User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 395 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 395
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    Educational and with a subject that rarely, if ever, gets handled by Hollywood thrillers. I could easily recommend it to anyone interested in the subject, but it's the realism and the sober, analytic treatment of something abstract, that makes me almost give it top score. A perfect ten it isn't, at all. It's no classic and it's no milestone in film. But it's something very special,Educational and with a subject that rarely, if ever, gets handled by Hollywood thrillers. I could easily recommend it to anyone interested in the subject, but it's the realism and the sober, analytic treatment of something abstract, that makes me almost give it top score. A perfect ten it isn't, at all. It's no classic and it's no milestone in film. But it's something very special, competently executed, and educational for the layman. If only everyone watched it, we might not touch our faces as much, and we might not create demand for pig slaughter. Let's get rational about sources of diseases. In the real world, the financial interests are not to be trusted, whether governmental or private. We can only ever ask of each other to act in wisdom. Expand
  2. May 4, 2012
    7
    I thought the movie was decent when i first watched it. After watching it a second time I realized how the story would just lag. Was good at first, second time around was just boring.
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    Excellent actors and story. I liked the film. Side effects is better though. However Contagion is fun to watch and the ending is surprisingly unexpected. I totally respect the director. Great movie....
  4. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    Classic Soderbergh but at his best. Thrilling and stressful. Heavy and compelling and very believable. Not over sciencey but enough to tie together a very realistic feeling and terrifying possibility. Timely and touching. He pulls you in to the characters even though it is the most shared screen time and the very def of an all star ensemble cast. Honest and not too bleak. Well done.Classic Soderbergh but at his best. Thrilling and stressful. Heavy and compelling and very believable. Not over sciencey but enough to tie together a very realistic feeling and terrifying possibility. Timely and touching. He pulls you in to the characters even though it is the most shared screen time and the very def of an all star ensemble cast. Honest and not too bleak. Well done. Its got a "Traffic" feel to it. Superb film. Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    First off, I would give it a 9.25 out of 10. Performances are great. Especially Jude law and Matt Damon. Music Score all right, and story intense. It will make you scared of getting sick as jaws made people scared of going in the ocean. This is a really well acted film.
  6. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Thrilling, with a cool original score with just amazing fantastic performances from: Marion Cotillard, Jude Law, Gwyneth Paltrow, Matt Damon, and most of all Kate Winslet. I give this film a 97% of a good movie.
  7. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    When i first saw the movie start, I had the usual human reaction...confusion from lack of initial information. As the story progressed, you start to meet many types of people, some good and some bad. It is similar to most hero's tales, except the vilan is not just one person. The villan is a virus humans can't explain. It is like Darth Vader as little, tiny viruses that exist almostWhen i first saw the movie start, I had the usual human reaction...confusion from lack of initial information. As the story progressed, you start to meet many types of people, some good and some bad. It is similar to most hero's tales, except the vilan is not just one person. The villan is a virus humans can't explain. It is like Darth Vader as little, tiny viruses that exist almost everywhere at once. There are people who want to be greedy and take advantage (who you could say are villans) and those who truly want to stop the virus (who you could say are the heros). Whatever you call these people, they are part of a story that affects more than a village, city, or state, but the entire human race. The plot was well thought out, and the characters developed well. It didn't, however, follow the predictable plot of most movies, since there was no climax or central vilan confrontation. Making a movie like this is hard, and even harder to do right. I believe the makes of this movie took a good shot and hit the target, just not the bull's eye. Expand
  8. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    This movie is huge. It stars Matt Damon, Jude Law, Marion Cotillard, Laurence Fishburne, and Kate Winslet. It's about a disease wiping out millions upon millions of people. That disease is spread by the most seemingly unavoidable of all things... contact. And on top of it all, with that one little bit of contact, you're pretty much guaranteed a tombstone. But with Steven SoderberghThis movie is huge. It stars Matt Damon, Jude Law, Marion Cotillard, Laurence Fishburne, and Kate Winslet. It's about a disease wiping out millions upon millions of people. That disease is spread by the most seemingly unavoidable of all things... contact. And on top of it all, with that one little bit of contact, you're pretty much guaranteed a tombstone. But with Steven Soderbergh directing, we get a much more controlled (but still sprawling) version of the chaos. With all of the characters and supporting storylines going at once, it's easy to get lost, even a little bored, and that's definitely to the film's fault. Even so, we're supplied with an incredible score, terrific performances from an all-star cast, terrifying imagery, and the occasional instance of effective human drama. Expand
  9. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Honestly, I'm disappointed that more moviegoers don't 'get' this movie. Yes, there are a lot of plot lines to follow and some people are going to be disappointed that their favorite actor/actress doesn't play a bigger part in the movie. But the process of weaving so many stories together has the wonderful effect of causing the intellectual moviegoer to consider many aspects of a singleHonestly, I'm disappointed that more moviegoers don't 'get' this movie. Yes, there are a lot of plot lines to follow and some people are going to be disappointed that their favorite actor/actress doesn't play a bigger part in the movie. But the process of weaving so many stories together has the wonderful effect of causing the intellectual moviegoer to consider many aspects of a single story, ultimately considering the question: "Where would I fit in this story?" That's a powerful and important point in this instance. For example, some have stated that the scenes with Jude Law's character seem like a diversion. There's a point to that. He may be the most important character in the movie. I will stop short of offering a spoiler and just say that there are subtleties at work here that mimic the world we live in. Pay attention!

    I lament that so many people watch this movie and say, as one reviewer has, that there is "no real plot development." Instead, this movie should be applauded because the plot development was real; i.e., realistic. I, for one, wish more movies were like this one.
    Expand
  10. Sep 9, 2011
    8
    A couple of years ago, news and health agencies the world over were concerned about a possible pandemic stemming from bird flu and swine flu. Thankfully like SARS a few years earlier, the outbreaks were rather small thanks to a wealth of precautionary information and measures. In the new film â
  11. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    Overall i liked the movie, it had good moments, and a great cast can actually work well together. The idea of putting what cause the contagion in the last scene was brilliant, I was trying to figured out, and off course it had to be something like that, you don't infect half of the world just by coughing and sneezing, it had to be much more than that, as they showed in the final scene.Overall i liked the movie, it had good moments, and a great cast can actually work well together. The idea of putting what cause the contagion in the last scene was brilliant, I was trying to figured out, and off course it had to be something like that, you don't infect half of the world just by coughing and sneezing, it had to be much more than that, as they showed in the final scene. Matt Damon, Kate Winslet and Jennifer Ehle were the ones that really stood out and Steven Soderbergh definitely brought a film that puts you in a careful situation from now on, you'll think twice before doing something. So for me the movie was good, it had a good story, good performances, and a good director. Expand
  12. Oct 1, 2011
    8
    Now, "Contagion" here is a great example that all horror movies don't need a masked killer with a knife. It's movie that reveals the horror of a crucial virus, the horror that happens in our daily lives. With director Steven Soderbergh's consistently patient cinematography and his icy cold tone accompanied with a ensemble (veteran) cast, he proceeds to present us that one touch with othersNow, "Contagion" here is a great example that all horror movies don't need a masked killer with a knife. It's movie that reveals the horror of a crucial virus, the horror that happens in our daily lives. With director Steven Soderbergh's consistently patient cinematography and his icy cold tone accompanied with a ensemble (veteran) cast, he proceeds to present us that one touch with others can result in disorder, panic, and suspicion against others until it results in the destruction of the society's core. A great movie you must definitely watch. R) 7.8 Expand
  13. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Though hopeless it may be, I suppose this is somewhat what society would do if put in this circumstance. I thought it was very intelligently put together. The directing, the story line, the side stories as well...All were very entertaining and left you wondering what would happen. I loved the movie. It was disturbing -- Considering how realistic it could have potentially been.
  14. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    I was expecting more from this film , i went to to it with my wife and well my problem is with the film in general because the acting was really good. I really dont remember what i was expecting to see but i do remember when the movie was over i felt like well ok it finished lets go home now.
  15. Sep 11, 2011
    7
    Contagion is pretty good movie that spreads people with deadly diseases that kill millions of people around the world that makes us scare that what will happen to this world. We can see that the movie shows everything that there are several people have serious problems that they need to get rid of disease and they couldn't find the cure to heal them. This movie is pretty done well thatContagion is pretty good movie that spreads people with deadly diseases that kill millions of people around the world that makes us scare that what will happen to this world. We can see that the movie shows everything that there are several people have serious problems that they need to get rid of disease and they couldn't find the cure to heal them. This movie is pretty done well that spreads messages that could take a really serious thing that they'll be happening to us that it's infecting the entire diseases and it's worth for a dramatic movie. Expand
  16. Oct 13, 2012
    7
    This movie will confuse the audience as it confused me. I've watched it 8 times so far and its still not clear if Morpheous is still in The Matrix or outside it. And we were lead to believe the world came to an end through the battle of man & machine. Now they've changed the story to a virus. I'd wish they would make up their minds.
  17. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    By the look of the cast, the story, the suspense, I couldn't wait to see this movie. Well, I expected a little bit more, but in general it's good. I felt like they should of have showed more at specific parts. So '' Contagion '' is a realistic movie about a virus that's spreading around the world. The film barely started and it already brought you into it, which was the way it supposed toBy the look of the cast, the story, the suspense, I couldn't wait to see this movie. Well, I expected a little bit more, but in general it's good. I felt like they should of have showed more at specific parts. So '' Contagion '' is a realistic movie about a virus that's spreading around the world. The film barely started and it already brought you into it, which was the way it supposed to be. If you like psychological thrillers, then you will enjoy it. The acting was solid. I mean, come on, you know it will be strong on the acting with this kind of cast (Matt Damon, Laurence Fishburne, Marion Cotillard, Kate Winslet, etc). But, I founded useless that well known actors had such small roles. For example, Gwyneth Paltrow barely played in the film, and her part could have been played by anyone. For some odd reason, this movie reminds me of '' The Social Network ''. Yeah, yeah, I know their totally different movies. But it had the similar cinematography, with similar ambiance (expect that '' Contagion '' had a serious problem) and the '' cutting '' from scene to scene. It's the kind of movie with high expectation and fans who are hyped for this, but it's not that big of a deal. Yes it was good, but it could have been a little bit better, the characters should have been more developed and could have been more '' completed ''. Expand
  18. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    Make no mistake, this is not a normal, bland thriller so many viewers will be diverted, but if you view it intelligently, this is a very good film. The direction is stylish, the actors are phenomenal and the fear it instills in you is only made worse by the fact that this is a situation that could actually happen.
  19. Sep 18, 2011
    7
    With an A plus cast, a great premise, and some solid drama and suspense, Contagion gets lots right. But the lack of a real plot or satisfying conclusion does make it somewhat of a disappointment.
