Contracted

Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Nov 11, 2013
    60
    The ick factor is high in Contracted, a body-horror opus that will satisfy genre fans who like to be grossed out, but doesn’t have much to offer on any other count.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Nov 20, 2013
    50
    The movie seems regressively punitive, to the point where it arguably qualifies as slut-shaming.
  3. Reviewed by: Martin Tsai
    Nov 21, 2013
    60
    Although this horror flick is somewhat absurd and seemingly forgettable when viewed in a vacuum, its coincidentally contemporaneous release with "Blue Is the Warmest Color" urges immediate reconsideration.
  4. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Nov 21, 2013
    60
    The ending to this fable misses the opportunity for broader metaphorical resonance, but getting there has its own unnerving rewards.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Staeger
    Nov 19, 2013
    30
    There's no payoff to the paranoia.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Jan 11, 2015
    0
    Whores piss me off. I never thought I would be happy to see a woman "raped" before. If you can count that as a rape. This movie was prettyWhores piss me off. I never thought I would be happy to see a woman "raped" before. If you can count that as a rape. This movie was pretty bad. Watch at your own discretion. Full Review »
  2. Dec 19, 2015
    3
    Ok movie but goes on for too long with the whole 'person in denial about their problem' for way too long. By the time the protagonist beginsOk movie but goes on for too long with the whole 'person in denial about their problem' for way too long. By the time the protagonist begins to make any headway it's when she's way beyond help and most people at that point would go to the hospital and not go around trying to sex people up. You can also tell this movie is going to be a drag due to the sex scenes. Any film or tv show that uses sex is, in my books, usually sub-par on the story. I can't say I was surprised by the rule of thumb being accurate once again. Full Review »
  3. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This movie a very unique zombie movie. We all have seen in zombie movies that when people are bitten by a zombie, they become one. Contracted is unique because it shows a healthy young lady becomes infected with the zombie virus without being bitten, she's infected as a result of an STD she contracted on a one night stand with a stranger.
    Overall, the movie was enjoyable. The ick factor is definitely present, a few scenes are definitely disturbing, and the ending is a cliff-hanger that has you wanting more.
    Full Review »