Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 9, 2011
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 440 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
278
Mixed:
120
Negative:
42
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
MarcDoyleSep 12, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For a movie about an epidemic, it really could have used a greater sense of urgency - or perhaps some zombies. It just falls flat and doesn't go down the rabbit-hole on enough issues. Would have been interesting to know a bit more about how the politics behind how the vaccines were being made. I'm not sure I'm a fan of how they reveal the initial source of the contagion at the end. Interesting, but there just wasn't a lot to it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
DougOct 1, 2011
Totally average in every way. No character development whatsoever. The most developed character in this film was "the government", and you know they are always the bad guy. And that whole thing with Lawrence Fishburn made no senseTotally average in every way. No character development whatsoever. The most developed character in this film was "the government", and you know they are always the bad guy. And that whole thing with Lawrence Fishburn made no sense whatsoever. It's like they may have had something in the first cut, but then they had to cut the movie down to 2 hours. As a result, the audience was left with nothing to attach itself to, except the virus. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
BHBarrySep 9, 2011
â
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
mau1133Nov 2, 2011
I was expecting more from this film , i went to to it with my wife and well my problem is with the film in general because the acting was really good. I really dont remember what i was expecting to see but i do remember when the movie wasI was expecting more from this film , i went to to it with my wife and well my problem is with the film in general because the acting was really good. I really dont remember what i was expecting to see but i do remember when the movie was over i felt like well ok it finished lets go home now. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DarkCriticSep 11, 2011
Contagion is pretty good movie that spreads people with deadly diseases that kill millions of people around the world that makes us scare that what will happen to this world. We can see that the movie shows everything that there are severalContagion is pretty good movie that spreads people with deadly diseases that kill millions of people around the world that makes us scare that what will happen to this world. We can see that the movie shows everything that there are several people have serious problems that they need to get rid of disease and they couldn't find the cure to heal them. This movie is pretty done well that spreads messages that could take a really serious thing that they'll be happening to us that it's infecting the entire diseases and it's worth for a dramatic movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
markOct 13, 2012
This movie will confuse the audience as it confused me. I've watched it 8 times so far and its still not clear if Morpheous is still in The Matrix or outside it. And we were lead to believe the world came to an end through the battle of man &This movie will confuse the audience as it confused me. I've watched it 8 times so far and its still not clear if Morpheous is still in The Matrix or outside it. And we were lead to believe the world came to an end through the battle of man & machine. Now they've changed the story to a virus. I'd wish they would make up their minds. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
fantasySep 9, 2011
This is a sorry excuse for a movie. There is no character development whatsoever and other than people dying from an unexplained virus there is nothing much going on. There are more plot holes that Carter has little liver pills. ThereThis is a sorry excuse for a movie. There is no character development whatsoever and other than people dying from an unexplained virus there is nothing much going on. There are more plot holes that Carter has little liver pills. There isn't one character in this movie that you even remotely care about it. The Government is always the bad guy no matter what. Matt Damon the star picked up a nice check but exactly for what I have no idea. If anyone can tell my his job occupation I sure would like to know. Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
6
GOUGHSep 10, 2011
Okay folks, it was a bit drifty, and funny, as I viewed it...yes, there was the horror of the killer virus, but also, so too, the reality aspects of it that says then and now, some people WON'T DIE when these things hit. HELLO! And that's aOkay folks, it was a bit drifty, and funny, as I viewed it...yes, there was the horror of the killer virus, but also, so too, the reality aspects of it that says then and now, some people WON'T DIE when these things hit. HELLO! And that's a GREAT point! And, yeah, more will probably die from the panic, etc. Recently had a major blackout. Hmm, did we pass the test? Are you ready? For any thing? Are we still being led by the nose? As for the film, yeah, it was short, only an hour and 45 minutes? FELT LIKE 3 EASY! But still it was well made and the folks in it WERE good. Keep going 'Steve'. I don't like all of what you do, but this one's pretty good. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
