Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 22, 2012
    50
    Its characters are bloodless, their speech monotone. If there are people like this, I hope David Cronenberg's film is as close as I ever get to them. You couldn't pay me to see it again.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 16, 2012
    25
    Sometimes, even a little gratuitous nudity can't save a movie. This is one of those occasions. Cosmopolis easily trumps "To Rome with Love" as the biggest disappointment of 2012 from an established director.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Aug 8, 2012
    50
    The film comes off as an elaborately didactic and overheated lecture.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Aug 16, 2012
    75
    This mesmerizing mind-bender ought to prove two things: (1) Robert Pattinson really can act; (2) Director David Cronenberg never runs from a challenge.
  5. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Aug 23, 2012
    50
    There's not really a movie there, nothing that sustains itself from scene to scene and nothing that's worth watching from beginning to end.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Aug 16, 2012
    40
    There are plenty of ideas to gnaw on, given that Cronenberg has adapted Don DeLillo's intense novel of a New York on the verge of dystopian breakdown. But frustratingly bland work from lead Robert Pattinson results in an awfully watery stew.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 16, 2012
    50
    Robert Pattinson must be hellbent on escaping the world of sparkly-skinned undead to take on the starring role in the leaden, obtuse and ultra-pretentious Cosmopolis.
  8. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Aug 22, 2012
    67
    As a portrait of both man and society in exquisitely poised decline, it's harrowing, hilarious, and horrific in equal measure.
  9. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Aug 24, 2012
    75
    Cosmopolis may be a cerebral mood piece, but it is loaded with strong performances that connect on an emotional level.
  10. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Aug 16, 2012
    80
    A cold, funny number about the erotics of money and the seduction of death.
  11. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Aug 23, 2012
    63
    I just wish Cronenberg hadn't adapted the book on his own. Behind the camera, he does remarkable things, turning Packer's limo into what Cronenberg himself has described as an upscale version of "Das Boot." But the playlets constituting the whole are thick, stubbornly undramatic affairs; the verbiage is lumpy, self-conscious.
  12. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Aug 7, 2012
    40
    After a strong run of films during the past decade, David Cronenberg blows a tire with Cosmopolis.
  13. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Aug 23, 2012
    67
    The journey on which he takes us may not satisfy in the ways we normally ask of movies, but if it did it wouldn't be a Cronenberg, would it?
  14. 75
    The trouble with Cosmopolis, David Cronenberg's faithful-to-a-fault adaptation from Don DeLillo's 2003 novel, is that it's more metaphor than meat.
  15. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 17, 2012
    25
    The climax is as dull as reading the dictionary of a language you do not speak.
  16. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Aug 17, 2012
    70
    Because I've long been captivated by Cronenberg's keen intelligence and highly personal cinematic vision, I took a strange pleasure in submitting to this movie's stilted but weirdly poetic rhythms. But I freely acknowledge that for others, enduring Cosmopolis may be less fun than a backseat prostate exam.
  17. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Aug 15, 2012
    50
    As Pattinson nears the bottom - both of his fortune, and to all appearances, his sanity - Cronenberg has to take the film somewhere, emptying out into a confrontation between Pattinson and a disgruntled former employee (Paul Giamatti) that never fully ties together all that's come before.
  18. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Aug 7, 2012
    30
    Vapid, claustrophobic drama.
  19. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Aug 23, 2012
    70
    Cosmopolis is frustrating, funny, thought-provoking, weird, maddening, worthwhile. It isn't a great movie. Sometimes it's not a good one. Sometimes it is. Ultimately, it is one worth working through, a valuable exercise if you're willing to make the effort.
  20. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Sep 7, 2012
    63
    The rapid dialogue is dry and mannered, like a David Mamet play, there's virtually no story and Cronenberg's visual scheme is cold and claustrophobic.
  21. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Aug 7, 2012
    80
    Director David Cronenberg - who knows a thing or two about bodily expressions - understands, finally, what to do with the Twilight star, turning his zombified handsomeness into a stark canvas upon which we can project our own anxieties.
  22. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 7, 2012
    40
    Alas, in Cronenberg's hands, it just comes across as cold and lifeless and exhausting.
  23. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Aug 7, 2012
    80
    An eerily precise match of filmmaker and material, Cosmopolis probes the soullessness of the 1% with the cinematic equivalent of latex gloves.
  24. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Aug 20, 2012
    70
    Cronenberg has made an eccentric and beautiful-looking movie - a languid, deadpan, conceptualist joke.
  25. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 16, 2012
    40
    It is a disappointment coming from writer-director David Cronenberg, who has proved such a master at mind games. Cronenberg is perhaps too faithful to the book. The topic is provocative and certainly timely, but the film never achieves the incisive power of his best work, "A History of Violence" for one. Even an A-list ensemble that includes Juliette Binoche, Samantha Morton and Paul Giamatti can't save it.
  26. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Aug 16, 2012
    75
    Since 2005's "A History of Violence," Cronenberg has ventured beyond the grotesque allegorical interests of his earlier movies, a shift that has led some longtime fans to assume he has softened up. As an enjoyably peculiar anti-capitalist indictment, Cosmopolis proves otherwise.
  27. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Aug 16, 2012
    80
    Conventional it is not. Engrossing it is.
  28. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Aug 15, 2012
    100
    Everything matters in Cronenberg's Cosmopolis, but not everything is necessarily the same as DeLillo's book. And that makes the film, as a series of discussions about inter-related money-minded contradictions, insanely rich and maddeningly complex. We can't wait to rewatch it.
  29. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    Aug 23, 2012
    50
    The novel is extremely funny. It's hilarious as well as horrific (all sorts of bad things are going on outside the limo - and a few inside of it, too). Yet whenever the movie is funny, it feels like a mistake. Comedy has never been a Cronenberg strength.
  30. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Aug 30, 2012
    50
    It feels like each and every moment bursts forth with urgent dialogue, and yet what does anyone actually say?
  31. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Aug 18, 2012
    70
    Cosmopolis is often beautiful, but at times it feels like a movie sealed off from itself.
  32. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Aug 15, 2012
    75
    Pattinson does a quietly marvelous thing in finding vulnerability in Eric without making it seem like softness.
  33. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Aug 15, 2012
    80
    It's Cronenberg's most willfully weird movie since "Spider," and it should prove a tough sell despite Pattinson's ample star power.
  34. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Aug 14, 2012
    50
    To the extent that Cosmopolis functions as a super-literal conceptual exercise, it's simultaneously irritating and fascinating.
  35. Reviewed by: Bud Wilkins
    Aug 12, 2012
    88
    Diamond-hard and dazzlingly brilliant, David Cronenberg's film plays like a deeply perverse, darkly comic successor to Videodrome.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 14 out of 26
  1. MkM
    Aug 21, 2012
    5
    Actually haven't seen the movie. Just posted this to note that the Onion AV Club actually gave the movie a good review (although they had some things to say about the ending). Either way, they gave it a "B" by their rating system. Now it's been a long time since I attended high school, but from what I remember a "B" was an 80% to an 85%. Yet for some reason Metacritic has them scoring the film a 50%. Just thought it should be addressed. Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    2
    It makes me cringe when people mention Videodrome and Cosmopolis in the same sentence (And yes, I did just that... bear with me). One is infinitely entertaining, bizarre and thought-provoking. The other bores me to tears. However, I will say that in my West LA theater, about 20 people got up and left within the first half hour - but a substantial group who made it till the end gave it a hearty round of applause. Then again, they may have just been happy it was over. As a Cronenberg fan, I was so fired up to see this film. Sadly, the last time I was this let down by a filmmaker I love was when I endured David Lynch's Inland Empire. That sucker was a doozy. Full Review »
  3. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. After watching Bel Ami, Robert Pattinson returns in this new Cronenberg movie with Cosmopolis, a movie that be based on the Don DeLilo's book. The story of Cosmopolis is the next, the billionare Eric Parker (Pattinson) rides slowly across Manhattan in his limousine that he uses as his office while on his way to his preferred barber, even though there are traffic jams. The development of the story is very interesting, have much impressive moments. The Pattinson's performance is really amazing, after we watch he on Water for Elephants, Remember Me and Bel Ami we watch that this is his best performance. The screenplay is great. Cosmopolis is an amazing movie. Full Review »