Focus Features | Release Date: February 6, 2009
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 603 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
506
Mixed:
50
Negative:
47
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
khutchFeb 17, 2014
Coraline has imagination, a good look and premise, however, all this is useless when trying to connect with the kids seems unsuccessful.
Over the history Coraline does not hold you, the movie walk, walk and walk, and when we realize, it does
Coraline has imagination, a good look and premise, however, all this is useless when trying to connect with the kids seems unsuccessful.
Over the history Coraline does not hold you, the movie walk, walk and walk, and when we realize, it does not show us anything mature, it's quite the opposite actually, Coraline is just a child who repents of something desired.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TrailesqueDec 3, 2016
Really fine CGI linked with Gaiman's unimpressive thru the looking glass type story. A lonely little girl finds another - better? - version of her family when she climbs thru a hole in her bedroom wall and into an alternative world. SpookyReally fine CGI linked with Gaiman's unimpressive thru the looking glass type story. A lonely little girl finds another - better? - version of her family when she climbs thru a hole in her bedroom wall and into an alternative world. Spooky but ultimately harmless. Lots of kool visual surprises. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
FeyrosNov 25, 2015
The animation is great and the voicing was like pls no and then i was like u mno but he was like o yes but i was Crying in the background like crazyi not like
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
NathanR.Mar 1, 2009
I really wanted to like this movie, especially after viewing the metacritic score. This was the first 3D movie I felt was worth seeing. And while it is not a terrible movie, it certainly does not deserve a 79 score. Others have mentioned it, I really wanted to like this movie, especially after viewing the metacritic score. This was the first 3D movie I felt was worth seeing. And while it is not a terrible movie, it certainly does not deserve a 79 score. Others have mentioned it, but Dakota Fanning is NOT a good voice actress. The visuals were hit and miss. When Coraline first visits her "other family" is close to stunning and kept my attention. Unfortunately from that point on I felt like taking a nap. The scene with the near-nude granny was not at all necessary, and not funny. That's another thing this movie lacked: humor. All in all, this is not the worst movie I've ever seen. Far from the best. Far, FAR from the best. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
jbFeb 8, 2009
A good amount of scenes show real beauty and imagination, but I found myself not ever caring for these characters. Not once. Someone else mentioned that the story was reminiscent of a video game, and it is. What a shame. Unless of course A good amount of scenes show real beauty and imagination, but I found myself not ever caring for these characters. Not once. Someone else mentioned that the story was reminiscent of a video game, and it is. What a shame. Unless of course your really swept away by video games. Also, paying close to 3 bucks for glasses that belong to a technology that wasn't worthwhile even fifty years ago is quite a shame as well. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
6
MikeMMar 21, 2009
Visually arresting, but the story was frankly, uninteresting. The characters are initially very grating, and never become endearing during the course of the film. The animation is awesome and was very fun to watch in 3D on a big screen, but Visually arresting, but the story was frankly, uninteresting. The characters are initially very grating, and never become endearing during the course of the film. The animation is awesome and was very fun to watch in 3D on a big screen, but by the end I didn't really care what happened to the characters, which probably isn't a good sign. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffCMar 25, 2009
Very amazing work with the stop-action, but the film is very overrated. The story was mediocre and drawn out too much.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
wenzdaejJul 27, 2009
It was ok could have been better and it definitely was a kids movie kids love to be scared and this wasn't even that scary since it was animated and kids always know the difference better than adults i remember being a kid and i LOVED It was ok could have been better and it definitely was a kids movie kids love to be scared and this wasn't even that scary since it was animated and kids always know the difference better than adults i remember being a kid and i LOVED scary movies all kids do and did anybody ever read any fairy tales from grimm to o Henry what about te little match girl she froze to death was that for kids?? Cinderella if any1 ever bothered to actually read it the sisters die a gruesome death, so all u wawawa a its not for kids morons ' yours are the kids who get beat up and have their heads flushed down the toilet. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
M.J.PJul 7, 2009
Another creative short-stop animation with surprisingly good detail, but lacking a much needed child-friendly approach, seeing as how this film was a children's movie. I don't think its very appropriate for a large elderly woman to Another creative short-stop animation with surprisingly good detail, but lacking a much needed child-friendly approach, seeing as how this film was a children's movie. I don't think its very appropriate for a large elderly woman to be jumping up and down in a thong and nipple pasties. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EliasCSep 2, 2009
Neil Gaiman has always been an acquired taste. His visions of twisted reality in all of his works has always been more appealing to me as in book form rather than as a visual entertainment. Coraline is no exception. His foray into Neil Gaiman has always been an acquired taste. His visions of twisted reality in all of his works has always been more appealing to me as in book form rather than as a visual entertainment. Coraline is no exception. His foray into children's books with the publication of Coraline was a surprise to many but his quirky story was well written and appealing on paper. On film however, it just seems...well, strange. Not exactly a kid's movie and not exactly a film for adult's either. The skill it took to animate using stop action movement should be appreciated. Some stop motion techniques exhibited in this film were simply astonishing. But technique alone does not make a good film. A great film for film students does not make a great film for the average viewer. Consider the twisted universe of the film's reality and the even more twisted vision of the film's alternate reality. Look at the scenes with the almost nude acrobatic sisters. Listen to the awful vocal music, This is not a film for children. Let your kids read the book instead and let them use their own imagination to fill in the blanks. And a final note: The 3D theatrical version must have been something to watch. DO not fall for the DVD's 3D version. It is simply bad. Using red and green cardboard glasses, the film is colorless, dark, eye-aching awfulness. The producers of the DVD's 3D packaging should be ashamed. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
6
TheDudeFeb 17, 2009
Whoa! This movie wasn't what I was expecting. I purposefully don't read much of reviews because they always give away too much, but I'm a junky for 3D movies and I saw the high marks for this one so I couldn't wait. The Whoa! This movie wasn't what I was expecting. I purposefully don't read much of reviews because they always give away too much, but I'm a junky for 3D movies and I saw the high marks for this one so I couldn't wait. The thing was, I was expecting it to be a kids' movie, and it wasn't that at all. It was waaaay too creepy, edgy, scary, strange, and freaky for children, I felt. It bore a lot in common with Pan's Labrynth and The Orphanage, and was similar in tone to those. There was one spectacular scene visually in a garden at night, but mostly I just felt really creeped out and disturbed. In general, I usually disagree with the high marks that clay-mation films get, not because I don't like claymation, but because I usually find them to be too slow, or them to be a little too dark and strange, or their stories to just not be as strong as I would hope, and yet they always seem to get rave reviews from the critics regardless. This film seemed derivative of the two other movies I mentioned, and was very creepy and weird, so if you liked those films you might really enjoy this, but it's not really my thing, and definitely don't go in expecting a fun, light rompy kids movie, and do realize that if you take small children there will likely be uncomfortable moments, and quite possibly nightmares from it(I think I might have some nightmares from it, and I'm a grown man!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinEMar 25, 2009
Margaret S - I actually fall directly into the categories you mention and while I mostly enjoyed the movie I felt the second half lacked much sense of wonder that other animated movies might have. As well, most of the lesser characters were Margaret S - I actually fall directly into the categories you mention and while I mostly enjoyed the movie I felt the second half lacked much sense of wonder that other animated movies might have. As well, most of the lesser characters were uninteresting. I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
portlihopMay 10, 2009
Visually stunning(3d Had great storyline bones but not enough meat to get stuck into. My 10yr old described story line as "meh" +points for scaring the shit out of my 6 year old.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
DocStevenFeb 14, 2009
I was really looking forward to taking two of my nieces, ages 13 and 9, to a highly rated movie, particularly an animated film. Well, very disappointed. The 9 year old shrugged her shoulders when I asked her afterwards what she thought. She I was really looking forward to taking two of my nieces, ages 13 and 9, to a highly rated movie, particularly an animated film. Well, very disappointed. The 9 year old shrugged her shoulders when I asked her afterwards what she thought. She further elaborated that it was "just okay." I didn't find it very engaging at all. It was too long and there were some scenes that seemed very unnecessary to the story line. At least what I could find of the story line. Yes, imaginative and very creative, but it lacked an emotional pull. Maybe I'm just not smart enough like some of the other critic's reviews, or maybe I'm like the child who says out loud, "the emperor has no clothes!" in spite of what everyone forces themselves to believe. Perhaps I expected this movie to leave me with a sense of wonder, like other fairy tales and animated films have done, but no such luck. Oh, well. It was nice to spend the time with my nieces! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JulianMFeb 15, 2009
I just couldn't get into it. Sure, the animation and 3D were great, but the story lacked... something. Maybe the characters... When Coraline entered the new world with all sorts of strange things, she barely seemed surprised. I I just couldn't get into it. Sure, the animation and 3D were great, but the story lacked... something. Maybe the characters... When Coraline entered the new world with all sorts of strange things, she barely seemed surprised. I don't know, maybe it's just me but I felt bored the whole movie. Whenever there was a hint of foreshadowing, I just didn't care what was going to happen. Bottom Line : Only watch it if you are REALLY REALLY into animated/Tim Burton movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
wenesdae*Jul 24, 2009
it was good if it were on tv otherwise the 4 applies , it couild have been alot better and entertaining for kids and adults, i strongly disagree that it isnt a kids movie , im 44 but i remember being a kid quite well, and i LOVEDit was good if it were on tv otherwise the 4 applies , it couild have been alot better and entertaining for kids and adults, i strongly disagree that it isnt a kids movie , im 44 but i remember being a kid quite well, and i LOVED horror movies and scary things and yes even books, all kids do. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JORDYNP2021Feb 13, 2017
You will get lost in the movie “Coraline” “Coraline” will take you to a magical new world. The dark fantasy novella “Coraline”, written by Neil Gaiman, was developed for the screen and adapted by the screen by Henry Selik. Created in 2009 byYou will get lost in the movie “Coraline” “Coraline” will take you to a magical new world. The dark fantasy novella “Coraline”, written by Neil Gaiman, was developed for the screen and adapted by the screen by Henry Selik. Created in 2009 by Laika Entertainment, it is a fantasy thriller and is one hour and forty minutes long. Eleven year old Coraline Jones isn’t happy with her new life in Pink Palace Apartments. Her new house is dingy and falling apart, and there seems to be no one her age around, besides a weird boy named Wybie and his stray cat. Worst of all, her parents, especially her mom, seem not to care about anything Coraline does. When Coraline discovers a strange hidden door in their living room, she is thrilled to leave her boring and run down life. The door takes her into an alternate version of her world, one that gives Coraline everything she has ever wanted, including the ‘Other Mother’ that treats her as a princess. After several visits to the Other World and mysterious warnings from her eccentric neighbors, Coraline starts to question whether this ‘perfect world’ holds a dark and sinister secret. “Coraline” was an incredibly detailed stop-motion film. The dark fairy tale style of the animation really caught my eye. Coraline, Other Mother, and the other characters were detailed and each had their own, distinct personality.The intricate plot will keep entertained and anxious for what comes next, although it may be too complex for young viewers to fully understand the film. Some scenes may also be scary for children younger than 7. “Coraline” conveys the message to children and parents to appreciate one another. I would recommend this movie to children above the age of ten. The MPAA rating is PG, but some scary scenes and the intense plot may not be suitable for younger kids. Overall, I felt that this movie was extremely creative and unique. Our Rating 3.5 out of 5 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KAITLYNN2021Feb 3, 2017
Looking through the eyes of Coraline’s life

