anyone else is ludicrous. Even the murder-for-hire comedy Grosse Point Blank has more realism. Expand
  9. MelissaMe
    Dec 26, 2004
    4
    I thought this one was kinda lame.
  10. ShannonP.
    Aug 17, 2004
    4
    The movie starts off as funny and intriguing, but half way through they ditch the script and then its just one long chase scene. Most of the potentially interesting character and plot issues are never dealt with, much less utilized or resolved.
  11. LiamS.
    Aug 19, 2004
    3
    This movie's plot is quite simply totally unbelieveable. The plot coincidences are so strained as to be beyond belief, and the ending is completely retarded. It is a terrible movie. However, if you have no care for realism, and think that Tom Cruise is the best actor in the world, then this is the movie for you. In any other circumstance, I wouldn't recommend it. For those of This movie's plot is quite simply totally unbelieveable. The plot coincidences are so strained as to be beyond belief, and the ending is completely retarded. It is a terrible movie. However, if you have no care for realism, and think that Tom Cruise is the best actor in the world, then this is the movie for you. In any other circumstance, I wouldn't recommend it. For those of you, like me, who were bemused by the premise: man gets driven around in cab and kills people, then trust your instincts and don't see this movie. You will not only save money, but 2 hours out of your life that you otherwise will never get back. Expand
  12. DirkB.
    Jan 22, 2005
    3
    Would you drive a hit man on his rounds all night all night without attempting to escape? I doubt it. Would a hit man throw a body out a window onto his own vehicle? Probably not. Is Tom Cruise capable of putting any soul into any of his characters? He is not (if you really needed more evidence). Visually interesting, but boring, predictable, unbelievable storyline, lame dialogue, and Would you drive a hit man on his rounds all night all night without attempting to escape? I doubt it. Would a hit man throw a body out a window onto his own vehicle? Probably not. Is Tom Cruise capable of putting any soul into any of his characters? He is not (if you really needed more evidence). Visually interesting, but boring, predictable, unbelievable storyline, lame dialogue, and mediocre acting. Expand
  13. RichchiJ.
    Jan 28, 2005
    0
    I can't believe such movies still exist, i had a sound sleep throughout the movie.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. The movie never really gets below that surface. It sticks to the mean streets of Los Angeles without much introspection or analysis. But those surfaces are slick and beguiling.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    80
    Mann vividly captures the nocturnal pulse of East L.A. in this taut, confined game of cat and mouse. In the homestretch the thrills get too generic and farfetched for their own good. But the first two thirds are a knockout.
  3. 80
    Shot by shot, scene by scene, Mann, whose recent work includes “Heat” and "The Insider," may be the best director in Hollywood. Methodical and precise, he analyzes a scene into minute components.