Corpse Bride

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 409 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 409

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. ClausV.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    Stop-motion animation may be a dinosaur, but can still be technically superb. I didn't believe they used real puppets in this film. Very good plot and characters. Fell in love with the Corpse Bride -what a sweet, unselfconsciously erotic darling! I would happily die to marry her and play four-hand classic piano without a score for eternity!
  2. PrudenceKhillers
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    Bad! Bad! Bad! Bad! Awful! Gross. Disgusting. Awful! The worst I've seen this month. And I did see the new JLO film.
  3. DanH.
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    This was the first movie our two year old has seen and he loved it. It is visually stunning enough to hold his attention even during the less chaotic scenes. It is a wonderful gothic romance.
  4. RavenX301
    Apr 12, 2006
    8
    I loved this movie. Maybe not as much as Nightmare Before Chrismas but close.... Just watching Time Burtons films leave me with a warm loving feeling no matter how off beat they are and darkly twisted. Still, Why Johnny Deep? more than likly more of a sales reason I'm sure sense Johnny Deeps Voice for the charater has no bearings on the film. Thou I love Johnny Deep....for a leading I loved this movie. Maybe not as much as Nightmare Before Chrismas but close.... Just watching Time Burtons films leave me with a warm loving feeling no matter how off beat they are and darkly twisted. Still, Why Johnny Deep? more than likly more of a sales reason I'm sure sense Johnny Deeps Voice for the charater has no bearings on the film. Thou I love Johnny Deep....for a leading anamation actors he's not much outside of 'ordinary' Expand
  5. chuck
    Oct 1, 2005
    5
    Cute but blah.
  6. PeterD
    Oct 1, 2005
    3
    Characters are dull and unrelatable, the jokes are simply not funny to an adult, and the songs erratic and simply dreadful. Good cinematography, interesting plot, but this movie was 1/3 of what Charlie & the Chocolate factory was. Way too short as well for a $7-$10 movie.
  7. MarkB.
    Oct 10, 2005
    6
    The "HARRYHAUSEN" logo on the grand piano that nervous would-be bridegroom Victor (voiced by Johnny Depp) practices on may pay tribute to stop-motion animation pioneer Ray Harryhausen, but Tim Burton's lightly macabre animated romance really owes a lot more to the 1930s cartoons of Ub Iwerks and, like his earlier effort The Nightmare Before Christmas, to those 1960s Rankin-Bass The "HARRYHAUSEN" logo on the grand piano that nervous would-be bridegroom Victor (voiced by Johnny Depp) practices on may pay tribute to stop-motion animation pioneer Ray Harryhausen, but Tim Burton's lightly macabre animated romance really owes a lot more to the 1930s cartoons of Ub Iwerks and, like his earlier effort The Nightmare Before Christmas, to those 1960s Rankin-Bass Christmas TV specials...as well as the one-dimensional cartoons and illustrations of Charles Addams, Ronald Searle and Arnold Roth. Burton's reputation for making the classic horror material and settings he obviously loves palatable for family audiences may have finally caught up with him here; Corpse Bride is unquestionably handsome and heartfelt--and I really liked Burton's depiction of BOTH of Victor's potential wives, Victoria (Emily watson) and Emily (Helena Bonham Carter) as sympathetic, appealing and attractive characters (even the dead one)--but the movie is STILL a frustrating, tantalizing near-miss. Danny Elfman's songs aren't bad, and add to the atmosphere, but they seem tossed off and aren't nearly as long as they need to be; the instant one of the musical numbers begins to envelop the audience, it's over. Ironically, that's the opposite problem of the rest of the movie; even at only 78 minutes, it's frequently as draggy and slow-moving as a George A. Romero walking zombie. Most problematic of all is that despite the morbid subject matter and vivid visuals, the humor is nowhere near as bracingly edgy or "sick" as you'd expect; it's tempting to blame the PG rating, but The Nightmare Before Christmas was a perfect entertainment of its kind that wasn't at all hampered by it. I don't have the heart (or spleen or intestines) to try to talk anyone out of seeing this, and I wish I could get my very own Scraps the Dog at a McDonald's or Burger King mear me, but in all honesty, this movie's current rival, Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit, has all its virtues plus a much faster pace and a far more successful humor-horror blend that leaves Corpse Bride...well, buried. Expand
  8. Clay
    Nov 20, 2005
    6
    Disappointing but not unexpected. Burton hasn't made a decent flick since Ed Wood, and I believe we are now seeing the decline into mediocrity of he who was once Hollywood's rebel. Corpse Bride was flat, the voice acting was dull (why would you get Depp to voice act? Give me a break), the music was forgettable (and annoying at the time) and the story never really got going. The Disappointing but not unexpected. Burton hasn't made a decent flick since Ed Wood, and I believe we are now seeing the decline into mediocrity of he who was once Hollywood's rebel. Corpse Bride was flat, the voice acting was dull (why would you get Depp to voice act? Give me a break), the music was forgettable (and annoying at the time) and the story never really got going. The animation itself was fine, but too clinical. Mr. Burton, your time is up. Expand
  9. AriB.
    Oct 14, 2005
    1
    This is a terrible movie. I didn't expect much and I still got disappointed. I felt exactly the same way when I watched Ed Wood. I was BORED to death. Pun not necessarliy intended. It wasn't entertaining. I wasn't moved. I was almost put to sleep. It would've been better if they just did a very short feature like those mini-stories before Toy Story. My friend who This is a terrible movie. I didn't expect much and I still got disappointed. I felt exactly the same way when I watched Ed Wood. I was BORED to death. Pun not necessarliy intended. It wasn't entertaining. I wasn't moved. I was almost put to sleep. It would've been better if they just did a very short feature like those mini-stories before Toy Story. My friend who invited me because he was expecting something like Nightmare Before Christmas fell asleep. I felt so bad, I told everyone to tell everyone they knew not to watch this movie. The story was lame, the songs were lousy and jokes were flat... except maybe for the one when the corpse was singing and dancing and fell down leaving her leg stuck under a root. But, I laugh at anyone falling down. And, that's why I'm giving it a 1 instead of a zero. I've noted all the critics who rated this movie a hundred and I'll never believe them again. Expand
  10. MikeG.
    Oct 10, 2005
    6
    All of the credit in the world for the animation and the look and feel for the movie. But the plot was paper thin and the only plot "twist" in the entire movie was obvious from the second it was not-so-subtly introduced. Enjoyable for the animation, but that's about it.
  11. NicoV
    Oct 19, 2005
    4
    Having seen A Nightmare Before Christmas maybe I expected too much. I expected more humour, I certainly expected a better plot than the typical "one guy torn between two girls kinda thing", and much better music. The music on this movie was not catchy at all like on "The Nightmare...". I think Tim Burton has been losing it since Charly and the Chocolate Factory, I hope next movie he does Having seen A Nightmare Before Christmas maybe I expected too much. I expected more humour, I certainly expected a better plot than the typical "one guy torn between two girls kinda thing", and much better music. The music on this movie was not catchy at all like on "The Nightmare...". I think Tim Burton has been losing it since Charly and the Chocolate Factory, I hope next movie he does he redeems himself. Expand
  12. ArielG
    Oct 20, 2005
    8
    I saw this one today and found it very amusing and charming. Not the best thing out there, but it was quite entertaining. Anyone who has seen Tim Burton's previous works will know what to expect from this one. The stop-motion animation was a lot more fluid than in "The Nightmare Before Christmas". Johnny Depp's voice was perfect as the main character. Recommended for those who I saw this one today and found it very amusing and charming. Not the best thing out there, but it was quite entertaining. Anyone who has seen Tim Burton's previous works will know what to expect from this one. The stop-motion animation was a lot more fluid than in "The Nightmare Before Christmas". Johnny Depp's voice was perfect as the main character. Recommended for those who desire to see something a little creative and different, but it might not be for everyone. Expand
  13. KingdomH.
    Dec 7, 2005
    8
    I think the story doesn't suit little children. The animation and the character do, but some part of the story need adult understanding. Just take a look yourself, and you'll understand what I mean. Other than this is just magnificent.
  14. Robertc
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    An unbeleivable spectacle of animation. Burton combined the realm of "shadow/goth" with that of a "dreary heartedsoul" so well that I found myself covered in goosebumps during the first five minutes. The graphics were such that I felt I had been in 19th century gothic...wherever that place was....ni a previous life. (Maybe I was!) ALthough I say it would have had a more smashing effect An unbeleivable spectacle of animation. Burton combined the realm of "shadow/goth" with that of a "dreary heartedsoul" so well that I found myself covered in goosebumps during the first five minutes. The graphics were such that I felt I had been in 19th century gothic...wherever that place was....ni a previous life. (Maybe I was!) ALthough I say it would have had a more smashing effect without the cheesy music- I give it a nine outa ten. The bombshell of Burton's career! Expand
  15. eyebrow
    Oct 8, 2005
    4
    Pros: visually stunning, wonderful cast. Cons: aimed too much towards children 6 and under, bland plot. Overview: It can't match Tim Burton's earlier work, but i guess i just expected too much.
  16. Simon
    Sep 16, 2005
    2
    This movie is terrible. The story is weak. The characterizations are flimsy. The music and songs are uninspired. In the post-Shrek world, animated comedies are to be held to a higher standard. This one fails to work either for adults or children. Bad.
  17. EricS
    Sep 28, 2005
    7
    Corpse Bride was highly entertaining in that it put a fresh spin on a cliched story. The stylized animation was a joy to look at and the voice performances were for the most part performed well. The ending felt rushed but that didn't detract from a genuinely fun movie.
  18. D
    Sep 29, 2005
    3
    Oh wow. I don't think I've ever seen a movie with that little of anything in it. It hardly has any story. There is no suspense, comedy, or good moments. The voice acting is formulaic and no character really stands out. Finally, the script is the most bland, infantile, bare-bones, poor-excuse-for-a-story-line screenplay I think I've experienced. I give it a 3 because of the Oh wow. I don't think I've ever seen a movie with that little of anything in it. It hardly has any story. There is no suspense, comedy, or good moments. The voice acting is formulaic and no character really stands out. Finally, the script is the most bland, infantile, bare-bones, poor-excuse-for-a-story-line screenplay I think I've experienced. I give it a 3 because of the animation, which is executed nicely if not sensationally, and the jazz musical number involving dancing skeletons and some excellent lighting. These redeeming qualities are no reason to see the film, though. It smply is roaringly dull and numbingly useless. I thought this was supposed to be Tim Burton's quality film after the promise-filled wuss-out that was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Instead, it has relegated Tim Burton to the list of washed-up geniuses. Expand
  19. CaptainSpaulding
    Jan 31, 2006
    5
    Not "The Nightmare Before Christmas" or anything like it, by any means. If you were expecting the former, then you will be disappointed. Beautiful animation and the spookiness you expect from Tim Burton, but NO sympathetic characters like the former movie. No one for the audience to hang onto! Beautifully rendered visuals, but no story or emotional ties on the characters. Rent "Nightmare" Not "The Nightmare Before Christmas" or anything like it, by any means. If you were expecting the former, then you will be disappointed. Beautiful animation and the spookiness you expect from Tim Burton, but NO sympathetic characters like the former movie. No one for the audience to hang onto! Beautifully rendered visuals, but no story or emotional ties on the characters. Rent "Nightmare" again and leave this one (along with Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) at the video store. Expand
  20. [Anonymous]
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Its official. Johnny Depp is the best actor both on screen and off screen. He plays the role perfectly, and we didnt even see him in person! That guy is amazing.
  21. HoobyD.
    Jan 6, 2006
    4
    The animation was beautful. But, like most people, there just wasn't much substance. Barely any story, and Johnny Depp's character is just unlikeable. For some reason, he's unfaithful to his likeable and charming fiancee and decides to marry a dead corpse he found. The audience is wondering why, but half of the audience is already asleep. The men will gawk at all the The animation was beautful. But, like most people, there just wasn't much substance. Barely any story, and Johnny Depp's character is just unlikeable. For some reason, he's unfaithful to his likeable and charming fiancee and decides to marry a dead corpse he found. The audience is wondering why, but half of the audience is already asleep. The men will gawk at all the well-endowed women. BOOO!! Expand
  22. TonyG.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    if you truly love tim burtons style, then you will fall in love with this masterpiece. if you like stupid, commercialized, crappy, trendy,spoiled brat films like most people, then stay away from this movie. if you have a great imagination and dare to go where most don't, then this is for you. extreamly creative, classic type story. if you get the dvd go to the extras and just see for if you truly love tim burtons style, then you will fall in love with this masterpiece. if you like stupid, commercialized, crappy, trendy,spoiled brat films like most people, then stay away from this movie. if you have a great imagination and dare to go where most don't, then this is for you. extreamly creative, classic type story. if you get the dvd go to the extras and just see for yourself just how much mind power was put into this film. hats off, 2 thumbs up, 3 snaps in a circle to tim burton and his crew for making an instant classic. Expand
  23. vixi
    Mar 2, 2006
    5
    It looks beautiful...sadly the characters are boring and hollow and do not capture you in any way to make you feel something from this movie.
  24. R.Dalvi
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    Excellent animation. All the people look cute. The voices also are very good.
  25. EthanM.
    Mar 5, 2006
    6
    This movie, while looking like a movie that would leave a mark for many years, sadly fell quite short of what I had been expecting. It was a bland, heapless mess with good animation.
  26. Velour
    Jan 13, 2007
    4
    This movie, like Burton's " Nightmare Before Christmas" has a familiar style, but the storyline doesn't intrigue me enough to watch 75 minutes. I found it to be less capturing than Nightmare. But, it is better than the title suggest's.
  27. JeremyM.
    Oct 11, 2005
    8
    Great movie overall!!
  28. cute**angel**
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This fillm is so wicked cute angels rates it a ten out of ten and cute angels loves the song"Tears to shed" it made cute angel cry!
  29. Bob
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    It was hot.
  30. JacobZ
    Oct 1, 2005
    7
    Complete style over substance. Visually stunning, but completely disappointing. Burton, and especially Elfman, with the music, could have done a lot more and a lot better. Still, the production design, and visuals, are all grade A, and for that, I give it a good score.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. A wondrous flight of fancy, a stop-motion-animated treat brimming with imaginative characters, evocative sets, sly humor, inspired songs and a genuine whimsy that seldom finds its way into today's movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    90
    An endearingly schizoid Frankenstein of a movie, by turns relentlessly high-spirited and darkly poignant.
  3. 88
    It's warped and wonderfully effervescent. Ditto the songs by Danny Elfman, who sings the role of Bonejangles, the frontman for a skeleton jazz band at a swinging underworld club. Best of all is the love story.