“Coraline” is a creepy but humorous movie that had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. I just watched this movie in my 8th grade English class. “Coraline” gave me the chills throughout the
Looking through the eyes of Coraline’s life

“Coraline” is a creepy but humorous movie that had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. I just watched this movie in my 8th grade English class. “Coraline” gave me the chills throughout the whole movie. The movie has many different opinions, but you either hated it or you liked it. I was more in between. “Coraline” is made with clay animation which in my opinion makes the movie a little bit scarier. It also has many scenes in the movie that were a little sketchy and scary. “Coraline” was made by Laika Entertainment, they specialize in clay animation, just like “Coraline.”

In present day Oregon, 11 year old Coraline Jones (Dakota Fanning) moved to the Pink Palace Apartment. She meets her neighbors Wybie, Mr. Bobinsky, and Ms. F and Ms. S. Coraline feels her life is boring because of the lack of attention from her parents. Out of curiousity Coraline stumbles upon a secret door leading to a new dimension. There she meets her other mother (Teri Hatcher). Her other mother gives her anything she could imagine, new clothes, delicious food, and even made a garden out of the shape of her face. Everything seems to be perfect to Coraline until she wants to go back home, but discovers she may not leave her other mother. Coraline finds out the truth about the new dimension. Coraline must figure out a plan to leave. Coraline uses her strategic ways to escape her other mother. The characters in “Coraline” had great stories about them, but their bodies were out of proportion and not realistic. Mr. Bobinsky was 10 feet tall and his skin color was blue. Coraline’s relationship with her parents didn’t develop as well as I would have liked it. In the beginning they barely talked and it doesn’t get resolved until the last ten minutes of the movie. The movie’s clay animation created a creepier vibe than a kid friendly one because when the characters have eyes for buttons it’s not a pleasant thing to see. Even though some parts I did not like, the movie did have some positive elements about it. I like how it taught a lesson in the story, “ Be happy with what you have.” The movie had a suspenseful plot leading up to the big climax of the story. I also liked that it was playful at times when Coraline had to go find the eyes of the lost ghosts. This movie is PG, a rating that might not be appropriate to younger children, especially from the ages 5-7. I would recommend parents watch the movie first to find out if your child would like it. The movie was awarded a Golden Globe for best animated movie of the year in 2010, a year after it was released. Overall I thought the movie was great. It was entertaining and suspenseful all at the same time, but I would not watch the movie again.

Scale of Stars:
3 Stars out of 5
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
MACYB2021Feb 3, 2017
Sweet “Coraline”
We watched “Coraline” recently and thought it deserved a review. “Coraline” was released in 2009 by Laika Entertainment and introduced a surprisingly dark tale told by stop motion. Parents bringing their children along to the
Sweet “Coraline”
We watched “Coraline” recently and thought it deserved a review. “Coraline” was released in 2009 by Laika Entertainment and introduced a surprisingly dark tale told by stop motion. Parents bringing their children along to the movie theater to see “Coraline” had no idea what they were in for. What seemed like a adorable, sugar-sweet movie about a young girl turned out to be a nightmare inducing film. “Coraline” starts out with a family moving into a new home in the Pink Palace Apartments. Viewers will quickly realize that Coraline’s parents (Teri Hatcher and John Hodgman) are not very good listeners. While exploring in and around her new home, Coraline (Dakota Fanning) meets a supporting character named Wybie (Robert Bailey Jr.), who later gives her a doll that bears a striking resemblance to her. When she explores her living room, she discovers a portal hidden in the wallpaper that leads to a “better” alternate reality where everyone has buttons for eyes. This is where the plot gets dark. Coraline meets her “other mother” who gives her everything she could ever want. Coraline is convinced she wants to stay forever, but at a cost. Her other mother wants to replace Coraline’s eyes with buttons. After realizing this world is not what it seems, Coraline talks to some supporting characters, like the eccentric Mr. Bobinsky (Ian McShane), and two drama-obsessed ladies. The ladies, Miss Forcible (Dawn French) and Miss Spink (Jennifer Saunders), do perform a rather...interesting dance in the alternate reality that includes both of them nearly nude. Despite that suggestive scene, all these characters come in handy to fix the conflict in the movie. “Coraline” is not as sweet as it seems. That dark plot is meant for older children, but the compelling storyline requires you to pay attentiont to find out what happens. The animation would be perfect if it weren’t for the way the characters were portrayed. Some of them are a bit creepy and could traumatize young minds. We think that the movie wasn’t age appropriate and was given the wrong rating of PG. We believe that “Coraline” should’ve been rated PG-13. For example, children probably wouldn’t enjoy the fact that characters attempt to sew buttons into other characters eyes. However, there were a few lessons to be learned if your child wasn’t running out of the room crying. The animations were one of the movies positives and the characters fit the creepy vibe the movie portrays. This movie does have a creepy vibe to it, so we recommend it to young adults. This movie could scare younger children with its dark nature. We think this movie would better suit 10-14 year olds. Do not show your younger children “Coraline”, unless you want them to wake you up in the middle of the night. Our final rating comes down to the movie not being age appropriate despite the beautiful stop motion and interesting plot line. Be careful what you wish for! Final rating: B-
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
mckenzies2021Feb 13, 2017
I would describe Coraline as a “kid-friendly horror movie”. A movie for only the children with brave souls that can handle jump scares, characters that not only look a little scary, but possess voices that are anything but soothing. ProducedI would describe Coraline as a “kid-friendly horror movie”. A movie for only the children with brave souls that can handle jump scares, characters that not only look a little scary, but possess voices that are anything but soothing. Produced by Laika Entertainment, Coraline creates a very twisted plot which presents the theme of “be careful what you wish for”, but does this movie depict the theme in a way which children will learn from it? I believe it does, if the child isn’t covering their eyes and ears throughout the climax of the movie.
The introduction of this movie, will have the audience disturbed right off the bat. Hands, with long fingers of steel, intricately ripping into the seams of a stuffed doll and recreating its fabrics to make it look exactly like the main character, Coraline. Coraline is a spunky child who had just recently moved into ‘The Pink Palace’, a three story townhome located in the middle of the woods. Coraline goes outside one day, to be disturbed by a stray cat, and her new annoying friend Wybie. We don’t know where Wybie lives, but we do know that he is forbidden from going into the Pink Palace by his strict grandmother. Wybie states that his grandmother doesn’t allow him in the Pink Palace because his grandma’s sister was ‘stolen’ while exploring the Pink Palace and never returned. Coraline, being the sassy thing that she is, rolls her eyes at the thought of her home being dangerous and ignores Wybie. She then comes home, and experiences her parents ignoring her, because they are too busy hunched over their computers to play with her and is disappointed because her parents treat her like she doesn’t exist. The next day, Wybie introduces Coraline to Mr. B, an insane acrobat who is disgustingly flexible. Soon after, Wybie gives Coraline a doll that looks almost exactly like her. Coraline takes the doll and sets it near her bed in a position as if it is watching her. I believe she does this to make it feel like someone does care about her parents, because her parents don’t show they care about her at all whatsoever.
Later, while Coraline’s parents are minding their own business, Coraline finds a small door inside of a wall. She nags her mom for the key to this door, and she does, in exchange for Coraline to leave her alone. Coraline finds that nothing is there but a brick wall, a big disappointment for Coraline. That night she finds jumping mice, that lead her to the small door. When it is opened, she has access to a colorful tunnel, that leads to an entire new world! This new world greets her with an abundant feast and new parents. These parents call themselves the ‘other mother’, and the ‘other father’, and they fill this other world with wonders and superficial love and care for ‘their child’. Coraline soon discovers that this world isn’t what it claims to be, only to learn to “be careful what you wish for”.
Coraline, is a movie that in our opinion, has many positives and negatives. For example, we really enjoyed the stop motion animation that most somewhat recent movies don’t have. We also enjoyed the parts of the movie that were more uplifting, such as when the other mother and other father fed her, showed her the garden that looked like an exact replica of Coraline’s face, the circus shown by Mr. B and the circus mice, and the dog theatre, where an exotic play was presented by Ms. Forcible. However, this movie did have multiple negatives. The dark storyline will definitely either scare a young audience away, or bore them to sleep. Overall we would give this movie a 3 star rating, because we all thought the movie was weird and disturbing but at some parts we liked how it all connected throughout the movie. The type of people to watch the movie depends how brave they are. Children ten and older could watch it, but little kids can watch it if they are brave enough. I would recommend this movie to people who like a little jump-scary action with a gloomy atmosphere. Coraline’s MPAA rating is PG. The movie has its good parts and its bad places, but we thought it was okay.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
MADALYNE2021Feb 13, 2017
I’ve just finished “Coraline,” which was made by Laika Entertainment, and I don’t know if I’d recommend it. Even though it’s an animation, I wouldn’t call it a little kids movie. I feel like the plot would be hard to follow and would scareI’ve just finished “Coraline,” which was made by Laika Entertainment, and I don’t know if I’d recommend it. Even though it’s an animation, I wouldn’t call it a little kids movie. I feel like the plot would be hard to follow and would scare someone that young. I would say that I liked the animation style, and the message was great. Although, I don’t know if I would watch it again. “Coraline” takes place at Pink Palace Apartments. Coraline doesn’t really get along with her parents. She is upset about moving, and in her boredom decides to explore her new home. She finds a small, locked door and wonders why it’s there. In the night, a mouse shows her that it’s a magical portal to another dimension. Coraline loves it there and is eager to keep going to her other mom and dad through that door. Her friend Wybie and other people in the apartment building warn her not to go back, but she did anyways because of all the fun she’d have there. Coraline soon realizes that she was wrong, and tries to run away when her Other Mother reveals her true identity. I don’t know if I can say I liked the plot to “Coraline.” It seemed all over the place at the end, with Coraline making a bet and having to defeat the villain twice, and it kind of lost it’s creepy tone for a while. It also seemed too scary for their target audience. You have to give Laika Entertainment credit for its stop-motion, though. It was smooth for the most part and their character and set designs were great. The movie also had a great message about loving your family so that would be a plus. While the rating, PG, suggests that this movie might be good for little kids, I think it should be a PG-13 rating. With a woman begging to be loved and stealing the souls of innocent children, “Coraline” can be creepy at times and might be a little scary for young children. The “other” dimension characters come off as almost lifeless towards the end, one even tells Coraline about their suffering. I wouldn’t say this movie was bad, but it wasn’t great either. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
Foxyman111Feb 13, 2017
“Coraline, Not Your Average Doll” I just saw the movie “Coraline”, and it was okay. There were things that were good and things that were bad about it, but overall it was a decent film. It’s about an 11 year old girl that moves into an old“Coraline, Not Your Average Doll” I just saw the movie “Coraline”, and it was okay. There were things that were good and things that were bad about it, but overall it was a decent film. It’s about an 11 year old girl that moves into an old house known as the Pink Palace. She finds a small door behind the wallpaper. The door leads her to a world that leads her to an alternate reality, where everything is how she wants it to be, but everyone has buttons for eyes.

The plot took place at the Pink Palace and at the Pink Palace in the fantasy world. Then when Coraline goes to the fantasy world she meets another mother and the she makes her everything she ever wanted and the world is perfect there, but her other parents are not as they seem. Her other mother is someone that kidnaps children who want a better life than what they already have. Coraline kept on going to the fantasy world, and one time, she is taken by the other mother. She meets the ghosts of kids that the other mother had stollen. They tell her that she was in terrible danger, and they asked her to free them. They also tell her how to save her parents, who were taken earlier in the story. With these events, they made the plot very well rounded and interesting.

The movie was pretty good all around, but it did have its fair share of negative things about it. I liked what they tried to do with the plot, but they shouldn't've done it in claymation. It would've been better if they had done it like a normal movie. Laika Entertainment did do a good job on the animations. At times, the plot was a little hard to follow, but they did get back on track and it was very clear after that.

This film wasn’t all bad. It also had some positive points to it. The plot was really interesting and put together well and it kept the viewers on the edge of their seats. When a plot can do this to viewers, you know it is a good storyline. The character development was okay, but they could have incorporated all the characters a little more. The setting really contributed to help the plot thicken. Being located at an old building that was built 150 years ago really helped setting a creepy atmosphere. This movie is not suitable for its rating. Kids at the age of 5-9 would not be able to understand it and it might scare them. Note that this movie should be seen by children around the ages of 13-up. The MPAA says that it is PG, but it should really be PG-13. It has parts that are just too scary for kids younger than 13. I got scared and I’m older than 13. It was enough to give me nightmares. There is a metal hand that was just so creepy. But all in all, it was a good movie that had some bad things. They could’ve done better, but for claymation it was overall a decent movie.

Out of 5 stars: 3 stars ***
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
kfisher11Feb 13, 2017
I just saw the movie “Coraline”, and it was okay. There were things that were good and things that were bad about it, but overall it was a decent film. It’s about an 11 year old girl that moves into an old house known as the Pink Palace. SheI just saw the movie “Coraline”, and it was okay. There were things that were good and things that were bad about it, but overall it was a decent film. It’s about an 11 year old girl that moves into an old house known as the Pink Palace. She finds a small door behind the wallpaper. The door leads her to a world that leads her to an alternate reality, where everything is how she wants it to be, but everyone has buttons for eyes.

The plot took place at the Pink Palace and at the Pink Palace in the fantasy world. Then when Coraline goes to the fantasy world she meets another mother and the she makes her everything she ever wanted and the world is perfect there, but her other parents are not as they seem. Her other mother is someone that kidnaps children who want a better life than what they already have. Coraline kept on going to the fantasy world, and one time, she is taken by the other mother. She meets the ghosts of kids that the other mother had stolen. They tell her that she was in terrible danger, and they asked her to free them. They also tell her how to save her parents, who were taken earlier in the story. With these events, they made the plot very well rounded and interesting.

The movie was pretty good all around, but it did have its fair share of negative things about it. I liked what they tried to do with the plot, but they shouldn't have done it in clay-animation. It would've been better if they had done it like a normal movie. Laika Entertainment did do a good job on the animations. At times, the plot was a little hard to follow, but they did get back on track and it was very clear after that.

This film wasn’t all bad. It also had some positive points to it. The plot was really interesting and put together well and it kept the viewers on the edge of their seats. When a plot can do this to viewers, you know it is a good story line. The character development was okay, but they could have incorporated all the characters a little more. The setting really contributed to help the plot thicken. Being located at an old building that was built 150 years ago really helped setting a creepy atmosphere. This movie is not suitable for its rating. Kids at the age of 5-9 would not be able to understand it and it might scare them. Note that this movie should be seen by children around the ages of 13-up. The MPAA says that it is PG, but it should really be PG-13. It has parts that are just too scary for kids younger than 13. I got scared and I’m older than 13. It was enough to give me nightmares. There is a metal hand that was just so creepy. But all in all, it was a good movie that had some bad things. They could’ve done better, but for clay animation it was overall a decent movie.

Out of 5 stars: 3 stars ***
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
taylorryanFeb 13, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. “Coraline”, Buttons You Up at the Start

After I watched “Coraline” in English for a project, I haven’t been able to look at a button the same. Coraline is a PG animated fantasy / thriller movie. The producer of “Coraline” is Laika Entertainment. Some main character's voices include actors such as Dakota Fanning as Coraline, Teri Hatcher as the Mothers, and Ian McShane as Mr. Bobinsky. I enjoyed this film but I still have some critical thoughts.

Coraline and her parents move into The Pink Palace Apartments and it seems to be very bland and normal, but she comes to find this mysterious place has big secrets behind a little door. Coraline wishes for a better life. Her parents are caught up in their own business and leave her to make fun for herself. While Coraline explores the house she meets her boring neighbors and a bizarre boy who is the grandson of the owner of the complex. This boy is Wybie, he says his grandmother doesn’t usually rent to people with children. He tells her things that leads her to question her new home. She then unlocks the door to a perfect universe. She meets her other parents and Coraline has everything she has ever wanted. Her other mother just needs one thing in return, to sew buttons into her eyes. But what all does that involve, you say? Watch the movie to see for yourself!

One thing I noticed while watching the film was stop motion. Some might think stop motion isn’t very good, but in this movie it’s really effective with the plot. The details in this movie are excellent. All the characters including mice and stuffed animals had buttons for eyes. For Coraline, a child that wants the perfect life, this image sure is maintained, of course until all turns evil. I disliked the creepiness and scenes where you see the true side of the other mother.

This movie is rated PG. This movie can be frightening to little ones but it doesn’t contain any content to have it be PG 13. I would recommend not taking your little children of ages 8 and under to this mature animated movie. Your child would likely not understand the concept of this film and would have nightmares for the rest of their lives. Some scandalous scenes with grandmas are best not seen by youngsters. These parts are not inappropriate but not recommended for the button eyes of a child. I would suggest that parents should view this movie before taking their kid to view this. I would not refer to this as a scary/horror movie but it does in fact have a very eerie vibe to it.

Scale out of 5 Stars: ***
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
asdfghgggggggFeb 13, 2017
“Coraline”, Buttons You Up at the Start

After I watched “Coraline” in English for a project, I haven’t been able to look at a button the same. Coraline is a PG animated fantasy / thriller movie. The producer of “Coraline” is Laika
“Coraline”, Buttons You Up at the Start

After I watched “Coraline” in English for a project, I haven’t been able to look at a button the same. Coraline is a PG animated fantasy / thriller movie. The producer of “Coraline” is Laika Entertainment. Some main character's voices include actors such as Dakota Fanning as Coraline, Teri Hatcher as the Mothers, and Ian McShane as Mr. Bobinsky. I enjoyed this film but I still have some critical thoughts.

Coraline and her parents move into The Pink Palace Apartments and it seems to be very bland and normal, but she comes to find this mysterious place has big secrets behind a little door. Coraline wishes for a better life. Her parents are caught up in their own business and leave her to make fun for herself. While Coraline explores the house she meets her boring neighbors and a bizarre boy who is the grandson of the owner of the complex. This boy is Wybie, he says his grandmother doesn’t usually rent to people with children. He tells her things that leads her to question her new home. She then unlocks the door to a perfect universe. She meets her other parents and Coraline has everything she has ever wanted. Her other mother just needs one thing in return, to sew buttons into her eyes. But what all does that involve, you say? Watch the movie to see for yourself!

One thing I noticed while watching the film was stop motion. Some might think stop motion isn’t very good, but in this movie it’s really effective with the plot. The details in this movie are excellent. All the characters including mice and stuffed animals had buttons for eyes. For Coraline, a child that wants the perfect life, this image sure is maintained, of course until all turns evil. I disliked the creepiness and scenes where you see the true side of the other mother.

This movie is rated PG. This movie can be frightening to little ones but it doesn’t contain any content to have it be PG 13. I would recommend not taking your little children of ages 8 and under to this mature animated movie. Your child would likely not understand the concept of this film and would have nightmares for the rest of their lives. Some scandalous scenes with grandmas are best not seen by youngsters. These parts are not inappropriate but not recommended for the button eyes of a child. I would suggest that parents should view this movie before taking their kid to view this. I would not refer to this as a scary/horror movie but it does in fact have a very eerie vibe to it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
codys2021Feb 13, 2017
The movie “Coraline” can get scary, and disturbing to some people. I don’t think any little kid should watch this movie if they get scared easily because, it involves little kid ghosts.There are some scenes that can be inappropriate to littleThe movie “Coraline” can get scary, and disturbing to some people. I don’t think any little kid should watch this movie if they get scared easily because, it involves little kid ghosts.There are some scenes that can be inappropriate to little kids also. I personally thought it was disturbing, and also kinda weird. I most likely would not watch this movie again. So if you want to see this movie, make sure you don’t get scared or disturbed easily. Shoutout to Laika Entertainment for making “Coraline”.
The story took place at the Pink Palace Apartments and the other world. This story is mostly about a little girl who moves into this creepy house. Her parents are so busy with their jobs that they ignore Coraline. She has no friends and is bored so she searches for excitement. She opens this little door in her house and enters a whole new world. She meets her “other” parents there and discover they care more about her and are more carefree. Wybie is the first friend she meets and his Grandma owns the apartment. Mr. Bobinsky lived in the attic and was a Russian circus master. Both Miss Forcible and Miss Spink are old theatre ladies who lived underneath them and could see into the future. The cat leads Coraline to make the right decision. The “other” mother and father lived in a different world and looked like dolls. The cat that was around the Pink Palace, had a cool and fun personality. Coraline moved to the Pink Palace and she has some pretty interesting neighbors. There is a circus guy above their apartment and two old theater ladies in the basement below them. Coraline also meets a friend named Wybie. His Grandma owns the Pink Palace. Wybie also found a doll that looked exactly like Coraline. He gives it to her. Coraline likes to garden but her parents don’t make time to garden with Coraline. I wasn’t a huge fan of the animation. The scenes were choppy and unorganized. The characters in the other world had buttoned eyes and wanted Coraline to put buttons in her eyes. But, Coraline didn’t want buttons in her eyes. The whole concept or idea of the movie wasn’t very good. We liked the music because it helped emphasize what was going on and make it more creepy. People who are into scary or animated movies will like to see the movie “Coraline”. This movie would be good for anyone above the age of 10 or anyone that is mature and does not get scared easily. I would not recommend this movie to frightened kids or immature kids, especially under the age of 10. “Coraline” is rated PG for parental guidance. “Coraline” is an okay animated movie while some kids will like all the jump scares, some kids might think it is not scary at all and a waste of time and money.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
serenaf2021Feb 13, 2017
The movie “Coraline” can get scary, and disturbing to some people. I don’t think any little kid should watch this movie if they get scared easily because, it involves little kid ghosts.There are some scenes that can be inappropriate to littleThe movie “Coraline” can get scary, and disturbing to some people. I don’t think any little kid should watch this movie if they get scared easily because, it involves little kid ghosts.There are some scenes that can be inappropriate to little kids also. I personally thought it was disturbing, and also kinda weird. I most likely would not watch this movie again. So if you want to see this movie, make sure you don’t get scared or disturbed easily. Shoutout to Laika Entertainment for making “Coraline”.
The story took place at the Pink Palace Apartments and the other world. This story is mostly about a little girl who moves into this creepy house. Her parents are so busy with their jobs that they ignore Coraline. She has no friends and is bored so she searches for excitement. She opens this little door in her house and enters a whole new world. She meets her “other” parents there and discover they care more about her and are more carefree. Wybie is the first friend she meets and his Grandma owns the apartment. Mr. Bobinsky lived in the attic and was a Russian circus master. Both Miss Forcible and Miss Spink are old theatre ladies who lived underneath them and could see into the future. The cat leads Coraline to make the right decision. The “other” mother and father lived in a different world and looked like dolls. The cat that was around the Pink Palace, had a cool and fun personality. Coraline moved to the Pink Palace and she has some pretty interesting neighbors. There is a circus guy above their apartment and two old theater ladies in the basement below them. Coraline also meets a friend named Wybie. His Grandma owns the Pink Palace. Wybie also found a doll that looked exactly like Coraline. He gives it to her. Coraline likes to garden but her parents don’t make time to garden with Coraline. I wasn’t a huge fan of the animation. The scenes were choppy and unorganized. The characters in the other world had buttoned eyes and wanted Coraline to put buttons in her eyes. But, Coraline didn’t want buttons in her eyes. The whole concept or idea of the movie wasn’t very good. We liked the music because it helped emphasize what was going on and make it more creepy. People who are into scary or animated movies will like to see the movie “Coraline”. This movie would be good for anyone above the age of 10 or anyone that is mature and does not get scared easily. I would not recommend this movie to frightened kids or immature kids, especially under the age of 10. “Coraline” is rated PG for parental guidance. “Coraline” is an okay animated movie while some kids will like all the jump scares, some kids might think it is not scary at all and a waste of time and money. Scale out of five stars
2 stars **
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
CarsonM2021Feb 13, 2017
“Coraline” is an Adventure, Fantasy, and Thriller movie. Henry Selick was the main producer and director of the movie. The studio that produced it was Focus. It is an animated adventure movie that has many cool effects but also flaws.
The
“Coraline” is an Adventure, Fantasy, and Thriller movie. Henry Selick was the main producer and director of the movie. The studio that produced it was Focus. It is an animated adventure movie that has many cool effects but also flaws.
The main character of this movie is Coraline (Dakota Fanning). Coraline is an adventurous person that likes to explore around her new home after moving to Pink Palace Apartments. As Coraline is exploring outside she meets a boy named Wybie(Robert Bailey Jr).That gives her a doll that looks just like her. When she starts to explore the house she finds a secret door in the wall that leads her to a place that is as perfect as can be with the “other parents”. Coraline starts to go back every day. But, she starts to get warnings about a dark secret in the so called perfect world that puts Coraline and her family in danger.
One of the good things about the movie are the effects.The way they could make the characters do certain things seemed like it took a lot of time to do. Also the concept of the story and how they executed it was pretty good. Another good thing about this movie was the animation. But, the movie was also very predictable and got a little boring as it went on. It’s likely they started to ran out of ideas on how to keep the movie going so it seemed as if they put in little time as the movie progressed.
For this movie I would recommend it to people who like adventure, mystery or a thriller. For the age I would say around 8 or older due to scary jump scares and scary characters at the end of movie, inappropriate scenes like not enough clothing on a few of characters you might not want your kids to see. The MPAA rating is PG. Our overall thought of this movie was that is a pretty average. Scale of 5 stars
3 Stars * * *
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
NolanLFeb 13, 2017
“Coraline” will have you traveling through worlds to watch it.

If you are looking for a good movie to take you away from reality “Coraline” is the movie for you, even though everything seems perfect things soon change because not everything
“Coraline” will have you traveling through worlds to watch it.

If you are looking for a good movie to take you away from reality “Coraline” is the movie for you, even though everything seems perfect things soon change because not everything can be perfect. This movie is about a young girl who travels to an alternate universe and then finds her “Other Mother” and becomes in grave danger The production was made by Focus Features, Laika Entertainment, Pandemonium.
This story takes place in Pink Palace Apartments where Coraline and her parents move to a new house in Oregon that was old and has lots of mysteries. The main characters in this story are Coraline Jones, Mr. Bobinsky, Wybie, the cat, Miss Spink, Mel Jones, and Miss Forcible. She finds a small little door with bricks behind it. One night she finds a path through it and she gets into another world. It was so interesting, but everyone had button eyes. We feel this movie has funny characters with great personalities. Bobinsky is the best gymnast we’ve ever seen, Wybie had a really dope motorcycle, and Coraline led the movie really well .The movie went from happy to sad to happy and even in some parts it was a little spooky and weird.The best part about the movie was when Coraline was trying to escape from the secret door, trying to save her parents from the other mother. The part I didn’t like about the movie was when Coraline was not listening to her parents.
We all agreed that this movie is not for little kids movie. It is more for ages 9 and up because it has some scary parts and scary images, some language and suggestive humor, something little kids won’t understand. The MPAA rating of the movie is PG, kids are allowed to watch it but we wouldn’t advise. I think our final thought on the film is a decent movie with a good plot but it got confusing at times. If we had to give this movie a grade it would be a C with 3 stars.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Jacobn2021Feb 13, 2017
Cale Baca, Jacob Neumann, Kiana Abbott
“Coraline Movie Review”
English 8 Period 4 February 3, 2017 “Coraline” will make you want to sew your eyes shut. “Coraline” was a good movie but there were some very bad parts that will make you want
Cale Baca, Jacob Neumann, Kiana Abbott
“Coraline Movie Review”
English 8 Period 4
February 3, 2017 “Coraline” will make you want to sew your eyes shut. “Coraline” was a good movie but there were some very bad parts that will make you want to sew your eyes shut. I thought the movie was very interesting It is not something to show four or five year olds. I would give this movie a R rating. Because it contains some strange and mentally disturbing parts. “Coraline” took place at the Pink Palace in Oregon. The Jones family moved into the area from Michigan to follow their jobs. The family just moved there and Coraline hasn’t found any new friends. She searches throughout the house and finds a small door that leads to the other mother. Coraline keeps going to meet the other mother each night. The mice lead her there through the little door. Coraline meets the cat that tells her to never go back into the other mother’s world. She doesn’t believe the cat, and goes anyway. In the movie “Coraline” I really liked the plot. The plot was really different from all other movies that I’ve seen. I also like that this movie was very unpredictable. Another reason why I liked this movie is, the characters were all unique in their own way. I disliked the clay animation. I also disliked this movie because it was a little cheesy. It was also a little scary and demented
I would recommend this movie to 10 to 12 year olds. I think that kids this age would be able to know what is going on and understand the lesson that is told. It includes a couple of inappropriate scenes, and witchcraft. I would not take young children to this movie. I would rate it *** out of ***** stars. Because it was pretty average. Not something I would see again.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Kannond2021Feb 13, 2017
In my English class we watched “Coraline” and I’d like to give my opinion on “Coraline”. It is a great production published by Laika Entertainment in 2009. With Dakota Fanning as Coraline, Teri Hatcher as Coraline’s mother, John Hodgman wasIn my English class we watched “Coraline” and I’d like to give my opinion on “Coraline”. It is a great production published by Laika Entertainment in 2009. With Dakota Fanning as Coraline, Teri Hatcher as Coraline’s mother, John Hodgman was Coraline’s dad, Ian McShane as Mr. Bobinsky, Jennifer Saunders as Mrs.S, Dawn French as Mrs.F, and Robert Bailey Jr. as Wybie. A young girl named Coraline from Michigan moves into the Pink Palace in Oregon, with some crazy neighbors (Mr. Bobinsky, Mrs. P, and Mrs. F), and a wandering boy named Wybie. When her mom ignores her and her dad tells her to explore the house, she finds a door hidden within the wallpaper. She annoys her mom until her mom unlocks the door, only to find bricks. In disappointment, she falls asleep then some mice wake her up and lead her to the same door. She opens it and and there is a magical tunnel that leads to a new and better world, where she is given a gift to her imagination. Where Her other mother wants to love her and everything in her life is just better, or is it really.
The moral of the story was really good but at times the movie could be hard to follow. Like when she fell asleep and she went back to the real world. There was Fantastic voice actors that rally fit the part, and there is good animations, when at times I thought it was real. There was a scene when the characters are very undressed which isn’t PG appropriate. This Movie isn't recommended for younger kids.The movie isnt appropite becasue it includes very irritating sceces in the other world.Like the other mother transforms into her auctal self.The setting wasn't always appropriate for the scene.
It is a good movie that everyone can enjoy, even though it is only rated PG. Younger viewers could get a little frightened at the end, and they may not understand the point of this film. I’d recommend this movie to anyone who is looking for a good movie with a lot of twist and turns in it. I am in between on bad and good on this movie because you could argue either way with good or bad.
Scale of 5 stars
3 stars ⭐⭐⭐
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JASONL2022Feb 13, 2017
I recently watched the movie “Coraline”. I have to say that this movie was very entertaining to watch. This movie was an animated movie that came out in 2009. This thriller is produced by Laika, Coraline goes on many adventures. Coraline andI recently watched the movie “Coraline”. I have to say that this movie was very entertaining to watch. This movie was an animated movie that came out in 2009. This thriller is produced by Laika, Coraline goes on many adventures. Coraline and her parents move into the Pink Palace apartments. This is where Coraline finds a small door and is given a doll which is an exact copy of her. After she receives the doll, she goes into the door and finds a strange reality. Then one night she goes down and enters the small door and enters the strange reality that is perfect except this world wasn’t as perfect as she thought, then when she goes to bed she wakes up in her regular room and everything is traditional again. Throughout the movie, Coraline has many adventures, meets new friends and learns an important lesson about life in this very entertaining movie. What made some of the movie enjoyable is when Coraline went into the second world and Ms. S and Ms. F put on the singing show and are in mermaid suits, it was a very fun scene because, they were pushing each other out of the spotlight so they have it for themselves and I found this very funny.`But what I didn't really like about the scene is that it's not really age appropriate and shown half naked woman. This scene was inappropriate for the PG rating. One thing I didn’t like was how the stop-motion was so choppy. This made the movie unrealistic and unnatural. The movie might have been able to go for PG-13 but that may be a little high. The movie is more towards the age group of 8 to 10 year olds. I would not recommend this movie for 5 to 6 year old kids because it might be scary for them. This movie was pretty good and entertaining to watch so I recommend people to watch it. If you think you’re too old for this movie you’re not. Anybody could enjoy this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
CHRISTIANH2022Feb 13, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I recently watched the movie “Coraline”. I have to say that this movie was very entertaining to watch. This movie was an animated movie that came out in 2009. This thriller is produced by Laika, Coraline goes on many adventures. Coraline and her parents move into the Pink Palace apartments. This is where Coraline finds a small door and is given a doll which is an exact copy of her. After she receives the doll, she goes into the door and finds a strange reality. Then one night she goes down and enters the small door and enters the strange reality that is perfect except this world wasn’t as perfect as she thought, then when she goes to bed she wakes up in her regular room and everything is traditional again. Throughout the movie, Coraline has many adventures, meets new friends and learns an important lesson about life in this very entertaining movie. What made some of the movie enjoyable is when Coraline went into the second world and Ms. S and Ms. F put on the singing show and are in mermaid suits, it was a very fun scene because, they were pushing each other out of the spotlight so they have it for themselves and I found this very funny.`But what I didn't really like about the scene is that it's not really age appropriate and shown half naked woman. This scene was inappropriate for the PG rating. One thing I didn’t like was how the stop-motion was so choppy. This made the movie unrealistic and unnatural. The movie might have been able to go for PG-13 but that may be a little high. The movie is more towards the age group of 8 to 10 year olds. I would not recommend this movie for 5 to 6 year old kids because it might be scary for them. This movie was pretty good and entertaining to watch so I recommend people to watch it. If you think you’re too old for this movie you’re not. Anybody could enjoy this film.
Rating out of 5 stars
4 stars * * * *
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
GABRIELLEM2022Feb 13, 2017
This movie is a stop-motion animation film. “Coraline” is based off a book by Neil Gaiman. Laika Entertainment was the producer of this fantasy/thriller movie. This movie has a twisted, complex plot with many unexpected surprises. It’s quiteThis movie is a stop-motion animation film. “Coraline” is based off a book by Neil Gaiman. Laika Entertainment was the producer of this fantasy/thriller movie. This movie has a twisted, complex plot with many unexpected surprises. It’s quite interesting, but can get boring at times. But, follow along with Coraline as she unravels the mysteries of the Pink Palace Apartments. The movie “Coraline” took place at the Pink Palace Apartments. The main characters are Coraline, Wybie, Coraline's parents, Other Mother, Other Father, Cat, Ms. S, Mrs. F, Mr.B, and other Wybie. Coraline and her family move to the Pink Palace Apartments for her father’s job. On her first day she’s in her new home, Coraline meets a boy her age named Wybie. She doesn’t really like him at first. Then Wybie finds a doll that looks just like Coraline. That same night, she gets woken up by a mouse in her bedroom doorway. She follows it to the living room and behind the secret door to another world, where everything seems to be perfect. Coraline continues to go back to this “other” world. Little does she know, this “perfect” world is not what it seems.

One of the things we liked was the doll that looked like Coraline because it was odd that it looked just like her and it made you think that the doll might just be important. Also we liked the “other” Ms. S and Mrs. F downstairs because they were funny and relatable. The show Mr.B put on with his dancing mice we thought was cool. It showed how odd Mr. B really was. We liked that the “other”dad created Coraline's face in the garden. It made it seem that her “other” family really cared about her. Some things we didn’t like was parts of the animation because it was different than we were used to. We also disliked the way her real parents are so mean. We really didn’t like the button eyes on the “other”people. We thought they were odd and frightening.

People who like stop-motion animated, cartoon thrillers, or fantasy films.The MPAA of this film is PG. But we believe that this movie is more geared towards older children closer to the age of 10 and older. Our final word on this film is an okay movie. We would give this movie ★★★ out of ★★★★★.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews