ArenaPlex LLC | Release Date: October 3, 2003
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 25 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
22
Mixed:
1
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
NinjaMafiaNov 2, 2003
A great film but that is just considering my taste. I love the music they play, and I also find it touching how they are doing a concert for their friend that left them. It is a good musical but it is not a movie. It is more like a concert onA great film but that is just considering my taste. I love the music they play, and I also find it touching how they are doing a concert for their friend that left them. It is a good musical but it is not a movie. It is more like a concert on the big screen, which is fine by me. However, I did notice a few people in the theatre star to get on their confused face when they realized that this was just a concert to honor their friend. Nothing more. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveF.Jul 2, 2004
This concert was shown on television in Australia recently, and since watching it, I haven't been able to get it out of my mind. The best couple of hours in front of the tube I have ever spent. Beautiful music, lovingly reproduced by This concert was shown on television in Australia recently, and since watching it, I haven't been able to get it out of my mind. The best couple of hours in front of the tube I have ever spent. Beautiful music, lovingly reproduced by top shelf performers, no egos on show. I would love to have been there on the night. I wish I could rate this movie as 100 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaB.Jan 10, 2005
It was the performance of the best of the best celebrating the the life of the best...and it just doesn't get much better than that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephM.Nov 30, 2003
Flawless, beautiful tribute. A class act. Clapton, Lynne, McCartney, Starr, Dhani, Preston, they all shine.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisP.Dec 7, 2003
Just finished watching "The Concert For George" on DVD. I was totally blown away. Easily one of the greatest rock concert films ever made and hands down the best memorial concert I have ever witnessed. Billy Preston's "Isn't It A Just finished watching "The Concert For George" on DVD. I was totally blown away. Easily one of the greatest rock concert films ever made and hands down the best memorial concert I have ever witnessed. Billy Preston's "Isn't It A Pity" is truly one for the ages and Joe Brown's version of "Here Comes The Sun" is sure to warm the coldest of hearts. I consider myself an atheist, but during Clapton's lead guitar solo that ends 'While My Guitar Gently Weeps", I think I had a religious experience. The Concert For George exceeds any expectations one could have for a tribute to a great musician and even greater human being. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasmineJ.Oct 3, 2003
One of the most powerful movies all year! What a wonderful Tribute to an amazing musician!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeS.Oct 7, 2003
What a touching Tribute to Mr. Harrison!!! It brought you closer to his music & the Spirit of him in such a unique way... Well Done!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeneS.Mar 20, 2004
I have viewed the DVD at least 5 times and each time I have the same reaction which is joy, saddness, goose bumps, and most of all, a greater appreciation for the incredible talent that Georege Harrison was. Seeing Dhani surrounded by those I have viewed the DVD at least 5 times and each time I have the same reaction which is joy, saddness, goose bumps, and most of all, a greater appreciation for the incredible talent that Georege Harrison was. Seeing Dhani surrounded by those who loved his father while Olivia was sitting in the audience, gave even more impact to the experience. The guitar riffs are amazing and the various vocal interpretations deepened the sound going through my home theatre system. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DikoV.Jul 28, 2004
After watching the concert on Australian television I went and bought the DVD the very next day. For me its a spiritual and a heart warming experience. There could not have been a better tribute to a man who wrote some wonderful lyrics and After watching the concert on Australian television I went and bought the DVD the very next day. For me its a spiritual and a heart warming experience. There could not have been a better tribute to a man who wrote some wonderful lyrics and music that touched so many hearts. I would like to thank Dhani and Olivia for sharing this experience with us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ronc.Mar 28, 2005
I was a moderate George fan but seeing/hearing this terrific show turned me into a HUGE Harrison fan. A wonderful evening of great music from great rockers and topped off with a beautifully simple and poignant rendering of "I'll See You I was a moderate George fan but seeing/hearing this terrific show turned me into a HUGE Harrison fan. A wonderful evening of great music from great rockers and topped off with a beautifully simple and poignant rendering of "I'll See You In My Dreams" by Joe Brown. A perfect ending to a perfect concert. George was there and he loved it all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayaMay 28, 2005
The best concert ever presented PERIOD! All of the versions of all of the songs actually surpass the originals (possible?). McCartney has never sung better! Anoushka Shankar defies rating! Arpana may be the best piece of music ever! The best concert ever presented PERIOD! All of the versions of all of the songs actually surpass the originals (possible?). McCartney has never sung better! Anoushka Shankar defies rating! Arpana may be the best piece of music ever! It's transcendental to typical pop music. It's a bona fide spiritual experience that justifies the existence of everything for which it stands: music, poetry, love, friendship. It is sentimental without being mawkish; virtuoso sans artistic excess, and truly truly fitting. Because George Harrison deserves it. Though one of the bigget stars ever, he looked beyond the limelight to search for God. Then, ever the gentleman, he shared his find with the world, simply and without embarrasmen. His breathtaking poetry didn't sound like pontification. And the concert doesn't either. It's the perfect tribute to Geroge Harrison, hands down the coolest guy to emerge from the rock mlieu. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianF.Dec 31, 2003
Simply amazing. The best cimamatic musical performance since The Band's Last Waltz. Every song was done to perfection in a most unique manner. George's "Something" will blow you away. McCartney and Clapton relive the harmony of Simply amazing. The best cimamatic musical performance since The Band's Last Waltz. Every song was done to perfection in a most unique manner. George's "Something" will blow you away. McCartney and Clapton relive the harmony of "your asking me will my love grow...I don't knoooooow...IIIIII don't know..." mixed in with some Jeff Lynn...it's fantastic. Joe Browns version of "I'll See You In My Dreams" is a wonderful way to end the show. This is a must have for any music lover!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimD.Apr 21, 2004
For those of you who will never have a chance to see George this is the best you can come too. I grew up and was able to enjoy his music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredM.Jul 31, 2004
Spectacular, inspired, moving tribute by stellar stars of years ago...weaving a spiritual experience for the viewer/listener. It is both exhilarating and sad. I play to to listen to his lyrics and balance my mood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DieterH.Nov 13, 2006
It's possible that there are other concerts equally well played and filmed, but it's hardly possible that there could be one better, so this can be the bench mark for a 10. The performances are astonishing. Eric Clapton's solo It's possible that there are other concerts equally well played and filmed, but it's hardly possible that there could be one better, so this can be the bench mark for a 10. The performances are astonishing. Eric Clapton's solo on While My Guitar Gently Weeps is to cry for. (He played the solo on the original song too, so who better to play it here.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful