Focus Features | Release Date: February 6, 2009
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 532 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
471
Mixed:
32
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
MichaelaC.Jan 3, 2010
The people that said the movie was boring and dull are really saying that they don't want to watch something different and new but just want to stay in their comfort zone of totally predictable movies at least its a fresh change from The people that said the movie was boring and dull are really saying that they don't want to watch something different and new but just want to stay in their comfort zone of totally predictable movies at least its a fresh change from all those other movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
smijatovAug 13, 2010
Coraline really provides an interesting story with some very nice visuals! It is very engaging and it definitely involves the viewer to figure out what is happening out. Visually, there are some beautiful scenes, and besides the unusualCoraline really provides an interesting story with some very nice visuals! It is very engaging and it definitely involves the viewer to figure out what is happening out. Visually, there are some beautiful scenes, and besides the unusual animation style it is still captivating, but nowhere nearly as beautiful as some new animated films, such as "Up" or "Wall-E". Nevertheless, a very nice animated film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
DavidM.Feb 28, 2009
A true labour of love, which bore gorgeous fruit, visually and stylistically. Not likely to appeal to a crowd looking for singing fish and dancing zebras. Why anyone would expect this to be a Disneyesque, inane sunshine and lolipops venture A true labour of love, which bore gorgeous fruit, visually and stylistically. Not likely to appeal to a crowd looking for singing fish and dancing zebras. Why anyone would expect this to be a Disneyesque, inane sunshine and lolipops venture for a SMALL child and then complain after the fact is a bit of a mystery. It is INTENDED to be dark and yes, disturbing. The artistry and execution left me at a loss for words after viewing, but perhaps that is because I am just a "moran" (sorry Bill C) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
kairiCFeb 7, 2009
It was really visually stunning, the 3d was a little distracting in a few places, it was really spot-on the spirit of the book, even with the changes. It was fun and creepy and me, my husband, and my 12 year old daughter all enjoyed it. It was really visually stunning, the 3d was a little distracting in a few places, it was really spot-on the spirit of the book, even with the changes. It was fun and creepy and me, my husband, and my 12 year old daughter all enjoyed it. Amazing stop-action like I've never seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimS.Feb 7, 2009
The extra money for the rich 3D is absolutely a must. I was sad when the movie ended that's how much I enjoyed my experience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
amelindasMay 16, 2009
At first I felt like a child again, discovering how "wierd" evil was rather than scary or threatening. It than dove right in to the insanity and came out squeaky sane on the other side. The resiliency of a child's mind is astonishing At first I felt like a child again, discovering how "wierd" evil was rather than scary or threatening. It than dove right in to the insanity and came out squeaky sane on the other side. The resiliency of a child's mind is astonishing and the movie brought that all back. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanielM.Feb 21, 2009
This movie may have been weird, spooky and meant to be played in October. Also, the way that everything went, ( how thematic it was and how scary it was, and to mention one clip of the movie was suggestive enough that it was meant for This movie may have been weird, spooky and meant to be played in October. Also, the way that everything went, ( how thematic it was and how scary it was, and to mention one clip of the movie was suggestive enough that it was meant for teenagers instead of children. ) But other than what I just said this was the best movie that I saw that was not meant for toddlers, or adults. The story was surprisingly awesome in an adventurous way, and how they set up the movie was classic. Even better, the movie was definitely appropriately timed, when the movie was ending, I was getting a little antsy. This movie is a must see to any teenager out there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AlenSFeb 27, 2009
What a magical experience, not a movie at all, but a brilliant adventure. Very creepy... Truly creepy and unsettling... If the movie is too scary for your kids, then don't watch the whole thing! Just because it is spooky doesn't What a magical experience, not a movie at all, but a brilliant adventure. Very creepy... Truly creepy and unsettling... If the movie is too scary for your kids, then don't watch the whole thing! Just because it is spooky doesn't equate it with being bad. The rich visuals were right on. Way better than Nightmare. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PaulD.Mar 5, 2009
Excellent script and stellar animation makes this a winner. I saw it without 3-D, but it was still very impressive. Imaginative and beautiful animation, but suspense and menace keep it from being syrupy. Kept my interest and attention till the end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SatiricalewokNov 8, 2014
Good god this film is creepy. Forget actual horror films, I can safely tell you that this was scarier than any horror film I have seen since it's release. Aside from the near mental scarring I underwent, this film was fantastic, it containsGood god this film is creepy. Forget actual horror films, I can safely tell you that this was scarier than any horror film I have seen since it's release. Aside from the near mental scarring I underwent, this film was fantastic, it contains some of the best animation I have ever seen, and one of the most compelling heart warming stories. Just don't watch it at night. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GamecubeLoverJul 3, 2016
This movie is an endless cycle of creativity and spookiness. This movie just makes me wonder sometimes. The animation is pretty cool to be honest. I do recommend this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Jun 30, 2013
Coraline is a masterpiece with insightful and clever stop-motion animation that will entertain you like never before. The 3D is absorbing and intelligent, Athena wise 3D use. The plot is original and riveting, with a pleasant and fascinatingCoraline is a masterpiece with insightful and clever stop-motion animation that will entertain you like never before. The 3D is absorbing and intelligent, Athena wise 3D use. The plot is original and riveting, with a pleasant and fascinating ending that you will never expect it coming. Coraline easily is imaginative, powerful and surprisingly, one of the greatest works done in a long time. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 28, 2011
"Coraline" is very basic in terms of story structure or voice acting. But it's the originality that pushes this visually magnificent movie into the stage of performances. Overall a well-made animation that audiences of every age will"Coraline" is very basic in terms of story structure or voice acting. But it's the originality that pushes this visually magnificent movie into the stage of performances. Overall a well-made animation that audiences of every age will definitely enjoy. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
JasonH.Feb 7, 2009
I REALLY enjoyed watching this movie, and my only gripe is a strange one: About half way through the movie, it starts seeming like it's a video game.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
EliasCSep 2, 2009
Neil Gaiman has always been an acquired taste. His visions of twisted reality in all of his works has always been more appealing to me as in book form rather than as a visual entertainment. Coraline is no exception. His foray into Neil Gaiman has always been an acquired taste. His visions of twisted reality in all of his works has always been more appealing to me as in book form rather than as a visual entertainment. Coraline is no exception. His foray into children's books with the publication of Coraline was a surprise to many but his quirky story was well written and appealing on paper. On film however, it just seems...well, strange. Not exactly a kid's movie and not exactly a film for adult's either. The skill it took to animate using stop action movement should be appreciated. Some stop motion techniques exhibited in this film were simply astonishing. But technique alone does not make a good film. A great film for film students does not make a great film for the average viewer. Consider the twisted universe of the film's reality and the even more twisted vision of the film's alternate reality. Look at the scenes with the almost nude acrobatic sisters. Listen to the awful vocal music, This is not a film for children. Let your kids read the book instead and let them use their own imagination to fill in the blanks. And a final note: The 3D theatrical version must have been something to watch. DO not fall for the DVD's 3D version. It is simply bad. Using red and green cardboard glasses, the film is colorless, dark, eye-aching awfulness. The producers of the DVD's 3D packaging should be ashamed. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
9
heyitsmegrif4Dec 18, 2011
Henry Selick takes Neil Gaiman's imaginative story and makes wonders with it with thrills, dark humor, great stop motion animation, and a cool original score make Coraline one of the best animated films ever made in my opinion. I give this movie 93%.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
NathanR.Mar 1, 2009
I really wanted to like this movie, especially after viewing the metacritic score. This was the first 3D movie I felt was worth seeing. And while it is not a terrible movie, it certainly does not deserve a 79 score. Others have mentioned it, I really wanted to like this movie, especially after viewing the metacritic score. This was the first 3D movie I felt was worth seeing. And while it is not a terrible movie, it certainly does not deserve a 79 score. Others have mentioned it, but Dakota Fanning is NOT a good voice actress. The visuals were hit and miss. When Coraline first visits her "other family" is close to stunning and kept my attention. Unfortunately from that point on I felt like taking a nap. The scene with the near-nude granny was not at all necessary, and not funny. That's another thing this movie lacked: humor. All in all, this is not the worst movie I've ever seen. Far from the best. Far, FAR from the best. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
SeanS.Feb 24, 2009
I agree with some of the recent negative reviews. I posted a negative review a week ago and it was erased. Are any of these 10 reviews for real? My wife and I thought it was really boring and long. My friends who saw this movie with their I agree with some of the recent negative reviews. I posted a negative review a week ago and it was erased. Are any of these 10 reviews for real? My wife and I thought it was really boring and long. My friends who saw this movie with their kids also said their kids wanted to leave the theater because it was boring and made no sense. The animation was choppy and overall story line was creepy and way too long. Who is behind all these positive reviews? Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
3
xlogan123May 4, 2012
I saw this movie with the family, and there wasn't a single one of us who enjoyed it. Very disappointing given the hype about it. The story was boring, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, regardless of age.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
HeidiE.Feb 21, 2009
This movie was horrible. I have never written a review about a movie good or bad before, but this was so bad I felt compelled to write. It was not a movie for kids. It was way to scary and the story line for adults and kids was long, drawn This movie was horrible. I have never written a review about a movie good or bad before, but this was so bad I felt compelled to write. It was not a movie for kids. It was way to scary and the story line for adults and kids was long, drawn out and boring. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful
3
MargaretS.Mar 9, 2009
In reading most of these comments, I noticed that the people that really enjoyed this film were young adults who possibly enjoy video games and have no children. Maybe that's who this movie is geared for perhaps. As a middle aged adult In reading most of these comments, I noticed that the people that really enjoyed this film were young adults who possibly enjoy video games and have no children. Maybe that's who this movie is geared for perhaps. As a middle aged adult who has seen my fair share of adult movies as well as many kid movies, I didn't find this movie particularly enjoyable for the following reasons: poor characterization and poor story flow. If it weren't for the superior 3D animation holding our attention, my family and I would have left the theatre within 10 minutes and asked for out money back. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
BillC.Feb 21, 2009
Pure garbage in 3D. A kids Movie? Maybe for idiots and morans. A story poorly told and not enjoyed by anyone in the theater we were in. No Joke. What's a kids movie doing with a busty animated dancing lady with pasties all about?? Why Pure garbage in 3D. A kids Movie? Maybe for idiots and morans. A story poorly told and not enjoyed by anyone in the theater we were in. No Joke. What's a kids movie doing with a busty animated dancing lady with pasties all about?? Why the high rating on meta critic??? This thing was just awful. Again , I can say No One in the Theater seemed to like it. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
5
jbFeb 8, 2009
A good amount of scenes show real beauty and imagination, but I found myself not ever caring for these characters. Not once. Someone else mentioned that the story was reminiscent of a video game, and it is. What a shame. Unless of course A good amount of scenes show real beauty and imagination, but I found myself not ever caring for these characters. Not once. Someone else mentioned that the story was reminiscent of a video game, and it is. What a shame. Unless of course your really swept away by video games. Also, paying close to 3 bucks for glasses that belong to a technology that wasn't worthwhile even fifty years ago is quite a shame as well. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
5
JeffCMar 25, 2009
Very amazing work with the stop-action, but the film is very overrated. The story was mediocre and drawn out too much.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JulianM.Mar 3, 2009
It was horrible. I couldn't get into it at all... it made no sense. Avoid it, unless you're under 5. The animation is pretty choppy, even with 3D. I can't see how it got all these great reviews.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
CoralineRApr 7, 2009
I wish I could give it a lower score, because this was the worst movie I have seen in many years. Pathetic story, terrible animation, no pace, I fought to stay awake, and later regretted doing so.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
wenzdaejJul 27, 2009
It was ok could have been better and it definitely was a kids movie kids love to be scared and this wasn't even that scary since it was animated and kids always know the difference better than adults i remember being a kid and i LOVED It was ok could have been better and it definitely was a kids movie kids love to be scared and this wasn't even that scary since it was animated and kids always know the difference better than adults i remember being a kid and i LOVED scary movies all kids do and did anybody ever read any fairy tales from grimm to o Henry what about te little match girl she froze to death was that for kids?? Cinderella if any1 ever bothered to actually read it the sisters die a gruesome death, so all u wawawa a its not for kids morons ' yours are the kids who get beat up and have their heads flushed down the toilet. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BenGOct 3, 2009
Gaiman is truly the most over-rated writer who should be on the D-List for DULL. Coraline was a mediocre book and a crappy, and painfully boring movie. Like any mediocre artist, Gaiman is now going for notoriety by hooking up with the Gaiman is truly the most over-rated writer who should be on the D-List for DULL. Coraline was a mediocre book and a crappy, and painfully boring movie. Like any mediocre artist, Gaiman is now going for notoriety by hooking up with the untalented Palmer who in turn strips her clothes off at the slightest provocation. I heard they were Scientologists, which would explain an awful lot since Scientologists act like loons out in public. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
portlihopMay 10, 2009
Visually stunning(3d Had great storyline bones but not enough meat to get stuck into. My 10yr old described story line as "meh" +points for scaring the shit out of my 6 year old.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DylanD.Aug 16, 2009
Overrated tripe.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JethroA.Aug 17, 2009
Boring boring boring. Very annoying main character with very very annoying voice acting. Grated on my nerves for 10 minutes til I turned it off. I didn't see it all, but I couldn't stand another second.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
SamGAug 7, 2009
One star for the animation, interesting but gross. The story was absolute crap. Coraline was annoying, the parents were miserable, I walked out when they started the naked old lady dancing. Gaiman just did a mutilation porn book with his One star for the animation, interesting but gross. The story was absolute crap. Coraline was annoying, the parents were miserable, I walked out when they started the naked old lady dancing. Gaiman just did a mutilation porn book with his transvestite "girlfriend" Amanda Palmer, so it figures he would create trash like this. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TreyDNov 14, 2009
Somebody asked why the high rating for this incredibly boring and just plain nasty movie, Coraline. Answer... because Neil Gaiman is a scientologist and they have rooms full of sea org slaves writing positive reviews. Beware, Coraline is a Somebody asked why the high rating for this incredibly boring and just plain nasty movie, Coraline. Answer... because Neil Gaiman is a scientologist and they have rooms full of sea org slaves writing positive reviews. Beware, Coraline is a depressing misery. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
DocStevenFeb 14, 2009
I was really looking forward to taking two of my nieces, ages 13 and 9, to a highly rated movie, particularly an animated film. Well, very disappointed. The 9 year old shrugged her shoulders when I asked her afterwards what she thought. She I was really looking forward to taking two of my nieces, ages 13 and 9, to a highly rated movie, particularly an animated film. Well, very disappointed. The 9 year old shrugged her shoulders when I asked her afterwards what she thought. She further elaborated that it was "just okay." I didn't find it very engaging at all. It was too long and there were some scenes that seemed very unnecessary to the story line. At least what I could find of the story line. Yes, imaginative and very creative, but it lacked an emotional pull. Maybe I'm just not smart enough like some of the other critic's reviews, or maybe I'm like the child who says out loud, "the emperor has no clothes!" in spite of what everyone forces themselves to believe. Perhaps I expected this movie to leave me with a sense of wonder, like other fairy tales and animated films have done, but no such luck. Oh, well. It was nice to spend the time with my nieces! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JulianMFeb 15, 2009
I just couldn't get into it. Sure, the animation and 3D were great, but the story lacked... something. Maybe the characters... When Coraline entered the new world with all sorts of strange things, she barely seemed surprised. I I just couldn't get into it. Sure, the animation and 3D were great, but the story lacked... something. Maybe the characters... When Coraline entered the new world with all sorts of strange things, she barely seemed surprised. I don't know, maybe it's just me but I felt bored the whole movie. Whenever there was a hint of foreshadowing, I just didn't care what was going to happen. Bottom Line : Only watch it if you are REALLY REALLY into animated/Tim Burton movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
wenesdae*Jul 24, 2009
it was good if it were on tv otherwise the 4 applies , it couild have been alot better and entertaining for kids and adults, i strongly disagree that it isnt a kids movie , im 44 but i remember being a kid quite well, and i LOVEDit was good if it were on tv otherwise the 4 applies , it couild have been alot better and entertaining for kids and adults, i strongly disagree that it isnt a kids movie , im 44 but i remember being a kid quite well, and i LOVED horror movies and scary things and yes even books, all kids do. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZalDec 14, 2012
Coraline was one of my favorite books in middle school. When I heard that there was going to be a movie version, I was excited. And the movie did not disappoint.

The story has an Alice in Wonderland vibe since it involves a young girl
Coraline was one of my favorite books in middle school. When I heard that there was going to be a movie version, I was excited. And the movie did not disappoint.

The story has an Alice in Wonderland vibe since it involves a young girl ending up in topsy turvy word. It reminds me of Corpse Bride in the designs of the two worlds where the real world is grey and drab while the alternate world is colorful and fantastical. I love the design of the Other Mother's world. It's bright and colorful and everything is made to please Coraline. However, as Coraline starts to resist, everything becomes darker and the Other Mother looks less and less human. And I don't know about anyone else, but the climax scared me to death.

I also enjoyed the characters. Coraline is a believable kid. She's kooky and weird and has strange taste in fashion. She gets on her parents nerves but she just wants them to to pay attention to her. The parents are also believable. There are times when my parents are so wrapped up in their work that they don't have time for me. They aren't bad people. They're just unbelivably stressed. The Other Mother is freaky as hell. She really seems like the kind of mother we all wish we had. She's funny and loving and gives you whatever you want. Too bad she's doing it so that she can ensnare and kill you. The other characters are mostly hit or miss.

Fans of the book might not like the changes made, but I think there were for the better. The book lacked detailed descriptions about Coraline's appearance. I really liked the blue hair. It fits her character. I also like the addition of Wybie. While he wasn't a HUGE part of the plot, they made his character relevant. And thank god they didn't make him a love interest.

I can understand why people wouldn't like it as much. It does have a lot of slow moments, but I liked those scenes because they were used to show us what kind of person Coraline is and about her relationship with her parents and Wybie.

I'm not sure if it will appeal to Tim Burton fans. It doesn't strike the same balance between macabre, comedy, and whimsy, but it's not trying to be The Nightmare Before Christmas. The only things it has in common with it is stopmotion and director Henry Selick. If you like stopmotion, this is a good movie to see.

And if you liked this movie, watch Laika's other major stopmotion film, ParaNorman.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
SwitSwatSep 8, 2012
Ok, so, my family and I decided to go to the movies, just to do something fun. We decide on Coraline... because it was, apparently, the only family movie available... so, we go in and sit down. Not even halfway through the movie, my parentsOk, so, my family and I decided to go to the movies, just to do something fun. We decide on Coraline... because it was, apparently, the only family movie available... so, we go in and sit down. Not even halfway through the movie, my parents ask me if I wanna leave. The only reason I said "no," was to see how much worse the movie could get. I was absolutely shocked. It was one of the worst, if not, the worst movie I have ever seen! I don't get all the critics making a big deal over this saying,"Great movie! Blah Blah Blah." Neither my Dad, Mom, or my sister enjoyed it. What a disappointment! It was too weird, the story made no sense. The only thing decent, was the 3D, otherwise, it sucks. 2/10 from me. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
Brandy2001Jan 14, 2014
This movie excceded my expectation
Is one of the few good animated films
Mysterious, interesting and well made.
I think this Is a simple but a good film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwMay 3, 2016
Neil Gaiman is so contemporarily vital, both in literature and cinema, because he more than anyone else (with the possible exception of Terry Gilliam) notes that children and adults alike are fascinated with what lies outside our observableNeil Gaiman is so contemporarily vital, both in literature and cinema, because he more than anyone else (with the possible exception of Terry Gilliam) notes that children and adults alike are fascinated with what lies outside our observable and tangible realms of existence. He realized the reasons storytelling have been significantly important since the dawn of mankind, and devised, as the Brothers Grimm did, that fairy tales and children's stories had to be haunting and entertaining to be both memorable and timeless. This is a great film depicting the growing sense as a child approaches adolescence that their parents and their world aren't exactly as they seem, and that through their trials and tribulations (the 'rites of passage', if you will) they'll reach the 'happy medium' they need to in order to find true happiness in their lifetimes.

I definitely hope that all of Gaiman's books and graphic novels are made into movies (I most anticipate the 'Miracleman' graphic novels--both those by him and Alan Moore). Ones so well-written would truly be 'comic book movies' worth watching for me.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BobTFeb 8, 2009
This is one of the best movies I've seen in a very long time. Coraline has stunning animation, and a very original plot. I saw the 3-D version, which was just awesome. This movie is not Bambi 2, so don't bring your three year old This is one of the best movies I've seen in a very long time. Coraline has stunning animation, and a very original plot. I saw the 3-D version, which was just awesome. This movie is not Bambi 2, so don't bring your three year old to this movie. In short, this movie is fantastic if you like animation, and dark toned movies. I read one review that complains because a character said 'oh my god.' Frankly, that's a very typical and common expression, and is an integral part of the English language. What's funny is that those three words popped into my head about half a second before the character said it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobTFeb 8, 2009
An enjoyable film. I'm thinking that even if I hadn't read the book, I'd know where this story was going. The pacing of the story was excellent as were the 3D renderings, i.e. the acting. Now I will have to re-read the book, IAn enjoyable film. I'm thinking that even if I hadn't read the book, I'd know where this story was going. The pacing of the story was excellent as were the 3D renderings, i.e. the acting. Now I will have to re-read the book, I seem to remember it as a bit more creepy. I'd warn folks with young (<9) kids that some content may scare the bejezus out of them for the next little while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseM.Apr 14, 2009
This was the best movie of the year thus far. I don't know why I am so in love with it. It was so creative and just very well done. It's quite amazing. Can't wait for it on Blu-ray.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrelRFeb 10, 2009
Delight, creative and artfully executed. Unlike most stop action animation, this production left me completely unaware of the techniques used to make the visuals, and focused my attention on the magic of the story, Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RhettR.Feb 6, 2009
This rating is for the non-3D version. Parent section: First off, I would not recommend taking children under 8 to this movie. The plot is a bit complex and too deep to keep the attention of younger children, and it is borderline too scary This rating is for the non-3D version. Parent section: First off, I would not recommend taking children under 8 to this movie. The plot is a bit complex and too deep to keep the attention of younger children, and it is borderline too scary for children 6 and under. My children (8,6,3,3) love Nightmare Before Christmas. But I think this movie hits a bit too close to home since the main character is a young girl and story a twisted variation on her reality. NBC is fantastical. I regret bringing my younger children. Jury is out with the 6 YO boy. There are also a few scenes completely inappropriate for children. During the theater scene with the old ladies. one of the old ladies is in pastys and a thong. They sing about breasts, coraline points out how naked they are and even blurts out an OMG. The innuendo and nudity is completely unnecessary and adds nothing to the story. I was very taken back that this HAD to be in the story. Once again, a perfectly good family movie (albeit for older children) is ruined by a disconnected and ignorant writer, director, producer. why does hollywood find this necessary? It only creates an awkward moment for parents and children. Of all the money spent on marketing and demographic, where is the market research on this subject? OK stepping off my soapbox. Movie section: As far as the movie goes.Tthe stop motion is unbelievable. You will have a hard time comprehending how Selick and team accomplished what they did. And the textures and shadows created by the tangible medium cannot be matched with CG (I draw a similar comparison of the original star wars trilogy to the recent prequels. The magic and artistry of stop motion cannot be matched). There were a few choppy spots in the film (i.e. framerate) but perhaps it was a prob with our theater. The story is exquisite. it evokes thoughts of other stories of childrens' twists on reality (Alice in Wonderland, Wizard of OZ, Pan's Labyrinth) Here are my gripes: Character development is a bit rushed, but not so much you don't feel a connection with them.Tthe story development is bit rushed also, but at the same time, the movie feels a bit stretched out at some points. All in all a great movie for adults and older children. Fans of Selick and the like will not be disappointed. Those not interested in the genre will be impressed with the technique, but the story will not change their opinions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulK.Feb 7, 2009
This is a beautifully brilliant film. So much thought, time and labor went into this, it's mindblowing. It's stop-motion animation at it's finest and the 3-D puts the whole thing over the top. If you find time, stay through This is a beautifully brilliant film. So much thought, time and labor went into this, it's mindblowing. It's stop-motion animation at it's finest and the 3-D puts the whole thing over the top. If you find time, stay through the credits for the last 3-D sequence! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
davidkFeb 7, 2009
Excellent animation and story... I saw it in 3D and was blown away by the quality of the imagery...not for the little ones...but for teens and up it's a great film going experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OttoO.Feb 7, 2009
Visually stunning and ultimately the best what 3D has brought us so far. Some say it's dragging at times, but I beg to disagree. Everything is so well crafted is mind boggling. Wouldn't chance a thing. I newer knew stop motion Visually stunning and ultimately the best what 3D has brought us so far. Some say it's dragging at times, but I beg to disagree. Everything is so well crafted is mind boggling. Wouldn't chance a thing. I newer knew stop motion animation could be done this beautifully. It's gonna be a classic. No question. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnaP.Feb 7, 2009
This was gloriously filmed in 3D, with great depth and astonishing color. Yet it's subtle - not many of the "gotcha, 3D!" moments in this, which was nice. The story is solid, although I prefer the book version to the movie version. This was gloriously filmed in 3D, with great depth and astonishing color. Yet it's subtle - not many of the "gotcha, 3D!" moments in this, which was nice. The story is solid, although I prefer the book version to the movie version. Nevertheless, it's a great movie for kids of all ages, and for their parents too. A breath of fresh air compared to the normal kids fare, for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveOFeb 7, 2009
One of the most visually entertaining experiences of my life. It's a strange, fun trip!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LoganMFeb 8, 2009
It hardly comes as a surprise, but Neil Gaiman has done it again! With the help of screenwriter/director Henry Selick and Laika, Coraline has become a major success. For good reason. The star power of Dakota Fanning, Teri Hatcher, and It hardly comes as a surprise, but Neil Gaiman has done it again! With the help of screenwriter/director Henry Selick and Laika, Coraline has become a major success. For good reason. The star power of Dakota Fanning, Teri Hatcher, and arguably They Might Be Giants add a lot to the film's success, as do their talents, but this is far and away a writer's movie. Don't mistake me, the movie's a visual feast. The modelers, "costumers" and animators at Laika are best in class. The cinematography is astounding. The 3D can sometimes be jarring, but no more so than in any other production using the technology. Many of those effects are just tremendous, however. The organic pixelizations, animated gardens and looms (of all kinds) add a great deal to a feel of enchantment viewers of all ages can really enjoy. As I said, this is a writer's movie, and that's one of the esteemed Mr. Gaiman's great talents; breaking the age barrier. It's a tradition in animation, of course, layering adult humor into child-friendly themes, but this is a writer who doesn't need animation, or even illustration, to accomplish the feat. I haven't read the book. Sorry, Neil. But rest assured I shall! In fact, I may just order it now. While I was tremendously disappointed with the screen treatment of Stardust (2007), I expect less was changed here. It would certainly make sense as Mr. Gaiman's Hollywood clout continues to grow. It's good to see genius and persistence rewarded in such a big way. The merit is clearly visible in Coraline. This movie is so charming I can hardly stand it. There are scenes that melt the heart, and few that make it skip a beat. The imagery is eternal, as are the well-stated themes of love, disaffection and fear. Layer into that timeless story the aforementioned visuals, an excellent musical score, great voice acting and Burton-beating production values and what do you get? A film like the perfect layer cake. A cake with creamy frosting, and the words "Welcome home" ringed in candles. Or a deep forgotten well surrounded by a faerie ring. Either is good. Better than good: superlative. You must not miss this film! I give it 9 of 10 points! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KirstenJ.Feb 8, 2009
I'm a college student, so for financial reasons and time constraints, I rarely go to the theatres for movies. This one was an exception. I had read the book, and it had blown my mind. I saw the very first tiny clip released online in I'm a college student, so for financial reasons and time constraints, I rarely go to the theatres for movies. This one was an exception. I had read the book, and it had blown my mind. I saw the very first tiny clip released online in which Coraline met the ghosts, and I was fairly unimpressed. One line, the last line in the clip, changed that. "We don't remember our names." It sent chills down my spine, and I was hooked. So, I had my father take me to see it on opening night. I was once again swept off my feet. I was a little unsure at first whether the movie would compromise the story in order to play to the 3D clichés as so many had before it, but my fears were put at ease. Only once in the entire film, during the opening credits, did anything come off the screen straight for the audience, and even that was an amazing artistic decision that foreshadowed with its foreshortening. The artistic direction and the cinematography were mindblowing. I had been impressed with Sweeney Todd's artistic direction, but Coraline puts it to shame. One scene explores a garden with plants so exotic and whimsical that one might expect to find them in Willy Wonka's chocolate factory. The 3D made it so tangible that it was almost impossible not to feel the thick waxy petals and leaves. The flawless marriage between Neil Gaiman's incredible story and the meticulously created masterpiece was what made this work so well. The entire reason that the 3D was not a tacky disappointment was because Selick didn't shove it in the audience's faces. So yes, the movie was visually a treat. But Coraline was much more than eye candy. The story was incredibly true to Mr. Gaiman's book. One or two differences obviously existed, but overall, I don't think I've ever seen a more accurate book adaptation. And so it, like the book, was filled to the brim with the odd mixture of characteristics that Mr. Gaiman intended. It was eerie, bizarre, delightful, funny, cute, and downright frightening. Sure, plenty of movies have parts that are scary and parts that are funny and so on... But it's a rare movie indeed that can incur all of those feelings in the same instant. Mr. Gaiman himself put it best, in a sneak peek interview: "If audiences take away terror and joy in roughly equal doses, I will be very happy." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GradyP.Feb 8, 2009
If this had been released last year, it could easily give WALL-E a run for its money for the Oscar. It's an amazing film that's sure to become a classic, and it easily rivals The Nightmare Before Christmas (which in and of itself If this had been released last year, it could easily give WALL-E a run for its money for the Oscar. It's an amazing film that's sure to become a classic, and it easily rivals The Nightmare Before Christmas (which in and of itself is one of the best animated movies of all time). Well worth seeing, can't wait for the Blu-ray release!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NoelleB.Feb 8, 2009
A beautifully frightening story; gracefully rendered. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Thanh-TamHFeb 8, 2009
Coraline was fabulous to see in 3D, and possessed a fanciful sort of creepiness that both scares and delights. It's a movie both parent and child can enjoy equally.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrianSFeb 8, 2009
A very accomplished, beautiful film.--visually stunning, and the 3D was very effective without being obtrusive. That said, I thought the last third of the film lacked energy. A lot of reviewers have mentioned the "creepy" tone, but I felt A very accomplished, beautiful film.--visually stunning, and the 3D was very effective without being obtrusive. That said, I thought the last third of the film lacked energy. A lot of reviewers have mentioned the "creepy" tone, but I felt that the film never really engaged at an emotional level toward the end, which would have elevated this from a good to a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelanieLFeb 9, 2009
Fun story and very artfully done- awesome in 3-d!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeMMar 21, 2009
Visually arresting, but the story was frankly, uninteresting. The characters are initially very grating, and never become endearing during the course of the film. The animation is awesome and was very fun to watch in 3D on a big screen, but Visually arresting, but the story was frankly, uninteresting. The characters are initially very grating, and never become endearing during the course of the film. The animation is awesome and was very fun to watch in 3D on a big screen, but by the end I didn't really care what happened to the characters, which probably isn't a good sign. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShannonW.Mar 4, 2009
I really can't wait til this movie comes out on blu-ray. It was absolutely beautiful and stunning, and I left the theater in complete awe. The story was wonderful and I'd now like to read the book. The producers of this movie made I really can't wait til this movie comes out on blu-ray. It was absolutely beautiful and stunning, and I left the theater in complete awe. The story was wonderful and I'd now like to read the book. The producers of this movie made a real treasure and I honestly can't wait til I can see it again. And for all the parents out there that brought their kids...didn't you read the rating? It's PG because of the "thematic elements, SCARY IMAGES, some language and suggestive humor." Responsible parenting and movie selection should be exercised here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JessicaF.Apr 17, 2009
Long ago, I read the original book Coraline and it freaked me out then. This film didn't seem to do the book justice. The addition of the character, "Wybie", altered the story just enough to make me dislike it. They made it too "fluffy".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmanuelTMay 4, 2009
AMAZING!!!!!!! Scary even for the adults. The animation was breath taking and the horror was truly for every age. Must see and i need to see it again!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamS.May 9, 2009
Some have called this movie Burtonesque, but I actually found his lack of association with the movie a strong point. The movie knows how to contrast the fantastical and the drab in its visual department and the story is so universal that it Some have called this movie Burtonesque, but I actually found his lack of association with the movie a strong point. The movie knows how to contrast the fantastical and the drab in its visual department and the story is so universal that it reaches adults and kids with an equally immerse impact. I felt like this movie knew how to get back to the old magical realism aspect that was prevalent in The Nightmare Before Christmas. It was thoroughly enjoyable the entire way through. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanKJul 22, 2009
Can someone please tell me why the Coraline dvd uses the old, crappy red and blue 3D glasses that make your head hurt instead of the amazing, mind-blowing technology that made the theater 3D experience so incredibly fun? I loved this movie, Can someone please tell me why the Coraline dvd uses the old, crappy red and blue 3D glasses that make your head hurt instead of the amazing, mind-blowing technology that made the theater 3D experience so incredibly fun? I loved this movie, and I am so frustrated that I will never be able to share the movie experience that I had in the theater with anyone because the studio execs wouldn't spend the extra two bucks on more expensive glasses!! Please help me understand this!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
M.J.PJul 7, 2009
Another creative short-stop animation with surprisingly good detail, but lacking a much needed child-friendly approach, seeing as how this film was a children's movie. I don't think its very appropriate for a large elderly woman to Another creative short-stop animation with surprisingly good detail, but lacking a much needed child-friendly approach, seeing as how this film was a children's movie. I don't think its very appropriate for a large elderly woman to be jumping up and down in a thong and nipple pasties. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeH.Aug 29, 2009
Interesting that it appears that all those giving this movie a bad score didn't watch the whole thing but just 'assumed' it was going to be bad. what a bunch of idiots. if you're stupid enough to walk out of a movie Interesting that it appears that all those giving this movie a bad score didn't watch the whole thing but just 'assumed' it was going to be bad. what a bunch of idiots. if you're stupid enough to walk out of a movie without watching it all don't waste space with your comments. i, also, thought this movie was going to be bad, and i didn't like it even up till about 20 minutes through it, but it improved... a lot! at the end i was actually very pleased with the way it turned out. i almost didn't watch Coraline because the concept of the movie seemed so stupid, but I'm very glad i did go out and see it. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnRSep 9, 2009
Absolutely stunning. An original plot with a heroic little girl. I wouldn't recommend it for very young children, but age 9 and over should be fine. Adults will love it too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonySFeb 10, 2009
I love how the negative or mediocre reviews don't actually mention much about what they didn't like about the movie. If your going to say that a movie that is generally accepted as exceptional is mediocre, please explain why you I love how the negative or mediocre reviews don't actually mention much about what they didn't like about the movie. If your going to say that a movie that is generally accepted as exceptional is mediocre, please explain why you feel that way. I enjoyed this film. The characters were all well done. Is also has a TMBG song in it which is always nice! The 3D is breath taking. I will most likely see it again before it leaves the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TheDudeFeb 17, 2009
Whoa! This movie wasn't what I was expecting. I purposefully don't read much of reviews because they always give away too much, but I'm a junky for 3D movies and I saw the high marks for this one so I couldn't wait. The Whoa! This movie wasn't what I was expecting. I purposefully don't read much of reviews because they always give away too much, but I'm a junky for 3D movies and I saw the high marks for this one so I couldn't wait. The thing was, I was expecting it to be a kids' movie, and it wasn't that at all. It was waaaay too creepy, edgy, scary, strange, and freaky for children, I felt. It bore a lot in common with Pan's Labrynth and The Orphanage, and was similar in tone to those. There was one spectacular scene visually in a garden at night, but mostly I just felt really creeped out and disturbed. In general, I usually disagree with the high marks that clay-mation films get, not because I don't like claymation, but because I usually find them to be too slow, or them to be a little too dark and strange, or their stories to just not be as strong as I would hope, and yet they always seem to get rave reviews from the critics regardless. This film seemed derivative of the two other movies I mentioned, and was very creepy and weird, so if you liked those films you might really enjoy this, but it's not really my thing, and definitely don't go in expecting a fun, light rompy kids movie, and do realize that if you take small children there will likely be uncomfortable moments, and quite possibly nightmares from it(I think I might have some nightmares from it, and I'm a grown man!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WhoKnewFeb 18, 2009
Dakota Fanning is SOOOOO ANNNOOOOOYYYING!!! Her acting range goes from monotonous to barking, can't she nuance her words without always screaming them??? But other than that, the movie was pretty good--the animation is flawlessly Dakota Fanning is SOOOOO ANNNOOOOOYYYING!!! Her acting range goes from monotonous to barking, can't she nuance her words without always screaming them??? But other than that, the movie was pretty good--the animation is flawlessly inspired and subtle effects quite eye popping. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielWFeb 26, 2009
Well, "Bill C." must have seen this in a theater FULL of "idiots and morans" [sic]. My wife and I enjoyed it, as did the small crowd at the weekday matinee we attended. Can't speak for the small children, however, but I didn't hear Well, "Bill C." must have seen this in a theater FULL of "idiots and morans" [sic]. My wife and I enjoyed it, as did the small crowd at the weekday matinee we attended. Can't speak for the small children, however, but I didn't hear any of them screaming or crying. I'm a little tired of everyone complaining that this was too scary or creepy for kids. Why does every animated movie have to be suitable for small children? Anyway, good story, great animation and design, and really great 3D. It is a little slow, and Dakota Fanning is no great voice talent. There we many moments where the characters felt stiff, but I felt like that was pretty fitting with the overall dreamlike quality of the movie. I would highly recommend seeing this in 3D in the theater while you still can, but you probably want to leave your toddler with a babysitter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SkyW.Feb 26, 2009
This was a really good movie. i went to see it with a friend in 3-D and to be honest it was so SCARY! none of my other friends believe us b/c it is animated bu this was one of the creepiest movies i have ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisV.Feb 28, 2009
This movie is just great, i loved it from head to toes... it has a great message too.. the animation its cool, even tough i tought that the characters where gonna be a little less creepy, haha, and my little brother was cryingm but it was This movie is just great, i loved it from head to toes... it has a great message too.. the animation its cool, even tough i tought that the characters where gonna be a little less creepy, haha, and my little brother was cryingm but it was great to enjoy this movie.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyFeb 7, 2009
Excellent. Incredibly creative and one of the most entertaining and fun films I have been to in years. The stop motion is incredible. A must see at a theater, I wish my area had 3D, it would have been amazing. 2D was incredible enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TedU.Feb 7, 2009
Best use of 3D ever. You really can't grasp the quality of the experience on a flat screen. And the creepiness is profound. Like E.T.A. Hoffman animated by Miyazaki.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Feb 7, 2009
Brilliant, dark, adventure movie. Strong plot, wonderful characters, and beautiful visual effects. Coraline is an instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaM.Feb 8, 2009
Very enjoyable movie. The 3D effect was worth the extra couple dollars admission. Incredible animation and imagination by the animators. Note the this is not a kids movie, or even a young teenager movie. Alot of the plot would just go over Very enjoyable movie. The 3D effect was worth the extra couple dollars admission. Incredible animation and imagination by the animators. Note the this is not a kids movie, or even a young teenager movie. Alot of the plot would just go over their heads. Bring your imagination, put on your 3D glasses and enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomNFeb 9, 2009
A brilliant piece of animation. Sets a new standard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LizMar 1, 2009
I would actually give it 8.5, but I'm a bit jaded. Neil Gaiman is fantastic, and Coraline is the new Grimm's fairy tale. the book was lovely and disturbing, the movie...well, just listening to kids walking out of the theatre made I would actually give it 8.5, but I'm a bit jaded. Neil Gaiman is fantastic, and Coraline is the new Grimm's fairy tale. the book was lovely and disturbing, the movie...well, just listening to kids walking out of the theatre made it clear they'd have their lights on tonight. i can't wait for Sandman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewGMar 16, 2009
Much better than I expected. The first half of the movie was especially good in my opinion - when there's still a bit of mystery to the creepiness. The animation has a dreamy aesthetic that works really well. If you (or your kids) like Much better than I expected. The first half of the movie was especially good in my opinion - when there's still a bit of mystery to the creepiness. The animation has a dreamy aesthetic that works really well. If you (or your kids) like Nightmare Before Christmas, then you (they) will probably like this too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougMMar 21, 2009
To the nice lady in the user reviews who can somehow tell that "the people that really enjoyed this film were young adults who possibly enjoy video games and have no children", my 70-year-old mother absolutely adored this movie (and no, she To the nice lady in the user reviews who can somehow tell that "the people that really enjoyed this film were young adults who possibly enjoy video games and have no children", my 70-year-old mother absolutely adored this movie (and no, she doesn't enjoy video games). Didn't want any other middle-aged people to miss out because of her review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinEMar 25, 2009
Margaret S - I actually fall directly into the categories you mention and while I mostly enjoyed the movie I felt the second half lacked much sense of wonder that other animated movies might have. As well, most of the lesser characters were Margaret S - I actually fall directly into the categories you mention and while I mostly enjoyed the movie I felt the second half lacked much sense of wonder that other animated movies might have. As well, most of the lesser characters were uninteresting. I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenSMar 28, 2009
Dear Margaret S, I'm saddened by your review - and moreso by your particular lack of imagination. Or maybe you're just afraid of the dark. Either way, if you would've read the reviews earlier you may have concluded that it Dear Margaret S, I'm saddened by your review - and moreso by your particular lack of imagination. Or maybe you're just afraid of the dark. Either way, if you would've read the reviews earlier you may have concluded that it wasn't a family film, had several subtle intellectual undertones (anyone else catch all those sly winks to Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind?) and dark themes throughout. This has easily been one of the most inventive, innovative and astounding films I've recently witnessed. It was an incredibly successful combination of all the best components of the HP franchise, El Laberinto del Fauno, and (as previously mentioned) EsotSM. Riveting. A little slow paced at times perhaps but always filled with a sense of either dread and gloom or wonder - and at it's best moments, all 3. The best film to come out of 09 so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ToddF.Mar 3, 2009
Very good movie, though I would think the kids would find it a bit too creepy or scary. But I dont have kids, so I dont care. The theater didnt have 3d, so that was a bit of a bummer, but I loved the visual effects and some of the characters Very good movie, though I would think the kids would find it a bit too creepy or scary. But I dont have kids, so I dont care. The theater didnt have 3d, so that was a bit of a bummer, but I loved the visual effects and some of the characters were great, especially the lady with the pasties. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RachelS.Apr 25, 2009
Good movie even though it is not for kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamB.May 15, 2009
One of a very few times where I liked the movie better than the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkMMay 29, 2009
Awesome! The most detailed stop motion film ever. Fun, exciting, and creepy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RajDJun 14, 2009
Very good. the animation is excellent. also, the story is creepy and very well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidMJun 14, 2009
This is the best movie I have seen since "The Nightmare Before Christmas" and it's even better than that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Enzop.Jun 23, 2009
Coraline is a very good movie but don't see it in 3-D its not worth the extra cash. Also at parts in the movie it started to get boring so I started to drift away from the big screen. Other then that Coraline was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayHJul 20, 2009
Wildly imaginative, brilliantly animated and a fascinating story. It's certainly different. It has a great pace, very well edited. The direction is marvelous. It's a magical movie that is highly entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThaliaTSep 10, 2009
This is a coming of age movie. It is original in that it uses puppets not unlike Pinocchio to illustrate what one's real values should be. Not always getting what you want, but living with real life, flawed parents who truly love one. This is a coming of age movie. It is original in that it uses puppets not unlike Pinocchio to illustrate what one's real values should be. Not always getting what you want, but living with real life, flawed parents who truly love one. There may be scary bits for children below a 6 or 7, but most other kids and grownups should be able to handle the imagery just fine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamB.Nov 16, 2009
Some extremely harsh comments here! Visually this is utterly stunning - by far the richest images of any kids film so far, surely? We all enjoyed the colourful smoothness of CGI stuff like Finding Nemo and Monsters Inc, but the lower-tech Some extremely harsh comments here! Visually this is utterly stunning - by far the richest images of any kids film so far, surely? We all enjoyed the colourful smoothness of CGI stuff like Finding Nemo and Monsters Inc, but the lower-tech (some of it has to have done on computer I'm sure) skills on display give a real warmth and charm. Not exactly an original story, what with magic doors, evil witches and talking cats, so a mark off for that. Provides enough unsettling imagery to hold the attention without resorting to pointless ugliness in order to shock. Also needs to be commended for it's literary script, clever dialogue and intelligent central theme of familial imperfection - any kids film with a genuine philosophical depth has to be recommended. Bit of a drawn out ending and treads a bit of a fimiliar path overall. My son is 4 and a) didn't find it scary b) sat through it all and said he liked it, although he was getting a bit fidgety towards the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamL.Feb 12, 2009
A pretty good film when considered on its own, but it bears very little resemblance to the book on which it is based. It's quite something to look at, but it fails completely to capture the mood and tone of Neil Gaiman's original A pretty good film when considered on its own, but it bears very little resemblance to the book on which it is based. It's quite something to look at, but it fails completely to capture the mood and tone of Neil Gaiman's original manuscript. For those contemplating reading the book, see the film first, or else you will be pretty disappointed with the results. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NeilL.Feb 12, 2009
The user Kirsten J wrote: "The story was incredibly true to Mr. Gaiman's book. One or two differences obviously existed, but overall, I don't think I've ever seen a more accurate book adaptation." Exactly what is it The user Kirsten J wrote: "The story was incredibly true to Mr. Gaiman's book. One or two differences obviously existed, but overall, I don't think I've ever seen a more accurate book adaptation." Exactly what is it you're smoking, Kirsten? I enjoyed this movie, but it is NOTHING like the book, and certainly not the "most accurate adaptation" either, not by a hundred miles. The book was sheer genius in its brevity. The movie takes on its own life, which is enjoyable, yes, but not the life Neil Gaiman gave it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Feb 12, 2009
The moment the girl and the cat reach a void in their walking, "Coraline" loses all pretenses of being a children's movie. An irony, to be sure, since the unrealized world yet to be determined by the Other Mother(Teri Hatcher), pays sly The moment the girl and the cat reach a void in their walking, "Coraline" loses all pretenses of being a children's movie. An irony, to be sure, since the unrealized world yet to be determined by the Other Mother(Teri Hatcher), pays sly homage to a classic children's story. Published in 1955, Crockett Johnson's "Harold and the Purple Crayon" told the story of a little boy who creates a world of his own making. When Coraline(Dakota Fanning) and the cat are thrown into stark relief against a white background, the mis-en-scene self-consciously turns into an empty canvas. The cat tells the girl that her faux mom created only what she needed, which echoes the genesis behind Harold's imagination; he too drew as a means to an end. Harold was an artist, and all artists are solitary by nature. Harold was no exception. "Coraline" suggests the emotional toll that creativity has on the aesthetically-minded. Some turn into tortured artists, just like the Other Mother. She's lonely. To what extent, this loneliness, can be measured by the elaborate, but demented flora she creates in her garden, and the wholesome meals she prepares for Coraline and her Other Father(John Hodgeman). When she gives Coraline the box containing her button eyes, it's a test of the little girl's love. Instead of living a real life with Coraline, the other mother would rather remains in her artistic realm transform the corporeal girl into a representational one. As aforementioned, this is no mere children's film. Not only does "Coraline" suggest "Harold and the Purple Crayon" gone dystopian, it also borrows heavily from a "Twilight Zone" episode entitled "It's a Good Life". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TharsoeFeb 28, 2009
very enjoyable. it's not a kiddy film but my kid sister enjoyed it anyway. one of the best of 2009 so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreaFeb 28, 2009
Amazing movie. The people who give it a "0" simply have no appreciation for beauty/artistry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayCJun 21, 2009
This is one of the best movies i have seen in a very long time. Unlike all the happy go lucky movies of the our times its nice to see something a little darker, more brothers grim like. Yes its scary but it holds a lesson in it, also the tag This is one of the best movies i have seen in a very long time. Unlike all the happy go lucky movies of the our times its nice to see something a little darker, more brothers grim like. Yes its scary but it holds a lesson in it, also the tag line for the movie, be careful what you wish for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
sVc.Jul 26, 2009
This movie went far beyond my expectations. Even though I am a huge fan of "The Nightmare Before Christmas" I guess I still wasn't expecting this to be that interesting; and I was way off base. It is far creepeir than I assumed and the This movie went far beyond my expectations. Even though I am a huge fan of "The Nightmare Before Christmas" I guess I still wasn't expecting this to be that interesting; and I was way off base. It is far creepeir than I assumed and the animation is supberb. Sellick and Burton should keep making movies together so that Hollywood will always have something original to give its audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PedroAug 26, 2010
I thought Coraline was going to have very scary moments - but I was wrong. Coraline is a great movie, thrilling, exciting, everything! You have to see it. PG is reccomended, Coraline may create nightmares on most sensitive (New York Post,I thought Coraline was going to have very scary moments - but I was wrong. Coraline is a great movie, thrilling, exciting, everything! You have to see it. PG is reccomended, Coraline may create nightmares on most sensitive (New York Post, thanks) children. Coraline, a great movie deserves a great review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews