Congo

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. [Anonymous]
    Oct 7, 2006
    6
    This Crichton adaptation isn't as disastrous as the critics say, but it's ultimately a disappointment. The volcano
  2. DudsiH.
    Jan 8, 2006
    6
    I saw this movie as a kid and I remember finding it quite entertaining. So I guess it isn't as bad as the critics say it is.
  3. JackZ.
    Aug 17, 2008
    9
    Fantastic film. I fail to understand why the critics hated it so much. This is Big Trouble in Little China for the 1990s, set in an African jungle. It may not be as good as BTILC, but it's a damn fun adventure yarn. You've got action, adventure, romance, a crazy guy who talks funny, the cool African-American from Ghostbusters (he is SUCH a cool character), really cool special Fantastic film. I fail to understand why the critics hated it so much. This is Big Trouble in Little China for the 1990s, set in an African jungle. It may not be as good as BTILC, but it's a damn fun adventure yarn. You've got action, adventure, romance, a crazy guy who talks funny, the cool African-American from Ghostbusters (he is SUCH a cool character), really cool special effects (the aeroplane flaregun scene was awesome), plus LAZERS! Come on people, how could this film get any better? Really, the only thing that let's it down is some excess sentimentalism regarding Amy the talking gorilla. It's pure non-stop fun, and anyone who criticises it needs to get their fun glands checked. If you like films like BTILC, Golden Child, and other awesome 80s films, then watch this. It's a retro-styled blast from the past, and it is awesome. Expand
  4. JamesBond
    Oct 8, 2007
    7
    This movie may not be a classic, but the critics' overly negative consensus was not very fair. The movie was entertaining at times, especially toward the end, when the man-eating gorillas attacked, and the special effects were pretty good.
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    5
    I have read Michael Crichton's excellent books and Steven Spielberg helped him turn one of his greatest creations "Jurassic Park" into a worldwide success in 1993. So, as you can imagine, I've never heard/seen this movie before, but what I do know is it was based on a fantastic book. With a book that good, Michael Crichton sold his film rights once again to Hollywood but it turns out thatI have read Michael Crichton's excellent books and Steven Spielberg helped him turn one of his greatest creations "Jurassic Park" into a worldwide success in 1993. So, as you can imagine, I've never heard/seen this movie before, but what I do know is it was based on a fantastic book. With a book that good, Michael Crichton sold his film rights once again to Hollywood but it turns out that they didn't get Steven Spielberg. Instead, Frank Marshall took the project.

    I've heard that the critics gave negative reviews about this movie, so I think that this movie deserves a 5/10.

    Because the only good things that I found entertaining about this movie was those cool laser guns, the Animaltronics, and the actors Bruce Campbell and Ernie Hudson.

    The only bad things were the unexplained plot holes, the clichés, the lack and style of the plot, and the poor storytelling.

    It wasn't good and it wasn't bad. It was just very mediocre for a movie adaptation of a well-known Michael Chrichton book.

    For adults, they won't be impressed, but for kids, it definitely worth a watch.
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2011
    10
    22?
    Some of these critics just need to have a nice, relaxing dump.
    Does not deserve such a rating. Not every movie needs to be a Stanley Kubrick masterpiece. Avatar was a complete hack of Dances with Wolves and Ferngully with worldwide success....yet this kind of original popcorn fun is buried. It's unbelievable how much some of these crotch stains love the smell of their own farts. Rent
    22?
    Some of these critics just need to have a nice, relaxing dump.
    Does not deserve such a rating. Not every movie needs to be a Stanley Kubrick masterpiece.
    Avatar was a complete hack of Dances with Wolves and Ferngully with worldwide success....yet this kind of original popcorn fun is buried.
    It's unbelievable how much some of these crotch stains love the smell of their own farts.
    Rent it. This is a classic B-movie. It's not nostalgia that's guiding my view on this. This movie is still good by today's standards.
    It's not as deep as Jurassic Park, but it's still a memorable flick.
    Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2015
    6
    There is something weird, screwed up and interesting about this film -
    it's mainly because it's the style of film that can't be made any more-
    a massive blockbuster film with huge sets, but without CGI, with overtones of racism and bizarre stunts, including an entire species of gorilla being violently made extinct with a giant ad-hoc laser rifle - by the main characters. It's
    There is something weird, screwed up and interesting about this film -
    it's mainly because it's the style of film that can't be made any more-
    a massive blockbuster film with huge sets, but without CGI, with overtones of racism and bizarre stunts, including an entire species of gorilla being violently made extinct with a giant ad-hoc laser rifle - by the main characters. It's preposterous in all the right ways, although by the end you're truly wondering what exactly the point was. I guess, don't like diamonds? Or mess with Susan Sarandan? Perhaps.
    Expand
  8. Jul 1, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is a shining example of what cinema should strive to be. Set in the deep jungles of Africa, this action packed thrill ride provides moviegoers with almost 2 hours of non stop fun. One of the best characters in this movie is actually a Gorilla named Amy portrayed by renowned African actor Adewalé! Throughout the course of the movie, I always on the edge of my seat, heart pounding wondering what misfortune would befall the amazing team of actors including fish-face and many but not all of the Harlem Globe Trotters. Tyler Perry has truly outdone himself this time! I give this movie a 4.... out of "4". Expand
Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
  1. 75
    The result is not a movie that is very good, exactly, but it's entertaining and funny.
  2. 50
    This is easily the worst filmed version of anything penned by the prolific author.
  3. This glib, overheated film about vicious primates delivers little suspense, nor are there signs of the 65 cited volumes and articles that turned Mr. Crichton's book into such a learning experience.