Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 9, 2011
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 438 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
277
Mixed:
118
Negative:
43
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
OlyYaYaSep 9, 2011
Great cast, decent acting, but disappointing movie. The science and relationships between the various agencies was interesting, as was the detective work. Jude Law's character felt more like an afterthought, not a solid piece of the plot.Great cast, decent acting, but disappointing movie. The science and relationships between the various agencies was interesting, as was the detective work. Jude Law's character felt more like an afterthought, not a solid piece of the plot. The movie had a good message, but it gets lost. I have recommended to friends and family - save your money and wait for the DVD. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
4
ConnorKOct 7, 2011
This movie is very boring the only good parts very the first 10 minutes and the last 10 minutes everything in between it is just filler. Its mostly just people talking I thought I was going to fall asleep in the theather, I was so bored. OneThis movie is very boring the only good parts very the first 10 minutes and the last 10 minutes everything in between it is just filler. Its mostly just people talking I thought I was going to fall asleep in the theather, I was so bored. One positive thing about this movie was the soundtrack it sounds like nine inch nails which is one of my favorite bands. the good: cool soundtrack
the bad: its boring its mostly just talking, the movie drags out to long it could've suprisingly been 30 minutes and said all it had to.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
2
MovieBuff1101Sep 12, 2011
Unless you are a hypochondriac with a wild imagination of your own, this movie was a disaster. The acting was fine, but the movie was slow moving and barely kept my attention. It was Steven Soderbergh's sloppiest work to date. I couldn'tUnless you are a hypochondriac with a wild imagination of your own, this movie was a disaster. The acting was fine, but the movie was slow moving and barely kept my attention. It was Steven Soderbergh's sloppiest work to date. I couldn't see any good reason to pay the extra money to see this in IMAX. I thought there might be some amazing cell imagery or something to capture the attention and fascinate, but this was pathetic. I go to the movies every week and this is the first time in my five years of consistent movie-going, that I was prompted to create one of these accounts and say something. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
4
oliver1hMar 6, 2013
I had much higher hopes for this movie, but it turned out to be a decent disaster movie, with some reflexion on medical companies who could generate profit from these pandemics. I did not like how some characters acted totallyI had much higher hopes for this movie, but it turned out to be a decent disaster movie, with some reflexion on medical companies who could generate profit from these pandemics. I did not like how some characters acted totally un-realistical. When Kate Winslet's character tells that an average human touches his/her face thousands of times a day... What does she do next? Walking among infected people without wearing face or eye protection...Un-realistic...The other performances were all average, nothing outstanding. I can not really recommend this movie. It is nothing more than a great budget version of the same pandemic formula with the message that some pandemics might be created by medical companies to generate profit through their vaccines. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
ShaunnyBwoyNov 2, 2011
This movie was a poor attempt at simulating the movie Outbreak. It was slow to begin with, with incoherent scenes and the characters were all dull. I'm not being biased either, as I find factual science and documentaries fascinating, so a mixThis movie was a poor attempt at simulating the movie Outbreak. It was slow to begin with, with incoherent scenes and the characters were all dull. I'm not being biased either, as I find factual science and documentaries fascinating, so a mix of these two should have been great... but it wasn't. I'm also a big fan of Laurence Fishburne, but this role didn't do him any justice. How this got a better review from the critics than Machine Gun Preacher, I have no idea! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
gunnyartOct 22, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slice of life (or in this case death). No significant plot just a plodding look at the progression of a pandemic. I wouldn't call that revelation a plot spoiler since the preview essentially tells the whole story at a glance. That said I stayed engaged for the whole thing, but I could understand if you didn't. I guess I was waiting to see how it ended... Here's your plot spoiler... It doesn't... it just stops abruptly! Let's just say I'm glad I bought the matinee priced ticket for this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuApr 21, 2013
Contagion tells a decent, realistic story of... uh, contagion. It's fascinating on the scientific front but also rather cold and distant. Not to mention undramatic; the deaths of millions are seen from a very clinical, detached viewpoint.Contagion tells a decent, realistic story of... uh, contagion. It's fascinating on the scientific front but also rather cold and distant. Not to mention undramatic; the deaths of millions are seen from a very clinical, detached viewpoint. Still, it tells it's story effectively enough to scare you into using hand-soap more regularly. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
mrniceJul 31, 2013
Educational and with a subject that rarely, if ever, gets handled by Hollywood thrillers. I could easily recommend it to anyone interested in the subject, but it's the realism and the sober, analytic treatment of something abstract, thatEducational and with a subject that rarely, if ever, gets handled by Hollywood thrillers. I could easily recommend it to anyone interested in the subject, but it's the realism and the sober, analytic treatment of something abstract, that makes me almost give it top score. A perfect ten it isn't, at all. It's no classic and it's no milestone in film. But it's something very special, competently executed, and educational for the layman. If only everyone watched it, we might not touch our faces as much, and we might not create demand for pig slaughter. Let's get rational about sources of diseases. In the real world, the financial interests are not to be trusted, whether governmental or private. We can only ever ask of each other to act in wisdom. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobJan 7, 2016
It's a fine movie but far too many characters and sub plots. Even after watching it, I had to go to Wikipedia and read the plot to figure some things out. It's too confusing and I think that will definitely draw people away from it. Shame tooIt's a fine movie but far too many characters and sub plots. Even after watching it, I had to go to Wikipedia and read the plot to figure some things out. It's too confusing and I think that will definitely draw people away from it. Shame too because the cast does one heck of a job. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
000Tuld000May 4, 2012
I thought the movie was decent when i first watched it. After watching it a second time I realized how the story would just lag. Was good at first, second time around was just boring.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
KivaJun 11, 2013
Excellent actors and story. I liked the film. Side effects is better though. However Contagion is fun to watch and the ending is surprisingly unexpected. I totally respect the director. Great movie....
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
JamesStealSep 12, 2011
An almost 2 hour film with an ensemble cast trying to look concerned about a virus. There is no horror, action or shock factor in this movie at all. I was expecting at least something exciting to happen in the movie but I guess Warner Bros.An almost 2 hour film with an ensemble cast trying to look concerned about a virus. There is no horror, action or shock factor in this movie at all. I was expecting at least something exciting to happen in the movie but I guess Warner Bros. spent all the money on the cast and filming locations. It has gotten so many positive reviews because it could possibly be the first chick flick to feature a super virus and Laurence Fishburne. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
L490Oct 6, 2011
Great cast and topic, but I expected more from Steven Soderbergh. The dialogue wasn't very good, no great performances by a actor/actress. The movie as a whole mainly focused on the humane aspects, but I would have hoped to see more how mediaGreat cast and topic, but I expected more from Steven Soderbergh. The dialogue wasn't very good, no great performances by a actor/actress. The movie as a whole mainly focused on the humane aspects, but I would have hoped to see more how media and the drug industry affect the society and government - how todays capitalists actually run the governments. In general, it wasn't a bad movie, but nothing memorable either. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
BelmsherSep 22, 2011
The cast and acting were extremely seductive but the plot didn't live up to the expectations. This is another thriller with foaming mouth people from all over the world. Everything was flat and predictable.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
dwsflpeSep 16, 2011
This movie is truly a boring dog without any unexpected developments. A waste of time and money. Why were Matt Damon , Gwyneth Pattrow, Kate Winslet in the movie if they had no real part to play? A virus gets out and is spread aroundThis movie is truly a boring dog without any unexpected developments. A waste of time and money. Why were Matt Damon , Gwyneth Pattrow, Kate Winslet in the movie if they had no real part to play? A virus gets out and is spread around the world by traveling people. There has to be more to a story to make a movie than that. I suspect the writer quit early on and the camara people and actors just sort of winged it from there. For a moment we had hope that something would happen when the antibiotic was injected in people world wide --but alas--no werewolves developed-- no nothing. People in the theatre could be heard softly muttering--don't tell me that 's it. It's going to end! Good grief did there was nothing. The screen lit up --then a dragging lot of nothing and then it ends. Just huh! well it was no "I am Legend". SCore=0 Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
ajspSep 16, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie had great potential. It had a great lineup of cast members, and the doomsday senario is definately appealing to those who enjoy watching apocolyptic style movies. However this film failed to deliver the excitement that it portrayed in its previews. Overall the movie is downright boring to watch as it jumps around, and does not adiquately portray the level of emotion, panic, crime, and civil unrest that one would expect if the world was on the verge of a major collapse by a virus that originally had no treatment, no vaccine, was easily spread by airborne and fluid transmition, and had a high casualty rate. The movie tended to jump around to various characters, and required the viewers immagination to come up with conclusions of how most of characters would end up at the end of the movie. Despite the cast, the acting was poor and most of the cast did not show much emotion. There were very few parts with action as most would expect fights with the military, civil disobedience, mass rioting, looting, and increased gang activity poping up. Most movies of this type have shown numerous sights of mass graves, body collection, and even bodies dead on the streets. You see fighting with government officials/ military personel, rioting, mass looting, and overall increased crime. The potential seriousness of the situation was never really brought out as it jumped around too much to other characters and did not give any character enough time to really develop a solid story line. Parts that seemed to intensify quickly went away and were forgoten about. An example would be when Mitch Emhoff (played by Matt Daymon) is trying to get out of Minnesota into Wisconsin, but is blocked by U.S. military. He gets out of his car, argues with the solder for a few seconds and then gives up and gets in his car and turns around back into Minneapolis. No other attempts are made by his character to leave the area. He just goes home and thats it. Such a good law abiding citizen during times of crisis! (also extremely unrealistic) Another moment is when Mitch Emhoff is looking at his neighbors house one night and hears gunshots within his neighbors house, he dials 911 and gets no response, nothing else happens (though one might expect somthing would happen, but it doesent) He goes over to his neighbors house only to find nothing, except that he finds a gun and takes it home only to set it by the front door. You never see anything else happen regarding the gun or an attempt of looters to break into his house. The movie just jumps to a different character. By the end of the movie it does have an interesting ending of how the virus began, but otherwise it was a very dull movie that could have done so much more. What a waste of money. The best part of the movie was when I got to get up and leave the theater.
For those who think this movie was great, probably have not seen "Outbreak" or even Steven Kings "The Stand". Those doomsday senario movies are much better thought out, directed, and executed.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
bigbully26Sep 19, 2011
this is a video review of the movie i found on you tube that i thought was interesting so take a look for yourself

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ngCQQvwsAZo
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
emhookSep 25, 2011
Contagion is about a group of people who must deal with the spread and containment of a highly contagious disease. Based on that statement you could probably guess what might happen. Sick people, a search for the cure, and widespread panic.Contagion is about a group of people who must deal with the spread and containment of a highly contagious disease. Based on that statement you could probably guess what might happen. Sick people, a search for the cure, and widespread panic. Contagion is exactly what you think it is. Not to say that's bad, but I was not surprised by anything I saw.

The disease starts in Hong Kong, from there it is carried by Gwyneth Paltrow back to the states where she and her son die within a day or so. Her husband Matt Damon, immune to the disease, is left to take care of himself and his daughter.

Meanwhile Laurence Fishburne, Kate Winslet, Marion Cotillard, and a few other major players are notified of numerous deaths happening around the world. The disease is spreading quickly, and the Center for Disease Control must find a vaccination and keep the public calm.

Jude Law a conspiracy blogger/journalist broke the story first. He questions if the CDC is really trying to help. He finds a medicine that he believes cures the disease, and spreads the word. As millions become affected chaos breaks out, road blocks are set up, and the people go nuts.

Soderbergh directed an all star cast. Scott Burns wrote a fairly smart script. The movie was well put together and entertaining enough, but nothing more than you'd expect. I wish Soderbergh would have gotten a little more experimental, maybe tinted the movie red or something like he did with Traffic. It seems like disease outbreak movies can go in one of two directions. An epidemic occurs and everyone turns into flesh eating zombies Aka 28 days later & I am Legend. Or an epidemic probably stemming from an animal becomes widespread, and the government works to contain the disease and the world seemingly goes ape **** Aka Outbreak.

I honestly felt like Contagion was too predictable and brought in tons of characters the movie couldn't devote enough time to explore. John Hawkes who I loved in Winter's Bone, plays a Janitor who shows up only once in each act of the movie, his character seemed compelling, but was pretty much wasted. The movie somewhat explored the idea that the government and CDC took care of their own before the average person. Hawkes character could have been used to show the struggles and desperation of a lower income individual taking care of his family during this epidemic.

Winslet and Cotillard were intriguing as well, but are never really explored. They came and went without us really knowing anything about them. I completely forgot about Cotillard until they mildly tie up her story near the end. I think this movie could have benefited from chopping off some of the extra meat. There were probably 7 or 8 main characters introduced, and only 2 or 3 were given the proper time to develop. Contagion tried to be this massive story about all these different people, but it just couldn't be done in 100 minutes.

For this movie to work, they were really gonna have to get us involved with these characters. So when they cry, we cry. When they are angry, we get angry, and so on. They basically just crapped on Matt Damon's character the whole movie, and by the end, sure I felt bad for him, but I wasn't really upset. His wife was cheating on him, he couldn't give his family a proper funeral, and he was stuck inside with no food protecting his daughter for months. I was more like, "jesus christ" cut this guy a break. You waited for some kind of reprieve, but what they gave him was pretty unsatisfying.

On the positive side, I always say if I can finish a movie in one sitting it was pretty good. And like I said the cast was impressive. Matt Damon is a great actor and he did what he could with the wiggle room he was given. He had two key emotional scenes, hearing his wife has died and dealing with it at the end, both were good. Jude Law probably had the best overall part. They flipped him around so rapidly, you're never really sure of his motives. He was probably my favorite character.

I really did like contagion, it just didn't add anything to the genre. If you're going to make a movie on a topic that's already been explored, you have to find a unique way to tell the story. This movie just rang repetition in my ears, and it'll quickly be forgotten.
http://themoviehook.blogspot.com/
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
BrendanVaughnSep 16, 2011
Classic Soderbergh but at his best. Thrilling and stressful. Heavy and compelling and very believable. Not over sciencey but enough to tie together a very realistic feeling and terrifying possibility. Timely and touching. He pulls you inClassic Soderbergh but at his best. Thrilling and stressful. Heavy and compelling and very believable. Not over sciencey but enough to tie together a very realistic feeling and terrifying possibility. Timely and touching. He pulls you in to the characters even though it is the most shared screen time and the very def of an all star ensemble cast. Honest and not too bleak. Well done. Its got a "Traffic" feel to it. Superb film. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
5
DougOct 1, 2011
Totally average in every way. No character development whatsoever. The most developed character in this film was "the government", and you know they are always the bad guy. And that whole thing with Lawrence Fishburn made no senseTotally average in every way. No character development whatsoever. The most developed character in this film was "the government", and you know they are always the bad guy. And that whole thing with Lawrence Fishburn made no sense whatsoever. It's like they may have had something in the first cut, but then they had to cut the movie down to 2 hours. As a result, the audience was left with nothing to attach itself to, except the virus. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
5
LightSep 19, 2011
A real disappointment, given a good director and such a good cast. Just very mediocre all the way around, starting with a premise that his been done before (Outbreak, The Andromeda Strain), but those films showed more imagination andA real disappointment, given a good director and such a good cast. Just very mediocre all the way around, starting with a premise that his been done before (Outbreak, The Andromeda Strain), but those films showed more imagination and established more compelling relationships between the characters. It's good filmmaking, but not a great story. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerrySep 13, 2011
This subject is more frightening than the movie. It's a rather cerebral look at the worldwide spread of a lethal new virus: personal reactions and panic in the streets, while scientists attempt to find a cure. The first 30 minutes almost seemThis subject is more frightening than the movie. It's a rather cerebral look at the worldwide spread of a lethal new virus: personal reactions and panic in the streets, while scientists attempt to find a cure. The first 30 minutes almost seem like an upscale government informational video about plagues. While numerous parallel stories develop, none of them makes an emotional impact. The star-laden cast gives it gravitas, but director Steven Soderbergh keeps his distance from involving drama. Cool soundtrack. You WILL probably be a bit more enlightened about hygiene and touching your face! Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
5
MarcDoyleSep 12, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For a movie about an epidemic, it really could have used a greater sense of urgency - or perhaps some zombies. It just falls flat and doesn't go down the rabbit-hole on enough issues. Would have been interesting to know a bit more about how the politics behind how the vaccines were being made. I'm not sure I'm a fan of how they reveal the initial source of the contagion at the end. Interesting, but there just wasn't a lot to it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
MegaPurpletteSep 26, 2011
This movie was boring and no action. They used medical terms that my sister, who is a nurse, did not know what they were talking about. They did not explain characters. We thought the one lady was Fishborne daughter, not, it was his futureThis movie was boring and no action. They used medical terms that my sister, who is a nurse, did not know what they were talking about. They did not explain characters. We thought the one lady was Fishborne daughter, not, it was his future wife. Another character, was kidnapped, when rescued, and she realized that she was given a placebo antidote,therefore, she decided to stay in Hong Kong, but, the story did not tell us why or where. Another character, Matt Damion, they kept referring to him, but even though he was immune to the flu virus, he had no other impact on the cure, > Do not waste your money. We paid $12.50 to see this on a MAX screen but this should of never been made for it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
NedRyerson1Feb 29, 2012
Contagion is a very interesting movie. It is about a topic that we do not care until it is all over the world, an epidemic. But the things that difference it from other biological thrillers are the unknown origin of the disease and theContagion is a very interesting movie. It is about a topic that we do not care until it is all over the world, an epidemic. But the things that difference it from other biological thrillers are the unknown origin of the disease and the multiple perspectives of the development of the epidemic.
The unknown beginning of the virus gives Contagion a sort of mysterious atmosphere, but also approaches more to reality, because in most of this situation the authorities notice the problem when there are a few amounts of death people and several others infected; so the only solution is to find a cure. And if you add to this a new form of transmit the virus and scientific bureaucracy; you got a promising and very scary picture.
The multiple points of views, which is a signature characteristic of a contemporary production, gives the movie a sort of feeling of a vast reality that no one can hold; and this is simply what a virus can do to humankind.
Contagion has a terrific idea, simple performances and some characteristics of documentary; but the development of the story it is absolutely predictable.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
JuanoloMar 31, 2012
First off, I would give it a 9.25 out of 10. Performances are great. Especially Jude law and Matt Damon. Music Score all right, and story intense. It will make you scared of getting sick as jaws made people scared of going in the ocean. ThisFirst off, I would give it a 9.25 out of 10. Performances are great. Especially Jude law and Matt Damon. Music Score all right, and story intense. It will make you scared of getting sick as jaws made people scared of going in the ocean. This is a really well acted film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
kingshahidOct 1, 2011
This is somehow rated high and given lots of attention, but for what? ... I give it a zero - it states the obvious possibility of a disease that can go viral. Whats new about that? ... The thrill was there at the beginning after the firstThis is somehow rated high and given lots of attention, but for what? ... I give it a zero - it states the obvious possibility of a disease that can go viral. Whats new about that? ... The thrill was there at the beginning after the first 30minutes it was lag to sit through. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
morefictionSep 14, 2011
For all its stars, Contagion has no characters. The plot never grows, and the movie's best scenes appear off-screen. Some of the characters merit annoyance instead of pity and the themes are utterly irrelevant. Can "wash your hands" be aFor all its stars, Contagion has no characters. The plot never grows, and the movie's best scenes appear off-screen. Some of the characters merit annoyance instead of pity and the themes are utterly irrelevant. Can "wash your hands" be a theme? Contagion could have made analogies to the spread of information, but instead chooses to scare its viewers into carrying hand sanitizer. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
Cas44Sep 17, 2011
I was expecting a great film and was very disappointed to say the least. This film seemed thrown together. It was very choppy with no good storylines or plot, with no supence. I couldn't wait for it to end.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
CincinnatiDaveSep 19, 2011
My son asked me if this was a good movie and I had a hard time saying "yes". It wasn't a bad flick, but nothing really happens in it from a film-making point of view to qualify as a "good" movie. It wasn't a documentary, but it felt like itMy son asked me if this was a good movie and I had a hard time saying "yes". It wasn't a bad flick, but nothing really happens in it from a film-making point of view to qualify as a "good" movie. It wasn't a documentary, but it felt like it several times. It wasn't a thriller, but it felt like it several times. The main problem for me was that there wasn't a central character to focus on. There were too many storylines. Some of them were interesting, but not so much as too garner all the attention. It just kind of meandered all over the place. Some stories play out, but others are left dangling in the wind. The audience is supposed to surmise the character's fate. The acting is top notch, but a similar (and better) movie is 1995's Outbreak, with Hoffman, Russo, and Freeman. Neither is very strong, but at least with Outbreak there is a plot and central characters to follow. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews