Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 343 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Contagion follows the rapid progress of a lethal airborne virus that kills within days. As the fast-moving epidemic grows, the worldwide medical community races to find a cure and control the panic that spreads faster than the virus itself. At the same time, ordinary people struggle to survive in a society coming apart. (Warner Bros.)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Sep 9, 2011
    90
    A chilly, fascinating thriller at odds with itself.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Sep 8, 2011
    80
    Soderbergh's treatment of the Internet turns out to be the most provocative aspect of Contagion. Like the virus, which destroys any cell it encounters, misinformation spreads rapidly online and tends to cancel out information that might save people.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Oct 17, 2011
    80
    A starkly effective ensemble drama which could well do for the sniffles what Jaws did for great whites.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Sep 7, 2011
    75
    Soderbergh creates an unnerving mosaic from the smaller pieces, a vision of a world that's simultaneously tightly knit, delicately balanced, and prone to breakdown, whether due to disease, bad ideas, or unenlightened self-interest.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Sep 8, 2011
    75
    By the time this globe-hopping, movie-star-crammed disaster saga - directed with petrifying efficiency by Steven Soderbergh - comes full circle, you'll never want to touch a subway pole or elevator button or ATM again.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Sep 5, 2011
    70
    For a good hour, a very good first hour, the film efficiently accumulates small, terrifying incidents and images.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Sep 7, 2011
    38
    A germophobe's worst nightmare, Contagion touches on all the dramas big and small, mostly big, we've come to associate with catastrophes such as this, and does so as if it were hurriedly going down and adapting a list of bullet points, never lingering on any one drama in a particularly meaningful fashion.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 137
  2. Negative: 30 out of 137
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Thrilling, with a cool original score with just amazing fantastic performances from: Marion Cotillard, Jude Law, Gwyneth Paltrow, Matt Damon, and most of all Kate Winslet. I give this film a 97% of a good movie. Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Honestly, I'm disappointed that more moviegoers don't 'get' this movie. Yes, there are a lot of plot lines to follow and some people are going to be disappointed that their favorite actor/actress doesn't play a bigger part in the movie. But the process of weaving so many stories together has the wonderful effect of causing the intellectual moviegoer to consider many aspects of a single story, ultimately considering the question: "Where would I fit in this story?" That's a powerful and important point in this instance. For example, some have stated that the scenes with Jude Law's character seem like a diversion. There's a point to that. He may be the most important character in the movie. I will stop short of offering a spoiler and just say that there are subtleties at work here that mimic the world we live in. Pay attention!

    I lament that so many people watch this movie and say, as one reviewer has, that there is "no real plot development." Instead, this movie should be applauded because the plot development was real; i.e., realistic. I, for one, wish more movies were like this one.
    Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    To be completely honest I thought I was going to see another typical zombie unstoppable virus deal, but I enjoyed this one nonetheless. The characters could have been more developed, and I'll say it could have had more information instead of leaving large chunks out from time to time, but I also believe it was a very capturing movie. I like the realism in it, how everything goes to hell and people do whatever they want, however this isn't unheard of at all. I like how a blogger rises up against the government and carries his followers with him, sort of a citizen-hero act, it creates much needed controversy. This may not happen to everyone, but when I was watching this I was pulled into the atmosphere so much that I felt like I had to be careful about catching diseases next time I leave my house. But to be fair, this movie had its cons as well. The fact that there were gray areas in the development, such as things not being explained, not even in the end, made the movie feel like it wasn't ready to be released. Plus it drags out very long, and can get dull with the background music. But overall this was a decent experience, nothing special, nothing new, but I still enjoyed it. Looking back on it, I realize it could have been much better in fact, but I'm content enough for now. Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    By the look of the cast, the story, the suspense, I couldn't wait to see this movie. Well, I expected a little bit more, but in general it's good. I felt like they should of have showed more at specific parts. So '' Contagion '' is a realistic movie about a virus that's spreading around the world. The film barely started and it already brought you into it, which was the way it supposed to be. If you like psychological thrillers, then you will enjoy it. The acting was solid. I mean, come on, you know it will be strong on the acting with this kind of cast (Matt Damon, Laurence Fishburne, Marion Cotillard, Kate Winslet, etc). But, I founded useless that well known actors had such small roles. For example, Gwyneth Paltrow barely played in the film, and her part could have been played by anyone. For some odd reason, this movie reminds me of '' The Social Network ''. Yeah, yeah, I know their totally different movies. But it had the similar cinematography, with similar ambiance (expect that '' Contagion '' had a serious problem) and the '' cutting '' from scene to scene. It's the kind of movie with high expectation and fans who are hyped for this, but it's not that big of a deal. Yes it was good, but it could have been a little bit better, the characters should have been more developed and could have been more '' completed ''. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2011
    5
    Great cast and topic, but I expected more from Steven Soderbergh. The dialogue wasn't very good, no great performances by a actor/actress. The movie as a whole mainly focused on the humane aspects, but I would have hoped to see more how media and the drug industry affect the society and government - how todays capitalists actually run the governments. In general, it wasn't a bad movie, but nothing memorable either. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2011
    4
    This movie is very boring the only good parts very the first 10 minutes and the last 10 minutes everything in between it is just filler. Its mostly just people talking I thought I was going to fall asleep in the theather, I was so bored. One positive thing about this movie was the soundtrack it sounds like nine inch nails which is one of my favorite bands. the good: cool soundtrack
    the bad: its boring its mostly just talking, the movie drags out to long it could've suprisingly been 30 minutes and said all it had to.
    Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2011
    0
    Unbelievably boring. Start off strong, seems to be going somewhere, then goes extremely boring from middle to finish. Documentary is more interesting than this. No character development, no touching moments, no climax. Is this a documentary of H1N1? Go watch it if you want to appreciate mindless bang bang B movies from now on, because at least those have some sort of climax and plot line. Would those so called critics tell me what's so "thrilling" or "frightening" about this movie? They are so irresponsible to give such good reviews for such a boring movie. Expand

See all 137 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.