Coraline

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 405 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 405
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2015
    4
    It's not that it's a bad movie, I just had a hard time getting into it. The plot was very generic when compared to other animated films. Although the animation was unique and original, That only goes so far. The generic and one-sided characters are a huge miss as well.
  2. Feb 17, 2014
    4
    Coraline has imagination, a good look and premise, however, all this is useless when trying to connect with the kids seems unsuccessful.
    Over the history Coraline does not hold you, the movie walk, walk and walk, and when we realize, it does not show us anything mature, it's quite the opposite actually, Coraline is just a child who repents of something desired.
  3. NathanR.
    Mar 1, 2009
    5
    I really wanted to like this movie, especially after viewing the metacritic score. This was the first 3D movie I felt was worth seeing. And while it is not a terrible movie, it certainly does not deserve a 79 score. Others have mentioned it, but Dakota Fanning is NOT a good voice actress. The visuals were hit and miss. When Coraline first visits her "other family" is close to stunning and I really wanted to like this movie, especially after viewing the metacritic score. This was the first 3D movie I felt was worth seeing. And while it is not a terrible movie, it certainly does not deserve a 79 score. Others have mentioned it, but Dakota Fanning is NOT a good voice actress. The visuals were hit and miss. When Coraline first visits her "other family" is close to stunning and kept my attention. Unfortunately from that point on I felt like taking a nap. The scene with the near-nude granny was not at all necessary, and not funny. That's another thing this movie lacked: humor. All in all, this is not the worst movie I've ever seen. Far from the best. Far, FAR from the best. Expand
  4. jb
    Feb 8, 2009
    5
    A good amount of scenes show real beauty and imagination, but I found myself not ever caring for these characters. Not once. Someone else mentioned that the story was reminiscent of a video game, and it is. What a shame. Unless of course your really swept away by video games. Also, paying close to 3 bucks for glasses that belong to a technology that wasn't worthwhile even fifty years A good amount of scenes show real beauty and imagination, but I found myself not ever caring for these characters. Not once. Someone else mentioned that the story was reminiscent of a video game, and it is. What a shame. Unless of course your really swept away by video games. Also, paying close to 3 bucks for glasses that belong to a technology that wasn't worthwhile even fifty years ago is quite a shame as well. Expand
  5. MikeM
    Mar 21, 2009
    6
    Visually arresting, but the story was frankly, uninteresting. The characters are initially very grating, and never become endearing during the course of the film. The animation is awesome and was very fun to watch in 3D on a big screen, but by the end I didn't really care what happened to the characters, which probably isn't a good sign.
  6. JeffC
    Mar 25, 2009
    5
    Very amazing work with the stop-action, but the film is very overrated. The story was mediocre and drawn out too much.
  7. wenzdaej
    Jul 27, 2009
    5
    It was ok could have been better and it definitely was a kids movie kids love to be scared and this wasn't even that scary since it was animated and kids always know the difference better than adults i remember being a kid and i LOVED scary movies all kids do and did anybody ever read any fairy tales from grimm to o Henry what about te little match girl she froze to death was that It was ok could have been better and it definitely was a kids movie kids love to be scared and this wasn't even that scary since it was animated and kids always know the difference better than adults i remember being a kid and i LOVED scary movies all kids do and did anybody ever read any fairy tales from grimm to o Henry what about te little match girl she froze to death was that for kids?? Cinderella if any1 ever bothered to actually read it the sisters die a gruesome death, so all u wawawa a its not for kids morons ' yours are the kids who get beat up and have their heads flushed down the toilet. Expand
  8. M.J.P
    Jul 7, 2009
    6
    Another creative short-stop animation with surprisingly good detail, but lacking a much needed child-friendly approach, seeing as how this film was a children's movie. I don't think its very appropriate for a large elderly woman to be jumping up and down in a thong and nipple pasties.
  9. EliasC
    Sep 2, 2009
    5
    Neil Gaiman has always been an acquired taste. His visions of twisted reality in all of his works has always been more appealing to me as in book form rather than as a visual entertainment. Coraline is no exception. His foray into children's books with the publication of Coraline was a surprise to many but his quirky story was well written and appealing on paper. On film however, it Neil Gaiman has always been an acquired taste. His visions of twisted reality in all of his works has always been more appealing to me as in book form rather than as a visual entertainment. Coraline is no exception. His foray into children's books with the publication of Coraline was a surprise to many but his quirky story was well written and appealing on paper. On film however, it just seems...well, strange. Not exactly a kid's movie and not exactly a film for adult's either. The skill it took to animate using stop action movement should be appreciated. Some stop motion techniques exhibited in this film were simply astonishing. But technique alone does not make a good film. A great film for film students does not make a great film for the average viewer. Consider the twisted universe of the film's reality and the even more twisted vision of the film's alternate reality. Look at the scenes with the almost nude acrobatic sisters. Listen to the awful vocal music, This is not a film for children. Let your kids read the book instead and let them use their own imagination to fill in the blanks. And a final note: The 3D theatrical version must have been something to watch. DO not fall for the DVD's 3D version. It is simply bad. Using red and green cardboard glasses, the film is colorless, dark, eye-aching awfulness. The producers of the DVD's 3D packaging should be ashamed. Expand
  10. TheDude
    Feb 17, 2009
    6
    Whoa! This movie wasn't what I was expecting. I purposefully don't read much of reviews because they always give away too much, but I'm a junky for 3D movies and I saw the high marks for this one so I couldn't wait. The thing was, I was expecting it to be a kids' movie, and it wasn't that at all. It was waaaay too creepy, edgy, scary, strange, and freaky for Whoa! This movie wasn't what I was expecting. I purposefully don't read much of reviews because they always give away too much, but I'm a junky for 3D movies and I saw the high marks for this one so I couldn't wait. The thing was, I was expecting it to be a kids' movie, and it wasn't that at all. It was waaaay too creepy, edgy, scary, strange, and freaky for children, I felt. It bore a lot in common with Pan's Labrynth and The Orphanage, and was similar in tone to those. There was one spectacular scene visually in a garden at night, but mostly I just felt really creeped out and disturbed. In general, I usually disagree with the high marks that clay-mation films get, not because I don't like claymation, but because I usually find them to be too slow, or them to be a little too dark and strange, or their stories to just not be as strong as I would hope, and yet they always seem to get rave reviews from the critics regardless. This film seemed derivative of the two other movies I mentioned, and was very creepy and weird, so if you liked those films you might really enjoy this, but it's not really my thing, and definitely don't go in expecting a fun, light rompy kids movie, and do realize that if you take small children there will likely be uncomfortable moments, and quite possibly nightmares from it(I think I might have some nightmares from it, and I'm a grown man!). Expand
  11. KevinE
    Mar 25, 2009
    6
    Margaret S - I actually fall directly into the categories you mention and while I mostly enjoyed the movie I felt the second half lacked much sense of wonder that other animated movies might have. As well, most of the lesser characters were uninteresting. I
  12. portlihop
    May 10, 2009
    4
    Visually stunning(3d Had great storyline bones but not enough meat to get stuck into. My 10yr old described story line as "meh" +points for scaring the shit out of my 6 year old.
  13. DocSteven
    Feb 14, 2009
    5
    I was really looking forward to taking two of my nieces, ages 13 and 9, to a highly rated movie, particularly an animated film. Well, very disappointed. The 9 year old shrugged her shoulders when I asked her afterwards what she thought. She further elaborated that it was "just okay." I didn't find it very engaging at all. It was too long and there were some scenes that seemed very I was really looking forward to taking two of my nieces, ages 13 and 9, to a highly rated movie, particularly an animated film. Well, very disappointed. The 9 year old shrugged her shoulders when I asked her afterwards what she thought. She further elaborated that it was "just okay." I didn't find it very engaging at all. It was too long and there were some scenes that seemed very unnecessary to the story line. At least what I could find of the story line. Yes, imaginative and very creative, but it lacked an emotional pull. Maybe I'm just not smart enough like some of the other critic's reviews, or maybe I'm like the child who says out loud, "the emperor has no clothes!" in spite of what everyone forces themselves to believe. Perhaps I expected this movie to leave me with a sense of wonder, like other fairy tales and animated films have done, but no such luck. Oh, well. It was nice to spend the time with my nieces! Expand
  14. JulianM
    Feb 15, 2009
    4
    I just couldn't get into it. Sure, the animation and 3D were great, but the story lacked... something. Maybe the characters... When Coraline entered the new world with all sorts of strange things, she barely seemed surprised. I don't know, maybe it's just me but I felt bored the whole movie. Whenever there was a hint of foreshadowing, I just didn't care what was going I just couldn't get into it. Sure, the animation and 3D were great, but the story lacked... something. Maybe the characters... When Coraline entered the new world with all sorts of strange things, she barely seemed surprised. I don't know, maybe it's just me but I felt bored the whole movie. Whenever there was a hint of foreshadowing, I just didn't care what was going to happen. Bottom Line : Only watch it if you are REALLY REALLY into animated/Tim Burton movies. Expand
  15. wenesdae*
    Jul 24, 2009
    4
    it was good if it were on tv otherwise the 4 applies , it couild have been alot better and entertaining for kids and adults, i strongly disagree that it isnt a kids movie , im 44 but i remember being a kid quite well, and i LOVED horror movies and scary things and yes even books, all kids do.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 88
    This is perhaps the most effective 3-D movie I have ever seen, with a sophisticated, involving story that will appeal to many adults. The only reservation I have is with the PG rating, which seems too lenient for a story that may give very young children - particularly if they are sensitive - nightmares.
  2. 88
    The combination of 3-D photography and puppet-animation - centered on actual figures designed by hand and manipulated frame by frame - creates a world that's dense, active and fluid: a sensory Jacuzzi.
  3. Reviewed by: Jenni Miller
    88
    The story is creepy fun and 100-percent different than whatever other crap is flooding the February market.