User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 110
  2. Negative: 26 out of 110

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2011
    3
    This movie look's like a pseudo spin off of "The Loser's". Where Zoe Saldana ; plays pretty much the exact same character , but without the lime light.Although the alluring figure of the actress coupled with gun's and explosions will make the opening week a bro- fest i don't see this recycled vengeance plot , becoming a colt classic.I would much rather watch a "The Loser's 2" with Saldana playing a larger role then the first then a slightly different story starring her completely. Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2011
    4
    I wanted to like this movie. Zoe Saldana is gorgeous and very capable in an action movie. For some reason, though, she keeps picking lousy screenplays (like The Losers, which was also not good). Columbiana is well shot and looks great. The pacing is fine. But this screenplay is so corny and full of insipid plot holes and logical leaps that is strains credulity. The director is very adept in filming the action scenes and makes good use of the various locations. But you can't get past the stupid script, unless you just don't care how stupid it is. While one must be able to suspend disbelief to go with a number of movies, some movies just push that envelope so badly that it does not work. Luc Besson's heavy handed mitts are clumsily all over this formulaic, corny and predictable story with cliche-ridden villains, which is a shame. Zoe Saldana is almost worth the price of admission, but this would have been better if it were a female "Bourne" or her being the next Lara Croft. As it is this is a pretty movie with a stunning star that is just terrible. Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2011
    3
    The stupidity of this movie isn't what make it bad. The fact that it actually think its smart, is what makes this movie so dismal. Sitting through it was a difficult experience, not even Saldana's beauty and effort could save it. In fact it only makes it more difficult to watch as she's wasting talent on a movie that should have been made for tv. Colombiana is a cliched-ridden mess, with poor dialogue that would make the best of actors look horrible. The movie crumbles as the story progresses, and its surely one of the summer's loudest light-weights. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Restraint isn't a word that you'd normally associate with filmmaker Quentin Tarantino, especially in "Kill Bill: Vol. 1", the Grand Guignol revenge spectacle, starring Uma Thurman as The Bride, the be-all and end-all of female vigilantes, who keeps killing until there's nobody left to kill. Despite the high body count, the film does have a moral center as it pertains to children, unlike cross-generational films such as John Carpenter's "Assault on Precinct 13"(where during the infamous ice cream truck sequence, a little girl is graphically shot in the chest), and the recent "Kick-Ass", featuring Chloe Moretz, who as Hit Girl, similar to young Cataleya in "Colombiana", seems way too wise beyond her years, in regard to violence. In retrospect, Tarantino has his limits. Vernita, a.k.a. "Copperhead", allows her daughter Nikki to have a childhood(in "Kill Bill: Vol. 2", Bill turns out to be a surprisingly good parent, too), and in return, The Bride allows the girl to live, even though a double homicide would have been cleaner. Nikki acts like how a little girl should, when confronted with the sight of some strange woman removing a knife from her mother's chest. She does nothing. A recent slate of films(in addition to "Kick-Ass", there is also Joe Wright's "Hanna" and Jaume Collet-Serra's "Orphan) makes it seem completely natural that a child should stab or shoot like a pro. Tarantino understands that Nikki is too young for murder; too unformed for vengeance, so she just stands there, shellshocked, as The Bride wipes the blood off from her blade. In "Colombiana", however, taking its cues from those aforementioned movies, in which kids commit violent acts with a disproportionate amount of competence, and more disturbingly, with steely resolve, Cataleya pins the hand of a drug lord's henchman to the table, and declares her intention "to kill Don Luis," only moments after a hit squad orphans the girl, as if maiming a grown man, then escaping through an open window, and scaling down a building, followed by her outrunning a pack of angry Colombians through a shanty town, is par for the course, despite being nine. To put her exploits in perspective, Paul Kersey(Charles Bronson), perhaps, the most famous vigilante of them all, whose actions in the "Death Wish" movies inspired real-life copycats, is downright tentative in responding to the home invaders that destroys his family. The ease in which Cataleya handles a knife becomes a contextual indicator of violence in regard to its cultural evolution from being a man's business to mere kid's play, since Bronson's first weapon isn't a gun, but a sock filled with quarters, twenty dollars worth, which he acquires from the bank, in lieu of procuring a real weapon from an arms dealer. Ironically, it's the architect who possesses a childish armament, whereas Cataleya, upon arriving in the states, announces to her older brother that she wants to be a killer. The girl turns Bronson into Macaulay Culkin; when Paul is home alone, he swings the sock over his head. Emilio tries to deter Cataleya from her plan by shooting over a crowd to no avail. "Colombiana" avoids controversy by cutting to Cataleya all grown up, thereby averting the unsettling sight of a homicidal minor. As an adult, Cataleya is played by Zoe Saldana, and because of her skin color, the kneejerk response is to link her to blaxploitation stars such as Pam Grier and Tamara Dobson, since the film itself is being marketed as a sort of black "Le Femme Nikita". But where's the camp value? To put it in politically incorrect terms, Cataleya kills like a white woman, a female vigilante more akin to Camille Keaton in "Day of the Women", and especially, Christina Lindberg in "Thriller: A Cruel Picture"; women with sadism on their minds. For a heroin, the 1973 Bo Arne Vibenius cult classic had a heroin-addled farm girl(made mute by rape), who goes on a killing spree after escaping from a life of sex slavery. Although Madeline's vengeance is justified(she shoots her johns, both male and female), there's no condoning her deviation from the hit list when the one-eyed girl kills two cops, and the innocent motorists she runs off the highway. By the time Madeline gets to Tony, the purity of the girl's mission is all but compromised, due to the pleasure she derives from her use of torture on the pimp. It's the ruination of all vigilantes, the humanity that becomes mislaid as they hazard through their righteous quest, in which the wronged person becomes the very thing he/she hates, a cold-blooded killer. Instead of a horse, Cataleya uses sharks and dogs to do her pernicious bidding. This tag killer(an orchid) is not the little girl who watched her parents get murdered. She becomes an evil that both Emilio and the film itself doesn't seem to grasp. "Colombiana" is as desensitized to violence as Cataleya seems to be. It's left to the moviegoer to judge this serial murderer. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    2
    Not the worst film I've seen in a while but a major disappointment. Ludicrous from a believability standpoint. (My big hang up with action flicks.) Not worth the $5 price of a matinee ticket. Wait for it to hit cable TV. Just make sure its on a movie channel cause its not worth sitting through commercials either.
  6. Aug 29, 2011
    4
    From the director of '' Transporter 3 '' brought us '' Colombiana ''. Do I need to say more ? It's everything that you would expect. A cold blooded assassin, who kills people, who has an another identity, who does awesome spy stuff. She's like Jason Statham's dream wife. Yes, l am a fan of those action movies, but this is just boring and uninteresting. There's more action in the trailer then in the movie itself. I didn't see anything new in '' Colombiana '', beside the location. Witnessing her parents death, wanting revenge, I have all seen that before. It's so cliche that I became frustrated and I wanted to punch the director in the face. I felt bad for Zoe Saldana because I liked her in this role and she tried to make it work. The very few actions scenes were great do. I'm giving this movie a 4 out of 10, because Zoe is hot. It's like if all of the sudden action movies are getting boring (last week's '' Conan the Barbarian '' is a perfect example). I hope it won't happen again until December. '' Colombiana '' is not worth seeing. Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2011
    3
    Sexy and bad ass assassin. Zoe Saldana deserve better than this. It was sucks, really, really sucks, nothing to do with it. I though it could be be great, the trailer looks great and my expectation is so high.
  8. Aug 29, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I gave this movie a three for implausible and overly unrealistic plot points. Without posting actual spoilers, I will say this: there were just too many things that relied too heavily on things happening in a very specific manner. She never had to resort to a Plan B, and there was never any danger of her being caught because she was just "too good". There wasn't much suspense in it for me.
    However... If all you are looking for is guns and explosions and chase scenes and fights, then this movie will definitely deliver.
    Expand
  9. Aug 30, 2011
    1
    This movie was poor. Led with poor acting, poor action sequences and a weak story. I only saw this movie because its what my gf chose and it was free because i work at the theater. I never cared to see this movie because of the annoying trailer where the father says "never forget where you came from" like 10 times. I saw it though and their wasnt anything to like. The fighting scenes looked fake and the main actress didnt even seem to be trained at all. The only thing that was good was the main actress had good looks, thats about all i can say, and the beginning scene where the little katayana (however you spell it) was running away was ridiculous because somehow her and the guys she was chased by all of a sudden became pros at parkour. Anyways this movie was ridiculously dumb, made no sense. 1/10 Expand
  10. Jan 24, 2012
    2
    Colombiana is totally piece of crap. I have literary found more then 20 big mistakes in the first half. Olivier Megaton's directing was so bad that I am worried that he will ruin TAKEN 2 . Zoë had everything to made that role perfect but she was awful. Others did really really bad . The whole film was Serious Action film with Funny Mistakes . The Story was a bit lose but Olivier made it so bad that its really hard to imagine how he become a director .Sound mixing was good But the whole movie was childish , Foolish and Sucked damn big time. Expand
  11. Sep 1, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Luc Besson is a well-known writer of several cult classics, and action films including Taken, The Transporter (all films), Unleashed, La Femme Nikita, The Big Blue and The Fifth Element. There Expand
  12. Mar 11, 2012
    3
    Disons-le d'office, Colombiana n'est pas la plus mauvaise production de Besson. Mais quand on sait que ce film aurait pu être une suite à Léon (et que Cataleya aurait été Mathilda), la déception est grande. Déjà parce que question action, on n'est pas excessivement servi (étonnant de la part de Besson), au point que l'on ressent parfois de l'ennui. Et puis, le film s'offre quelques moments de sentimentalisme. Je ne suis pas contre, tant que ces instants soient crédibles. Ici, ils sont barbants. En clair, Colombiana n'est pas le film d'action que j'attendais, plutôt mou du genou, excessivement invraisemblable question scénario (qui est déjà bien léger sur le papier) et qui, de toute évidence, n'arrive pas à la cheville de Léon... Expand
  13. Sep 12, 2011
    3
    Skip-it - Zoe Saldana, the naked blue chick from Avatar, is an assassin seeking revenge for her murdered parents - if you are still interested in seeing that story play out you won't be disappointed by the over-the-top action.
  14. Oct 7, 2011
    1
    Colombiana is a fantastic comedy. That statement pretty much says it all. Unlike other low budget action films released in the last few years (Taken and Unknown are just some) it just doesn't work as a mindless action film. It doesn't work as a story about a woman seeking revenge on the cartel that killed her family. It just doesn't work and that's what makes it so unbearably funny. Well that and the cast, script and the fact that every set looks like it is made out of corrugated cardboard. Its a complete mess and lines like "you're my brother in law, not my boss" don't help its cause at all. The only redeeming feature is that it actually did make me laugh, I gained that little bit of amusement out of this film because it was so bad I chuckled. Expand
  15. Jan 6, 2012
    3
    Filled with a couple of plot holes, an overall weak story and a forced underdeveloped romance between our Colombiana an her guy, this movie's main achievement is its over the top creative ways of killing people.
  16. Jan 31, 2012
    4
    Sometimes abandoning all logic can make an action movie a lot more fun than it would be if done completely straight -- the main problem with Colombiana is that it tries to do both. Unfortunately, this only serves to annoy an audience that should know better. 'The best of both worlds' seems to be Besson and Megaton's mantra for much of the production. They want a strong, capable female action hero, but they also want her to be vulnerable, moral and relatable; they want a thrilling action blockbuster, but they also want it to have emotional depth; they want silly over-the-top fight sequences, but they also want a believable story. It's this kind of indecision that eventually makes the movie just end up being weak as its ideas are spread too thin. Some cohesive and realised writing would lift this choppy, half-baked nonsense into either a kick-ass action-fest, or an artsy revenge thriller. Currently, Colombiana is neither. Expand
  17. Dec 30, 2011
    2
    Colombiana is an awful disappointment of a movie. I had high hopes for this Luc Besson movie and was expecting a Transporter-esque movie with a subbed-in female lead. Don't bother with this movie unless you're extremely bored and it's free. *Pros: -mildly entertaining -it didn't burn my eyes out* *Cons: -Bad dialogue -Predictable plot -45kg woman beating up 80kg men -Huge plot holes
    -Horrible script*
    Expand
  18. Jan 15, 2012
    3
    I really wanted to like this film, in fact i was really excited too see this. That is until i got in the middle of the film and realized how bad it was. One actor ( Zoe Saldana)cant carry a whole movie filled bad supporting actors and little to no character devlopment whats so ever. This film really had potential to be the next Tomb Raider, but this movie just felt rushed more than anything. It will leave sracthing your head and wanting your time and money back. Expand
  19. Feb 16, 2012
    3
    Columbiana is not much more than a collection of action movie cliches and predictable revenge movie scenes stitched together. It's been done before of course, but i was surprised at how darkly amoral everyone seems to be in this movie. Basically zoe saldana's drug dealing parents were killed by their drug dealing boss, so as a young girl she vows to kill him right back. But she doesn't do it right away, being only eight or nine years old. She escapes from her homeland and travels to america where she learns from her killer of a brother how to become an assasin, and spends the rest of her life killing bad guys for money in the hopes of drawing out her real target so she can kill him. Obviously we're supposed to side with Cataleya on her riteous quest for payback, but she's just not that likeable. Her revenge motivation seems like not much more than an excuse to waste people in interesting ways, or her double standard when it comes to morality. In one scene she weeps miserably over her lost parents, then in the next sentence, she threatens to kill the family of an FBI man one by one if he doesn't help her. Her brother and mentor isn't much better. In another scene, he preaches to a young Cataleya the importance of education after randomly murdering some passerby in front of her school. Attempts are made to humanize Cataleya by showing she's in a relationship with Michael Vartan, a bland acessory who mostly communicates in mumbles of affection. He seems pathetically subservient, as if he's just happy to be hittin that. Later in the movie, when he finds out the love of his life has murdered dozens of people, he sheepishly asks when he can see her again. With a story and characters this weak its hard to enjoy the action when that starts heating up. You can point out the plot early on, and find no surprises. There's the loved ones that are going to be killed off at the end of the second act..there's the dedicated cop who will chase his prey through the whole movie but never quite make it..there's the smug kingpin who will get the most creative death..yeah, we've seen it all before. Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 1, 2011
    20
    Colombiana is one long megayawn; I'd have garnered more titillating thrills rewatching freckle-faced Russkie sexbomb Natalya Rudakova strut her leggy, sassy stuff in Megaton and Besson's "Transporter 3."
  2. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Aug 29, 2011
    63
    Colombiana isn't the last word in action movies, but it's a fun ride. And so wrong.
  3. 40
    Luc Besson's Jumping Frog Action Factory looks mighty lame in Colombiana.