Universal Pictures | Release Date: January 13, 2012
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 144 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
75
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
gunnyartJan 16, 2012
Not a horrible film, but not one I'd recommend either. It tried to be clever and suspenseful but failed. You pretty well know what your going to get from the trailer and the surprise plot twists were no surprise at all or they came completelyNot a horrible film, but not one I'd recommend either. It tried to be clever and suspenseful but failed. You pretty well know what your going to get from the trailer and the surprise plot twists were no surprise at all or they came completely out of left field and didn't advance the story. Another complaint I have with the film is the pacing. The action tried to feel non-stop and frantic but the story takes place over a couple weeks not days. It just didn't flow. All in all I paid matinee price on a lazy afternoon and I'm not asking for my money back. If your a big Mark Walburg fan you'll find less fault with it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
Matty_KJan 15, 2012
Ehhhh I'm not sure what to say about this movie. It was decent, but VERY predictable. I found myself guessing correctly what was going to happen next. Wahlberg was pretty cool, but his character was the same as always. My advice is to wait toEhhhh I'm not sure what to say about this movie. It was decent, but VERY predictable. I found myself guessing correctly what was going to happen next. Wahlberg was pretty cool, but his character was the same as always. My advice is to wait to rent this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Dinoboy2007May 16, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hidden amongst the many more highly anticipated action movies of the year, â Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ReviewCriticFeb 17, 2012
Contraband is a cool crime movie. It is fun, dark, and suspenseful. Mark Whalberg has a great future ahead of him.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
Knicksfan7Feb 2, 2012
Quite frankly, to be it nice and easy, i was disaapointed. I wasn't going to see this movie because its nominated for best picture or any academy awards. I saw this movie because i thought it would be a good fun action film with alot of MarkQuite frankly, to be it nice and easy, i was disaapointed. I wasn't going to see this movie because its nominated for best picture or any academy awards. I saw this movie because i thought it would be a good fun action film with alot of Mark Wahlberg kicking a$$, but there wasn't any of that. The Story was lackluster, the acting mediocre and the action wasn't there. I literally saw no action besides one 3 min scene, and by the review for this movie they make it look like Wahlberg is gonna do his usual thing and kick a$$ but he threw maybe 4 punches the whole movie. To sum it all up in two words, weak and disappointing describe this film perfectly, don't bother, even though its already been out awhile. 3.5/10 Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Khunter4382Jan 22, 2012
Good film, but nothing really new. Wahlberg does a fine job, as well as Foster and Ribisi. The film does have intrigue and it does well in keeping your interest spiked. Throughout the duration, we see these characters getting buried deeperGood film, but nothing really new. Wahlberg does a fine job, as well as Foster and Ribisi. The film does have intrigue and it does well in keeping your interest spiked. Throughout the duration, we see these characters getting buried deeper and deeper and deeper in one enormous debacle, and often times you wonder how in the world they will ever get out it. It is slightly exhaustive but it all makes for a pretty fun ride. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Olidegu2012Jan 18, 2012
Not my favorite Mark Wahlberg performance as he seems to fit the stereotypical mold of the last couple action movies he has starred in. However, what really stood out here to me are the action sequences and supporting cast. Do not get meNot my favorite Mark Wahlberg performance as he seems to fit the stereotypical mold of the last couple action movies he has starred in. However, what really stood out here to me are the action sequences and supporting cast. Do not get me wrong, Wahlberg is still solid as usual but without Kate Beckinsale, Giovanni Ribisi, Ben Foster, Lukas Haas and J.K. Simmons, this movie would probably of gotten a lower rating from me. The story is predictable and very easy to follow. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ExKingApr 12, 2013
this movie is awful which is a shame cause i'm a huge fan of Mark Wahlberg but i think he did a respectable performance however the direction is the worst of these type of movies i mean how hard it is to put some effort and some mystery inthis movie is awful which is a shame cause i'm a huge fan of Mark Wahlberg but i think he did a respectable performance however the direction is the worst of these type of movies i mean how hard it is to put some effort and some mystery in the story Ben Foster and Giovanni Ribisi did a great performance so for me it would be a solid 5 out of 10 because the story was repetitive and boring and i don't know who to blame for that. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
nutterjrSep 22, 2012
Yet another remake, this time of the Icelandic Reykjavik-Rotterdam, which although superior to this one, was not one that I would expect to warrant to be made again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
shimano6000Feb 24, 2012
This movie is crap. Ridiculous premise. Essentially it glorifies crime and its one wear the worst of the bad guys win. There is great acting, but it gets lost. No sense of consequence for any action taken in this movie at all. Essentially ifThis movie is crap. Ridiculous premise. Essentially it glorifies crime and its one wear the worst of the bad guys win. There is great acting, but it gets lost. No sense of consequence for any action taken in this movie at all. Essentially if you are a cop, or an innocent, tough luck. Wasted my time! Don't even bother watching this when it is on free to air, unless you have absolutely nothing to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Coco890Oct 15, 2012
Looking back, this past January has been very interesting as we had a mix of films. We've had great films like Haywire and The Grey. We've had your typical pieces of **** like The Devil Inside and One For The Money. Your typical January junkLooking back, this past January has been very interesting as we had a mix of films. We've had great films like Haywire and The Grey. We've had your typical pieces of **** like The Devil Inside and One For The Money. Your typical January junk like Underworld. Mediocre films like Red tails and Joyful noise. So where does Contraband fit in all of this? Well it belongs in the better than your typical January junk but not as good as it should be category. This is better then the Crap that we're subjected to every January but that doesn't excuse it's problems.

For starters, nothing in this movie is original. Usually filmmakers will take something that's been done before and put their own fresh twists to it, that's not the case here. You've seen this all before and done better. Next is the plot, it's not that there's too little of it, there's too much of it and for what? If your going to make a movie that's been done a bunch of times before at least stick to the formula. Don't try to make it complex, it's not going to change the fact that this is unoriginal. Lastly, this film has an unappealing gritty look which was a bit of a turn off for me. It's not that I don't like it, it works well with other movies but it was unnecessary.

Despite some glaring problems, there's some fun to be had. The action scenes are fun, and there are moments of humor sprinkled throughout. Usually most of the humorous moments are a result of a character doing the most moronic thing possible. The pacing is a little off but it shouldn't bother people that much. The acting ranges from okay to pretty good. While Mark Wahlberg's performance isn't bad but, he just kind of goes through the motions. He has shown he can act but here he is kind of Idle. Kate Beckinsale is sadly underused, she's good but she doesn't have that important of a part. Giovanni Ribisi on the other hand is pretty good. He has fun chewing at his lines and just being a complete badass. He's probably the best thing about this movie. Contraband is slightly better than your typical January junk that we're subjected to every year. However, it still can't come over the the fact that it's not original, the plot is unnecessarily complex, the pacing is a tad off, and that the overall look is unappealing. despite the action being fun and intense, it being funny, and pretty decent performances.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
rydermusicFeb 13, 2013
Although in some ways Contraband is entertaining, in other respects this film requires a well-structured plot and better actors. Another failed crime of January.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobApr 9, 2012
It started off interesting but quickly became another generic action film that I stopped watching about half way through. It has a generic plot with poor twists and turns. The acting is average at best. Its just a generic film imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
bskrilsFeb 5, 2012
Contraband was your typical action film, if you feel like getting away for a while and watching an action film this movie will not disappoint. However, if you are looking for it to blow you away or if you expect it to be part of favorites itContraband was your typical action film, if you feel like getting away for a while and watching an action film this movie will not disappoint. However, if you are looking for it to blow you away or if you expect it to be part of favorites it will not do that. It was a good movie to watch, and surprisingly my wife requested that we go and see it(probably because of Mark Wahlberg) so apparently you may be able to not claim this as your movie choice and avoid another chick flick next time. There were a few twists and turns in the movie, but nothing you couldn't really figure out if your paying attention. I thought the pace was good and it did not have any slow parts that left you wanting to leave the theater. Characters and choice of actors was pretty good as well, besides Wahlberg and beckinsale most were relatively unknown or not mainstream but probably strong up anc comers. I probably won't see it again, but it was a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
XerSMMackApr 17, 2013
No spoilers here because there really isn't anything original about this film. It isn't a bad movie, it just isn't anything else either. Hollywood ran out of good guys for movies and started attempting to make us care about bad guys who 'justNo spoilers here because there really isn't anything original about this film. It isn't a bad movie, it just isn't anything else either. Hollywood ran out of good guys for movies and started attempting to make us care about bad guys who 'just want to be good.' Very formulaic bad guy turns good guy force to be bad guy again or else. You end up not caring for anyone in this film and in the end you probably won't care for the film itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JacobDunstanFeb 25, 2012
Contraband delivers exactly what you'd expect-- there are no surprise or anything particularly subversive about it. It's fast-paced and isn't without its share of excitingly shot sequences (particularly those scenes in Panama City) but it'sContraband delivers exactly what you'd expect-- there are no surprise or anything particularly subversive about it. It's fast-paced and isn't without its share of excitingly shot sequences (particularly those scenes in Panama City) but it's most mostly forgettable, if serviceable, fare. Wahlberg is fairly robotoid in the lead role and Ribisi is far too demonstrative as the chief antagonist, however character actor J.K. Simmons makes for an entertaining, embittered 'Captain Camp'. Diverting and slickly made, but unmemorable. 6.4/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DTDunnJun 1, 2012
Flawed but watchable. Script is way too predictable. This is your basic "straight to video" type of action film. If you like Wahlberg, you should enjoy sitting through this one (just set your expectations to lowâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheDRauchAug 4, 2012
Contraband ends up being all of the things expected of an action/thriller January release. It is a performance vehicle for any A-lister (in this case, Mark Wahlberg, whose role seems to be custom made for him), it is confusing andContraband ends up being all of the things expected of an action/thriller January release. It is a performance vehicle for any A-lister (in this case, Mark Wahlberg, whose role seems to be custom made for him), it is confusing and far-fetched, it has it's share of thrilling moments, and it is easily forgotten, but not entirely painlessly. Contraband is basically a genre film, a heist pic that has the overall tone of a reversed Ocean's movie. But that trilogy had a far more easygoing nature about it, while still being hard to follow and absurd. This movie is all too serious and in the finale, it takes a tonal U-turn and becomes light-hearted, betraying itself, as if the past hour-and-a-half didn't happen. It becomes oddly watchable before that, but otherwise Contraband is just toss-away entertainment. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 5, 2012
The plot points weren't as predictable as they could've been, and despite the cliche dialogue, Baltasar Kormakur's Contraband makes to be a decent popcorn movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ThegodfathersonNov 14, 2013
Contraband is long, stretchy and half baked. Mark Walhberg plays well with his guns provided by the direction, but more is needed. It's predictable, dark and funny. The scenes done by the beautiful Kate Beckinsale are amazing and the specialContraband is long, stretchy and half baked. Mark Walhberg plays well with his guns provided by the direction, but more is needed. It's predictable, dark and funny. The scenes done by the beautiful Kate Beckinsale are amazing and the special effects are top notch. The sound blows in your face and but the acting by supporting roles is average. In the end, Contraband was a one time watch with some bad flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews