Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 16, 2005
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 424 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
334
Mixed:
61
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SteveK.Sep 19, 2005
Superb. I wished it were longer, but it fit the story, which was inspired, surprising as it could be, and sweetly romantic. Sensitive and delicate are words that come to mind. I didn't it grotesqe at all, well not the dead people part - Superb. I wished it were longer, but it fit the story, which was inspired, surprising as it could be, and sweetly romantic. Sensitive and delicate are words that come to mind. I didn't it grotesqe at all, well not the dead people part - it was the living that fit that label. I went with my 3 teenager daughters, into a packed theater and mine loved it, the crowd gave moderate applause. See this in a theater - when it is on video it will take a good system to handle the blacks and subtle shades of grays. BTW, this is not an animation - it is stop action. And that makes for a different genre as compared to Shrek etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshB.Sep 18, 2005
I was naturally skeptical because Tim Burton's movies sometimes can be really disappointing. This is not the case.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarieM.Sep 18, 2005
A wonderful movie! A classic fairytale with a very big twist. It wasn't really that gross-- even from a mom's point of view. I loved the way that the living world was grey, looking dead, yet the dead world was vibrant and much more A wonderful movie! A classic fairytale with a very big twist. It wasn't really that gross-- even from a mom's point of view. I loved the way that the living world was grey, looking dead, yet the dead world was vibrant and much more alive. The musical numbers were funny and enjoyable. Our viewing was filled with mostly adults, they loved it, and the kids did too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinGSep 16, 2005
This is the best stop animation movie since a Nightmare before Christmas. If you enjoyed Tim B's animation and imagery style, you will not be disappointed. Don't miss out seeing this in the theatre. It's a real treat. Thanks This is the best stop animation movie since a Nightmare before Christmas. If you enjoyed Tim B's animation and imagery style, you will not be disappointed. Don't miss out seeing this in the theatre. It's a real treat. Thanks Tim B. for giving us this picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OrenK.Sep 16, 2005
Excellent - another brilliant Tim Burton and Danny Elfman stop motion film. I do have to say, it wasn't quite as good as Nightmare, but excellent all the same. Highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregMillerSep 16, 2005
"Bad! Bad! Gross! Disgusting!" Uh--yeah. It IS titled "Corpse Bride." I guess if you were expecting lollipops and puppy dogs you entered the wrong fairy tale, not to mention the wrong theatre. Great movie. Nice to see something different "Bad! Bad! Gross! Disgusting!" Uh--yeah. It IS titled "Corpse Bride." I guess if you were expecting lollipops and puppy dogs you entered the wrong fairy tale, not to mention the wrong theatre. Great movie. Nice to see something different come out of Hollywood. Burton is generally hit or miss, but his movies are always pretty, even when they are so-called "disgusting!" Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CrokiSep 16, 2005
Incredible!! Tim Burton's animated movie is wonderful and magical, with the spirit of ''The Nightmare Before Christmas''
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SimonSep 16, 2005
This movie is terrible. The story is weak. The characterizations are flimsy. The music and songs are uninspired. In the post-Shrek world, animated comedies are to be held to a higher standard. This one fails to work either for adults or This movie is terrible. The story is weak. The characterizations are flimsy. The music and songs are uninspired. In the post-Shrek world, animated comedies are to be held to a higher standard. This one fails to work either for adults or children. Bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PrudenceKhillersSep 13, 2005
Bad! Bad! Bad! Bad! Awful! Gross. Disgusting. Awful! The worst I've seen this month. And I did see the new JLO film.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DanH.Sep 13, 2005
This was the first movie our two year old has seen and he loved it. It is visually stunning enough to hold his attention even during the less chaotic scenes. It is a wonderful gothic romance.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobSep 11, 2005
Oscar definitely needs to pay this film a visit! The best stop motion animation ever in cinema!
0 of 0 users found this helpful