User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 323 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 323
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanH.
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    This was the first movie our two year old has seen and he loved it. It is visually stunning enough to hold his attention even during the less chaotic scenes. It is a wonderful gothic romance.
  2. R.Dalvi
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    Excellent animation. All the people look cute. The voices also are very good.
  3. FelixQ.
    Jul 25, 2006
    5
    I feel strongly that The Nightmare Before Christmas was one of the great films of my lifetime, and that the charm and unrepressable... oomph it had cannot be reproduced in any way. Not even, or most specifically by the original director. Yes, Corpse Bride had the same demi-goth elements that have made Tim Burton who he is today, and Danny Elfman didn't do a completely shoddy job with I feel strongly that The Nightmare Before Christmas was one of the great films of my lifetime, and that the charm and unrepressable... oomph it had cannot be reproduced in any way. Not even, or most specifically by the original director. Yes, Corpse Bride had the same demi-goth elements that have made Tim Burton who he is today, and Danny Elfman didn't do a completely shoddy job with the music, but it's no longer a first. Nightmare was just that- comepletely unique and overwhelming. I still get cold shivers up and down my body when I listen to the songs, and the concept, however basic, just fit like a jigsaw puzzle to make a master-piece. Corpse Bride very conciously felt like a rip-off, like Burton wanted desperately to have another go with the medium, and thought somehow he could make another classic by just utilizing the same elements. Nope. Sorry. Didn't work. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't really good, either. I almost worship the ground Burton and Elfman walk on, and I even loved Big Fish, but I love Burton's films because although each retainting a flavor that very clearly indicating Tim's touch, each movie still remains a completely seperate entity and holds it's own charm. It almost feels like Corpse Bride is a badly disguised sequel to Nightmare, but cops out at the last. Expand
  4. ElizabethC.
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    Johnny Depp and Tim Burton are an awesome team.... I loved this movie!!!
  5. D
    Sep 29, 2005
    3
    Oh wow. I don't think I've ever seen a movie with that little of anything in it. It hardly has any story. There is no suspense, comedy, or good moments. The voice acting is formulaic and no character really stands out. Finally, the script is the most bland, infantile, bare-bones, poor-excuse-for-a-story-line screenplay I think I've experienced. I give it a 3 because of the Oh wow. I don't think I've ever seen a movie with that little of anything in it. It hardly has any story. There is no suspense, comedy, or good moments. The voice acting is formulaic and no character really stands out. Finally, the script is the most bland, infantile, bare-bones, poor-excuse-for-a-story-line screenplay I think I've experienced. I give it a 3 because of the animation, which is executed nicely if not sensationally, and the jazz musical number involving dancing skeletons and some excellent lighting. These redeeming qualities are no reason to see the film, though. It smply is roaringly dull and numbingly useless. I thought this was supposed to be Tim Burton's quality film after the promise-filled wuss-out that was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Instead, it has relegated Tim Burton to the list of washed-up geniuses. Expand
  6. PeterD
    Oct 1, 2005
    3
    Characters are dull and unrelatable, the jokes are simply not funny to an adult, and the songs erratic and simply dreadful. Good cinematography, interesting plot, but this movie was 1/3 of what Charlie & the Chocolate factory was. Way too short as well for a $7-$10 movie.
  7. PaulaW.
    Oct 1, 2005
    2
    That's it, I'm through with Tim Burton. First there was the unimpressive Big Fish, and now this piece of dreck. It looked good enough, in the usual Tim Burton style, but ugh! The painfully dumb dialogue! The idiotic characters! The crappy jokes! The weak musical numbers! The predictable ending! Did I mention how staggeringly DUMB the whole thing was? It was all I could do just That's it, I'm through with Tim Burton. First there was the unimpressive Big Fish, and now this piece of dreck. It looked good enough, in the usual Tim Burton style, but ugh! The painfully dumb dialogue! The idiotic characters! The crappy jokes! The weak musical numbers! The predictable ending! Did I mention how staggeringly DUMB the whole thing was? It was all I could do just to sit through it. There's no magic, no whimsy, no heart here. It's no Edward Scissorhands. Expand
  8. HoobyD.
    Jan 6, 2006
    4
    The animation was beautful. But, like most people, there just wasn't much substance. Barely any story, and Johnny Depp's character is just unlikeable. For some reason, he's unfaithful to his likeable and charming fiancee and decides to marry a dead corpse he found. The audience is wondering why, but half of the audience is already asleep. The men will gawk at all the The animation was beautful. But, like most people, there just wasn't much substance. Barely any story, and Johnny Depp's character is just unlikeable. For some reason, he's unfaithful to his likeable and charming fiancee and decides to marry a dead corpse he found. The audience is wondering why, but half of the audience is already asleep. The men will gawk at all the well-endowed women. BOOO!! Expand
  9. CaptainSpaulding
    Jan 31, 2006
    5
    Not "The Nightmare Before Christmas" or anything like it, by any means. If you were expecting the former, then you will be disappointed. Beautiful animation and the spookiness you expect from Tim Burton, but NO sympathetic characters like the former movie. No one for the audience to hang onto! Beautifully rendered visuals, but no story or emotional ties on the characters. Rent "Nightmare" Not "The Nightmare Before Christmas" or anything like it, by any means. If you were expecting the former, then you will be disappointed. Beautiful animation and the spookiness you expect from Tim Burton, but NO sympathetic characters like the former movie. No one for the audience to hang onto! Beautifully rendered visuals, but no story or emotional ties on the characters. Rent "Nightmare" again and leave this one (along with Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) at the video store. Expand
  10. vixi
    Mar 2, 2006
    5
    It looks beautiful...sadly the characters are boring and hollow and do not capture you in any way to make you feel something from this movie.
  11. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Well, I thought it was great but Nightmare Before Christmas was just a tad better. The songs were good, and the characters just gave it that Tim Burton twang that we all know and love.
  12. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Corpse Bride is sweet and sincere, dark and funny, and perhaps the most technically accomplished and beautiful example of stop-motion animation ever. A great British voice cast fronted by Johnny Depp (OK he's not British but plays the cripplingly shy young English gent Victor Van Dort well) and featuring Emily Watson, Joanna Lumley, Albert Finney, Paul Whitehouse, Tracey Ullman, JaneCorpse Bride is sweet and sincere, dark and funny, and perhaps the most technically accomplished and beautiful example of stop-motion animation ever. A great British voice cast fronted by Johnny Depp (OK he's not British but plays the cripplingly shy young English gent Victor Van Dort well) and featuring Emily Watson, Joanna Lumley, Albert Finney, Paul Whitehouse, Tracey Ullman, Jane Horrocks, Michael Gough, Christopher Lee and Richard E. Grant simply astounds - few directors other than Tim Burton would be able to command the respect of such an array of talent. Helena Bonham Carter blows all away however with her tender performance as Emily, the tragic character of the title. She's a compelling, rounded protagonist and Bonham Carter takes her characterisation in many directions, from child-like immaturity, to bitterness at her situation to eventual dignified acceptance of her untimely demise, and every emotion in-between. The contrast between the sombre, formal and grey world world of the living and the lively, colourful and free land of the dead is striking and effective - Burton has retained his go-to theme of not belonging in the world you are born in, and still has a unique view of death and a distinctive and individual use of cheerfully macabre imagery. In addition to the detail and expressiveness of the puppets and the energy of the animation (supervised by the film's incredibly talented co-director Mike Johnson), Danny Elfman's rich soundtrack and catchy songs, particularly the jazzy "Remains of the Day" and the rip-roaring "Wedding Song" breathe real life into the film. Though the film has much to say about life, death, class, family, love and loneliness, what makes it so memorable is that Tim Burton has provided us with such an entertainingly oddball piece of fantasy escapism. The world of Corpse Bride is a real pleasure to spend time in, and you really grow attached to the weird and wonderful cast of misfits, be they corpse or not. Burton's kookiness and abundance of unusual ideas can sometimes get in the way of telling a coherent, evenly paced story (most noticeably in his recent efforts Alice in Wonderland and Dark Shadows), but not so here - Corpse Bride is a pleasingly simple tale well-told, and characters and their performers are allowed to make a real emotional connection with the viewer. For a film manufactured using an archaic form of animation that seems to aim to actively reject reality, and which prominently features the reanimated dead, it's an oddly human, and miraculously heart-tugging experience, and is probably the most balanced and immaculate of all Tim Burton's films. Expand
  13. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Tim Burton carries on his dark, romantic tradition
  14. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    A story about the dead seems so fresh, alive, and beautiful. This is among Burton's best work. His brilliance for creating imagery and tone is why he is one of Hollywood's most distinguished directors.
  15. AmyC.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    This is the best movie that i have even seen, in my option it is MUCH better than the nightmare before Christmas. i do not understand why people are judging the two movies they are totally different. sure they are Tim Burton's movies but still you don't see a skeleton trying to kidnap Christmas in the corpse bride and you don't see a man marrying a corpse in the nightmare This is the best movie that i have even seen, in my option it is MUCH better than the nightmare before Christmas. i do not understand why people are judging the two movies they are totally different. sure they are Tim Burton's movies but still you don't see a skeleton trying to kidnap Christmas in the corpse bride and you don't see a man marrying a corpse in the nightmare before Christmas. overall I LOVE THIS MOVIE Expand
  16. TonyG.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    if you truly love tim burtons style, then you will fall in love with this masterpiece. if you like stupid, commercialized, crappy, trendy,spoiled brat films like most people, then stay away from this movie. if you have a great imagination and dare to go where most don't, then this is for you. extreamly creative, classic type story. if you get the dvd go to the extras and just see for if you truly love tim burtons style, then you will fall in love with this masterpiece. if you like stupid, commercialized, crappy, trendy,spoiled brat films like most people, then stay away from this movie. if you have a great imagination and dare to go where most don't, then this is for you. extreamly creative, classic type story. if you get the dvd go to the extras and just see for yourself just how much mind power was put into this film. hats off, 2 thumbs up, 3 snaps in a circle to tim burton and his crew for making an instant classic. Expand
  17. AriB.
    Oct 14, 2005
    1
    This is a terrible movie. I didn't expect much and I still got disappointed. I felt exactly the same way when I watched Ed Wood. I was BORED to death. Pun not necessarliy intended. It wasn't entertaining. I wasn't moved. I was almost put to sleep. It would've been better if they just did a very short feature like those mini-stories before Toy Story. My friend who This is a terrible movie. I didn't expect much and I still got disappointed. I felt exactly the same way when I watched Ed Wood. I was BORED to death. Pun not necessarliy intended. It wasn't entertaining. I wasn't moved. I was almost put to sleep. It would've been better if they just did a very short feature like those mini-stories before Toy Story. My friend who invited me because he was expecting something like Nightmare Before Christmas fell asleep. I felt so bad, I told everyone to tell everyone they knew not to watch this movie. The story was lame, the songs were lousy and jokes were flat... except maybe for the one when the corpse was singing and dancing and fell down leaving her leg stuck under a root. But, I laugh at anyone falling down. And, that's why I'm giving it a 1 instead of a zero. I've noted all the critics who rated this movie a hundred and I'll never believe them again. Expand
  18. NicoV
    Oct 19, 2005
    4
    Having seen A Nightmare Before Christmas maybe I expected too much. I expected more humour, I certainly expected a better plot than the typical "one guy torn between two girls kinda thing", and much better music. The music on this movie was not catchy at all like on "The Nightmare...". I think Tim Burton has been losing it since Charly and the Chocolate Factory, I hope next movie he does Having seen A Nightmare Before Christmas maybe I expected too much. I expected more humour, I certainly expected a better plot than the typical "one guy torn between two girls kinda thing", and much better music. The music on this movie was not catchy at all like on "The Nightmare...". I think Tim Burton has been losing it since Charly and the Chocolate Factory, I hope next movie he does he redeems himself. Expand
  19. ClausV.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    Stop-motion animation may be a dinosaur, but can still be technically superb. I didn't believe they used real puppets in this film. Very good plot and characters. Fell in love with the Corpse Bride -what a sweet, unselfconsciously erotic darling! I would happily die to marry her and play four-hand classic piano without a score for eternity!
  20. PrudenceKhillers
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    Bad! Bad! Bad! Bad! Awful! Gross. Disgusting. Awful! The worst I've seen this month. And I did see the new JLO film.
  21. movieaddict
    Nov 16, 2005
    3
    Seriously, I don't understand the critical acclaim for this movie. The plot was too shallow and predictable, the characters were either annoying, the music was so loud and so bad. What's there to like about this film?
  22. AaronG.
    Apr 1, 2009
    5
    I've been looking forward to seeing this movie for a while, but I was really looking forward to not much. The movie, itself, reminds me a lot of Tim Burton's extremely celebrated Nightmare before Christmas. However, I was crushed about halfway into the rather short movie by boring, uninteresting characters, a twist ending that only an idiot couldn't see coming, and music I've been looking forward to seeing this movie for a while, but I was really looking forward to not much. The movie, itself, reminds me a lot of Tim Burton's extremely celebrated Nightmare before Christmas. However, I was crushed about halfway into the rather short movie by boring, uninteresting characters, a twist ending that only an idiot couldn't see coming, and music that just doesn't quite hit the high note. It makes me very sad to say this movie was very "ok", but the fact is that it's just too much like it's main character. Short, timid, and vaguely uninteresting. If there's one thing I have to praise, it's the excellent atmosphere and animation. Otherwise, I have not much but disappointment for this movie. Oh, and it was really fun watching the blu ray disc freeze up. I sent for another one, but that one froze up too. Coincidence? Expand
  23. JoshuaEliasL.
    Sep 28, 2005
    0
    This was absolute dreck. The uninspired, awkwardly inserted musical interludes masked the absence of a plot, or any real depths to the depressingly boring and empty characters. I predicted half of the plot developments, and when they predictably shuffled by on the screen i was wholly unimpressed with Burton's inablility to evoke any sort of fantasy. The sets are dull and lackluster; This was absolute dreck. The uninspired, awkwardly inserted musical interludes masked the absence of a plot, or any real depths to the depressingly boring and empty characters. I predicted half of the plot developments, and when they predictably shuffled by on the screen i was wholly unimpressed with Burton's inablility to evoke any sort of fantasy. The sets are dull and lackluster; the only warmth in the movie comes from the all-too-brief scenes of Victor and Victoria together. The titacular Corpse Bride was so poorly defined as a character that her prescence was seemingly unnessecary and defintely forced. the script itself was so lacking and the dialouge so infantile and embarrassingly UNFUNNY that the weak gags Burton has his characters run through are poor respite for his failure to put a smile on the viewer's face. The insultingly inexplicable and cliche ending is good for some incredulous comments. Unwatchable. Expand
  24. chuck
    Oct 1, 2005
    5
    Cute but blah.
  25. gabersh.
    Oct 6, 2005
    4
    Don't get me wrong I loved Sleepy Hollow, Nightmare before Christmas, and Big Fish. This was predictable, not clever, and not worth Tim Burton Johnny Depp or Helena. No good and when the end hits you its like, that was it? Not worth 5 buck.
  26. DeanJ.
    Oct 7, 2005
    3
    Let's see... I'm Tiim Burton, and I have to keep busy... I know! I'll make another Halloween picture! I'll capitalize on this niche I've cleverly carved out for myself by using all of the usual ingredients. And why work too hard at it? A poorly fleshed-out plot will suffice as the skeleton for my story. I'll cast Mr. Depp as my protagonist again, have Mr. Let's see... I'm Tiim Burton, and I have to keep busy... I know! I'll make another Halloween picture! I'll capitalize on this niche I've cleverly carved out for myself by using all of the usual ingredients. And why work too hard at it? A poorly fleshed-out plot will suffice as the skeleton for my story. I'll cast Mr. Depp as my protagonist again, have Mr. Elfman make the music with those spooky chorus girls singing backup to jazzy ghouls' "ain't life grand when it's goth" numbers -- again, and garnish gratuitously with supporting characters right out of Disney's "Contemporary Musical Cartoon for the Whole Family" handbook! Okay, I apologize for the arrogant "alliterative armchair art critic" bit. But man, I was so sorely disappointed by this movie. Once again I have fallen prey to a trailer that promises more than it can deliver. When will I learn? The bit with the dog ("play dead! Oh, sorry.") got me into the theater, and was one of the few things that kept me there. This was a beautiful movie to look at. No doubt of that. But... Dude... If you're going to put such a devastating amount of effort into the production, shouldn't you put as much work into the story? And there were so many opportunities to add tasty details to this thing that could have made it a holiday classic -- provided you hadn't hired an 8 year-old to ghost-write your shooting script. Instead, it looks like... like none of the artists involved were allowed to improvise. It bored me. Depressing. Still... it was pretty to look at. Expand
  27. eyebrow
    Oct 8, 2005
    4
    Pros: visually stunning, wonderful cast. Cons: aimed too much towards children 6 and under, bland plot. Overview: It can't match Tim Burton's earlier work, but i guess i just expected too much.
  28. FantasyFan
    Oct 10, 2005
    2
    We saw this and Wallace and Gromit in the same night. The latter was hilarious and creative and fun, and the former came closer to putting me to sleep than any movie has in years. The much vaunted visuals were frankly a bit dull and strangely thin--I never got a sense anything was around the corner or beyond the horizon. Oddly, the sound was the same, like three people singing into a We saw this and Wallace and Gromit in the same night. The latter was hilarious and creative and fun, and the former came closer to putting me to sleep than any movie has in years. The much vaunted visuals were frankly a bit dull and strangely thin--I never got a sense anything was around the corner or beyond the horizon. Oddly, the sound was the same, like three people singing into a mike. Speaking of singing, most of the lyrics were god-awful, rhymes that were as predictable as they were meaningless. And of course the story and dialogue were about as simple and wooden as anything from a mid-summer shoot-em-up. There are many reviewers who seem to have praised this movie whose judgments I may never trust again. Expand
  29. ChadS.
    Oct 19, 2005
    6
    Like "Mulan", "Corpse Bride" would've been a better film without the music. Danny Elfman's songs don't measure up to his work on "The Nightmare Before Christmas", but the allusion to one of Elfman's better known compositions with his former incarnation as lead singer of Oingo Boingo is mildly amusing. Another problem is that the corpse bride (Helena Bonham-Carter) Like "Mulan", "Corpse Bride" would've been a better film without the music. Danny Elfman's songs don't measure up to his work on "The Nightmare Before Christmas", but the allusion to one of Elfman's better known compositions with his former incarnation as lead singer of Oingo Boingo is mildly amusing. Another problem is that the corpse bride (Helena Bonham-Carter) never quite engages us like Victoria (Emily Watson) does. The way Victor captures Victoria's heart with his prowess at the piano is the film's highlight, and it's the ultimate failure of "Corpse Bride" that there's no scene which equally enchants, involving the groom and corpse. Victor's fatalistic love towards Victoria also has to be more convinving in a crucial scene, so his drastic action feels more organic than a requirement of the screenplay to create suspense. Expand
  30. MikeE.
    Dec 6, 2005
    1
    The entire plot, with all twists and turns could be summed up in two sentences. Lovely to look at, but no substance whatsoever.
  31. matthewp.
    Dec 29, 2005
    2
    This picture comes off like a student film--completely unrefined and uninspiring. Don't see it!
  32. MattM.
    Jun 24, 2006
    0
    such a dull drab pointless waste of time, boring insipid characters, dull plot, no twists. and johnny depp has no impact as avoice actor. dont waste your 5.99 like i did. dont.
  33. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    it is a terrible movie i dont now why i wasted my ime watching it i am never going to listen to critics again because the all gave it great reviews for all those people trying to decide wether to watch it don't just 't and whoe ver had the idea to put depp in a voice role is just plane stupid i am so sick of these terrible movies!!!
  34. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    When I was going to watch this movie for the very first time, I thought it would be bloody awful. The movie flattered me: it's so beautiful, so full of content, and so carefully made! Tim Burton is yet to make a bad movie.
  35. Jul 21, 2013
    2
    Didn't enjoy it. It was too boring, the plot seemed pretty stupid, and I disliked most of the characters, though I will praise the animation and voixe acting however...
  36. DevonS
    Apr 27, 2008
    7
    Who would've thought that the love story of a timid man and a corpse would touch our hearts?
  37. Rob
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    Oscar definitely needs to pay this film a visit! The best stop motion animation ever in cinema!
  38. Simon
    Sep 16, 2005
    2
    This movie is terrible. The story is weak. The characterizations are flimsy. The music and songs are uninspired. In the post-Shrek world, animated comedies are to be held to a higher standard. This one fails to work either for adults or children. Bad.
  39. Croki
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    Incredible!! Tim Burton's animated movie is wonderful and magical, with the spirit of ''The Nightmare Before Christmas''
  40. GregMiller
    Sep 16, 2005
    9
    "Bad! Bad! Gross! Disgusting!" Uh--yeah. It IS titled "Corpse Bride." I guess if you were expecting lollipops and puppy dogs you entered the wrong fairy tale, not to mention the wrong theatre. Great movie. Nice to see something different come out of Hollywood. Burton is generally hit or miss, but his movies are always pretty, even when they are so-called "disgusting!" Go see it.
  41. OrenK.
    Sep 16, 2005
    9
    Excellent - another brilliant Tim Burton and Danny Elfman stop motion film. I do have to say, it wasn't quite as good as Nightmare, but excellent all the same. Highly recommend it.
  42. ColinG
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    This is the best stop animation movie since a Nightmare before Christmas. If you enjoyed Tim B's animation and imagery style, you will not be disappointed. Don't miss out seeing this in the theatre. It's a real treat. Thanks Tim B. for giving us this picture.
  43. MarieM.
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    A wonderful movie! A classic fairytale with a very big twist. It wasn't really that gross-- even from a mom's point of view. I loved the way that the living world was grey, looking dead, yet the dead world was vibrant and much more alive. The musical numbers were funny and enjoyable. Our viewing was filled with mostly adults, they loved it, and the kids did too.
  44. JoshB.
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    I was naturally skeptical because Tim Burton's movies sometimes can be really disappointing. This is not the case.
  45. SteveK.
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    Superb. I wished it were longer, but it fit the story, which was inspired, surprising as it could be, and sweetly romantic. Sensitive and delicate are words that come to mind. I didn't it grotesqe at all, well not the dead people part - it was the living that fit that label. I went with my 3 teenager daughters, into a packed theater and mine loved it, the crowd gave moderate Superb. I wished it were longer, but it fit the story, which was inspired, surprising as it could be, and sweetly romantic. Sensitive and delicate are words that come to mind. I didn't it grotesqe at all, well not the dead people part - it was the living that fit that label. I went with my 3 teenager daughters, into a packed theater and mine loved it, the crowd gave moderate applause. See this in a theater - when it is on video it will take a good system to handle the blacks and subtle shades of grays. BTW, this is not an animation - it is stop action. And that makes for a different genre as compared to Shrek etc. Expand
  46. MaxL.
    Sep 20, 2005
    7
    Great animation, interesting story and captivating song and dance numbers. But the characters are not very developed. However, that's not a reason to skip this movie. Go see it. Creepy and entertaining and the end was quite apt. Short and sweet...and creepy.
  47. JenniferM.
    Sep 20, 2005
    9
    Brilliant story writing, fantastic animation, and great voices. I found the song lyrics hard to understand, but that was my only complaint.
  48. Prattdaddy
    Sep 23, 2005
    9
    Ok, first off, the animation and art direction was superb. Seamless stop-motion, along with sets and visuals that dripped and oozed with gothic, outlandish color and flair. Definitely Oscar worthy for best animated film, and for best art direction. Also, voice acting was excellent. There was not a single bad performance in the film. From Depp's nervous/humble demeanor, to Ok, first off, the animation and art direction was superb. Seamless stop-motion, along with sets and visuals that dripped and oozed with gothic, outlandish color and flair. Definitely Oscar worthy for best animated film, and for best art direction. Also, voice acting was excellent. There was not a single bad performance in the film. From Depp's nervous/humble demeanor, to Bonham-Carter's flighty and twittery performance as the Corpse Bride herself, the casting was spot-on. Also, Elfman's sweeping score once again matches Burton's mood perfectly. The only place where the film faltered, was the musical numbers. The opening theme "Glorious Day for a Wedding", and the number where bar singing Bonejangles tells the story of the Bride are great, but it's in the 5+ other songs including a duet with the bride's head-dwelling maggot and a spider, where you find yourself looking at your watch. The abundance of these less-than-stellar songs may bore some older viewers, unless you are just a die hard Elfman fan. But still, the best animated film in a long while, and more than likely, the film tha will steal Pixar's thunder at the Oscar's this year. 9 out 0f 10 Expand
  49. Alessandra
    Sep 24, 2005
    3
    Am I the ONLY one out there that didnt like this movie? I guess so! There is no denying that the animation and art direction was oustanding. However, to like to this movie, you have to be a fan of Burton's outlandish and crazy imagination. I, for one, wanted to leave the theatre the entire time. The movie was just too creepy and gross for me.
  50. CarlN.
    Sep 25, 2005
    10
    Tim Burton returns to his strength. Like Edward Scissorhands he comments on the shallowness of current culture in its inability to accept the stranger. And he shows how giving oneself leads to freedom and transcendence. Further the technical details of this production are revolutionary and the movie looks beautiful.
  51. Kaimi
    Sep 25, 2005
    10
    Ok first off to the person who said this movie was just plain wierd and creepy..What did you expect form a moive called "Corpse Bride" Its about a zombie for Judas' Sake. I found it to be entertaining and funny.
  52. BrianL.
    Sep 25, 2005
    5
    Yeah, saw it last night . . . Don't get me wrong, it's cute. I liked it okay, and everything. But ultimately, not memorable. 5, average.
  53. GarrettH.
    Sep 25, 2005
    6
    Well its ok.. Its no Nightmare Before Christmas... It has several flaws. To start the songs are like your typical Disney movie songs. They aren't really necessary and advancing the story they are just kinda thrown in there just to be in there. On top of that half the songs are impossible to understand. And they are not good songs either. I still sing NIghtmare before chistmas songs Well its ok.. Its no Nightmare Before Christmas... It has several flaws. To start the songs are like your typical Disney movie songs. They aren't really necessary and advancing the story they are just kinda thrown in there just to be in there. On top of that half the songs are impossible to understand. And they are not good songs either. I still sing NIghtmare before chistmas songs as so many of them are just great tunes... These songs are not I just got out of the movie and i've basically forgotten most of it already. Another big flaw was that fact that I just didn't feel any kind of connection to the charachters. They didnt' captivate me at all and I really could care less what happened to them. I was fairly bored throughout the movie. My final verdict is that I would have been perfectly content renting but, I don't feel its worth theater prices. Its not bad... It just not even close to great. The reviews are just to nice to this movie. Expand
  54. TracyR
    Sep 25, 2005
    6
    Not bad, but a little over-rated for what is not much more than a short film. The animation is brilliant and the jokes aren't bad, but the story is beyond flimsy and really not all that interesting if one is over 10 years of age. Felt like something you'd see at an Animation Show rather than a full length feature film. Probably most appealing to children, animation geeks and Not bad, but a little over-rated for what is not much more than a short film. The animation is brilliant and the jokes aren't bad, but the story is beyond flimsy and really not all that interesting if one is over 10 years of age. Felt like something you'd see at an Animation Show rather than a full length feature film. Probably most appealing to children, animation geeks and Hard-core Burton fans. Expand
  55. DestroyAllGenres
    Sep 27, 2005
    4
    This movie was half-baked and formulaic. The songs where boring and the jokes were infantile. My four point rating breaks down like this: 1 for exposing children to dark themes in a sweet light, 1 for the few, but genuinly good, chuckles, 1 for the first five minutes of goodness, and 1 for taking the time to make a stop-motion mivie in a world of CGI. Minus six points for execution. The This movie was half-baked and formulaic. The songs where boring and the jokes were infantile. My four point rating breaks down like this: 1 for exposing children to dark themes in a sweet light, 1 for the few, but genuinly good, chuckles, 1 for the first five minutes of goodness, and 1 for taking the time to make a stop-motion mivie in a world of CGI. Minus six points for execution. The world of the dead lacked even a hint of the imagination that went into the world of Nightmare Before Christmas. Any half awake goth could have written the script. Tim Burton has officially lost any kind of original vision. Expand
  56. GregL.
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    Years ago, Danny Elfman's former band (Oingo Boingo) released an album entitled "Dead Man's Party". He must have LOVED doing the music for this film.
  57. JustinM.
    Sep 27, 2005
    7
    The visuals in this film are stunning. Burton's stylized color scheme and fluid stop motion and motion tracking are virtually flawless. Fans of "Nightmare" will not be disappointed. The film is understandably on the short side and there seemed to be a few too many musical numbers. Overall, the story is decent and the execution is compelling. Worth a watch.
  58. MarcoA.
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    I like it for some reason.
  59. EricS
    Sep 28, 2005
    7
    Corpse Bride was highly entertaining in that it put a fresh spin on a cliched story. The stylized animation was a joy to look at and the voice performances were for the most part performed well. The ending felt rushed but that didn't detract from a genuinely fun movie.
  60. GregB
    Sep 29, 2005
    1
    Strange, weird, waste. If you are curious, wait for the DVD. Absolute Noise.
  61. SamG.
    Sep 29, 2005
    0
    What was Burton's reason for making this movie? I did not entertain, inspire, inform, empower. It seemed like a forced attempt to combine a Disney musical and the Adams family. My wife and children did not care for the movie at all. Who was it made for the Tim Burton groupies?
  62. JacobZ
    Oct 1, 2005
    7
    Complete style over substance. Visually stunning, but completely disappointing. Burton, and especially Elfman, with the music, could have done a lot more and a lot better. Still, the production design, and visuals, are all grade A, and for that, I give it a good score.
  63. DanR.
    Oct 1, 2005
    9
    Highly imaginative with a particularly wry script and technically fascinating in its use of stop-motion. I found the depiction at the end of the emotional connection between the dead and the living touching.
  64. NikiC
    Oct 2, 2005
    4
    Akward music inserts and the lack of plot make this hard to bare at times. The only thing going for it is that it brings new lighting to animation and is truely original.
  65. CambriK.
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Awesome movie.
  66. ClintM.
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    Ok, for starters, the movie deserved a solid 10. Then why didn't I give it that? B/c it left me wanting more! At 1 hour 20 minutes, the story moves right along and keeps you so enthralled all the way thru, that you don't realize the tiime's flown by! The movie was in a word ... wonderful. Animation ... beautiful. Entertainment value ... unbeatable!!!
  67. kaylam.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Very good.
  68. DanaM.
    Oct 5, 2005
    7
    Entertaining but won't win an Oscar. Good fun though my wife didn't care for it.
  69. sageelder
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    I*luv*this movie!!!!
  70. KelseyK.
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    Wonderfull movie, although a bit drab a times. Although not a classic like Edward Scissorhands or The Nightmare Before Christmas, I think that Tim Burton did a great job on this. And Danny Elfman outdid himself on this.
  71. OlumideE.
    Oct 9, 2005
    8
    It was pretty good, though not as good as Edward Scissorhands or the Nightmare before Christmas. It just doesn't move the same way as those did.
  72. MikeG.
    Oct 10, 2005
    6
    All of the credit in the world for the animation and the look and feel for the movie. But the plot was paper thin and the only plot "twist" in the entire movie was obvious from the second it was not-so-subtly introduced. Enjoyable for the animation, but that's about it.
  73. MarkB.
    Oct 10, 2005
    6
    The "HARRYHAUSEN" logo on the grand piano that nervous would-be bridegroom Victor (voiced by Johnny Depp) practices on may pay tribute to stop-motion animation pioneer Ray Harryhausen, but Tim Burton's lightly macabre animated romance really owes a lot more to the 1930s cartoons of Ub Iwerks and, like his earlier effort The Nightmare Before Christmas, to those 1960s Rankin-Bass The "HARRYHAUSEN" logo on the grand piano that nervous would-be bridegroom Victor (voiced by Johnny Depp) practices on may pay tribute to stop-motion animation pioneer Ray Harryhausen, but Tim Burton's lightly macabre animated romance really owes a lot more to the 1930s cartoons of Ub Iwerks and, like his earlier effort The Nightmare Before Christmas, to those 1960s Rankin-Bass Christmas TV specials...as well as the one-dimensional cartoons and illustrations of Charles Addams, Ronald Searle and Arnold Roth. Burton's reputation for making the classic horror material and settings he obviously loves palatable for family audiences may have finally caught up with him here; Corpse Bride is unquestionably handsome and heartfelt--and I really liked Burton's depiction of BOTH of Victor's potential wives, Victoria (Emily watson) and Emily (Helena Bonham Carter) as sympathetic, appealing and attractive characters (even the dead one)--but the movie is STILL a frustrating, tantalizing near-miss. Danny Elfman's songs aren't bad, and add to the atmosphere, but they seem tossed off and aren't nearly as long as they need to be; the instant one of the musical numbers begins to envelop the audience, it's over. Ironically, that's the opposite problem of the rest of the movie; even at only 78 minutes, it's frequently as draggy and slow-moving as a George A. Romero walking zombie. Most problematic of all is that despite the morbid subject matter and vivid visuals, the humor is nowhere near as bracingly edgy or "sick" as you'd expect; it's tempting to blame the PG rating, but The Nightmare Before Christmas was a perfect entertainment of its kind that wasn't at all hampered by it. I don't have the heart (or spleen or intestines) to try to talk anyone out of seeing this, and I wish I could get my very own Scraps the Dog at a McDonald's or Burger King mear me, but in all honesty, this movie's current rival, Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit, has all its virtues plus a much faster pace and a far more successful humor-horror blend that leaves Corpse Bride...well, buried. Expand
  74. JeremyM.
    Oct 11, 2005
    8
    Great movie overall!!
  75. ArielG
    Oct 20, 2005
    8
    I saw this one today and found it very amusing and charming. Not the best thing out there, but it was quite entertaining. Anyone who has seen Tim Burton's previous works will know what to expect from this one. The stop-motion animation was a lot more fluid than in "The Nightmare Before Christmas". Johnny Depp's voice was perfect as the main character. Recommended for those who I saw this one today and found it very amusing and charming. Not the best thing out there, but it was quite entertaining. Anyone who has seen Tim Burton's previous works will know what to expect from this one. The stop-motion animation was a lot more fluid than in "The Nightmare Before Christmas". Johnny Depp's voice was perfect as the main character. Recommended for those who desire to see something a little creative and different, but it might not be for everyone. Expand
  76. StarGirl
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    Amazing movies i loved it :D
  77. KeatonK.
    Oct 25, 2005
    7
    Joyfully brilliant animation and terrific performances are unfortunately muddled by a thematically confusing plot and mediocre music.
  78. Robertc
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    An unbeleivable spectacle of animation. Burton combined the realm of "shadow/goth" with that of a "dreary heartedsoul" so well that I found myself covered in goosebumps during the first five minutes. The graphics were such that I felt I had been in 19th century gothic...wherever that place was....ni a previous life. (Maybe I was!) ALthough I say it would have had a more smashing effect An unbeleivable spectacle of animation. Burton combined the realm of "shadow/goth" with that of a "dreary heartedsoul" so well that I found myself covered in goosebumps during the first five minutes. The graphics were such that I felt I had been in 19th century gothic...wherever that place was....ni a previous life. (Maybe I was!) ALthough I say it would have had a more smashing effect without the cheesy music- I give it a nine outa ten. The bombshell of Burton's career! Expand
  79. Bob
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    It was hot.
  80. MichaelK.
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Wonderfully creative and a joy to watch!
  81. SangheeJ.
    Nov 9, 2005
    5
    A good film, but none of the genius of 'Nightmare Before Christmas'. it was entertaining, but not too memorable, but a good movie nonetheless, but I guess I expected more.
  82. cute**angel**
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This fillm is so wicked cute angels rates it a ten out of ten and cute angels loves the song"Tears to shed" it made cute angel cry!
  83. DonnaS.
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    A wonderful, well-thought out, almost dreamlike piece of animation. Tim Burton never fails to produce stunning stop-go motion pieces that are a delight to the eyes! The musical score was a fantastic compliment to a stunning achievement of cinema. See if for the characters tales and for the general feel good factor that accompanys all of Tim Burtons masterpieces!!
  84. SeamusS
    Nov 15, 2005
    5
    I normally love Tim Burton movies, but never has he crossed soo far into style over substance. This one gets really boring after all the jokes fall flat and the songs lose their schtick.
  85. LaurenceS.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    This movie was really cool, the visuals were awesome, and I liked all the hideous creatures.
  86. Clay
    Nov 20, 2005
    6
    Disappointing but not unexpected. Burton hasn't made a decent flick since Ed Wood, and I believe we are now seeing the decline into mediocrity of he who was once Hollywood's rebel. Corpse Bride was flat, the voice acting was dull (why would you get Depp to voice act? Give me a break), the music was forgettable (and annoying at the time) and the story never really got going. The Disappointing but not unexpected. Burton hasn't made a decent flick since Ed Wood, and I believe we are now seeing the decline into mediocrity of he who was once Hollywood's rebel. Corpse Bride was flat, the voice acting was dull (why would you get Depp to voice act? Give me a break), the music was forgettable (and annoying at the time) and the story never really got going. The animation itself was fine, but too clinical. Mr. Burton, your time is up. Expand
  87. BitBurn
    Nov 20, 2005
    9
    It was a joy to watch. Cute animation, magical creatures, good storyline, heart-felt all over.
  88. KarlV.V.
    Nov 24, 2005
    9
    Wonderfull movie, it's made realy beautifull and thestory is really ogiginal too. Classic Tim Burton!
  89. KevinF
    Nov 24, 2005
    7
    When I first saw the movie, I was very impressed. But time after thinking about it, it still was a good movie, but they should have used better then Johnny Depp and Emily Watson. Corpse Bride was overall a solid movie, but 77 minutes? The ending seemed very rushed, and there were times to have you guess, but it was kinda predictable. I guessed all the predictables, and a couple of cool When I first saw the movie, I was very impressed. But time after thinking about it, it still was a good movie, but they should have used better then Johnny Depp and Emily Watson. Corpse Bride was overall a solid movie, but 77 minutes? The ending seemed very rushed, and there were times to have you guess, but it was kinda predictable. I guessed all the predictables, and a couple of cool lines to show in the movie. If Burton didn't just used "friends" as his voices, and took a better look at others, maybe it wouldn't have sounded so weak at times. Overall, a 7/10 sounds like the right rating. It's worth a look when it comes out on DVD. Expand
  90. RichardJ.
    Nov 29, 2005
    6
    Definitiely not Tim Burtons finest (see Nightmare before Christmas). The story was slow with only a couple of scenes a joy to watch e.g. the marriage speech. OK for children?!
  91. WallyS.
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    The best animation of the year. Burton pulls it off once again and creates a majestic work, of inner beauty and of dazzling visual. A classic, Romeo + Juliet on gothic roots.
  92. KingdomH.
    Dec 7, 2005
    8
    I think the story doesn't suit little children. The animation and the character do, but some part of the story need adult understanding. Just take a look yourself, and you'll understand what I mean. Other than this is just magnificent.
  93. GregF.
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    I giveing it a 10 because tim burton has out done him self this time hey always has a way of toping every flim he has ever done and he gose above and beond the call on this one.
  94. SammyZee
    Jan 1, 2006
    8
    I've always thought that Tim Burton was great. And now he's back for another movie. I'm giving this an 8 instead of a 10 becuase it's not only a movie for little kids, the animation is but if you watch it there was a deeper meaning.
  95. DanC.
    Jan 4, 2006
    7
    Visually is a sublime, but the plot is really predictable and boring.
  96. [Anonymous]
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Its official. Johnny Depp is the best actor both on screen and off screen. He plays the role perfectly, and we didnt even see him in person! That guy is amazing.
  97. KodeeD.
    Jan 9, 2006
    9
    I loved this movie. You gotta LOVE Johnny!
  98. EthanM.
    Mar 5, 2006
    6
    This movie, while looking like a movie that would leave a mark for many years, sadly fell quite short of what I had been expecting. It was a bland, heapless mess with good animation.
  99. MichaelL.
    Mar 14, 2006
    7
    Musicals are fun, Animated movies are generally fun. This kinda brought both together with a story lacking true conflict. It would be nice to see movies where men (animated or not) are not displayed as complete wusses. I found the dead bride hotter than warm-blooded one. anyone else?
  100. RavenX301
    Apr 12, 2006
    8
    I loved this movie. Maybe not as much as Nightmare Before Chrismas but close.... Just watching Time Burtons films leave me with a warm loving feeling no matter how off beat they are and darkly twisted. Still, Why Johnny Deep? more than likly more of a sales reason I'm sure sense Johnny Deeps Voice for the charater has no bearings on the film. Thou I love Johnny Deep....for a leading I loved this movie. Maybe not as much as Nightmare Before Chrismas but close.... Just watching Time Burtons films leave me with a warm loving feeling no matter how off beat they are and darkly twisted. Still, Why Johnny Deep? more than likly more of a sales reason I'm sure sense Johnny Deeps Voice for the charater has no bearings on the film. Thou I love Johnny Deep....for a leading anamation actors he's not much outside of 'ordinary' Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. A wondrous flight of fancy, a stop-motion-animated treat brimming with imaginative characters, evocative sets, sly humor, inspired songs and a genuine whimsy that seldom finds its way into today's movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    90
    An endearingly schizoid Frankenstein of a movie, by turns relentlessly high-spirited and darkly poignant.
  3. 88
    It's warped and wonderfully effervescent. Ditto the songs by Danny Elfman, who sings the role of Bonejangles, the frontman for a skeleton jazz band at a swinging underworld club. Best of all is the love story.