ShaunnyBwoyNov 2, 2011
This movie was a poor attempt at simulating the movie Outbreak. It was slow to begin with, with incoherent scenes and the characters were all dull. I'm not being biased either, as I find factual science and documentaries fascinating, so a mixThis movie was a poor attempt at simulating the movie Outbreak. It was slow to begin with, with incoherent scenes and the characters were all dull. I'm not being biased either, as I find factual science and documentaries fascinating, so a mix of these two should have been great... but it wasn't. I'm also a big fan of Laurence Fishburne, but this role didn't do him any justice. How this got a better review from the critics than Machine Gun Preacher, I have no idea! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
kingshahidOct 1, 2011
This is somehow rated high and given lots of attention, but for what? ... I give it a zero - it states the obvious possibility of a disease that can go viral. Whats new about that? ... The thrill was there at the beginning after the firstThis is somehow rated high and given lots of attention, but for what? ... I give it a zero - it states the obvious possibility of a disease that can go viral. Whats new about that? ... The thrill was there at the beginning after the first 30minutes it was lag to sit through. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
gunnyartOct 22, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slice of life (or in this case death). No significant plot just a plodding look at the progression of a pandemic. I wouldn't call that revelation a plot spoiler since the preview essentially tells the whole story at a glance. That said I stayed engaged for the whole thing, but I could understand if you didn't. I guess I was waiting to see how it ended... Here's your plot spoiler... It doesn't... it just stops abruptly! Let's just say I'm glad I bought the matinee priced ticket for this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
JamesStealSep 12, 2011
An almost 2 hour film with an ensemble cast trying to look concerned about a virus. There is no horror, action or shock factor in this movie at all. I was expecting at least something exciting to happen in the movie but I guess Warner Bros.An almost 2 hour film with an ensemble cast trying to look concerned about a virus. There is no horror, action or shock factor in this movie at all. I was expecting at least something exciting to happen in the movie but I guess Warner Bros. spent all the money on the cast and filming locations. It has gotten so many positive reviews because it could possibly be the first chick flick to feature a super virus and Laurence Fishburne. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
mpgJan 26, 2012
very well done... acting was solid and the script was tight... the flow of the movie was also very good...i thought this was the best epidemic movie i have ever seen....not a happy topic but never the less entertaining...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EvanSSep 14, 2011
Gwyneth Paltrow's payback for introducing the world to Goop. Steven Soderbergh makes amends by letting Elizabeth Bennett save the day. The only thing missing was Colin Firth hacking up a loogie on a subway.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nutterjrJan 22, 2012
I am not sure what is scariest, that the most intelligent and advance species on the planet is so vulnerable to an organism invisible to the naked eye or the sideaffects of such an epidemic, where you cannot even bury your loved ones? GreatI am not sure what is scariest, that the most intelligent and advance species on the planet is so vulnerable to an organism invisible to the naked eye or the sideaffects of such an epidemic, where you cannot even bury your loved ones? Great thriller, very well written and brilliantly directed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Andys_ReviewsDec 7, 2012
It
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrendanVaughnSep 16, 2011
Classic Soderbergh but at his best. Thrilling and stressful. Heavy and compelling and very believable. Not over sciencey but enough to tie together a very realistic feeling and terrifying possibility. Timely and touching. He pulls you inClassic Soderbergh but at his best. Thrilling and stressful. Heavy and compelling and very believable. Not over sciencey but enough to tie together a very realistic feeling and terrifying possibility. Timely and touching. He pulls you in to the characters even though it is the most shared screen time and the very def of an all star ensemble cast. Honest and not too bleak. Well done. Its got a "Traffic" feel to it. Superb film. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerrySep 13, 2011
This subject is more frightening than the movie. It's a rather cerebral look at the worldwide spread of a lethal new virus: personal reactions and panic in the streets, while scientists attempt to find a cure. The first 30 minutes almost seemThis subject is more frightening than the movie. It's a rather cerebral look at the worldwide spread of a lethal new virus: personal reactions and panic in the streets, while scientists attempt to find a cure. The first 30 minutes almost seem like an upscale government informational video about plagues. While numerous parallel stories develop, none of them makes an emotional impact. The star-laden cast gives it gravitas, but director Steven Soderbergh keeps his distance from involving drama. Cool soundtrack. You WILL probably be a bit more enlightened about hygiene and touching your face! Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
TheBearNov 16, 2011
For some this is the real horror movie of the year; shot with a gritty realism whilst balancing a wide star studded cast covering every level of society affected by this virus making it feel almost like a mock doc 'what if?' scenario.For some this is the real horror movie of the year; shot with a gritty realism whilst balancing a wide star studded cast covering every level of society affected by this virus making it feel almost like a mock doc 'what if?' scenario. Enthralling from start to finish but never exciting or exhilirating but it does succeed in casting an uncomfortable image of mankind that you might find disheartening. It struggles to balance all of its characters and the finale comes without fanfare or indeed a real sense of victory. Contagion won't excite you but it certainly will keep you hooked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
scrieciuSep 10, 2011
By the look of the cast, the story, the suspense, I couldn't wait to see this movie. Well, I expected a little bit more, but in general it's good. I felt like they should of have showed more at specific parts. So '' Contagion '' is aBy the look of the cast, the story, the suspense, I couldn't wait to see this movie. Well, I expected a little bit more, but in general it's good. I felt like they should of have showed more at specific parts. So '' Contagion '' is a realistic movie about a virus that's spreading around the world. The film barely started and it already brought you into it, which was the way it supposed to be. If you like psychological thrillers, then you will enjoy it. The acting was solid. I mean, come on, you know it will be strong on the acting with this kind of cast (Matt Damon, Laurence Fishburne, Marion Cotillard, Kate Winslet, etc). But, I founded useless that well known actors had such small roles. For example, Gwyneth Paltrow barely played in the film, and her part could have been played by anyone. For some odd reason, this movie reminds me of '' The Social Network ''. Yeah, yeah, I know their totally different movies. But it had the similar cinematography, with similar ambiance (expect that '' Contagion '' had a serious problem) and the '' cutting '' from scene to scene. It's the kind of movie with high expectation and fans who are hyped for this, but it's not that big of a deal. Yes it was good, but it could have been a little bit better, the characters should have been more developed and could have been more '' completed ''. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
wishmasterJan 2, 2012
Is an entertaining movie, but only for an afternoon, nothing memorable, with a script pore risky, with irrelevant parts, and I have to emphasize the soundtrack was one of the things that caused me more trouble. I really expected a great movieIs an entertaining movie, but only for an afternoon, nothing memorable, with a script pore risky, with irrelevant parts, and I have to emphasize the soundtrack was one of the things that caused me more trouble. I really expected a great movie but I was disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Bama72Sep 17, 2011
Well I have to admit I now feel foolish for looking forward to this movie. It was horrid. There was only one character that was developed enough for me to even care what happened to him, and that was that I wouldn't have minded if he gotWell I have to admit I now feel foolish for looking forward to this movie. It was horrid. There was only one character that was developed enough for me to even care what happened to him, and that was that I wouldn't have minded if he got the virus. The movie was so massively boring that the best part was the close up shots of door knobs and drink glasses. This is a movie to walk out of and save your precious time. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
PeachCobblerNov 7, 2011
Contagion borrows an overdone plot device and adds its own unique flair. An epidemic sweeps across the world, and it is up to one man to save his family from the invisible threat. At least, this is what you can infer from the trailer.Contagion borrows an overdone plot device and adds its own unique flair. An epidemic sweeps across the world, and it is up to one man to save his family from the invisible threat. At least, this is what you can infer from the trailer. However, after viewing Contagion, I get more of a documentary sort of vibe from the film. No matter what turmoils may be occurring, Contagion always brings it back to the cold hard facts. The Science. Which is good, if you're into that sort of thing. However, it felt as if the characters were underdeveloped or swept under the rug as an afterthought. The entire film could have been an endless source of suspense and drama if only the director decided to stop playing teacher once in a while. And considering the brilliant cast, one would expect that this would be the case. This brings me to my next point: the camera. During the opening moments of Contagion (the scenes that I remember the most, I might add) there were several shots that were held for far too long. This problem was subtle, but it made the film feel like a middle school media project. That being said, Contagion never falls flat on its face, and it did keep me on the edge of my seat throughout a few especially well done scenes during what I perceived to be the climax. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuApr 21, 2013
Contagion tells a decent, realistic story of... uh, contagion. It's fascinating on the scientific front but also rather cold and distant. Not to mention undramatic; the deaths of millions are seen from a very clinical, detached viewpoint.Contagion tells a decent, realistic story of... uh, contagion. It's fascinating on the scientific front but also rather cold and distant. Not to mention undramatic; the deaths of millions are seen from a very clinical, detached viewpoint. Still, it tells it's story effectively enough to scare you into using hand-soap more regularly. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
LightSep 19, 2011
A real disappointment, given a good director and such a good cast. Just very mediocre all the way around, starting with a premise that his been done before (Outbreak, The Andromeda Strain), but those films showed more imagination andA real disappointment, given a good director and such a good cast. Just very mediocre all the way around, starting with a premise that his been done before (Outbreak, The Andromeda Strain), but those films showed more imagination and established more compelling relationships between the characters. It's good filmmaking, but not a great story. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
0
dubbleqSep 18, 2011
I really don't understand why Contagion is getitng all these high scores. I'm sorry to say it but this is one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. It starts out with Gwyenth Paltrow dying in the first 10 minutes of the movie, andI really don't understand why Contagion is getitng all these high scores. I'm sorry to say it but this is one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. It starts out with Gwyenth Paltrow dying in the first 10 minutes of the movie, and people around her also mysteriously dying. After the beginning, the movie just turns crap, there are like 5 stories happening at once which have no connection to each other, one of them including Kate Winslet dying of the virus which made no sense because Kate Winslet had no role in the movie except being shown in an abundance of abnoxious video montages filled with horrible music. By the end of the movie, you feel like you want your money back because nothing ever happened. So, unless you want to see a movie as straight forward and boring as a Swine Flu movie, you should just stay at home or go watch Bucky Larson or something. Trust me, you will hate this movie. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
gromitSep 29, 2011
The movie was well made with good acting and dialog. But really there were just too many deadends and predictable outcomes where the story just didn't go anywhere or add anything to the movie. I mostly enjoyed it but it definitely could haveThe movie was well made with good acting and dialog. But really there were just too many deadends and predictable outcomes where the story just didn't go anywhere or add anything to the movie. I mostly enjoyed it but it definitely could have been a lot better with such a high class cast. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
MoviebuffreviewSep 18, 2011
With an A plus cast, a great premise, and some solid drama and suspense, Contagion gets lots right. But the lack of a real plot or satisfying conclusion does make it somewhat of a disappointment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
PurpleUrpNov 15, 2011
The synopsis is the best you'll get from Contagion as the movie thrills you for a bit then it dies off like a pill. This is one of those movies that are better off in books than on the big screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asthobaskoroDec 3, 2011
Contagion presents docu-drama than epidemic virus-thriller movie. Less action more talk. Any medical explanation is really helpful. Nothing special but it's great in every department. What do you expect from thriller abouT virus? Zombie? No,Contagion presents docu-drama than epidemic virus-thriller movie. Less action more talk. Any medical explanation is really helpful. Nothing special but it's great in every department. What do you expect from thriller abouT virus? Zombie? No, Kate Winslet as heroine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews