User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 320
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    A great movie to enjoy alone. It may appear superficial, but it truly tries to deliver a message. For everyone who enjoys good movies, this is a must see. Definitely one of Tom Cruise's best performances.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Michael Mann's "Collateral" initially piqued my interest because of it's fairly intriguing premise; a cab driver happens to pick up a hitman for a passenger. However, as I watched the film, I realized that there was a lot more to this film than the well written story. The movie features a breadth of captivating performances. Namely, Cruise's badass "Vincent" character and Jamie Foxx'sMichael Mann's "Collateral" initially piqued my interest because of it's fairly intriguing premise; a cab driver happens to pick up a hitman for a passenger. However, as I watched the film, I realized that there was a lot more to this film than the well written story. The movie features a breadth of captivating performances. Namely, Cruise's badass "Vincent" character and Jamie Foxx's Academy Award-Nominated performance as "Max". Tom Cruise's character is freaking hilarious - this movie features a virtual showcase of Tom Cruise Psychopathic Badassery. Between him and Foxx their chemistry makes for pretty great entertainment and some awesome dialogue too. In terms of technical aspects the film does well at utilizing an arsenal of stylish, yet still subtle camera techniques. Also the film uses a very significant amount of dark lighting to enhance the overall visual quality of the film and the gritty West L.A. setting. The ending sequence of this movie is probably one of the most absorbing scenes I've ever seen - really stressful stuff. Overall, "Collateral" makes for an invigorating experience with a smart story, superb acting, and a poopload of thrills. Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    This movie is my all-time favourite. It offers awesome acting from Jamie Foxx and especially from Tom Cruise, in one of the finest performances I've ever seen. It also boasts great dialogue. Combine this with absolutely thrilling scenes and tense moments, and you get a breathtaking, heart-stopping thrill ride from director Michael Mann. A masterpiece.
  4. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    It's an engaging thriller with a perfect pace and timing. The tense moments are enhanced by the combined performances of Jamie Foxx and Tom Cruise. Foxx's realism and Cruise's coldness and calculation sport an unlikely yet interesting duo, whose moral clashes never distract the audience from the impending violence to occur in downtown Los Angeles
  5. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    Director Michael Mann is a smart and experienced one, and he knows how to make his thriller without insulting our intelligence, but while still dazzling us with a wicked labyrinth of a plot. Collateral is also punctuated by some determined and surprisingly deep performances.
  6. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    Veteran Director Michael Mann's "Collateral" is a very smart movie. It silences the audience with rich visuals and carefully chosen words, changing a average story into a amazingly tense one.
  7. Oct 13, 2011
    7
    Collateral is a very enjoyable film for the most part, a clever variation on psycho-horror and hostage-thriller films. It is easily one of Tom Cruise's strongest performances (and quite creepily, when he intentionally plays "mad", he comes across as rather reserved, especially compared to his perceived off-screen persona). The dialogue throughout crackles - the script is of an extremelyCollateral is a very enjoyable film for the most part, a clever variation on psycho-horror and hostage-thriller films. It is easily one of Tom Cruise's strongest performances (and quite creepily, when he intentionally plays "mad", he comes across as rather reserved, especially compared to his perceived off-screen persona). The dialogue throughout crackles - the script is of an extremely high quality, and both leads handle the material with extreme skill. My only problem with the script is an over-reliance on cliched psychoanalytic conversation (debating the morals of killing indiscriminately for instance), Vincent's veiled threats and Max's attempts to keep level-headed were engaging enough without them trying to "understand" each other - Vincent's dangerous, we get it! The film works as a solid and effective thriller right up until the final act. Here it resorts to a succession of increasingly silly set pieces further undermined by lack of attention to detail (what does and doesn't go off in a power cut for instance). Perhaps Mann would have been better off wrapping things up thirty minutes earlier, ending on a high with the truly exhilarating nightclub set piece. Despite its flaws, in the end Collateral is a pleasant diversion - it's perhaps not as clever as it thinks it's being, but as entertainment it dazzles. Expand
  8. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    Collateral is one of those films that tries to be brilliant (and comes pretty close too) but ends up shooting itself in the foot. The film tells the story of Max (Jamie Foxx) an LA cab driver who unfortunately picks up Vincent (Tom Cruise) and agrees to take him around LA all night. Vincent has 5 stops but Max soon discovers that at every stop Vincent is killing people. This starts a catCollateral is one of those films that tries to be brilliant (and comes pretty close too) but ends up shooting itself in the foot. The film tells the story of Max (Jamie Foxx) an LA cab driver who unfortunately picks up Vincent (Tom Cruise) and agrees to take him around LA all night. Vincent has 5 stops but Max soon discovers that at every stop Vincent is killing people. This starts a cat and mouse series of events all in the space of one cab as Max continues to drive Vincent around. The concept is a good one and its handled by director Michael Mann with his signature over the top action but its also very subdued and allows the actors to add certain elements to their characters that a popcorn action film would not. In fact Tom Cruise has one of his best performances as Vincent, a very intelligent and sadistic portrayal of someone we really should hate but through his actions we end up not being able to look away. The reason that Collateral narrowly misses brilliance is that Mann seems to lose focus at the end of the film with everything that made Collateral great (the confined space, the tense conversation and the occasional dead body) disappearing in favour of a, simply put, stupid ending which employs the cliched Hollywood ending with a big chase but it does it with so little care for specifics (unlike the rest of the film) that it just seemed incredibly rushed and as if no effort was put in at all. Collateral has all the hallmarks of a brilliant film but thanks to the ending it feels like a summer popcorn flick with no heart. My advice, turn it off at the car crash (you'll know which one) and imagine an ending that doesn't make you want to shout at the screen. Expand
  9. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    A tense showcase of smart thrills and slick performances, Collateral is a successful pairing of Cruise and Foxx under the wing of Michael Mann. The concept is beguiling.
  10. Jun 3, 2014
    7
    Overall, Collateral is a pretty good film. The visuals are outstanding and really make this film a gorgeous watch. Tom Cruise is also killer (heh) in his role as a hitman. He gets a bad rap due to his personal beliefs, but the man can really act. Jamie Foxx also does well as the cab driver and Mark Ruffalo makes a solid supporting appearance in this one as well. The thrills are alsoOverall, Collateral is a pretty good film. The visuals are outstanding and really make this film a gorgeous watch. Tom Cruise is also killer (heh) in his role as a hitman. He gets a bad rap due to his personal beliefs, but the man can really act. Jamie Foxx also does well as the cab driver and Mark Ruffalo makes a solid supporting appearance in this one as well. The thrills are also certainly there and, though implausible at times, they are most plentiful at the end of the film, though, really, you could be on the edge of your seat for much of this one. Overall, however, I cannot help but feel like this one was nothing but pretty good. Michael Mann's direction is great as always here, but this one never really "reaches for the stars", rather it is content to just be a relatively straightforward and entertaining movie. Now, there is nothing wrong with that, but it certainly would have been nice to see that extra little bit given. Without it, it honestly feels like something is missing from this one. Expand
  11. Jul 8, 2013
    7
    “Collateral” isn't a terribly original motion picture. However, it’s the strength of the lead performances and the stylish direction of Michael Mann that obscures the weaknesses in plotting and credibility. For the most part “Collateral” remains a sharply taut thriller but ever so gradually towards the end it tests our plausibility nerves. The movie never fails, but it never really“Collateral” isn't a terribly original motion picture. However, it’s the strength of the lead performances and the stylish direction of Michael Mann that obscures the weaknesses in plotting and credibility. For the most part “Collateral” remains a sharply taut thriller but ever so gradually towards the end it tests our plausibility nerves. The movie never fails, but it never really deepens either. The story line never deviates from going somewhere unexpected, but at least it’s always satisfying.

    Los Angeles cab driver Max Durocher (Foxx) lives an incredibly mundane life. He drives a cab day in and day out and has for the last twelve years. His only escape from reality is a photo of a tropical island and the fact that he wants to start his own limo company. All that changes when a government investigative attorney named Annie Ferrell (Jada P. Smith) gets in his cab from the airport. She's wound tight, getting ready for a big case the next morning, but he charms her into talking and makes a favorable impression. Immediately after dropping Annie off downtown, he picks up a fare that is known only by his first name Vincent (Cruise). Vincent offers Max a deal he can't refuse $700 for making five stops, then getting him to the airport for his flight out of LA. As the L.A.P.D. and F.B.I. begin to put the pieces together, they race to intercept the two of them. Max and Vincent's survival becomes dependent on each other, in ways neither would have imagined.

    The survival-of-the-fittest, do-or-die theme eventually becomes rather one note. The amusing, exceptional first half of the film is undermined when the story races towards a prevailing, mechanical conclusion. Acting and atmosphere define the film, but there are times when style can become substance, and this is one of these instances. The performances by Cruise and Foxx are the highlights, and Mann's direction guarantees that any chance of boredom or disinterest will not materialize.
    Expand
  12. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    Collateral was a good, action-packed thriller with enough taxi shots to last me a lifetime. Tom Cruise is at his best, and so is Jamie Foxx. Both actors contribute well-rounded,tough characters into a good cast, also including Javier Bodem and Mark Ruffalo. This movie had a pace that was just right, as well as a story that was gripping and fun to watch. It also gave you a feel of time,Collateral was a good, action-packed thriller with enough taxi shots to last me a lifetime. Tom Cruise is at his best, and so is Jamie Foxx. Both actors contribute well-rounded,tough characters into a good cast, also including Javier Bodem and Mark Ruffalo. This movie had a pace that was just right, as well as a story that was gripping and fun to watch. It also gave you a feel of time, because of the 5 jobs Tom Cruise had to pull. You knew were you were in the movie based on how many were left, granted you can do math. In summation, this was a good tale of two very different people having to put up with each other, even when guns are drawn. Jada Pinkett Smith tied the movie together, and also played the role well. The only negative thing i have to say is that it got a tiny bit slow at points, and the dialogue as well as camera shots could've been cleaned up a bit. But other than that, this is a flick worth watching. Expand
  13. Triniman
    Aug 7, 2004
    8
    The premise sounds pretty dull, doesn't it? Tom Cruise plays a hit man who coerces a cab driver to drive him around LA to knock off five people. Jamie Foxx portrays the reluctant cab driver. Director Michael Mann proves that a compelling drama doesn't require an excess in plot, car chases or violence or humour. Much of the film takes place in the cab with Cruise and FoxxThe premise sounds pretty dull, doesn't it? Tom Cruise plays a hit man who coerces a cab driver to drive him around LA to knock off five people. Jamie Foxx portrays the reluctant cab driver. Director Michael Mann proves that a compelling drama doesn't require an excess in plot, car chases or violence or humour. Much of the film takes place in the cab with Cruise and Foxx exchanging philosophies of life, goals and dreams. Foxx, a cabbie for 12 years, wants to save up to open a limo service. Cruise is more enigmatic about his past, but instead is a relentless, cold-blooded assassin. Still, he's not one-dimensional at all. Cruise is excellent as the laser-focused killer with taste. Witness the scene in the jazz club to see how good his taste in music is. He's not cocky like the mastermind bad guy in the first Die Hard, but he is cool, confident and obviously emotionally detached from his victims. He doesn't care who they are since he's just doing his job. He also doesn't flash the million-dollar Cruise movie star smile. Jamie Foxx also performs well as the uncomfortable cabbie counterpoint to the Cruise character. He's just your average joe hoping to get ahead in life but obviously taking a long time to get there, just like most people. What's refreshing about this film is that it doesn't scatter the character development over too many players. The lack of comedic lines also reinforces the grittiness of the script. Michael Mann has produced a mostly believable thriller, that makes the competition look like cartoons for adults. Sure, there are stretches in the storyline but so long as you're prepared to gloss over them, this is a fine film. Collateral is also much better than Cruise's last film, the pretensioulsy bloated The Last Samurai. Anyone looking for a non-stop action film or a "Lethal Weapon"-type film should look elsewhere. Review by Triniman. Expand
  14. BlancoA.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    I was a huge fan of Mann's short-lived television show "Robbery Homicide Division" which was also set in Los Angeles. There's something about Mann & the city of L.A. -- he captures its essence like nobody else in recent memory -- maybe since "Chinatown". This is the film that makes Jamie Foxx a legitimate star. His performance is subtle yet powerful. (And, incidentally, Jada I was a huge fan of Mann's short-lived television show "Robbery Homicide Division" which was also set in Los Angeles. There's something about Mann & the city of L.A. -- he captures its essence like nobody else in recent memory -- maybe since "Chinatown". This is the film that makes Jamie Foxx a legitimate star. His performance is subtle yet powerful. (And, incidentally, Jada Smith and Mark Ruffalo are wonderful in smaller roles - both of which feel gritty and authentic.) You come to expect a lot from Tom Cruise, and he delivers in an unexpected way in Collateral. No character in this film is stock, and everybody keeps you guessing. Sure, there's a typical Robbery-Homicide, Homicide: LOTS - style of plot, but the plot is unimportant. It's the exchange between the righteous cab driver and the morally bankrupt hitman who immediately learns to appreciate the discipline and guiding principles the cab driver lives by. I also have to say that the music choices in the film are spot on. Go see this and enjoy. Expand
  15. LarryS.
    Aug 8, 2004
    7
    The first 75 minutes were excellent. The last 50 minutes were the typical American shoot em up, blow em up and the story became very, very improbable. Too bad they didn't stick to an intelligent story and strong acting. Very week ending. Could have been an outstanding movie!
  16. AndrewC.
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    Absoluetly masterful. not since mann's last production (heat) has he gotten me so excited about a film. just go watch it. you won't be disappointed.
  17. EddieV.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Amazing, intense acting, in your face directing. I'd see it again in a heartbeat.
  18. Myles#13
    Jul 2, 2006
    9
    An average script with super acting and first class directing by Michael 'Still The' Mann.
  19. BenjaminA.
    Aug 10, 2004
    8
    This is a very solid action thriller. I don't have much to say besides that. Usually when I have something to say, its about bad things. BUt in this movie, there weren't any.
  20. JerryH.
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Mann is in full control here, putting all his filmmaking tools to great use to produce a quality film that goes beyond the script, even when it completely lets him down in the final act. Cruise and Foxx are spot on, just wonderful. Mann's LA is a beauty and the photography is choice. The film does not play dumb (until the end), but the skill of all involved still keep it moving. If Mann is in full control here, putting all his filmmaking tools to great use to produce a quality film that goes beyond the script, even when it completely lets him down in the final act. Cruise and Foxx are spot on, just wonderful. Mann's LA is a beauty and the photography is choice. The film does not play dumb (until the end), but the skill of all involved still keep it moving. If you're a Mann fan, this will not disappoint. Expand
  21. PatrickM.
    Aug 7, 2004
    7
    What a great movie this was. I loved Jamie Foxx and thought Cruise plays a great antagonist. The cab conversations seem to always have an awkward air about them, especially when Cruise wonders when Foxx will finish his cabbie job and start a real one...which is of course hypocritical. The movie crackles and runs seemingly flawless--right up until the end. The wheels fell off at the end , What a great movie this was. I loved Jamie Foxx and thought Cruise plays a great antagonist. The cab conversations seem to always have an awkward air about them, especially when Cruise wonders when Foxx will finish his cabbie job and start a real one...which is of course hypocritical. The movie crackles and runs seemingly flawless--right up until the end. The wheels fell off at the end , but the movie is so consistently great throughout that it is forgiveable. I don't think I am the only one who believes Foxx could very well be the next Denzel or Taye Diggs. Smith and Ruffalo play strong supporting roles. If you can overlook some unrealistic parts and the bumpy ending, this is a movie you will love. 3/4 of it the best of the year. Expand
  22. PatL.
    Jan 21, 2005
    8
    A nice combination of action and acting, even if a few of the "twists" seemed a bit predictable. Had difficulty understanding some of the dialogue, and found Foxx's sudden transformation from wimp to stud annoying, but otherwise enjoyed it from start to finish.
  23. FarisC.
    Jan 2, 2005
    9
    This action packed movie is comparable to Speed. I enjoyed the fast-paced, twisted, and sometimes startling action. I also found the acting to be superb. The actors really fell into their characters easily. The soundtrack was very modern, beaty, and kept the pace of the movie. The special effects backboned this movie and were well thought out and placed. But, the best part of this movie This action packed movie is comparable to Speed. I enjoyed the fast-paced, twisted, and sometimes startling action. I also found the acting to be superb. The actors really fell into their characters easily. The soundtrack was very modern, beaty, and kept the pace of the movie. The special effects backboned this movie and were well thought out and placed. But, the best part of this movie was the storyline, played out flawlessly and never leaving you wondering how A reached B. So, basically, good acting, great soundtrack, excellent effects, and seamless storyline. Expand
  24. JustinP.
    Mar 5, 2005
    7
    Collateral is a slick thriller that devolves into a more conventional action movie, and tries throughout to sustain an existentialist, humanistic thread to hoist it up from being a dime a dozen Hollywood formula. Ultimately the movie hinges entirely upon whether you buy the depth and angst of Cruise's hitman character, and the viewer's stomach for dialogue which aspires to Collateral is a slick thriller that devolves into a more conventional action movie, and tries throughout to sustain an existentialist, humanistic thread to hoist it up from being a dime a dozen Hollywood formula. Ultimately the movie hinges entirely upon whether you buy the depth and angst of Cruise's hitman character, and the viewer's stomach for dialogue which aspires to profundity. In the end, the dialogues really not bad, and at least the movie reaches for some meaning, and for some interesting twists in the characters, even if it falls short. Visually impressive with some very well executed and very convincing action sequeneces. Expand
  25. MattH.
    Oct 18, 2004
    8
    An above-average action thriller, well worth a watch.
  26. Paul
    Dec 20, 2004
    7
    Not bad.
  27. GerronK.
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    A spectacular film! This movie boasts of a brilliant, top notch performance by Tom Cruise and it is a fast paced, gripping thriller that will hold you attention for the full 2 hours. The best film of 2004 yet!
  28. MarcW.
    Aug 15, 2004
    8
    Slick, stylised and deep beyond what the action packed trailers might suggest. The acting and direction is a step above anything seen this year. However, the pacing does seem to be wobbly at moments. Otherwise...as brilliant effort by Cruise, Foxx and Mann.
  29. MikeP
    Aug 16, 2004
    7
    I'm not much of an action movie guy, but I was forced to watch this one. Surprisingly, I found it to be quite entertaining. There wasn't much action in the movie, but a lot of interesting Tarantino-esque dialogue. Jamie Foxx was really funny in this movie and probably saved the movie from being what it really is ... cops chasing the bad guys throughout LA. However, there were I'm not much of an action movie guy, but I was forced to watch this one. Surprisingly, I found it to be quite entertaining. There wasn't much action in the movie, but a lot of interesting Tarantino-esque dialogue. Jamie Foxx was really funny in this movie and probably saved the movie from being what it really is ... cops chasing the bad guys throughout LA. However, there were some unresolved issues in the movie that left me hanging at the end -- but seeing how the movie was already long, I didn't make a big deal out of it. Good funny movie. Expand
  30. MikeK
    Aug 23, 2004
    9
    Well done. This movie does have some interesting plot coincidences that seem unbeleivable, but they aren't any more unbeleivable than a hitman hiring a taxi driver's help to finish a job. Cruise and Foxx are great, Pinkett-Smith looks great and adds a great story. Favorite scene is in the jazz bar... totally unexpected. Nice pace throughout. A great escape from reality for 2 Well done. This movie does have some interesting plot coincidences that seem unbeleivable, but they aren't any more unbeleivable than a hitman hiring a taxi driver's help to finish a job. Cruise and Foxx are great, Pinkett-Smith looks great and adds a great story. Favorite scene is in the jazz bar... totally unexpected. Nice pace throughout. A great escape from reality for 2 hours or so. See it. Expand
  31. DaveN.
    Aug 25, 2004
    8
    A well-above-average thriller that holds your attention from beginning to end. The interplay between Max and Vincent is fascinating, with both Cruise and Foxx offering fine performances. I'd give it a 9, but for the cliched "shootout in a night club" scene (oh, no, not this again!) and the slightly limp ending. Still, better than 90% of the movies out there, and well worth seeing on A well-above-average thriller that holds your attention from beginning to end. The interplay between Max and Vincent is fascinating, with both Cruise and Foxx offering fine performances. I'd give it a 9, but for the cliched "shootout in a night club" scene (oh, no, not this again!) and the slightly limp ending. Still, better than 90% of the movies out there, and well worth seeing on the big screen! Expand
  32. JudsonD.
    Aug 26, 2004
    9
    It entertained me......and made me grateful I don't live in LA.
  33. ChadS.
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    You'll be hard-pressed to think of another major studio film that starts off so confidently as "Collateral" does. Annie(Jada Pinkett-Smith) enters Max(Jamie Foxx)'s cab, and their exchange suggests "Night on Earth" directed by Martin Scorsese(there's a clever reference to "Taxi Driver", later in a scene that includes Irma P. Hall). When we meet Annie again, Pinkett-Smith You'll be hard-pressed to think of another major studio film that starts off so confidently as "Collateral" does. Annie(Jada Pinkett-Smith) enters Max(Jamie Foxx)'s cab, and their exchange suggests "Night on Earth" directed by Martin Scorsese(there's a clever reference to "Taxi Driver", later in a scene that includes Irma P. Hall). When we meet Annie again, Pinkett-Smith doesn't get to play the same strong, independent character, because the requirements of a commercial film reduces her to a woman-in-jeopardy, and a woman-that-needs-saving. When Vincent(Tom Cruise) replaces Annie, any notion of a Jim Jarmusch homage ends once the body count is inaugurated by an incidental vandalizer of cabs. "Collateral" is a good genre film, but the images of New York that pass by Max's cab, recalls "Wonderland"(also shot on hd-digital video), in the way Michael Winterbottom made London, like Mann's New York, so visceral, and beautiful in a utilitarian way. Annie's reappearance, for some, is when the automatic plot-pilot gets flicked on, but the slow downward spiral into banality can be traced from Cruise's pursuit of Foxx on foot. How "Collateral" ends is awful, in theory, but Mann redeems the bankruptcy of ideas in Stuart Beattie's screenplay, by some well-chosen locations, and transforms the routine into something rousing. Expand
  34. DavidC.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    Really great movie... awesome performances with great characters. This is one of the best movies this year!! The look of the movie is very fitting to the mood of it and its story. You never get bored 'cause you get very interested in finding out what's going on inside the characters minds and there is great action. The one thing that annoyed me was how deliberate they advertised Really great movie... awesome performances with great characters. This is one of the best movies this year!! The look of the movie is very fitting to the mood of it and its story. You never get bored 'cause you get very interested in finding out what's going on inside the characters minds and there is great action. The one thing that annoyed me was how deliberate they advertised Bacardi (I guess they needed something on the cab to make it real... but at a certain point, the only thing you see on screen is that ad for like 10 seconds). Expand
  35. DanaM.
    Aug 8, 2004
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] Good entertainment overall, however it doesn't deserve a ten. Dialogue could have been better between Cruise and Foxx. Mann has a great opportunity to get into the mind of a killer but instead we find the Hitman was abused as a child by his father. Big surprise. Cruise goes into a disco with nothing but a handgun against FBI and LA police with automatic weapons and[***SPOILERS***] Good entertainment overall, however it doesn't deserve a ten. Dialogue could have been better between Cruise and Foxx. Mann has a great opportunity to get into the mind of a killer but instead we find the Hitman was abused as a child by his father. Big surprise. Cruise goes into a disco with nothing but a handgun against FBI and LA police with automatic weapons and kills a dozen or so, coming out with a few scratches. A tad unbelievable. Also, is it my imagination or does Cruise have grey hair in the beginning but gets darker as the movie progresses? Good entertainment but not half the movie that Manchurian Candidate is. Expand
  36. ArthurZ.
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    Excellent.
  37. RB
    Sep 27, 2004
    9
    Action & character! Just great!!
  38. FrankD
    Sep 6, 2004
    7
    The acting of Tom Cruise was marvelous as skeptical and practical villain, but I don't like very much of the other actors, except by Mark Ruffalo, whose role should be more explored... The plot is good, but there are too many coincidences that could be easily corrected, and the ending was very predictable also...
  39. SaerA.
    Jan 24, 2005
    9
    Collateral is one of the best of 2004. Tom Cruise and Jamie Foxx deliver escellent performances. Before even seeing Collateral, I knew it would be good. Michael Mann did an excellent job directing this nice peice of work. I loved it.
  40. PeterJ.
    Jan 26, 2005
    8
    Best movie I have seen in months. Jamie Foxx is yet another comedian turned actor who puts together a tremendous performance. Jim Carey, Adam Sandler, Robin Williams, Bill Murray all pulled off brilliant performances in movies and now Jamie Foxx does it as well. Oh, and Cruise actually was very decent in this movie. This and the Last Samurai have gave me a little confidence in his ability Best movie I have seen in months. Jamie Foxx is yet another comedian turned actor who puts together a tremendous performance. Jim Carey, Adam Sandler, Robin Williams, Bill Murray all pulled off brilliant performances in movies and now Jamie Foxx does it as well. Oh, and Cruise actually was very decent in this movie. This and the Last Samurai have gave me a little confidence in his ability as an actor. Expand
  41. EstebanC.
    Jan 6, 2005
    9
    The well-written story is directed with a great sense of style and suspense and the actors' performances of Cruise and Foxx are suprisingly good. A fine piece of work by Michael Mann!
  42. LouisH.
    Aug 27, 2005
    8
    I really loved this movie and it is a true rare thriller, Jamie Foxx was great and surely shocked everybody with his performence.
  43. Randeh
    Oct 17, 2004
    9
    Well i guess we can finally forgive Tom Cruise for those horrible performances in Vanilla Sky and the MI series (let's not even mention the last samurai!) Not only does he prove that he's just as adept at playing the villain, if not better than playing the hero, but Cruise has firmly put those skeptics of his acting ability in their place. I've been a Mann supporter for Well i guess we can finally forgive Tom Cruise for those horrible performances in Vanilla Sky and the MI series (let's not even mention the last samurai!) Not only does he prove that he's just as adept at playing the villain, if not better than playing the hero, but Cruise has firmly put those skeptics of his acting ability in their place. I've been a Mann supporter for ages now and he's not disappointed. Having said that, the ending is somewhat predictable and lacks the innovation you wouldve expected from the almost 2 hour leadup. On the whole however, Mann has succeeded in giving the noir films an air of fresh breath, with the shots of LA setting it apart from the usual noir City with visible dark center centre to a bleak, sprawled urban maze, the focus on identity and anonymity rather than morality is also welcome =) Expand
  44. DanS.
    Dec 13, 2004
    9
    The best film of 2004. I absolutely loved it. Of course, I also loved Mann's "Heat" and hold it as a tie for the best movie I've ever seen along with LOTR. Cruise really stood out for me. Vincent is so cold and amazingly efficient, he gave me chills. I really felt Vincent was more chilling on some psychological and visceral levels than the Terminator. This movie was a lot of The best film of 2004. I absolutely loved it. Of course, I also loved Mann's "Heat" and hold it as a tie for the best movie I've ever seen along with LOTR. Cruise really stood out for me. Vincent is so cold and amazingly efficient, he gave me chills. I really felt Vincent was more chilling on some psychological and visceral levels than the Terminator. This movie was a lot of fun, can't wait for the DVD! Collapse
  45. YoonC.
    Oct 23, 2004
    7
    Effective crime thriller speeding thru the multicultural landscape of la with tom cruise possibly embodying the white male/white collar frustration with a world going haywire in the age of soulless global capitalism. the role reversals are obvious: cruise is the badass hipster while jamie foxx is a stuffshirt cabbie; minorities crooks seem established and powerful while white male cruise Effective crime thriller speeding thru the multicultural landscape of la with tom cruise possibly embodying the white male/white collar frustration with a world going haywire in the age of soulless global capitalism. the role reversals are obvious: cruise is the badass hipster while jamie foxx is a stuffshirt cabbie; minorities crooks seem established and powerful while white male cruise is the outsider loner, a sort of philosophical and ethnic exile. mann is generous in featuring characters of various ethnicities but there is a kind of 'falling down' bloodsport in having a white guy mow them all down. but, still a rare adult thriller in an age of teenager blockbusterism. Expand
  46. alv1
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    Excelent movie, i'm from Mexico, and i like it very much...a very good performance by Tom Cruise and it is a fast paced, gripping thriller that holded me attention for the full 2 hours.. the soundtrack is also very nice.
  47. WilliamM.
    Aug 11, 2004
    9
    I am very happy with the way this movie turned out, just like i expected, this was going to be more about the characters than the action, but also the action is very strong on its own. I dont feel like writing an unusually long review but before i quit there is part that is a personal favorite. when you see that max is realizing that i life is really gone nowhere, and I'm talking I am very happy with the way this movie turned out, just like i expected, this was going to be more about the characters than the action, but also the action is very strong on its own. I dont feel like writing an unusually long review but before i quit there is part that is a personal favorite. when you see that max is realizing that i life is really gone nowhere, and I'm talking about the before the big confrontation. he is forced to go into the night club as vincent, midway he realized that he could quit playing the nice guy and take control he figured out if he wants to be in control it is right there for the takingand he took and liked it, and showed up multiple times him trying to act like vincent, and enjoying it. michael mann played that perfectly. i would recommend this to anyone, but tell warn them its not quite going to be what you expected. Expand
  48. GabrielV.
    Aug 11, 2004
    9
    This was an excellent movie. The best performance by Cruise in a long while and was Foxx shows that he can be an actor and not just a funny man. The only negatives were the actors that played the Cops and the F.B.I agents. Other than that excellent movie!!`
  49. BillC.
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    Probably the most entertaining movie i've seen in years. Gorgeous directing, and the acting is just on another level.
  50. JuliaO.
    Aug 11, 2004
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyable - I don't usually go for action flicks but this one demanded my attention - acting is great!!!
  51. DanB.
    Aug 20, 2004
    8
    A really good movie. Not great like Heat or The Insider, but it moves so well, looks so good - Mann might be the only director now that does this sort of sleek, stylish noir so well. As for realism and plot coincidences: those who gripe about this are missing a big point. Chandler's "The Big Sleep" was so convoluted and coincidental that William Faulkner, upon trying to convert it A really good movie. Not great like Heat or The Insider, but it moves so well, looks so good - Mann might be the only director now that does this sort of sleek, stylish noir so well. As for realism and plot coincidences: those who gripe about this are missing a big point. Chandler's "The Big Sleep" was so convoluted and coincidental that William Faulkner, upon trying to convert it into a screenplay, couldn't follow it and had to ask Chandler who killed the chauffeur. Chandler didn't know. Probably didn't care. Noir is about a mood, a feel, an idea of a world - not about sensible plotting. Expand
  52. RustyB
    Aug 29, 2004
    9
    I believe this was a fairly decent movie. As an avid firearm user, the tatical training and use of firearms demonstrated by Tom Cruise in this movie was spot on. It was great action sequences.
  53. RobertW.
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    Saw a press screening and it is the best film of the year so far!
  54. GrahamM.
    Aug 6, 2004
    9
    This is the best film I have seen so far this year. All I have to say is that if it was say, ten minutes longer I would not mind.
  55. Paul
    Aug 7, 2004
    8
    Tom Cruise as The Terminator. Takes a lickin' and keeps on ticken'. **Spoiler Alert** - there's a scene in an asian club where Vincent dispatches a guard with a violent ferocious intensity and in that instant Mr. Mann, for me, frees Tom Cruise from the carapace of audience expectations. Tom Cruise should make these choices more often.
  56. Wongit
    Aug 7, 2004
    9
    This is probably one of the best movies i saw this summer, and i have seen a lot. jame foxx is great, tom cruise is amazing bad guy. great acting, great directing, great dialoge, the ending had me on the edge of my seat. very few movies have done that for me, this was amazing.
  57. mitchM.
    Jan 12, 2005
    7
    One of the betterTomCruise-turned-psycho-sociopathic-killer flicks of the year.
  58. ArmandoS.
    Jan 15, 2005
    8
    A very exciting and well paced movie-the performances are all excellent - Michael Mann does an excellent job of creating the atmosphere and milieu of LA at night - recommended.
  59. NelsonF.
    Feb 14, 2005
    9
    As good as an action/thriller/drama can get!
  60. TonyL.
    Mar 11, 2005
    9
    Great movie kept your attention and on the edge of your seat.
  61. PatC.
    Mar 21, 2005
    7
    Doesn't break new ground or stray beyond expectations, but is otherwise another solid project from Michael Mann. Intelligent without being offensive, intense without being intrusive. Once again Mann makes everyday familiarity strange, demands total immersion from his actors, and selects music with appropriateness and precision.
  62. RDalvi
    Apr 11, 2006
    7
    Drags in the beginning and in parts. But superb performances and a thrilling climax salvage it. Also, Cruise and Foxx's interactions are worth seeing.
  63. MichaelM.
    Oct 21, 2004
    8
    Fast paced, and immensley entertaining. The best thing Michael Mann has given us since 1995's Heat. Tom Cruise and Jamie Foxx really shine in their roles.
  64. M.Vice
    Dec 19, 2004
    7
    Cinemaphotography is stunning, every scene is beautifully layered with an eye candy factor of 10. The story has promise and some great moments but falls flat in the middle. It picks up serious momentum in the end but leaves you frustrated at the fact that this could've been a GREAT movie instead of a good rental. I'm not a fan of Jamie Foxx but his performance here proves that Cinemaphotography is stunning, every scene is beautifully layered with an eye candy factor of 10. The story has promise and some great moments but falls flat in the middle. It picks up serious momentum in the end but leaves you frustrated at the fact that this could've been a GREAT movie instead of a good rental. I'm not a fan of Jamie Foxx but his performance here proves that he is evolving into a great actor. Expand
  65. GregT.
    Dec 20, 2004
    7
    Not a bad action movie. But Tom Cruise will never look severe and hard enough to be a convincing killer for hire. He is too pretty and doesn't look jaded enough to have sold his soul to the devil for money by way of contract killing. Even with the grey dye job. This is somewhat similar to our boy next door, Matt Damon, being a secret agent in the Bourne movies. These men never come Not a bad action movie. But Tom Cruise will never look severe and hard enough to be a convincing killer for hire. He is too pretty and doesn't look jaded enough to have sold his soul to the devil for money by way of contract killing. Even with the grey dye job. This is somewhat similar to our boy next door, Matt Damon, being a secret agent in the Bourne movies. These men never come off as being realistic killers or agents or undercover whatevers in these movies. These actors should be directing their acting skills in other, more believable and perhaps more dramatic roles. Expand
  66. MarkB.
    Aug 11, 2004
    7
    Tom Cruise is receiving most of the press for his radically change-of-pace turn as a ruthless, ambitious, strangely philosophical go-getter paid killer in Michael Mann's stylish, ingenious thriller, but don't be fooled: the real star is Jamie Foxx. Just as Cruise has never really gotten his due for solidly playing straight man to Paul Newman (The Color of Money), Dustin Hoffman Tom Cruise is receiving most of the press for his radically change-of-pace turn as a ruthless, ambitious, strangely philosophical go-getter paid killer in Michael Mann's stylish, ingenious thriller, but don't be fooled: the real star is Jamie Foxx. Just as Cruise has never really gotten his due for solidly playing straight man to Paul Newman (The Color of Money), Dustin Hoffman (Rain Man) or Jack Nicholson (A Few Good Men), I'm afraid that Foxx, subtly but indelibly tweaking his "cool" image from Bait and Any Given Sunday, isn't properly receiving his. Foxx plays Max, a perfectionistic, procrastinating cabbie whose life is stuck in neutral: he plans to start his own limo service SOMETIME down the road, but things change dramatically one night when Vincent (Cruise) tricks Max into providing chauffeur service while Vincent piles up bodies all over the city. The interplay between the two conflicting personalities is fascinating: unlike some of Cruise's previously mentioned films, this is in no way a "buddy movie"! You always expect slick, eye-popping action sequences from Mann, but I was in no way prepared for his groundbreaking use of digital video; I'm in no way a fan of the format, but I've appreciated its use in low-budget thrillers (The Blair Witch Project, 28 Days Later) to provide a sense of gritty urgency; here, Mann successfully uses it to give a mostly-sleeping metropolis at 2 a.m. unusual visual claritry and definition. The main roadblock to Mann's terrific storytelling skills is that, after an extremely compelling and original two-thirds, it runs out of gas in the third act, becoming a cookie-cutter action movie as Max and the tritely indestructible Vincent (who could be referred to as "The Tom-inator") face several final showdowns; nobody wants to see the wonderful Jada Pinkett Smith more than I do, but not as a generic damsel in distress. Result: Collateral loses much of its original momentum and becomes just another "Peggy Lee movie": you enjoy it in the theater, but once outside in the fresh air, you turn to your date, partner or friend and ask, "Is that all there is?" Expand
  67. KishoreK.
    Aug 13, 2004
    8
    Good original thriller. special cinematography.
  68. RyanM.
    Aug 16, 2004
    9
    Stylish, taut, focused and near flawless. One of the best films so far this year.
  69. RossF.
    Aug 22, 2004
    8
    Great flick, Great style, Mann rock's.
  70. ArnoldP.
    Aug 22, 2004
    8
    A wild ride of unbelievable coincidence filmed as aalmost visually abstract. with enought homage to the underbelly of LA LA Land that kept this cynic entertained from terrific beginning to somewhat flawed but ultimately satisfying ending with some cool characters all very well executed.
  71. RichardG.
    Aug 25, 2004
    8
    The Anonymous guy who gave it a 2 is talking nonsense. Talking crap about logical flaws. Phhht... I saw none of what you mentioned. Tom Cruise shoots people in crowded areas, and he doesnt care. Easy answer, he is a professional hitman, and he's not from that area as you can see when the movie begins, you dont even know where he's from. Who are you to say, what a man or a The Anonymous guy who gave it a 2 is talking nonsense. Talking crap about logical flaws. Phhht... I saw none of what you mentioned. Tom Cruise shoots people in crowded areas, and he doesnt care. Easy answer, he is a professional hitman, and he's not from that area as you can see when the movie begins, you dont even know where he's from. Who are you to say, what a man or a "working class black man" will or will not do? And Tom Cruise is not a 'criminal Psychopath, he's a Hitman. Anoymous, you showed good sense in keeping your name a secret hahahaha. When the cops pulled them over, Cruse had his gun behind him, if anything went wrong he was going to shoot both the cops and then Foxx. Gosh some people just cannot accept things. This one was too big for you Anonymous. I gave it an 8. Maybe we agree oppositely on what was wrong and right in the movie Expand
  72. Dave
    Sep 22, 2004
    8
    As far as action thrillers go, this one is way above average.
  73. JamesM
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    Forget what you think: this is so much more than a buddy action/thriller. This is an absolute masterpiece.
  74. ryanb.
    Jan 26, 2005
    9
    This movie is the coolest movie its about a man paying the taxi driver 500 to go to 5 stops and the hit man killed those people and they had cops chasing them this movie is the coolest movie ever.
  75. KyleA.
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    The best film of the year. Yes, it may be an action film, but it's the only movie from 2004 that's honest and made with a ton of heart and thought. Spellbindingly intense.
  76. danl.
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    1 of the best movis of the year!!!!!
  77. James
    Apr 29, 2006
    10
    A masterpeice one of the best films of 04. One of tom cruise's best performeces also I was shocked at jamie foxxes performance.
  78. ChristopherP.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    I love this movie. What is most appealing about it is the suspense, pacing, and overall style. Vincent (Tom Cruise) is the epitome of a cool-headed, deliberate and heartless professional killer. Attractive of his role is the depth of his character. Often he'll respond to Max's (Jamie Foxx) obvious signs of distress and anxiety with a psychological and philosophical response I love this movie. What is most appealing about it is the suspense, pacing, and overall style. Vincent (Tom Cruise) is the epitome of a cool-headed, deliberate and heartless professional killer. Attractive of his role is the depth of his character. Often he'll respond to Max's (Jamie Foxx) obvious signs of distress and anxiety with a psychological and philosophical response meant to calm him, at one point lecturing to him the concept of adaptation.. It really separates him from the typical hit man in many movies, and it's very entertaining to watch. Jamie Foxx does an intense performance, portraying well Max's coping and dealing with his predicament, and he develops as a character as he faces more severe stress, following the theme of "adaptation" that Vincent mentions early in the movie. Side characters such as Fanning (Mark Ruffalo) add to the depth of the story well by giving a different perspective. During the twist near the end of the movie involving Vincent and Fanning, Vincent's nihilistic philosophies are highlighted. I've heard a lot of complaints regarding the unrealism of the ending, but I didn't have too much of a problem with it. I mean, Vincent was shot in the face beforehand, so that may have been a bit disorienting. With regards to that, I thought it closed very well and had a well-directed final few moments that kept me on the edge of my seat. It's overall an exceptionally entertaining film to watch, with quick pacing, sharp dialogue, intense performances, and consistently evolving characters. Expand
  79. JackB
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    Dont listen to Chad (SPOILER), i think in just about any circumstance, one person could kill another if they had a gun and someone else didnt! Been watching too many movies chad!
  80. DaveD.
    Dec 16, 2004
    9
    Michael Mann has produced another high quality crime thriller in Collateral. Right from the opening scene, It bears all the hallmarks of his style, including that unbelievable use of lighting and colour that he put to such good use in Heat. No other director out there right now can capture that whole "City as a living, breathing thing", that Mann effortlessly does in his movies. If you Michael Mann has produced another high quality crime thriller in Collateral. Right from the opening scene, It bears all the hallmarks of his style, including that unbelievable use of lighting and colour that he put to such good use in Heat. No other director out there right now can capture that whole "City as a living, breathing thing", that Mann effortlessly does in his movies. If you have a decent home theater system, this movie will provide you with a showcase example of just exactly how good DVD can look and sound. Yes, it gets a little "Terminator'ish" towards the end, but both Fox and Cruise pull off a couple of fabulous performances, the latter demonstrating just how versatile an actor he can be. Taps and Risky Business seem like an awful long time ago. Highly recommended. Expand
  81. BillJ.
    Dec 18, 2004
    8
    Enjoyable movie with some tension and atmosphere particularly early on. But degenerates into standard formula movie about half-way through. The usual moralistic ending - bad guy pays the price.
  82. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    This 2004 Michael Mann classic is a thrilling 120 minute ride, Awesome Acting from Jamie Foxx especially from Mr Cruise in a amazing villainous turn.
  83. chw
    Jun 8, 2015
    8
    Collateral was a really good movie. You would swear that everyone did what they did in this outside of acting, especially by Foxx (even though he doesn't get paid much for a job he acts out so well).
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. The movie never really gets below that surface. It sticks to the mean streets of Los Angeles without much introspection or analysis. But those surfaces are slick and beguiling.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    80
    Mann vividly captures the nocturnal pulse of East L.A. in this taut, confined game of cat and mouse. In the homestretch the thrills get too generic and farfetched for their own good. But the first two thirds are a knockout.
  3. 80
    Shot by shot, scene by scene, Mann, whose recent work includes “Heat” and "The Insider," may be the best director in Hollywood. Methodical and precise, he analyzes a scene into minute components.