Lionsgate | Release Date: August 19, 2011
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 179 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
64
Negative:
57
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Xiphus200Aug 19, 2011
I've been a fan of Conan for a while, having read Robert E Howard's original stories and the comic books that have followed. I thought the movie did a good job of capturing the spirit of Conan and while the plot may be formulaic I was stillI've been a fan of Conan for a while, having read Robert E Howard's original stories and the comic books that have followed. I thought the movie did a good job of capturing the spirit of Conan and while the plot may be formulaic I was still entertained the whole way through. The movie touches on all the staples one would find in Robert E Howard tales and I thought that Jason Momoa played a convincing Conan, able to portray his barbaric savagery and cunning. I enjoyed watching this movie very much and would love to see Jason Momoa return to the screen as Conan. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
aldoseriSep 4, 2011
i think the movies has a very good story and action and every friend of mine like the movie so its a greet movie and it deserves watching but i wish i watch it in 3D
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
TresidentevilFeb 12, 2012
When you watch a film like Conan what do you truly expect? You need to judge Conan in the correct context, the context of a fantasy action film. From this perspective Conan is truly a brilliant film. I don't approach films like this expectingWhen you watch a film like Conan what do you truly expect? You need to judge Conan in the correct context, the context of a fantasy action film. From this perspective Conan is truly a brilliant film. I don't approach films like this expecting deep storylines and nobody should. Likewise I'd have thought modern viewers would be familiar with films having their own interpretations of original works. The original Conan would never have worked in film form, hence it NEEDS to be changed. Momoa is simply brilliant for the role set before him. I watched this film because I wanted to see fighting and fantasy and it delivered on those things 100%, I have a passing interest in Howards original works. It's about time movie magazines stopped reviewing action films if they can't review them from a fair perspective. Fantastic film, hope they make many many more. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerDec 2, 2011
If you like gory fantasy movies with some of the best action scenes out there, then this is for you, truly fantastic and had me dying to see what would happen next, and the acting is fantastic, especially from the guy who played Conan, andIf you like gory fantasy movies with some of the best action scenes out there, then this is for you, truly fantastic and had me dying to see what would happen next, and the acting is fantastic, especially from the guy who played Conan, and the script is surprisingly well done, a fantastic movie that I would love to see sequels for, a must watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DarkJediDec 31, 2011
I quite liked this film, more than I liked Captain America: The First Avenger that we watched a couple of days ago. It has gotten some rather disappointing ratings. I obviously disagree.

I found the film to be pretty much what I hoped for. I
I quite liked this film, more than I liked Captain America: The First Avenger that we watched a couple of days ago. It has gotten some rather disappointing ratings. I obviously disagree.

I found the film to be pretty much what I hoped for. I read some reviews on IMDb stating that Conan only said about 40 words, that he wasnâ
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GilAug 20, 2011
What a wonderful world they have set up, true to the work of Robert E Howard! I just feel like I want to dive deeper into it. I hope they come out with an extended edition. And let's hope they bring more of his fiction to the screen!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VlahkmaakAug 20, 2011
The director could have gotten a little more out of Conan's dad but that little bit of weak acting aside this is the Conan we have been waiting for - appropriately harsh, cruel, and brutal. Jason Momoa delivered where Arnold could not.The director could have gotten a little more out of Conan's dad but that little bit of weak acting aside this is the Conan we have been waiting for - appropriately harsh, cruel, and brutal. Jason Momoa delivered where Arnold could not. These so called critics ripping the movie apart are not fit to review comercials promoting crack to crack addicts and probabaly thought Avatar was a deep and intellectual work and not the cheap weak Rousseauian noble-savage space spin off it was. I would go see this CONAN again - True Grit was the last movie I paid for twice. Damn the critics - go see this movie. It was a great time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
genericuser8888Aug 20, 2011
Movies are all about what you expect going in. I expected a lot of cool ***-kicking, and this movie did not let me down. Conan is hardcore!! I did not want some huge love story. That would not have been true to the character. There wasMovies are all about what you expect going in. I expected a lot of cool ***-kicking, and this movie did not let me down. Conan is hardcore!! I did not want some huge love story. That would not have been true to the character. There was a small love story element there, but at the end, ....I'm not going to give it away, but let's just say they do stay true to the character. The critics are way to harsh on this movie. The movie does have its flaws, some obvious, and they could have done more with Conan and the world he lives in, but overall, I went expecting to see a good summer action flick, and this is easily the best action movie that I saw all summer. If you want ***-kicking and a tough guy lead, then you will likely think this is a good movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moviesRawsomeAug 21, 2011
to me one of the years best it does what movie a should do entertain, yes the character development is bad and the acting is not all that good but it makes up for it by just being fun the action scenes are just awsome the special affects areto me one of the years best it does what movie a should do entertain, yes the character development is bad and the acting is not all that good but it makes up for it by just being fun the action scenes are just awsome the special affects are good not the best but still good.but in the end this movie is just bad ass go and see it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
cyphus4Aug 19, 2011
The story and sets truly capture the spirit of Robert E. Howard original novelettes. I even think Jason Momoa did well as Conan, despite the script. Action scenes were great and truly engrossing. Besides most of Jason's lines, the dialogueThe story and sets truly capture the spirit of Robert E. Howard original novelettes. I even think Jason Momoa did well as Conan, despite the script. Action scenes were great and truly engrossing. Besides most of Jason's lines, the dialogue was poor and amateur. If you're an action fan or a true Conan fan (not the crappy arnold movie from the 80s), don't let the professional reviews deter you from seeing this movie. You will be happy. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
TiberSeptimAug 19, 2011
Critics are way too hard on this film, as if everything needs to be a pretentious art house film from the '60. It's an action film, one I found to be really enjoyable, with interesting foes and bloody visceral combat. Is it as quoteable asCritics are way too hard on this film, as if everything needs to be a pretentious art house film from the '60. It's an action film, one I found to be really enjoyable, with interesting foes and bloody visceral combat. Is it as quoteable as the 1982 version? No. Does it have the beautiful soundtrack from the 1982 version that makes it my favorite action movie of all time? No. What I do know is that it was a fun movie released in an age where everything needs to have a tacky political message to be "recognized" Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
p1rateAug 20, 2011
I don't understand why it has such a low meta critic score, I'm was very happy with the movie. Sure it had a couple lines of dialogue that could have been better, but overall it was a fun action movie that captured the spirit of hyboria muchI don't understand why it has such a low meta critic score, I'm was very happy with the movie. Sure it had a couple lines of dialogue that could have been better, but overall it was a fun action movie that captured the spirit of hyboria much better then the old Arnold movies. I wonder if it would have got better ratings if they ended the movie half way through a story that tends to be the trend.. I'm happy they didn't and it was a self contained tale after establishing conans childhood. I really hope they make more conan movies. I'm so sick of all the crappy super hero movies that rake in tons of money so they call them "good movies" Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
toddacocoAug 29, 2011
Let's start off by saying that I have been a Conan fan for many years. I have read the original Howard material as well as both retellings of his saga through the Savage Sword and Dark Horse Conan series of Comics. Dark Horse has done ConanLet's start off by saying that I have been a Conan fan for many years. I have read the original Howard material as well as both retellings of his saga through the Savage Sword and Dark Horse Conan series of Comics. Dark Horse has done Conan proud. If you have not read the series do yourself a favor pick these compilations up.

I think the latest movie is the best representation of Howard's fantasy world on film. Is it for everyone? No. But I found myself very entertained. I think Jason did a great job of portraying Conan. I felt like I had stepped into a Savage Sword of Conan magazine. That's what I wanted from this film and it was all there. I would love to see this cast continue with other Conan stories. My only gripe was in the story. The father revenge story is good, but there are some fantastic Howard stories that I would love to see represented. "Rouges in the House" anyone. To sum my little review up, If you are any type of a Sword and Sorcery fan treat yourself to a great story within the Conan universe. The movie is much better than the pro reviews represent. I would give it a solid 75. My wife came along with me and found the film just as enjoyable as I did. She did classify it as gory action which it defiantly is but I think that is the way Howard wrote his tales.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
KalrocVNAug 28, 2011
If you're a fan of the sword and sorcery fantasy genre (like me), this is a movie you definitely want to see. It's the best fantasy film released since the Lord of the Rings, no contest. Solid acting and good visuals. Much more in lineIf you're a fan of the sword and sorcery fantasy genre (like me), this is a movie you definitely want to see. It's the best fantasy film released since the Lord of the Rings, no contest. Solid acting and good visuals. Much more in line with Robert E. Howard's original pulp stories than the 1982 Arnie film. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
natespankAug 23, 2011
Conan the barbarian rocked some socks. There were some incredibly cliche and cheesy moments, and at first I recoiled in horror at these... however, they pulled it off and instead of hurting the movie the cheese aided it. The violence is grim,Conan the barbarian rocked some socks. There were some incredibly cliche and cheesy moments, and at first I recoiled in horror at these... however, they pulled it off and instead of hurting the movie the cheese aided it. The violence is grim, the characters are potent, the situation is howard-esque and, while a re-imagining of Conan to an extent, it is true to what conan is and is a great movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
dziresAug 25, 2011
You must see this movie!!! It may not be Oscar worthy according to the "professional critics", but who cares? It's great entertainment, exciting, and Momoa makes a great Conan. I never listen to "professional critics". If I think a movieYou must see this movie!!! It may not be Oscar worthy according to the "professional critics", but who cares? It's great entertainment, exciting, and Momoa makes a great Conan. I never listen to "professional critics". If I think a movie looks good, I see it and make up my own mind. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ScottishFoxAug 25, 2011
This movie is closer to the REH version of Conan then the Ahnuld version from the 1980s. The music isn't as good and the directing is fairly bad. There are several scenes that jump without a smooth transition. That being said it is betterThis movie is closer to the REH version of Conan then the Ahnuld version from the 1980s. The music isn't as good and the directing is fairly bad. There are several scenes that jump without a smooth transition. That being said it is better than the movie from the 80s. The action is better. The choreography and the athleticism of the primary actors is dramatically better than the crowd of bodybuilders populating the 1st movie. Jason Mamoa can act circles around Arnold. Ron Perlman does a fantastic job and the kid playing teen Conan steals the show.

My only REAL gripe was the nature of the final fight scene. The environment is ludicrous, but it's not enough to really ding this movie after 90 mins of fantastic action scenes.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
CacophonyAug 29, 2011
This is a movie made by fans of the Arnold original, for fans of the original-- It's a great adventure story filled with otherworldly locations and characters. True to the 80's "classic," there are about 50 lines of dialogue in the entireThis is a movie made by fans of the Arnold original, for fans of the original-- It's a great adventure story filled with otherworldly locations and characters. True to the 80's "classic," there are about 50 lines of dialogue in the entire movie, each delivered with the pith and candor of Mike Tyson's right hook, and if you can't raise your drink to that, I really don't know what to say. The sound and action is visceral and bloodlust-inducing; it really feels like you're right there jamming a chunk of sharpened metal into some hapless grunt's coronal suture, and the score is blessedly Godsmack-free. If you have any love of the original Conan: The Barbarian, you owe it to yourself to see this, but for the rest of you that can't seem to enjoy this, I truly, truly pity you. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
SandrickApr 22, 2012
Thanks to all of the negative reviews here I was pleasantly surprised by how much fun this movie was. I thought that the casting was spot on and that the narrative captured the essence Howard's world. I loved the into to young Conan and IThanks to all of the negative reviews here I was pleasantly surprised by how much fun this movie was. I thought that the casting was spot on and that the narrative captured the essence Howard's world. I loved the into to young Conan and I thought that Pearlman was ideal for his father. I love the Howard stories, loved the comics, loved the old movies, but I definitely think that people's nostalgia for the old films has been the curse of this one. I couldn't help but appreciate how much practical movie making (real sets, stunts, etc) there was in place of CG. Sure some of the locales were computer generated, but I found that these were done very well and it didn't detract from the experience. This was a fun adventure that I hope people discover later as a cult film. My only gripe with the film is the use of Morgan Freeman as a narrator that drops out halfway through. If there is a narrator, then they should bookend the film, closing it out. Also, Morgan Freeman's voice was not a good choice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
xXRenTyrellXxAug 27, 2011
Conan: The Barbarian-poorly directed at times and a little to short in my opinion. Besides that, it was adventurous, and exciting. Pretty good, but did not live up to its full potential.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
I didn't think this movie was even remotely as bad as most people did. The acting wasn't good or anything but it wasn't terrible and I've seen a lot worst. The fight scenes were kinda cool and the story progressed well. I was hoping theyI didn't think this movie was even remotely as bad as most people did. The acting wasn't good or anything but it wasn't terrible and I've seen a lot worst. The fight scenes were kinda cool and the story progressed well. I was hoping they would get rid of all that stupid mystical mumbo jumbo and corny sorcery crap but unfortunately they did not and that is really what hurt the movie the most in my opinion. It's essentially a way to tell the story with very lazy writing. Overall, I thought this was an entertaining action movie. There were some flaws like below average acting by the protagonist and the ridiculous magical stuff but I still thought it was a much better movie than the original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
pitochJan 3, 2012
1) If you are a male
2) if you don't compare this movie to Milius' movie
3) if you like having instant fun without any sort of thinking,

Then, just be prepared to the best brainless B-movie of all time :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DafenixAug 15, 2013
I don't understand all the hate for this movie. I watched the originals and loved them. And I watched this and didn't love it any less. It's not the same as the original and it's not supposed to be. It's a reboot and not a remake.
Jason
I don't understand all the hate for this movie. I watched the originals and loved them. And I watched this and didn't love it any less. It's not the same as the original and it's not supposed to be. It's a reboot and not a remake.
Jason Momoa does a spectacular job playing Conan. He brings a great amount of charisma to the role as well as the physical presence required to play the legendary barbarian.
While the plot is formulaic and cliche I didn't go in expecting a deep and thought provoking movie. I went in expecting to see an action movie and that's what I got and was satisfied. Though it does suffer from some odd scene transitions in the beginning worthy of the Scott Pilgrim movie and offers a bit of cheese now and then I found that it didn't bother me enough to detract too much from the movie. But then I grew up with cheesy 80's action movies and the original Conan was also cheesy.

In conclusion I suggest you watch this movie for yourself and decide whether you like it or not. Just don't go in expecting the original. It's a reboot, not a remake. I, for one, wish it hadn't been destroyed so utterly in reviews so we could have seen a sequel starring Jason Momoa as Conan.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BluntsRuSFeb 21, 2016
This movie is by no means as bad as people say. Also don't try to compare it to the orignal movie as it is much different. If you like cult movie and any movies like LOTR or shows like Vikings you will want to check it out. Don't ever listenThis movie is by no means as bad as people say. Also don't try to compare it to the orignal movie as it is much different. If you like cult movie and any movies like LOTR or shows like Vikings you will want to check it out. Don't ever listen to critics reviews as they have bashed a lot great movies based on dumb things they get way to nitpicky. Always go with your gut if you think you will like it then watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SanDiegoOct 1, 2016
This movie is based on the comic books and an arnie's fantasy movie, this remake is cooler than the other ones. Conan is badass. It's about a man becomes the barbarian and fights evil with swords. 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews