Focus Features | Release Date: February 6, 2009
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 606 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
508
Mixed:
51
Negative:
47
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MichaelaC.Jan 3, 2010
The people that said the movie was boring and dull are really saying that they don't want to watch something different and new but just want to stay in their comfort zone of totally predictable movies at least its a fresh change from The people that said the movie was boring and dull are really saying that they don't want to watch something different and new but just want to stay in their comfort zone of totally predictable movies at least its a fresh change from all those other movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
smijatovAug 13, 2010
Coraline really provides an interesting story with some very nice visuals! It is very engaging and it definitely involves the viewer to figure out what is happening out. Visually, there are some beautiful scenes, and besides the unusualCoraline really provides an interesting story with some very nice visuals! It is very engaging and it definitely involves the viewer to figure out what is happening out. Visually, there are some beautiful scenes, and besides the unusual animation style it is still captivating, but nowhere nearly as beautiful as some new animated films, such as "Up" or "Wall-E". Nevertheless, a very nice animated film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
DavidM.Feb 28, 2009
A true labour of love, which bore gorgeous fruit, visually and stylistically. Not likely to appeal to a crowd looking for singing fish and dancing zebras. Why anyone would expect this to be a Disneyesque, inane sunshine and lolipops venture A true labour of love, which bore gorgeous fruit, visually and stylistically. Not likely to appeal to a crowd looking for singing fish and dancing zebras. Why anyone would expect this to be a Disneyesque, inane sunshine and lolipops venture for a SMALL child and then complain after the fact is a bit of a mystery. It is INTENDED to be dark and yes, disturbing. The artistry and execution left me at a loss for words after viewing, but perhaps that is because I am just a "moran" (sorry Bill C) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
kairiCFeb 7, 2009
It was really visually stunning, the 3d was a little distracting in a few places, it was really spot-on the spirit of the book, even with the changes. It was fun and creepy and me, my husband, and my 12 year old daughter all enjoyed it. It was really visually stunning, the 3d was a little distracting in a few places, it was really spot-on the spirit of the book, even with the changes. It was fun and creepy and me, my husband, and my 12 year old daughter all enjoyed it. Amazing stop-action like I've never seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimS.Feb 7, 2009
The extra money for the rich 3D is absolutely a must. I was sad when the movie ended that's how much I enjoyed my experience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
amelindasMay 16, 2009
At first I felt like a child again, discovering how "wierd" evil was rather than scary or threatening. It than dove right in to the insanity and came out squeaky sane on the other side. The resiliency of a child's mind is astonishing At first I felt like a child again, discovering how "wierd" evil was rather than scary or threatening. It than dove right in to the insanity and came out squeaky sane on the other side. The resiliency of a child's mind is astonishing and the movie brought that all back. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanielM.Feb 21, 2009
This movie may have been weird, spooky and meant to be played in October. Also, the way that everything went, ( how thematic it was and how scary it was, and to mention one clip of the movie was suggestive enough that it was meant for This movie may have been weird, spooky and meant to be played in October. Also, the way that everything went, ( how thematic it was and how scary it was, and to mention one clip of the movie was suggestive enough that it was meant for teenagers instead of children. ) But other than what I just said this was the best movie that I saw that was not meant for toddlers, or adults. The story was surprisingly awesome in an adventurous way, and how they set up the movie was classic. Even better, the movie was definitely appropriately timed, when the movie was ending, I was getting a little antsy. This movie is a must see to any teenager out there. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AlenSFeb 27, 2009
What a magical experience, not a movie at all, but a brilliant adventure. Very creepy... Truly creepy and unsettling... If the movie is too scary for your kids, then don't watch the whole thing! Just because it is spooky doesn't What a magical experience, not a movie at all, but a brilliant adventure. Very creepy... Truly creepy and unsettling... If the movie is too scary for your kids, then don't watch the whole thing! Just because it is spooky doesn't equate it with being bad. The rich visuals were right on. Way better than Nightmare. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PaulD.Mar 5, 2009
Excellent script and stellar animation makes this a winner. I saw it without 3-D, but it was still very impressive. Imaginative and beautiful animation, but suspense and menace keep it from being syrupy. Kept my interest and attention till the end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SatiricalewokNov 8, 2014
Good god this film is creepy. Forget actual horror films, I can safely tell you that this was scarier than any horror film I have seen since it's release. Aside from the near mental scarring I underwent, this film was fantastic, it containsGood god this film is creepy. Forget actual horror films, I can safely tell you that this was scarier than any horror film I have seen since it's release. Aside from the near mental scarring I underwent, this film was fantastic, it contains some of the best animation I have ever seen, and one of the most compelling heart warming stories. Just don't watch it at night. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GamecubeLoverJul 3, 2016
This movie is an endless cycle of creativity and spookiness. This movie just makes me wonder sometimes. The animation is pretty cool to be honest. I do recommend this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Jun 30, 2013
Coraline is a masterpiece with insightful and clever stop-motion animation that will entertain you like never before. The 3D is absorbing and intelligent, Athena wise 3D use. The plot is original and riveting, with a pleasant and fascinatingCoraline is a masterpiece with insightful and clever stop-motion animation that will entertain you like never before. The 3D is absorbing and intelligent, Athena wise 3D use. The plot is original and riveting, with a pleasant and fascinating ending that you will never expect it coming. Coraline easily is imaginative, powerful and surprisingly, one of the greatest works done in a long time. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 28, 2011
"Coraline" is very basic in terms of story structure or voice acting. But it's the originality that pushes this visually magnificent movie into the stage of performances. Overall a well-made animation that audiences of every age will"Coraline" is very basic in terms of story structure or voice acting. But it's the originality that pushes this visually magnificent movie into the stage of performances. Overall a well-made animation that audiences of every age will definitely enjoy. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
JasonH.Feb 7, 2009
I REALLY enjoyed watching this movie, and my only gripe is a strange one: About half way through the movie, it starts seeming like it's a video game.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
heyitsmegrif4Dec 18, 2011
Henry Selick takes Neil Gaiman's imaginative story and makes wonders with it with thrills, dark humor, great stop motion animation, and a cool original score make Coraline one of the best animated films ever made in my opinion. I give this movie 93%.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
ZalDec 14, 2012
Coraline was one of my favorite books in middle school. When I heard that there was going to be a movie version, I was excited. And the movie did not disappoint.

The story has an Alice in Wonderland vibe since it involves a young girl
Coraline was one of my favorite books in middle school. When I heard that there was going to be a movie version, I was excited. And the movie did not disappoint.

The story has an Alice in Wonderland vibe since it involves a young girl ending up in topsy turvy word. It reminds me of Corpse Bride in the designs of the two worlds where the real world is grey and drab while the alternate world is colorful and fantastical. I love the design of the Other Mother's world. It's bright and colorful and everything is made to please Coraline. However, as Coraline starts to resist, everything becomes darker and the Other Mother looks less and less human. And I don't know about anyone else, but the climax scared me to death.

I also enjoyed the characters. Coraline is a believable kid. She's kooky and weird and has strange taste in fashion. She gets on her parents nerves but she just wants them to to pay attention to her. The parents are also believable. There are times when my parents are so wrapped up in their work that they don't have time for me. They aren't bad people. They're just unbelivably stressed. The Other Mother is freaky as hell. She really seems like the kind of mother we all wish we had. She's funny and loving and gives you whatever you want. Too bad she's doing it so that she can ensnare and kill you. The other characters are mostly hit or miss.

Fans of the book might not like the changes made, but I think there were for the better. The book lacked detailed descriptions about Coraline's appearance. I really liked the blue hair. It fits her character. I also like the addition of Wybie. While he wasn't a HUGE part of the plot, they made his character relevant. And thank god they didn't make him a love interest.

I can understand why people wouldn't like it as much. It does have a lot of slow moments, but I liked those scenes because they were used to show us what kind of person Coraline is and about her relationship with her parents and Wybie.

I'm not sure if it will appeal to Tim Burton fans. It doesn't strike the same balance between macabre, comedy, and whimsy, but it's not trying to be The Nightmare Before Christmas. The only things it has in common with it is stopmotion and director Henry Selick. If you like stopmotion, this is a good movie to see.

And if you liked this movie, watch Laika's other major stopmotion film, ParaNorman.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Brandy2001Jan 14, 2014
This movie excceded my expectation
Is one of the few good animated films
Mysterious, interesting and well made.
I think this Is a simple but a good film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwMay 3, 2016
Neil Gaiman is so contemporarily vital, both in literature and cinema, because he more than anyone else (with the possible exception of Terry Gilliam) notes that children and adults alike are fascinated with what lies outside our observableNeil Gaiman is so contemporarily vital, both in literature and cinema, because he more than anyone else (with the possible exception of Terry Gilliam) notes that children and adults alike are fascinated with what lies outside our observable and tangible realms of existence. He realized the reasons storytelling have been significantly important since the dawn of mankind, and devised, as the Brothers Grimm did, that fairy tales and children's stories had to be haunting and entertaining to be both memorable and timeless. This is a great film depicting the growing sense as a child approaches adolescence that their parents and their world aren't exactly as they seem, and that through their trials and tribulations (the 'rites of passage', if you will) they'll reach the 'happy medium' they need to in order to find true happiness in their lifetimes.

I definitely hope that all of Gaiman's books and graphic novels are made into movies (I most anticipate the 'Miracleman' graphic novels--both those by him and Alan Moore). Ones so well-written would truly be 'comic book movies' worth watching for me.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
senae2021Feb 13, 2017
We looked through the button eyes of Coraline in the movie “Coraline” and would like to give our opinion over it. “Coraline” is a movie about an a girl who’s unhappy with her life with her family. She was forced to move away from all herWe looked through the button eyes of Coraline in the movie “Coraline” and would like to give our opinion over it. “Coraline” is a movie about an a girl who’s unhappy with her life with her family. She was forced to move away from all her friends and live in the Pink Palace. From there she faces challenges but meets new friends along the way. Laika is the company that produced this movie. We thought Henry Selick (the director) and Laika did a great job making this movie happen. “Coraline” took place in the Pink Palace Apartments where she found a magical doorway that leads to an alternative, better world. In the other world she meets improved versions of the people she knows, such as her parents. Everything in that world is how she wants her life to be. This world ended up being pretty dangerous for Coraline. Coraline struggles to find her way and learns to appreciate what she has and not what she wants. We liked the stop motion animation in this movie and appreciate how long it takes to do it. We also liked all the characters such as Coraline, Wybie, Bobinsky, and the Black Cat. One of our favorite scenes in the middle of the movie was about one of the many wonders, the other father’s garden. The beautiful flowers seem to come to life as she walks through the garden. One of our least favorite scenes from the movie is when she had to throw the black cat to escape one of the many dangers. Overall, we all think that this movie is really good. This movie is PG, but we think that a certain age group should watch it. It could be hard for little kids to understand and it will most likely scare them. We recommend ages 10 and up so they will be understand the actual storyline. We also don’t recommend this movie to adults, but it is still good for all age groups. Overall this movie is pretty good but is hard to understand the plot and the message that goes with it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Rosariok2021Feb 3, 2017
After previously watching the movie “Coraline”, I’ve decided to let others know how I feel about the movie. Henry Selicks’ “Coraline”, is an interesting, imaginative and creative movie. While the creepiness of the movie gets to me, itAfter previously watching the movie “Coraline”, I’ve decided to let others know how I feel about the movie. Henry Selicks’ “Coraline”, is an interesting, imaginative and creative movie. While the creepiness of the movie gets to me, it delivers an informational message that not many children will pick up on, but an adult, or 14 year old, could get the message. This movie never seemed to bore me or others at any time keeping all of us entertained or immersed in what's happening.
When Coraline moves into Pink Palace apartments, she feels bored and alone because she doesn’t have any friends and her parents are always working. She soon meets a boy about her age named Wybie, and her neighbors Miss. F, Miss. S, and Mr. Bobinski. Coraline then finds a hidden passageway that leads to an alternate universe where everybody has buttons sewn into their eyes and she gets everything she wants including tons of attention from her ‘other parents’. She goes there everyday for awhile. One day they tell her that if she wants to, she can live with them forever but only on one HUGE condition. That’s when she realizes that everything’s not as perfect as it seems in the alternate universe and learns to accept what she has outside of the alternate universe even if it’s not everything she wants. While “Coraline” was an interesting film, it had a few flaws and things I strongly disliked. Firstly, it might be kind of hard to explain the moral of the story to a toddler. Second, the animation was slightly off at times. But there were many perfections about this movie too, such as the creativity in the names. It had good twists, and the animation was okay at times and kind of creepy. “Coraline” is rated PG with some considerable sinister scenes from beginning to end. The movie is aimed for children to get a lesson across that we should not take anything for granted because it could be much worse. Coraline was planned out and told pretty well with the voices and characters being spot on with how you would expect it to be. To really get a grip on the movie and it’s meaning an older audience would be suggested. I would recommend this movie to anybody 10 or older and ready to sink into a great movie. Coraline showing great morals and a great story makes this movie top-notch and a definite must watch again.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
kierraa2021Feb 13, 2017
I recently watched this film and thought it wasn’t half bad. In fact, it was better than that. This movie wasn’t the best movie I’ve seen, and I may be slightly biased since this isn’t a genre I enjoy that much. “Coraline”, made by LaikaI recently watched this film and thought it wasn’t half bad. In fact, it was better than that. This movie wasn’t the best movie I’ve seen, and I may be slightly biased since this isn’t a genre I enjoy that much. “Coraline”, made by Laika Entertainment, made a unique, different type of stop motion film with a darker twist to it. The story is far different than any other traditional kid’s movie, and the film must’ve been a major risk considering that no one had made a movie like this for such a young audience.
The movie starts with the main character, Coraline, moving into an apartment for the summer. After exploring, she later finds a well, and not too long after she meets Wybie. Then Wybie tells Caroline that that house is haunted, because his grandma's sister went missing in the Pink Palace, the company that owns the apartment complex Coraline's living in. Coralline also finds out that Wybie has a doll that looks exactly like Coraline herself. The night Coraline found the doll, she went to bed, but was a awaken in the middle of the night and led to the secret door by a mouse, that is now open. The door acts as a portal, that leads to another dimension just like her own, yet there are a new set of parents. This dimension is mostly the same, but for one huge difference, they all have buttons for eyes. In this world, there is another version of her mother, and through a series of events she manages to gain Coraline’s trust, but It turns out that her other mother is an evil beldam that wants to be loved, forever. Through vigerous tasks Coraline eventually has to free her parents that the Other Mother has captured and escape the dimension she is trapped in. My favorite part about this film is the stop motion animation, and how unique it is for it’s making in 2009. For me personally, I love and absolutely adore unique art styles and indifferent animation styles, and that also goes for this film as well. There are plenty of stop motion films, but this catches my eye just for it’s unusually dark story. The animation was a little clunky at times, where the movements of the characters were a little choppy rather than smooth. I also like just how bizarre it can be, especially in a scene where the world seems to deteriorate. There are many scenes that are bizarre enough to reach my expectations. I wouldn’t recommend this movie to many younger viewers, most children seven or under should avoid this film. When I was around the age of five, I saw this film for the first time and it absolutely terrified me, and after that experience I never wanted to see it again because it scared me so badly. However, coming back to view the movie nine years later I can appreciate that it’s a good film. I’d highly recommend this to viewers of the age ten or older. Most young children wouldn’t even be able to appreciate the film for what it is anyway. Though the film is rated PG, it should’ve been a little higher or have some age restriction on the film. My view of the film is that it’s one I like, just not my favorite. However I am a slightly biased just since it’s not my favorite genre of film.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
sarail2021Feb 13, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sweet “Coraline” We watched “Coraline” in class, and we found the movie to be very interesting. Laika Entertainment presents a creepy but funny story of a girl experiencing a whole different world, which can be good and bad. The movie is sure to give you a fright. From the almost falling down the well, to the bug-eating other mother, you never know what is going to happen next! Most of us were really engaged in the plot and it kept us wanting to see the next scene. The story starts off with a doll being made that looks identical to Coraline. Then, the real life Coraline and her family had just moved into a new house. While she is exploring, she meets Wybie, who lives with his grandma and his cat in a nearby house. He later gives her the Coraline look-alike doll. On her way home, she finds that her mail was mixed up with her neighbor Mr.B’s mail. She visits his house and delivers his mail to him. Then, Coraline was looking through her new home when she came across a small door behind the wallpaper. At first, there was only bricks behind it. But, during the night she woke up and there was a mouse that lead her to the door. Behind it was another world where she met her other parents with button eyes. She experiences different things like a performance at Mr. B’s house and amazing feasts made by her other parents. Behind the door, her life is everything she ever wanted. But, everything turns upside down when she finds out what her other mother really wants from her.
There were lots of things we liked, and some things we didn’t like as much. Something we particularly liked about the movie was all of the details in the characters and the scenery. The first scene when Wybie and Coraline first met, kept us on the edge of our seats. Another thing we liked was the stop-motion animation. The portal to the other world was really detailed. One of the most liked characters was the cat because it can talk and he helps Coraline in the movie. We found that the buttons for eyes was a really creepy touch to the story, and we didn’t really enjoy it. But, we understood that it was an important touch to the story. Something else that was really creepy was when the mice that showed Coraline the doors turned into rats.
Although the movie was really interesting, we wouldn’t recommend the movie for children under the age of eight. The story can be a little frightening to it’s target audience. There are lots of scary characters and scenes that could not be the best for kids under 8. But, we think adults and kids older than eight would really enjoy the movie. The movie’s MPAA rating is PG because it has some scary images. We would say that this movie is great and really interesting. We give this movie 5 out of 5 stars. We gave it this rating because the suspense and action kept us wanting more.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
dejad2021Feb 13, 2017
Sweet “Coraline” We watched “Coraline” in class, and we found the movie to be very interesting. Laika Entertainment presents a creepy but funny story of a girl experiencing a whole different world, which can be good and bad. The movie is sureSweet “Coraline” We watched “Coraline” in class, and we found the movie to be very interesting. Laika Entertainment presents a creepy but funny story of a girl experiencing a whole different world, which can be good and bad. The movie is sure to give you a fright. From the almost falling down the well, to the bug-eating other mother, you never know what is going to happen next! Most of us were really engaged in the plot and it kept us wanting to see the next scene. The story starts off with a doll being made that looks identical to Coraline. Then, the real life Coraline and her family had just moved into a new house. While she is exploring, she meets Wybie, who lives with his grandma and his cat in a nearby house. He later gives her the Coraline look-alike doll. On her way home, she finds that her mail was mixed up with her neighbor Mr.B’s mail. She visits his house and delivers his mail to him. Then, Coraline was looking through her new home when she came across a small door behind the wallpaper. At first, there was only bricks behind it. But, during the night she woke up and there was a mouse that lead her to the door. Behind it was another world where she met her other parents with button eyes. She experiences different things like a performance at Mr. B’s house and amazing feasts made by her other parents. Behind the door, her life is everything she ever wanted. But, everything turns upside down when she finds out what her other mother really wants from her.
There were lots of things we liked, and some things we didn’t like as much. Something we particularly liked about the movie was all of the details in the characters and the scenery. The first scene when Wybie and Coraline first met, kept us on the edge of our seats. Another thing we liked was the stop-motion animation. The portal to the other world was really detailed. One of the most liked characters was the cat because it can talk and he helps Coraline in the movie. We found that the buttons for eyes was a really creepy touch to the story, and we didn’t really enjoy it. But, we understood that it was an important touch to the story. Something else that was really creepy was when the mice that showed Coraline the doors turned into rats.
Although the movie was really interesting, we wouldn’t recommend the movie for children under the age of eight. The story can be a little frightening to it’s target audience. There are lots of scary characters and scenes that could not be the best for kids under 8. But, we think adults and kids older than eight would really enjoy the movie. The movie’s MPAA rating is PG because it has some scary images. We would say that this movie is great and really interesting. We give this movie 5 out of 5 stars. We gave it this rating because the suspense and action kept us wanting more.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
ETHANM2021Feb 13, 2017
“Coraline Has Us Sewn In From The Beginning” We just watched the movie “Coraline” and Laika Entertainment hit us hard with an easy movie for older kids to understand. The animation style in this movie is amazing it goes it extreme detail.“Coraline Has Us Sewn In From The Beginning” We just watched the movie “Coraline” and Laika Entertainment hit us hard with an easy movie for older kids to understand. The animation style in this movie is amazing it goes it extreme detail. This movie isn’t really appropriate for younger kids but if kid enjoys creepy Tim Burton Movies then they would enjoy this movie. Laika Entertainment once again made a genius movie for people wanting to watch animated movies that are gloomy.
In the movie “Coraline”, Coraline moves into here new apartment called the Pink Palace in the middle of nowhere. At first she doesn’t like the Pink Palace because she thinks it is boring and there is nothing to do. She found somebody named Wybie and he gave her a doll that looked just liked her. Her parents always are working and never have time for her. She goes looking around the house and finds the door. She goes into the kitchen and asked her mom for the key, her mom finds the key in a drawer and goes to open the door Coraline was talking about. She opens the door and it's a brick wall. Then it was time for bed, she went to her room and fell asleep and mice came in her room and woke her up and lead her to the little door. She opened the door and found there was an opening and it lead her to her other mother, who is a creepy and controlling. Watch this movie in order to find out Coraline’s fate. I really enjoyed this movie and the actors and how they put emotion into this movie. One of my favorite parts was when they went into the alternate reality and met the other parents. The animation was so bright and colorful. The garden scene is vibrant and makes you want to be in a garden. Coraline is known for her blue hair an d daring personality.What i didn’t like was how it had too many plot holes for you to figure out as the movie went on. A plot hole is basically how you have to figure out what happened without the movie directly telling what has happened.
I would recommend this movie to the age of 8 and up. An 8 year old may not understand it as well but they would still enjoy it. A 13 year old would understand some of the difficult topics like the alternate reality. This movie might scare little children because there is some parts where it can or may scare them. Its rated PG because of the images and some of the language. I also think it was a great movie because it explained a perfected story and it explained things really well but some parts did get confusing that's why we gave it a four star rating. 4 out of 5 stars rating
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Carloso2021Feb 13, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just saw “Coraline” and I want to say something about it. This movie is like Wallace and Gromit meets Ghostbusters creepy. Laika Entertainment really liked to build up suspense and action whenever something big was about to happen to Coraline. This movie is about a girl named Coraline. She moved to an apartment complex called the Pink Palace. She goes exploring and meets a boy named Wybie with a strange stray cat. She runs into a weird and crazy circus ringleader named Mr. B. Also, she finds a pair of twins that own three dogs and live in the basement and they always argue with each other and can tell her the future. She explores the house and discovers a hidden door. The door at first was blocked by bricks but after she starts to fall asleep. She hears mice in her room goes of to chase them and the mice end up going to the door. She opens it and finds out that the door is a portal to an alternate universe controlled by Other Mother. She did everything to make Coraline’s life happier but just to take her because she “needs love.”

I thought the movie “Coraline” was a really good and interesting movie. It was really specific on how old and run-down the place was. The movie started out with Coraline having a rough time living in a new place. It is a really eerie movie because she was living with mysterious neighbors and there was a lot of minor things that helped like the fog and the setting. I just didn’t like the rating for it because it would be a little scary for younger kids. There is also a boy named Wybie with a stray cat that stalks her and she can’t do or have a lot of the things that she wants. I think the people who like scary or creepy movies would like this movie. I recommend not letting the littler kids see this. It’s more meant for kids about 11 and up. It is extremely creepy and would scare little kids. I would rate this movie PG-13 because 13 year olds would like this movie if they don’t get creeped out. I say “Coraline” is an overall good movie. I give it an A or 5 stars.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
riannac2021Feb 13, 2017
“Coraline Has Us Sewn In From The Beginning” We just watched the movie “Coraline” and Laika Entertainment hit us hard with an easy movie for older kids to understand. The animation style in this movie is amazing it goes it extreme detail.“Coraline Has Us Sewn In From The Beginning” We just watched the movie “Coraline” and Laika Entertainment hit us hard with an easy movie for older kids to understand. The animation style in this movie is amazing it goes it extreme detail. This movie isn’t really appropriate for younger kids but if kid enjoys creepy Tim Burton Movies then they would enjoy this movie. Laika Entertainment once again made a genius movie for people wanting to watch animated movies that are gloomy.
In the movie “Coraline”, Coraline moves into here new apartment called the Pink Palace in the middle of nowhere. At first she doesn’t like the Pink Palace because she thinks it is boring and there is nothing to do. She found somebody named Wybie and he gave her a doll that looked just liked her. Her parents always are working and never have time for her. She goes looking around the house and finds the door. She goes into the kitchen and asked her mom for the key, her mom finds the key in a drawer and goes to open the door Coraline was talking about. She opens the door and it's a brick wall. Then it was time for bed, she went to her room and fell asleep and mice came in her room and woke her up and lead her to the little door. She opened the door and found there was an opening and it lead her to her other mother, who is a creepy and controlling. Watch this movie in order to find out Coraline’s fate. I really enjoyed this movie and the actors and how they put emotion into this movie. One of my favorite parts was when they went into the alternate reality and met the other parents. The animation was so bright and colorful. The garden scene is vibrant and makes you want to be in a garden. Coraline is known for her blue hair an d daring personality.What i didn’t like was how it had too many plot holes for you to figure out as the movie went on. A plot hole is basically how you have to figure out what happened without the movie directly telling what has happened.
I would recommend this movie to the age of 8 and up. An 8 year old may not understand it as well but they would still enjoy it. A 13 year old would understand some of the difficult topics like the alternate reality. This movie might scare little children because there is some parts where it can or may scare them. Its rated PG because of the images and some of the language. I also think it was a great movie because it explained a perfected story and it explained things really well but some parts did get confusing that's why we gave it a four star rating. 4 out of 5 stars rating
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
SamanthaF2021Feb 13, 2017
I would describe Coraline as a “kid-friendly horror movie”. A movie for only the children with brave souls that can handle jump scares, characters that not only look a little scary, but possess voices that are anything but soothing. ProducedI would describe Coraline as a “kid-friendly horror movie”. A movie for only the children with brave souls that can handle jump scares, characters that not only look a little scary, but possess voices that are anything but soothing. Produced by Laika Entertainment, Coraline creates a very twisted plot which presents the theme of “be careful what you wish for”, but does this movie depict the theme in a way which children will learn from it? I believe it does, if the child isn’t covering their eyes and ears throughout the climax of the movie.
The introduction of this movie, will have the audience disturbed right off the bat. Hands, with long fingers of steel, intricately ripping into the seams of a stuffed doll and recreating its fabrics to make it look exactly like the main character, Coraline. Coraline is a spunky child who had just recently moved into ‘The Pink Palace’, a three story townhome located in the middle of the woods. Coraline goes outside one day, to be disturbed by a stray cat, and her new annoying friend Wybie. We don’t know where Wybie lives, but we do know that he is forbidden from going into the Pink Palace by his strict grandmother. Wybie states that his grandmother doesn’t allow him in the Pink Palace because his grandma’s sister was ‘stolen’ while exploring the Pink Palace and never returned. Coraline, being the sassy thing that she is, rolls her eyes at the thought of her home being dangerous and ignores Wybie. She then comes home, and experiences her parents ignoring her, because they are too busy hunched over their computers to play with her and is disappointed because her parents treat her like she doesn’t exist. The next day, Wybie introduces Coraline to Mr. B, an insane acrobat who is disgustingly flexible. Soon after, Wybie gives Coraline a doll that looks almost exactly like her. Coraline takes the doll and sets it near her bed in a position as if it is watching her. I believe she does this to make it feel like someone does care about her parents, because her parents don’t show they care about her at all whatsoever.
Later, while Coraline’s parents are minding their own business, Coraline finds a small door inside of a wall. She nags her mom for the key to this door, and she does, in exchange for Coraline to leave her alone. Coraline finds that nothing is there but a brick wall, a big disappointment for Coraline. That night she finds jumping mice, that lead her to the small door. When it is opened, she has access to a colorful tunnel, that leads to an entire new world! This new world greets her with an abundant feast and new parents. These parents call themselves the ‘other mother’, and the ‘other father’, and they fill this other world with wonders and superficial love and care for ‘their child’. Coraline soon discovers that this world isn’t what it claims to be, only to learn to “be careful what you wish for”.
Coraline, is a movie that in our opinion, has many positives and negatives. For example, we really enjoyed the stop motion animation that most somewhat recent movies don’t have. We also enjoyed the parts of the movie that were more uplifting, such as when the other mother and other father fed her, showed her the garden that looked like an exact replica of Coraline’s face, the circus shown by Mr. B and the circus mice, and the dog theatre, where an exotic play was presented by Ms. Forcible. However, this movie did have multiple negatives. The dark storyline will definitely either scare a young audience away, or bore them to sleep. Overall we would give this movie a 3 star rating, because we all thought the movie was weird and disturbing but at some parts we liked how it all connected throughout the movie. The type of people to watch the movie depends how brave they are. Children ten and older could watch it, but little kids can watch it if they are brave enough. I would recommend this movie to people who like a little jump-scary action with a gloomy atmosphere. Coraline’s MPAA rating is PG. The movie has it good parts and it’s bad places, but we thought it was okay.


Rating
*** (3-Star Rating)
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
charleen2021Feb 13, 2017
“Through Button Eyes”

We looked through the button eyes of Coraline in the movie “Coraline” and would like to give our opinion over it. “Coraline” is a movie about an a girl who’s unhappy with her life with her family. She was forced to
“Through Button Eyes”

We looked through the button eyes of Coraline in the movie “Coraline” and would like to give our opinion over it. “Coraline” is a movie about an a girl who’s unhappy with her life with her family. She was forced to move away from all her friends and live in the Pink Palace. From there she faces challenges but meets new friends along the way. Laika is the company that produced this movie. We thought Henry Selick (the director) and Laika did a great job making this movie happen. “Coraline” took place in the Pink Palace Apartments where she found a magical doorway that leads to an alternative, better world. In the other world she meets improved versions of the people she knows, such as her parents. Everything in that world is how she wants her life to be. This world ended up being pretty dangerous for Coraline. Coraline struggles to find her way and learns to appreciate what she has and not what she wants. We liked the stop motion animation in this movie and appreciate how long it takes to do it. We also liked all the characters such as Coraline, Wybie, Bobinsky, and the Black Cat. One of our favorite scenes in the middle of the movie was about one of the many wonders, the other father’s garden. The beautiful flowers seem to come to life as she walks through the garden. One of our least favorite scenes from the movie is when she had to throw the black cat to escape one of the many dangers. Overall, we all think that this movie is really good. This movie is PG, but we think that a certain age group should watch it. It could be hard for little kids to understand and it will most likely scare them. We recommend ages 10 and up so they will be understand the actual story line. We also don’t recommend this movie to adults, but it is still good for all age groups. Overall this movie is pretty good but is hard to understand the plot and the message that goes with it.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
andrewg2021Feb 13, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I recently watched this film and thought it wasn’t half bad. In fact, it was better than that. This movie wasn’t the best movie I’ve seen, and I may be slightly biased since this isn’t a genre I enjoy that much. “Coraline”, made by Laika Entertainment, made a unique, different type of stop motion film with a darker twist to it. The story is far different than any other traditional kid’s movie, and the film must’ve been a major risk considering that no one had made a movie like this for such a young audience.
The movie starts with the main character, Coraline, moving into an apartment for the summer. After exploring, she later finds a well, and not too long after she meets Wybie. Then Wybie tells Caroline that that house is haunted, because his grandma's sister went missing in the Pink Palace, the company that owns the apartment complex Coraline's living in. Coralline also finds out that Wybie has a doll that looks exactly like Coraline herself. The night Coraline found the doll, she went to bed, but was a awaken in the middle of the night and led to the secret door by a mouse, that is now open. The door acts as a portal, that leads to another dimension just like her own, yet there are a new set of parents. This dimension is mostly the same, but for one huge difference, they all have buttons for eyes. In this world, there is another version of her mother, and through a series of events she manages to gain Coraline’s trust, but It turns out that her other mother is an evil beldam that wants to be loved, forever. Through vigerous tasks Coraline eventually has to free her parents that the Other Mother has captured and escape the dimension she is trapped in. My favorite part about this film is the stop motion animation, and how unique it is for it’s making in 2009. For me personally, I love and absolutely adore unique art styles and indifferent animation styles, and that also goes for this film as well. There are plenty of stop motion films, but this catches my eye just for it’s unusually dark story. The animation was a little clunky at times, where the movements of the characters were a little choppy rather than smooth. I also like just how bizarre it can be, especially in a scene where the world seems to deteriorate. There are many scenes that are bizarre enough to reach my expectations. I wouldn’t recommend this movie to many younger viewers, most children seven or under should avoid this film. When I was around the age of five, I saw this film for the first time and it absolutely terrified me, and after that experience I never wanted to see it again because it scared me so badly. However, coming back to view the movie nine years later I can appreciate that it’s a good film. I’d highly recommend this to viewers of the age ten or older. Most young children wouldn’t even be able to appreciate the film for what it is anyway. Though the film is rated PG, it should’ve been a little higher or have some age restriction on the film. My view of the film is that it’s one I like, just not my favorite. However I am a slightly biased just since it’s not my favorite genre of film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RyleehFeb 13, 2017
“Coraline, Not Your Average Doll” I just saw the movie “Coraline”, and it was okay. There were things that were good and things that were bad about it, but overall it was a decent film. It’s about an 11 year old girl that moves into an old“Coraline, Not Your Average Doll” I just saw the movie “Coraline”, and it was okay. There were things that were good and things that were bad about it, but overall it was a decent film. It’s about an 11 year old girl that moves into an old house known as the Pink Palace. She finds a small door behind the wallpaper. The door leads her to a world that leads her to an alternate reality, where everything is how she wants it to be, but everyone has buttons for eyes.

The plot took place at the Pink Palace and at the Pink Palace in the fantasy world. Then when Coraline goes to the fantasy world she meets another mother and the she makes her everything she ever wanted and the world is perfect there, but her other parents are not as they seem. Her other mother is someone that kidnaps children who want a better life than what they already have. Coraline kept on going to the fantasy world, and one time, she is taken by the other mother. She meets the ghosts of kids that the other mother had stollen. They tell her that she was in terrible danger, and they asked her to free them. They also tell her how to save her parents, who were taken earlier in the story. With these events, they made the plot very well rounded and interesting.

The movie was pretty good all around, but it did have its fair share of negative things about it. I liked what they tried to do with the plot, but they shouldn't've done it in claymation. It would've been better if they had done it like a normal movie. Laika Entertainment did do a good job on the animations. At times, the plot was a little hard to follow, but they did get back on track and it was very clear after that.

This film wasn’t all bad. It also had some positive points to it. The plot was really interesting and put together well and it kept the viewers on the edge of their seats. When a plot can do this to viewers, you know it is a good storyline. The character development was okay, but they could have incorporated all the characters a little more. The setting really contributed to help the plot thicken. Being located at an old building that was built 150 years ago really helped setting a creepy atmosphere. This movie is not suitable for its rating. Kids at the age of 5-9 would not be able to understand it and it might scare them. Note that this movie should be seen by children around the ages of 13-up. The MPAA says that it is PG, but it should really be PG-13. It has parts that are just too scary for kids younger than 13. I got scared and I’m older than 13. It was enough to give me nightmares. There is a metal hand that was just so creepy. But all in all, it was a good movie that had some bad things. They could’ve done better, but for claymation it was overall a decent movie.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews