Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Mar 16, 2013
    75
    Makinov's film expertly crafts a sense of dawning madness that hinges on its villains' unspoken fury at their elders.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Mar 21, 2013
    70
    Stripped down and edited for disequilibrium rather than clarity, “Play” is less interested in pandering to gorehounds than in highlighting our reluctance to view children as anything other than innocent.
  3. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Mar 21, 2013
    70
    This nastily efficient horror film delivers genuine chills.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 20, 2013
    67
    Come Out and Play is a good example of how to eke out film thrills with a minimum of elements. Makinov should prove to be a filmmaker to watch.
  5. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    A one-man band known as Makinov — he wrote, directed, produced, shot, edited and ran sound here — has done a pretty decent job in the chills department using a simple story, small cast and largely contained location.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Mar 19, 2013
    40
    This remake of ’70s Spanish horror film "Who Can Kill a Child?" is less a contemporary upgrade than an eagerly creaky exploitative throwback.
  7. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Mar 19, 2013
    0
    Even by the standards of the genre, the characters behave with astonishing stupidity, while Makinov tries repeatedly to mine suspense from slowly creeping up on his actors with the camera.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Jun 6, 2013
    0
    zzzzzzzzzzzz!!!!!!! and the director thought "only" the music would do the trick??? probably one of the worst films i've ever seen, and trust me, i'm not that difficult when it comes to films... Full Review »
  2. May 6, 2013
    4
    The only part of the movie of any interest was in the end where some action finally happened. Otherwise its 90 minutes of sleeping and getting bored. Seems like a pure waste of money. I wouldnt even watch it if it came on tv for free. Full Review »