  20. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Movie viewers either like or dislike this movie by the user reviews to date. He is why. If you are looking for action, car chases, and explosions, this movie is not for you. This film is slow paced with dialogue, multiple story lines to keep track of, and suspense. It will give you pause for thought on how our government and community would respond to the same events as in the film.Movie viewers either like or dislike this movie by the user reviews to date. He is why. If you are looking for action, car chases, and explosions, this movie is not for you. This film is slow paced with dialogue, multiple story lines to keep track of, and suspense. It will give you pause for thought on how our government and community would respond to the same events as in the film. It is a thinking film and is rewarding but it makes you work for it. All in all I liked the film and give it a strong 7. Expand
  21. Oct 6, 2011
    8
    A chilling and frightingly realistic cinematic experience. Directed by Steven Soderbergh, Contagion focuses on the rapid progess of a lethal indirect transmitted virus that kills within days. As the ever expanding epidemic grows, the worldwide medical community races against time to find a cure whilst trying to prevent mass panic that is spreading faster than the disease itself. SoderberghA chilling and frightingly realistic cinematic experience. Directed by Steven Soderbergh, Contagion focuses on the rapid progess of a lethal indirect transmitted virus that kills within days. As the ever expanding epidemic grows, the worldwide medical community races against time to find a cure whilst trying to prevent mass panic that is spreading faster than the disease itself. Soderbergh has obviously done his homework tremendously well heading into the film and his depiction shows the difficulties implicated from all angles from discovering exactly what disease it is they are dealing with, the problems finding a cure and the mass panic the epidemic would undoubtedly bring. The film itself show sits brutality from the beginning with Beth Emhoff (Gwyneth Paltrow) returns home from a business venture in Hong Kong however two days later the collapses with a seizure, her husband Mitch (Matt Damon) rushes her to hospital however she ultimately dies with the doctors unable to pinpoint what actually killed her. This sparks a series of deaths all over the death and prompts the entire worldwide meidcal community (including Marion Cotillard, Lawrence Fishbourne and Kate Winslet) into desperate action to find the nature of the disease, its cause and vitally, a cure but whilst also preventing mass panic. However, the effects of the epidemic are soon felt throughout society as ordinary people struggle to survive in a society being ripped apart by fear. A recurring element smartly used by Soderbergh are the simple, everyday items and objects that are touched by the infected and become vectors to infect other people. The film runs along smoothly but does require your attention but it also emotionally encapsulating in particular showing a Emhoff's fight to keep his daughter alive in a seemigly doomed society. The ending eventually reveals the cause of the outbreak and how it came into connection with human life. Overall, as a disaster movie it excels as we have seen them all from natural disasters, global warming end of the world things but never before has their been a more genuine disaster movie. This won't be for everyone but its a tense, unnerving and frighteningly realistic. Expand
  22. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    This was a good movie. Matt Damon and Jude Law as usual, played as the amazing actors they are. This movie was moving and to be honest it's much more scary than any horror film or zombie flick, because this is most definitely possible. One flu virus spreading so quickly without anyone being able to find a cure fast enough to save everybody, it can happen and thats the scary part. ThisThis was a good movie. Matt Damon and Jude Law as usual, played as the amazing actors they are. This movie was moving and to be honest it's much more scary than any horror film or zombie flick, because this is most definitely possible. One flu virus spreading so quickly without anyone being able to find a cure fast enough to save everybody, it can happen and thats the scary part. This movie was very good but the only issue I had with it was it seemed to move really quick, I understand its supposed to exemplify how quick the virus spreads and kills but it seemed to move too quickly right from the very start, but other than that, I had no other issues besides the fact of how scary and realistic it was. Quick funny story, at the movie theater I work at, when i was getting ready to clean the theater after this film got over, NOBODY leaving the theater would touch the railings and they were all standing 5-10 feet from each other, apparently this movie is scaring everyone else. Anyways, this movie was very good, a definite must see, unless your one of those people who freaks out over the possibilities of a epidemic then stay away, but other than that, go see, 8.5/10 Expand
  23. Jan 14, 2012
    9
    Fantastic movie. Superbly written, acted, and directed. Definitely creates a very suspenseful atmosphere. Shocking, and quite accurate, Contagion is a must see. On another note, it somewhat reminds me of Albert Camus' The Plague.
  24. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    Well written, well acted, thought provoking and somewhat frightening; "Contagion" tells the story of what happens to individuals and society as a whole when something unseen wreaks devastation and havoc on mankind. Normal, law abiding people are driven to kidnapping, home invasion and worse. Politicians run for cover and seek out scapegoats. An internet blogger uses demagoguery andWell written, well acted, thought provoking and somewhat frightening; "Contagion" tells the story of what happens to individuals and society as a whole when something unseen wreaks devastation and havoc on mankind. Normal, law abiding people are driven to kidnapping, home invasion and worse. Politicians run for cover and seek out scapegoats. An internet blogger uses demagoguery and conspiracy theories to create panic in the public and profit for himself and others. Meanwhile, medical scientists scramble to find a vaccine for the worst pandemic to hit modern mankind.

    Once again, Steven Soderbergh does an excellent job with non-linear story telling
    although this film doesn't have the same "gut punches" as "Traffic," which was much more character driven. This film is not for the squeamish or the "scared y cats" although it's less gory than your average episode of CSI or Bones. All in all, it was an interesting and fast paced 106 minutes, which I highly recommend.
    Expand
  25. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    I thought this was a very exceptional film. Thrilling and exciteful it keeps you on your toes throughout most of the movie. It's got a good plotline, cool soundtrack, amazing cast, and good sci-fi drama mix into it. Steven Soderbourgh is an outstanding director and this is another great movie to add to his legacy. It did get a little boring but that's the only flaw I could find. MattI thought this was a very exceptional film. Thrilling and exciteful it keeps you on your toes throughout most of the movie. It's got a good plotline, cool soundtrack, amazing cast, and good sci-fi drama mix into it. Steven Soderbourgh is an outstanding director and this is another great movie to add to his legacy. It did get a little boring but that's the only flaw I could find. Matt Damon, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Jude Law are only three of the outstanding performances by the great cast of Oscar winners. Comedy Centrals Demetri Martin also makes a great performance even for one of the side characters, I was surprised he was in it. So in all this movie was a fantastic thriller that I hope to maybe even see in the Oscars next year. Expand
  26. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    This movie was very well done. With very solid acting from a stellar cast. This movie in my opinion gives you everything you hoped for, but it wasn't what I would say, "UNBELIEVABLE." But it was near flawless. And Steven Sodehberg's stylish direction really makes this a highly entertaining, great suspense thriller.
  27. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    From the heart of warner bros. her comes another thriller thats gonna thrill you and make sure u will take care of pandemic diseases in your life.performances of matt damon and kate winslet are awesome.the aura the film creates will definately make you see the movie twice
  28. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    This is one of the most frightening movies I've ever seen. Soderberg does an exceptional job of showing the breakdown of society while health agencies try to quell a worldwide pandemic.Gritty photography and a bare bones, realistic script make this movie an adult horror film for the ages.There is no slasher. Jason is not coming at you at every turn.It is much more visceral horror. A virusThis is one of the most frightening movies I've ever seen. Soderberg does an exceptional job of showing the breakdown of society while health agencies try to quell a worldwide pandemic.Gritty photography and a bare bones, realistic script make this movie an adult horror film for the ages.There is no slasher. Jason is not coming at you at every turn.It is much more visceral horror. A virus so small, you need an electron microscope to see it. But will it be more powerful than all of us? A movie with plenty of star power but few star turns, the ensemble casting of this movie takes the viewer back to some of Soderberg's best work in Traffic. Expand
  29. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    This suspenseful film about a lethal airborne virus is terrifying - not like The Ring or Texas Chainsaw terrifying, terrifying like it could really happen to you terrifying - with a believable plot and A-list acting that only makes it more powerful.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Oct 17, 2011
    80
    A starkly effective ensemble drama which could well do for the sniffles what Jaws did for great whites.
  2. 70
    Like much of Soderbergh's recent work, Contagion feels a little sterile, more like a cinematic exercise than something with blood pumping through it. It's certainly high-minded - it might be the most high-minded disaster movie ever made.
  3. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Sep 12, 2011
    80
    Contagion is serious, precise, frightening, emotionally enveloping.